"You can say that breaking the opening partnership with Babar Azam has caused some damage": Mohammad Rizwan

Brother Mamoon, your points are entirely valid, but they are specifically relevant to ODIs.

In T20, averages hold little significance as it's a fast-paced game driven by high-level strategy, where tactics can shift every two minutes.
I just proved to you with facts & figures that Fakhar Zaman's T20I SR as opener is 136 only while Babar and Rizwan's SR is 130-131.

The negligible difference between 136 and 130-131 does not justify the arguments that Babar and Rizwan are selfish stats padders who waste balls while Fakhar is some bionic weapon who destroys bowling attacks with his aggression at the top of the order.

The facts & figures do not support the fantasies and myths of Babar and Rizwan opening combo haters. It is as simple as that.

Fakhar has done really well this year but in the middle-order. He is the only middle-order batsman this year who has scored runs for Pakistan and if it is not broken, don't fix it. He has struggled at the top of the order in this format for a long time and he has found his mojo in the middle-order and that is where he needs to continue.

His ability to hit big sixes has proved to be an asset in the middle-order because he is the only reliable six-hitter in the middle-order. The likes of Iftikhar and Azam fail 9 out of 10 times. Plus, he rotates the strike better in the middle-order with the field spread out.

As a T20I opener, he wastes a lot of balls because he cant find singles and doubles in the PP overs and tries to hit everything to the boundary. This explains why he has a opening SR of 136 only in spite of possessing hitting abilities that are unmatched within Pakistan.

If we talk about recent form, he opened in PSL 2024 and he was miserable throughout the season. He showcased exactly why he has struggled to perform as a T20 opener. The PSL 2024 eliminated any possibilities of him opening for Pakistan in this format and rightly so. It made it abundantly clear that Fakhar belongs in the middle-order in T20s and Pakistani fans need to accept it once and for all.

I just proved to you with facts & figures that Fakhar Zaman's T20I SR as opener is 136 only while Babar and Rizwan's SR is 130-131.

The negligible difference between 136 and 130-131 does not justify the arguments that Babar and Rizwan are selfish stats padders who waste balls while Fakhar is some bionic weapon who destroys bowling attacks with his aggression at the top of the order.

The facts & figures do not support the fantasies and myths of Babar and Rizwan opening combo haters. It is as simple as that.

Fakhar has done really well this year but in the middle-order. He is the only middle-order batsman this year who has scored runs for Pakistan and if it is not broken, don't fix it. He has struggled at the top of the order in this format for a long time and he has found his mojo in the middle-order and that is where he needs to continue.

His ability to hit big sixes has proved to be an asset in the middle-order because he is the only reliable six-hitter in the middle-order. The likes of Iftikhar and Azam fail 9 out of 10 times. Plus, he rotates the strike better in the middle-order with the field spread out.

As a T20I opener, he wastes a lot of balls because he cant find singles and doubles in the PP overs and tries to hit everything to the boundary. This explains why he has a opening SR of 136 only in spite of possessing hitting abilities that are unmatched within Pakistan.

If we talk about recent form, he opened in PSL 2024 and he was miserable throughout the season. He showcased exactly why he has struggled to perform as a T20 opener. The PSL 2024 eliminated any possibilities of him opening for Pakistan in this format and rightly so. It made it abundantly clear that Fakhar belongs in the middle-order in T20s and Pakistani fans need to accept it once and for all.
I don't understand the concept of having someone open, when that player's recent form has been diabolical to say the least in the last domestic tournament he opened in. Fakhar was beyond clueless when he opened and got out to the likes of Aftab Ibrahim, so I'm not entirely sure how he is supposed to destroy bowling attacks at international level at that position.

Just because he is a decent ODI bat as an opener, hasn't meant he has translated that performance to T20 cricket. His overall T20 record, notwithstanding the recent success at number 4, is also terrible. Any other country, he gets dropped but he is kept in the team because he is the only true modern day LOI player on his day in the whole of Pakistan.

It's all about agendas.

Chacha is mediocre by international standards, but who can we replace him with from our domestic cricket?

Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah etc have all proven to be duds.
Imad wasim is perfect to replace him lower down.

You have any lower order batter.

These Asif and kushdil's are terrible but so is chacha. These 3 make up the misbah lower order trio lol.

I don't understand the concept of having someone open, when that player's recent form has been diabolical to say the least in the last domestic tournament he opened in. Fakhar was beyond clueless when he opened and got out to the likes of Aftab Ibrahim, so I'm not entirely sure how he is supposed to destroy bowling attacks at international level at that position.

Just because he is a decent ODI bat as an opener, hasn't meant he has translated that performance to T20 cricket. His overall T20 record, notwithstanding the recent success at number 4, is also terrible. Any other country, he gets dropped but he is kept in the team because he is the only true modern day LOI player on his day in the whole of Pakistan.

It's all about agendas.
Forget Fakhar, people will nominate their nana abu to open for Pakistan because their only objective is not have Babar and Rizwan open.

Pakistan has gained absolutely nothing by splitting this pair because Saim Ayub has had zero impact so far.

People would nominate their Nana Abu to bat at 4 for Pakistan so Babar and Rizwan can open.
If their Nana Abu averaged 37 @154 at 4 this year, what’s the problem?

Fakhar has failed as T20I opener for Pakistan.

Fakhar been out-performed as T20I opener by Babar and Rizwan.

Fakhar has performed well at 4.

Fakhar had the chance to stake a claim as T20I opener by performing in PSL. He had the whole tournament and he did nothing.

Saim Ayub has had zero impact so far.

These uncomfortable realities are inconvenient for one track mind fans and you can see their frustration and bitterness.

“I would like to nominate my Nana Abu to bat at 4 for Pakistan because he starts off slowly in the powerplay, but he can look for singles and doubles against spinners in the middle to get his innings going” 🤡

If their Nana Abu averaged 37 @154 at 4 this year, what’s the problem?

Fakhar has failed as T20I opener for Pakistan.

Fakhar been out-performed as T20I opener by Babar and Rizwan.

Fakhar has performed well at 4.

Fakhar had the chance to stake a claim as T20I opener by performing in PSL. He had the whole tournament and he did nothing.

Saim Ayub has had zero impact so far.

These uncomfortable realities are inconvenient for one track mind fans and you can see their frustration and bitterness.
Why did Fakhar failed as T20I opener? It's a bit strange isn't it? His T20 record as opener is better. He has been a prolific ODI opener who can score big runs but in T20Is he seem to be doing better down the order.

This is not the case for him just this year. He had shown glimpses of the impact he could create coming down the order. E.g. Pakistan v Australia Semi Final - WT2021

Why do you think Fakhar is doing better at no. 4 than as opener?

Because as Fakhar admitted, he was given confidence by Misbah that he can do the job better than others. It's a mind thing with him
How come Misbah's confidence never worked on shehzad, irfan or akmal in 2020?

If they too were given the long rope like Fakhar it would have. Unfortunately our fans don't have patience and want immediate results

So whoever misbah blesses with holy water, they become goats if given enough time?

Is misbah God now?

God gives his gifts to everyone and to Misbah, He's given him the ability to read the game like no other in Pakistan.

Fakhar is performing in the middle order and Rizwan is performing as an opener. Courtesy of Misbah ul haq the great

God gives his gifts to everyone and to Misbah, He's given him the ability to read the game like no other in Pakistan.

Fakhar is performing in the middle order and Rizwan is performing as an opener. Courtesy of Misbah ul haq the great
I really wonder what Misbah has done to you mate. I don't think I've ever idolised someone as much.

Magar chalo, everyone has that one obessive fan ig.

I really wonder what Misbah has done to you mate. I don't think I've ever idolised someone as much.

Magar chalo, everyone has that one obessive fan ig.

I only have sympathy for him. The hate he gets is unreal as the reality is different. The only obsession here is from posters like you bashing him left right and centre and naming him in every other post. Wonder how he rubbed you guys the wrong way

Bro, can I ask you something? Misbah likely doesn't care. He gets bashed by over millions of people across all of social media? Twitter especially.

