"Those who dared Bharat Mata, they were taught a lesson" : Indian PM Narendra Modi on China conflict

He won’t do anything. No chance India will attack China, they know it’ll do them a lot more harm than China

I do not understand one thing these Indian journalists keep talking about boycotting Chinese products and all, why has Indian Army not pushed back Chinese troops from their territory in Ladakh? That is the main question that should be asked by these journalists from GOI and Indian Army? Other than that, it is all hot air to be honest, just face saving stuff.

After India's "Surgical strikes" in Pakistan, 2019.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">When you slap us, we will no longer turn the other cheek. Instead, we will grab you by the collar and beat the **** out of you so you never think of doing it again. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaStrikesBack?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaStrikesBack</a></p>— Chetan Bhagat (@chetan_bhagat) <a href="https://twitter.com/chetan_bhagat/status/1100256400003993602?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 26, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

After Indian Officials confirmed Indian casaulties, yesterday.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Jawans die. Their families suffer.<br><br>Let's not go war mongering please. It has to be the last, last resort. There are many, many different ways to approach any issues, which must be tried beforehand.<br><br>It's not a movie or video game to satisfy someone's need for pride or thrills.</p>— Chetan Bhagat (@chetan_bhagat) <a href="https://twitter.com/chetan_bhagat/status/1273133750633877506?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I only wish such rational and critical thinking is also possible when a local Kashmiri militant is the cause of the death for an Indian Jawan.

For those who don't know who this guy is:

"Chetan Prakash Bhagat is a well known Indian author, columnist, Bollywood screenwriter, social media influencer and motivational speaker. He was included in Time magazine's list of World's 100 Most Influential People in 2010."

- Wikipedia

Motivational speaker.

Ha! The hypocrisy is unbelievable. Clearly India are scared of China and won’t do anything in response

China has been sitting in Indian territory for 40+ days but it’s still India who is asking for restraint lol

No Chinese Equipment For 4G Upgrade, Centre To Tell BSNL: Sources

New Delhi: The Telecom department has decided to rule out the use of Chinese equipment in the upgradation of the 4G equipment of the state-owned Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited or BSNL. Sources in the government said the ministry has decided to "firmly tell BSNL" not to use Chinese equipment in view if security issues. Sources said the department has also decided to rework the tender in this regard. The government is also considering asking private operators to reduce their dependence on equipment made by Chinese firms.
Telecom companies like Bharti Airtel and Vodafone Idea have been working with Huawei in their current networks, while ZTE works with state-run BSNL.

The government's decision came amid a huge tension at Ladakh, where 20 Indian soldiers were killed in a clash with Chinese troops on Monday evening. This was the first time in nearly five decades that fatalities were reported at the Line of Actual Control, the de facto border with China.

The network security of equipment made by Chinese companies are always doubtful, sources told NDTV.

In 2012, a committee of US lawmakers warned of cyber espionage threats from telecom networks built by Chinese companies and suggested that American companies considering to do business with Huawei and ZTE should look for other vendors. The Chinese companies had strongly denied the accusations.

Two years later, parliament was told that Chinese telecom equipment maker Huawei has allegedly hacked into the BSNL network and the government is investigating the matter.

In February, during US President Donald Trump's visit to India, Mukesh Ambani had assured him that Reliance Jio will not have a single Chinese network part in its upcoming 5G network.Reliance Jio is the only network in the world that doesn't use Chinese equipment, Mr Ambani told Mr Trump. Jio has South Korea's Samsung as a networking partner for both its 4G and 5G networks.

Upgradation of 4G facilities is part of the BSNL's revival package and earlier this year, there was a tug of war between BSNL employees and the government over the latter's insistence on the use of homegrown firms to boost its Make in India policy. The BSNL employees had pointed out that all its competitors -- Bharati Airtel, Vodafone and Reliance Jio -- were using equipment from multinationals.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/gov...kh-clash-sources-2247969?pfrom=home-topscroll

I can do but what time limit should I advise Pak government? If Mahabarat was won in 21 days , does this mean Modi will defeat Pakistan and China in 14 days?

Let me tell you a true historical story. Sorry it’s not going to be about guys riding horses with swords and slaves so maybe not your thing but more contemporary history.

When USA bombed Japan- first and only documented use of nuclear weapon in the history of the world , the narrative is Japan waived surrender immediately.

However do you know Japan in fact invented the suicide bombing with all their Kamikaze pilots etc, their army was ready till every single one of them died or won the war, that was their mindset.

However their leader to avoid any more destruction called it off. This was the same guy who led a small island nation defeat Russia and China.

Would you say he was a coward or a leader who looked at the bigger picture for the sake of his people.

Another example- when Pak surrendered in 1971, don’t you think the soldier on the ground level was ready to give his life? It was the generals who called it off to avoid further damage didn’t they?

Not everything is black and white.

Also the big takeaway here is even the crazy and ruthless Japanese army who probably did one of the worst genocides listened to their leader.

Modi has to balance between what is realistic and at the same time not compromise on pride. That was difficult enough to come up with as a statement but just imagine in a real scenario to make a decision at that level.

Fortunately we have an army that reports to him and not the other way around.

Anyways the point of that was, it makes easy to take decisions when dealing with a weak and bankrupt Country like Pakistan (Sorry Harsh but true) than a superpower like China. That’s an undeniable fact.

So to answer your point, the strategy will obviously be different so don’t club the 2 together

Modi should stick to killing unarmed muslim civilians in gujurat and kashmir

Best not to mess wth china Hes well out of his depth here

Let me tell you a true historical story. Sorry it’s not going to be about guys riding horses with swords and slaves so maybe not your thing but more contemporary history.

When USA bombed Japan- first and only documented use of nuclear weapon in the history of the world , the narrative is Japan waived surrender immediately.

However do you know Japan in fact invented the suicide bombing with all their Kamikaze pilots etc, their army was ready till every single one of them died or won the war, that was their mindset.

However their leader to avoid any more destruction called it off. This was the same guy who led a small island nation defeat Russia and China.

Would you say he was a coward or a leader who looked at the bigger picture for the sake of his people.

Another example- when Pak surrendered in 1971, don’t you think the soldier on the ground level was ready to give his life? It was the generals who called it off to avoid further damage didn’t they?

Not everything is black and white.

Also the big takeaway here is even the crazy and ruthless Japanese army who probably did one of the worst genocides listened to their leader.

