The Pakistani (or desi) superstitions thread

Re: The Pakistani Superstition thread

I did, and I eagerly checked it. To my dismay, there were obvious clues that it was a charlatan wannabe Jinn.

One of these days though. One of these days.

Was quite a novel concept though. Execution was off however.

The Pakistani Superstition thread

Interesting factoid: in the Maliki school of jurisprudence, it is legal to marry Muslim Jinn. Not so in the other three schools of Sunni thought.

The difference is based on the interpretation of "marrying your own kind." The other three schools understand this to mean humans. Malikis think it means Muslim.

The resident experts on Fiqh can verify if this really is true. I read it somewhere.

Man I couldn´t sleep the whole night because of this hilarious post:)):)))! Just imagine a man standing Shalwaar-less with a lighter in hand. If there are females Jinnaat, then this idea has a proper reason behind it, which being of course coming across as more scary than a jinn can.

"Jinn has favourited your tweet" sounds hilarious to start with.

Lol yeah love the shalwar thing its so amazing because I have been told this by numerous people on numerous occasions in numerous places so it's not just isolated to one gaoun or something.

:))) I've heard a little different version. If you encounter a churail, you gotta urinate in front of her to make her run away screaming.

I don't know if churail in this context refers to all ugly females :yk

:))) I've heard a little different version. If you encounter a churail, you gotta urinate in front of her to make her run away screaming.

Too much work. Always carry around a thimble of the stuff, just in case.

Garlic for vampires, a Zippo lighter for the Jinn, a thimble of urine for the pichal pairee.

Have heard this also lol.

Cracker:)):)))!

Is urine some anti-churrail substance?

* Humans turn into snakes after they turn 100.

Now, shouldn´t perhaps be quite added to the list given that it is mostly meant for the entertainment of kids.

Let's get it certified from ACSU (Anti-Churail and Security Unit) :haha

No really man, the theory that you have mentioned goes down as the best in this thread alongside with the "Take your Shalwaar off at seeing a Jinn" theory mentioned by Saqs bhai.

Why are PPers talking about taking off shalwars and urine in a thread that was supposed to be about superstitions ? :rehman

This concept is quite famous in some villages:

How to cure an eye infection: knock any random house's door, make sure that door isn't opened yet and utter the following in Punjabi when the person from inside the house enquires who it is:

"Goo`n kirriki, tu`n manngi tey mei`n ditti!", of which an unsatisfying translation would be, "This piece of crap, you asked and I gave."

Disappear before the door is opened!

What happens next? The infection will shift itself to that guy's eye. A bit mean I know, but that's life I am afraid.

Lastly, this refers to a particular type of infection of which I don't know the English term. It adorns the eye with a red or a yellow dot on the eye, known as "gawanjnee" in Punjabi.

Thanks.

Doctors say the same thing, this is pertinent to people still going through puberty (i.e. growing bones).

So it impacts the growth rates.

thats some seriously out dated thinking

... and since this thread goes hand in hand with the Jinn thread, it deserves a bump too.

It's bad luck to start a business on a Tuesday; breaking a glass is good luck; and doing housework in the evening will help ward off evil nighttime spirits.

This is in conjuction with Pir Saab's penchant!

When a newborn cries and then smiles in his/her sleep it is because a Pichelpair threatens to take away his mother and then brings her back in front of them as a prank or a joke. This apparently explains the crying quickly followed by a smile of contentment and peace.

The provenance of this is most likely the Hadith about the devil touching every newborn except Jesus (AS). I'm not sure if the Hadith refers just to the time of birth or during all of childhood.

There's also the belief that like animals, babies can see metaphysical beings and phenomena. I'm not sure if there's a religious origin for this belief or not.

The provenance of this is most likely the Hadith about the devil touching every newborn except Jesus (AS). I'm not sure if the Hadith refers just to the time of birth or during all of childhood.

There's also the belief that like animals, babies can see metaphysical beings and phenomena. I'm not sure if there's a religious origin for this belief or not.

