Imran Khan claims ‘assassins’ were positioned at Judicial Complex

Will Imran Khan ever be arrested and jailed?

oh.. and by the way, here is something was sent to me by someone earlier:

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/s...ity-soars-ahead-of-vote-pakistan-survey-shows

ISLAMABAD – An opinion poll has found that a majority of Pakistanis blame a coalition government for the soaring inflation in a country that is struggling to shore up finances and avoid a default, while support for former premier Imran Khan soared ahead of elections.

The poll was published by Gallup this week and was carried out between Feb 1 and 20.

It also found that 62 per cent of the 2,000 respondents blamed the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) that makes up the government for the economic turmoil and inflation coming up to a six-decade high.

Mr Khan’s approval ratings in contrast jumped to 61 per cent in February 2023 from 36 per cent in January 2022, polling data showed.

The PDM alliance, led by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), had ousted Mr Khan in April 2022 through a no-confidence vote.

It pushed the narrative that the former cricket captain had mismanaged the economy.

Mr Shehbaz Sharif and his government have since made tough decisions to raise energy prices and taxes to revive a loan programme with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

ST Asian Insider: Malaysia Edition
Get exclusive insights into Malaysia in weekly round-up
Enter your e-mail
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

He has seen his popularity drop to 32 per cent in February 2023 from 51 per cent in January 2022.

“Imran Khan’s popularity rests on strong fundamentals of being a charismatic leader, giving slogans that resonate with the public while there is a vacuum in Pakistani politics,” said Mr Bilal Gilani, executive director at Gallup Pakistan.

“The real news is the major dent in the PML-N leaders’ ratings, which have seen an almost 20 per cent decline in their popularity. The IMF decisions have precipitated the decline, but the reasons were deeper and long term,” he added.

The economy is in dire straits, with almost one in five Pakistanis reporting they have either lost their jobs or know someone from their households who is out of work, according to the survey.

Mr Gilani said the government’s popularity declined due to a changing voter base, with the 18 to 30 age group now making up almost 45 per cent of the total.

This group tends to associate Mr Shehbaz Sharif and his elder brother, three-time premier Nawaz Sharif, with corruption.

This demographic has also struggled to relate with the party’s infrastructure development narrative.

Mr Nawaz Sharif, living in self-exile in London, has seen his support drop to 36 per cent from 55 per cent.

He is weighing a return to Pakistan to boost the party’s prospects for the general elections slated for later in 2023.

Pakistan is scheduled to hold polls in two of the four provinces in April, after Mr Khan’s party leaders dissolved the legislatures.

These elections will signal the public mood ahead of the national vote that will be held less than sixty days after the government term ends in August.

Mr Khan will begin campaigning for the provincial polls on Tuesday with a protest rally.

He has been pushing for early general elections, but Mr Shehbaz Sharif has said he wants to see through the IMF programme and the government term. BLOOMBERG

------------------

YOur thoughts on this [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]? Did you notice how the survey does not list any stats whatsoever for Zardari, Bilawal, Bakhtawar or any other dhaka chhupa Bhutto Zardari? Would you like to comment on that? Or have the grade 17 and above demographic refused to participate in such surveys?

bro thats 2000 respondants.

once again its your word against mine, your experiences against mine. YOU may claim WHATEVER, it does not cost a thing but to make it a convincing argument, you have to provide some context and evidence.

Here is a thought, what percentage of pakistan's voting population is grade 17 and above? In a true democracy, would such opinions matter?

i agree with you fully on this.

Could be a good research hypothesis for future

If he is Hitler, I wonder what do you make of Bhutto, Zia, Ayub Khan, BB, Zerdari, Sharifs, Musharraf, etc. I would really like to hear. I would also like to hear a workable solution to fix the problem.

Whether you like it or not, IK is your only choice if you want the status quo shattered. Everyone has flaws, you want to wait around for a flawless leader/party, be my quest!

All of the people you mentioned are despicable and detestable individuals. IK isn't there to shatter the status quo. He is just part of it and now throwing his toys out of the pram because the establishment ditched him as they realised he was a failed experiment.

well good luck to you sir, waiting around for a utopian messiah to fix the problems.

Let us know how that turns out for you.

Actually, never mind. I think we can see for ourselves how that is turning out so wonderfully well for the country.

What a stupid post. The establishment was pro Amreeka, IK opposed Mush and all their undue influence. Stop talking rubbish.

IK only opposed Amreeka as part of political rhetoric. His u-turn on changing the narrative from an imported conspiracy to an exported one is a good evidence of this. He is now trying to get back in the US good books so they will be ok with him becoming PM. He bigged up freeing Aafia siddiqui prior to becoming PM but did absolutely nothing to get her back once in power. Yvonne Ridley nearly set up a deal between the US and the Talibanfor a prisoner swap for Aafia for an American solider but the Taliban told her the ISI had blocked it last minute. IK did not do anything in this regard. I judge politicians by their actions and not their words.

So no IK is not truly anti-American. He only uses the rhetoric to appease his followers.

IK only opposed Amreeka as part of political rhetoric. His u-turn on changing the narrative from an imported conspiracy to an exported one is a good evidence of this. He is now trying to get back in the US good books so they will be ok with him becoming PM. He bigged up freeing Aafia siddiqui prior to becoming PM but did absolutely nothing to get her back once in power. Yvonne Ridley nearly set up a deal between the US and the Talibanfor a prisoner swap for Aafia for an American solider but the Taliban told her the ISI had blocked it last minute. IK did not do anything in this regard. I judge politicians by their actions and not their words.

So no IK is not truly anti-American. He only uses the rhetoric to appease his followers.

if he had some much control over ISI, and UMreeka, he would still be PM. you are just a bucket of contradictions.

Its quite well known his "absolutely not" is what got him in trouble. also his trip to Russia to negotiate cheap oil did not go well with the Umreekans. If he was such a bootlicker of theirs, he would still be in the PM House.

Next time, try to make a convincing arugment, please. Thanks.

if he had some much control over ISI, and UMreeka, he would still be PM. you are just a bucket of contradictions.

Its quite well known his "absolutely not" is what got him in trouble. also his trip to Russia to negotiate cheap oil did not go well with the Umreekans. If he was such a bootlicker of theirs, he would still be in the PM House.