Modi has to balance between what is realistic and at the same time not compromise on pride. That was difficult enough to come up with as a statement but just imagine in a real scenario to make a decision at that level.

Fortunately we have an army that reports to him and not the other way around.

Anyways the point of that was, it makes easy to take decisions when dealing with a weak and bankrupt Country like Pakistan (Sorry Harsh but true) than a superpower like China. That’s an undeniable fact.

So to answer your point, the strategy will obviously be different so don’t club the 2 together

Thanks but I have studied history esp WW2, they teach this to every child here in the UK.

Pretty poor comparison. Modi talked about a historic battle where the good forces backed by God became victorious. Modi isn't any ol leader, he is a Hindu extremist with very strange views on reality.

So again, how many days?

India foreign minister says clash will have 'serious repercussions'

Indian Foreign Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar has called China's development in the Galwan Valley a "premeditated and planned action that was directly responsible for the resulting violence and casualties".

Jaishankar made the comment, accusing China of erecting a structure in the Galwan Valley, in a statement he released after a phone call with his Chinese counterpart Wang Yi on Wednesday.

He added that the incident would have “serious repercussions” on India's relationship with China, but that both sides were committed to further disengaging on the remote plateau of the Himalayan terrain.

Taiwan is more supportive of us then we are of them, similar to Tibet, India's policy on China has been useless from the start not to forget Modi and Xi on sitting on the jhoola in Gujarat and school kids wearing face maks of xi in Chennai during that visit.

We are too submissive before Beijing, all the appeasement and friendship overtures for what? Hope this time it is different, show some fight for a change.

recall how people in tamil nadu welcomed Eleven Jinping. Was embarrassing to see such submissiveness. Didn't see any protests in chennai yet, from guindy to washermanpet to porur to poonamallee. why is that?

People here do what is fed to them, they are mostly like sheep. Foreign affairs comes under Centre, change should come from there.

But if you differ, as a Bengali it would be wise if you don't talk about subservience before the Chinese.

People here do what is fed to them, they are mostly like sheep. Foreign affairs comes under Centre, change should come from there.

But if you differ, as a Bengali it would be wise if you don't talk about subservience before the Chinese.

During communist rule, we had a slogan. cheen-er chairman, amader chairman. China's chairman is our chairman. Miss those days of west bengal. Btw, I am still pro China.

EYJVOLaUcAEs-nV

This is one of them. It reads cheen-er chairman, amader chairman, and the red books says mao-er mukti bani.

India has cautioned China against making "exaggerated and untenable claims" on the sovereignty of the Galwan Valley area even as both nations tried to end a standoff in the high Himalayan region where their armies engaged in a deadly clash.

Twenty Indian troops were killed in the confrontation on Monday night - the deadliest conflict between the nuclear-armed Asian neighbours in 45 years. China has not disclosed whether its forces suffered any casualties.

Responding to China's claim to the valley, India's foreign ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava late on Wednesday said both sides have agreed to handle the situation responsibly.

"Making exaggerated and untenable claims is contrary to this understanding," he said in a statement.

Both sides accuse each other of instigating the Monday night clash between their forces in the Galwan Valley, part of a disputed region in Indian-administered Ladakh territory.

Media reports said senior army officers of the two sides are expected to meet on Thursday to defuse the situation, but there was no confirmation from either side.

Indian security forces said neither side fired any shots, instead throwing rocks and trading blows. The Indian soldiers, including a colonel, died of severe injuries and exposure in the area's sub-zero temperatures, officials said.

The clash escalated a standoff in the disputed region that began in early May, when Indian officials said Chinese soldiers crossed the boundary at three different points, erecting tents and guard posts and ignoring warnings to leave.

That triggered shouting matches, stone-throwing and fistfights, much of it replayed on television news channels and social media.

Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi warned New Delhi not to underestimate Beijing's determination to safeguard what it considers its sovereign territory. His comments came in a phone call on Wednesday with his Indian counterpart, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

Wang said China demanded that India conduct a thorough investigation and "harshly punish" those responsible.

"The Indian side would best not make an incorrect judgement of the situation, would best not underestimate China’s strong determination to safety its sovereign territory," Wang said in a statement issued by the foreign ministry.

He repeated China's claims that India was solely responsible for the conflict, saying Indian forces had crossed the Line of Actual Control (LAC) that divides the thousands of troops from both sides deployed in the area.

Jaishankar, in turn, accused China of erecting a structure in the Galvan Valley, which he called a "premeditated and planned action that was directly responsible for the resulting violence and casualties," according to a statement.

He added that the incident would have "serious repercussions" on India's relationship with China, but that both sides were committed to further disengaging on the remote plateau of the Himalayan terrain.

Disputed region
Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed the soldiers killed in the clashes.

"Their sacrifices won't go in vain," he said. "For us, the unity and sovereignty of the country is the most important thing. India wants peace, but when provoked, it is capable of giving a befitting reply if provoked."

While experts said the two nations were unlikely to head to war, they also believe easing tensions quickly will be difficult.

Thousands of soldiers on both sides have faced off for over a month along a remote stretch of the 3,380-kilometre (2,100-mile) LAC, the de facto border established following a war between India and China in 1962 that resulted in an uneasy truce.

China claims about 90,000 square kilometres (35,000 square miles) of territory in India’s northeast, while India says China occupies 38,000 square kilometres (15,000 square miles) of its territory in the Aksai Chin Plateau in the Himalayas, a contiguous part of the Ladakh region.

India unilaterally declared Ladakh a federal territory while separating it from the Indian-administered Kashmir region in August 2019.

China was among the handful of countries to strongly condemn the move, raising it at international forums including the UN Security Council.

Incidentally, the UN General Assembly late on Wednsday elected India, Mexico, Norway and Ireland as the four non-permanent members of the Security Council for 2021 and 2022.

The result means India will now have a seat at the same table as China.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...ms-untenable-exaggerated-200618034716125.html

Suspended Chennai Super Kings team doctor Madhu Thottappillil on Thursday tendered an unconditional apology for his controversial social media post mocking the government after the death of Indian soldiers in a violent face-off with Chinese troops in eastern Ladakh. On Tuesday, after reports came in of Indian casualties during the Galwan Valley clash, Thottappillil had posted a tweet mocking the government. He later deleted it and protected his account. He was subsequently suspended by the franchise.

Thottappillil took to twitter on Thursday and offered an apology.

