Varun Aaron - New Indian Genuine pacer

well most of the bowlers specially indian bowlers are at their peak (pace wise ) when they are starting

one more thing express pace is not a thing that can be taught if you read my post carefully i have said he is quick without any doubt but he will never be in the same bracket as lee , tait or akhtar

Sami was at least 150-155 at his peak and was consistently 145k+ si ithink this guy is a bit slower than that

NOTE: he is quite quick but not quick enuff to be compared to Akhtar , lee , tait or even sami (pace wise) . I dont mean to say sami was a good bowler

Yes based on how Indian pacers have gone from being 145 to 130-135, there is a fair chance Varun will go the same way. But then I will look at the glass as being half full than half empty and say that Varun has a good chance of getting faster and become a genuine pacer for us.

No Indian bowler had ever bowled 150 in domestic cricket, Varun has broken the barrier and who knows he will become the first genuine pacer for us. It doesn't cost anything in having hope and praying :)

@rizvi steyn has not touched 150 yet in this wc.morkal has been faster than him and its not about top speed maintaining speed matters more. he is only 21, shoib in 97 wasnt as quick ad he was in 2000 at 25 years of age. he isnt a rhythm bowler like ishant

Look at this way, tait easily clocks 155 in australia, here in india in the world cup his fastest is 150, varun has bowled 153 last week it means varun would be clocking 150 in australia easily, like aamir is an exceptional talent, he is exceptional too

I will hand it to the Indians, he has potential.

Now it is up to his Coaches, Selectors etc. on how they are going to guide him and use him.

Don't get your hopes up though :inzi

@rizvi steyn has not touched 150 yet in this wc.morkal has been faster than him and its not about top speed maintaining speed matters more. he is only 21, shoib in 97 wasnt as quick ad he was in 2000 at 25 years of age. he isnt a rhythm bowler like ishant

Shoaib was always quick yes he's a rtythm bowler but he was always quick whether he was in rythm or not in rythm...

shoaib made his debut at the end of 1997 and at the start of 98 he stunned South-africa with extreme pace .. so shoaib was always pacy

In 99WC shoaib bowled consistently 90+mph and as high as 97-98 mph

I am not saying varon is not quick but he will never be in the same bracket as lee ,tait and akhtar

Yes based on how Indian pacers have gone from being 145 to 130-135, there is a fair chance Varun will go the same way. But then I will look at the glass as being half full than half empty and say that Varun has a good chance of getting faster and become a genuine pacer for us.

No Indian bowler had ever bowled 150 in domestic cricket, Varun has broken the barrier and who knows he will become the first genuine pacer for us. It doesn't cost anything in having hope and praying :)

I am not saying it because he's an indian i am saying it because when u are already 145-150k as varoon is .. it is very difficult to improve ur pace he will have to work really hard even to mantain this speed ... and even if he mantains this speed he would be something special for india no bowler from india has mantained that kind of speed ... and even in whole world there are no bowlers any more wo can bowl 150k+ consistently like lee and akhtar

There is hope. He's coming off two stress factures suffered recently, he will get fitter, stronger and hopefully continue to improve. As a fan thats all I can hope and pray for. Hopefully the system and the set up steps up to help him become a better bowler.

Why are we so obsessed with speed??? when we know from the past that speed doesn't make you a successful bowler.

There is hope. He's coming off two stress factures suffered recently, he will get fitter, stronger and hopefully continue to improve. As a fan thats all I can hope and pray for. Hopefully the system and the set up steps up to help him become a better bowler.

I hope so ... fast bowlers are always exciting to watch ... he should make akhtar his role model if he wants to bowl fast ... bowling fast is all about passion

it would be difficult if he wants to be like Akhtar it is gonna be a painful journey .. Injuries are part and parcel of the package when u bowl that fast e-g likes of bond and akhtar

Why are we so obsessed with speed??? when we know from the past that speed doesn't make you a successful bowler.

Pace is always exciting ..... yes it doesnt necessarily make u a succesful bowler but the fear that a genuine fast bowler puts in the heart and mind of a batsman makes genuine pace so much intresting

Exciting doesn't necessarily translate to wickets. You need to get wickets to be successful. Just look at Imran when he started. All he did was bowl fast and he used to get thrashed. He became more successful when he started moving the ball around and control his line and length. He was exciting to watch.

