What was the last film you watched?

Daoud said:
No, what happened? Before watching Xmen 3 I read theres a bit at the end so I told everyone to stay till after the credits but hadnt really read much about Iron Man so didnt wait till the end
I think it had somethin to do with samuel jackson bein in the most movies of all time...? I think but im not sure though...

Daoud said:
No, what happened?

Samuel L. Jackson turns up as the comic character Nick Fury and asks Stark to join the Avengers initiative.

Iron man - Stark - Robert Downey Jr will also be Incredible Hulk!

Garuda said:
I think tashan is kind of north india slang for "style".

e.g. Kya tashan hai?

not very sure though. Some one can correct me.

Tashan is a colloquial term used mainly by youth. It can be losely translated as style or mannerism. For example if while playing cards you tap your cards before picking them thats tashan. Wearing collars high or sleeves rolled to forearms can be tashan if some one does it to impress or distinguish himself.

We watched a film called Rendition last night.

Its based on the CIA picking up an alleged terrorist and the political games that are played behind the scenes etc

Good film.

dirk diggler said:
harold and kumar escape from guantanemo bay...the less said the better!!!
noooooo, was looking forward to this! :(

I saw "I am Legend" and this has got to be one of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. I even started forwarding it in the middle. That is a pure sign of boring movie

The lights were off but there was still some light. The movie case in the back has some hairless man screaming so I thought it was a dumb scary movie where someone will just jump up screaming so the viewer wakes up. From the movie I understand the baldies got a virus that makes you lose all body hair. The dog was probably the best interest in the movie but the jealous Will Smith kills him. I don't know why he drove around or go into buildings. He didn't have a Wii or PS3 or did the TV stop working? Wearing of lab coat when he goes into his attic lab was a nice touch but then last two times he didn't wear it.

I bought the movie and cost me $10 :(

I just saw Ironman, and it was awesome. I'd been waiting for this movie for a few years now, I'm a huge Ironman fan.

The only thing I didn't like about the movie was that, I wish they focused less on showing him building the suit, and showed a bit more of Tony Stark's personal life to build up his character a little more.

Did anyone also catch Sam Jackson's cameo as Nick Fury after the credits?
I can't wait for the Avengers movie in 2011 and Ironman II in 2012!

But the next two movies I'm excited about is The Hulk reboot and The Dark Knight.

I'm watching Long da Lishkara.

Classic punjabi film with Gurdaas Maan, Mehar Mittal and Raj Babbar. Some funny scenes and some good songs.

saw "No country for Old Men" and "Apollo 13" last night. Worth watching if you like good movies

I watched a film by the name of Valley of Elah, starring Tommy Lee Jones. Absolute rubbish, I fell asleep half way through and by all accounts didnt miss much.

One to avoid.

We watched You, me aur Hum last night. It stars Ajay Devgan and Kajol.

A drab film to say the least about an alzheimers patient and how her relationship with her husband suffers as a result of the illness.

4/10

Indiana Jones and his ET crystal skull - looking forward to Mummy III as Indie disappointed.

Saj said:
We watched You, me aur Hum last night. It stars Ajay Devgan and Kajol.

A drab film to say the least about an alzheimers patient and how her relationship with her husband suffers as a result of the illness.

4/10

It wasn't that bad Saj. First half was a piece of junk, but the second half wasn't bad (though it did become overly romantic at times).

watched Prince Caspian. Mediocre movie. got pretty boring thhalf way through and the ending was also noting to write home about.

I hope to Iron man ans Sex and the city this weekend.

Finally saw A.I. Artificial Intelligence last night.

I had originally dismissed this movie when hit the theaters a few years back thinking it was just another cheesy robot movie.

But after watching it last night .. man was I wrong ... what a gripping, chilling and absolutely haunting movie.

A must see for those who haven't and Stanley Kubrick's last masterpiece.

