What was the last film you watched?

Pk is so ordinary.i dont think there was anything objectionable, but if not for amir khan, it may well have failed miserably.i cant comprehend how such a film has raked around a million dollars at the box office.

'The Exorcism of Emily Rose' (2005)

A supposed horror film with hardly a horror scene in it. Quite rubbish!

P.K. 9/10 . One of the best Bollywood movies I have seen. Great laughs and a good message.

Inside man 8/10. Good movie. Intriguing storyline and epic ending. Great thriller.

Sent from a cave in Afghanistan

Ghostbusters(1984) - Legendary! I feel for the current Indian Chotta Bheem generation. They were clueless about the franchise.

'Exodus: Gods and Kings' (2014)

So,..... there's a lot of stuff to write about the film. Let me highlight the controversial and the objectionable stuff:

The overall plot and the story is based on Moses and the Pharaoh, but the details of the events differ a great, great deal from what the Bible states. A lot of Biblical inaccuracies and contradiction are there, the most noticeable of which is the absolute non-existence of the miracles performed by Moses. I think these are the main reason behind the not-so-great reviews, and I can understand a lot of believing Christians and Jews being disturbed by it. 30 minutes into the film, you can at least tell what not to expect: the conformity of the Bible narratives and the miracles.

Regarding the miracles, it was quite clear what the film-makers were trying so hard to do: he tried his level best to bring down the miracles to the extent of them making sense to the human thinking and tried to be logical. An example being how the blood-in-the-sea miracle was credited to the crocodiles and their pure madness. Irrespective of how successful it was, I am not too dismissive of the idea and instead commend the film-makers for such a unique attempt and approach to miracles, all though there's room to argue that the miracles themselves formed a great part of the whole legend. There's not much justification for the other inaccuracies though. So that should have been kept in its original form.

So I subtract 20% marks for the overall contradiction with the Bible, none for the non-existence of the miracles.

I must add here though that it's a lot easier for me to take a rational approach, sidelining the beliefs, being neither a Jew nor a Christian. So I can fully understand the negative reactions by those whose beliefs have been compromised.

A few more things that I did not like are:

1. A child being depicted as God, or in other words, God disguising himself as a Child to communicate with Moses looked too fake and made no sense. Even an elderly man shown as an angel would have made more sense. *10% marks subtracted.*

2. They weren´t quite able to depict the Pharaoh as the sort of tyrant that he actually is believed to be. They should have shown a bit more of his cruel side. Also, just shaving someone´s head and making him wear all those dresses doesn´t automatically make someone the Pharaoh. I wasn´t impressed by his role. *5% subtracted.*

3. One thing that I found to be offensive at a personal level was, God was shown as very cruel and blood-thirsty, referring particularly to him killing all the children of the Egyptians. God being referred to as a "fanatic" by the Pharaoh of all the people looked very odd. *10% subtracted again.*

4. The Pharaoh wasn´t shown as having died in the end. *5% subtracted*.

So, seeing the contradiction with the Bible and how the story differed so much from the original concept, five out of 10.

---------------

However, there´s another aspect to look at it from. Treat it as a film, just creative work of fiction without keeping anything in mind of how the narratives in the religions are, I would then give it nine out of 10. A great film I thought! I loved it! Having watched it in 3D, this was something that I will never forget. There was something about it, definitely!

[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] This is the first film that I have watched of the guy on your avatar, Christian Bale, and must say that he delivered an excellent performance! He had presence, was solid and did it all nicely.

And that gentlemen makes it the longest review that I have ever posted of a film.

So,..... there's a lot of stuff to write about the film. Let me highlight the controversial and the objectionable stuff:

The overall plot and the story is based on Moses and the Pharaoh, but the details of the events differ a great, great deal from what the Bible states. A lot of Biblical inaccuracies and contradiction are there, the most noticeable of which is the absolute non-existence of the miracles performed by Moses. I think these are the main reason behind the not-so-great reviews, and I can understand a lot of believing Christians and Jews being disturbed by it. 30 minutes into the film, you can at least tell what not to expect: the conformity of the Bible narratives and the miracles.