Obviously line and length has its own place but i dont think it is the right thread to discuss "line and length" this thread is about bowling FAST ..

Infact imran states his story opposite he says he started as a medium fast bowler but his aim was to get faster and faster so he worked really hard and kept on getting faster and from 1980-85 imran was perhaps at his fastest and deadliest as well

An Indian friend of mine was saying that Indian domestic broadcaster Neo Cricket's speed guns are faulty and exaggerate the speed. He was saying that Abe Mithun regularly clocked 145k's in domestic cricket but whe he came to international cricket he struggled to hit 130k's.

So he was like its very likely that he is not as fast as the coverage is making it to be?

Wht do you guys think? does neocricket give wronng speeds,
Cn any indian shed light on this

An Indian friend of mine was saying that Indian domestic broadcaster Neo Cricket's speed guns are faulty and exaggerate the speed. He was saying that Abe Mithun regularly clocked 145k's in domestic cricket but whe he came to international cricket he struggled to hit 130k's.

So he was like its very likely that he is not as fast as the coverage is making it to be?

The likes of Dinda who has clocked 140+ was clocking 130 today on the same speed gun on which Varun clocked 148 and took 5 wickets today.

Your friend is quite wrong,Mithun clocked 145 on set max guns in IPL.143 was the speed that he clocked.

Other bowlers bowling the same match were in the typical range of 125-130 kmph. A faulty speedgun would mean they were bowling at 110-115 kmh, spinners were bowling at around 80 kmph, does it mean they were bowling at around 65-70 mph?

The speed gun can not be faulty just for one bowler. BTW the same speed guns that neo uses are used for int'l matches (TWI are their production company) and in international matches played in India, those speed guns have been fairly accurate.

My dream of an Indian Shoib,, well closer to anyway..

yaar Shoaib was 160 k's or at least 157-158 K's range - if you wanna be conservative- in Pak domestic before his debut.

Everyone who saw had not doubt he was quicker than waqar and close to Zahid territory, before he debuted..

Aaron has way to go before you can even mention him with shoaib. Or the criteria for an "indian shoaib" is slightly loose? :)

Other bowlers bowling the same match were in the typical range of 125-130 kmph. A faulty speedgun would mean they were bowling at 110-115 kmh, spinners were bowling at around 80 kmph, does it mean they were bowling at around 65-70 mph?

The speed gun can not be faulty just for one bowler. BTW the same speed guns that neo uses are used for int'l matches (TWI are their production company) and in international matches played in India, those speed guns have been fairly accurate.

acha bhai ghussa tu na ho!

i was just asking a question after what an INDIAN told me!

Indians now are very suspicious about their bowling prospects after many unfulfilled potential

Look at this way, tait easily clocks 155 in australia, here in india in the world cup his fastest is 150, varun has bowled 153 last week it means varun would be clocking 150 in australia easily, like aamir is an exceptional talent, he is exceptional too

Ishant hit 150 too in Australia. New bowler speed is not the problem, but speed going down the drain the more Indian bowlers play is the major problem.

Ishant was a rhythm bowler rhythm gone pace gone varun is power bowler

he has horrible run up and if he really bowls 140 (serious concerns) he wont last more than 6 months if gets to play international cricket.

He seems to me a normal grade 1 club cricketer with the potential to play first class/International (Only Indian team though)

Yaar this guy no way looks like an out and out pacer.We only need those kinds now.

Varun aaron ? Rubbish!

It doesnt matter what speed he bowls now. We've seen so many bowl at 140s only to wither away few years later. No Indian bowler, with the lure of IPL et al, will risk speed over fitness.

yaar Shoaib was 160 k's or at least 157-158 K's range - if you wanna be conservative- in Pak domestic before his debut.

Everyone who saw had not doubt he was quicker than waqar and close to Zahid territory, before he debuted..

Aaron has way to go before you can even mention him with shoaib. Or the criteria for an "indian shoaib" is slightly loose? :)

There were no speed guns in 1997 and whatever I saw of him 1997-1999 world cup he was not bowling 155 kph then...he increased his pace with time he was seriously quick in between 2000-2004..he was not bowling 160 in 1997 I am sure of that he was more of 150 then and Zahid was faster than him

OMG , how old are you?