PP is kinda tame in the misbah bashing regard. But misbah or any of these players usually don't check, or atleast I hope for their sakes they don't check and are capable of ignoring.

So trust me, your hero is fine. He'll be AlrightE so he doesn't need your sympathy lol.

Also I do understand why you guys like misbah, I'm not completly devoid of empathy.

You guys are from the omder generation who felt humilated from the salman bitter antics and afridi walked out, Misbah managed to take over and took the abuse from ICC and pretty much all if Indian supporters who attacked and wanted Pakistan to be banned. And as a red ball captain he did well atleast.

Is the misbah bashing very very harsh? It is 100% but its not completly unwarranted. The Internet is harsh in general. If you manage to control me, someone else will just replace me, heck their millions of people like me on twitter and many like me on this forumn.

People don't appreciate what he did, and try to look at lens from beyond the perspective of fanboyism. Do try to understand and not get too upset about it. But at the very least I can someone understand and empathise but I will tear misbah a new one or babar a new one if I have to. Capiche?

Anyone my question was: Why so much fanboyism? Misbah doesn't even know you?

Bro, can I ask you something? Misbah likely doesn't care. He gets bashed by over millions of people across all of social media? Twitter especially.

PP is kinda tame in the misbah bashing regard. But misbah or any of these players usually don't check, or atleast I hope for their sakes they don't check and are capable of ignoring.

So trust me, your hero is fine. He'll be AlrightE so he doesn't need your sympathy lol.

Also I do understand why you guys like misbah, I'm not completly devoid of empathy.

You guys are from the omder generation who felt humilated from the salman bitter antics and afridi walked out, Misbah managed to take over and took the abuse from ICC and pretty much all if Indian supporters who attacked and wanted Pakistan to be banned. And as a red ball captain he did well atleast.

Is the misbah bashing very very harsh? It is 100% but its not completly unwarranted. The Internet is harsh in general. If you manage to control me, someone else will just replace me, heck their millions of people like me on twitter and many like me on this forumn.

People don't appreciate what he did, and try to look at lens from beyond the perspective of fanboyism. Do try to understand and not get too upset about it. But at the very least I can someone understand and empathise but I will tear misbah a new one or babar a new one if I have to. Capiche?

Anyone my question was: Why so much fanboyism? Misbah doesn't even know you?

Obviously he doesnt care, he does a good job cancelling out the outside noise and carrying on doing what he does best. I think he has a lot of support online at least of what I've seen on Twitter and Reddit. I guess depends on the accounts sharing the content and their followers.

And I don't need to know him to defend what is right. It's a matter of principle, if something is wrong, it's wrong. Doesn't matter who's saying it.

The problem with Misbah bashing is that it drives the conversation away from the actual issues of Pakistan cricket. Scape goating is the easier way out rather than addressing the root causes of our problems.

Misbah bashers are in denial of how poor of a team we actually are. A change in personnel can only do so much.

Obviously he doesnt care, he does a good job cancelling out the outside noise and carrying on doing what he does best. I think he has a lot of support online at least of what I've seen on Twitter and Reddit. I guess depends on the accounts sharing the content and their followers.

And I don't need to know him to defend what is right. It's a matter of principle, if something is wrong, it's wrong. Doesn't matter who's saying it.

The problem with Misbah bashing is that it drives the conversation away from the actual issues of Pakistan cricket. Scape goating is the easier way out rather than addressing the root causes of our problems.

Misbah bashers are in denial of how poor of a team we actually are. A change in personnel can only do so much.
Their will always be misbah bashing my guy and their will always be misbah supporters as well.

But the truth remains

2013-2015 are dreadful years of Pakistan cricket.

2018 is a dreadful year with 2019 being an okay year.

2017 was a fantastic year and in terms of t20 Pakistan was ranked NO 1 with sarfi having the best captaincy record to this date of 96% which decreased to 79% as soon as misbah came causing sarfi to lose 5 on the dot under him ans then getting sacked. Afterwards under Babar, Pakistan lost every single series under him.

