[VIDEOS] Is Babar Azam the best all format batter in the world currently?

When he has to play out of his comfort zone i.e playing higher than 120 strike rate he doesn't look that good.

Has done nothing to show that he performs when it matters. Series decider so drops 2 catches and does nothing with the bat. His fan girls will get hurt but rn he’s shaping up to be a SAF cricketer with runs throughout the series but in deciders and KO tournament stages bottling.

He has had a great series. He averages 57 and a SR of 143.
Second only to Rizwan.

Here comes the stats. Lol
Impactwise both Rizwan and Baber played only 1 good knock i.e when they chased down 200. Other than they looked terrible.

He's a soft player who will score soft runs to make his fans happy. He's such a useless player to have in T20's

Second only to Rizwan.

He had a great series maybe by Pakistani standards. But in reality he had an awful series, looked like a Grandma while facing Wood.

He is just as good as Amla in accumulating impactless runs but the only difference is Amla did against some quality bowling attacks.

The so called best all format player has never showed up in any pressure matches in any format except that one fluke inning when he scored a 100 off 140 balls against NZ in WC.

Rohit and Kohli would have scored 10 tons in t20 cricket if they are selfish like Babar and Rizwan.

Overated cricketer in knockout and series decider. He failed in Asia cup final and series decider today.Dropped 2 catches.

Rohit and Kohli would have scored 10 tons in t20 cricket if they are selfish like Babar and Rizwan.

Babar would have 20 had he been selfish like Rohit and Kohli.
Kohli didn't even run himself out and let Surya play.
Rohit, played at 100 SR in a 240 total. Can't be more selfish than that.

Babar would have 20 had he been selfish like Rohit and Kohli.
Kohli didn't even run himself out and let Surya play.
Rohit, played at 100 SR in a 240 total. Can't be more selfish than that.
Lol.. I am sure you didn't watch the today's game.
I know it's burnol moment for you.

Not good enough and to think there's still a thread going around talking about him being in the Top 4, what a joke.

Its still Virat and will be until he retires. Babar has not done too bad and close to one of the top players in the world when it comes to all formats

How is his test and ODI form from last 2 years?
Afghanistan gifted him a Century after almost 4 years. It is certainly not Virat anymore.

How is his test and ODI form from last 2 years?
Afghanistan gifted him a Century after almost 4 years. It is certainly not Virat anymore.

He is still averaging over 50 in every format and very close to 50 in tests (more than babar anyway). Until that continues he is the best all format player.

The guy has great numbers in every format. Even the strike rate is good for T20.

He is still averaging over 50 in every format and very close to 50 in tests (more than babar anyway). Until that continues he is the best all format player.

The guy has great numbers in every format. Even the strike rate is good for T20.

Not averging more than Babar in ODIs. :)

Played a blinder today! Luckily Bangladesh has bottled it as usually on a good surface!

Not sure about the best All format player but He has been striking at the same phase in All three formats lately!

This over against Boult tells you everything you to know why Babar is the best batsman in the world.

Giving catching practice on a nothing delivery by Southee also tells you the same.

Chasing 140-160 targets is his forte in t20s, but yeah he is very good at that.

Yeah it is Babar's fault that his bowlers don't allow other teams to score above 170 these days. Although he recently did chase 200+ against England when his bowlers perfomed like Indian bowlers. :rabada2 :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most player of the match awards by a Pakistani in T20Is:<br><br>Shahid Afridi 11<br>Mohammad Hafeez 11<br>Mohammad Rizwan 9<br>Babar Azam 8<br>Shadab Khan 8<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/6vMlria2Lx">pic.twitter.com/6vMlria2Lx</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1578686045985509376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 8, 2022</a></blockquote>

Perfect kind of score for him to play his natural game

Add 30 runs to this total, or bat first and then watch our Bobby boy bat

Yeah it is Babar's fault that his bowlers don't allow other teams to score above 170 these days.

Literally just the last series, his bowlers conceded 200+ routinely and also had 170 chased down in 15 overs. :)))

And he failed in 2 out of those 3 high scoring chases and the only time he succeeded was when England played a reserve attack by resting Wood, Woakes and Topley. Failed in the Asia cup too against India and Sri Lanka while chasing 170+.

The guy is just not made to chase down these totals against decent attacks.

Babar Azam
Kane Williamson
Mohammad Rizwan
Dawid Malan
Steve Smith

Top 5 T20 batters in the world when chasing 140-50.

Babar Azam
Kane Williamson
Mohammad Rizwan
Dawid Malan
Steve Smith

Top 5 T20 batters in the world when chasing 140-50.
Just lying like Dipti Sharma or you actually have any proof of what you are saying?

