The Topicless Thread

I completely missed that post!

URDU A? Girl, even I gave Urdu B!

Why would you give Urdu A when you're only just learning Urdu?

And how was English ?

Just a general question, can the girls here cook or have interest in cooking?

I can cook but I don't cook;-)..No,actually my mother don't says me to cook,she knows I am a student.Well,I make some yummy deserts.

I have a plan to learn cooking from my mother this vacation.

WOAH its hot here today!

Woke up at 6.30am. Checked my grades - got back almost all of them (As and A-s so far, Alhamdulillah) - just one more to go! :hamster:

Played some Tomb Raider. Jogged 4.5kms. Had breakfast (rice and leftover sabzi) with lasssiiiiiii! :hamster:

Watched the highlights of the Asia Cup game (Pak v India) on PTV sports. Then went shopping the "traditional" Lahori way: Dupatta gali and Liberty market!! :banana Bought some awesome khussay and kola-puri chappalein.. the guy went (non-Pathan this time :P ) : Baji, aap bhi tou le lein.. please, aap meri pehli customer hay aaj - chalein yeh bhi le lein aapko suit ker rahi hay..

Had no plan to buy that chappal but I ended up buying it anyway :P

Then I went to Readings (my most favourite place in the world!) :hamster: Bought some crime fic/drama novels. Now I'm back home. Waiting for Jalalsons ka pizza.

Why did I ever leave Lahoreee?

Masha Allah sister,congrats:)

You live an interesting life:P

Do you go market daily??

People are cruel here, I posted my wife fell from stairs, none says any word of sympathy.

Today my research supervisor resigned from university, I posted here. None says any word.

All are busy in commenting on parathas, beryani.

Oh,sorry brother.I read your post yesterday and I wanted to reply but don't know why I didn't.

I got on thinking about this sad incident the whole day.How is your wife now?

No... but.. didnt you shift here 5 years ago?

And started learning Urdu then, or were you able to speak/write Urdu before moving to PK as well?

I started learning Urdu when I moved here, I couldn't speak, read or write before that.

I guess I'm good at languages. :D

Ikball, did your wife really fall? In that case, I'm sorry for being rude. Hope she's okay now. :)

Whoa!how did you start to learn it?I mean alif bay pay you picked up so early?

I'll let you in on a secret: I don't know the Urdu alphabet. The Arabic one helps me.

My mom just got us some books, and my grandparents used to help us speak and read. I learnt to write in school.

Oh,sorry brother.I read your post yesterday and I wanted to reply but don't know why I didn't.

I got on thinking about this sad incident the whole day.How is your wife now?

Thanks for your concern. She is OK now. Just few days back she fell into a gutter, and injured her leg. And day before yesterday when her leg was Ok, she fell from stairs. But luckily got nothing serious.

@Ikball:- What is the story behind your username? I think that either you just twisted the name 'Ikbal' and made it 'Ikball' or you are trying convey something else - Ik(one) + ball = Ikball(one ball).:yk:maqsood

Topic-less thread

@Ikball:- What is the story behind your username? I think that either you just twisted the name 'Ikbal' and made it 'Ikball' or you are trying convey something else - Ik(one) + ball = Ikball(one ball).:yk:maqsood

There's the Aik baal (one hair) joke used for bald guys too. Trust me, if your name is Iqbal, you better hope you don't go bald. You'll never hear the end of it.

Lols, Actually PP was not allowing me to use iqbal as username. So I choose Ikbal and it goes fine.

Topic-less thread

Yes, you're the only one married here. :21:

Nostalgic once told me that telling an auntie that she doesn´t look married impresses them.

I took it too literally! I first asked her whether the two kids are hers, then asked whether she is married. She surely wasn´t impressed!

Nostalgic once told me that telling an auntie that she doesn´t look married impresses them.

I took it too literally! I first asked her whether the two kids are hers, then asked whether she is married. She surely wasn´t impressed!

lol hahaha

Perhaps the right way of asking was to point to the kids and asking her, "Are you their younger sister"?

It is calculated from 4.0.

Anything above 3.5 is very good.

In my university, distinctions are awarded at 3.25, "high distinctions" are awarded at 3.5 and above.

