What was the last film you watched?

everyone I asked about it said that it was not that good...

Just finished Clerks. Wasn't bad.
Clerks is an awesome movie! Clerks 2 was pretty good as well but the first one is genius.

Lots of cool movie connections in all of Kevin Smith's films. Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma.

'Dhobi Ghat' 2011

Was this supposed to be a film even:boom:! An utter rubbish made in the name of philosophy, and I am ashamed of Aamir Khan, who acted in one of his life´s worst films alongside 'Raakh' 1989 :22:......

'Dhobi Ghat' 2011

Was this supposed to be a film even:boom:! An utter rubbish made in the name of philosophy, and I am ashamed of Aamir Khan, who acted in one of his life´s worst films alongside 'Raakh' 1989 :22:......

He didn't want to act in it.

However, it was his wife's film and he did it for her sake.

Fair enough, I suppose.

agree about dhobhi ghat, a bit of pretentious trash in the name of an art movie, the dhobi kid is a good actor- takes after his mother. aamir khan had only one expression in the entire movie.

dil to bacha hai ji- entertaining time pass. good songs

more importantly smita patil's son who was one of the best actresses of her generation, she died after delivery from complications during childbirth.

'Avatar' 2009

A fascinating experience to have watch this film just a few minutes ago:14:! Honestly speaking, the first one hour or so was quite boring but the latter half of the film made up for it as it was very, very good and impressive:19:!

But I maintain the fact that it was still *not* upto the standards of 'Titanic' 1997.

Salt

Espionage Action thriller starring Angelina Jolie An Entertaining film, however plot is silly and the action sequences, esp the stunts jolie does r hugely unrealistic.

However on plus side a rare film that doesnt depict muslims as the bad guys Its also quite short and like i said plenty of action galore. Also theres plenty of jolie on screen which i didnt mind!

Avge film on whole tho - 6.5/10

Suburban Girl (Alec Baldwin)... bit of a waste of time...

just started the Broadway Empire series produced by Martin Scorcese, starring Steve Buscemi
who just won a Golden Globe for the role..

Salt

Espionage Action thriller starring Angelina Jolie An Entertaining film, however plot is silly and the action sequences, esp the stunts jolie does r hugely unrealistic.

However on plus side a rare film that doesnt depict muslims as the bad guys Its also quite short and like i said plenty of action galore. Also theres plenty of jolie on screen which i didnt mind!

Avge film on whole tho - 6.5/10

Angelina Joli :heart:

Well while Pakistan got tonked in the last ODI against NZ in the 1st half of the game, I thought of watching "Dil Toh Bacha Hai Ji" starring Ajay Devgan, Imran Hashmi and Chatur from 3 Idiots (dont remember his real name lol) as I was still keeping an eye on the cricket with the TV on and watched the movie as I found that better! :))

Anyways so the movie "Dil Toh Bacha Hai Ji" was ok actually, a decent time pass movie and to be honest, I dont actually watch Imran Hashmi films but have to say that most of his films have some really good tracks in them even though they dont do much at the box office...But it was a decent film to watch and a little funny at times too! Madhur Bhandarkar with a light comedy film for the first time makes a decent attempt at it and I've heard that the movies doing decent so far at places!

'Dhobi Ghat' 2011

Well I am glad for a change he made a film for "genuine" cinema lovers :) Btw what philosophy was that ?

was just pretentious fluff, proper 'genuine' cinema lovers should be annoyed with it.

Pretentious is really a "cop out" criticism, imo. If someone can be more elaborate and accurate it would serve better know how "genuine" they are.

There are flaws in the film, but it was a HUGE step up for the medium in hindi cinema where it is really at par with going to a circus.

pace of the movie - terrible, slow just for the sake of it.

story itself - was not properly executed, was neither here nor there.

just making it look tasteful without any real substance.

I retract from my first statement. There is no way of establishing what is more "genuine" cinema lover. Everyone has their own understanding of cinema, of what is "slow or fast", what is substance, what is plot ? Is there a plot necessary ? Should there be a defined structure ?

there should be something at least, not a rambling piece of artsy crap.