After all this I think Ik will be definitely elected hands down in a fair election. However what will he do differently this time to pull Pakistan from this current mess? What’s his manifesto/agenda?

It’s surreal as an outsider the few clips I have seen of him he keeps repeating the same thing.

What’s your honest expectations from him. I understand you think the other side is totally unacceptable but that’s not a strong enough reason.

Sorry for the equivalence and my intention is not comparison but in India BJP party has a manifesto so whichever leader comes into power tries to implement them. What’s Imran’s plan in his 2nd term?

Honestly his policies were irrelevant I think what ticked Bajwa off was his efforts to keep Faiz as ISI cheif. I think there are political parties within the army and generals josting for control. If you simply go by statements then it's clear Bajwa had an ego problem with Imran and nothing more so he switched sides and backed the anti Imran side so now they are in control. Ego has done more damage to Pakistan than America, India or any other enemy could do combined. The constitution of Pakistan is not even worth the paper it's written on, everyone has Mughal e Azam fetishes here.

I think it was a combination of him ticking off america and america sending that letter to the establishment and then bajwa who was just waiting for an excuse to make a case for his dismissal. BUt lets face it. there is no denying the fact the way he was removed, external factors did play a role. nothing regarding Imran's removal from government was ok. At least previous administrations had tons of open and shut corruption cases against them.

you can find a lot of fault with IK but being a corrupt leader and thief is not one of them.

I think it was a combination of him ticking off america and america sending that letter to the establishment and then bajwa who was just waiting for an excuse to make a case for his dismissal. BUt lets face it. there is no denying the fact the way he was removed, external factors did play a role. nothing regarding Imran's removal from government was ok. At least previous administrations had tons of open and shut corruption cases against them.

you can find a lot of fault with IK but being a corrupt leader and thief is not one of them.

Oh yeah 100% that Russia visit and taunts to Americans after Taliban takeover did him no good and he has no friends in Washington for sure. I guess you have to pick and choose your battles carefully and immy went overboard with the Anti America narrative. I just hope he learns his lesson and stays in his lane next time he is elected. No need to get into a public showdown with American leadership, play it smartly and quietly, Pakistan has alot of work to do in every front starting with the economy. And you definitely need Americans on your side for the economy.

After all this I think Ik will be definitely elected hands down in a fair election. However what will he do differently this time to pull Pakistan from this current mess? What’s his manifesto/agenda?

It’s surreal as an outsider the few clips I have seen of him he keeps repeating the same thing.

What’s your honest expectations from him. I understand you think the other side is totally unacceptable but that’s not a strong enough reason.

Sorry for the equivalence and my intention is not comparison but in India BJP party has a manifesto so whichever leader comes into power tries to implement them. What’s Imran’s plan in his 2nd term?

Imran performed decently givin what he inherited and then also covid came. Both exports and GDP growth were on the up so its expected with past experience he may improve upon his last results

He formed alliance with corrupt parties to form government. He welcomed corrupt individuals in his party to gain popularity. He joined hands with the establishment to become PM. Association with corrupt people automatically makes him corrupt. I will not even bring up his moral corruptness which is well known.

Police operation to arrest Imran Khan temporarily barred by Pakistan court

A Pakistan high court on Thursday extended a pause in the police’s efforts to arrest former prime minister Imran Khan.

The decision is a reprieve for Mr Khan, who was due to be arrested on Thursday.

The court had on Wednesday intervened to tamp down clashes between Mr Khan’s supporters and police after both sides suffered scores of injuries in pitched battles outside his Lahore home.

The Lahore High Court ordered police to suspend the plan to arrest the 70-year-old opposition leader until Friday. It also asked Mr Khan’s legal team for talks to resolve the issue.

The order also sent a wave of relief through his stick-wielding supporters who were prepared to prevent the police from reaching Mr Khan’s house in the capital of the Punjab province.

Despite the order, police and paramilitary rangers deployed for the arrest were not immediately withdrawn.

Usman Anwar, the police chief in the Punjab province, said the violence in Lahore began Tuesday when officers went to comply with the court order and arrest Mr Khan. But, he said, Mr Khan’s supporters started throwing stones at officers, who were unarmed and only carrying batons.

“We will comply with the court order, and we will do it,” he told a local Geo TV station.

In Islamabad, Mr Khan’s legal team on Thursday had asked judge Zafar Iqbal to suspend arrest warrants he had issued last week for the former prime minister, who is accused of illegally selling state gifts and concealing his assets.

Judge Iqbal gave no indication of whether he will suspend the arrest warrants for Mr Khan. Instead, he asked why Mr Khan resisted when officers went to his house to arrest him. The judge said if he surrenders to the court now, he will stop police from arresting him.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/worl...tp&cvid=1f3d0ab260e64b97a14b3e7faef49910&ei=8

Imran performed decently givin what he inherited and then also covid came. Both exports and GDP growth were on the up so its expected with past experience he may improve upon his last results

Wasn’t he saying “ghabraana nahi hai” every other day during his time.

Anyways hope he learnt better this time. I personally feel IK is not the issue. He has a strong cult of personality people of Pakistan can believe in and rally around which is good to have as long as he has a competent team around him. I know my view doesn’t matter but the people around him don’t look very smart. Not talking about looks but hearing them speak about policies etc

He formed alliance with corrupt parties to form government. He welcomed corrupt individuals in his party to gain popularity. He joined hands with the establishment to become PM. Association with corrupt people automatically makes him corrupt. I will not even bring up his moral corruptness which is well known.

Like I said, good luck finding a leader then who can form a government without the electables and the approval of the establishment. IK is trying to fight on the second front. let us see where that takes us. You may not like him but at least he is trying to pave the way for someone else in the future who wants to come into power without the blesssing of the establishment. He is trying to tear it down.

But if you can think of a better person than ik TO SUPPORT AND VOTE FOR at the moment, please feel free to share.

Wasn’t he saying “ghabraana nahi hai” every other day during his time.

Anyways hope he learnt better this time. I personally feel IK is not the issue. He has a strong cult of personality people of Pakistan can believe in and rally around which is good to have as long as he has a competent team around him. I know my view doesn’t matter but the people around him don’t look very smart. Not talking about looks but hearing them speak about policies etc

I dont understand the fascination of Indians with IK and listening to his cabinet discuss policies that do not concern them. Explain your comment about ghabrana nahi hai. IK is still standing and not leaving the country and running out so its clear he is not ghabraya hua. If you want Ghabraya hua, its quite easy to look at leaders who run at the first sign of trouble and there are plenty on your side of the border too.

