What was the last film you watched?

How was the Jungle book?

It was great carrom. I really liked it. The CGI was outstanding and the Indian American kid has put in a very good performance too for his age considering that he probably had to enact his sequences in an empty room.

Bill Murray, Walken, Sacrlett and Kingsley all have put in some great performances. Overall I really liked the film.

Have watched eaga. The revenge fly.

Dookudu, Aagadu, Srimanthudu, a lot of them. 95% movies of Allu Arjun, Prabhas and Mahesh Babu among others. (Pity that I have to watch dubbed versions, watching movie in its primary language is more special though).

Not that i dont watch bollywood movies but Tollywood is some levelsss above bollywood, at least during last decade.

Are you a Pakistani?:usman

It was great carrom. I really liked it. The CGI was outstanding and the Indian American kid has put in a very good performance too for his age considering that he probably had to enact his sequences in an empty room.

Bill Murray, Walken, Sacrlett and Kingsley all have put in some great performances. Overall I really liked the film.

Yup superb film and the kid is great. Scarlett's role was quite minor..I thought she'd have a bigger role.

Also this is one of those movies that HAS to be watched in 3d I think.

Yup superb film and the kid is great. Scarlett's role was quite minor..I thought she'd have a bigger role.

Also this is one of those movies that HAS to be watched in 3d I think.

Yeah, many fans were disappointed that Ka's role was cut short in the film. Though she managed to mesmerize the kid in her short stint in the film:ghalib

Sicario

Average movie. Not sure what the hype was all about.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

If going my box office, Avatar was 100 times better. Above average.

10 Cloverfield lane - thought it was decent.

Not great and but not bad either.

Finally watched the latest star wars movie, the force awakens, what a terrible movie. Why did this movie become a huge hit? Are the people so gullible? It is a rip off of the first starwars movie, the new hope. Even the new characters are terrible, especially the new emo villain. 4/10

Holidays - 3/10

A poor attempt at Horror anthology film with incoherent stories that are bereft of new ideas and presented awfully.

Ted2

I wasn't expecting it to be as good as the first one but was pleasantly surprised.

Really funny if you know what to expect :)

8/10

Watched SRK's fan, can't believe it didn't cross 100 crore, shahrukh's best performance after darr. 8/10

Baghi, 10/10 :moyo

Watched Surya's 24. It was one hell of a film. This is definitely the best film of his life and probably one of the top 5 Tamil film of all time. You could never predict the next scene and Surya's acting was top notch. 9.5/10 for me. Full crowd, mostly Surya's fan girls and they took over the men when it came to holloring. Some guy tried to be cool and shouted something against Surya and a girl shouted "go watch your vijay movie" and the entire theater laughed like crazy and the guy didn't say a single word. A movie like this should not be missed. [MENTION=73148]avidlearner[/MENTION] [MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

Really? Top 5 films of all time is a huge status. Never knew the film was this good.

Yeah, this is the problem with Surya. When I went to college as a junior 1st year, one senior asked me who is your favourite hero. I was like what the hell and told Surya. Got ragged by a bunch of seniors for the whole day. Turns out my entire college girls were Surya fan girls:afaq

Ok thanks mate. Will check it out.

Have tuned out of Tamil movies these days due to garbage quality stuff. Will see this one.

Watched the movie "It follows".

The basic premise of the movie is that something in the form of human follows the protagonist and if it catches up will kill her.

Storywise it was ok, thought the editing of the movie could have been better and the ending was just too easy you will get what I mean if you have watched it or will watch it.

I will give it a 7/10.

Really? Top 5 films of all time is a huge status. Never knew the film was this good.

Yeah, this is the problem with Surya. When I went to college as a junior 1st year, one senior asked me who is your favourite hero. I was like what the hell and told Surya. Got ragged by a bunch of seniors for the whole day. Turns out my entire college girls were Surya fan girls:afaq

Ok thanks mate. Will check it out.

Have tuned out of Tamil movies these days due to garbage quality stuff. Will see this one.

Ragging ? Does it still go on ? I never got really why you could just tell someone to **** off. I never got bullied or "ragged" anytime in my life. Maybe cause I went to a black school and people generally didn't wanna get shot since it is hard to know who was related to which gangster. That being said, yesterday was ladies night. The movie was truly good. Ar Rahman's music didn't really stand out. I think he is losing his touch, the BGM didn't remind me of Ar Rahman. Surya showed that he doesn't need a comedian to make people laugh.

From 2004 to 2009 ish was the worst phase for Tamil movie, all the movies sucked so bad. Since then movies have been pretty good. Some movie are gold. Check out Vijay Sethupathi's Kadhalum Kadanthu Pogum, that was a funny movie as well.

