Day 5: 1st Test, Pak vs Eng - Update thread [17/7/06]

Poor old Monty will have to wait until the second session to have a whirl now as Simon Taufel calls time. Oh well. (Cricinfo commentator)
:91::91::91: @poor Old Monty is he that old?

And what was the harm in sending Afridi to open ?

He would have, at the worst, got us a quick 30-40 and set the ball rolling for others to work upon. We have now gifted this game (or atleast given them a whiff)

When Afridi does come in at 8/9, he wont stay around too long ...

He would have, at the worst, got us a quick 30-40 and set the ball rolling for others to work upon. We have now gifted this game (or atleast given them a whiff)

Like I said, England only need to take 9 wickets...as Afridi's wicket will be gifted as usual.

Bob said yesterday that their plan yesterday was to bat safely until tea and then after tea with wickets in hand they would see. Thats the the only reason I can see why Afridi is being hidden down the order.

games not over yet miggy bhai..we always knew the openers would fold...but we still have some batting to come and inshallah will save this game...

Guys ,I am so tired of Botham and Holding putting pakistan down,saying things like "Pakistan doesn't have a chance in He**" to win this match .Just for that I would love to see pakistan treat this game as a one dayer and put england ,botha and holding to shame.
I know we are 2 - 43 ,but still got a long batting line to come .Inshallah we will do it and win.

Nauman said:
Maybe its time to test some new ones like Shahid Yousaf.

Tis a good idea, but if yu think about it theres a reason Butt and Farhat are opening right now. It was because of the original complaining of consistent complaining by fans to stop swtiching openers.

I would certainly like to see people lke Shahid Yousuf and Hasan Raza in the side, but along with that take more setting and time.

the Great Khan said:
games not over yet miggy bhai..we always knew the openers would fold...but we still have some batting to come and inshallah will save this game...

Sorry didnt mean to imply that we have lost - we havent, and I know we wont, InshALLAH.

Its all about momentum - even to play safe requires momentum and Afridi could have done that for us.

darkmoon459 said:
Guys ,I am so tired of Botham and Holding putting pakistan down,saying things like "Pakistan doesn't have a chance in He**" to win this match .Just for that I would love to see pakistan treat this game as a one dayer and put england ,botha and holding to shame.
I know we are 2 - 43 ,but still got a long batting line to come .Inshallah we will do it and win.
I disagree brother, they are absolutely right. Pakistan can only lose this game...and at best draw if they play out of their skins...insha allah.

darkmoon459 said:

Holding will say that to please English audiences - thats OK.

darkmoon459 said:

yes they are right we don't have chance

darkmoon459 said:

We bat all the way down to 9, we have Yousuf and Faisal batting and still have Inzi, Razzaq, Afridi, Akmal and Sami to come. All are capable of sticking around and even playing their shots.

Winning is totally out of equation, scoring over 300 runs in 2 sessions is practically impossible.

The whole time I have been hearing them say that Pakistan obviously doesn't have a chance to win, whilst they continue to say that "we" still have one as Pak batting line up will collapse. However, I also want Pakistan to win to make this game more interesting. Its most likley heading for a draw, and thats boring.

Solid session from England but we cant get too behind schedule in terms of wickets in the next couple of hours, or Pakistan will feel they have a sniff at saving the game, and that cannot be allowed to happen.

I hope Monty bowls a lot from now on because the pitch was doing some tricks for the spinners yesterday, and slow bowlers also speed up the amount of overs a team bowls an hour, which means its more likely we can have the chance to bowl the full quote of overs in our bid to win tday.

As ever, Inzy and Yousef are the key wickets.

Bootha and Holding are sadly right as history tells us we have no chance, and the odds are against us. We can save this game Inshallah, but will we save it is another thing. Time will tell. If we do lose the game no though I think it will probably be down to us not scoring an extra 50 runs in the fourth morning's play.

We bat all the way down to 9, we have Yousuf and Faisal batting and still have Inzi, Razzaq, Afridi, Akmal and Sami to come. All are capable of sticking around and even playing their shots.

340 runs in 2 sessions of test cricket on a 5th day pitch, I dont think any team in the world could do that.

OH how lil faith we have ?????????? anyways i will see you all at the end of the day ,and congratulate you all on Pakistan's amexing victory,Inshallah.