"On June 16th, I had put out a tweet, and after I realised that the words used by me was inappropriate and unintended. I deleted the same.But by then there were screenshots of my tweet being circulated and shared in social media," the doctor stated in his apology note.

Thottappillil clarified that he had no intention to belittle PM Narendra Modi's efforts in fighting the crisis.

"It was never my intention to belittle the great & herculean efforts taken by our Honb'le prime minister and the Govt in taking care of all the citizens obligations of this great nation and its Army or our brave Martyrs.

"I have always respected the efforts of the govt in its valiant war on Covid-19 pandemic armed forces and valour of the armed forces standing and fighting under adverse conditions."

Thottappillil said he understands that his post may have hurt sentiments of thousands of people.

"I regret the hurt and anguish I may have caused to many people who read my Tweet and wholeheartedly apologise for the same," he wrote.

"I have tweeted inadvertently and mistakenly and it has nothing to do with my association with any individual or organisation."

Thottappillil urged netizens to treat his social media post as an aberration.

"I am aware of the care bestowed by the Honb''le prime minister taken for the martyred jawans who had laid their lives for the country, without whom we the citizens would not be having a secured life," CSK team doctor for 10 seasons said.

"I hope the whole issue is put to an end and the tweet be treated as an aberration on my part. I once again express my sincere apologies for the unintended and inadvertent remarks made in my earlier tweet," he concluded.

CSK, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni who holds the rank of an honorary lieutenant in Territorial Army, announced his suspension on Wednesday. The team is owned by former BCCI President N Srinivasan's India Cements.

Suspended Chennai Super Kings team doctor Madhu Thottappillil on Thursday tendered an unconditional apology for his controversial social media post mocking the government after the death of Indian soldiers in a violent face-off with Chinese troops in eastern Ladakh. On Tuesday, after reports came in of Indian casualties during the Galwan Valley clash, Thottappillil had posted a tweet mocking the government. He later deleted it and protected his account. He was subsequently suspended by the franchise.

Thottappillil took to twitter on Thursday and offered an apology.

"On June 16th, I had put out a tweet, and after I realised that the words used by me was inappropriate and unintended. I deleted the same.But by then there were screenshots of my tweet being circulated and shared in social media," the doctor stated in his apology note.

Thottappillil clarified that he had no intention to belittle PM Narendra Modi's efforts in fighting the crisis.

"It was never my intention to belittle the great & herculean efforts taken by our Honb'le prime minister and the Govt in taking care of all the citizens obligations of this great nation and its Army or our brave Martyrs.

"I have always respected the efforts of the govt in its valiant war on Covid-19 pandemic armed forces and valour of the armed forces standing and fighting under adverse conditions."

Thottappillil said he understands that his post may have hurt sentiments of thousands of people.

"I regret the hurt and anguish I may have caused to many people who read my Tweet and wholeheartedly apologise for the same," he wrote.

"I have tweeted inadvertently and mistakenly and it has nothing to do with my association with any individual or organisation."

Thottappillil urged netizens to treat his social media post as an aberration.

"I am aware of the care bestowed by the Honb''le prime minister taken for the martyred jawans who had laid their lives for the country, without whom we the citizens would not be having a secured life," CSK team doctor for 10 seasons said.

"I hope the whole issue is put to an end and the tweet be treated as an aberration on my part. I once again express my sincere apologies for the unintended and inadvertent remarks made in my earlier tweet," he concluded.

CSK, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni who holds the rank of an honorary lieutenant in Territorial Army, announced his suspension on Wednesday. The team is owned by former BCCI President N Srinivasan's India Cements.

Chinese business magnate Jack Ma’s Alibaba Group has strategic investments worth millions in Big Basket, Zomato, Paytm, Paytm Mall, and SnapDeal among others.

Will the self appointed patriots shun all these platforms as well?

You see the irony in your post don’t you? Imran Khan and Pakistan are discussed way more in India than Modi is in Pakistan.

You are right. News channels are always busy here discussing Imran and his saazishein with Pak army to destroy India. :inti

A large land area of Arunachal Pradesh has been captured by Chinese army. The North East Indian media is reporting it.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lad...-aksai-chin-back-2248453?pfrom=home-topscroll

Leh: The time has come to send a strong message to China and India should take back the Aksai Chin region occupied by Chinese forces since the 1962 war, BJP leader Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, the parliamentarian from Ladakh told NDTV on Thursday.

People of Ladakh, where the 20 soldiers including a colonel died in a clash with Chinese troops on Monday, want a "one-time solution", Mr Namgyal said, adding that Prime Minister Narendra Modi's response was similar to the words he used before Indian forces carried out surgical strikes against Pakistani terrorist launch pads to avenge the 2016 Uri attack.

"The government today is not the same one in 1962. What Prime Minister Narendra Modi says, he does. Before the surgical strikes he had said the sacrifice of our soldiers won't go in vain. Yesterday, he repeated the same line. That assures me that the government is competent," the BJP lawmaker said.

Lol like master, like his subjects.. Only know how to make noise for their gullible followers....

A large land area of Arunachal Pradesh has been captured by Chinese army. The North East Indian media is reporting it.

The Chinese call it Southern Tibet. Yet another salami begging to be sliced.

I respect pak response in 2019 even more now. India a much larger foe and wannabe bully, threw pebbles at us and we responded the very next day with broad daylight attack (this part should be emphasized more) and capture of their pilot and shut them up.

Here China seems to be slapping them around and no response except media shouting matches all sponsored by Chinese companies. No spine shown. Modi/bjp is a dream come true for Pakistanis, gives false sense of security to Hindu nationalist and chokes on everything geopolitically and economically.

Cmon Modi Sahib - dont be such a softie

==

India to join June 23 trilateral meeting with Russia, China

India will take part in a trilateral meeting with Russia and China next week, India's foreign ministry has said days after Indian and Chinese troops clashed on a remote Himalayan border, leaving at least 20 people dead.

India's foreign minister, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, will join the June 23 meeting, which will be held virtually, ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava told reporters in New Delhi.

India and China have each blamed the other for the border clash, the deadliest in several decades, which came even as both sides were attempting to resolve their weeks-long standoff in the Ladakh region

I am amazed to see soft response from Modi Ji and their bhakhts this time. May be if it was Nepal they would have acted differently. :inti

India has cautioned China against making "exaggerated and untenable claims" on the sovereignty of the Galwan Valley area even as both nations tried to end a standoff in the high Himalayan region where their armies engaged in a deadly clash.

