Australia defeat India by 5 wickets in 1st ODI (Perth)

George Bailey during an interview soon after his innings. 'Would've been interesting to see on DRS, but we're not the team that doesn't want it'

ouch :))

George Bailey during an interview soon after his innings. 'Would've been interesting to see on DRS, but we're not the team that doesn't want it'

Hope this statement goes a long way....

Heard Kholi went too slow on this track.
India unerestinated the wicket and Aus.
Ashwin was completely flat. Without his doosra or a turning wicket he's pretty dull.

Oz are very very tough to beat In Odis at home they have won 27 of the last 29 Odis at home and lost just 2..

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

310 was defendable but you need good fast bowlers.

Certainly Playing 2 spinners was a bizzare decision at Perth.

I thought all 3 Indian pacers were exceptional today. We were heavily let down by Ashwin..

No seam, no spin, no reverse swing, consistent bounce. Yet again no contest between bat and ball.

I miss the old WACA that had batsmen hopping around.

330-350 would have got the game really interesting.

We didn't accelerate in the first part of the 10 slog overs I heard.

Wow, give us 300+ scores and we would be defending them easily. What a pathetic bunch is this Indian bowling? There should not be an excuse of playing slow, you should be defending 300+ scores overseas as they do not come too often

No team can defend 300 against this Aus side in Australia. They are a par above everyone else.

You should cross 150 first :)

It is tough but come on, you did not even give them a game, this was a stroll

I know, but these are lifeless tracks with no bounce, spin or swing on offer. Australia know it and quite rightly didn't even pick a specialist spinner. Even the Australian bowlers struggled here, Hazelwood bowled decent but wasn't great either. Australia regularly score at 5 on these tracks in frigging test matches and you can imagine how they'll bat in the ODIs. They have the best batting for these conditions, bat way down till 8 and all are solid hitters. They very well know that they can score whatever the opposition manages to score against their bowlers.

The only way to beat Australia in Australia is by out batting them in the 2nd innings. And the Aus bowlers are good at stifling the opposition batsmen during the chase too. The only scenario I see India winning a match this series is if they chase a 300 target and even that is not for granted.

#respect Indian bowlers! Sir Jadeja, Sir Buvi, Sir Yadav, Sir Ashwin!

It's more Dhoni's doing than the bowlers. Aussies only bowled 3 overs of spin with Maxwell. Dhoni's outdated 2 spinner formula was tactically bad and what was worse was letting Rohit bowl. That's 19 overs on a belter.

Alchemy, 11 Shady brothers and now Relapse.

3rd ID hai...abhi toh trolling stop kardo bhai :misbah

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Ah, futile attempt at personal attack. This is the only ID i have. For someone who signed up in July 2015. You know quite old posters. I suspect its time for some mirror watching, my friend.

I'm glad that they atleast picked up a couple of wickets at the end. We were definitely 30 runs short on this wicket and it showed. Great knocks by Smith and Bailey though.

Told you before i went to sleep brother. I dont know how you guys cope with watching India in australia. Genuine curiosity.

I miss Hayden Gilchrist Ponting Martyn Waugh..... Symonds...

What an order.. What class...

This OdI team isn't too weak compared to old one.. Very deep batting when 8 out of 11 players can genuinely play shots

Bowling on both sides looked pretty toothless, and if the 1st game of the series is anything to go by this wil be a high scoring shoot out between two sets of batsmen for rest of the series. I womder how rohit sharma feels after such a good knock and his team has lost.

Well, he better ask :sachin about it. He'd give him an advice or two about how to deal with it

In their last 2 ODI games - Indian bowlers have conceded...
748 runs for 9 wkts @ 83.11 runs/wkt
in 99.2 overs @ 7.53 runs/overs

Rohit Sharma and Tillakaratne Dilshan are the two batsmen who have scored 150 or more twice in a losing cause in ODIs.

Meanwhile Pak being out of tune with ODI evolution: the last time a batsman scored 150+ against a top-8 nation - Saeed Anwar.

9 times James Faulkner have been on crease with Australia winning the match (ODIs). On 8 occasions he hit the winning run.