Regarding the miracles, it was quite clear what the film-makers were trying so hard to do: he tried his level best to bring down the miracles to the extent of them making sense to the human thinking and tried to be logical. An example being how the blood-in-the-sea miracle was credited to the crocodiles and their pure madness. Irrespective of how successful it was, I am not too dismissive of the idea and instead commend the film-makers for such a unique attempt and approach to miracles, all though there's room to argue that the miracles themselves formed a great part of the whole legend. There's not much justification for the other inaccuracies though. So that should have been kept in its original form.

So I subtract 20% marks for the overall contradiction with the Bible, none for the non-existence of the miracles.

I must add here though that it's a lot easier for me to take a rational approach, sidelining the beliefs, being neither a Jew nor a Christian. So I can fully understand the negative reactions by those whose beliefs have been compromised.

1. A child being depicted as God, or in other words, God disguising himself as a Child to communicate with Moses looked too fake and made no sense. Even an elderly man shown as an angel would have made more sense. *10% marks subtracted.*

2. They weren´t quite able to depict the Pharaoh as the sort of tyrant that he actually is believed to be. They should have shown a bit more of his cruel side. Also, just shaving someone´s head and making him wear all those dresses doesn´t automatically make someone the Pharaoh. I wasn´t impressed by his role. *5% subtracted.*

3. One thing that I found to be offensive at a personal level was, God was shown as very cruel and blood-thirsty, referring particularly to him killing all the children of the Egyptians. God being referred to as a "fanatic" by the Pharaoh of all the people looked very odd. *10% subtracted again.*

So, seeing the contradiction with the Bible and how the story differed so much from the original concept, five out of 10.

---------------

However, there´s another aspect to look at it from. Treat it as a film, just creative work of fiction without keeping anything in mind of how the narratives in the religions are, I would then give it nine out of 10. A great film I thought! I loved it! Having watched it in 3D, this was something that I will never forget. There was something about it, definitely!

[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] This is the first film that I have watched of the guy on your avatar, Christian Bale, and must say that he delivered an excellent performance! He had presence, was solid and did it all nicely.

And that gentlemen makes it the longest review that I have ever posted of a film.

Would a person who has no knowledge of bible whatsover enjoy the movie ?

What was the last film you watched? ('Exodus: Gods and Kings' 2014)

Would a person who has no knowledge of bible whatsover enjoy the movie ?

I would think so. My second review of the film deals exactly with that, and that's where I have given it nine out of 10.

---------------

Nice review.

You need to check out more of Bale. I hear this is one of his weakest performances.

Watched PK and Haider.

PK i'll give it a 6/10. Nothing spectacular about the movie. Amir's acting was fantastic, Anuska's lips looks like a balloon. :kohli needs to date Jacqueline fernandez now.

Haider, I would say probably the best movie to come out of Bollywood this year. Strong story and brilliant acting by Shahid and Taboo.

Nice review.

You need to check out more of Bale. I hear this is one of his weakest performances.

You see, it very rarely happens that people appreciate any actor´s performance if they don´t happen to like the film itself too much, and we know that it hasn´t received great reviews.

The Rainmaker 8/10

Excellent movie highlights the corrupt practices of corporate sharks the story was good abit too long though

The Giver : It was like a duller version of movie Divergent. If you liked latter, then you might find this interesting in parts. 6/10

Rate also?

1. Heat - 8/10 best cops and robbers film ever. Movie is long though 3 hrs. Starring Al Pacino and De Nero.
2. Mean Girls - 7/10 teen comedy. Starring Lindsey Lohan.
3. Crimson Tide - 5/10 submarine movie. Starring Denzel Washington.

You see, it very rarely happens that people appreciate any actor´s performance if they don´t happen to like the film itself too much, and we know that it hasn´t received great reviews.

It's not about the film. It's about the high standards he has set for himself through past performances, which he hasn't been able to attain in this performance.

There's only so much an actor can do though if the direction and writing isn't there.

Haven't seen the film but when I do I will report back.