The texes chainsaw massacre remake.

I watched it when i was 15, kinda freeked me out!

Actually there doesn't, but as I said everyone has their own understanding of what it should. The director who by her admission is heavily influenced by Ozu, Wong Kar Wai, Kieslowski and Tarr whose movies essentially linger on the characters and have no traditional structure (plot). If audience went in expecting something to happen, they were bound to be disappointed. Anyway, here are some who liked the film although they are in minority. Maybe those from the city have easier connect to it. But then again most in show were pi@#$d off.

http://passionforcinema.com/dhobi-ghat-2010-take-two/

http://passionforcinema.com/dhobi-ghat-is-about-our-forgotten-secrets/

http://greatbong.net/2011/01/31/dhobi-ghat-the-review/

http://justgyaan.blogspot.com/2011/01/catharsis-for-lost-souls.html

To OP, Last films

Awakenings ( 1990 ) Film to treasure

A prophet ( 2009 ) Gritty and brilliant

Pretentious is really a "cop out" criticism, imo. If someone can be more elaborate and accurate it would serve better know how "genuine" they are.

There are flaws in the film, but it was a HUGE step up for the medium in hindi cinema where it is really at par with going to a circus.

it was all beautiful visuals without any substance , totally pointless fluff. those could be 3 short films on their own. it seems the movie was made with an eye on the foriegn film festivals hence the exoticizing of bombay which has been done in other films , and better.

kiran rao is not even on the same planet as wong kar wai -a director she is obviously trying to channel but failing miserably.

i guess if you are not a fan of wong kar wai or are not familiar with his movies, you would think kiran rao is a genius :)

it was all beautiful visuals without any substance , totally pointless fluff. those could be 3 short films on their own. it seems the movie was made with an eye on the foriegn film festivals hence the exoticizing of bombay which has been done in other films , and better.

kiran rao is not even on the same planet as wong kar wai -a director she is obviously trying to channel but failing miserably.

i guess if you are not a fan of wong kar wai or are not familiar with his movies, you would think kiran rao is a genius :)

Or just somebody who knows how to appreciate finer stuff :). Not that she is a genius anyway. However, I would expect a Wong Kar wai fan to have more elaborate view point than "pointless fluff" which is something I can get from Masala movies junta.

Did anyone watch "the walking dead" series on FX HD? They were only abt 5 episodes of this series but it was really good.

Watched Iron Man (2008) before the match yesterday. Very solid and entertaining super hero movie. 8/10. Plan on seeing the sequel today.

I Liked dobhi ghat! and i can understand why some of you guys on this forum do not like it!

Rajneeti

One of the best bollywood movies in recent times (along with 3 Idiots and Dabangg)
Great story and very good acting by everyone. Arjun Rampal was at his best--highly underrated.

Rajneeti

One of the best bollywood movies in recent times (along with 3 Idiots and Dabangg)
Great story and very good acting by everyone. Arjun Rampal was at his best--highly underrated.

Movie had so much potential - first half was good then second half just went off the rails - killings everywhere - made it so unrealistic + it was deffo inspired by the Godfather.

Arjun Rampal was very good especially the scene where he does that Akhyiyan chariya kya tune kiya jadoo :)):))

Movie had so much potential - first half was good then second half just went off the rails - killings everywhere - made it so unrealistic + it was deffo inspired by the Godfather.

Arjun Rampal was very good especially the scene where he does that Akhyiyan chariya kya tune kiya jadoo :)):))

Its was great form the start to finish. l liked it.

Black Swan 8/10

Thought I was taking my wife to a movie about ballet, didn't realise I was taking her to a psychological thriller.

Overall I'd say it was a interesting movie, just too creepy.