Ooo bhai *** shoaib was always an out and out fast bowler ....

your varoon is quick but not even close to shoaib's pace as i have said he's a bit slower than sami (pace wise)

comparing him to shoaib is too much

in 1998 he stunned south-africa he stunned SA with his pace when donald and waqar who were fastest bowlers of their time were playing and shoaib was way more quicker than both

there were pace guns in 99 WC though speed wasnt shown on TV shoaib did bowl 97-98 mph deliveries in 99WC speeds were shown along the boundary line

i have been through this with Romali_Rotti. Speed guns have been in use since 1993. get your facts straight.

Speed guns may exist at that time, but I am not sure whether there were speeds shown in matches before 1999-2000......that is why I said..can you give me any link of Shoiab's bowling where speed is shown before 1999...that will be good

Ooo bhai *** shoaib was always an out and out fast bowler ....

your varoon is quick but not even close to shoaib's pace as i have said he's a bit slower than sami (pace wise)

comparing him to shoaib is too much

in 1998 he stunned south-africa he stunned SA with his pace when donald and waqar who were fastest bowlers of their time were playing and shoaib was way more quicker than both

there were pace guns in 99 WC though speed wasnt shown on TV shoaib did bowl 97-98 mph deliveries in 99WC speeds were shown along the boundary line

I am not saying Varun is faster than Shoiab..I first saw Shoiab when he was 23-24 and he was quicker than anyone at that time....but didnt look he was touching 160 then...speed guns was not there so I am not sure about that...but what :19::bow:I observed that he gained pace through his career except last few years when he became pretty unfit and was out of the team...He is my all time favorite bowler along with Brett Lee and Waqar...so I will never degrade him..Shoiab is one in a generation bowler, would have got more success if he had not been in controversies and in injury woes:bow:

Speed guns may exist at that time, but I am not sure whether there were speeds shown in matches before 1999-2000......that is why I said..can you give me any link of Shoiab's bowling where speed is shown before 1999...that will be good

there is no link available

but in 99 WC speed guns were used and i remember shoaib bowling 97-98 mph deliveries speeds were shown along the boundary line ... Shoaib was the fastest and most exciting bowler of the tournament

Well I didnt literally mean he is or was going to be India's exact copy of a Pakistani Akhtar. When I used the word India I was hinting a downgraded version of Shoib which is still a big achievement for us HAHA.... However I think I am going to have to disagree with you on Zahid being quicker than shoib; I saw the whole ODI series when Zahid played in Oz and he was quick however I honestly dont feel he was at Shoib's level speed wise who I have also closely observed in Oz, anyway thats another matter to discuss at a different time..

there is no link available

but in 99 WC speed guns were used and i remember shoaib bowling 97-98 mph deliveries speeds were shown along the boundary line ... Shoaib was the fastest and most exciting bowler of the tournament

ok...Comparing Varun to Shoiab is not my motto here...Varun still has to play at the top level....I am just saying he can gain pace as he is not like Ishant or Sreeshant who depends a lot on rhythm to generate pace...he has natural ability to bowl fast since his junior stint and he looked to have got the right blend of fast twitch muscles and power in his body to generate pace....

I think some Pakistanis are here very quickly writing Varun Aaron of, i'll let his performances tell me all about him, and if he can clock speeds above 140 km/h then SURELY you can't just write him of, so let's give it to the Indians, this guy has potential.

For the rest of us, let's not write this bowler off so quickly just for the sake of it alright?

Well I didnt literally mean he is or was going to be India's exact copy of a Pakistani Akhtar. When I used the word India I was hinting a downgraded version of Shoib which is still a big achievement for us HAHA.... However I think I am going to have to disagree with you on Zahid being quicker than shoib; I saw the whole ODI series when Zahid played in Oz and he was quick however I honestly dont feel he was at Shoib's level speed wise who I have also closely observed in Oz, anyway thats another matter to discuss at a different time..