Deception

An accountant is introduced to a mysterious sex club known as The List by his lawyer friend. But in this new world, he soon becomes the prime suspect in a woman's disappearance and a multi-million dollar heist.

7/ 10

American Sniper, great movie, really shows you what war can do to a soldier. Brilliant acting by Bradley Cooper must say. 8.5/10.

It's not about the film. It's about the high standards he has set for himself through past performances, which he hasn't been able to attain in this performance.

There's only so much an actor can do though if the direction and writing isn't there.

Haven't seen the film but when I do I will report back.

Well, call me mad if you like but I went again to cinema yesterday to watch it again, thus making it first such instance of my life. A bit of personal history made.

I don't bother much about reviews. If I happen to like a film, nobody can change my mind. This time I took with myself my brother and my other brother-in-law. I am fascinated by it. I really am!

'Inception' (2010)

The first half was extremely boring, the second one a lot better, but it was overall still a very confusing film. Way below what I had expected and was a disappointment.

The background music was awesome and had every possible similarity to that of one played in 'Interstellar' (2014).

Birdman

Very well made film. Didnt know whether to treat it as a comedy or drama at points. Ending is good and leaves it open to interprentation a little bit. Brilliantly acted by all concerned and the scenes are by and large one long take so there is little to no cutting or editing. Well worth a look

8/10

'Inception' (2010)

The first half was extremely boring, the second one a lot better, but it was overall still a very confusing film. Way below what I had expected and was a disappointment.

The background music was awesome and had every possible similarity to that of one played in 'Interstellar' (2014).

Yes , it was confusing initially .

Weird plot though.

Women in Black 2 was ok but nowhere near as thrilling as the original maybe coz Daniel Radcliffe was outstanding in the first one. It was a 5.5/10 wouldnt watch again.

'Shutter Island' (2010)

Wow, what a stunningly brilliant film! Not boring even for a minute and kept me on my toes throughout! 10 of 10 for the film overall and exactly as many for Leonardo DiCaprio for an awesome performance!

Before the last 15 minutes began, the review in my thoughts went a bit like this..... *Posted in the spoiler*......

"Great film! Brilliantly highlights how cheap humans can be at times and how cruel they can be on one another. Pretty much shows how low we can fall. Extremely disturbing, sad and frustrating because of what innocent people have to go through."

But then, after the ending, I was left to laugh at myself and to admire this masterpiece. I thought it was a bit similar to 'Momento' (2000) in a sense considering the ending.

The IMDB summary goes like:

"In 1954, U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels is investigating the disappearance of a murderess who escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane and is presumed to be hiding near-by."

Well, there is not even a percent of truth to this if you see the ending.

'Moon' (2009)

Highly over-rated and extremely boring!

Woman in Black 2.

The first one was quite good. This however is absolute garbage. Not scary at all, weird storyline, awful acting.

Avoid it !

1/10

the imitation game - 7 out of 10

i think benedict cumberbatch did a great job and even showcasing the eccentricities of alan turing

The theory of everything - Great acting by eddie redmayne, but the plot and story line was a bit weak imo

taken 3 - good god, wish i had missed it, nowhere near as good as the first one. The girl must be traumatised by now, hasnt she seen enough!!! in 1 and 2

On an uber long flight - saw Brave (animated movie) and Rurouni Kenshin (Japanese flick).

I'd give Brave 7/10 - not the strongest of movies, but Merida was adorableee! :heart:

I'd heard some thing about Rurouni Kenshin from my cousin, an avid manga reader (nothing in common with Kenshi from MK, although he remains the only reason I saw this film). I'd actually say it was pretty, pretty good. The characters, although seemed a bit confusing at first, were wonderfully executed - and throws a lot of light onto how Westernisation was perceived in 19th cent. Japan (this aspect being historically accurate or not, remains another issue entirely) Nevertheless, I enjoyed the film a lot.

8.5/10

the imitation game - 7 out of 10

i think benedict cumberbatch did a great job and even showcasing the eccentricities of alan turing

The theory of everything - Great acting by eddie redmayne, but the plot and story line was a bit weak imo

taken 3 - good god, wish i had missed it, nowhere near as good as the first one. The girl must be traumatised by now, hasnt she seen enough!!! in 1 and 2

Good to hear from you Kamz. Imitation game was quite good. 7 is a fair rating.

