ICC World Cup 2023: Bangladesh v Pakistan | Match 31 | Kolkata | 31 October | Pre-Match Discussion

Savak

Test Captain
Now that the team is out of the WC, The team has to be selected based on the future.

1) Abdullah
2) Fakhar
3) Saud Shakeel
4) Rizwan
5) Agha Salman
6) Iftikhar
7) Shadab
8) Usama Mir
9) Hassan Ali/Abrar
10) Wasim Jr
11) Rauf/Zaman
We might as well rest Babar and Shaheen for the tour of Australia.

Now that the team is out of the WC, The team has to be selected based on the future.

1) Abdullah
2) Fakhar
3) Saud Shakeel
4) Rizwan
5) Agha Salman
6) Iftikhar
7) Shadab
8) Usama Mir
9) Hassan Ali/Abrar
10) Wasim Jr
11) Rauf/Zaman
We might as well rest Babar and Shaheen for the tour of Australia.
Why Rizwan again at 4?

Why don’t you learn?

1. Fakhar
2. Shafique
3. Haris
4. Babar
5. Rizwan
6. Iftikhar
6. Shadab
7. Shaheen
8. Wasim
9. Rauf
10. Abrar

I would play with 10 players. Iftikhar is useless.

Pakistan lost 2 games after winning the toss

They probably won’t be winning 3/3 tosses going forward

They shouldn't throw in the towels yet.

They are not officially out yet. They can still sneak in to semi if certain results go their way (highly unlikely but not impossible).

Drop Nawaz and Imam. Play Usama and Fakhar. These are the only required changes probably.

You know what's funny? In 2019 when we got eliminated, even during close call games, everyone rallied and said Pakistan played like a champions team. And we did our best

In 2023, despite a close game against sa, everyone is still clowning the team. Goes to show how much faith we had in sarfi's era and how little faith we have here. Because even if we had beaten sa, their was no way we'd best the rest. Whereas in 2019 their was belief that had India beaten England, we'd have made it and given Australia one last ride.

Chalo khair hai, cake 11 zindabad

1) Abdullah
2) Babar
3) Haris
4) Rizwan
5) Saud
6) Salman
7) Usama
8) Hasan
9) Abrar
10) Wasim Jr
11) Shaheen

They shouldn't throw in the towels yet.

They are not officially out yet. They can still sneak in to semi if certain results go their way (highly unlikely but not impossible).

Drop Nawaz and Imam. Play Usama and Fakhar. These are the only required changes probably.
Agreed. Worst 2 players . Start the removal from them

Pakistan needs to rest Babar and Shaheen. They now need to focus on the Australia tour next.

Agreed the guy is a Misbah clone.

He’s a poor mans misbah though. Iftikhar can’t play the long innings, taking the game deep with the bat. I’d swap Iftikhar for misbah any day of the week. We’d actually be able to bat out all our overs and have a much more reliable middle order. You know misbah isn’t going to give his wicket away, and you’d really have to work to get him out. I have no such faith in Iftikhar, it’s somewhat expected he’ll fall cheaply.

To be honest. Now thrill for Pakistan in this world cup is over. Now I'll support New Zealand and South Africa. Either one of them should win the title.

Yeah ideally I’d like to see a close final between New Zealand and South Africa.

I would suggest get in all the all rounders in the XI.

Shadab , Agha , Nawaz , Iftikhar , along with let Saud and Fakhar also bowl a few overs .

Supporting Bangladesh for this one. No more support for Pakistan until Babar is captain. Enough of this fool.

You know what's funny? In 2019 when we got eliminated, even during close call games, everyone rallied and said Pakistan played like a champions team. And we did our best

In 2023, despite a close game against sa, everyone is still clowning the team. Goes to show how much faith we had in sarfi's era and how little faith we have here. Because even if we had beaten sa, their was no way we'd best the rest. Whereas in 2019 their was belief that had India beaten England, we'd have made it and given Australia one last ride.

Yeah, literally no one thought Pakistan played like a champion team in 2019. Pakistan had a bang average World Cup and finished with the third worst NRR among all sides.

Supporting Bangladesh for this one. No more support for Pakistan until Babar is captain. Enough of this fool.
Inshallah you get your wish and we have one less team to worry about taking 4th.