The hate Indians have of Imran is just palpabale. They always try to put disclaimers in their post like the bolded one up there but their agenda is quite clear for any idiot to see.

There is no difference, its still the same rotten system controlled by electables, feudals, generals, agencies etc. Doesn't matter who is in charge. Nothing changes. IK talked big but couldn't deliver on any promise he made pre-election. I am done being taken for a ride by these politicians.

He couldn't deliver? In his short term he did way more than this incompetent family mafia over decades. And how does a country change over night? Everyone knows under IK it was heading towards the right direction, look at it since he was criminally forced out, been a total sh*tshow which is expected.

Its funny how all anti-IK will never provide any evidence of how things were better before IK or after IK because deep down you know there is no other solution and leader, but you are too stubborn to lay it out because most supporters directly gain from lifafa business and corruption that runs deep in the country. Never a word from your likes on family mafia looting Pakistan and providing a real solution. Many Noon fans only support corrupt Shareefs just becsuse they are Punjabi and I can assure you we have similar fans on board here on PP....such jahils

You need a visionary leader who leads the way which IK absolutely was and his takedown on corruption and full force on transpency was a huge stepping stone for country to be heading towards the right direction. The corrupt bunch you support can't even put two words together to show the light to the nation... Uneducated loots rely on handnotes to read off and give all kind of illogical idiotic suggestions when queries are raised. I mean their sole purpose is power and loot, so no surprise they have never delivered.

I dont understand the fascination of Indians with IK and listening to his cabinet discuss policies that do not concern them. Explain your comment about ghabrana nahi hai. IK is still standing and not leaving the country and running out so its clear he is not ghabraya hua. If you want Ghabraya hua, its quite easy to look at leaders who run at the first sign of trouble and there are plenty on your side of the border too.

The hate Indians have of Imran is just palpabale. They always try to put disclaimers in their post like the bolded one up there but their agenda is quite clear for any idiot to see.

Indians atleast the ones I know or speaking personally for myself don’t hate IK.

It’s just that IK is more of a colorful character and popular from his cricketing days and gives loads of material every day. To add his fans seem to be even
more anti-India and rabid than the average Pakistani from what I have come across.

Most of what he has been saying is also a I told you so moment for Indians.

For example when Taliban took over (go back to that thread)I said multiple times it was a bad news for everyone.

Most Indians on PP including me for years have argued that Army runs the show in Pakistan but 98% of his fans were in denial.

So it’s more from that pov it’s a schadenfreude.

I personally don’t wish any ill towards any Pakistani common person nor it doesn’t matter who is in power in Pakistan, they all speak the same language “Kashmir”, “Islam” “Modi” etc etc so no special love for the others.

Also aren’t you the same guy who gives his 2 cents on every news that happens in India?

This at this point is a world event given what’s happening in Pakistan. You can check my posting history. I usually stay away from most divisive topics unless someone says something totally kooky or offensive.

During Covid there were threads like is India bankrupt etc and laughing at Covid deaths. Show
me how many posts I participated in the Pakistan
Covid watch thread.

I am here if you need me to go into more detail.

He couldn't deliver? In his short term he did way more than this incompetent family mafia over decades. And how does a country change over night? Everyone knows under IK it was heading towards the right direction, look at it since he was criminally forced out, been a total sh*tshow which is expected.

Its funny how all anti-IK will never provide any evidence of how things were better before IK or after IK because deep down you know there is no other solution and leader, but you are too stubborn to lay it out because most supporters directly gain from lifafa business and corruption that runs deep in the country. Never a word from your likes on family mafia looting Pakistan and providing a real solution. Many Noon fans only support corrupt Shareefs just becsuse they are Punjabi and I can assure you we have similar fans on board here on PP....such jahils

You need a visionary leader who leads the way which IK absolutely was and his takedown on corruption and full force on transpency was a huge stepping stone for country to be heading towards the right direction. The corrupt bunch you support can't even put two words together to show the light to the nation... Uneducated loots rely on handnotes to read off and give all kind of illogical idiotic suggestions when queries are raised. I mean their sole purpose is power and loot, so no surprise they have never delivered.
His detractors just hate the fact he is not like their leaders. Our political affiliations are sealed at birth depending on where and which family you are born into and that needs to change.

Like I said, good luck finding a leader then who can form a government without the electables and the approval of the establishment. IK is trying to fight on the second front. let us see where that takes us. You may not like him but at least he is trying to pave the way for someone else in the future who wants to come into power without the blesssing of the establishment. He is trying to tear it down.

But if you can think of a better person than ik TO SUPPORT AND VOTE FOR at the moment, please feel free to share.

You are giving him too much credit. He's least concerned about the future. There is no plan for his replacement. If tomorrow Imran dies due to natural causes, where will the party stand? What is the succession plan? What long term changes did Imran implement to ensure that the current political problems are eliminated from the framework? It has always been about him and there is none else for the future either.

I do not support Zardari or Nawaz or anyone else. Everyone from politicians to generals to judges to bureaucrats to the person selling fruits is corrupt in Pakistan. None deserves to be supported and voted.

This ghabrana nahi hai is only repeated by clueless parrots who have seen those 5 second social media clips with edited disco dance and ghabrana nahi hai line and have made up their minds on IK. It's only their ignorance.

IK is among the bravest leaders and says it all out in the open and doesn't run away unlike other rats we have in other parties who call UK their home country. There will never be a better example of Ghabrana Nahi Hai than seeing all other corrupt parties (who were slitting each others throats before) had to "team up" and make an alliance with new party just to take on one guy. The reason quom is out protesting mafia and establishment and defending IK is because quom "ghabrai nahi hai"

Indians atleast the ones I know or speaking personally for myself don’t hate IK.

It’s just that IK is more of a colorful character and popular from his cricketing days and gives loads of material every day. To add his fans seem to be even
more anti-India and rabid than the average Pakistani from what I have come across.

Most of what he has been saying is also a I told you so moment for Indians.

For example when Taliban took over (go back to that thread)I said multiple times it was a bad news for everyone.

Most Indians on PP including me for years have argued that Army runs the show in Pakistan but 98% of his fans were in denial.

So it’s more from that pov it’s a schadenfreude.