Hope you're well.

On an uber long flight - saw Brave (animated movie) and Rurouni Kenshin (Japanese flick).

I'd give Brave 7/10 - not the strongest of movies, but Merida was adorableee! [emoji813]

I'd heard some thing about Rurouni Kenshin from my cousin, an avid manga reader (nothing in common with Kenshi from MK, although he remains the only reason I saw this film). I'd actually say it was pretty, pretty good. The characters, although seemed a bit confusing at first, were wonderfully executed - and throws a lot of light onto how Westernisation was perceived in 19th cent. Japan (this aspect being historically accurate or not, remains another issue entirely) Nevertheless, I enjoyed the film a lot.

8.5/10
Being a fan of Manga, the movies are not like the comics but they are a very good watch for any fan of action movies.

Good to hear from you Kamz. Imitation game was quite good. 7 is a fair rating.

Hope you're well.

all good mate, hopes all good with you, you still on your KSA whatsapp?

Ok Last movies I watched

PK

Was really so so I dont know what the fuzz is about will give it 4/10 was hardly a comedy and then emotional atyachar in the end.

Khoobsoorat

Was funny and quite relaxing to be honest I love such movies as you can just watch laugh relax and its over. Acting was cool specially from both mom's hated my wife saying Fawad Khan is handsome throughout the movie (avoid watching it with female companion for this annoying reason). 9/10 (for me)

Humpty Sharma ki dulhania

Bakwas started it watched it for 20 mins closed it for never to see it again. Horrible acting and I think this girl Alia Bhatt have same problems as Jennifer Lawrence trying to act like she is cool with everything. 1/10

Ninja Turtle

Was Okaish I was excited about my childhood favorite cartoon but it was disappointing. I would have like to see them fighting rather than relying on some stupid antenna in the end. (4/10')

Na Maloom Afraad

Hilarious movie specially if you can understand Karachi humor "Gogi bhai nay lung nikal dia" said enough just watch it. (8/10)

Killers (Indonesia/Japan) 9/10

Came across this brutal gem on netflix. Well worth the watch.

A psycopathic Japanese executive accidentally triggers a jouranalist's from Jakarta dark side. Soon it becomes clear that it is only a matter of time before they square off face to face.

Killers (Indonesia/Japan) 9/10

Came across this brutal gem on netflix. Well worth the watch.

A psycopathic Japanese executive accidentally triggers a jouranalist's from Jakarta dark side. Soon it becomes clear that it is only a matter of time before they square off face to face.

Sounds interesting. Will check this out.

Humpty Sharma ki dulhania

Bakwas started it watched it for 20 mins closed it for never to see it again. Horrible acting and I think this girl Alia Bhatt have same problems as Jennifer Lawrence trying to act like she is cool with everything. 1/10

Lol, can you elaborate on this?

You know that I am so simple and yet a celebrity act that Jennifer Lawrence try to pull all the time when eating some stupid candies at oscar because she is hungry etc. I have a feeling that girl also try to act the same way. In her movies she is playing certain character ,but hype surrounding her is the same. I felt it because I saw some promos and some fb twitter posts by random people about how simple she is and all that and it all seems so fake just like JL.

Being a fan of Manga, the movies are not like the comics but they are a very good watch for any fan of action movies.

Undoubtedly - but the action indeed was great. Brilliant acting as well - Indian so-called action movies could pick a few useful things from this..

Women in Black 2 was ok but nowhere near as thrilling as the original maybe coz Daniel Radcliffe was outstanding in the first one. It was a 5.5/10 wouldnt watch again.

Woman in Black 2.

The first one was quite good. This however is absolute garbage. Not scary at all, weird storyline, awful acting.

Avoid it !

1/10

Its tough to keep up the good work in sequel .