Twenty Indian troops were killed in the confrontation on Monday night - the deadliest conflict between the nuclear-armed Asian neighbours in 45 years. China has not disclosed whether its forces suffered any casualties.

Responding to China's claim to the valley, India's foreign ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava late on Wednesday said both sides have agreed to handle the situation responsibly.

"Making exaggerated and untenable claims is contrary to this understanding," he said in a statement.

Both sides accuse each other of instigating the Monday night clash between their forces in the Galwan Valley, part of a disputed region in Indian-administered Ladakh territory.

Media reports said senior army officers of the two sides are expected to meet on Thursday to defuse the situation, but there was no confirmation from either side.

Indian security forces said neither side fired any shots, instead throwing rocks and trading blows. The Indian soldiers, including a colonel, died of severe injuries and exposure in the area's sub-zero temperatures, officials said.

The clash escalated a standoff in the disputed region that began in early May, when Indian officials said Chinese soldiers crossed the boundary at three different points, erecting tents and guard posts and ignoring warnings to leave.

That triggered shouting matches, stone-throwing and fistfights, much of it replayed on television news channels and social media.

Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi warned New Delhi not to underestimate Beijing's determination to safeguard what it considers its sovereign territory. His comments came in a phone call on Wednesday with his Indian counterpart, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

Wang said China demanded that India conduct a thorough investigation and "harshly punish" those responsible.

"The Indian side would best not make an incorrect judgement of the situation, would best not underestimate China’s strong determination to safety its sovereign territory," Wang said in a statement issued by the foreign ministry.

He repeated China's claims that India was solely responsible for the conflict, saying Indian forces had crossed the Line of Actual Control (LAC) that divides the thousands of troops from both sides deployed in the area.

Jaishankar, in turn, accused China of erecting a structure in the Galvan Valley, which he called a "premeditated and planned action that was directly responsible for the resulting violence and casualties," according to a statement.

He added that the incident would have "serious repercussions" on India's relationship with China, but that both sides were committed to further disengaging on the remote plateau of the Himalayan terrain.

Disputed region
Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed the soldiers killed in the clashes.

"Their sacrifices won't go in vain," he said. "For us, the unity and sovereignty of the country is the most important thing. India wants peace, but when provoked, it is capable of giving a befitting reply if provoked."

While experts said the two nations were unlikely to head to war, they also believe easing tensions quickly will be difficult.

Thousands of soldiers on both sides have faced off for over a month along a remote stretch of the 3,380-kilometre (2,100-mile) LAC, the de facto border established following a war between India and China in 1962 that resulted in an uneasy truce.

China claims about 90,000 square kilometres (35,000 square miles) of territory in India’s northeast, while India says China occupies 38,000 square kilometres (15,000 square miles) of its territory in the Aksai Chin Plateau in the Himalayas, a contiguous part of the Ladakh region.

India unilaterally declared Ladakh a federal territory while separating it from the Indian-administered Kashmir region in August 2019.

China was among the handful of countries to strongly condemn the move, raising it at international forums including the UN Security Council.

Incidentally, the UN General Assembly late on Wednsday elected India, Mexico, Norway and Ireland as the four non-permanent members of the Security Council for 2021 and 2022.

The result means India will now have a seat at the same table as China.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...ms-untenable-exaggerated-200618034716125.html

What were we doing all this time ? This is actually pathetic.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/ch...rer-arun-dhumal-2248532?pfrom=home-topstories

There have been calls to boycott Chinese products in IndiaVivo is the title sponsor of the Indian Premier LeagueBCCI treasurer said the sponsorship benefits India, not China
The BCCI is open to reviewing its sponsorship policy for the next cycle but has no plans to end its association with current IPL title sponsor Vivo as the money coming in from the Chinese company is helping India's cause and not the other way round, board treasurer Arun Dhumal said on Friday. Anti-China sentiments are running high in India following the border clash between the two countries at Galwan valley earlier this week. The first skirmish at the India-China border in more than four decades left at least 20 Indian soldiers dead. Since then, calls have been made to boycott Chinese products.

But Dhumal said Chinese companies sponsoring an Indian event like the IPL only serve his country's interests.

The BCCI gets Rs 440 crore annually from Vivo and the five-year deal ends in 2022.

"When you talk emotionally, you tend to leave the rationale behind. We have to understand the difference between supporting a Chinese company for a Chinese cause or taking help from Chinese company to support India's cause," Dhumal told PTI.

Sanghis' being proved big hypocrites that they're, pops out a blind bhakt!

As JaDed said on that thread, take Chinese money for IPL and don't buy their phones. Do bhakts even realise how dumb they sound when they say this? Not that they need any more certificates in being dumb!

Instead of Whining, why don’t you come up with your approach?

Not that it will have any impact just like whining and complaining.

You are the one who is actually getting hurt and whining like a baby here. He is exposing the hypocrisy of Dhumal. :inti

As JaDed said on that thread, take Chinese money for IPL and don't buy their phones. Do bhakts even realise how dumb they sound when they say this? Not that they need any more certificates in being dumb!

It sounds just like BCCI boycotting Pakistan in bilaterals but playing against them in major ICC tournaments. :inti

Ladakh Standoff: Effigies Burnt to Boycott China as Angry Protests Break Out in Jammu Over Death of 20 Army Soldiers
Several protestors torched China's flag, effigy as well as Chinese products, while a high-pitch sloganeering was raised for a strong response to the action of China's People's Liberation Army.

New Delhi: Amid boiling tensions at the Ladakh border between India and China, angry protests broke out in several locations in Jammu region on Wednesday over the killing of 20 soldiers of the Indian Army in Galwan Valley. Also Read - World Not Interested in China, Says Gadkari as Centre Plans to Reduce Import Dependence on Beijing

Agitators took to the streets demanding revenge against China and boycotting Chinese products, severing the trade ties. Several protestors torched China’s flag, effigy as well as Chinese products, while a high-pitch sloganeering was raised for a strong response to the action of China’s People’s Liberation Army. Also Read - Soldiers Injured in Ladakh Clash Stable, Recovering; Can Report to Work in Week Time, Says Army

However, officials said that the protests were dispersed off peacefully.

The first protest of the day was reported from Akhnoor district in the outskirts of Jammu, where a large group of locals burnt tyres and blocked the Jammu-Poonch Highway for over half-an-hour.

