What was the last film you watched?

sq_lost_soul_the_doomed_journey_of_richard_stanleys_island_of_dr_moreau.jpg

8/10

A terrific documentary about the disastrous production of The Island of Dr. Moreau which was to be directed by Richard Stanley, a promising horror director. Almost too unbelievable to be true.

Val Kilmer comes across as an absolute jerk. I am kind of ambivalent about Brando. The movie is sympathetic about Stanley who even delved into witchcraft at one point(!) but we can see he was in over his head.

One of the most watchable documentaries I have seen in recent times.

Gangs of wasseypur 2
8/10

Very good movie. I recommend it to those who haven't watched it. But do watch the 1st part as well as 2nd part continues from where the 1st ends.

I've never heard of 'Something Within a Couple of Days' is it any good?
It's a movie from 1977. It stars Camille Keaton from I spit on your grave and Edmund Purdom from pieces and absurd. A touching but fierce psychological drama about a girl's fervent desire to get her cherry popped.

Purdom plays Keaton's father who seeing her suicidal desperation tries to get her something within a couple of days (hence the title).

It was released in NZ titled Daddy's girl. Highly controversial but efficient drama. It was extremely controversial for a scene where the father talks about certain biological functions to his young girl and the girl later on performing those functions albeit not with the father.

Rated an astonishing 8.9 at imdb, it's truly an example of history being kind to something.

Stanley Kubrick called it the best drama since The Graduate.

Francois Truffaut called it the most important film since plan 9 from outer space.

Jack Nicholson reportedly watched this movie many times to get into the right state of mind before shooting for the shining.

It's a movie from 1977. It stars Camille Keaton from I spit on your grave and Edmund Purdom from pieces and absurd. A touching but fierce psychological drama about a girl's fervent desire to get her cherry popped.

Purdom plays Keaton's father who seeing her suicidal desperation tries to get her something within a couple of days (hence the title).

It was released in NZ titled Daddy's girl. Highly controversial but efficient drama. It was extremely controversial for a scene where the father talks about certain biological functions to his young girl and the girl later on performing those functions albeit not with the father.

Rated an astonishing 8.9 at imdb, it's truly an example of history being kind to something.

Francois Truffaut called it the most important film since plan 9 from outer space.

Jack Nicholson reportedly watched this movie many times to get into the right state of mind before shooting for the shining.

The ending is ridiculous.

Spoiler alert: Nothing happens in a couple of days.

No kidding.

No wonder the French liked it.

They wanted to make a sequel 'Something within a Couple (More) Days' but sadly it never came to fruition.

Purdom was up for an Academy Award Nomination for the 1977 film but reportedly, the academy didn't like the bold and daring talk scene and wanted it excised. Purdom himself told them to and I quote : "Shove it up your shiny keisters".

Purdom later on starred in the masterpieces of the macabre, Absurd and Pieces. Pieces especially is a genius work. The scene with Lynda Day George screaming b****** three times in a row reportedly made Ted Bundy, the cold-blooded psychopath genuinely tear up.

Check it out yourself:

I still find it hard to hold back tears after watching this.

Midnight Killer (1986)

An enjoyable murder mystery which rips off key plot points from Argento's classics "The Bird with the Crystal Plumage" and "Tenebre". I did like the shooting style of Lamberto Bava. Very smooth and precise. Some suspense, some gore and some sleaze. Even the dubbing is bearable.

7/10

Cannot post it's picture here because I would get :banned:

Midnight Killer (1986)

An enjoyable murder mystery which rips off key plot points from Argento's classics "The Bird with the Crystal Plumage" and "Tenebre". I did like the shooting style of Lamberto Bava. Very smooth and precise. Some suspense, some gore and some sleaze. Even the dubbing is bearable.

7/10

Cannot post it's picture here because I would get :banned:

You watch a lot of movies. I envy you

:yk

I quit my job 3 weeks ago. I will be going to college in two weeks. So, I am doing what I like as much as humanly possible in the meanwhile because once I reach college, the post count will drop alarmingly.