I personally don’t wish any ill towards any Pakistani common person nor it doesn’t matter who is in power in Pakistan, they all speak the same language “Kashmir”, “Islam” “Modi” etc etc so no special love for the others.

Also aren’t you the same guy who gives his 2 cents on every news that happens in India?

This at this point is a world event given what’s happening in Pakistan. You can check my posting history. I usually stay away from most divisive topics unless someone says something totally kooky or offensive.

During Covid there were threads like is India bankrupt etc and laughing at Covid deaths. Show
me how many posts I participated in the Pakistan
Covid watch thread.

I am here if you need me to go into more detail.

Must have pressed some buttons. Just the fact that you are here on a pakistani forum, speaks volumes in support of what i said and the fact you want to always assert and tell others to check your posts (which you know is not possible) have you heard of hte old saying "chor ki darhi mein tinka"?
If you were to say make these comments on an indian forum, i am sure you will be susecptible to less scrutiny which is why i find it laughable you question my comments on India.

BY the way most INDIAN posters get offended when I post comments on India and I am told the same thing as I told you, so I am not sure what is more offensive here? India under Modi being war mongers CLOSE TO ELECTION TIME and me commenting on that ... OR

... you commenting on a Pakistani leader who is not even in power!

Food for thought..

Just

You are giving him too much credit. He's least concerned about the future. There is no plan for his replacement. If tomorrow Imran dies due to natural causes, where will the party stand? What is the succession plan? What long term changes did Imran implement to ensure that the current political problems are eliminated from the framework? It has always been about him and there is none else for the future either.

I do not support Zardari or Nawaz or anyone else. Everyone from politicians to generals to judges to bureaucrats to the person selling fruits is corrupt in Pakistan. None deserves to be supported and voted.

You think he will consult you or me on such matters? Stop making a fool of yourself now and just stop posting here. It is becoming dense with irony around here.

This ghabrana nahi hai is only repeated by clueless parrots who have seen those 5 second social media clips with edited disco dance and ghabrana nahi hai line and have made up their minds on IK. It's only their ignorance.

IK is among the bravest leaders and says it all out in the open and doesn't run away unlike other rats we have in other parties who call UK their home country. There will never be a better example of Ghabrana Nahi Hai than seeing all other corrupt parties (who were slitting each others throats before) had to "team up" and make an alliance with new party just to take on one guy. The reason quom is out protesting mafia and establishment and defending IK is because quom "ghabrai nahi hai"

The same people who accuse of his moral backruptcy and playboy past, turn around and accuse him of now being too conservative and call him Taliban Khan.

His detractors are mostly shameless and clutch at straws and are closet patwaris and nooras, etc (need I even mention that here?)

You think he will consult you or me on such matters? Stop making a fool of yourself now and just stop posting here. It is becoming dense with irony around here.

How old are you really? Of course he won't consult with you or me but it should be visible through his actions and policies.

PTI is all about Imran, just like PPP is all about Bhuttos, and N League is all about Sharifs.

Must have pressed some buttons. Just the fact that you are here on a pakistani forum, speaks volumes in support of what i said and the fact you want to always assert and tell others to check your posts (which you know is not possible) have you heard of hte old saying "chor ki darhi mein tinka"?
If you were to say make these comments on an indian forum, i am sure you will be susecptible to less scrutiny which is why i find it laughable you question my comments on India.

BY the way most INDIAN posters get offended when I post comments on India and I am told the same thing as I told you, so I am not sure what is more offensive here? India under Modi being war mongers CLOSE TO ELECTION TIME and me commenting on that ... OR

... you commenting on a Pakistani leader who is not even in power!

Food for thought..

Just

Firstly I am on plenty of forums. Maybe it will help if you explore outside as well. sure this forum is run by Pakistanis and rightfully has a Pakistani flavor and bias which it should, it’s an open forum for everyone with affinity to cricket and that’s how it’s looked. PP is one of the best resources to get inside news about Pakistani cricket especially due to the good journalistic work of the people who run this forum.

As far as Indians getting offended by what you say trust me none of it has to do with the depth of the argument. It’s more like what’s this guy on about.

Yes IK is not in power but the world news is he is a rebel taking on the state machinery. That’s making a lot of waves all over the world. So it is not exactly local news.

You can maybe learn not to give conclusive statements etc like some expert on Indian subjects because all I did was ask you a question what is Imran or PTI’s manifesto and you started attacking me :)

No offense taken but let’s start with a easier view point about the manifesto of the party you support

His "absolutely not" is not what got him into trouble. He ****** off Bajwa by getting too close to Faiz Hameed. Its all ego driven. The rest is just a convenient narrative he is using to maintain his popularity and exploit the anti american sentiment in Pakistan. The leaked recordings clearly showed that he would use the "cipher" as a narrative. US couldn't care less whether Imran stayed in power or not as he was no threat to them. They don't care about words like "absolutely not" and political rhetoric. They care about actual action, which IK did not do. They handed Kashmir to India and IK couldn't do anything except make statements to please the public.

Therefore I refuse to ****** him and set my hopes on him as a saviour.

He had no plan for that vision, so it was pretty much useless. He gave us a vision pre-election about not being "enslaved by the IMF" and then went begging to them as soon as he got in power. He couldn't retrieve a penny of "stolen wealth" back like he promised he would. Bajwa and Faiz made millions without account during his time.

There were plenty of issues around inflation during his time, wheat shortages due to excessive exports, railway crashes (for which his Railway minister did not resign), he appointed the worst ever Chief Minister Punjab has seen in decades. People have short memories.

Oh and don't assume I am a PPP or PML N fan, I am not. I don't believe in this system as a whole.

Like I said, good luck finding a leader then who can form a government without the electables and the approval of the establishment.

Look at the pathway here - > For IK to change the trajectory of Pakistan, he needs to carry out reforms. Reforms are done by making laws. Laws are made by forming a government. Govt is formed by having a majority in parliament. Having a majority in parliament is possible only if you enter into alliance with crooked MPs or as you call them electables. Crooked MPs are not going vote for anti-corruption reforms since the saying goes turkeys are not going to vote for Christmas.

Which leads to the bottomline here - IK's actions are ultimately pointless. The Pakistani electorate is simple not mature or literate enough to elect him or give him a majority. He should ride off into the sunset and spend his final days with his wife and sons. Maybe get into cricket commentary.