Subsequently, more groups of people under the banner of organizations including Shiv Sena Dogra Front, Vishwa Hindu Parishad and Rashtriya Bajrang Dal staged protests at a dozen other locations in the city.

Young activists from different political parties and social groups also staged protests, the officials said.

“India will not tolerate such kind of activities. This (the killing of Indian soldiers) has sparked rage among the people. We want Prime Minister Narendra Modi to avenge the killing, Shiv Sena Dogra Front Chairman Ashok Gupta told PTI. Leading the protest at Rani Park, he suggested snapping trade ties with China to send a strong message.

In some other areas, Rashtriya Bajrang Dal activists, some of whom were armed with tridents, gathered near the Press Club and burnt an effigy of China.

“We want revenge. We have done so in the past, by carrying out surgical strikes in Pakistan following an attack on an army camp in Uri sector of Baramulla district and later in the aftermath of a suicide attack on a CRPF convoy in Pulwama district of south Kashmir,” said one of them.

Meanwhile, the J&K unit of BJP announced a postponement of all party programmes till further orders in view of the prevailing situation on the India-China border in Ladakh.

“Due to the prevailing situation at the border, all party programmes stand postponed till further notification, J&K BJP media in-charge Pardeep Malhotra said in a statement.

Earlier on Tuesday, the Indian Army said 20 personnel, including a Colonel, were killed in a violent clash that began late Monday night, in one of the biggest military confrontations between India and China in over five decades.

https://www.india.com/news/india/la...jammu-over-death-of-20-army-soldiers-4060707/

So chinese has captured INDIAN territory, and Indian ARMY can't do any thing to push them back or to take back it's own territory? What on earth??

Indian Army should welcome chinese Army with a cup of fantastic tea.

I dont know the reasons that why Indian Army and Govt is acting way too soft that they dont even bother to do anything in order to take back it's OWN territory.

Cmon Modi Sahib - dont be such a softie

==

India to join June 23 trilateral meeting with Russia, China

India will take part in a trilateral meeting with Russia and China next week, India's foreign ministry has said days after Indian and Chinese troops clashed on a remote Himalayan border, leaving at least 20 people dead.

India's foreign minister, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, will join the June 23 meeting, which will be held virtually, ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava told reporters in New Delhi.

India and China have each blamed the other for the border clash, the deadliest in several decades, which came even as both sides were attempting to resolve their weeks-long standoff in the Ladakh region

I am amazed to see soft response from Modi Ji and their bhakhts this time. May be if it was Nepal they would have acted differently. :inti

But..........India decided to boycott China?? Am sure something has happened to Modi ji, i think this guy is not asli Modi jii.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/ch...rer-arun-dhumal-2248532?pfrom=home-topstories

There have been calls to boycott Chinese products in IndiaVivo is the title sponsor of the Indian Premier LeagueBCCI treasurer said the sponsorship benefits India, not China
The BCCI is open to reviewing its sponsorship policy for the next cycle but has no plans to end its association with current IPL title sponsor Vivo as the money coming in from the Chinese company is helping India's cause and not the other way round, board treasurer Arun Dhumal said on Friday. Anti-China sentiments are running high in India following the border clash between the two countries at Galwan valley earlier this week. The first skirmish at the India-China border in more than four decades left at least 20 Indian soldiers dead. Since then, calls have been made to boycott Chinese products.

But Dhumal said Chinese companies sponsoring an Indian event like the IPL only serve his country's interests.

The BCCI gets Rs 440 crore annually from Vivo and the five-year deal ends in 2022.

"When you talk emotionally, you tend to leave the rationale behind. We have to understand the difference between supporting a Chinese company for a Chinese cause or taking help from Chinese company to support India's cause," Dhumal told PTI.

Either India boycott All or None. It won't work otherwise.
Sponsor money will become irrelevent when millions of eyes and ears will watch and listen the commentators mentioning Vivo Vivo throughout every match.And don't rule out some experts opting out from commentary panel exactly for this reason if Boycott is adopted for other products while IPL gets an Exemption.

What this statement means is India are preparing the public for no boycott at all.

If India claims tbey killed and injured twice more chinese then surely the 20 indian soldiers have been avenged.

New Delhi: Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Thursday called for a strong response to Chinese aggression in Ladakh that peaked with the death of 20 Indian soldiers in a clash this week, saying, "If they kill one of ours, kill five of theirs."
He also demanded why Indian soldiers were sent to defend the Line of Actual Control without weapons. "Somebody should be answerable for this. Why were they sent without weapons? This is not the stone age that you send unarmed soldiers to fight the Chinese. Send RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh) workers with lathis instead not our soldiers," Captain Singh said.

"I don't know who issued this orders. Troops should always patrol with weapons. The Chinese came prepared, our boys were not prepared. My first posting was in 1963 on the Chinese border, none of us went out without our weapons," he said.

Captain Singh said Chinese were following a "salami policy", taking over Indian territory slice by slice. He also said that China's action should be met with a strong reaction like the air strikes in Pakistan's Balakot following the Pulwama terror attack last year.

"What do you mean you can't do a Balakot? What are the Biharis and Punjabis sitting there for? The moment this incident this took place, there should have been a reaction? You think we should chicken out to the Chinese?" he said.

Captain Singh's reaction came in response to the violent face-off which took place at nearly 15,000 feet in the Himalayas along the freezing Galwan River on Monday that saw Indian soldiers attacked with iron rods, rocks wrapped in barbed wire and nail-studded clubs. Some soldiers fell off a steep ridge into the river.

The clash involving hundreds of soldiers erupted when a small Indian patrol moved to remove a Chinese tent at the Galwan river valley and Chinese soldiers targeted Indian Colonel B Santosh Babu. China had agreed to remove the tent after the talks between military commanders of both sides on June 6.

Speaking out on the incident after two days, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday said that the sacrifice of the Indian soldiers would not go in vain and warned that India would give a fitting reply if provoked.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ama...kill-5-of-theirs-2248607?pfrom=home-topscroll

New Delhi: Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Thursday called for a strong response to Chinese aggression in Ladakh that peaked with the death of 20 Indian soldiers in a clash this week, saying, "If they kill one of ours, kill five of theirs."
He also demanded why Indian soldiers were sent to defend the Line of Actual Control without weapons. "Somebody should be answerable for this. Why were they sent without weapons? This is not the stone age that you send unarmed soldiers to fight the Chinese. Send RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh) workers with lathis instead not our soldiers," Captain Singh said.