Thanks for posting , I will not see the movie then :)

'Shutter Island' (2010)

Wow, what a stunningly brilliant film! Not boring even for a minute and kept me on my toes throughout! 10 of 10 for the film overall and exactly as many for Leonardo DiCaprio for an awesome performance!

Before the last 15 minutes began, the review in my thoughts went a bit like this..... *Posted in the spoiler*......

"Great film! Brilliantly highlights how cheap humans can be at times and how cruel they can be on one another. Pretty much shows how low we can fall. Extremely disturbing, sad and frustrating because of what innocent people have to go through."

But then, after the ending, I was left to laugh at myself and to admire this masterpiece. I thought it was a bit similar to 'Momento' (2000) in a sense considering the ending.

The IMDB summary goes like:

"In 1954, U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels is investigating the disappearance of a murderess who escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane and is presumed to be hiding near-by."

Well, there is not even a percent of truth to this if you see the ending.

Brilliant movie ..... :)

The Guest : It was sooo interesting for the first 3 quarters, but the way it ended was bit of a bummer. 6.5/10

A walk among the tombstones : An average thriller where a private detective tries to hunt down two serial killers. 6/10

Guys any good recommendations for punjabi movies?

The best (Indian) Punjabi films that I have watched are.....

'Double Di Trouble' (2014), 'Bha Ji in Problem' (2013), 'Jatt & Juliet' (2012) and 'Jatt James Bond' (2014).

The best (Indian) Punjabi films that I have watched are.....

'Double Di Trouble' (2014), 'Bha Ji in Problem' (2013), 'Jatt & Juliet' (2012) and 'Jatt James Bond' (2014).

Thanks bro!

Highlighted one, I concur was a good movie, other two will give it a watch

Any other recommendation would be much appreciated :)

The imitation game 8.5/10. Surprised how one machine helped end WW2. Also, Germany lost the war thanks to some dunce cap who was in Love. I haven't revealed nothing, just watch and enjoy the movie.

Boogie Nights

Watched it again. A story of desperate poeople with innocent dreams caught in the wrong circumstances trying unsuccessfully to get out of their predicament. Mark Walhberg's performance never got any critical acclaim and I personally didn't make much of it before but in retrospect, it's right up there with any great performances. He has a natural vulnerability and earnestness to himself. The supporting cast includes all of PTA's regulars like Julianna Moore, John C. Reilly, Phillip Seymore Hoffman etc. So many memorable scenes but especially love the scene at the rich guys house with a big mustache wearing an underwear and a long silk night gown, doing coke and playing air guitar to Night Ranger's Sister Christian. The whole tension of the scene with the loud music, firecrackers every few seconds, nervous and jittery reactions all around, just classic PTA. The last scene is reminiscent of Raging Bull, Dirk Diggler is back doing dirty movies and is going over his lines in front of a mirror. I'm a star, I a star....

'Gravity' (2013)

A great film it was till the women reached that Chinese station and was connected to that Chinese guy. From thereon the film lost pace and got a bit boring, in all the last 20 minutes or so. The film also lacked emotions I felt and were certainly not shown to the extent they should have been considering what a uniquely horrible death the people were heading to.

I think that despite the main plot surrounding space, space-shuttle, astronauts etc., the film overall was a lot different to what 'Interstellar' (2014) was. Also, this film showed that a film can be boring even if it is only 90 minutes long, and this is where 'Interstellar' wins hands down, despite being almost a film double in length to it.

All in all, some of the scenes were great, thrilling and simply awesome. Would have been quite an experience for people to watch at a cinema.

I will give it 7.5 out of 10.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] Did you watch Vikram's I yet ? Whats the talk around town ?

I watched it.

I would say...if a simple revenge story is given to Vikram and Shankar..they would make 'I'. !

There is nothing novel about the story....but the grandeur of the movie and Vikram make it a one time watch.

I would rate this as the weakest Shankar movie after say...Boys and Shivaji interms of content in the movie.

But I would def say its a one time watch. Amy Jackson was hot and santhanam's comedy is entertaining.

I watched it.

I would say...if a simple revenge story is given to Vikram and Shankar..they would make 'I'. !