His "absolutely not" is not what got him into trouble. He ****** off Bajwa by getting too close to Faiz Hameed. Its all ego driven. The rest is just a convenient narrative he is using to maintain his popularity and exploit the anti american sentiment in Pakistan. The leaked recordings clearly showed that he would use the "cipher" as a narrative. US couldn't care less whether Imran stayed in power or not as he was no threat to them. They don't care about words like "absolutely not" and political rhetoric. They care about actual action, which IK did not do. They handed Kashmir to India and IK couldn't do anything except make statements to please the public.

Therefore I refuse to ****** him and set my hopes on him as a saviour.

You are entitled to your views and I am to mine.

Indecision or incorrect decision at this point will cost Pakistan a lot. I hope your negative views on IK do not hold you back from making the right decision for the country if you are a voter. If you are just another disgruntled non voter, i would say venting on forums doesnt cost anything. :)

Look at the pathway here - > For IK to change the trajectory of Pakistan, he needs to carry out reforms. Reforms are done by making laws. Laws are made by forming a government. Govt is formed by having a majority in parliament. Having a majority in parliament is possible only if you enter into alliance with crooked MPs or as you call them electables. Crooked MPs are not going vote for anti-corruption reforms since the saying goes turkeys are not going to vote for Christmas.

Which leads to the bottomline here - IK's actions are ultimately pointless. The Pakistani electorate is simple not mature or literate enough to elect him or give him a majority. He should ride off into the sunset and spend his final days with his wife and sons. Maybe get into cricket commentary.

I could write books on this very pertinent topic. i have a hard time disagreeing with the first part of your post.

Look, it is not possible for ANYONE.. and i do mean ANYONE to step into the massive sh**pile that is pakistan to clean it up. Even a well meaning person may make claims to do this and that but once you get the hot seat, you know your hands are tied. [MENTION=134482]SM1989[/MENTION], as a PM you can only put policies in place to do the right thing. It is upto the individual insitutions to enact those policies and get the desired results. You have departments like NAB and courts to decide on such cases. It is not a PM's job. He did his best to pursue the agenda, so much so, the patwaris and nooras started calling him a hate filled person for trying to get us justice. They kept saying he should just pardon them. that he just has an agenda to get rid of his rivals. He was just trying to do his job and get justice done so he could recover the money stolen from the country. But nobody let him do that. They all came back and eliminated all the cases against them. Is that what you want?

and the tragic part is, there were clear open and shut cases which we failed to find them guilty for. NS ran off to UK , and who allowed that? Its not IK ... its the establishment, which includes all the corrupt departments. our whole country is rotten to the core. military, judiciary,. you name it. everybody wants control, nobody wants to focus on just their jobs and they ALL want to make upper ki amdani. ANd all these judges and beaurcrats, they were put in place by the sharif mafia so they are all indentured to them. they wont touch them. in Punjab, the police, courts, etc are all in the pockets of the sharif mafia.

So its unrealistic to think Imran could have done something about it but he did. Truth is, they did not let him. But HE WAS FIGHTING FOR IT. He fought till his last day in the office.

Also like RexreX noted, you dont come into power without working from within the system and without making some unholy alliances. It is politics. It just does not work the way you want someone to work. You want someone to just become PM without ccoming up through a system which is dirty and rotten to the core. It just wont happen. The only way it would work that way is if someone turned militant, rounded all these bad actors up and shot them in their head and then became a totalitarian ruler, and that is also wrong but believe me, sometimes I wish there was someone who actually took such a drastic step. But we dont. There is no revolutionary here who can take on the might of our army, our judiciary, our ethnicity and religious sect based political parties all out for just looting and plundering.
NS ko to hum pakar nahi sakey, jisska easy open and shut case tha. In any other country he would be in jail till death. Same with zardari who probably stole as much and he is free. they are all thieves. they all have open and shut cases with bankers book of evidence against them, but nobody bats and eyelash and nobody can dare touch them. Aap konsey mulk ki baat kar rahey hein? THese guys actually want to say we will rule and after us our kids will rule and you cannot say anything. they will just keep taking turns like they have since 89, bending over the poor awam.

so bottomline is IK is who we have got. Someone remotely honest, willing to take on the establishafia. There is absolutely nobody else who is outside of the box with a half dead chance of making a dent in this hot mess of an ugly machine that is our country's political system.

Shipping containers were placed outside the main entrance of party chairman Imran Khan’s Zaman Park residence in Lahore — ostensibly by PTI supporters — on Thursday as the Lahore High Court (LHC) postponed the police operation for the arrest of the former prime minister till March 17.

Islamabad Police, backed up by their Punjab Police compatriots and the Rangers, have met significant resistance from PTI workers since Tuesday in trying to execute non-bailable arrest warrants issued by a sessions court for Imran, who is currently holed up in his Lahore residence.

Imran has skipped hearings four times.

After several violent exchanges, in which petrol bombs and tear gas were traded, the police retreated yesterday, saying that the operation had been paused during the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL). Separately, the LHC had also ordered the LEAs to stop the action until 10am today.

In a recent development, Mohammad Iqbal has come forward to deny the claims made by the Punjab government that he was a militant having links with a banned organisation.

The announcement came hours after the Punjab Caretaker Information Minister, Amir Mir claimed that authorities had received information that there were people from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) present at former prime minister Imran Khan’s Zaman Park residence in Lahore, who were militants.

He also revealed the name of a militant who belonged to Tehreek-e-Nafaz-e-Shariat-e-Mohammadi (TNSM) and was the right-hand man of late Maulana Sufi Mohammad.

Mir said the individual had been in jail for eight years but had now reportedly joined a political party, which was a veiled reference to Imran’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Mir made these remarks during a press conference held on Thursday in Lahore, where he was flanked by Punjab IG Usman Anwar.

Read more: Punjab govt claims presence of 'militants' at Zaman Park

Mohammad Iqbal however has categorically denied any connection or contact with any banned organisation in a video statement.

He stated that he is a worker of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and had come to join the protest against the arrest of party chief Imran Khan. He also added that he has been a worker of PTI since October 28, 2022 and that propaganda was being spread against him.

In the video message, Mohammad Iqbal said, "I am not a part of any activity against the government, but as a worker of Tehreek-e-Insaf, I went to Zaman Park to support Imran Khan." He further added that the claims made by the Punjab government were baseless and unfounded.