Infact 2013 is the worst pakistani performance ever, no one is topping that.

You can pull all the mental gymnastics or whatever excuse or really whatever headcanon you may wish the fact remains under sarfi we had an amazing 2017 that surpasses whatever misbah has ever done in Whiteball and a no 1 ranked t20 side with a 96% win record that lost everything as soon as Misbah took charge.

Theirs no mental gymnastics and I'm aware you're probably frustrated with me, as are the misbah clique, but replace me and someone else will just come in my place who'll probs be smarter, more aggressive and genuinely harsher then I can even hope to be.

Theirs always going to be as many misbah haters who will talk, bash him and will never see eye to eye with you because they will always quote these facts to you, every argument will then delve into semantics of kya sahi hai and kya ghalat hai.

It's the same with flat earthers, no matter how many arguments, threats, excuses, name calling, emotional blackmail, pleading, arguing or whatever you use to tell someone the world is flat, you'll always have someone come in and argue that the world is round and why it should remain that why.

I understand your frustration but misbah isn't your god keep nor are you his protector. For your mental health, understand that they'll always be a controversial light on misbah's head.

And funny enough, Misbah isn't even known outside Pakistan. He's one of the most forgetful cricketers to represent Pakistan sadly. It doesn't help that his retirmwnt gets overshadowed by YK who everyone knows internationally.

I don't fanboy Sarfraz, I'm happy to tear him a new one for 2018, and that's the point, stick to things that happened. Not these realities where you assume you live in misbah's head and think he has a supernatural god given gift and angel jibrael is speaking through him.

Why did Fakhar failed as T20I opener? It's a bit strange isn't it? His T20 record as opener is better. He has been a prolific ODI opener who can score big runs but in T20Is he seem to be doing better down the order.

This is not the case for him just this year. He had shown glimpses of the impact he could create coming down the order. E.g. Pakistan v Australia Semi Final - WT2021

Why do you think Fakhar is doing better at no. 4 than as opener?
He is a nervous starter. He is scratchy when he opens the innings and tries to belt the ball which costs him his wicket more often than not.

It is more of a mindset issue. He can make up for his slow starts but he plays with a calm and cool head when he is in the middle-order.

Another milestone by this pair. Mohammad Rizwan & Babar Azam becomes first batting pair to amass 3000 partnership runs and score 10 century partnerships.

This is 17th time Babar was involved in a 100 partnership in T20Is - the most by anyone.

Rizwan's 13th involvement in 100 partnership.

So far, Rizwan is proven right. Everybody was trolling Rizwan for his statement but the reality is PCB's experiment with saim has not worked. Saim is a proven league bully but failed to make any mark in international games so far. Not sure if we still be looking at Saim and rizwan opening.

I think it is time to drop saim and play fakhar as an opener if pcb is not willing to bring babar and rizwan back. Try fakhar once again.

So far, Rizwan is proven right. Everybody was trolling Rizwan for his statement but the reality is PCB's experiment with saim has not worked. Saim is a proven league bully but failed to make any mark in international games so far. Not sure if we still be looking at Saim and rizwan opening.

I think it is time to drop saim and play fakhar as an opener if pcb is not willing to bring babar and rizwan back. Try fakhar once again.
Any one is fine besides Ba/Riz opening again.

This pair has caused us to lose every series since 2021 even the series where we played c string.

This pair has also prevented us from reaching 200 even once in 3+ years now and under this pair + Chacha, Shadab, Fakhar all coming in at 4, 5 and 6, this pair averages 163 for 6 in t20 batting first.

To put into context Australia averages 186 for 5 despite not even playing full strength 50% of the time for IPL.

Any one is fine besides Ba/Riz opening again.

This pair has caused us to lose every series since 2021 even the series where we played c string.

This pair has also prevented us from reaching 200 even once in 3+ years now and under this pair + Chacha, Shadab, Fakhar all coming in at 4, 5 and 6, this pair averages 163 for 6 in t20 batting first.

To put into context Australia averages 186 for 5 despite not even playing full strength 50% of the time for IPL.
Yeah and when the pair was broken up we beat NZ C team at home and whitewashed Ireland comfortably didn't we?