Yeah the Hadith as I have been taught it was related only to the crying upon entering this realm from the womb. So only newborns at the time of their birth.

[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] and [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] - can you please share this Hadith with us? I haven't heard about this!

As for superstitions - there's this famous one (I may have mentioned it in this thread, dont remember).

You are not supposed to eat out directly from a degchee, otherwise it will rain on you rwedding day.

I know a guy who always wears a hat before going to the bathroom.. is this really a thing?

[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] and [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] - can you please share this Hadith with us? I haven't heard about this!

As for superstitions - there's this famous one (I may have mentioned it in this thread, dont remember).

You are not supposed to eat out directly from a degchee, otherwise it will rain on you rwedding day.

Lol That's a superstition that leads to another superstition that if it rains on your wedding day then it's either a very good thing or a very bad thing. There's no in between.

The Hadith is as follows.

No son of Adam shall be born unless that he should be afflicted (touched) by the Satan at the hour of birth, when he initiates his life crying out of the Satan's touch, except Maryam and her son.

Lol That's a superstition that leads to another superstition that if it rains on your wedding day then it's either a very good thing or a very bad thing. There's no in between.

Will dig up the Hadith for you.

Really? I hadn't heard of that one!

Thank you :)

Ok I just edited my post with the Hadith.

For some reason, I want to tag [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] . Just so he gets to see what a crazy bunch we are. If he hasn't figured that out already.

Man this is so famous over here ever since the birth of my four nieces:)))! My mother keeps telling us this.

A churrail does it, they say. I will keep this in mind and slap the churrail in my next birth. Social work you know. Or worse, I might trick her into falling in love with me.

Black doesn't look good with everyone.

You're not wrong, but as a bride. Imagine - a typical, overdressed Pakistani bride IN BLACK.

It looked horrendously out of place. Take out the jewellery and she's have been a desi goth or something.

Ah yes. Hair. For boys, don't grow your hair out long. It sucks blood and nutrients, depriving the rest of the body. For some reason it doesn't effect girls.

Another one insisted on by a friend's mother was not to weight train, because lifting weights over the head reduces height. Sort of pushes one down into the ground.

The weight training one is true for kids in puberty.

Don't leave the jainamaz/musalla/prayer mat lying open on the floor as shaitan will pray.

Isn't that a good thing? :yk

:))) :))).. Im surpised its common all the way in Bangladesh too

I remember asking my maulvi sahab abt this and leaving him speechless... Gave the poor guy a really tough time in my early teens where I would ask him all sorts of tough questions in the guise of being an innocent kid interested to learn more... Probably was the only kid in the neighborhood who looked forward to the 30 mins Quran reading time with the maulvi sahab.. Lot of entertainment

Some more. Not exactly superstitions some of them:

- Diet coke is the solution to all weight problems. Lot of people think you LOSE weight if you drink diet coke. Always get me when on a table uncles and aunties ask for tikkas, kormas, sheermaals and whatnot and at the end say 'Yaad rakhna diet coke laana.' might kist add later, 'wazan sanbhalna hai' I LOLed hard in front of 50 yr old aunties once. All of them gave angry looks. If you wanna control weigght, First step would be not to have these oily foods.

- Opening and closing scissors leads to fights. Ive TRIED and its not true

- If a glass breaks, it wards off the evil spirit

- if you hiccup, someone is remembering you

- Reading a book or newspaper while lying means your eyesight will become weak (is it actually true? any scientific evidence?)

-if you eat food standing, it goes in shaitans stomach.

theres one abt money plants too but i dont remember

Diet coke is the solution to all weight problems. Lot of people think you LOSE weight if you drink diet coke. Always get me when on a table uncles and aunties ask for tikkas, kormas, sheermaals and whatnot and at the end say 'Yaad rakhna diet coke laana.' might kist add later, 'wazan sanbhalna hai' I LOLed hard in front of 50 yr old aunties once. All of them gave angry looks. If you wanna control weigght, First step would be not to have these oily foods.