Whippy squash said:
340 runs in 2 sessions of test cricket on a 5th day pitch, I dont think any team in the world could do that.
Yeah, it would be madness to chase especially since we're 2 down

Whippy squash said:

agree with u

darkmoon459 said:

Not only that, Holding also said if Pakistan somehow manage to win this game it would be because England havent been at their best and if England had won series since the ashes then they might have even declared way early!

darkmoon459 said:
OH how lil faith we have ?????????? anyways i will see you all at the end of the day ,and congratulate you all on Pakistan's amexing victory,Inshallah.

wake up

darkmoon459 said:
erm....yes....are you feeling ok?

If Pakistan do treat this even half like an ODI, then they have a chance to win. But of course, they should just play for the draw. But if Inzi and Yousuf can take us to tea (because I think Faisal will be out momentaily) with around 175-190 on the board, then Pakistan should go for it.

We certainly need younis khan back at number 3 position, what are his chances of making a comeback for next test ?. One of the openers will have to be dropped, i believe farhat is the one who needs go out. His terrible catching cost us heavily in wickets not taken, we could have shot out england for perhaps 300 in first innings. Plus farhat's irresponsible and immature batting cost us runs we could have made more. overall he has been a liability in this test, must be shown the door next match, that's my verdict. Taufeeq will have to be given a chance next match to partner butt.

Pakistan should give yasir hammed a chance again ?, he might have improved. Remember when he was recalled for bangalore test 2005, he did well in that match. Got one or two fifties.

Xzianghow© said:
If Pakistan do treat this even half like an ODI, then they have a chance to win. But of course, they should just play for the draw. But if Inzi and Yousuf can take us to tea (because I think Faisal will be out momentaily) with around 175-190 on the board, then Pakistan should go for it.
With all due respect bro, we can't treat it like a ODI. There is no way we can go for a win...we need to try and hang on for a draw Insha Allah. We are looking down the barrel at this moment in time.

You know what I don't understand is that why are people so worried about us NOT being able to save this game to a draw. I think saving it will be quite easy, winning though will be quite a difficult challenge.

We'll have to be wary of Flintoff's return. They don't expect too much, he is a world class player and their team relies quite heavily on him. He can bowl and bat really well, and England do need him. Cook had a lucky inngs, and Bell can't be expected to do too much in the near future. Also, Flintoff adds pizzazz to their bowling lineup.

If we draw this game then it will be like a victory -

Get rid of Farhat - a complete liability - arrogant and cocky

As for Holding - he really has got it in for pakistan - i dont know why but the bias is there for all to see

he never sees positives for us its always the fact the opposition is playing poorly and making us look good.

Xzianghow© said:
You know what I don't understand is that why are people so worried about us NOT being able to save this game to a draw. I think saving it will be quite easy, winning though will be quite a difficult challenge.
It's the pressure thats probably why. we can save it but whether we will time will tell.

shan said:
the next test is after 10 days can Asif come back?

No he is in Pakistan with quite an unexpected visit. He is questionable for Test 4, along with Malik.

Well that's great news if younis khan comes back in next match. That will strenthen our middle order even further with younis, yousuf, inzamam, kamran, afridi and razzak. We need to make another change in bowling too, drop useless sami and bring in niazi. Definitely NO RAO PLEASE !

Can some please just alert this thread when players start coming back out on the field? I don't know why you're all ganging up on Farhat. Farhat dropped a lot of cathces, but also took 2 good ones. Please guys give him a break, he might have been having some other problem. I am not saying those catche were easy or anything, but he has normlly been petty safe. He has also scored 4x a many runs as Salman Butt. If you ask me, sack Butt.

20875ud.jpg

shan said:
Moyo playing to fast at the moment

Not really, he is defending better balls and putting away ones that he can.

Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, FOUR, too wide, too short and cut powerfully for four. Dreadful bowling.

Monty turns his first delivery a lot and confuses Faisal, hopefully a sign of things to come!!

Turn and bounce straight away, what a start from Monty!!

Bounce and turn, hopefully Strauss doesnt get Flintoff disease and underbowl him just because it isnt his debut series anymore.

Short and Faisal plays a drive off the backfoot for 2 through cover

Straight away bounce and turn for Monty, would be an interesting battle if he keeps his radar right.

We have a good chance to draw this..only two sessions to survive. Yo and Inzy are still there as is razzack who can bat for days on end plus akmal. Let's not lose hope just yet even though I would like to kick our openers I think Butt was unlucky and Farhat is plain Farhat..same as always flashing outside off-stump.

Both players at the crease are good players of spin

ShowStopper said:
Yaar no offence but don't call him moyo I don't like it. Yousaf is a beautiful name.

true especialy as Mohammed is the first name

inline leg before shout, only height saved Yousaf... followed by another one, down leg side by aggressive bowling by Harmison.

I really want Faisal Iqbal to get out, the way he plays just makes ME twitch.