"I don't know who issued this orders. Troops should always patrol with weapons. The Chinese came prepared, our boys were not prepared. My first posting was in 1963 on the Chinese border, none of us went out without our weapons," he said.

Captain Singh said Chinese were following a "salami policy", taking over Indian territory slice by slice. He also said that China's action should be met with a strong reaction like the air strikes in Pakistan's Balakot following the Pulwama terror attack last year.

"What do you mean you can't do a Balakot? What are the Biharis and Punjabis sitting there for? The moment this incident this took place, there should have been a reaction? You think we should chicken out to the Chinese?" he said.

Captain Singh's reaction came in response to the violent face-off which took place at nearly 15,000 feet in the Himalayas along the freezing Galwan River on Monday that saw Indian soldiers attacked with iron rods, rocks wrapped in barbed wire and nail-studded clubs. Some soldiers fell off a steep ridge into the river.

The clash involving hundreds of soldiers erupted when a small Indian patrol moved to remove a Chinese tent at the Galwan river valley and Chinese soldiers targeted Indian Colonel B Santosh Babu. China had agreed to remove the tent after the talks between military commanders of both sides on June 6.

Speaking out on the incident after two days, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday said that the sacrifice of the Indian soldiers would not go in vain and warned that India would give a fitting reply if provoked.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ama...kill-5-of-theirs-2248607?pfrom=home-topscroll

They have this fixation with numbers....

So chinese has captured INDIAN territory, and Indian ARMY can't do any thing to push them back or to take back it's own territory? What on earth??

Indian Army should welcome chinese Army with a cup of fantastic tea.

I dont know the reasons that why Indian Army and Govt is acting way too soft that they dont even bother to do anything in order to take back it's OWN territory.

Easy to talk when your country's major decisions are taken by Army, Let Indian Defense froces take over India and then we can see.

From 2002-2020 Army has already got enough done in Ladakh armed infrastructure , mock as much as you want now,every aggression(Loc,1962,Siachen) has only made Indian armed forces stronger and smarter.

India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi will meet top opposition leaders on Friday as the government tries to lower tensions with China after 20 Indian soldiers were killed in hand-to-hand combat in a Himalayan border region.

India and China accuse each other of instigating the fight this week in the Galwan Valley, part of the disputed Indian-administered Ladakh region. It was the deadliest conflict between the two sides in 45 years. China has not said whether it suffered any casualties.

India's Defence Minister Rajnath Singh spoke to the heads of various political parties on Thursday to discuss a consensus on the situation.

Modi will host the leaders of more than a dozen opposition parties in a virtual meeting scheduled at 5pm (11:30 GMT) on Friday.

Some political parties, including Delhi's governing Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bihar state-based Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) have expressed anger over not being invited.

The main opposition Congress party said the country deserves to know the truth. "It deserves a leadership that is willing to do anything before allowing its land to be taken," it said in a statement.

India and China said they were communicating through military and diplomatic channels, and stressed the importance of their broader relationship. Experts say the two nations were unlikely to head to war, but that easing tensions quickly will be difficult.

On Thursday, India's foreign ministry spokesman Anurag Srivastava said Foreign Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar will take part in a trilateral virtual meeting with Russia and China next week.

But the deadly Himalayan clash has also fanned growing anti-Chinese sentiments in India, which were already high because of the coronavirus pandemic, which began in China late last year. India's caseload has climbed to fourth-highest in the world

Emotions were on display in the southern city of Hyderabad, where thousands watched the funeral procession of Colonel B Santosh Babu, one of the casualties in Monday's clash.

An Indian business confederation called for a boycott of 500 Chinese goods, including toys and textiles, to express "strong criticism" of China's action in Ladakh.

'China will never be friendly'

Taylor Fravel, director of the Security Studies programme at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, said China was trying to put pressure on India, and he did not think Beijing wanted a violent clash between their armies.

From a strategic perspective, Fravel said, China should want to drive a wedge between India and the United States to prevent any kind of counter-balance coalition.

"The deaths and the clash on Monday night will probably very quickly and much more rapidly push India closer to the United States, which I think is probably not what China wants," he said.

G Parthasarathy, a retired Indian diplomat, said both China and Pakistan - another hostile neighbour of India's - were aiming at low-cost containment of India. "China has a hangup against India and its civilisation. For us to expect China will be a friendly neighbour ... it will never be a friendly relationship."

The clash escalated a standoff that began in early May, when Indian officials said Chinese soldiers crossed the border in three places, erecting tents and guard posts and ignoring warnings to leave.

That triggered shouting matches, stone-throwing and fist fights between the opposing sides, much of it replayed on TV news programmes and in social media.

China frees 10 Indian soldiers: Reports
The action has taken place along a remote stretch of the 3,380-kilometre (2,100-mile) Line of Actual Control - the border established following a war between India and China in 1962 that resulted in an uneasy truce.

The deaths happened in the thin air at 4,270 metres (14,000 feet) above sea level, when soldiers brawled with clubs, rocks and their fists with no shots fired, Indian officials have said. The soldiers carry firearms but are not allowed to use them under a previous agreement in the border standoff.

Indian security officials have said the 20 deaths were caused by severe injuries and exposure to sub-freezing temperatures.

On Friday, Indian media reports said China freed 10 Indian soldiers seized in the clash following several rounds of talks between the two sides.

The soldiers were freed late on Thursday, the Press Trust of India news agency and other media reported. Indian officials, however, have denied any Indian troops were in Chinese custody.

The Indian army on Thursday said 76 of its soldiers were hospitalised with injuries, with 56 among them likely to return to work "within a week".

China claims about 90,000 square kilometres (35,000 square miles) of territory in India's northeast, while India says China occupies 38,000 square kilometres (15,000 square miles) of its territory in the Aksai Chin Plateau in the Himalayas, a contiguous part of the Ladakh region.