Finally watched "The Shawshank Redemption". boy what a movie it is. Brook's last days of "freedom" was really painful to watch.:(

octavian said:
I hope to Iron man ans Sex and the city this weekend.
I've seen the Iron Man, solid film, sit back and enjoy.

Never had the urge to watch Sex and the City though. Don't know why, probably because I'm normal.

I knew Ironman would be good, I'd been waiting for the movie for years lol. I remember back in 2000, when they had plans to make it.

Next, I want to see the Incredible Hulk movie. I know the last one sucked. But I guarantee, that this one is going to be good.

Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Not as funny as it seemed in the trailer.

Last couple of days I have seen Rendition (okay if it comes on cable but not worth renting or buying), There will be Blood (good) and Hunt for Red October (good). There will be blood is still going (haven't finished it)

DM said:
I've seen the Iron Man, solid film, sit back and enjoy.

Never had the urge to watch Sex and the City though. Don't know why, probably because I'm normal.

:))) :))) :))) :)))

kashif77 said:
Finally saw A.I. Artificial Intelligence last night.

I had originally dismissed this movie when hit the theaters a few years back thinking it was just another cheesy robot movie.

But after watching it last night .. man was I wrong ... what a gripping, chilling and absolutely haunting movie.

A must see for those who haven't and Stanley Kubrick's last masterpiece.

A.I. was Spielberg's movie Kashif, not Kubrick's. Kubrick's last was "Eyes Wide Shut".

the_game said:
A.I. was Spielberg's movie Kashif, not Kubrick's. Kubrick's last was "Eyes Wide Shut".

was kubrick's concept initially .. spielberg took over when he died.

Watched first half of Prince Caspian ...boorrrrring.....

Watched Stewie Griffin's movie The Untold Story...he he he..

Watched Saw IV today, felt like sawing my brains out. Highly recommended.... NOT !

kashif77 said:
was kubrick's concept initially .. spielberg took over when he died.

Really? Didn't know that. Regardless, I'm sure Kubrick would have done a much better job ;-) .

Just watched "21 Grams" (2003). What a brilliant movie; only a few movies can carry off non-chronological sequences, and this is definitely one of them. All of Sean Penn, Naomi Watts, and Benicio Del Toro were amazing.

Saw Ironman earlier this evening; end battle was reminiscent of Transformers. Downey is brilliant, Bridges looks evil as a baldie and I'm sure I've seen Farhan Tahir in Pak dramas, I may be wrong.

Next movies to watch:

MONGOL
WANTED
MUMMY
BATMAN

and some others, but not The Happening.

Watched 'Bhootnath'. An interestingly, emotional, baseless film :| .

the_game said:
Just watched "21 Grams" (2003). What a brilliant movie; only a few movies can carry off non-chronological sequences, and this is definitely one of them. All of Sean Penn, Naomi Watts, and Benicio Del Toro were amazing.
Great film isn't it, really enjoyed that one

Oh and if anyone says the word 'Bhoothnath' ever again, I swear I'll hunt you down and physically beat you with a snooker cue.

DM said:
Great film isn't it, really enjoyed that one

It really was. And I'm so impressed by Naomi Watts; I genuinely thought she was a bimbette not worth a dime as far as acting goes. Mulholland Drive and 21 Grams made a believer out of me on her acting skills, that's for sure.

the_game said:
It really was. And I'm so impressed by Naomi Watts; I genuinely thought she was a bimbette not worth a dime as far as acting goes. Mulholland Drive and 21 Grams made a believer out of me on her acting skills, that's for sure.
Agreed, especially that powerful acting scene in Mulholland Drive. Another really fantastic film, great sense of dark foreboding in it from the master Lynch. Good taste my man. If you haven't already, you simply must, must also watch Lynch's "Lost Highway".

DM said:
Agreed, especially that powerful acting scene in Mulholland Drive. Another really fantastic film, great sense of dark foreboding in it from the master Lynch. Good taste my man. If you haven't already, you simply must, must also watch Lynch's "Lost Highway".

On my "to watch" list, thanks bro.

Inswinger, Rounders was pretty entertaining.