I meant is as a compliment lol no need to get defensive. Babar is the most reliable batter in the world when chasing at ~7.5 RPO against any bowling attack. You need such players in your team ideally at no.3 or 4.

If Pakistan bowling clicks, they can go all the way given the consistency of top 2. But they will want to field first mostly. While setting you don't know what to set.

Babar notched up his 28th T20I fifty and hence levelled Kohli for having reached the mark in the same number of innings. Both stand atop in that unique list with 84 innings. This was also Babar's 12th half-century score while chasing which is now the joint third-highest by a batter in the format. He equalled India captain Rohit and now only stands behind Kohli (19) and Australia's Warner.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...inning-79-vs-new-zealand-101665222602208.html

He's easily the best in the world atm.

T20Is....above avg
ODIs....Beast
Tests....doing great now after the initial struggle.

He's easily the best in the world atm.

T20Is....above avg
ODIs....Beast
Tests....doing great now after the initial struggle.

Don't see any all-formats batter who's performing better than him in last 2 years.

This thread is getting boring now.

Babar shuts up his clueless haters who are in love with some brainless talaybaaz openers.

He fails a few times and the usual loud mouths will bump this thread again.

And the cycle continues like this...

This thread is getting boring now.

Babar shuts up his clueless haters who are in love with some brainless talaybaaz openers.

He fails a few times and the usual loud mouths will bump this thread again.

And the cycle continues like this...

Lol this. He is the best all format player and they cant simply digest it.

Sometimes I feel we can be too hard on our players.

Babar Azam is the best batsmen in the world and the rest of the world mostly acknowledges that fact now too. The numbers are there, but even forgetting the numbers for a second, just watch him play. He has some of the absolute best timing and placement I have ever seen. He can play a wide range of shots and he plays almost all of them textbook.

Lol this. He is the best all format player and they cant simply digest it.

See them coming out in full force once he fails.

Today's excuse : "Babar is made for 140-150 chases. He can't chase more than that."

See them coming out in full force once he fails.

Today's excuse : "Babar is made for 140-150 chases. He can't chase more than that."

Some Pakistani fans hate our team and players more than the Indian fans do!

With friends like this, who needs enemies?

I meant is as a compliment lol no need to get defensive. Babar is the most reliable batter in the world when chasing at ~7.5 RPO against any bowling attack. You need such players in your team ideally at no.3 or 4.
I am not defensive at all.
Babar is the best at a lot of things. But still what are your proofs for the others?

Literally just the last series, his bowlers conceded 200+ routinely and also had 170 chased down in 15 overs. :)))

And he failed in 2 out of those 3 high scoring chases and the only time he succeeded was when England played a reserve attack by resting Wood, Woakes and Topley. Failed in the Asia cup too against India and Sri Lanka while chasing 170+.

The guy is just not made to chase down these totals against decent attacks.

These two(one actually :kp) always get hurt whenever Babar wins it for Pakistan. And I already mentioned he won it for Pakistan chasing 200+ when his bowlers bowled like Indian bowlers. Not sure why cut that part from my post in your quoted post. :91: :inti

[MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] I am still waiting for you to back up the below gem, brother. Don't leave me hanging here... :91:

Yeah it is Babar's fault that his bowlers don't allow other teams to score above 170 these days.

He still has a long way to go in Test cricket to deserve this title. A comparison with the likes of Kohli is simply not fair right now.

In terms of pure T20 performance, he will always be just behind the very best. And the simple reason is the absence of a power hitting game. The same reason why I feel the likes of Steve Smith or Williamson will never make the top either.

In ODIs though, a case can be made. One would struggle to find a player who's scored this consistently for this long.

LMAO what is there to prove?You are looking so desperate here jeetesh bhai. :91: :inti

Okay no worries let me help you out by recapping a little bit here... :91:

You said Babar can't/is not chasing 170 in T20is because his bowlers are not allowing other teams to actually score above 170+ these days.

To which I responded with a naked fact that Babar's bowlers have, in fact, conceded half a dozen 170 plus totals in just the last one month in which Babar failed to chase down 5 of them and only succeeded when England rested their 3 best fast bowlers while failing thrice against the said 3 when they featured. And also failed against India and Sri Lanka while chasing 170+ in the Asia cup.

So yeah...still waiting for you to backup that statement with something... anything.

So the answer to "LMAO what is there to prove"? is still apparently .... everything. :angel:

He is the best in the world right now. He is just doing it in every format.
He doesn't get out in ODIs and he is doing way better in tests as well and in t20is he is doing a wonderful job.
Nobody comes to close to him( all formats considered)

Okay no worries let me help you out by recapping a little bit here... :91:

You said Babar can't/is not chasing 170 in T20is because his bowlers are not allowing other teams to actually score above 170+ these days.

