Day 5: 1st Test, Pak vs Eng - Update thread [17/7/06]

Easatheman said:
Very fast pitch, doesn't sound good.

We are missing our 95 MPH+ bowler

We have a 95+mph bowler in the squad. For some reason though he hasn't bowled anywhere near that pace!

Easatheman said:
Very fast pitch, doesn't sound good.

We are missing our 95 MPH+ bowler
that would be the one at headingly :11:

and no, i hear from me sources shoaib will be playing that one, inshAllah !

If only catches were taken, decisions had gone in our favour and our top order fired in first and second innings the complexion of the match would have be entirely different. Whippy squash would have been sweating like hell for england's survival. Instead it's pakistan who have to survive out there.

Razzak attack don't be mazzak ! PLease begin attacking !!!!!

We have a 95+mph bowler in the squad. For some reason though he hasn't bowled anywhere near that pace!

His quickest has been 90.8, average around 86 MPH.

cavin420 said:
i thought , it was out, plumb in front.

razi survives......dont know how

Big stride, never going to be given out

Begging for bat/pad. Bat was nowhere near the ball.

Razzaq is playing a dangerous game - use your bat Abdul !

Dont know if anyone is following scores on cricbzz but the chat window is hilarious - its a no hold barred cursing contest between Pak and Ind supporters !

Bilsher007 said:
If only catches were taken, decisions had gone in our favour and our top order fired in first and second innings the complexion of the match would have be entirely different. Whippy squash would have been sweating like hell for england's survival. Instead it's pakistan who have to survive out there.

Razzak attack don't be mazzak ! PLease begin attacking !!!!!
we hear ya bhai, but dont have to keep repeating every after 2 minutes :91: im sure whippy hasn't missed a word you posted ;)

liam to replace harmi.

Dont know if anyone is following scores on cricbzz but the chat window is hilarious - its a no hold barred cursing contest between Pak and Ind supporters !

That has been ongoing for quite some time!!

Noticed that

Razzaq is either super slo mo or lightning quick - no in between !

cavin420 said:
we hear ya bhai, but dont have to keep repeating every after 2 minutes :91: im sure whippy hasn't missed a word you posted ;)

liam to replace harmi.

Hahaha To win we have to score nearly 9 an over. Come on guys you can.................................................................................................Draw it.:D

inzi needs to score at least 80 * if im to get any where close in the top 10 (fantasy league :D

and razi need's to up it up as well...

Plunkett to Inzamam-ul-Haq, no run, angles into Inzamam’s pads before jagging away at the last minute, and he gets an inside edge onto his pads, almost cutting him in two

There's only 24 overs left, pakistan needs to play some attacking cricket out there. No point in ending the test in draw in a ultra defensive mode, pakistan needs to play some daring cricket to leave a good impression at lords. This will be vital to carry phycological advantage over the english whilst denting some of their top bowler's confidence ( harmison and hoggard ).

i honesly think, england were a tad late declaring, they should have declared yesterday.......at the close of play or even perhap's 15 minutes before.

cavin420 said:
i honesly think, england were a tad late declaring, they should have declared yesterday.......at the close of play or even perhap's 15 minutes before.

Exactly.

Pakistan is totally defensive, even the short and wide delveries arent being taken care of. The delivery before was clearly there for a sweep

The more Runs inzi scores here, the better it will be for him in the TEst batting rankingsSSSSSSSSsssSSS!!!!

166 for 4.

cavin420 said:
would've given Parkistarn a sniff then. Strauss isn't a Steve Waugh or Ricky Ponting who knows that his bowlers will back him up if he sets a teasing declaration.

cavin420 said:
The more Runs inzi scores here, the better it will be for him in the TEst batting rankingsSSSSSSSSsssSSS!!!!

166 for 4.

I am sure he will move up but a fifty here may take him to No. 2

Current Top ten:

1 R. Ponting AUS 931
2 R. Dravid IND 882
3 J. Kallis SA 832
4 Inzamam-ul-Haq PAK 831
5 M. Hayden AUS 808
6 Younis Khan PAK 796
7 Mohammad Yousuf PAK 780
7 M. Hussey AUS 780
9 K. Pietersen ENG 746
10 B. Lara WI 732

Rob H said:
would've given Parkistarn a sniff then. Strauss isn't a Steve Waugh or Ricky Ponting who knows that his bowlers will back him up if he sets a teasing declaration.
actually it's not all strauss , i reckon Fletch has plays a key role in them decision's as well.

5th day , monty in your rank's...pitch is kinda keeping low....i would have done it.

but it would have been a bold move, and not every one is INZI :11: (india 2005 , last test ;)

Current partnership 25 runs, 14.3 overs, rr: 1.72 (Inzamam-ul-Haq 16, Abdul Razzaq 6) :O

Now that is ultra defensive. I know pakistan is playing for a draw but atleast play some attacking cricket to leave a good impression here at lords and score some phycological points over the english pommies.

Rob H said:

And Strauss wont want to be the captain that declared twice and lost.

Hopefully Strauss doesnt try and overuse the bowlers now. He knows it's a draw and there is no point in risking a Flintoff style injury.

This is bad for my fantasy team! Where's Afridi??!! Lts see some fireworks. Come on Plunkett, come on Harmison get Razzaq outa here

Bilsher007 said:
Current partnership 25 runs, 14.3 overs, rr: 1.72 (Inzamam-ul-Haq 16, Abdul Razzaq 6) :O

atleast play some attacking cricket to leave a good impression here at lords and score some phycological points over the english pommies.

You said that earlier already

Plunkett to Inzamam-ul-Haq, 1 run, squares him up and Inzamam plays this quite superbly, watching the ball right onto the bat. He really is a fabulous batsman

Come on Cuptan Jee only 20 odd overs.

Ramiz - "England need to strike now"

this is why i hate Ramiz. He stats the bloody obvious too often.

Yousaf has 250 for the match and there 3 more tests to go Can he go on to break the Bradman's record? Wait and see:D

Rob H said:

:91: :91:

well i wont mind , if razi get's out now to be honest....

Rob H said:

Completely agree

Worked away for a single, Razzi the smasher on strike for the next over

Razzaq could easily get an edge if there is a bit of movement. He just hangs his bat infront of him with hard hands. A little bit of movement and he's could easily get an edge.

1 R. Ponting AUS 931 937 v South Africa, 24/03/2006
2 R. Dravid IND 882 892 v Pakistan, 16/03/2005
3 J. Kallis SA 832 896 v England, 06/01/2005
4 Inzamam-ul-Haq PAK 831 870 v England, 29/11/2005 :D
5 M. Hayden AUS 808 935 v England, 07/11/2002
6 Younis Khan PAK 796 823 v India, 21/01/2006 :D
7 Mohammad Yousuf PAK 780 798 v India, 21/01/2006 :D
7 M. Hussey AUS 780 780 v Bangladesh, 16/04/2006
9 K. Pietersen ENG 746 766 v Sri Lanka, 28/05/2006
10 B. Lara WI 732 911 v South Africa, 02/01/2004

MASHALLAH great to see three middle order pakistani batsmen in the top ten batsmen of the world ! We need younis khan back for next test ! :19:

Worth giving Pietersen another try. Razzaq was all over the place to Monty in that last over.