Saqs
- Post of the Week
Are you serious ?
Yeah pretty sure it got one of those worst film of the year awards when it was released.
Are you serious ?
'Exodus: Gods and Kings' (2014)
So,..... there's a lot of stuff to write about the film. Let me highlight the controversial and the objectionable stuff:
The overall plot and the story is based on Moses and the Pharaoh, but the details of the events differ a great, great deal from what the Bible states. A lot of Biblical inaccuracies and contradiction are there, the most noticeable of which is the absolute non-existence of the miracles performed by Moses. I think these are the main reason behind the not-so-great reviews, and I can understand a lot of believing Christians and Jews being disturbed by it. 30 minutes into the film, you can at least tell what not to expect: the conformity of the Bible narratives and the miracles.
Regarding the miracles, it was quite clear what the film-makers were trying so hard to do: he tried his level best to bring down the miracles to the extent of them making sense to the human thinking and tried to be logical. An example being how the blood-in-the-sea miracle was credited to the crocodiles and their pure madness. Irrespective of how successful it was, I am not too dismissive of the idea and instead commend the film-makers for such a unique attempt and approach to miracles, all though there's room to argue that the miracles themselves formed a great part of the whole legend. There's not much justification for the other inaccuracies though. So that should have been kept in its original form.
So I subtract 20% marks for the overall contradiction with the Bible, none for the non-existence of the miracles.
I must add here though that it's a lot easier for me to take a rational approach, sidelining the beliefs, being neither a Jew nor a Christian. So I can fully understand the negative reactions by those whose beliefs have been compromised.
A few more things that I did not like are:
1. A child being depicted as God, or in other words, God disguising himself as a Child to communicate with Moses looked too fake and made no sense. Even an elderly man shown as an angel would have made more sense. *10% marks subtracted.*
2. They weren´t quite able to depict the Pharaoh as the sort of tyrant that he actually is believed to be. They should have shown a bit more of his cruel side. Also, just shaving someone´s head and making him wear all those dresses doesn´t automatically make someone the Pharaoh. I wasn´t impressed by his role. *5% subtracted.*
3. One thing that I found to be offensive at a personal level was, God was shown as very cruel and blood-thirsty, referring particularly to him killing all the children of the Egyptians. God being referred to as a "fanatic" by the Pharaoh of all the people looked very odd. *10% subtracted again.*
4. The Pharaoh wasn´t shown as having died in the end. *5% subtracted*.
So, seeing the contradiction with the Bible and how the story differed so much from the original concept, five out of 10.
---------------
However, there´s another aspect to look at it from. Treat it as a film, just creative work of fiction without keeping anything in mind of how the narratives in the religions are, I would then give it nine out of 10. A great film I thought! I loved it! Having watched it in 3D, this was something that I will never forget. There was something about it, definitely!
[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] This is the first film that I have watched of the guy on your avatar, Christian Bale, and must say that he delivered an excellent performance! He had presence, was solid and did it all nicely.
And that gentlemen makes it the longest review that I have ever posted of a film.
Would a person who has no knowledge of bible whatsover enjoy the movie ?
'Exodus: Gods and Kings' (2014)
So,..... there's a lot of stuff to write about the film. Let me highlight the controversial and the objectionable stuff:
The overall plot and the story is based on Moses and the Pharaoh, but the details of the events differ a great, great deal from what the Bible states. A lot of Biblical inaccuracies and contradiction are there, the most noticeable of which is the absolute non-existence of the miracles performed by Moses. I think these are the main reason behind the not-so-great reviews, and I can understand a lot of believing Christians and Jews being disturbed by it. 30 minutes into the film, you can at least tell what not to expect: the conformity of the Bible narratives and the miracles.
Regarding the miracles, it was quite clear what the film-makers were trying so hard to do: he tried his level best to bring down the miracles to the extent of them making sense to the human thinking and tried to be logical. An example being how the blood-in-the-sea miracle was credited to the crocodiles and their pure madness. Irrespective of how successful it was, I am not too dismissive of the idea and instead commend the film-makers for such a unique attempt and approach to miracles, all though there's room to argue that the miracles themselves formed a great part of the whole legend. There's not much justification for the other inaccuracies though. So that should have been kept in its original form.