To which I responded with a naked fact that Babar's bowlers have, in fact, conceded half a dozen 170 plus totals in just the last one month in which Babar failed to chase down 5 of them and only succeeded when England rested their 3 best fast bowlers while failing thrice against the said 3 when they featured. And also failed against India and Sri Lanka while chasing 170+ in the Asia cup.

So yeah...still waiting for you to backup that statement with something... anything.

So the answer to "LMAO what is there to prove"? is still apparently .... everything. :angel:
Once again what is there to prove? Were you expecting Babar to chase 200+ twice in two days or do you want him to chase every target? How stupid one can be lol? :91: :inti

The guy is a pocket sized dynamite.

He is Pakistani Sachin. Consistent, hardworking and always making his haters cry. Not to mention the burden of expectations from opposition fans who want him to chase every target. He is also not allowed to have off days. Expect him to chase 200+ totals twice in 2 days. Only Sachin had that charisma before that. He is going to break records and arrogance of some fans together. :rabada2 :inti

If you are the best in a format and you have a bowling attack that can defend average scores

You are supposed to win the tournament for your side. That’s the demand

He is the best in the world right now. He is just doing it in every format.
He doesn't get out in ODIs and he is doing way better in tests as well and in t20is he is doing a wonderful job.
Nobody comes to close to him( all formats considered)

His blind haters have found a new parameter to bring him down though. He only chase totals around 150-160. :facepalm

He hasn't even reached his peak in this format yet. :inti

2007, 2009, 2010

Pakistan played a final, semi final and won a T20 World Cup with a much weaker bowling attack than we have now and without two top ranked T20 batsmen.

The demands and expectations to go ahead and win the tournament are not unreasonable

As the best so called all format batsman in the world. The excuses are next to none especially considering you are the captain and you are totally in control of your own batting position

Once again what is there to prove? Were you expecting Babar to chase 200+ twice in two days or do you want him to chase every target? How stupid one can be lol? :91: :inti

So you're saying you were right when you said that Babar doesn't chase 170 because his bowlers haven't conceded those totals in the recent past?

Or you're saying it is acceptable to fail spectacularly 5 out of 6 times against high totals just because you chased one time against a reserve attack?

Or you're saying it's just a mere coincidence that Babar chased down 200 when main English pacers were out but suddenly started scoring in single digits when they returned?

:))) p.s - Absolutely loving this

I hope PCB would arrange more Tests and ODIs rather than one t20i series after the other.

Babar has a long way to go in Tests. ODIs is his best format.

[MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION] .Who were these main English bowlers , even Wood is never permamnent member of England T20 team, and Jordon gets plenty of phainty from Pakistani baten in internationals as well as PSLs. Archer seem to be a dream that happened to English bowling not to be seen after.
How often does 200+ get chased down by top 3 teams who always have more than 2 good batsmen , why would you expect Paksitan to chase it down with their pathetic middle order to support the openers?

He still has a long way to go in Test cricket to deserve this title. A comparison with the likes of Kohli is simply not fair right now.

In terms of pure T20 performance, he will always be just behind the very best. And the simple reason is the absence of a power hitting game. The same reason why I feel the likes of Steve Smith or Williamson will never make the top either.

In ODIs though, a case can be made. One would struggle to find a player who's scored this consistently for this long.

Finally a sensible take on Babar's T20 batting ability and his obvious limitations.

But his desperate fans and other pretenders are trying to make him look like something which he clearly isn't.

2007, 2009, 2010

Pakistan played a final, semi final and won a T20 World Cup with a much weaker bowling attack than we have now and without two top ranked T20 batsmen.

The demands and expectations to go ahead and win the tournament are not unreasonable

As the best so called all format batsman in the world. The excuses are next to none especially considering you are the captain and you are totally in control of your own batting position

The bowling attack of Gul, Afridi, Ajmal, Razzaq, Amir is the best t20i bowling attack we have ever had.
The 2007 attack of Asif, Gul, Afridi, Tanvir(novelty factor), Hafeez, Malik/Arafat is a close second for SA conditions.

No need to downplay that great team we had back then. We were legitimately the best team back in 2009 whether it was rankings or win%.

The title of this thread is best all format not best in every format. Babar is the first name that fits this now that Kohli is not so consistent, and Babar's combined record is better than likes of Root, Rohit, and Warner.

[MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION] .Who were these main English bowlers, even Wood is never permamnent member of England T20 team, and Jordon gets plenty of phainty from Pakistani baten in internationals as well as PSLs. Archer seem to be a dream that happened to English bowling not to be seen after.
How often does 200+ get chased down by top 3 teams who always have more than 2 good batsmen , why would you expect Paksitan to chase it down with their pathetic middle order to support the openers?

Mark Wood
Chris Woakes
Reece Topley

The three best English fast bowlers who were available. No one is talking about Archer or Jordan. All three of the above were rested and Babar/Rizwan made full use of this opportunity to chase down a 200 total ... just like they did against Magala, Lizaad and company in SAF. And then they failed with flying colors once the above bowlers returned.

So you're saying you were right when you said that Babar doesn't chase 170 because his bowlers haven't conceded those totals in the recent past?

Or you're saying it is acceptable to fail spectacularly 5 out of 6 times against high totals just because you chased one time against a reserve attack?

Or you're saying it's just a mere coincidence that Babar chased down 200 when main English pacers were out but suddenly started scoring in single digits when they returned?

:))) p.s - Absolutely loving this

I am saying he is not used to chasing big scores because his bowlers don't conceed high totals like Indian bowlers do. :rabada2

You remember England missing their key bowlers but completely forgot Pakistan is also missing their premier bowler Shaheen Shah. The guy who was responsible for Babar not chasing a total of 200+ against India in the last World Cup. :inzi

PS: I am also absolutely loving the burn you are getting in this thread jeetesh bhai. :inti

Mark Wood
Chris Woakes
Reece Topley

The three best English fast bowlers who were available. No one is talking about Archer or Jordan. All three of the above were rested and Babar/Rizwan made full use of this opportunity to chase down a 200 total ... just like they did against Magala, Lizaad and company in SAF. And then they failed with flying colors once the above bowlers returned.

You never bring these cute things into discussion when you talk about Indian players. Why? I remember you were going mad at me and throwing your toys out of the pram when I put an cute asterisk on Indian win in Australia. Just like that Ab Fan guy you too are inconsistent and biased. :inti

Finally a sensible take on Babar's T20 batting ability and his obvious limitations.

But his desperate fans and other pretenders are trying to make him look like something which he clearly isn't.

Don't hide behind that guy's opinion now jeetesh. His opinion looks genuine whereas you are trying to mock Babar's performances here. Anyone can see it clearly in this thread. :91: :inti

I am saying he is not used to chasing big scores because his bowlers don't conceed high totals like Indian bowlers do. :rabada2

And the beizzati has finally been completed. :)))

What you are saying, said and not said is clear for everyone to see on this thread. Don't lie and embarass yourselves even more. You can't even edit your posts now..:91:

And lol at "hIs bOWleRs dOnT cOnCeDe hIgH tOtAlS lIkE iNdiAn bOwleRs dO". Looks like it was too painful for you to watch the treatment received from England's second string batters recently.

You remember England missing their key bowlers but completely forgot Pakistan is also missing their premier bowler Shaheen Shah. The guy who was responsible for Babar not chasing a total of 200+ against India in the last World Cup. :inzi

Has nothing to do with the discussion at hand. Just shows you have nothing else to fall back on so clinging onto some irrelevant pain soothers. :91:

PS: I am also absolutely loving the burn you are getting in this thread jeetesh bhai. :inti

Yeah, It's pretty evident who are feeling the burn and had to resort to lame lies like "Babar's bowlers don't concede so Babar won't chase" when presented with a mirror, Ram Shekar bhai...:91:

The bowling attack of Gul, Afridi, Ajmal, Razzaq, Amir is the best t20i bowling attack we have ever had.
The 2007 attack of Asif, Gul, Afridi, Tanvir(novelty factor), Hafeez, Malik/Arafat is a close second for SA conditions.

No need to downplay that great team we had back then. We were legitimately the best team back in 2009 whether it was rankings or win%.

Seamers:

Gul, Razzaq and Asif v Rauf, Shaheen, Wasim JR

Spinners: Ajmal/ Hafeez/ Afridi v Shadab/Nawaz/Iftikhar

I personally think our pacers are better than the ATG pace attack of the past. The spinners however are not on the level of Ajmal, Afridi, Hafeez. They were not just containers, they were proper wicket takers like Rashid khan is today. They could bowl to take wickets and win games.

Don't hide behind that guy's opinion now jeetesh. His opinion looks genuine whereas you are trying to mock Babar's performances here. Anyone can see it clearly in this thread. :91: :inti

Just stating plain facts, Ram Shekhar.