Stop talking rubbish and make sense. He opposed American drone attacks way back, look at his old videos( go on youtube). The conspiracy is obvious to all and sundry and even British diplomats are saying its true. What is clear is that Americans were hand in glove with Bajwa. Bajwa hired Haqqani, who helped to promote him and attack IK and the Cypher is real. Its on record. IK isnt anti American he is anti Ghulami, obviously you want Ghulami and dont understand the difference

Point is no one from the judiciary, govt or bureaucracy supports him. They know that this guy is an idiot. The govt level people that support him are the lower staff who are not well versed with things.

Everyone else in the govt, grade 17 and above officers see him as a person who is just clueless and cant walk the talk.

You mean the crooks in grade 17, those losers that suck the blood of the poor and become billionaires. It seems you are of their ilk, didnt you grow up this money?

I see every educated person in pak consdiers Khan as saviour except those who sucks the blood of poors. Now you know what i said. The YDA in KPK hwo I have been a part of in the past is doing the same. None of them perfroms thier dutyies and then blames government for everything.

Militants also present at Zaman Park: Punjab minister
Government ensured that there was no loss of life at Zaman Park, says Amir Mir

Caretaker Punjab Information Minister Amir Mir Thursday said the government has ensured that there was no loss of life at Zaman Park and whenever the police went there, they had nothing but batons, helmets and shields.

Addressing a press conference at the office of IGP Punjab, he said the Punjab Police had assisted the Islamabad Police in complying with the Islamabad High Court (IHC) orders. He said dozens of policemen had been seriously injured in the incidents in the last three days. “Cases have been registered against all those involved in the violence,” he added.

Amir said Zaman Park had been made a no-go area and court orders were not allowed to be implemented for three consecutive days. The provincial minister said there were reports that some militants from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were also present there of which one belonged to Tehreek-e-Nifaz-e-Shariat-e-Mohammadi. He said the person was the right hand of Maulana Sufi Muhammad and had served eight years in prison.

The Punjab IGP said that the driver and another person had confessed to their crime in the Zille Shah case before the magistrate. The statement will be shared with the media as well and everything would become clear soon, he added.

To a question about why police did not have information about the violent activities of the protesters, he said that police were fully informed but wanted to ensure no loss of life. “It must be kept in mind that we were not in enemy territory.”
https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/1050878-militants-also-present-at-zaman-park-punjab-minister

Hence, which is why had you lived in Pakistan you would know what you are talking about. But because you live overseas, in your mind grade 17 and above govt employees are corrupt.

You really are a clueless guy.

Did you grow up on corrupt army blood money?

Militants also present at Zaman Park: Punjab minister
Government ensured that there was no loss of life at Zaman Park, says Amir Mir

Caretaker Punjab Information Minister Amir Mir Thursday said the government has ensured that there was no loss of life at Zaman Park and whenever the police went there, they had nothing but batons, helmets and shields.

Addressing a press conference at the office of IGP Punjab, he said the Punjab Police had assisted the Islamabad Police in complying with the Islamabad High Court (IHC) orders. He said dozens of policemen had been seriously injured in the incidents in the last three days. “Cases have been registered against all those involved in the violence,” he added.

Amir said Zaman Park had been made a no-go area and court orders were not allowed to be implemented for three consecutive days. The provincial minister said there were reports that some militants from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were also present there of which one belonged to Tehreek-e-Nifaz-e-Shariat-e-Mohammadi. He said the person was the right hand of Maulana Sufi Muhammad and had served eight years in prison.

The Punjab IGP said that the driver and another person had confessed to their crime in the Zille Shah case before the magistrate. The statement will be shared with the media as well and everything would become clear soon, he added.

To a question about why police did not have information about the violent activities of the protesters, he said that police were fully informed but wanted to ensure no loss of life. “It must be kept in mind that we were not in enemy territory.”
https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/1050878-militants-also-present-at-zaman-park-punjab-minister

good stuff from the police. They have handled this well.

Their lies have no bounds. The person they have named as a militant has denied all such allegations.

Zaman Park ‘militant’ issues video statement denying terror link

Mohammad Iqbal however has categorically denied any connection or contact with any banned organisation in a video statement.

He stated that he is a worker of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and had come to join the protest against the arrest of party chief Imran Khan. He also added that he has been a worker of PTI since October 28, 2022 and that propaganda was being spread against him.

In the video message, Mohammad Iqbal said, "I am not a part of any activity against the government, but as a worker of Tehreek-e-Insaf, I went to Zaman Park to support Imran Khan." He further added that the claims made by the Punjab government were baseless and unfounded.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2406435/zaman-park-militant-issues-video-statement-denying-terror-link

Their lies have no bounds. The person they have named as a militant has denied all such allegations.

Zaman Park ‘militant’ issues video statement denying terror link

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2406435/zaman-park-militant-issues-video-statement-denying-terror-link

you think the state is joking about these matters? There are terror factions and its the states duty to go after them. Even if a terrorist goes on to join PTI for gods sakes that doesnt mean theya re good guys.

If tomr Tehreek Taliban started supporting PTI i bet you would support them and defend their actions

you think the state is joking about these matters? There are terror factions and its the states duty to go after them. Even if a terrorist goes on to join PTI for gods sakes that doesnt mean theya re good guys.

If tomr Tehreek Taliban started supporting PTI i bet you would support them and defend their actions

The state should be taking terrorism seriously but instead they're focused on a vendetta against a single person - the head of the only National Political Party. This state is currently a Banana Republic - Case in point is that Rana Sanaullah has an arrest warrant in a case for terrorism. How come Rangers aren't at his house?

Their hypocrisy is so blatant that even their pro news channels have started asking them these questions

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8aoB_j10TYw" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

You know that Rani the coward also has an arrest warrant. Why is he doing press conferences when he should according to you be behind bars. Such is the stupidity of your posts. Should IK also be arrested for the murder of Zille Shah? Afterall he was named in FIR, then the same people claimed he was killed in accident, when they actually tortured him to death.

The state should be taking terrorism seriously but instead they're focused on a vendetta against a single person - the head of the only National Political Party. This state is currently a Banana Republic - Case in point is that Rana Sanaullah has an arrest warrant in a case for terrorism. How come Rangers aren't at his house?