India unilaterally declared Ladakh a federal territory while separating it from disputed Kashmir in August 2019. China was among the countries to condemn the move, raising it at forums including the UN Security Council. India was elected to the council this week.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...eeks-ease-china-tensions-200619061157057.html

Back to his old tricks Modi:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) MP Asaduddin Owaisi writes to PM Modi stating, "it is disappointing that my party was not invited to today's "All Party Meeting" on China border issue which was to be chaired by you." <a href="https://t.co/9RmyJLKg0g">pic.twitter.com/9RmyJLKg0g</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273927869131919361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairs all-party virtual meeting to discuss India-China border situation, at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg; 20 parties attend the meeting <a href="https://t.co/CIix9MI6rp">pic.twitter.com/CIix9MI6rp</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273957238302928896?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

New Delhi: Congress chief Sonia Gandhi today said that the country "would like an assurance that status quo would be restored and China will revert back to the original position on Line of Actual Control" as she made her opening remarks at the all-party meeting called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi this evening. "Even at this late stage, we are still in the dark about many crucial aspects of the crisis," the 73-year-old Congress leader said in a statement as she raised several questions for the government.

"We have some specific questions, for the government: On which date did the Chinese troops intrude into our territory in Ladakh? When did the government find out about the Chinese transgressions into our territory? Was it on May 5th, as reported, or earlier? Does the government not receive, on a regular basis, satellite pictures of the borders of our country?" the Congress chief asked.

"Did our external intelligence agencies not report any unusual activity along the LAC? Did the Military Intelligence not alert the government about the intrusion and the build-up of massive forces along the LAC, whether on the Chinese side or on the Indian side? In the government's considered view, was there a failure of intelligence?" Sonia Gandhi further asked.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/we-...-on-ladakh-clash-2249111?pfrom=home-topscroll

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Whether it is deployment, action, counter-action...air, land or sea, whatever our armed forces have to do to protect our country they will do: PM Narendra Modi at all-party meeting <a href="https://t.co/hNBqUcifuO">pic.twitter.com/hNBqUcifuO</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273997910103883779?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script><blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today, we possess the capability that no one can eye even one inch of our land. India's armed forces have the capability to move into multiple sectors at one go: Prime Minister Narendra Modi at all-party meeting <a href="https://t.co/J4QZhQWw3S">pic.twitter.com/J4QZhQWw3S</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273998466990014464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Oh look, everything's ok then. Stop smashing up the Chinese plasmas everyone, India won!

very statesman like from modi. Did not name china, assuaged the domestic public and allayed the fears of the chinese by declaring india is satisfied by the outcome.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Whether it is deployment, action, counter-action...air, land or sea, whatever our armed forces have to do to protect our country they will do: PM Narendra Modi at all-party meeting <a href="https://t.co/hNBqUcifuO">pic.twitter.com/hNBqUcifuO</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273997910103883779?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script><blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today, we possess the capability that no one can eye even one inch of our land. India's armed forces have the capability to move into multiple sectors at one go: Prime Minister Narendra Modi at all-party meeting <a href="https://t.co/J4QZhQWw3S">pic.twitter.com/J4QZhQWw3S</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1273998466990014464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Feku Number One. Only bhakhts will fall for this. :inti

So 10 soldiers were returned but China didn't intrude?

So we intruded their territory?

How did the clash happen then?

Can someone clarify what this guy is saying?

Make sure it is a cloudy day though :vk2:sarf2

:salute

Looks like Modi ji has switched from ‘Surgical Strikes’ to ‘Homeopathic Strikes’. They may not do much good but also don’t have side effects like the ones against Pakistan produced :uakmal

I am dying to know the answer to this question. :)

For the first time yesterday before his "this" speech I saw my Dad accepting India has not a single good leader..far better from his support of BJP.. but then again now lets see what his this speech would do.

To answer your question you will not get an answer but atleast if we get 10% of BJP supporters to ack there is something fishy, I would take it. Hate that Army has to listen to this man!

For the first time yesterday before his "this" speech I saw my Dad accepting India has not a single good leader..far better from his support of BJP.. but then again now lets see what his this speech would do.

To answer your question you will not get an answer but atleast if we get 10% of BJP supporters to ack there is something fishy, I would take it. Hate that Army has to listen to this man!

My blood is boiling bro.

We are atleast civilians imagine Army and their families accepting decisions from this Man!
This is so bloody true. Such a vile creature. Don't know what sins did we commit as a nation to deserve this liar as our premier.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today’s all party meeting was encouraging. The views expressed by the seasoned leaders of various political parties is the strength of India. This meeting led by <a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> on strategic matters reinforces his belief in federalism & sends out a message of solidarity.</p>— Nirmala Sitharaman (@nsitharaman) <a href="https://twitter.com/nsitharaman/status/1274019761651736577?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Someone ask this joker to remain quiet lol.

Don't be a war mongering idiot.

See Rahul Kanwal...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">There’s a bunch of Cassandras who are delighted that the Modi Governent is on the back foot with China. Folks, this is about the Indian Army. Can you put your petty politics on the back burner please. This is India vs China. Not BJP vs China. Politics can wait.</p>— Rahul Kanwal (@rahulkanwal) <a href="https://twitter.com/rahulkanwal/status/1272818439485190144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Be like him.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Are you calling yourself a Cassandra ? &#55358;&#56596;&#55358;&#56596;&#55358;&#56596;<br><br>Back in 2013, you mocked the Indian Defence Minister. <a href="https://t.co/nML7WcO2cG">pic.twitter.com/nML7WcO2cG</a></p>— Advaid അദ്വൈത് &#55356;&#57145; (@Advaidism) <a href="https://twitter.com/Advaidism/status/1272832107174223872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 16, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Well ok ok...ignore the old Rahul.

New version is more wise.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Friday sought an assurance from the government that status quo will be restored on the Line of Actual Control (LAC) at Galwan Valley in Ladakh area and that China will revert to its original position.

In her address at the all-party meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to discuss the border stand-off with China, Gandhi asked pointed questions on whether there was an intelligence failure on the massive build-up of Chinese forces along the LAC.

“In fact, even at this late stage, we are still in the dark about many crucial aspects of the crisis,” Gandhi said.

The meeting was attended by leaders of 20 political parties. Defence minister Rajnath Singh and external affairs minister S Jaishankar too were present.

The Congress has been asking the government to be transparent about the situation along the LAC, especially after 20 Indian soldiers were killed in violent face-off with Chinese troops on Monday night.

Modi has said the sacrifice of Indian soldiers will not go in vain and the country will give a befitting reply to any provocation.

At the meeting Gandhi said: “We have some specific questions for the government. On which date did the Chinese troops intrude into our territory in Ladakh? When did the government find out about the Chinese transgressions into our territory? Was it on May 5, as reported, or earlier?