Don't you ever go out for a walk or something? I try and watch loads of crap to but it gets to a point where am about to pass out :))) then I have to literally go out......and when I do go out end up phoning people to go to the cinema :yk

Lads going to the cinema tomorrow not decided what to watch but it's either going to be Gallows (It's a Horror Leathers! you prob checked it out already; has poor reviews online but I generally enjoy them if they manage to scare me in one way or another), Southpaw or Inside-Out not sure which one, If any of you have seen either of them let me know which one was good ;) Cheers :moyo

Don't you ever go out for a walk or something? I try and watch loads of crap to but it gets to a point where am about to pass out :))) then I have to literally go out......and when I do go out end up phoning people to go to the cinema :yk

Lads going to the cinema tomorrow not decided what to watch but it's either going to be Gallows (It's a Horror Leathers! you prob checked it out already; has poor reviews online but I generally enjoy them if they manage to scare me in one way or another), Southpaw or Inside-Out not sure which one, If any of you have seen either of them let me know which one was good ;) Cheers :moyo

Have heard Southpaw is a bit of a let down, even with its amazing cast. But I'd give it a chance mainly for Jake.

Inside Out I have heard is the best animated film to come out since Toy Story 3. Will definitely be watching that.

Are you going to study film, or be in this industry in any way? I hope for the horror fan inside me that this is true.

Need to see something within couple of days :)

I've never heard of 'Something Within a Couple of Days' is it any good?

Its not a movie.

I meant I will see something in couple of days.

No kidding.

They wanted to make a sequel 'Something within a Couple (More) Days' but sadly it never came to fruition.

Purdom was up for an Academy Award Nomination for the 1977 film but reportedly, the academy didn't like the bold and daring talk scene and wanted it excised. Purdom himself told them to and I quote : "Shove it up your shiny keisters".

Purdom later on starred in the masterpieces of the macabre, Absurd and Pieces. Pieces especially is a genius work. The scene with Lynda Day George screaming b****** three times in a row reportedly made Ted Bundy, the cold-blooded psychopath genuinely tear up.

Check it out yourself:

Hahahaha...Good stuff.

No kidding.

Check it out yourself:

A great trip down memory lane. I hear the sequel never got made mainly because the deadline was continuously pushed out a couple of days every time the team was asked about it. It is reported that the team did this to uphold the spirit of the films title.

Haven't watched the gallows. Will not watch it either. I avoid mainstream horror. It's a shame the Italian industry isn't around anymore. Those guys came up with absolute gems in the 70s and 80s.
Are you going to study film, or be in this industry in any way? I hope for the horror fan inside me that this is true.
Unfortunately I'm not studying film. :(

But I will try and take a couple of courses in filmmaking. Or atleast try to make a short film to see how I stand in terms of raw Tailunt.

Have heard Southpaw is a bit of a let down, even with its amazing cast. But I'd give it a chance mainly for Jake.

Inside Out I have heard is the best animated film to come out since Toy Story 3. Will definitely be watching that.

Was really looking forward to SouthPaw too but the reviews aren't that encouraging. Will watch it anyway just for Glyenhall.

You guys should check it out, Jake was brilliant and the movie itself is not so bad. Defo worth a watch in the cinema. The narrative largely revolved around redemption, I enjoyed it.

Would give the movie a 7 out of 10. Not everyone is going to be able to reinvent the wheel when it comes to boxing movies but that's not such a bad idea.

Shah is coming out on the 14th of August, Boxing movie based on Pakistans first Olympic champion in boxing; the trailer looked great watch out for that. And later in the year Rocky 7:Creed.

Yeah Saqs, Inside Out has fantastic reviews all round. I wonder if it's as good as the Lego Movie which was the last animated movie I watched, was very good. Will definetly be checking it out.

You guys should check it out, Jake was brilliant and the movie itself is not so bad. Defo worth a watch in the cinema. The narrative largely revolved around redemption, I enjoyed it.

Would give the movie a 7 out of 10. Not everyone is going to be able to reinvent the wheel when it comes to boxing movies but that's not such a bad idea.

Shah is coming out on the 14th of August, Boxing movie based on Pakistans first Olympic champion in boxing; the trailer looked great watch out for that. And later in the year Rocky 7:Creed.

Yeah Saqs, Inside Out has fantastic reviews all round. I wonder if it's as good as the Lego Movie which was the last animated movie I watched, was very good. Will definetly be checking it out.

