Australia v Pakistan | 2nd Test - Day 3 | SCG | 5/01/10

and the rubbish continues for him

His finger is still not feel right I think

Kaneria must hate Akmal's guts - he has costed him so many wickets.

:danish is serving some tasty pie's to the aussie batsman at the moment :(.

Feel for Kaneria here. It would have been a totally different game had that catch been taken.

Kami really should have taken that. We need to hold onto our catches to win this match.

It wasn't a difficult chance.

Kaneria is bowling some crap.

This is frustrating, he's bowling some seriously good deliveries and then following them up with some right dross

oh well lead almost gone, they still have 7 wickets in hand, batting all the way down to MJ I believe

The game may have slipped away while Yousuf kept Danish on

Should have applied the pressure when both were new at the crease.

ab akmal ne pakar lia..abye yaar itna ghuss arha hia...catch chor dia aur ab kuch nahi tha tu ppakar lia!!! wth man..i am very angry on such a pss poor fielding of ours. this can cost us the match. Australia virtually now 0/3

It seems like he wants to do too much, trying to take a wicket every ball. He just needs to settle and stick to the basics, he'd have better luck with that...

This is the crucial moment of the match. 130+ score here by the Aussies will be really difficult to chase.

Can't win it from here, we have to hope for a draw.

There is no way we can chase a score over 200, they are looking set for a lead much bigger than that.

It's going to be game set and match if Australia do not lose a wicket before having a lead of 50. Simple as.

**** danish, stop bowling those pies and throwing in a good delivery.

Kaneria's finger is still not healed enough for him to be bowling well

I can't see any other reason why hes bowling such rubbish after bowling so well against the Kiwis

Chuffed said:

There is no way we can chase a score over 200, they are looking set for a lead much bigger than that.

Are you kidding...there are 2 full days after this. There shall be a result in this game. Draw is out of the question unless there is a washout.

Chuffed said:

Dude, we only have 7 wickets lol.

Paradox said:
It's going to be game set and match if Australia do not lose a wicket before having a lead of 50. Simple as.

We lost our chances of a win yesterday with our reckless batting.

TEA

Australia 3/199, trail by 7

Effective score 3/ -7

gollumbird said:
Are you kidding...there are 2 full days after this. There shall be a result in this game. Draw is out of the question unless there is a washout.

Forecast suggests some chance of rain. Let's hope it's right.

Smart Yousuf!
Very smart captaincy!
A bowler going at over 6 an over for the past 15 overs and yet you continue to bowl him.
Wah, brilliant stuff.

The only hope now is for the ball to reverse some after Tea. New ball is still a long way away.

Chuffed said:

Hopefully just before you guys bat this time :P

GLORY OF '92 said:
Pitch will be flat till the end of tommorrow so don't lose heart guys.
we lose heart when players like Akmal drop catches and then don't do anything with the bat, there you go. :)

cricfan967 said:
Smart Yousuf!
Very smart captaincy!
A bowler going at over 6 an over for the past 15 overs and yet you continue to bowl him.
Wah, brilliant stuff.
Mera Math kabhi bhi acha nahi tha :moyo

Chuffed said:

NOOOO Damnit!!!...I want this game to finish without interruptions...if we can't win this, forget about winning anything else. Simple as that.

Some people on this forum are SO annoying.

Akmal can't bat?

Our tail starts at the openers? I'm sure a 109 opening stand is no biggie at all to you.

Shut up and watch the game! It's still 70-30 Pakistan.

iZeeshan said:

Akmal can't bat?

Our tail starts at the openers? I'm sure a 109 opening stand is no biggie at all to you.

Exactly!

This Jane McGrath Day they've come up with for the Sydney Test on Day 3 is a really good initiative.

iZeeshan said:

Akmal can't bat?

You must have failed your maths terribly.

OZGOD said:
This Jane McGrath Day they've come up with for the Sydney Test on Day 3 is a really good initiative.

Why didn't they declare Sunday the Jane McGrath day? More people might have turned up.

Australia trailing by 7 runs with 3 wickets down. Pakistan are still well on top

gollumbird said:
Why didn't they declare Sunday the Jane McGrath day? More people might have turned up.

Just decided to make it Day 3 for some reason.

Kids on here making it look like aus are 1 run from victory, cool it we are still in front as the pitch is almost perfect for batting now and will be tommorrow also. North is out of nick and haddin unreliable so 1 wkt and we could be chasing just a 100.

it was a good session for us though, we gave away 113 runs but got 3 wickets. Something i would have taken given Australia was 86/0 at the start of the session.

So dont lose hope guys, another 3 wickets with 75 runs, we will be right on top.

tdigi said:
Just tuned in again....and what do I see! :))

Can you make a funny gif of Watson with that crybaby face everytime he gets out?

Anyways after a fantastic opening stand our batsmen fail to capitalize on it yet again.

Chuffed said:
:)) Sounds like a guy who left school a tad early........

So Australia are still 7 runs behind and with 7 wickets in hand and Top 3 Batter's back in hut and you still think its not 70-30 to Pakistan. I wonder who left school tad early

OZGOD said:
First time on the commentary wagon this series!! Woohoo! Can't stay long though, breakfast calls...
Is it not night time where you live?...."baked beans" eh?

Chuffed said:

You are a genius.....

Btw I agree that kaneria can only be bowling like this due to this injury as he normally get 4 per over balls in the right place, today it's 1 per over.

Remember 2-3 quick wkts and it's nearly game over....

Amir said:
Can you make a funny gif of Watson with that crybaby face everytime he gets out?

Anyways after a fantastic opening stand our batsmen fail to capitalize on it yet again.

Yes tdigi please:P i would love to have that as a avatar :))

Lightning said:
Haha at people panicking on here.

I'll be very surprised if Aus don't lose 2-4 wickets in next session. I'm sure they'll come out with the pitch reassessed and different plans.
3 wickets in the session. Pak will look for 3 more in this session. If they get that, they'll be firmly in control. Crucial session coming up.

tdigi said:
Is it not night time where you live?...."baked beans" eh?

I'm travelling in Asia at the moment. Back in Boston end of this week.

iZeeshan said:

Akmal can't bat?

It's definitely not 70-30, Pak is only ahead slightly.

PP'ers shouldn't compare it to 1st innings where it was 30/3, that was a beauty of a pitch/conditions. And we took wickets consistently. It is 3x tougher to take wickets right now.

Lightning said:
Nice defeatist attitude man. Keep it up.

It's not defeatist. I'm being completely realistic. This wicket has something for bowlers too, just needs to be extracted with some graft.

Ponting's wicket was that extra bit of effort which caused the bounce and movement. Our bowlers could have performed much better, only we needed to put some extra back into it. As it stands they didn't and we are close to chasing a relatively mammoth target.