First time in history Pakistan lost 4 games back to back in WC

Man to Man, Bangladesh infact we should be ready 7 consecutive losses on card here

Pakistan will beat BD - I don't have any doubts there.

Only issue now is to see if FZ can be replaced with Abrar or not. (knee injury)

Pakistan to win this one.

Bangladesh unfortunately will be at the receiving end of an angry team’s wrath.

Yeah, literally no one thought Pakistan played like a champion team in 2019. Pakistan had a bang average World Cup and finished with the third worst NRR among all sides.
I think you overhate a bit too much tbh. In 2019 it was a mixed bag, some loved it, some didn't. But fair point overall about not playing like a champions team but we did almost make semi's

In 2017 everyone was more so on board. The reception with satfi was more positive then negative.

In 2023, no one is happy lol.

How ? Pakistan at the most will reach 10 points. India, South Africa, New Zealand and Australia, each will have at least 12 points (or more).

No
From.now one
If newzealand loses.every match
Basically they have to do Pakistan which means four matches on the trot
And at the same time Pakistan has to win all matches obviously
If it happens
Newzealand points will be= 8
Pakistan points = 10
Nrr might come.into play that time as well because some other team might as well reach to 10 points.
Which means from.now on Pakistan has to through selfishness outside the window
Tell Babar let your average fall to 52
But you play like fearless tiger.
Chase in 30 overs
Or win with atleast 100 150 runs from.now on
It will be tough but Atleast give your everything.
Baaki Allah subhan watallah par chood do

Pakistan will beat BD - I don't have any doubts there.

Only issue now is to see if FZ can be replaced with Abrar or not. (knee injury)
I think, teams can replace anyone in case one player out of the 15-member squad gets injured. I doubt that the rules are the same like they have for concussion substitutes.

Yeah I remember how much respect your Sarfi was given after the defeat against India

He was called a pig on his face by a fan, his yawning and body fat was ridiculed by all. Ex-cricketers and journalists alike

However, I do agree with you. This time the criticism has reached another level. Most probably the economic situation has made many people depressed and they want to take it out on our team.

I still believe this was the best bunch of 15 players we have.

New Zealand can realistically lose all 4 and be stuck on 8

They will definitely lose to Australia

I would also put South Africa as favorites against them

Just hope, Sri Lanka can pull off an upset against them and we can win the remaining 3 matches and qualify InshAllah

Yeah I remember how much respect your Sarfi was given after the defeat against India

He was called a pig on his face by a fan, his yawning and body fat was ridiculed by all. Ex-cricketers and journalists alike

However, I do agree with you. This time the criticism has reached another level. Most probably the economic situation has made many people depressed and they want to take it out on our team.

I still believe this was the best bunch of 15 players we have.
Bruh if you're agreeing with me then what's with the drama at the start 😂😂.

The yawn was turned into a meme, but the heat died down after the comeback against NZ and England. Everyone called us unlucky.

This time everyone is calling us a joke.

No matter what the combination - highly unlikely Pakistan will win against high quality teams. The difference in skills, game awareness, mental strength, stamina is huge.
Don't let one close match give an idea that this team has capability to win against other teams.
Sorry but if Pakistan starts developing high quality players today, it will take 2 world cups or more to be at that level. Individual performers are not enough.

How can we be advocating a place for Usama. He literally has no control, not to mention that he virtually starts with a full toss every time the ball is thrown to him. You brought Agha and Abrar, give them a game.

Hassan Ali. Bin him off.

Babar won't rest, he'll want some soft runs. Keep a similar team to yesterday's - just swap Saud and Rizwan's batting position. Abrar for Mir. Agha for Chacha.

Play attacking, aggressive line up. It might increase chances of blowing up and losing but we’ve been doing that anyway.

Out spinners have Been ineffective whereas pacers have done well

My eleven for remaining games

Fakhar
Abdullah
Babar Azam
Rizwan
Saud Shakeel
Iftimania
Shadab
Hasan
Shaheen
Wasim
Haris

Play attacking, aggressive line up. It might increase chances of blowing up and losing but we’ve been doing that anyway.

Fakhar
Abdullah
Babar Azam
Rizwan
Saud Shakeel
Iftimania
Shadab
Hasan
Shaheen
Wasim
Haris
Still the same crux of failing players in the same positions, doubt you'd see much difference from that.