Watched Sex and the City movie last week. Waste of time if you are male. Fell asleep. :)

This week saw the new Chronicles of Narnia : Prince Caspian. It was ok. Probably better than first one.

Also saw a romantic comedy. Defintely Maybe. About a guy going through a divorce and explains girlfriends and how he met daughters mother to kid, but changes names etc. Good plot.

JustAnotherFan said:
Watched Sex and the City movie last week. Waste of time if you are male. Fell asleep. :)

This week saw the new Chronicles of Narnia : Prince Caspian. It was ok. Probably better than first one.

Also saw a romantic comedy. Defintely Maybe. About a guy going through a divorce and explains girlfriends and how he met daughters mother to kid, but changes names etc. Good plot.
explains girlfriends? like the concept of them?

And good call on Sex and the City, I personally think we should quarantine all males who decide to watch that to eradicate them from the male gene pool

We watched National Treasure part 2 - absolute rubbish.

The first one was just about bearable, but this one was terrible.

DM said:

I have to say that Mulholland Drive left me very puzzled the first time I saw it. I had to watch it again to realize what had happened. In the second half the movie took such a turn that I could not keep up with what had happened, especially since the characters switched around. Interesting movie though.

I like movies that make you think. I really enjoyed Donnie Darko. One of the movies that puzzles me a lot though is something I saw some time ago. Its called The Big Empty and has Sean Bean and Rachel Leigh Cook. If someone else has ever seen this then please let me know.

Prince Caspian was fairly average. I havent read the book for at least 12 years so my memory is a bit sketchy so wont try and compare it to the book but surely it didnt try to shove down an awkward relationship between Susan and Caspian. Those scenes were quite terrible.

Plan to see 'The Hulk' and this Islamic animation 'Conquest of Constantinople' over the weekend

MCMLXXXII said:
I have to say that Mulholland Drive left me very puzzled the first time I saw it. I had to watch it again to realize what had happened. In the second half the movie took such a turn that I could not keep up with what had happened, especially since the characters switched around. Interesting movie though.

I like movies that make you think. I really enjoyed Donnie Darko. One of the movies that puzzles me a lot though is something I saw some time ago. Its called The Big Empty and has Sean Bean and Rachel Leigh Cook. If someone else has ever seen this then please let me know.

I have been a big fan of David Lynch for a while.. I can claim to have understood Mulholland Drive.

But Lost Highway is beyond any1.. very complex and intriguing... stylishly beautiful and intelligently confusing.

I'm quite a bit of a Lynchian myself :D

Lost Highway has been well explained actually (overriding theme is an alternation between dream and reality - eg in the dialogue with the 2 policemen - the pauses between sentences, cues, are long and distinctly inorganic, artificial, not unlike a dream). Of course that is but one of many facets to uncover.

Lynch himself says he directs films as art. ie something multi-layered, the unearthing of each yielding a richer appreciation, like a good painting or piece of classical music.

Apparently Lynch's latest (Inland Empire) has some explanation though I haven't read them and I was barely able to interpret anything myself. I saw it at an indie movie house and people just started laughing at the end. The man is savagely insane and talented.

Also important to be aware that Lynch never reveals his interpretation of his movies ever!

I know Lynch just gave one clue - psychogenic fugue (PF)... how when confronted with extreme mental stress, some people tend to withdraw entirely on to their inside and imagine themselves to be some one else.

PF has been known to occur in case of soldiers in battle field, people who had near drowning related experiences and most often with death penalty prisoners.

Even though that explains how Bill Pullman transforms into Balthazar Ghetty in the prison, it still doesnt explain many small and confusing scenes - why does Bill Pullman hear the message "Dick Laurent is dead" even before he was imprisoned ? how come the obnoxious, creepy, bug eyed character - who was supposed to be some sorta symbolic manifestation of BP's nightmares how did he manage to tape inside Bill's house ? Isnt he supposed to be imaginary ?