The "pair" has led a hilariously mediocre team to a WC final, WC semi, Asia Cup final.

Yeah and when the pair was broken up we beat NZ C team at home and whitewashed Ireland comfortably didn't we?

The "pair" has led a hilariously mediocre team to a WC final, WC semi, Asia Cup final.
The pair is the reason why you are 7th

What’s wrong with Babar at 3?

Two wrongs don't make a right.

Saim ayub being a wrong doesn't invalidate the past 4 years under Bobby and rizzu opening and what the actual statics reflect

2022 - pre World Cup, all sane fans: Babar and Rizwan will fail against quality bowling and full strength teams:

Cultists: How dare you - look at their records….theres no one better..

During World Cup - sane fans: they are failing, change now.

Cultists: look at their record

Babar and Rizwan indeed fail against full strength teams.

Cultists: look at their records.

Pre-2024 WC. Sane fans: Babar and Rizwan will fail against quality attacks

Cultists: look at their record….

Lessons learned - 0

Some people just do not like good advice

2022 - pre World Cup, all sane fans: Babar and Rizwan will fail against quality bowling and full strength teams:

Cultists: How dare you - look at their records….theres no one better..

During World Cup - sane fans: they are failing, change now.

Cultists: look at their record

Babar and Rizwan indeed fail against full strength teams.

Cultists: look at their records.

Pre-2024 WC. Sane fans: Babar and Rizwan will fail against quality attacks

Cultists: look at their record….

Lessons learned - 0

Some people just do not like good advice
Babar: Fails 4 tournaments in a row.

Cultists: a Quality world class batsmen can fail 4 tournaments in a row. Doesn't take away anything away from them being world class

No other pair even comes close. It's not just a competition, it's dominance.

xagBLu4.png

xagBLu4.png

Oh bhai saab, these runs are meaningless if Pakistan isn't winning matches. I don't understand why people want Rizwan and Babar to score in a losing effort.

At the end of the day babar and rizwan are not above pakistan, pakistan comes first then babar and rizwan

xagBLu4.png
These stats should have a strike rate and run rate mentioned as well. Although the experimentation has not worked till now for Pakistan since the combination was broken but we need to see things from a different perspective.

Given that now we're advocating Babar and rizwan as superior to Travis head and Warner, you might as well plug me in that machine now. Why wait a month?
There's no comparison with Head or Warner type players at all.. the point was just to mention that they complement each other quite well.

Baki team jayai bhar main :hasan2 lol

There's no comparison with Head or Warner type players at all.. the point was just to mention that they complement each other quite well.

Baki team jayai bhar main :hasan2 lol
Not gonna name anyone, but I have had conversations with a poster who claimed that babar and rizwan are not at fault because the team does not compliment them

However if babar and rizwan played for Australia, Australia would happily make them openers as these 2 are single handidely superior to all Australian openers.

And with the likes of maxwell, Travis head and Warner who are apparently batting at 3 and 4 now, they'd easily be able to attack once babar and rizwan build them a platform.

Travis head ain dono ko apna jootei sei na marei? He'd slaughter them as soon as they request to be openers.

Strike rate and run rate are pretty important in T20s which is missing in this stat. Have to see that as well but if we are considering runs up top, then yep, Babar and Rizwan have no match. They do compliment each other pretty well and it seems like they both want to bat with each other.

So they are opening. But if the condition is helpful and ball is swinging around a good bowler can go bang bang Rizwan and Babar at 3 in two balls.

There are reports that they will be opening vs England. If it is true, you can’t blame the management.

Saim Ayub got a free run for a long time and did nothing. It only confirmed what we already know - Babar and Rizwan, in spite of their limitations, is the best available pair for Pakistan right now. As simple as that.

One track mind fans will throw a tantrum, but their anger should be directed at Saim Ayub for not capitalizing on the opportunities. If he did, there would be no discussion of opening with Babar and Rizwan again.

This is the reason they want you bat together, so they can help eachother reach milestones

Rizwan 52 in the 9th over and 56 in the 14th over giving maximum strike to Babar so he could hit his century.

