Tour Match: England A v Pakistan [Updates & Post Match]

jusarrived said:
anyways a line n length bowler..the way hes got thrashed in ODI's seams another irfan pathan in making..the rest are not worth commenting.

M Asif has an econmy rate of less than 4 runs/ over in ODIs......hardly a thrashing!!

Isn't there something to worry about here? Inzi and Yousuf gone for 0? Surely even Solanki would do better.

Pakistanis 178/4 (51.5 ov)
Code:
 	Batsmen  	R  	B  	4s  	6s  	SR  	 	
	Faisal Iqbal (rhb) 	63 	110 	12 	0 	57.27 		not out
	Abdul Razzaq (rhb) 	21 	37 	2 	1 	56.75 		not out

Bowlers 	O 	M 	R 	W 	Econ 		
	TT Bresnan (rmf) 	17.5 	7 	69 	1 	3.86 		(0nb, 1w) 	
	JWM Dalrymple (ob) 	13.0 	5 	28 	2 	2.15 		(0nb, 0w) 	

Current partnership  	44 runs

Last wicket  	Inzamam-ul-Haq c Loudon b Dalrymple 0 (17m 12b 0x4 0x6) sr: 0.00
fow: 134/4; partnership: 11 runs

jusarrived said:
wonder when will you guys realize pak dosen have a good attack any more...your present bowling is not even half as good as the likes you had in last decade.....as of now only akthar can walk into the indian side..asif is shown promise ,but is still one season old..anyways a line n length bowler..the way hes got thrashed in ODI's seams another irfan pathan in making..the rest are not worth commenting.

get facts before posting :D

he got a economy rate of under 4 better then any Indian bowler!

jusarrived said:
asif is shown promise ,but is still one season old..anyways a line n length bowler..the way hes got thrashed in ODI's seams another irfan pathan in making..the rest are not worth commenting.
When was the last time Pathan ran through a batting lineup in test matches (please leave Zimbabwe and Bangladesh out of this).

PlanetPakistan said:
M Asif has an econmy rate of less than 4 runs/ over in ODIs......hardly a thrashing!!

from wat I have seen ,hes not impressed me as a ODI bowler..he looks clueless when batsmen go after him....The trouble is if he looses more pace.... will wait couple of series before judging him though!

Nauman said:
When was the last time Pathan ran through a batting lineup in test matches (please leave Zimbabwe and Bangladesh out of this).

Thats exactly wat I said,Asif is Pathan in making..I don rate pathan as a bowler!

jusarrived said:
wonder when will you guys realize pak dosen have a good attack any more...your present bowling is not even half as good as the likes you had in last decade.....as of now only akthar can walk into the indian side..asif is shown promise ,but is still one season old..anyways a line n length bowler..the way hes got thrashed in ODI's seams another irfan pathan in making..the rest are not worth commenting.

this is a joke o what? Asif, Rana and Gul all can get into the Indian side without any competion apart from Munaf wich is doing just good at the moment.

jusarrived said:
Thats exactly wat I said,Asif is Pathan in making..I don rate pathan as a bowler!

well you clearly then don't rate your own batting line up either!

i am not worried about yousef...but more worried about inzy since england tour - he has been going downhill.. could be his lower back or it could be his powers are beginning to wane.

whatever it is...a off form batting inzy is no good for the team.

Asif has only played 12 ODI's >

Career economy > 3.99

v Ind 7 matches > 4.43 (thrashing? ::J )
v SL 3 matches > 3.89
v Eng 1 match > 2.00
v Scotland 1 match > 2.90

Only once has he gne over 50 runs in his 10 ovs!

jusarrived said:
I know wat you sayin,but remember even pathan managed a hatrick on the very same pitch!
Gotta leave now,

satuday night u see,time to get high :D

Same pitch where a Pak batting line up broke a world record and your team lost by over 300 runs too.