“Does the government not receive, on a regular basis, satellite pictures of the borders of our country? Did our external intelligence agencies not report any unusual activity along the LAC? Did the Military Intelligence not alert the government about the intrusion and the build-up of massive forces along the LAC, whether on the Chinese side or on the Indian side? In the government’s considered view, was there a failure of intelligence?”

She contended that valuable time was lost between May 5 and June 6, the date on which senior Indian and Chinese commanders met and agreed on some de-escalation and disengagement measures. She added that even after the June 6 meeting, efforts should have been made to talk directly, at the political and diplomatic levels, to China’s leadership.

“We failed to use all avenues, and the result is the loss of 20 lives as well as dozens injured. I would urge the prime minister to kindly share with us all the facts and the sequence of events beginning April this year till date,” the Congress chief said.

“The question is, what next? What is the way forward? The entire country would like an assurance that status quo ante would be restored and China will revert back to the original position on LAC,” she said.

Gandhi also sought to know the status of the Mountain Strike Corps, with two mountain infantry divisions, that was sanctioned for the army in 2013, when the Congress was in power at the Centre.

“Should the government not treat it with utmost priority? We would also like to be briefed on the preparedness of our defence forces to meet any threat,” she said.

Gandhi said the all-party meeting should have been held sooner and immediately after the government had been reportedly informed about the Chinese intrusion on May 5 at several places in Ladakh and elsewhere.

“As always, the entire nation would have stood together like a rock and fully supported the government of the day in the steps required to defend the territorial integrity of the country. Alas, that was not to be,” she added.

Gandhi said the Congress and the entire opposition unitedly stood by the defence forces and are prepared to make any sacrifice to ensure they are battle-ready.

“The entire nation expects that government will take all opposition parties and the country into confidence and brief us regularly so that we may present to the world a picture of unity and solidarity,” she said.

Gandhi began her speech by paying homage to the 20 soldiers killed in a violent clash with the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) in Galwan Valley on Monday night.

“We meet today in the aftermath of a tragic conflict and our hearts are filled with great sorrow and anguish. Let me begin by paying homage to the brave soldiers of our army, who laid down their lives as also convey my deepest condolences to the bereaved families. To the injured jawans, we wish them a speedy recovery and good health,” she said.

Apart from Gandhi, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, Telangana Rashtra Samithi leader K Chandrasekhar Rao, Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader MK Stalin, YSR Congress Party’s YS Jagan Mohan Reddy and Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray were among those who attended the meeting.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-with-china/story-sOJseblYToRZ9a71HMJlVN.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">🤔🤨<br>If it's true there was no Chinese intrusion "into our border," it would go against ample evidence to the contrary. And it would raise a fundamental question: What caused the worst violence the LAC has seen in 45 years?<br>Does this fall into the category of an alternative fact? <a href="https://t.co/t21yvTPo5I">https://t.co/t21yvTPo5I</a></p>— Michael Kugelman (@MichaelKugelman) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelKugelman/status/1274010343128412167?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

• IMG-20200619-WA0002.jpg
    IMG-20200619-WA0002.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 145
If China didn’t intrude into What india considers its territory and at the same time India didn’t do anything to provoke China then where exactly did the melee take place?

Very strange type of stuff from Modi jee :( didn't expect from him. Guess he dont even know what's he saying.

So PM of India accepted that China didn't intrude :))) @Mesoziac [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

If china didn't intrude, then what the hell is wrong at borders??

I know Mesoziac bro never replies to sensible question, like he ignored my lots of questions in other thread. But i hope i will do get a sensible explanation from other indian posters.

And secondly, what has happened to Modi character? He always struck as a Tarzan, but now is acting like a bheegi billi

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55358;&#56596;&#55358;&#56616;<br>If it's true there was no Chinese intrusion "into our border," it would go against ample evidence to the contrary. And it would raise a fundamental question: What caused the worst violence the LAC has seen in 45 years?<br>Does this fall into the category of an alternative fact? <a href="https://t.co/t21yvTPo5I">https://t.co/t21yvTPo5I</a></p>— Michael Kugelman (@MichaelKugelman) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelKugelman/status/1274010343128412167?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Ammhh just wondering, which lessons were taught? Smashing plasma? Last i heard China has captured some Indian territory, and India ain't doing any thing.

Very strange type of stuff from Modi jee :( didn't expect from him. Guess he dont even know what's he saying.

So PM of India accepted that China didn't intrude :))) @Mesoziac [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

I know Mesoziac bro never replies to sensible question, like he ignored my lots of questions in other thread. But i hope i will do get a sensible explanation from other indian posters.

May be get my username right next time so that I'd know someone mentioned me ? No ?

Intrusion (in military terms) means an enemy force has entered the territory you used to control or currently control. Control is the key word here.

Now the points where the recent developments took place i.e the Galwan Valley and the Pangong Tso lake lie in the grey area between Indian LAC and the Chinese LAC. Mind you, LAC is not a defined and bilaterally accepted line like the LOC. There are miles and miles of "no man's land" , which are patrolled (and claimed) by both the IA and the PLA, but no side should put up bases/camps or any kind of military infra in that area. The point of patrolling is to prevent the other side from taking full control.

The problem started when the PLA started building tents and later stationing massive troops in that area. Some say this was due to the lack of patrolling from the IA due to the pandemic. So, yes technically they have not intruded into "Indian controlled territory" but the one "claimed by India" which was previously a grey zone lying between the two perceived LAC's.

May be get my username right next time so that I'd know someone mentioned me ? No ?

Intrusion (in military terms) means an enemy force has entered the territory you used to control or currently control. Control is the key word here.

Now the points where the recent developments took place i.e the Galwan Valley and the Pangong Tso lake lie in the grey area between Indian LAC and the Chinese LAC. Mind you, LAC is not a defined and bilaterally accepted line like the LOC. There are miles and miles of "no man's land" , which are patrolled (and claimed) by both the IA and the PLA, but no side should put up bases/camps or any kind of military infra in that area. The point of patrolling is to prevent the other side from taking full control.

The problem started when the PLA started building tents and later stationing massive troops in that area. Some say this was due to the lack of patrolling from the IA due to the pandemic. So, yes technically they have not intruded into "Indian controlled territory" but the one "claimed by India" which was previously a grey zone lying between the two perceived LAC's.

When did the Galwan Valley become a 'grey area'? Its been on the Indian side of LAC since forever