Ragging ? Does it still go on ? I never got really why you could just tell someone to **** off. I never got bullied or "ragged" anytime in my life. Maybe cause I went to a black school and people generally didn't wanna get shot since it is hard to know who was related to which gangster. That being said, yesterday was ladies night. The movie was truly good. Ar Rahman's music didn't really stand out. I think he is losing his touch, the BGM didn't remind me of Ar Rahman. Surya showed that he doesn't need a comedian to make people laugh.

From 2004 to 2009 ish was the worst phase for Tamil movie, all the movies sucked so bad. Since then movies have been pretty good. Some movie are gold. Check out Vijay Sethupathi's Kadhalum Kadanthu Pogum, that was a funny movie as well.

Ragging is not so much in engineering colleges. But it is a culture (or rather was, to be more precise) in medical colleges. It had been happening since ages and stopped only two or three years ago. But it's kinda different. My father advised when I entered the college that ragging would be there and just told me to face it. Sure enough I was the only guy from Chennai in my batch and was obviously subjected to the most due to me being a "city guy".

But it's not really bad if you understand the culture in medical colleges. Unlike in engineering colleges, there are not as much pupils in medical colleges as in the former. So naturally the hostel community will a close knit one and the senior junior relationship will be much more especially in hostels where there is more interaction. Ragging wasn't too bad really, in fact it was very much fun facing with my batch mates. You only have to get used to the cuss words which are much more frequent there. And the same seniors who rag the juniors will be the ones who will help them the most during college and forge a good friendship. If you ask anyone from my college which was their favourite year in college, everyone will unanimously say it's the first year.

Shying away from ragging or complaining to the management is the worst possible thing you can do, especially if you're staying in a hostel. Usually the peter boys who studied in posh schools of Chennai would do these things and they would be pretty much isolated during their college life. No one from seniors or juniors would talk freely with them and I've seen them getting cussed at by juniors indirectly at their senior's instructions too.

These things may appear strange but it's what happens (or happened) usually but nowadays there has been a blanket ban on ragging and hence that culture has been abolished. There is now little to no interactions between the seniors and juniors and the hostel is be a dull place, far from its lively past. I literally knew every single senior in my college upto 4 or 5 batches senior to me, and they are very good friends of mine. But the only batch I have a good connection in my juniors is with the immediate juniors. The rest are peter types who never have been ragged and it would be cringe worthy to see them trying to tough talk with their juniors or trying to rag them because they never know what it is in the first place. It's a different experience to when you go to college from your home and dorm life is something everyone will miss in their life if they haven't been in one.

Have heard so many great reviews about this movie. Waiting for hindi dubbed version

Civil War

captain-america-meme-kiss.jpg

Have heard so many great reviews about this movie. Waiting for hindi dubbed version

Dubbed versions are lame, often translation, cultural jokes and creativity gets lost. I hate watching dubbed movies. I'm sure SRK or Salman Khan will end up remaking it.

Ragging is not so much in engineering colleges. But it is a culture (or rather was, to be more precise) in medical colleges. It had been happening since ages and stopped only two or three years ago. But it's kinda different. My father advised when I entered the college that ragging would be there and just told me to face it. Sure enough I was the only guy from Chennai in my batch and was obviously subjected to the most due to me being a "city guy".

But it's not really bad if you understand the culture in medical colleges. Unlike in engineering colleges, there are not as much pupils in medical colleges as in the former. So naturally the hostel community will a close knit one and the senior junior relationship will be much more especially in hostels where there is more interaction. Ragging wasn't too bad really, in fact it was very much fun facing with my batch mates. You only have to get used to the cuss words which are much more frequent there. And the same seniors who rag the juniors will be the ones who will help them the most during college and forge a good friendship. If you ask anyone from my college which was their favourite year in college, everyone will unanimously say it's the first year.

Shying away from ragging or complaining to the management is the worst possible thing you can do, especially if you're staying in a hostel. Usually the peter boys who studied in posh schools of Chennai would do these things and they would be pretty much isolated during their college life. No one from seniors or juniors would talk freely with them and I've seen them getting cussed at by juniors indirectly at their senior's instructions too.

These things may appear strange but it's what happens (or happened) usually but nowadays there has been a blanket ban on ragging and hence that culture has been abolished. There is now little to no interactions between the seniors and juniors and the hostel is be a dull place, far from its lively past. I literally knew every single senior in my college upto 4 or 5 batches senior to me, and they are very good friends of mine. But the only batch I have a good connection in my juniors is with the immediate juniors. The rest are peter types who never have been ragged and it would be cringe worthy to see them trying to tough talk with their juniors or trying to rag them because they never know what it is in the first place. It's a different experience to when you go to college from your home and dorm life is something everyone will miss in their life if they haven't been in one.

Interesting, where did you attend your medical college ?