Well that's the main criticism that is being levelled at Southpaw, is that it is 'just another boxing redemption movie'. I guess the idea of redemption is why sports movies are so popular. You need not reinvent the wheel with these as it is a winning formula. Will check it out.

Saw Maqbool, yet again!
Going to watch Gangs of Wasseypur today!
Can't get enough of actors like Irfan Khan, Nawazuddin Siddique, and Manoj Bajpai!

Watched The Vatican Tapes.

Wouldn't recommend it (at least not in the cinema) What a waste of money.

Watched Southpaw. Very good movie, the fighting scenes were especially impressive, looking very realistic and very much like a real boxing match. Apparently the scenes themselves were kept raw and filmed to preserve the authenticity. One of the main reasons you should watch it in the cinema is for the high quality fights, which you can properly enjoy on the big screen.

Story was decent too, yes people may say it's cliche, but IMO there were enough twists in it to make it somewhat unique.

Definitely NOT a Rocky ripoff, and a good film overall. 8.5/10, would recommend.

Southpaw

First things first. AVOID WATCHING THE TRAILER FOR THIS FILM. I hadnt seen it going in but my friend had and I just watched it myself, what a disgrace. It literally spoils the one and only twist in this film and pretty much gives the entire plot away. Seriously trailers these days are a farce and this is one of the worst offenders. If you have any interest whatsoever avoid it if possible, it ruins the film.

Anyway on to the film itself, there is one twist I didnt see coming about 20 mins in that was surprising, but other than that this film is about as cliche and generic as a boxing film can possibly go.

The former pro forced to retire with injury who's now a trainer? Check
Generic Colombian opponent with no soul? Check
Fighter who loses everything on a path to regain it all? Check.

The film does it well but lets be honest it hardly has an original bone in its body, and if you're sick of this plot line I'd advise you give this a miss because odds are you'll have tuned out after 25 mins.

What IS great in this film is the acting. Gylenhall is fantastic, brilliant actually, turns in what I thought was a top performance and credit also goes to the child actor who surprisingly does rather well. If you're seeing this for the main actor odds are you'll be pleased, he really carries the film IMO.

All in all a bang average plot carried by a great performance from the main lead, and some good supporting characters. Decent overall, but most definitely a generic run of the mill story

7/10

Watched Spy, like most American comedies compromised of shock humor, crude language with teenybop references and any other cliches you can think of. Mccarthy continously being picked for comedy roles just for being the size of a baby whale is baffling too. Stathams character was hilarious though.

Watched Captain America: Winter Soldier.

Loved it. Loved it. Absolutely loved it! :heart:

Utni bhi achi nahi hai :p

As its my semester exam tomorrow i watched 2 movies today which i dont do on a normal day :yk

The interview (2014)
6/10
Franco has done good although it seems over acting at places. Some scenes were hilarious though.

The legend of Hercules(2014)
5.5/10
A different take on Hercules showing him as a mere mortal. Was ok.

Watched Spy, like most American comedies compromised of shock humor, crude language with teenybop references and any other cliches you can think of. Mccarthy continously being picked for comedy roles just for being the size of a baby whale is baffling too. Stathams character was hilarious though.

His two "moments" of amazing one-liners basically made this movie for me.

He needs to be given more of these roles. I never knew he had the comedic timing and delivery in him.

Southpaw

First things first. AVOID WATCHING THE TRAILER FOR THIS FILM. I hadnt seen it going in but my friend had and I just watched it myself, what a disgrace. It literally spoils the one and only twist in this film and pretty much gives the entire plot away. Seriously trailers these days are a farce and this is one of the worst offenders. If you have any interest whatsoever avoid it if possible, it ruins the film.

Anyway on to the film itself, there is one twist I didnt see coming about 20 mins in that was surprising, but other than that this film is about as cliche and generic as a boxing film can possibly go.

The former pro forced to retire with injury who's now a trainer? Check
Generic Colombian opponent with no soul? Check
Fighter who loses everything on a path to regain it all? Check.

The film does it well but lets be honest it hardly has an original bone in its body, and if you're sick of this plot line I'd advise you give this a miss because odds are you'll have tuned out after 25 mins.