Drop Imam Ul Haq and include Fakhar Zaman. Pak needs to beat BANG by 200 runs to have any chance with NRR.

Unless Bangladesh drastically improves, unless Pakistan mentally checks out, this will be another one-sided win for Pakistan. Eden pitch will suit Pakistani bowling, they must go with 4 quicks.

How can we be advocating a place for Usama. He literally has no control, not to mention that he virtually starts with a full toss every time the ball is thrown to him. You brought Agha and Abrar, give them a game.

Hassan Ali. Bin him off.

Babar won't rest, he'll want some soft runs. Keep a similar team to yesterday's - just swap Saud and Rizwan's batting position. Abrar for Mir. Agha for Chacha.
Abrar isn’t in 15

Hasan Ali and Fakhar should get in places of Nawaz and Imam, respectfully. The rest of the team could be the same as the one that played against SA.

Seeing how pathetic BD has been performing, this is one match Pakistan shouldn't lose even if they play atrociously.

Hasan Ali and Fakhar should get in places of Nawaz and Imam, respectfully. The rest of the team could be the same as the one that played against SA.

Seeing how pathetic BD has been performing, this is one match Pakistan shouldn't lose even if they play atrociously.

Pakistan should try to get a big win to fix their NRR.

Good opportunity.

The Netherlands has softened Bangladesh. It is a good opportunity for Pakistan to boost their NRR. A 100+ runs margin or successful chase within 35 overs would be a disservice to their talents and to their fans.

Pakistan will tell themselves they just need to win

Nrr never matters for this lot

Bangla might not be pushovers, we're at their level. We are a mediocre side that has embraced and accepted it. You just have to look at Babar stating he wants a 280 total against Afghan for proof.

Pakistan should win this comfortably. Please don’t mess it up. We don’t want the BDCT to get any joy here because theyll board, team management will hide all the issues and brush all the mess ups under the carpet!

Bangla might not be pushovers, we're at their level. We are a mediocre side that has embraced and accepted it. You just have to look at Babar stating he wants a 280 total against Afghan for proof.
Moreover Babar wants fielding and bowling to improve so that they can defend 280 on a 330 pitch.

If I was Shaheen Afridi I would openly insult Babar in public

Fakhar
Abdullah
Babar Azam
Rizwan
Saud Shakeel
Iftimania
Shadab
Hasan
Shaheen
Wasim
Haris
Sorry but they aren't capable to play attacking and aggressive cricket they simply don't know what to do.
If they try to get attack aggressively we will be 70/5 in 19 overs.
Btw what you are excepting? 350-380 from pakistan?

Seems the wind gone out of sails for Pakistan supporters?

How about we get to see some good cricket from this side and savour it now?

Like Nasser Hussain said yesterday about England until there's a mathematical chance you have to keep pushing to win and also back the team.

Bangladesh have been exceptionally poor this tournament, if we can't even win against them then we may as well not bother playing NZ and England

Moreover Babar wants fielding and bowling to improve so that they can defend 280 on a 330 pitch.

If I was Shaheen Afridi I would openly insult Babar in public
True, and that's against top sides, vs a so called minnow, you'd want to be targeting 350-400.

Hassan Ali is recovering well under the guidance of the team’s medical panel. He will be available for training tomorrow.

Finally a team Pakistan can thrash.

It took a while, but David vs Goliath battles are over.

Perfect time to pad, hit those glorious 100s and improve averages.

I expect Pakistan to enjoy the match and win at a canter.

Our last chance for redemption to win against Bangladesh, let's hope Babar and Co. has enough gas in the tank for this

If the pitch is same as bng vs ned,it's tough to get a good nrr.if pak has to chase over 225 ,they will get screwed .pak bowling should finish bng quickly.

Pakistan is mentally shot. Bangladesh can easily spring a surprise. I wouldn't be surprised at a Pakistan defeat.

The side which plays less bad cricket will win. Both Teams are in poor form , and mentally midgets . There is Not much difference between the teams.

New Zealand can realistically lose all 4 and be stuck on 8

They will definitely lose to Australia

I would also put South Africa as favorites against them

Just hope, Sri Lanka can pull off an upset against them and we can win the remaining 3 matches and qualify InshAllah
Pakistan is not going to semi final , accept the fact.

Agha Salman should come in place of Nawaz. He won’t ball worse than him while also strengthen our batting.