Their hypocrisy is so blatant that even their pro news channels have started asking them these questions

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8aoB_j10TYw" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Look at the interviewer cacking his pants when asking the questions.

You know that Rani the coward also has an arrest warrant. Why is he doing press conferences when he should according to you be behind bars. Such is the stupidity of your posts. Should IK also be arrested for the murder of Zille Shah? Afterall he was named in FIR, then the same people claimed he was killed in accident, when they actually tortured him to death.

ok here you go,

rana ko arrest keya jaye.

you are whining as if i make the decisions of the country :))

Scenes of Imran Khan leaving for Lahore High Court

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عمران خان کے لاہور ہائیکورٹ روانگی کے مناظر <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%DA%86%D9%84%D9%88_%DA%86%D9%84%D9%88_%D8%B9%D9%85%D8%B1%D8%A7%D9%86_%DA%A9%DB%92_%D8%B3%D8%A7%D8%AA%DA%BE?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#چلو_چلو_عمران_کے_ساتھ</a> <a href="https://t.co/EkvYSVw5KH">pic.twitter.com/EkvYSVw5KH</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1636696997821313024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What do all these people who are stationed outside Imran Khan’s house everyday do for a living? 1-2 days I can understand but there seems to be massive crowds everyday. It looks genuine so not sure if this is paid or due to funding.

There is no way in the current economic situation a rediwaala or sabziwaala will halt his business. He might set up a stall outside for the protestors but that’s about it.

If these guys go back to work and pay taxes a lot of economic issues might be solved.

By the way I will say the same thing for useless dharnas in India too.

Pakistan court rejects ex-PM Khan’s plea to suspend warrant

A Pakistani court has rejected a petition from former prime minister Imran Khan’s lawyers to suspend a warrant for him to appear in court in a graft case linked to his term in office.

It is a development that increases the likelihood of another police bid to arrest the ousted premier.

Mr Khan has been holed up in his home in the eastern city of Lahore, where clashes erupted earlier this week when police tried to detain him after he failed to show up at an earlier court hearing in the case.

Mr Khan, who was ousted from office last April, is facing charges in several legal cases, including the graft case, and also terrorism, over verbally threatening a female judge last year.

He is now due to appear in court in the capital, Islamabad, on Saturday to answer the indictment that he had illegally sold state gifts as prime minister and concealed assets.

Judge Zafar Iqbal ruled against suspending the warrant after hearing arguments from Mr Khan’s lawyer Khawaja Haris and the prosecution.

The judge explained his decision by saying Mr Khan had forfeited some of his rights with “his defiance of the court process”.

Also on Thursday, a Lahore High Court extended a pause in the effort to arrest Mr Khan, easing tensions in the city after clashes erupted earlier this week when police tried to detain him.

His supporters amassed outside Mr Khan’s residence as police fired tear gas and fought back baton-wielding officers for two days.

The pause — in effect until Friday morning — was seen as a reprieve for the 70-year-old opposition leader.

The courts have also barred Mr Khan and his Pakistan Tehree-e-Insaf opposition party from holding a rally on Sunday ahead of elections for the assembly in Punjab, where Lahore is the provincial capital.

Thursday’s order sent a wave of relief among Mr Khan’s supporters — though security forces deployed around his home were still at the scene.

Usman Anwar, the Punjab police chief, said police would “comply with the court order”.

Mr Khan has claimed his ousting was a conspiracy by his successor, Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif, and the United States.

Both Washington and Mr Sharif’s government have denied the allegations.

Saad Hassan, a lawyer for Pakistan’s election tribunal, said on Thursday that Mr Khan has been avoiding court hearings since January.

Violence erupted in Lahore on Tuesday when about 1,000 Khan supporters clashed with police when they tried to arrest the former premier at his house in the upscale Zaman Park neighbourhood. ]

Mr Khan’s supporters hurled petrol bombs, rocks and bricks at police. Officers responded by swinging batons, firing tear gas and using water cannons. They failed to arrest Mr Khan.

On Wednesday, Mr Khan said in a video message that he is ready to travel to Islamabad on Saturday to appear in court. He posed for cameras with piles of spent tear gas shells he said have been collected from around his home.

“What crime did I commit that my house has been attacked like this?” he tweeted at the time.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/ukne...p&cvid=75f95e8a4fcf49c99a6be0c2aab639b5&ei=30

The jealousy, hate and lies are just so palpable.

Not that there is any evidence of Imran being a drug addict, but I think majority of our nation will still accept him as a leader over a flaming queen whose drug lord dad killed his mother and uncle and thieves who looted our wealth to settle with their children and grandchildren in the UK.

At least he is still in the country fighting for the people.

Pakistan court rejects ex-PM Khan’s plea to suspend warrant

A Pakistani court has rejected a petition from former prime minister Imran Khan’s lawyers to suspend a warrant for him to appear in court in a graft case linked to his term in office.

It is a development that increases the likelihood of another police bid to arrest the ousted premier.

Mr Khan has been holed up in his home in the eastern city of Lahore, where clashes erupted earlier this week when police tried to detain him after he failed to show up at an earlier court hearing in the case.

Mr Khan, who was ousted from office last April, is facing charges in several legal cases, including the graft case, and also terrorism, over verbally threatening a female judge last year.

He is now due to appear in court in the capital, Islamabad, on Saturday to answer the indictment that he had illegally sold state gifts as prime minister and concealed assets.

Judge Zafar Iqbal ruled against suspending the warrant after hearing arguments from Mr Khan’s lawyer Khawaja Haris and the prosecution.

The judge explained his decision by saying Mr Khan had forfeited some of his rights with “his defiance of the court process”.

Also on Thursday, a Lahore High Court extended a pause in the effort to arrest Mr Khan, easing tensions in the city after clashes erupted earlier this week when police tried to detain him.

His supporters amassed outside Mr Khan’s residence as police fired tear gas and fought back baton-wielding officers for two days.

The pause — in effect until Friday morning — was seen as a reprieve for the 70-year-old opposition leader.

The courts have also barred Mr Khan and his Pakistan Tehree-e-Insaf opposition party from holding a rally on Sunday ahead of elections for the assembly in Punjab, where Lahore is the provincial capital.

Thursday’s order sent a wave of relief among Mr Khan’s supporters — though security forces deployed around his home were still at the scene.

Usman Anwar, the Punjab police chief, said police would “comply with the court order”.