Dude i can't even imagine what indian team would look like if you guys had a bowler like shoaib or anything close to him. scary thought :71:

it goes down to personal judgment who is quicker than who in the very top bracket of quickies. you think it was shoaib, fair enough.

shoaib himself is on record admitting that Zahid was quicker.

Waqar And Allan donald were clocked in England i guess.....Waqar clocked 153ks and Donald 152.9 ks.......Devon Malcolm also clocked 150.

There were speed guns in 1999 WC from Super Sixes.Akhtar clocked 96mph and was fastest.

The second fastest bowler clocked 93 MPH......guess who it was.

Dude i can't even imagine what indian team would look like if you guys had a bowler like shoaib or anything close to him. scary thought :71:

it goes down to personal judgment who is quicker than who in the very top bracket of quickies. you think it was shoaib, fair enough.

shoaib himself is on record admitting that Zahid was quicker.

We would better off with someone like Umar Gul to bowl with Zaheer. Both of them are intelligent bowlers who can swing the ball, it would be lethal.

Salaam all di buoyz and their sisterz

Has he played any more games? Please updates this thread with videos or at least iscorecards as I am quite interested in following him :)

Salaam all di buoyz and their sisterz

Has he played any more games? Please updates this thread with videos or at least iscorecards as I am quite interested in following him :)

Played one yester day

5-47 fastest ball 148 avg speed 143 ks.

According to wiki srinath has bowled at 156kph, 97mph, on south africa tour in 1996, that is even faster than waqar

Yes, WikiPedia says a lot of strange stuff...

I just "made" a fictious person and put him on WikiPedia over a month ago, and he is still there! (true story!) :farhat

According to wiki srinath has bowled at 156kph, 97mph, on south africa tour in 1996, that is even faster than waqar

Yes, WikiPedia says a lot of strange stuff...

I just "made" a fictious person and put him on WikiPedia over a month ago, and he is still there! (true story!) :farhat

Wiki quotes that from a Cricinfo article published almost 8 -9 years back.

And this is what that article says;

This particular delivery was reported by a major Indian News service although the exact date and the match in question has not been confirmed.

I'm sorry, but:

This particular delivery was reported by a major Indian News service

And this is what that article says;

I'm sorry, but:

To be honest i didnt read it in any news service.I read about it in a Wisden Article.In a magazine that Cricinfo used to publish.

Anyways.......Srinath in 1999 at the twilight of his career hit 149 ks in the WC so yes he may have hit the 150k mark.

Hmm I say this:

Let the kid have a go, don't write him off. One day India will produce another genuine quick (Srinath was not slow, he was a fast bowler, no express but a fast bowler nonetheless). Ishant was once a fast bowler now he is a joke - but that is his issue.

On Tait, he hits 155 in Oz because that's when he has come back from his annual 6 month holiday. He gets slower and slower and then goes on the holiday again, comes back 155+.

Romali that ODI series in OZ with Zahid was after his back injury. He was reputedly much quicker prior. Whether that is true we will never know.

The kid obviously has some raw pace, now the challenge for the Indian set up is to reverse the usual trend of quicks going backwards. A decent quick (which Ishant once was) makes that bowling attack so much better....

Romali that ODI series in OZ with Zahid was after his back injury. He was reputedly much quicker prior. Whether that is true we will never know.

Thats interesting were did you hear that from ? Never heard that before, it was Zahid 2nd series as an International cricketer right after NZ.. He was injured in Sri Lanka......

Another thing; during that OZ series did you feel Zahid was as quick as he is currently made out to be (Quicker or as quick as Shoib) ? Obviously we were in OZ at the time and could see every match live on Channel 9 which I did, you however might or might not have if you did; I want to get your thoughts on it. I heard Ritchie Benaud mentioning a quickie named Patterson Thompson whom he felt was the quickest bowler during that ODI series involving WI, PAK & OZ...Maybe its me I have always had a small bias towards Shoib or maybe its not or maybe its everything I dont know but my honest opinion was Shoib was wayyyy quicker than Zahid...

Thats interesting were did you hear that from ? Never heard that before, it was Zahid 2nd series as an International cricketer right after NZ.. He was injured in Sri Lanka......

Hmm you are correct. I always thought that he toured Oz after his back injury. But I checked the dates and you are correct my friend.