There is nothing novel about the story....but the grandeur of the movie and Vikram make it a one time watch.

I would rate this as the weakest Shankar movie after say...Boys and Shivaji interms of content in the movie.

But I would def say its a one time watch. Amy Jackson was hot and santhanam's comedy is entertaining.

hmm, i heard good things about it. Won't watch it till Friday night. Thanks for your input.

'Gravity' (2013)

A great film it was till the women reached that Chinese station and was connected to that Chinese guy. From thereon the film lost pace and got a bit boring, in all the last 20 minutes or so. The film also lacked emotions I felt and were certainly not shown to the extent they should have been considering what a uniquely horrible death the people were heading to.

I think that despite the main plot surrounding space, space-shuttle, astronauts etc., the film overall was a lot different to what 'Interstellar' (2014) was. Also, this film showed that a film can be boring even if it is only 90 minutes long, and this is where 'Interstellar' wins hands down, despite being almost a film double in length to it.

All in all, some of the scenes were great, thrilling and simply awesome. Would have been quite an experience for people to watch at a cinema.

My mother watched a few minutes of it and was fascinated seeing the scenes. She was asking me whether they went above the sky, only for me break to her that sky is not something touchable (I am not referring to the Indian caste system here), that is, not something that we can touch. It´s not any blue roof over us. And then the discussion, where I was made to feel like a teacher, carried on to galaxy, different planets, the difference of the time speed, the temperature, the issue of water on other planets and whether life is possible on them..... It was nice and very memorable!

And being an unofficial advertiser of 'Interstellar', I immediately told her how there is another film far better than this and deals with a similar yet completely different issue. I told her its storyline and promised to play on our TV once it´s out on DVD in March - I have set a reminder on my email calendar since a week anyway.

Started watching "Homeland" Season 4 about Taliban / Haqqani / ISI. Gripping story but bit disappointed the way they are showing our Islamabad :( Islamabad is not that ugly looking. I guess they are shooting this series in Afghanistan.

Watched John Wick. Pretty good.

Also just watched American Sniper. Meh, I guess I should've known better.

I'm mid-way through watching Whiplash and 3 days ago watched Foxcatcher and Big Hero 6. Loved the latter and thought Foxcatcher was very good too. Oh and the one on the list is Kill The Messenger and The Gambler.

Other than that I'm not a big fan of movies :))

Class 6/10

Pretty bold plot liked the acting of teenagers, overall decent comedy though the ending was abrupt.

Candyman 6/10

ok movie a low quality thriller the best thing was the boy "jake"

'Gravity' (2013)

Glad you're finally watching movies other than those weird Bollywood ones. :P

'Queen' (2014)

A good film which was stretched a bit in length. I think it was greatly inspired from 'English Vinglish' (2012) but that though was one of the best films that I have watched.

Kangana Ranaut is an awful actress I have always felt and I continue to believe this despite a good film like this.

Glad you're finally watching movies other than those weird Bollywood ones. :P

Well, the above film is from Bollywood of course:P.

Nice review.

Agree, but given what he had to work with i think it was decent enough. I wouldn't say weak so much as limited. His role seems to be shackled down and doesn't have room for him to do much with. He seems best when he has a little freedom and can get himself into a completely different mindset and is given a little creative freedom which i don't think he was given as much as he would have liked. I heard an interview in which he stated he was doing the directors head in as he wanted more time to get across the character and such. Or maybe i'm just biased in my feelings for this beautiful pyscho.

The overall movie had poor character development and dragged on way too long.

6/10 seems more accurate and maybe even a little generous.

Ruroni Kenshin: The Legend ends

I thought the one before this one was better, but even this one was good. Acting was good, but in particular the fighting scenes were spectacular.

I would recommend it.

[MENTION=101412]SwingNSeam[/MENTION] it's best i don't watch the dark knight returns i haven't finished the comic yet :)) or year one. Will check out the red hood though. Why is it so hard to find the 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th print versions of the Dark knight returns or Black Mirror? and when you do they are always random issues which are expensive. I can only find comic books in paperback graphic novel kinda format.