Here ragging occurs more like bullying and it never gets to colleges. Bullying stops at middle school for the most part and generally it is more common in white schools where the bigger taller guy tries to emphasize his strength on poor weaker guys. People will generally confront anybody engaging in any sort of bullying. In fact, some people will get in fight with you if they spot you bullying or try robbing kids. There are lot of campaigns and promotions regarding bullying so bullying has gone down dramatically and it is nearly non existence. There are no "nerds" anymore, everyone is just a hipster lol. Your story sounds a lot like what I see from Tamil movies. Here there is no major respect among people that are around the same age. Since everyone here is referred as "you" regardless of the age and not "neenga" or "nee" like there, there is no seniority, But seriously, I find this extremely dumb.

Civil War. 8.5/10 Excellente` ... highly recommended.

What was so good about it? Just two friends with superpowers going after each other because of their humongous egos. All could've been settled in the first 15 minutes of the movie if both Starky and Captain Murica sat down and had a chat.

isnt that the deal with almost everything?

Have you seen the movie, by the way? I would recommend watchng it first before you criticize it.. and if you wAtched it and still dont get it, well I suggest you pick up a different past time, then :)

isnt that the deal with almost everything?

Have you seen the movie, by the way? I would recommend watchng it first before you criticize it.. and if you wAtched it and still dont get it, well I suggest you pick up a different past time, then :)

Haha, I watched it. I liked it. Don't get the hype with it. SSSSSOLID 6/10 from me.

I think it was a very very good film. The whole premise of these movies is outlandish so you have to go with the setting, I guess. The biggest question here was: should there be oversight over these cartoonish heroes who go around wreaking havoc everywhere or should they be allowed to keep going their merry ways. So they tried to make the thematic elements a bit more adult. There was a split down the middle over it where everyone wants to exercise their adult decision making powers. The villain uses it to his advantage to create further friction, along the way they introduce a few more characters. It was definitely cartoonish but hey if you are walking into a comic based movie expecting Godfather, too bad!

True true trueee. The ending was prettty siick. Can't wait for Spidey's and Black Panther's new movies.

I know I'm a little late but, I watched Batman v Superman the week it opened and well...it's not good but it's also not the catastrophic failure many said it'd was.

What let it down was the clunky and bewildering editing. I just hoped they showed the R-Rated 3hrs10mins in cinema rather than just for the DVD/B-Ray.

I also watched Captain America - Civil War. It wasn't what it was cracked up to be tbh. I much rather preferred Winter Soldier. The film only got better when
Spiderman and Ant-Man were introduced.
Black Panther was pretty cool too.

Other than that I thought it was an average Marvel movie.

Oh and Midnight Special is my film of 2016 [barring Revenant if that was released in 2015 or 2016 ?]. Excellent film and if you've watched Take Shelter you'll love this. Excellent performances all-round.

Interesting, where did you attend your medical college ?

Here ragging occurs more like bullying and it never gets to colleges. Bullying stops at middle school for the most part and generally it is more common in white schools where the bigger taller guy tries to emphasize his strength on poor weaker guys. People will generally confront anybody engaging in any sort of bullying. In fact, some people will get in fight with you if they spot you bullying or try robbing kids. There are lot of campaigns and promotions regarding bullying so bullying has gone down dramatically and it is nearly non existence. There are no "nerds" anymore, everyone is just a hipster lol. Your story sounds a lot like what I see from Tamil movies. Here there is no major respect among people that are around the same age. Since everyone here is referred as "you" regardless of the age and not "neenga" or "nee" like there, there is no seniority, But seriously, I find this extremely dumb.

I attended my college in Salem.

Yeah, I understand the bullying culture. But that is different where simply a guy wants to embarrass you using his strength. But this is different. It doesn't happen in the west. Here there is no such bullying in schools. After working like hell and succeeding in the board exams, freshmen enter college thinking about various cool things that they can do which they saw in films. But as soon as you enter college hostel, some 10 to 12 seniors would be waiting at the entrance for you. But ragging is more of a way to get to know that person for the seniors and a way of ice breaking between them. It's something like you see in films like kadhal desam and that period tamil college films. But nowadays there is no such thing in my college. A posh kid from Bangalore came and studied in my college. He is some 3 or 4 years junior to me. When he was called for the first time by a senior, he gave a complaint and his father happened to be an IG of police. Hence there was no ragging for that batch and subsequent batches too. Those guys think that ragging is some sort of bullying which it is not. But they would find it difficult to grasp since they are from posh backgrounds. Now I heard there is hardly any senior-junior interaction in college and that is a shame imo. What we did when we studied was so memorable, that was the most memorable years of any of my batchmate's life. Now we have a bunch of peter guy nerds acting all cool in front of juniors. The distinction between the batches who were ragged and the subsequent batches would be very contrasting lol. The older batches would be like subramayapuram gang and the newer ones would be like heroes of gautam vasudev menon films:asif

huh you're a doctor?? Thought you were typical Indian guy working in IT. :us

Glad there's a lot of us here.

