3rd test thread - india v pakistan @ bangalore (day 1) [23/03/05]

YK needs to go on and make at least a 70 odd
Inzi we need something bigger from him...he has looked good so far, now is the time to make it count

Sohail tells us on tv that the pitch will assist the seamers as the match progresses ( low bounce ) so a good 1st innings score is important - cmon Pak!

Wrong Selection again hurting Pakistan. There is no way that you can leave Butt and Malik out specially in sub-continent.

inzamam needs to actually perform this time instead of just coming out to practise sessions and looking very sad in pics and looking like the giant collosus

ofcoarse, Inzi and Bob told Afridi and Hameed to get out. It is all there fault.

Ridiculous comment.

Hash why 70? If he gets in he better get big 100 on this track. 70s won't win us the match and we need a very big score first up.

octavian said:
Wrong Selection again hurting Pakistan. There is no way that you can leave Butt and Malik out specially in sub-continent.

Short series - difficult decisions - Butt failed in the first test so he lost his place.

Marooned- I was just saying 70 as a minimum ie.....I'll be satisfied if he gets that. Obviously I want him to go on and get more.

Why wasn't Salman Butt picked? |-S

Really disappointed to see Afridi out on the first ball, was looking forward to another innings from him. :o^

Anil on

a nylon

a neil on

a knee lone

a, kneel on

Can't believe the ball was already staying low in Kumble's first over. This is ridiculous. The ball is only 13 overs old and it is the first day of a test match.

40/2 at drinks

These two need to make sure they are still in at lunch. Ideally we need something like anothr 100 runs from them as a minimum.

Drinks now - so time to remind everyone that personal comments of any kind are not welcome at PP - keep it clean, civil and we can all enjoy this experience. Thanks

ofcoarse, Inzi and Bob told Afridi and Hameed to get out. It is all there fault.

Ridiculous comment.

Hash if u pick wrong players to get the job done for you, that's your OWN fault. And even worse, you keep repeating the mistake. 3 different opening players in this 3 test series???

Its not ridiculous, prolly too much for you to comprehend!

I wish Afridi didn't get that delivery first up. He injects so much life to any match

afridi is a joke..now im convinced he is not worthy of being in test team. he may be able to provide random outbursts of highscores..but in test cricket u need consistency. afridi has all the talent in the world, but he doesn't use it so pakistan cricket has no use for him

well Afridi was not the wrong player to pick...he was our top scorer in the last innings and picked up vital wickets throughout the 2nd test.

A lot of people on here were calling for the selection of Hameed.

These players are not babies. They are professionals. Hameed in particular is dissapointing because it seems he hasn't learnt a thing.......still fishing (ofcoarse that is Inzi nd Bobs fault isn't it, according to you). Afridi I wont blame....he went first ball, that happens. It could have been a good ball, I don't know. I didn't see it.

Marooned- I was just saying 70 as a minimum ie.....I'll be satisfied if he gets that. Obviously I want him to go on and get more.

Ok. But no minimums. Enough is enough. They better get 500 no less! 2 wiesey he mo utha kay aa jatay hain hur baar

And for that these two better get 150 plus each!

Actually watching the dismissals for the first time, both seem like action replays of old matches.

tahaiqureshi said:
afridi is a joke..now im convinced he is not worthy of being in test team. he may be able to provide random outbursts of highscores..but in test cricket u need consistency. afridi has all the talent in the world, but he doesn't use it so pakistan cricket has no use for him
It's too easy to snipe at a player just after they get out for a low score. Hameed was completely beaten twice in his first 2 deliveries and Afridi had the rotton luck to edge his first.

The fact is Afridi top scored in the last innings, took the wickets of Sehwag and Tendulkar (India's 2 most dangerous batsmen) and fielded brilliantly.

Regardless, the man has rare talent and that's why he's being selected and i think will continue to remain in the team at least in the short term.

As i said before the series, i'd definitely keep him in the team but i wouldn't open with him.

Afridi is a good gamble based on how he took on the Indian bowling in Kolkatta, 2nd innings. The coach can only go by these pointers - the promise of a great career etc in an India Pak series is far from everyones mind - the idea is to win - nothing else matters.