What IS great in this film is the acting. Gylenhall is fantastic, brilliant actually, turns in what I thought was a top performance and credit also goes to the child actor who surprisingly does rather well. If you're seeing this for the main actor odds are you'll be pleased, he really carries the film IMO.

All in all a bang average plot carried by a great performance from the main lead, and some good supporting characters. Decent overall, but most definitely a generic run of the mill story

7/10

Agree with the rating.

Thought the execution of the narrative was very good. It's a shame the undisputed series wasn't released by a high profile company, that was quality. In recent times some of the better boxing movies have been The Fighter and The Million Dollar Baby. Tbh Boxing movies generally are very good, people often say the meat of boxing movies is typically clich/generic but how many movies have there been like that? very few in recent times so its a bid unfair comparing Southpaw to a movie 20-30 years ago. What did make southpaw stand out compared to releases of the past was the boxing itself, very realistic and in touch with the sport in the modern era.

Antman didnt know much about the superhero. But really enjoyed the film very entertaining. 8/10

His two "moments" of amazing one-liners basically made this movie for me.

He needs to be given more of these roles. I never knew he had the comedic timing and delivery in him.

Haven't you seen Snatch.

Agree with the rating.

Thought the execution of the narrative was very good. It's a shame the undisputed series wasn't released by a high profile company, that was quality. In recent times some of the better boxing movies have been The Fighter and The Million Dollar Baby. Tbh Boxing movies generally are very good, people often say the meat of boxing movies is typically clich/generic but how many movies have there been like that? very few in recent times so its a bid unfair comparing Southpaw to a movie 20-30 years ago. What did make southpaw stand out compared to releases of the past was the boxing itself, very realistic and in touch with the sport in the modern era.

I can imagine the ones who hated the ending of Wayward Pines would have thrown tomatoes at the screen after watching Million Dollar Baby's even darker ending. :)))

temper-tantrums-0.jpg

I feel sorry for those people; they're just not edgy like us Leathers

Austin-Lilian-gifs-001_001.gif

Trust me those guys complaining about Wayward Pines ending would probably demand a refund for million dollar baby ending lol I still don't believe there are people that are sad about Wayward pines, maybe it's just jobbers that want to complain for the sake of it because there was little to critique

Utni bhi achi nahi hai :p

As its my semester exam tomorrow i watched 2 movies today which i dont do on a normal day :yk

The interview (2014)
6/10
Franco has done good although it seems over acting at places. Some scenes were hilarious though.

The legend of Hercules(2014)
5.5/10
A different take on Hercules showing him as a mere mortal. Was ok.

It's better than the avengers imo. I like keeping focus on certain characters, and Cap was refreshing in his distrust of the ways of the world today.

Creep_Movie_Poster.jpg

6.5/10

A man is contacted by another man who offers to pay him 1000 bucks for filming him for a day. Then, things get interesting....

One of the creepier (pun intended) found footage horror movies released in recent times. Not so funny although a couple of scenes did make me chuckle. Just the two characters in the whole movie.

The protagonist makes some utterly boneheaded decisions especially one towards the end (Which is even mocked in the movie).

I liked the way it built atmosphere out of seemingly nothing though.

25th hour 8/10

A tremendous movie with a beautiful message. Acting and direction were top notch. Despite having a good basics some films don't have good acting performances but this one had excellent acting performances almost from every performer. The movie had an intricate mix of comedy, romance and melancholy. All these feelings go well together to create a unique experience that's why i think some younger viewers might not get entertained as much as I enjoyed this.

Mr X

After gaining the power of invisibility; a man becomes a vigilante, in order to take revenge on those who have wronged him.

The concept of the movie is good , but Director Vikram Bhatt fails to deliver. The screen play is poor. The story had so much scope , but it could not blossom at any point.

4 / 10

Exodus: Gods and Kings.

Awful.

What didn't work for you in that movie i felt something missing as well but it was a good try considering they were trying to show the realistic part of it and brave attempt imo

Really? I thought it was pretentious tripe. Perhaps I shouldn't have watched it on a long haul flight. May give it another viewing some time soon.

Its trash imo as well the director is getting carried away with his cult status.

PRIDE 7.5/10 a movie on gay and mining rights pretty well directed and acted have to say British actors are defn one step ahead of their American ones in terms of dialogue delivery and timing.