Or just somebody who knows how to appreciate finer stuff :). Not that she is a genius anyway. However, I would expect a Wong Kar wai fan to have more elaborate view point than "pointless fluff" which is something I can get from Masala movies junta.

this is not a film criticism class and i don't believe in recycling reviews from other sites ;), gotta learn to think for yourself!

she tried to ape a bunch of other film makers, suffice it to say she did not do a good enough job of aping :P

so she was unoriginal , she tried to exoticize bombay for the "slumdog millionaire " crowd at foriegn film fests , and failed in creating the mood for the piece, which is a huge crime when the whole movie was a mood piece. therefore, it turned out to be incoherent and slow as molasses.

amir's character was one of the most poorly written one's in recent memory, as was the New Yawk based NRI.. blech....

however like i said there were positives- like the kid prateek, his character was relatively fleshed out and he is a natural, the cinematography was great too.

yaar who cares who was her inspiration, I am simply talking about the movie itself.

there was absolutely nothing to it, if it wasn't for the performance of Prateik would have been a total waste of time.

Green Zone

Matt damon stars as a soldier in Iraq who is sick of the false intel on supposed WMOD sites and goes on a mission to get to the bottom of it.

Good thriller in the bourne mould, similar sequences, camerawork but not as great. Story isnt 100% believable and both actor and director are capable of a lot better

Even so still a decent war/ political entertainer 7.5/10

The Stoning Of Soraya M

Based on true events around a innocent mother stoned to death in Iran,1986. Very powerul/sad movie. Made me angry and upset.

'Ishqiya' 2010 (Vidya Balan, Arshad Warsi, Nasseeruddin Shah)

Quite an impressive film I must admit! Vidya was highly impressive and I strongly believe that nowadays only she is an actress with the qualities of someone like Tabu.

hey everyone, just looking for some good movies. Any top movies you would recommend, as I was not much into the movies before. :)

It all depends what genre you like and how recent the movies you want.

Some good ones to keep you going of varying genres and in no particular order:

Shutter Island
Inception
Frozen
Four Lions
The Hangover
Undisputed 3
The Fighter
Faster
Toy Story 3
Despicable Me
How to train your dragon
A Prophet (french)

And if you want to go back a few years then you must watch Apocalypto!!

A Bollywood movie "Phas Gaya Re Obama"

I liked it. Different than typical Bollywood movies, bit funny, good story. It was a low budget movie and I heard it did well in Box Office.

8/10

^ I heard that 127 hours is good although haven't watched it yet tbh.
It's based on a true story :)

I just watched it. A very good movie that was, thanks for the help.

It all depends what genre you like and how recent the movies you want.

Some good ones to keep you going of varying genres and in no particular order:

Shutter Island
Inception
Frozen
Four Lions
The Hangover
Undisputed 3
The Fighter
Faster
Toy Story 3
Despicable Me
How to train your dragon
A Prophet (french)

And if you want to go back a few years then you must watch Apocalypto!!

I'll be watching them as soon as I can. Really appreciate your efforts.

also watch:

The Departed
The Last Samurai
Atonement

outstanding films.

I Spit On Your Grave

Not gruesome as made out to be tbh. Good watch though.

Also Hidden..brilliant French drama.

The town

Starring ben affleck. Story of the lead character of a group of robbers from a deprived town near Boston. Coming from a broken home and brought up around crime he is desperate to brake free and go onto a better life. The story is basically Will he be able to or will the shackles of the town and the uncompromising FBI agent who is chasing them, prevent him from doing so.

Nothing new here, was expecting something great as had heard a lot about thos film but the story is pretty standard, however the acting, direction takes it to above avge level.

7.5 /10

Green Zone, Matt Damon (about Iraq and the lies of WMDs).... interesting..

Green Zone

Matt damon stars as a soldier in Iraq who is sick of the false intel on supposed WMOD sites and goes on a mission to get to the bottom of it.

Good thriller in the bourne mould, similar sequences, camerawork but not as great. Story isnt 100% believable and both actor and director are capable of a lot better

Even so still a decent war/ political entertainer 7.5/10

Just 7.5? What didn't you find believable about it?

'Udaan' 2010

An amazing film which deserves all the praise:14:! Ronit Roy´s acting as a strict/cruel father was simply brilliant:14:!

A film that was so unlike-Bollywood. There are currently only two film-makers in Bollywood who have the ability to match the Hollywood standards, Anurag Basu and Anurag Kashyap:19:.