15.3 Kumble to Younis Khan, two runs, tossed up on the pads, turned away
behind square on the leg side, Younis runs hard and forces Inzi to
come back for the second

:oD :oD :oD :oD :oD :oD

inzy better be on full concentration here against Kumble..not thinking of Dahi Bhallay and roast chicken...

is he allowed to think about gulab jaman though?

we need to keep doing this makes 1ns in 2s just put abit of extra preassure on the indian fielders

at the moment looks like we are just getting a '2' every over

these two seem like they are having a nice partnership. Wish I could see it.....didn't get SONY. Will be popping over to my friends for the last session today.

I'd like to apologise in advance if anyone is offended by my 'tind' comment

well i think inzi should be atleast allowed to think about gulab jaman, because if he does, then certain hormones will be rushing through out his body which will activate glands in his entire body. this may stimulate the hormone called adrenaline..which will benefit his batting, giving hope to an inzi ton :oD

Not the tind but "Fingers crossed" by Marooned really hurts. I do not think it belongs here.

There are dry spot on both ends that should assistance to off-spinners. Rameez said that they seemed to be tailor-made for an off-spinner :)

for some reason, im not convinced that chuckanator is as a good a bowler as kumble..i don't know y he is hyped up so much

well his cheating makes him better than he actually is.

In a ladies cricket match a player got out off a very defencive stroke after a long and scoring innings. After the match in the interview the question was:
What happened when you got out?
She said "At once I thought of my baby child and I could not play hard hitting shot to that ball."
"Oh!" the interviewer said, "I thought you were thinking about your husband."
At that the player said: "I would have hit a six had I thought of my husband." foaming at the mouth.

Point is that Inzi had to think of something that makes him hit six. May it be gulabjaman.

tahaiqureshi said:
for some reason, im not convinced that chuckanator is as a good a bowler as kumble..i don't know y he is hyped up so much

:-^ dont say that he might just get a wicket

don't believe in that sort of stuff personally w4s1m.

I doubt he or Inzi are reading here at the moment!

we are not playing them though are we ;-)

I agree if it was me and you batting, and I said to you at the end of the over 'chucky is rubbish yaar, we can break him easily' then you say to me 'don't underestimate him, stay calm. we cannot afford to lose a wicket now'

But I am sitting on my computer in London nowhere near the action!

If you want Inzy's adrenlain to flow, tell him there is no food left!!.. Go Inzy

or tell him that Youhana is about to eat his packed lunch (consisting of 24 kebabs, 11 parathas, 5 gulab jamans and a bowl full of biriyani). He will hit the ball into the changing room.

seems like they are taking some quick singles now.

That is good but they need to be careful. We really cannot lose another one before lunch.

true mecnunk...if there is no food for inzi left..he will think viru's behind is some juicy tikka...especially since viru's put on some women like hips :oD

or tell him that Youhana is about to eat his packed lunch (consisting of 24 kebabs, 11 parathas, 5 gulab jamans and a bowl full of biriyani). He will hit the ball into the changing room.

Tell him Ganguli Didi will get to eat this all if we do not win!

baskh doon bhaiyoo Inzi ko . this is international cricket . u have to take ur chances. enough is enough. yasir, taufiq, farhat etc (salman hasnt got that many chances ) have to stand up and make it count. it is really easy track to bat on and Yasir shd have taken advantage of it.

Tahir, with Afrifi u atleast have the chance to get some runs. if we wud have played salman or taufiq things wont have changed. atleast Afridi can bowl and field well . and he will make some runs INSHALLAH in 2nd innings

he is playing a gem MASHALLAH, just have to convert it into a big one. i really hope he does.

Thanks for that Taha..Now I have an Image of Inzy sitting by and slowly turning a skewered sehwag over the fire...with an apple in his mouth!!

maybe a couple of overs left until lunch. These two have done well. Hang in there boys/uncles!

I prefer if they played their natural game and smacked teh Indians around a bit..nothing like a few boundries to make the bowlers lose their L&L.