Another thing; during that OZ series did you feel Zahid was as quick as he is currently made out to be (Quicker or as quick as Shoib) ? Obviously we were in OZ at the time and could see every match live on Channel 9 which I did, you however might or might not have if you did; I want to get your thoughts on it. I heard Ritchie Benaud mentioning a quickie named Patterson Thompson whom he felt was the quickest bowler during that ODI series involving WI, PAK & OZ...Maybe its me I have always had a small bias towards Shoib or maybe its not or maybe its everything I dont know but my honest opinion was Shoib was wayyyy quicker than Zahid...

Given my previous post, no he was not as quick.

I did see that series and he was quick, no doubt. But compared to something like Shoiab's bowling at the Gabba or Perth to Ponting it was not the same.

I agree with your opinion. Though it might be correct to say at the time both were bowling (they bowled in a Test against us in Pakistan) Zahid was quicker. But Shoaib got faster than that in time.

Given my previous post, no he was not as quick.

I did see that series and he was quick, no doubt. But compared to something like Shoiab's bowling at the Gabba or Perth to Ponting it was not the same.

I agree with your opinion. Though it might be correct to say at the time both were bowling (they bowled in a Test against us in Pakistan) Zahid was quicker. But Shoaib got faster than that in time.

Thanks for your input :akhtar...

If he wants to stay quick, he better stay a country mile away from the Indian team.

A season or two with them and he'll end up a spinner!

Hmm strange speed change :inti -
114, 141, 145,153 kph

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/t9YAG6MIXMQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I don't care about this speeds in domestic circuit or IPL.
i care for performance for Indian team, if he can just bowl 145 kph for us and bowl those damn yorkers in the end at good pace, that will be perfect for me.

Quite impressed with what i have seen. Don't wait for anything, just throw him into Indian team ASAP without a second thought

Giving my 10-cents, I reckon the kid could well be quick, but I think I'll say the speed guns are most likely faulty in India.

My reasoning being, Munaf Patel, Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan, Dinda and of course Sharma were all reportedly "express pace" but turned into Razzaq'esque type bowlers.

Yes Ishant bowled 150k's in Aus, but tbh Razzaq could've hit 140k's on those pitches.

We've been disappointed with so-called Phast bowlers from India before, I'm not going to be so gullible now.

@freelance watch video carefully 114k ball was from a different bowler.his average speed in that spell was 144, fastest was 153.4

@sherlock munaf was quick in his first test series against england in 2006, he lowered his speed to stay injury free and prolong his career which greg chappel advised him. ishant, irfan, and sreeshanth were never quick in domestic before their india debut

Giving my 10-cents, I reckon the kid could well be quick, but I think I'll say the speed guns are most likely faulty in India.

My reasoning being, Munaf Patel, Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan, Dinda and of course Sharma were all reportedly "express pace" but turned into Razzaq'esque type bowlers.

Yes Ishant bowled 150k's in Aus, but tbh Razzaq could've hit 140k's on those pitches.

We've been disappointed with so-called Phast bowlers from India before, I'm not going to be so gullible now.

145 kph is express for our standards.
This dude does look like he means it :raja i can see it in his eyes

They bowled few quivk spells in patches but they were mostly medium fast to fast medium, not genuinly quick, when in good rhythm they bowled quick, irfan was always 130-135 bowler, media hyped him. on zim tour, last year dinda bowled up to 145k.

Dinda didnt do bad but selectors didnt persist with him. He may not be most talented bowler, but he is a hard trier, can bowl good yorkers and mixes the pace well. Instead of going back to nehra and munaf, they should have given him more chances.

Right now we have three varun aaron, umesh yadav, and sudeep tyagi. i have seen all three. all 3 can bowl 140+. according to me, selectors should back these three after WC. under ZAK's guidence, they can improve a lot. yadav and aaron both 90+ mph bowler

Tyagi is listed as a medium-pacer.

i think he is 80-85mph bowler who can get the occasional delivery around 88-90mph mark (i.e an effort ball)
the 150kph+ is nothing more than a faulty speed gun theres no way he is bowling those speeds at that 5ft height build.

he looks like a raw sreesanth.