View attachment 143888
Yeah, Rizwan in the 9th over with Babar batting on 19 thought 'you know what Babar's only 81 runs off his century here lets let him hold the strike'.

There are reports that they will be opening vs England. If it is true, you can’t blame the management.

Saim Ayub got a free run for a long time and did nothing. It only confirmed what we already know - Babar and Rizwan, in spite of their limitations, is the best available pair for Pakistan right now. As simple as that.

One track mind fans will throw a tantrum, but their anger should be directed at Saim Ayub for not capitalizing on the opportunities. If he did, there would be no discussion of opening with Babar and Rizwan again.
Then why take saim in the squad? What will shoving him down to no 3 do?

So the opening is slow as molasses and if one wicket falls another one will fall straight after?

Just drop saim then, their no need to keep him around.

Yeah, Rizwan in the 9th over with Babar batting on 19 thought 'you know what Babar's only 81 runs off his century here lets let him hold the strike'.
You must have started watching cricket only after 2015 because this was a common occurrence in the 90s.

on batting-friendly pitches with small boundaries and against weaker bowlers like the Irish. its possible you're exaggerating the difficulty as if it were a match between top teams like Australia or India.

Just incase you your not awarw , many batsmen have scored centuries in as few as 33 or 34 balls under these conditions. When the pitch favors batting, the boundaries are small, and the bowling attack is weaker, like Ireland's, it's not impossible.

I have to agree with you that Saim has unfortunately failed despite many opportunities, and I've lost hope in him.

However, if Rizwan and Babar want to open, they need to increase their scoring rate. There's no point in batting until the 14th over only to end up with a losing total.

In hindsight, we should have opened with Rizwan and Usman. Usman was far better than the rest in the recent PSL including Saim, Babar, Rizwan and Fakhar. The man in actual form. Opening is an easier position than at 3, and it would have maximised his chances to succeed going aggressive. We also don’t have the issue of is he ready. If he’s not good enough he won’t perform.

Saim on the other hand just wasn’t ready yet. Now even if Usman gets chances, not enough time, not easy enough opposition to ease himself in. Too close to the World Cup.

Logic dictates you probably just stick with Saim now, that’s the guy we backed now and hope he comes good. And if he fails in World Cup give a long run to Usman. But the easy chances has gone for Saim, he failed in all of those. England t20 series won’t be easy nor the World Cup. He’ll have to do it in the tough situations now.

Babar Azam appears to have higher batting averages as an opener in T20Is, but should Babar still open the innings in the ICC T20I World Cup 2024?

Babar Azam's batting averages as an opener in T20Is:

Australia: 63.83
West Indies: 50.20
England: 48.08
New Zealand: 39.85
South Africa: 35.77
Zimbabwe: 36.00
Bangladesh: 27.85
Afghanistan: 25.50
India: 30.66
Sri Lanka 15.60

Babar Azam's batting averages in T20Is in the middle order in T20Is:

West Indies: 49.70
England: 49.33
New Zealand: 41.95
Zimbabwe: 38.66
South Africa: 37.81
Sri Lanka: 16.28

Babar Azam appears to have higher batting averages as an opener in T20Is, but should Babar still open the innings in the ICC T20I World Cup 2024?

Sri Lanka 15.60

When discussing t20's strike rate is important can you please add strike rates too thanks

100%

A lot of media outlets that share stats to promote players on social media do not mention strike rates alongside T20 averages for players like Babar and Rizwan

100%

A lot of media outlets that share stats to promote players on social media do not mention strike rates alongside T20 averages for players like Babar and Rizwan
Yes that's common with babar and rizwan stats
It's too shift attention to the bigger number

Its similar stats with so and so has made 3000 runs in t20 etc.. these sort of stats are for tests and odi to measure the player

T20 is more about being an impact there should be stats like how matches have babar won is team etc.. but nobody ever pulls that up

Sri Lanka 15.60

Obviously you'll have high averages when you okay c string and bat like a coward all the time. This is why stats are misleading. Lmao at people claiming babar is better then Travis head and finn Allen as a t20 opener

Babar and Rizwan are opening for Pakistan again today against England. How good will they fare? Any thoughts guys

Jodi no. 1 once again reunited. A fifty partnership in the power play on their comeback. Still not sure why we broke this

Tears of Joy seeing Rizwan being made to look like a clown again against proper teams

No. of runs scored by Rizbar vs rest of the team, an even clearer gulf.
Right.