Completely agree with you.I was ragged vigorously in my freshman year and at that time even though I hated it now in hindsight I feel there was nothing wrong with it.I see juniors now who literally have no interaction with seniors and the senior junior culture which used to be so prevalent and was held in high esteem is almost vanished now.Earlier whenever someone got into fight with a outside group the whole hostel would be there at his disposal to help him but the situation has changed completely now.A lot of small groups exist within hostel and the unity is non existent.Now I know some might argue about harmful effects of ragging on student's psyche which I totally understand as sometimes seniors go too far but imo its positives outweigh the negatives.But that's entirely my opinion.

Of course there were some idiots too and I won't deny that. But largely ragging wasn't something as bad as it is made out to be. In fact, it was the interesting part of the freshman year, otherwise you just have to stay inside locked rooms which can be very boring.

And yeah, nowadays there is hardly any comraderie in the college hostel. When I studied, I knew every single one in my hostel including the batch that had just passed out. But after I finished and returned to hostel once for some work, everyone was like strangers lol and there was hardly 5 or 6 I knew. The hostel was eerily silent and dull. Everyone was carrying on with their work and there was no bunch of guys sitting outside at the entrace like in the past lol. No wonder I just wanted to get the hell out of there as soon as possible:narine

Jungle book

Mowgli is reared by wolves that can't protect against shere khan
A bear uses him to horde honey until he manages to beat shere khan with the red flower

The film shows the real king of the jungle are the elephants who created it and brought together dams and put out all the fires
Mowgli is seen a lot bowing down to these elephants

I thought you stayed in Kerala for 1-2yr. Correct me if am wrong?

I stayed there around an year to attend entrance classes. Then my brother's marriage came and so I left there and came back home. Couldn't crack it first time around and so I started working. Gotta give it an another try after working for sometime.

Lol then both of us are in the same boat..

Thanks bro,will check it out seems to be a blockbuster in North America and has got good reviews here as well.

And :))) @ Girl mocking the guy

Watched the animated movie - The little Prince.

I don't know who said to me that it was a movie for children. Dope - absolutely dope & deep movie.

Watched the animated movie - The little Prince.

I don't know who said to me that it was a movie for children. Dope - absolutely dope & deep movie.

Tbh i don't think children would understand that movie lol,more for working class(age 22-30) imo.

You are so much on the money. I think teenagers will get it too, but it's not the getting part of the movie, it's the message and the message is well delivered.

Loved it. Good movie.

Thanks bro,will check it out seems to be a blockbuster in North America and has got good reviews here as well.

And :))) @ Girl mocking the guy

I think I may have watched the edited one, there were less Samantha and love dovey scenes. Im sure I only heard 3 songs in that entire movie. Maybe that is why I felt like it was good.

Captain America civil war

Marvel takes from the x men with captain America playing magneto and iron man playing xavier

Dodgy Russians turn up at random intervals with Spider-Man spoiling the show when trying to explain to iron man why he flies around town with a red suit on

Shah (2015)

Great movie. Available on Youtube in HD 8/10

Shah-Pakistani-Movie.jpg

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/yj2gbW7pIZM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Just saw Crank 1 and 2. Not that good. Extremely over the top and very offensive though especially the 2nd one. Worth a watch if youre bored and have nothing to do.

"The Revenant"

I am bit conflicted about it. Definitely a cinematic masterpiece. I was watching the movie and thinking, this movie is great, it is masterful but why is it not impacting me or stirring me the way it should other than the shock of watching a bear maul a person or Leo falling off a cliff on a horse. Surely, this movie should be the greatest movie ever, right? It came to me after a day. The story is old and has been done multiple times before. Its art for the sake of art. It doesn't have the emotional punch like "Saving Private Ryan" or the philosophical depth of "Thin red line". It's still a great movie but seems like a throwback to one of those 70's survival in the wild epics. Tom Hardy is amazing, deserved an Oscar as well.

"The Revenant"

I am bit conflicted about it. Definitely a cinematic masterpiece. I was watching the movie and thinking, this movie is great, it is masterful but why is it not impacting me or stirring me the way it should other than the shock of watching a bear maul a person or Leo falling off a cliff on a horse. Surely, this movie should be the greatest movie ever, right? It came to me after a day. The story is old and has been done multiple times before. Its art for the sake of art. It doesn't have the emotional punch like "Saving Private Ryan" or the philosophical depth of "Thin red line". It's still a great movie but seems like a throwback to one of those 70's survival in the wild epics. Tom Hardy is amazing, deserved an Oscar as well.

Its an 8 for me

Tamasha.5/10

I have already mentioned it and I will say it again Bollywood has made more movies on split personality than there are actual victims