Last wicket Abdul Razzaq c wicket-keeperRead b Dalrymple 37 (53m 54b 5x4 1x6) sr: 68.51
fow: 204/5; partnership: 70 runs

jusarrived said:

Asif has already ran through two line-ups (which are not Zimbabwe and Bangladesh).

kamran gone as well!

AHAHAH

This is hilarious what the hell are we doing?!?!?!

Akmal gone aswell :( Loudon cleans him up. Not looking good for Pakistan at the moment.

Pakistan 207/6 in 59.1 overs

Faisal 75*

Well done to Faisal Iqbal, I think he has done enough to be given the number 6 spot over Afridi.

To be honest I am not worried.

The main reason for us being 207 for 6 is that both Inzi and Yousuf got ducks. That does not happen very often and will not happen for a long time. Both are experienced cricketers who have played in England before and Inzi, more often than not, comes good when it matters (I have no doubt he will do so again).

It is more important for guys like Farhat, Butt, Faisal, Malik and Kamran to get time batting out there. All have done so (though Kamran failed in this innings). We will be ready by Thursday and England will not know what has hit them.

If we're bound to have a batting collapse, better get it done and over with before the series starts. Otherwise...

Has said:
Well done to Faisal Iqbal, I think he has done enough to be given the number 6 spot over Afridi.

how so? :20:

Im sure we will be much more on the ball come Thursday, no need to read too much into this, openers have got some runs in the last 2 games which is a very good sign, and the others have all got some runs since they have been here, would have been nice for Inzi to get some runs before the first test, maybe he can do it in the second innings.

UsmanCHADDA said:
We are definitely going to be following on if we keep losing wickets like this!

My orginal comments were light hearted, you took it the wrong way.

Iqbal is in better form than Afridi on the basis of two county matches. Now I've heard it all. :)))

sum1 named denis lille said 2 years back.... never get fooled by pakistan's perfomance in practice matches :)

Dalrymple continuing on from where he left against Sri Lanka. Three big wickets might just be the ticket to the first test.

JWM Dalrymple 19 overs, 7 maidens, 45 runs and 3 big wickets. All that with an economy rate of just 2.36!

I cudnt care less how we do in these practice matches, aslong as our main players dont get injured :)

Geordie Ahmed said:
I cudnt care less how we do in these practice matches, aslong as our main players dont get injured :)
Now I would be mad if someone stood on Asif's hand...

HAFRIDI said:
Of course i hope they do but i think they will take Afridi's form into account. If memory serves me right i think Faisal did well in the last game

Where are u gone Easa and Afridi_Fan ; )

Faisal is an almost certain ahead of Afridi at Lords

HAFRIDI said:
Where are u gone Easa and Afridi_Fan ; )

Faisal is an almost certain ahead of Afridi at Lords
If they play Faisal instead of Afridi and play Razzaq as the 3rd seamer that would pretty much be handing England the 1st test

Iqbal is showing signs of developing into a genuine test match batman, that 139 against India and the 60 against Sri Lanka were important innings and showed he is maturing as a batsman.

He has hit the ground running since we arrived in England, 40 not out against Leicestershire and the current 75 not out when the rest of our batting is crumbling compare favourably against Afridi’s failures against Scotland and Leicestershire.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m no Afridi hatter like many on here, but at the moment I feel we would be better off with Faisal Iqbal at number 6. I think you have to take most recent form into account and while Afridi is in a mini slump Iqbal seems to be on the up, he should be given the chance to capitalise on this momentum.

Daoud said:
If they play Faisal instead of Afridi and play Razzaq as the 3rd seamer that would pretty much be handing England the 1st test
although i agree with a afridi part but i dont quiet agree with the razzaq part..due to the fact that if pak doe not play razzaq we have awfully long tail 7 our battings becomes really weak..also some of our batsmen are not in really good form if you see the last 2 series pak has played including inzy..so our batting will be really weak if we dont play razzaq as a third seamer
our bowling is till pretty gud with asif,sami,razzaq,kaneria,afridi,malik
afridi will be a key factor especially with his bowling

Daoud said:

Yeah, im not in favour of it of course me being a massive Afridi fan and even so he doesnt deserve to be dropped as he's been one of our top batsmen in tests. However i do think they will drop him for the first test !