If RizBar fail…Pakistan don’t score enough to win

If RizBar perform…Pakistan get the living daylights beaten out of them.

What was a par score batting first on this wicket?

Right.

If RizBar fail…Pakistan don’t score enough to win

If RizBar perform…Pakistan get the living daylights beaten out of them.

What was a par score batting first on this wicket?
I saw a 4 year old interview with misbah where an interviewer asked him why the team is losing do badly despite winning 29 and being no 1 ranked before he came in board.

Rather then answering he sarcastically said I don't know maybe it's because I'm asking right handers to play as left handers and left handers to play as right handers

Now that I think about it, maybe he wasn't being sarcastic, after all he's asking failed MO bats to play as openers 😂

The best available pair notwithstanding their limitations. The key word is “available”. They are not fighting with Buttler, Salt, Head, Warner, De Kock etc. for a place in the team.

Tears of one track mind fans who don’t know anything about cricket don’t matter. They can keep moaning.

The best available pair notwithstanding their limitations. The key word is “available”. They are not fighting with Buttler, Salt, Head, Warner, De Kock etc. for a place in the team.

Tears of one track mind fans who don’t know anything about cricket don’t matter. They can keep moaning.
Fully agreed.

Babar and Rizwan are proven performers. Remove them from the team and this lineup couldn't even cross 150.

As openers, their capacity to chase targets has never been a concern. In fact, it is a rare shift in Pakistan cricket where the team seems to perform better when chasing.

Whenever one of Babar or Rizwan bat deep, Pakistan win the game. Other batters, no doubt some possessing talent in their own right, lack the game awareness and technical understanding needed to progress the game.

Even in the game today, it is evident with the likes of Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and to some extent Shadab (recent form with the bat) that they do not even have an understanding of how to bat with one another.

This lack of understanding is seen evidently in the inability to rotate strike and keep the scoreboard ticking. These players need to step up in terms of match awareness.

There are enough runs to be made if wickets are kept in hand. Bowlers will make mistakes and opportunities will arise. However, mindless slogging and soft dismissals cannot be excused time and time again.

I strongly believe Pakistan are a middle order batter too short, one of the pacers should have been left behind for a batsman like Salman Agha/Saud Shakeel who are good players against spin and can hit the ball.

Babar and Rizwan now have 3,227 runs as a pair in T20s and are only behind Kohli and AB de Villiers, who scored 3,175 runs as a duo for the RCB.

Fully agreed.

Babar and Rizwan are proven performers. Remove them from the team and this lineup couldn't even cross 150.

As openers, their capacity to chase targets has never been a concern. In fact, it is a rare shift in Pakistan cricket where the team seems to perform better when chasing.

Whenever one of Babar or Rizwan bat deep, Pakistan win the game. Other batters, no doubt some possessing talent in their own right, lack the game awareness and technical understanding needed to progress the game.

Even in the game today, it is evident with the likes of Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and to some extent Shadab (recent form with the bat) that they do not even have an understanding of how to bat with one another.

This lack of understanding is seen evidently in the inability to rotate strike and keep the scoreboard ticking. These players need to step up in terms of match awareness.

There are enough runs to be made if wickets are kept in hand. Bowlers will make mistakes and opportunities will arise. However, mindless slogging and soft dismissals cannot be excused time and time again.

I strongly believe Pakistan are a middle order batter too short, one of the pacers should have been left behind for a batsman like Salman Agha/Saud Shakeel who are good players against spin and can hit the ball.
Rizwan batter deep in asia cup 2022, what happened their?

Fully agreed.