Gone Girl (at last!)

Dark, twisted, beautifully structured, and mostly excellent.

The women ruled this film! And often not in a good way.

Watched Entourage the move last night.

It was decent. Not a bad watch when you've got nothing better to do.

I am going to watch 12 years a slave tonight. Somebody let me know if i should change my mind.

Its a good movie but requires patience ,true story,very well acted and directed.There is no humor in there like 'The Help' and is more hard hitting than usual movies on black slaves.

Bajrangi Bhaijaan. 9/10. Im normally not a big fan of Bollywood films. But this film was epic. A really heart warming story. Salman Khan plays probably the best role ive seen him in. Kareena Kapoor too. However the lil girl called Shahida in the film. is the one who steals the show with her cuteness. A film that shows Pakistanis as normal people. And emphasises humanity over hatred between Pakistanis and Indians. Really touches your heart. And reminds us all the labels we give ourselves should never be more important than Humanity.

Marshland.

Beautifully shot Spanish dark thriller. With a familiar setup, two polar opposite detectives investigate a series of killings in a Spanish provincial town. It has an 80's feel to it but it is atmospheric and very engaging.

On the Job

Excellent Filipino thriller which highlights the extent of political and military corruption. It has a very realistic and gritty appearance and evolves politicians who have political opponents removes by having them assassinated and having multiple layers of intermediaries to conceal themselves. Using their connections with the police, they authorize temporary release of prisoners from jails to the hits.

Metro Manila

Another Filipino thriller, arguably more polished and well written than 'On the Job' but a tougher film to watch. This film doesn't showcase Manila in a good light but truly paints the desperate world they are forced to live in where it really is dog eat dog.

Wyrmwood: Road of the dead

A bit far fetched but not a bad little Ozzie zombie flick full of action, humour and slaughter. Whilst the CGI is borderline comical at times, this film goes straight for the big shots with the carnage and is a hybrid of yesteryear classics.

25th hour 8/10

A tremendous movie with a beautiful message. Acting and direction were top notch. Despite having a good basics some films don't have good acting performances but this one had excellent acting performances almost from every performer. The movie had an intricate mix of comedy, romance and melancholy. All these feelings go well together to create a unique experience that's why i think some younger viewers might not get entertained as much as I enjoyed this.

One of Norton's best performances, probably his best since American History X and Fight Club.

Rosario Dawson. Words fail.

Ted 2

Brilliant movie. Has some really funny references and the runtime of 2 hrs literally flies away.

8/10

Inside Out 8.5/10 Brilliant, strongly recommend you check it out. Just loved the entire concept of a world within ones mind, had doubts at first about it but was very intrigued. Who'd have thought you could create a movie out of characters which represent specific emotions :)) was very witty and funny; the set up was a familiar formula but its unique content made the experience enjoyable.

Ted 2

Brilliant movie. Has some really funny references and the runtime of 2 hrs literally flies away.

8/10

I really enjoyed it to, the reviews around the net have been a bit too harsh! Could easily watch it again if I wanted.

Comedies are meant to make you laugh. People who generally give bad reviews to comedies are ones for whom the comedy is above or below their sense of humor. Ted 2 was fun all the way for me and thoroughly enjoyable.

Just watched Sharktopus vs. Whalewolf

To be honest, it was better than I expected. (Which really isn't saying much but still..)

Comedies are meant to make you laugh. People who generally give bad reviews to comedies are ones for whom the comedy is above or below their sense of humor. Ted 2 was fun all the way for me and thoroughly enjoyable.

Thing is there are bad comedies out there to despite giving you a bit of a giggle here and there but there it little to critique as far as Ted 2's narrative was concerned; it was a well made movie which followed the same formula as Ted 1. Perhaps they weren't fond of the story itself but the I thought execution was very good. Ted 1 had opened to critical acclaim; maybe when there's something new on the block the critics react to it positively but it's almost as if they review sequels with a negative mindset expecting it to be really bad and nit pick and stupid stuff. I guess the reviews have not been universally bad, they have been mixed .

The Equalizer. I couldn't really make out in which scenes Denzel was doing things in normal speed and which were in slow motion.