Sami strikes his second boundary! Moves onto 14

Pakistan 227/6 in 67 overs

Sami 14* (29b)
Faisal 81* (145b)

sehban said:
although i agree with a afridi part but i dont quiet agree with the razzaq part..due to the fact that if pak doe not play razzaq we have awfully long tail 7 our battings becomes really weak..also some of our batsmen are not in really good form if you see the last 2 series pak has played including inzy..so our batting will be really weak if we dont play razzaq as a third seamer

Eh, werent u against Afridi playing at Lords?

sehban said:
Yeah, thas fine but if our bowling attack is Asif, Gul/Sami, Kaneria, Razzaq and Malik then good luck to us

UsmanCHADDA said:
Sami strikes his second boundary! Moves onto 14

Pakistan 227/6 in 67 overs

Sami 14* (29b)
Faisal 81* (145b)

Hopefully Sami can do a 'Broad' job !

Well if Faisal Iqbal gets his century today then it would be very difficult to drop him.

Nauman said:
Well if Faisal Iqbal gets his century today then it would be very difficult to drop him.

Yet it is very easy to drop someone who in his last 10 tests has scored 3 centuries and 4 fifties (plus a bowling average of 32 in same period)? :20:

Nauman said:

He is gone now :( Dalrymple gets another one! His fourth wicket

Good innings by Faisal c Bopara b Dalrymple 82 (223b)

Playing Faisal Iqbal at 6 would also give more scope for dropping Razzaq and putting out a pace attack off Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul and Mohammad Sami.

HAFRIDI said:
Eh, werent u against Afridi playing at Lords?
never my friend ...he is my favourite player & even if he is in the worst form of his life i will never turn against..becuz he is just the best

This is the same team that just 2 months ago did so well against the likes Murli and Kumble!
Now all of sudden they are struggling against this Dalrymple guy!!!

sehban said:
never my friend ...he is my favourite player & even if he is in the worst form of his life i will never turn against..becuz he is just the best

Oh no, sorry, i didnt read ur name properly..i thought it was 'sehsan'. :)
welcome to pp anywhow :D

Faisal gone then, hope Sami sticks around

PlanetPakistan said:
This is the same team that just 2 months ago did so well against the likes Murli and Kumble!
Now all of sudden they are struggling against this Dalrymple guy!!!

Bhai calm down, all is well. sirf practice match hai, koi final shinal nahi :D

HAFRIDI said:
Bhai calm down, all is well. sirf practice match hai, koi final shinal nahi :D

Yeah, i really would not worry too much.....The test match will be nothing like this....

Score updates please.

For some reason, cricinfo aint working for me.

Im not too concerned, it looks like we'll be following on

Its a good test to see if our batsman can save the match and deal with pressure and get some batting practice.

we should be able to bat out about 100 overs(about 10 left today and 90 tomorrow)

how comes Mo Asif aint batting ? they said his " absent hurt" whats wrong with him ??

this match will teach our batsman not to get too complacent either.

kaneria out

Danish Kaneria c Dalrymple b Loudon 0 (4m 1b 0x4 0x6) sr: 0.00
fow: 242/9; partnership: 8 runs

The harsh reality of cricket.

i wonder how many loud mouthed arogant pakistani fans are crowing now how easy pakistan will win series 4-0

am sure there a quite a few slapped faces about!

good test for our openers to survive the next 20mins or so without taking risks. Its all good practice

The harsh reality of cricket.

i wonder how many loud mouthed arogant pakistani fans are crowing now how easy pakistan will win series 4-0

am sure there a quite a few slapped faces about!

gotta agree with u bro, sometimes I wonder if they do have half a brain

Amjid bro, just a practice game.

Last year, ESSEX piled on the runs against Australia, 500 in one day. Cook made a 200.

That doesn't make Australia a bad side.