Not my fault if they're too hot for you to handle.
You could have just admitted to bungling up when you made that laughworthy statement and i would have spared you this embarrassment for today. But you asked for it... :91:

You never bring these cute things into discussion when you talk about Indian players. Why? I remember you were going mad at me and throwing your toys out of the pram when I put an cute asterisk on Indian win in Australia. Just like that Ab Fan guy you too are inconsistent and biased. :inti

What cute things lol...

You were crying endlessly about Warner and Smith, when India won the first time in Australia and then cried again when we won there with a B team against their full strength side . You should be the last one who should be calling these "cute things" lol.. These type of asterisks were your only source of pain killers once upon a time. :91:

And the beizzati has finally been completed. :)))

What you are saying, said and not said is clear for everyone to see on this thread. Don't lie and embarass yourselves even more. You can't even edit your posts now..:91:

And lol at "hIs bOWleRs dOnT cOnCeDe hIgH tOtAlS lIkE iNdiAn bOwleRs dO". Looks like it was too painful for you to watch the treatment received from England's second string batters recently.

Has nothing to do with the discussion at hand. Just shows you have nothing else to fall back on so clinging onto some irrelevant pain soothers. :91:

Yeah, It's pretty evident who are feeling the burn and had to resort to lame lies like "Babar's bowlers don't concede so Babar won't chase" when presented with a mirror, Ram Shekar bhai...:91:

It seems I hit a nerve there jeetesh. Look at your above posts where you can be seen crying about England missing their key bowlers, that is why I reminded you of Shaheen Shah. It has everything to do with the discussion. Don't chicken out and run away like you always do. :91: :inti

Just stating plain facts, Ram Shekhar.

Not my fault if they're too hot for you to handle.
You could have just admitted to bungling up when you made that laughworthy statement and i would have spared you this embarrassment for today. But you asked for it... :91:

Mocking his performances and then hiding behind someone's genuine opinion and saying look 'i was saying the exact same thing, finally a sensible post'. Who are you fooling here jeetesh bhai? :91: :inti

What cute things lol...

You were crying endlessly about Warner and Smith, when India won the first time in Australia and then cried again when we won there with a B team against their full strength side . You should be the last one who should be calling these "cute things" lol.. These type of asterisks were your only source of pain killers once upon a time. :91:

Own goal by jeetesh. According to you if these were my pain killers then why are you using these pain killers in this thread? Karwa li beizzati? Aaya swaad? :91: :inti

It seems I hit a nerve there jeetesh. Look at your above posts where you can be seen crying about England missing their key bowlers, that is why I reminded you of Shaheen Shah. It has everything to do with the discussion. Don't chicken out and run away like you always do. :91: :inti

Oh dear you want more.. :)))

Ok here we go...This post is about Babar and the discussion at hand is about his run chasing ability when challenged with a high score and a decent attack. So how does Shaheen even come into the picture here lol. Or are you indirectly admitting that Shaheen needs to be played every game so that precious Babar doesn't ever have to chase big scores against decent attacks just because he doesn't the ability? :91:

Own goal by jeetesh. According to you if these were my pain killers then why are you using these pain killers in this thread? Karwa li beizzati? Aaya swaad? :91: :inti

Your pain killers turned out to be just those.. when we beat them the second time around with Warner and Smith , that too with a B team.

What I'm saying in this thread are plain facts proven by Babar himself when he failed with flying colors when England's decent pacers returned.

Keep trying Ram shekar bhai.. more beizzati loading for you with each quote. :91:

Oh dear you want more.. :)))

Ok here we go...This post is about Babar and the discussion at hand is about his run chasing ability when challenged with a high score and a decent attack. So how does Shaheen even come into the picture here lol. Or are you indirectly admitting that Shaheen needs to be played every game so that precious Babar doesn't ever have to chase big scores against decent attacks just because he doesn't the ability? :91:

Wow you are presenting facts like a 5 year old now. Giving excuses about England missing there key bowlers and how Babar/Rizwan made full use of that while ignoring the fact that Pakistan were also missing their key bowler Shaheen Shah. Waah kya logic hai. At least be consistent and not biased with your views. :facepalm

And lol at you want more. Are you patting your back after every post here? Or will you say 'aaj main karke aaya' to yourself after getting embarrassed again here. :91: :inti

Your pain killers turned out to be just those.. when we beat them the second time around with Warner and Smith , that too with a B team.

What I'm saying in this thread are plain facts proven by Babar himself when he failed with flying colors when England's decent pacers returned.

Keep trying Ram shekar bhai.. more beizzati loading for you with each quote. :91:

So you finally accept these are your pain killers in this thread. :91:

May be you hate Babar because he likes Kohli and supported him when you were busy blaming/cursing Kohli for losing tosses? :inti