Bailey when asked abt doing homework on Indian spinners: "Not sure we do our homework when it comes to playing India."

High batg ave in all formats v India
min 10 inns
106.78 E Weekes
94.76 Steve Smith
83.47 G Sobers
75.27 K Barrington
73.50 Z Abbas

Not sure why he always makes such moves and releases all the pressure. There was absolutely no need of bringing Rohit at that time.

Generally batsmen will slow down after the loss of two early wickets. Dhoni thought he could force the batsmen to play big shots by bringing in enticing Rohit so he can save the main bowlers for the time when India really needs them.

Most ODIs lost by a team after posting 300+ since year 2000:
9 INDIA & Eng,
7 Aus & WI,
5 NZ,
4 SL & SA,
2 Pak & Ire

Most ODIs lost by a team after posting 300+ since year 2000:
9 INDIA & Eng,
7 Aus & WI,
5 NZ,
4 SL & SA,
2 Pak & Ire

How many times have Pak and IRE posted above 300?And not sure why Eng is there they have pretty decent bowling.

Good chase by Aussies, but IND should have bowled first. It's always easy to criticize bowlers looking at the size of the total they were defending, but, as I always say - cricket is a game very close to golf in terms of relative scoring. Siddiqur hit 29 under per to win Bangladesh open, same year Mcilroy won US Master for 2 under per - now, there could be only 2 truth - either Siddiqur is a better golfer than Mcilroy, or that Augusta National Golf course is a bit tougher to score than the Savar Golf course.

Coming to the match, I was certain that Aussies 'll chase the target & Indian media (including here in PP), 'll try to sell the idea which had been sold like old wine for last 35 years that I am aware - modern Bradmans & Hammonds & Huttons & Hobbs are re-born in India, only for their ******* bowlers, they are not the AUS of 90s or WI of 80s or the invincibles of 2000s. Bull Sh*t yaar - sitting at 13 hours time difference, I heard the pitch report, watched the wicket, ground size & knew from 1st ball that in a Day match at WACA, it's a bowl first wicket. A side boasting of so much of batting myths, should test their batting ego, which is try to chase a target against a very inexperienced Aussie attack & give their seemers to use the early morning condition. You don't need to be a genius to know that bowlers bowling in late 120s, early 130s have absolutely no chance on that hard court, once the sun had burnt it's skin. Today, I am sure, every team would have opted to chase, probably even Pakistan. MSD gave his top order an opportunity to roost on a belter, without any pressure. In a Day-nighter, had IND posted 309, Fremental doctor would have helped the bowlers to win the match under lights, PROBABLY, & we would have filled another 13 pages to discuss - Rohit Sharma resembles Rohan Kanhai............ Umesh Yadav resembles Sahadat Hossain............

I actually think, AUS struggled in their chase for Indian bowling - a rookie shocked them with 2 early wickets, otherwise Aussies would have chased this total inside 45 overs with 7 or 8 wickets at hand, because Ash had a hiding today, which is quite predicted - one can check Warne's or Murali's stats at WACA. Barring Pakistan, I would have put my money on any other 7 sides to chase 309 at this wicket against IND, which IND posted with the loss of only 3 wickets. A bit of urgency, IND could have posted an above per score of 330/9, still probably would have lost, but that would have definitely hurt some Indian average..... & the bowler bashing would have been justified.

Good night Asia.

A bit reminiscent of the Jaipur ODI in 2013 when the Aussies settled for 350 odd instead of going hell for leather for 380+ and India chased it 1 wicket down.

Quite ordinary situation assessment by Rohit-Kohli in the middle overs. Nevertheless, a 300+ score in the first match of the series is a positive..the batting as usual needs to step up a notch above to make up for our bowling deficiencies.

Next match will be in Brisbane. Expecting a tough day for batsmen.. this is way too simple

You cannot win a batting shoot-out against Australia. Neither Warner, nor Finch scored today but they still managed to win.

India gave a good fight though, I expect them to win a couple of games in this series.

I'm surprised so many people misunderstood that Bailey quote, it's obviously a dig at their own #HomeworkGate in their last test series in India.