So I subtract 20% marks for the overall contradiction with the Bible, none for the non-existence of the miracles.
I must add here though that it's a lot easier for me to take a rational approach, sidelining the beliefs, being neither a Jew nor a Christian. So I can fully understand the negative reactions by those whose beliefs have been compromised.
A few more things that I did not like are:
1. A child being depicted as God, or in other words, God disguising himself as a Child to communicate with Moses looked too fake and made no sense. Even an elderly man shown as an angel would have made more sense. *10% marks subtracted.*
2. They weren´t quite able to depict the Pharaoh as the sort of tyrant that he actually is believed to be. They should have shown a bit more of his cruel side. Also, just shaving someone´s head and making him wear all those dresses doesn´t automatically make someone the Pharaoh. I wasn´t impressed by his role. *5% subtracted.*
3. One thing that I found to be offensive at a personal level was, God was shown as very cruel and blood-thirsty, referring particularly to him killing all the children of the Egyptians. God being referred to as a "fanatic" by the Pharaoh of all the people looked very odd. *10% subtracted again.*
4. The Pharaoh wasn´t shown as having died in the end. *5% subtracted*.
So, seeing the contradiction with the Bible and how the story differed so much from the original concept, five out of 10.
---------------
However, there´s another aspect to look at it from. Treat it as a film, just creative work of fiction without keeping anything in mind of how the narratives in the religions are, I would then give it nine out of 10. A great film I thought! I loved it! Having watched it in 3D, this was something that I will never forget. There was something about it, definitely!
[MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] This is the first film that I have watched of the guy on your avatar, Christian Bale, and must say that he delivered an excellent performance! He had presence, was solid and did it all nicely.
And that gentlemen makes it the longest review that I have ever posted of a film.
Nice review.
You need to check out more of Bale. I hear this is one of his weakest performances.
1. Heat
2. Mean Girls
3. Crimson Tide
Yeah why not. Kohli loves sri lanka and jacqueline is sri lankan too. May be then he can go soft on sri lankan bowlers.needs to date Jacqueline fernandez now.
Welcome (2008)
Great comedy but silly ending
Rate also?
You see, it very rarely happens that people appreciate any actor´s performance if they don´t happen to like the film itself too much, and we know that it hasn´t received great reviews.
Welcome (2008)
Great comedy but silly ending
It's not about the film. It's about the high standards he has set for himself through past performances, which he hasn't been able to attain in this performance.
There's only so much an actor can do though if the direction and writing isn't there.
Haven't seen the film but when I do I will report back.
'Inception' (2010)
The first half was extremely boring, the second one a lot better, but it was overall still a very confusing film. Way below what I had expected and was a disappointment.
The background music was awesome and had every possible similarity to that of one played in 'Interstellar' (2014).
the imitation game - 7 out of 10
i think benedict cumberbatch did a great job and even showcasing the eccentricities of alan turing
The theory of everything - Great acting by eddie redmayne, but the plot and story line was a bit weak imo
taken 3 - good god, wish i had missed it, nowhere near as good as the first one. The girl must be traumatised by now, hasnt she seen enough!!! in 1 and 2
Being a fan of Manga, the movies are not like the comics but they are a very good watch for any fan of action movies.On an uber long flight - saw Brave (animated movie) and Rurouni Kenshin (Japanese flick).
I'd give Brave 7/10 - not the strongest of movies, but Merida was adorableee! [emoji813]
I'd heard some thing about Rurouni Kenshin from my cousin, an avid manga reader (nothing in common with Kenshi from MK, although he remains the only reason I saw this film). I'd actually say it was pretty, pretty good. The characters, although seemed a bit confusing at first, were wonderfully executed - and throws a lot of light onto how Westernisation was perceived in 19th cent. Japan (this aspect being historically accurate or not, remains another issue entirely) Nevertheless, I enjoyed the film a lot.
8.5/10
Good to hear from you Kamz. Imitation game was quite good. 7 is a fair rating.
Hope you're well.
Killers (Indonesia/Japan) 9/10
Came across this brutal gem on netflix. Well worth the watch.
A psycopathic Japanese executive accidentally triggers a jouranalist's from Jakarta dark side. Soon it becomes clear that it is only a matter of time before they square off face to face.