They say the same thing about whole wheat bread and green tea. They consume them in the belief that they are losing weight, not just that they're healthier alternatives.

Some more. Not exactly superstitions some of them:

- Diet coke is the solution to all weight problems. Lot of people think you LOSE weight if you drink diet coke. Always get me when on a table uncles and aunties ask for tikkas, kormas, sheermaals and whatnot and at the end say 'Yaad rakhna diet coke laana.' might kist add later, 'wazan sanbhalna hai' I LOLed hard in front of 50 yr old aunties once. All of them gave angry looks. If you wanna control weigght, First step would be not to have these oily foods.

LOL So true. Or desi people who eat McDonalds/KFC but get a salad with it because they want to eat 'healthy'.

Theories/ Rumors taught to you as a kid

What are some things that have been told by your parents when you were a kid? Sorry if the title is a bit misleading, couldn't exactly word it right. Some things I was told are
Don't drink milk over fish
Don't drink water after eating watermelon
What have you been told?

-Don't drink milk in the dark as evil spirits are attracted to it.
-Don't disturb anyone doing meditation as it can lead to their spirit being permanently out of the body.
-Indian culture is the best, and the West is only living off the money they looted from us.
-Everyone else's son is doing 10 times better than me, and I should be embarrassed about my results. :nehra

Do not shave during night time as it is Devils time.

If you kill a lizard, its a sin and you have to go to a temple in South India and donate a Golden Lizard there.

If a crow lands on your door, it means relatives are coming to your home.

If you get hiccups, it means your loved ones are thinking about you.

Spotting one of these meant that you would find money from an unexpected source.

240px-Lygos_quad_070616_171_tdp.jpg

This thread will steal the thunder of the Great Pakistani Superstition thread. I must bump that one.

Culturally you are Hindus, same superstitions are practiced in India. Sikhs ridicule such things, very few indulge. South Indians are most superstitious. Believe in one Supreme God.

Do not use perfume while going outside in night time as it might attract a churail :)))

Don't go under the tree after Maghrib
Sneezing means that someone is missing you
Seeing someone in dream is the one who thinks about you

..... - if you hiccup, someone is remembering you.....

Wasn´t this actually related to sneezing? That´s the version that I know at least.

The two competing threads should be merged, so as to reinforce each other. United we stand, divided we fall and all that.

Rawal, make this happen.

The two competing threads should be merged, so as to reinforce each other. United we stand, divided we fall and all that.

Rawal, make this happen.

I would need [MENTION=132969]Da_Future_Knick[/MENTION]´s permission on this, since his thread is not exclusively meant for Pakistanis and it could be argued that the topics differ. So I would need his permission.

dont sweep your place with a broom at night it takes the happiness away or somethng like that

I would need [MENTION=132969]Da_Future_Knick[/MENTION]´s permission on this, since his thread is not exclusively meant for Pakistanis and it could be argued that the topics differ. So I would need his permission.

Come now, where is the trigger-happy, heavy-handed moderator in you? ;)

If you show mirror to kids, they become dumb.

3 people cannot go together. It has to be always 2 or 4.

Do not sneeze when some one is about to walk out of the door. If you do, then the other person has to wait for 5 mins before he can walk out of the door again.

My relatives used to tell my parents since I was a lefty that I shouldn't write with left hand as it is the bad hand. Luckily, my parents backed me and I'm still a lefty.

New Born Babies are picked up from a river as they are carefully placed in floating wooden box. (The story of prophet Musa (as))

I initially believed that till age 5 or 6 but had my suspicions, till finally one day I heard my aunt answering to her kids, the question, " How do we know between different animals whether they lay egg or give birth?
The answer was, generally animals with visible ears give birth, and those with no visible ears lay eggs.

I immdiately thought about humans and did not ask her about that. I thought it would be awkward and embarrassing.

But quietly I had gotten my answer. :)