Shadab at 5 is criminal. He is not a better batsman than someone like Pat Cummins or Mitchell Starc, who would barely qualify as bowling all-rounders and who would never bat in the top 5 for Australia.

Pakistan have absolutely no chance with a middle-order compromising of players like Shadab, Iftikhar, Azam and Imad when then people will blame Babar and Rizwan.

Fakhar can make the middle-order look good on his day when he fires at 4, but when he doesn’t, it is probably a worse middle-order than most of the associate sides.

I saw a 4 year old interview with misbah where an interviewer asked him why the team is losing do badly despite winning 29 and being no 1 ranked before he came in board.

Rather then answering he sarcastically said I don't know maybe it's because I'm asking right handers to play as left handers and left handers to play as right handers

Now that I think about it, maybe he wasn't being sarcastic, after all he's asking failed MO bats to play as openers 😂
This guy is an official clown of PP.

They're moaning on Azam Khan today. lol :D

Shadab at 5 is criminal. He is not a better batsman than someone like Pat Cummins or Mitchell Starc, who would barely qualify as bowling all-rounders and who would never bat in the top 5 for Australia.

Pakistan have absolutely no chance with a middle-order compromising of players like Shadab, Iftikhar, Azam and Imad when then people will blame Babar and Rizwan.

Fakhar can make the middle-order look good on his day when he fires at 4, but when he doesn’t, it is probably a worse middle-order than most of the associate sides.
Hightime to call Abdullah Shafique and Haris already. We might face first round exit with this MO. Selecting only 1 extra batter or even batting alrounder other than XI is criminal. We want to bench Saim, Azam and Shadab to replace them with Abbas, Abrar and Usman. What balance sirjee!
This is the most stupidest squad selected by any team in recent times.

Hightime to call Abdullah Shafique and Haris already. We might face first round exit with this MO. Selecting only 1 extra batter or even batting alrounder other than XI is criminal. We want to bench Saim, Azam and Shadab to replace them with Abbas, Abrar and Usman. What balance sirjee!
And even more so that Azam and Amir have been selected without merit. Amir wasn't even in top 5 bowlers of PSL. People are talking about Shadab's selection but at least he performed in the PSL (which is the highest selection criteria these days)

You simply can't mock about Shadab's selection when your merit is Amir and Azam.

Shafique is too obsessed with having a cute technique for the cameras, always posing and checking his shots, but yes I would rather have him at 5 than a tailender like Shadab.

Haris is another idiot, would perish for nothing 9/10 times. Abdullah Shafique is the only available emergency option than can add some solidity to the middle-order.

Yes he won’t bat at a SR of 1 billion to satisfy cravings of one track mind fans, but Pakistan has completely run out of options.

In recent times? By any team? The sheer presence of Azam Khan in the squad propels this team to the most pathetic squad selection in all of international cricketing history across all formats across all time.

It is hard to believe we have self proclaimed experts on here who are prepared to defend not just the inclusion of Azam Khan, but why he is better than Babar and Rizwan.

Shafique is too obsessed with having a cute technique for the cameras, always posing and checking his shots, but yes I would rather have him at 5 than a tailender like Shadab.

Haris is another idiot, would perish for nothing 9/10 times. Abdullah Shafique is the only available emergency option than can add some solidity to the middle-order.

Yes he won’t bat at a SR of 1 billion to satisfy cravings of one track mind fans, but Pakistan has completely run out of options.
Haris or Azam. Who would you pick? At the crease, behind the wickets and as an outfielder? Of course. It is a no brainer.

And even more so that Azam and Amir have been selected without merit. Amir wasn't even in top 5 bowlers of PSL. People are talking about Shadab's selection but at least he performed in the PSL (which is the highest selection criteria these days)

You simply can't mock about Shadab's selection when your merit is Amir and Azam.
Amir was out-performed by at least 5 local pacers in PSL and most of them aren’t even on PCB’s radar. Even Hassan Ali bowled better than him.

He did nothing to merit selection. PCB is trying to recreate the past but it won’t happen because Amir was finished years ago.

He has tried to be a hero and a savior by making a grand comeback but he will only suffer humiliation and regret his decision.