Actually the middle and last parts could be explained away as - just a dream.. the first half an hour itself has many confusing scenes..

Mulholland drive is more or less straight forward... about a lesbian guilt trip, nothin more.

Other than Lynch.. there is a mexican director (well, he is some european transplant based in mexico) - Alexandro Jodorowski.. he also makes kick a$$ surreal movies.

Used to be big time into surreal/mysterious flicks.. though Lynch beats them all coz he has more beautiful and quiet people who know how to attract our attention (except Eraserhead, which was violently disturbing..prolly like Afridi's pleasant day dream :D)

For the best explanation of Lost Highway I have read, check it out on salon.com

Also check out the legendary Ingmar Bergman for surreal (and astonishingly good) films. Less esoteric, mind.

Also a Russian film called Chetyre.

And Eraserhead.... *shudder*
:D

DM said:
Also important to be aware that Lynch never reveals his interpretation of his movies ever!

He is such a ******* for doing that!

Eraserhead was hard to sit through man, so disturbing and freaky.

Just came back from the Hulk. I thought it was very good but little below Iron Man (although everyone else whos seen it says its as good or better). Either way its heartening to see 2 quality Marvel movies released in such a short period of time. Much better than a lot of the recent offerings such as Fantastic 4: 2 and Spiderman 3. They're really building up to the Avengers movie

Hey, I just saw a TAMIL movie called DASAVATHARAM.. Kamal hassan plays 10 roles in that movie - which is a new guinness world record.

THe roles include GEORGE BUSH, japanese samurai master, 95 year old brahmin woman and a 7' afghan pathan.

Make up is a bit lumpish at times, especially the old woman's skin is all rubbery and hanging... but boy what an attempt, especially the way he manages to change his mannerisms to suit each character.

EASILY ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES TO COME OUT OF SOUTH ASIA IN MODERN TIMES. Some special effects were mindboggling even by hollywood standards.

I actually watched Rambo: First Blood I and First Blood II

Will be watching Rambo III tonight.

Excellent movies.

Kamranz said:
I watched 'Run Fat boy Run'. That was seriosuly cr@p movie.

No kidding ...

Were u expecting a movie titled Run Fat Boy Run to be an Oscar winner or something ?

Watched Bollywood film 'Sarkar Raj', the sequel of 'Sarkar'. Was a good film.

I will give it 7/10.

I watched "The Incredible Hulk" 2day. It was a rly gud film I wud recommend it, also Tony Stark the main character from Iron Man makes an appearance at the end of the film

watched Apollo 13 last night. Will watch the inspirational and educational Karate Kid today

switchblade said:
Hey, I just saw a TAMIL movie called DASAVATHARAM.. Kamal hassan plays 10 roles in that movie - which is a new guinness world record.

THe roles include GEORGE BUSH, japanese samurai master, 95 year old brahmin woman and a 7' afghan pathan.

Make up is a bit lumpish at times, especially the old woman's skin is all rubbery and hanging... but boy what an attempt, especially the way he manages to change his mannerisms to suit each character.

EASILY ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES TO COME OUT OF SOUTH ASIA IN MODERN TIMES. Some special effects were mindboggling even by hollywood standards.
:))) this sounds interesting

We watched a film called The Eye, starring Jessica Alba.

A few scary bits in it, but it wasnt really that great - 5/10.

Watched "Wanted" last night, pretty awesome action movie and guaranteed fun.

Garuda said:
Mere Baap, Pehle App

What a crap

:(

Mere Baap Pehle Aap what a crap :burn: !!!

Some comedy was good but rest of it was rubbish :po: !!!

Zechariah said:
I actually watched Rambo: First Blood I and First Blood II

Will be watching Rambo III tonight.

Excellent movies.
A few months ago a few of us were at dinner and were talking about seeing Rambo the next day. A little later we hear my cousins gf say 'whos Rambo'. The rest of us were left flabergasted

I was worried I might get dragged along to Zohan or Get Smart this weekend but luckily that doesnt seem to be the case