Humpty Sharma ki dulhania
Bakwas started it watched it for 20 mins closed it for never to see it again. Horrible acting and I think this girl Alia Bhatt have same problems as Jennifer Lawrence trying to act like she is cool with everything. 1/10
Lol, can you elaborate on this?
Being a fan of Manga, the movies are not like the comics but they are a very good watch for any fan of action movies.
Women in Black 2 was ok but nowhere near as thrilling as the original maybe coz Daniel Radcliffe was outstanding in the first one. It was a 5.5/10 wouldnt watch again.
Woman in Black 2.
The first one was quite good. This however is absolute garbage. Not scary at all, weird storyline, awful acting.
Avoid it !
1/10
'Shutter Island' (2010)
Wow, what a stunningly brilliant film! Not boring even for a minute and kept me on my toes throughout! 10 of 10 for the film overall and exactly as many for Leonardo DiCaprio for an awesome performance!
Before the last 15 minutes began, the review in my thoughts went a bit like this..... *Posted in the spoiler*......
"Great film! Brilliantly highlights how cheap humans can be at times and how cruel they can be on one another. Pretty much shows how low we can fall. Extremely disturbing, sad and frustrating because of what innocent people have to go through."
But then, after the ending, I was left to laugh at myself and to admire this masterpiece. I thought it was a bit similar to 'Momento' (2000) in a sense considering the ending.
The IMDB summary goes like:
"In 1954, U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels is investigating the disappearance of a murderess who escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane and is presumed to be hiding near-by."
Well, there is not even a percent of truth to this if you see the ending.
Guys any good recommendations for punjabi movies?
The best (Indian) Punjabi films that I have watched are.....
'Double Di Trouble' (2014), 'Bha Ji in Problem' (2013), 'Jatt & Juliet' (2012) and 'Jatt James Bond' (2014).
Thanks bro!
Highlighted one, I concur was a good movie, other two will give it a watch
Any other recommendation would be much appreciated![]()
carry on jatta,oh my peyo ji,yaar anmulle
[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] Did you watch Vikram's I yet ? Whats the talk around town ?
I watched it.
I would say...if a simple revenge story is given to Vikram and Shankar..they would make 'I'. !
There is nothing novel about the story....but the grandeur of the movie and Vikram make it a one time watch.
I would rate this as the weakest Shankar movie after say...Boys and Shivaji interms of content in the movie.
But I would def say its a one time watch. Amy Jackson was hot and santhanam's comedy is entertaining.
'Gravity' (2013)
A great film it was till the women reached that Chinese station and was connected to that Chinese guy. From thereon the film lost pace and got a bit boring, in all the last 20 minutes or so. The film also lacked emotions I felt and were certainly not shown to the extent they should have been considering what a uniquely horrible death the people were heading to.
I think that despite the main plot surrounding space, space-shuttle, astronauts etc., the film overall was a lot different to what 'Interstellar' (2014) was. Also, this film showed that a film can be boring even if it is only 90 minutes long, and this is where 'Interstellar' wins hands down, despite being almost a film double in length to it.
All in all, some of the scenes were great, thrilling and simply awesome. Would have been quite an experience for people to watch at a cinema.
I will give it 7.5 out of 10.
'Gravity' (2013)
A great film it was till the women reached that Chinese station and was connected to that Chinese guy. From thereon the film lost pace and got a bit boring, in all the last 20 minutes or so. The film also lacked emotions I felt and were certainly not shown to the extent they should have been considering what a uniquely horrible death the people were heading to.
I think that despite the main plot surrounding space, space-shuttle, astronauts etc., the film overall was a lot different to what 'Interstellar' (2014) was. Also, this film showed that a film can be boring even if it is only 90 minutes long, and this is where 'Interstellar' wins hands down, despite being almost a film double in length to it.
All in all, some of the scenes were great, thrilling and simply awesome. Would have been quite an experience for people to watch at a cinema.
I will give it 7.5 out of 10.
Glad you're finally watching movies other than those weird Bollywood ones.![]()
Nice review.
You need to check out more of Bale. I hear this is one of his weakest performances.
Can anyone recommend me the best Batman animated movie?
batman:under the red hood
batman:year one
batman:the dark knight returns 1 and 2
Thank you swingy bhai never saw you as a Bats fanhope you're good molana saab.