If I get one more A, my gpa would come to 3.82 :)

That's awesome.I have a 3.98 in my first semester.

Unfortunately things don't look that good this time around.

By the way, what are you studying and from where??

Namkeen lassi is awesome. A very seductive beverage. :raja

Its the white wine.

Shoulda been more specific: how do you bring yourself to swallow it?

I find namkeen lassi (salted lassi) pretty nice, my mom dilutes it quite a lot.
But I cannot at all tolerate meetthi lassi, the thought of drinking meetthi lassi makes me puke!

Masha Allah sister,congrats:)

You live an interesting life:P

Do you go market daily??

Haha :)) I actually don't.. :P

Not daily... tbh, I hate going shopping, but today it felt good walking through dopatta gali and readings again :)

I started learning Urdu when I moved here, I couldn't speak, read or write before that.

I guess I'm good at languages. :D

Truly a feat, then :14:

Thanks for your concern. She is OK now. Just few days back she fell into a gutter, and injured her leg. And day before yesterday when her leg was Ok, she fell from stairs. But luckily got nothing serious.

I honestly thought you were joking! Please give her my regards!

That's awesome.I have a 3.98 in my first semester.

Unfortunately things don't look that good this time around.

By the way, what are you studying and from where??

That's amazing! :14:

I'm studying Political Science and Intl Relations. It's incredibly hard to get a bang-on A in these subjects, since its all essay based (while I don't mind writing essays, I feel that writing exams is my forte).

Don't ask where :)) Its from a very good university in N.America - I just don't want to divulge too much information here (PP can be a very small community at times) :)

What about you?

I find namkeen lassi (salted lassi) pretty nice, my mom dilutes it quite a lot.
But I cannot at all tolerate meetthi lassi, the thought of drinking meetthi lassi makes me puke!

Same here. Meethi lassi is disgusting.

Hurt my back really bad in golf today. I think I will have to see a doctor. :facepalm:

Topic-less thread

Why do people discuss lassi all the time? Just because it´s white? What about the Pakistani chai? It´s brownish, right? Racists!

I wish I could have pork sausages with wine, but I fear the after death consequences. :shakib

This moti friend of my Mum comes over daily, literally. So annoying.

Topic-less thread

The linguistic within me suggests that "soccer" sounds like a more professional and proper term and I hence use it more often than the other.

"football" sounds so lame, after all being a combination of two words, "foot" and "ball" that is.

Do we call hockey "stickball"? No, we don´t. Hence my conclusion.

*Do not wish to be dragged into a debate here though.*

Pakistani chai is overrated. Too much milk and sugar.

I like the class British tea. Little milk and little sugar.

I have grown out of my coffee obsession. I don't like it much anymore.

The linguistic within me suggests that "soccer" sounds like a more professional and proper term and I hence use it more often than the other.

"football" sounds so lame, after all being a combination of two words, "foot" and "ball" that is.

I will debate you on this when you feel like it. :moyo

Topic-less thread

Chai is the best!

But lassi is perfect to beat the summer heat! :)

"beat" and "heat"! Poetic! Welcome to the world of poetry. If you wish to start by writing one about me, use these rhymes to rhyme with my name:

"survival"
"revival"
arrival"

etc. etc.

My brother did CA. Really tough.

Yeah it is tough. Though here in India u can start off straight after school, so the bright students need not waste years first completing graduation and then doing ca, then can do it side by side.

I hate meethi lassi. It makes you feel heavy and I always throw up after drinking it.

Tea is fantastic and I don't like coffee anymore.

I wonder what inspired cricket to be termed as "cricket." :20:

Pakistani chai is overrated. Too much milk and sugar.

I like the class British tea. Little milk and little sugar.

:110:

You do know that the British-ness of tea is a myth?

They created their own tea-culture by ripping off Indians/Ceylons and Chinese of their centuries' worth of customary practice.

Its chai. Its Indian/Pakistani chai which is the real deal.

"beat" and "heat"! Poetic! Welcome to the world of poetry. If you wish to start by writing one about me, use these rhymes to rhyme with my name:

"survival"
"revival"
arrival"

etc. etc.

Oh man !! :)

This is a pretty colloquial phrase, nothing to do with my (non-existent) poetic tendencies! :))

High five dad!