England v Pakistan, 4th test, Day 2 updates

this should be a lesson for all those guys who come out with stupid statements and nicknames such as 'yousless khan', 'lassi maker malik' etc and those in the past who have written off hafeez for life....those calling for bob's head and inzy's head...listen to me carefully...nothing is set in stone..but when you make statements like these you leave yourself open to have wrotten egg on your face..right now you the stench is all consuming...grow up and stop hating our players, coach..

IMMY69 said:
this should be a lesson for all those guys who come out with stupid statements and nicknames such as 'yousless khan', 'lassi maker malik' etc and those in the past who have written off hafeez for life....those calling for bob's head and inzy's head...listen to me carefully...nothing is set in stone..but when you make statements like these you leave yourself open to have wrotten egg on your face..right now you the stench is all consuming...grow up and stop hating our players, coach..

POTW.

Easa said:
Where are the people now who were calling for Inzi's head? They seem to disappear when Pak are doing well.
No doubt they pray for an Inzi failure with the bat....

Easa said:
Salam Cav.

Hows it going?
not too bad easa bhai, read about your trip to karachi, cant reply for various reasons ;)

Mohammad Hafeez has played brilliantly thus far.

249 /2

Oxy™ said:

I still dont understand how somebody can want someone from the Pak team to fail.

I'd rather have Afridi in instead of Iqbal but I want Iqbal to score runs.

one flaw or where he has missed out on easy runs i feel is , on them flick of the wrist from the hip shots, (bread n butter )...apart from that perfect innings!

pakistan lead by 76 runs.

IMMY69 said:

That's what makes this forum the best and most interesting.

Pakistani's are 'fickle' humans just like everyone else.

That was a good shot and some excellent fielding.

i dont see inzi batting,

wait till he falls over his stumps again then we discuss inzi

Oxy™ said:

what erks me is that these people have no middle ground, its either they are crap or they are briliant...to a certain extent they either betray their age (for those posters who are young) or their intelligence (for the older posters)....

i get frustrated with certain things inzy does or even what bob has done in this series...but i keep my 'extreme' opinions to myself...adopt a 'wait and see' approach...and look at all the surrounding factors (umpire decisions, injury problems etc) before making any harsh posts over our team (by the way i dont think i have ever made one since pakpassion was conceived)....

anyway, i know i am off topic...

gambino said:
i dont see inzi batting,

wait till he falls over his stumps again then we discuss inzi

a man who is averaging well over 50 with the bat and up into the 70's over the past 18 months is allowed the odd failure...even in this series (which has been his worst for a long while) he is averaging arnd 40 so lay off him...

Have you noticed that Inzi doesn't bat that well when Pak are in a commanding position such as 300-2? I hope he scores runs today.

IMMY69 said:
a man who is averaging well over 50 with the bat and up into the 70's over the past 18 months is allowed the odd failure...even in this series (which has been his worst for a long while) he is averaging arnd 40 so lay off him...

Exactly.

Harmison has been very poor since the OT test.

There's a prawn-sandwich munching burble around the ground," reports Andrew Miller, while munching on a prawn sandwich, "and those clouds to the west are definitely thickening up."

Easa said:
Now its also raining.

MASHALLAH, thanks Almighty Allah for the success pakistan has achieved so far, excellent partnership between hafeez and yousuf. :19:

257-2

Hafeez 61*

Moyo 78*

Now only Bad weather can save England just like it saved England last year at the same venue.

It's a shame that even a a thumping from Pakistan will give us victory in the series.

Well played Pakistan though, if they don't win convincingly from here then it's a miracle.

evertonfan said:
It's a shame that even a a thumping from Pakistan will give us victory in the series.

Well played Pakistan though, if they don't win convincingly from here then it's a miracle.
rain could save you

Its funny how it didn't rain when we wanted it to, and now it is.

Sun is out, however.

Ya ALLAH please clear the sky from these rain potential clouds and bring out excellent sunlight so that pakistan batsmen can INSHALLAH build a great lead. :19:

3.15pmBST Tea will be taken at 3.40pm and will hopefully resume after that - at 4 o'clock. At the moment, they're technically off for bad light, with the rain coming afterwards.

Hopefully, they'll start again in about 29 minutes.

we are in such a good position that only all day rain can stop Pak now to win this match

shan said:
we are in such a good position that only all day rain can stop Pak now to win this match

garoor karna acha nahi hota....Anything can happen in cricket. inshallah we will win

Bilsher007 said:
Ya ALLAH please clear the sky from these rain potential clouds and bring out excellent sunlight so that pakistan batsmen can INSHALLAH build a great lead. :19:

Excuse my ignorance, but could I ask what Inshallah means?

Uzzy said:
God willing.

Thanks for that, i've seen it mentioned quite a lot on these forums.

Pioneers of cricket is on Sky now, and Imran Khan was really good wasn't he?

goods news, starting to brighten up a bit in my part of the world ;)

inshAllah we will be back at 4 now :D

been a pretty good day for pak, farhat should have got his 100, nevertheless, well played, at least one of our openers is getting somwehere

evertonfan said:
Thanks for that, i've seen it mentioned quite a lot on these forums.

Pioneers of cricket is on Sky now, and Imran Khan was really good wasn't he?

Really good? He was and is a great legend.

Good news.

15.45 While tea is taken, the groundstaff are busily mopping up the outfield. The good news is the rain and drizzle has relented; the sun has broken through, even. "A transformed scene," Andrew Miller says. There will soon be rainbows and daffodils and springy baby lambs on the outfield at this rate"

can any one shed some light on the matter
the last news stated play would start at 4;pm after tea :O

England are playing horribly, will do well to avoid a heavy defeat from here!

I hope we beat England by an innings. After the series loss it will give us some sort of satisfaction.

Whippy squash said:
England are playing horribly, will do well to avoid a heavy defeat from here!

as you know cricket can change in a matter of one decent over
and there is a long way to go yet
then again we are glad we are in this position

they just had a picture of the sky on Sky TV and it doesn't look good but they could theoretically play till 730PM UK time

ex-opener said:
as you know cricket can change in a matter of one decent over
and there is a long way to go yet
then again we are glad we are in this position
we have one batsmen (Inzi) who is in form and can play some after these two playing at the crease

CricketJunoon said:
we have one batsmen (Inzi) who is in form and can play some after these two playing at the crease

Inzi? In form? I don't think so.

Despite my negative opinion on our cricket though, Pakistan have still played very well and done well to bounce back from 2 bad losses. Went back to the basics of line and length with the bowling, and sensible proper shot selection with the batting, and it has payed dividends. Going on this game it is difficult to see why they haven't been able to compete better in this series, Asif may have strengthened the side but it is no excuse for the XIs at OT and Headingley totally failing to rise to the challenge.

yeah right Michael holding, this is Mohammad yousaf's 3rd innings, he was dropped twice !

what do you say to Kevin Pieterson's innings where he was out at least twice ehh ? ? ???

Good news: the covers are coming off and we should have some play for you very soon. Steve Harmison and the England bowlers are warming up on the outfield again, so we're nearly ready to get underway