Mr Khan has claimed his ousting was a conspiracy by his successor, Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif, and the United States.

Both Washington and Mr Sharif’s government have denied the allegations.

Saad Hassan, a lawyer for Pakistan’s election tribunal, said on Thursday that Mr Khan has been avoiding court hearings since January.

Violence erupted in Lahore on Tuesday when about 1,000 Khan supporters clashed with police when they tried to arrest the former premier at his house in the upscale Zaman Park neighbourhood. ]

Mr Khan’s supporters hurled petrol bombs, rocks and bricks at police. Officers responded by swinging batons, firing tear gas and using water cannons. They failed to arrest Mr Khan.

On Wednesday, Mr Khan said in a video message that he is ready to travel to Islamabad on Saturday to appear in court. He posed for cameras with piles of spent tear gas shells he said have been collected from around his home.

“What crime did I commit that my house has been attacked like this?” he tweeted at the time.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/ukne...p&cvid=75f95e8a4fcf49c99a6be0c2aab639b5&ei=30

So a judge says you forfeit your rights if you defy criminals
Who themselves broke the law.I hope someone makes a note of this judge. What's sauce for you goose, is sauce for the gander

ok here you go,

rana ko arrest keya jaye.

you are whining as if i make the decisions of the country :))

Why hasn't he been Arrested. Doesn't the law apply to criminals like Rana, he killed 14 people at Model Town, and today he is still walking around and no one has been charged.

Hence, which is why had you lived in Pakistan you would know what you are talking about. But because you live overseas, in your mind grade 17 and above govt employees are corrupt.

You really are a clueless guy.

Did you grow up on corrupt army blood money?

They are worse than corrupt, they are incompetent and evil. Our bureaucracy is amongst the most corrupt in the World and if you live in PK, surely you know that. Illiterate crooks

W

There is no way in the current economic situation a rediwaala or sabziwaala will halt his business. He might set up a stall outside for the protestors but that’s about it.

I think one needs to see the ground reality of Pakistan before reading too much into economic situation.

Most people are seemingly doing fine - not been myself but recent family trip (minus me) where everyone was astonished at the spending habits and living habits of average Pakistanis.

I speak regularly with my father who moved back 2 years ago and there is a real disconnect between Pakistans on the ground 'economy' and what is documented.

Of course the situation is not amazingly rosy but its not quite life or death for sabsiwala if they close their business for two days.

I see every educated person in pak consdiers Khan as saviour except those who sucks the blood of poors. Now you know what i said. The YDA in KPK hwo I have been a part of in the past is doing the same. None of them perfroms thier dutyies and then blames government for everything.

You can see these grade 17 leeches telling another leech that Kaptaan is no good. [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] why are these leeches so corrupt?

With the people behind you no government, police or army can touch you.

Amazing scenes with IK being protected by the public of Pakistan.

I wonder if Zardari and Nawaz would get so much protection from the people of Pakistan in a similar situation?

So Maryam says PTI is a terrorist organistion. And another said Imran Khan shot himself. :))

Why are the PLMN women so thick? Did Nawaz even send these creatures to school?

I think one needs to see the ground reality of Pakistan before reading too much into economic situation.

Most people are seemingly doing fine - not been myself but recent family trip (minus me) where everyone was astonished at the spending habits and living habits of average Pakistanis.

I speak regularly with my father who moved back 2 years ago and there is a real disconnect between Pakistans on the ground 'economy' and what is documented.

Of course the situation is not amazingly rosy but its not quite life or death for sabsiwala if they close their business for two days.

Thats correct, those running their own business are actually untouched because they unload the extra burden on the consumers. Taxation is almost non existent for them in Pakistan, which is one ofhte reasons our government is close to defaulting.

Even a rehri/tangay wala is doing fine there. Its the middle class mulazmet pesha tabqa thats is feeling the heat but still the overall spending habits dont see too much of a change. Pakistan as a nation loves to eat and clothe well. the show shaw factor cannot be understated here. lol

A poor country for rich people (well not all rich but you get the gist)

So Maryam says PTI is a terrorist organistion. And another said Imran Khan shot himself. :))

Why are the PLMN women so thick? Did Nawaz even send these creatures to school?

Why bother with school when they can buy fake degrees

Yep sure.

Throughout history there have been dynasties of families ruling nations or lands for many years. They may have all been thieves or crooks but they had some self respect. They would educate their kids to a high standard and coach them on how to talk in public. These clowns have no shame at all. Even though Bilawal went to Oxford but still talks like a child. Without politics these families would be on the streets begging.

Yep sure.

Throughout history there have been dynasties of families ruling nations or lands for many years. They may have all been thieves or crooks but they had some self respect. They would educate their kids to a high standard and coach them on how to talk in public. These clowns have no shame at all. Even though Bilawal went to Oxford but still talks like a child. Without politics these families would be on the streets begging.

It's a real failure of the parents.
At the very least it gives their children the opportunity to fight the mistakes made by their parents. Of course I'm not trying to justify dynastic politics..

Oxford? His mother went there too and I know for a fact that she wasn't the brightest tool when she was at school.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The fascist Imported govt & their handlers continue to target our workers & ldrship. Today they have arbitrarily arrested more than 70 of our workers in Islamabad. This is condemnable & absolutely unacceptable. They must be released immediately.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1636801401886998531?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What do all these people who are stationed outside Imran Khan’s house everyday do for a living? 1-2 days I can understand but there seems to be massive crowds everyday. It looks genuine so not sure if this is paid or due to funding.

If these guys go back to work and pay taxes a lot of economic issues might be solved.

By the way I will say the same thing for useless dharnas in India too.

Most of the people outside IK's house are from the local area. Granted I've seen news that a sizeable amount of Pashtuns have gone all the way from KPK to IK's house but I'm guessing they're still the minority.

Lastly, people protesting should be the least of our worries right now, we should be talking about the reason for these protests as it's clear that a ton of people are willing to sacrifice their time and money for it.

The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Friday granted PTI Chairman Imran Khan protective bail in nine cases registered against him in Lahore and Islamabad, eight of which were registered under terrorism charges.

Out of the eight terrorism cases, five were registered in Islamabad — including two for vandalism at the Islamabad Judicial Complex and high court — and three in Lahore — including two for violence on March 8 and obstructing police from arresting Imran in the Zaman Park operation.

A two-judge LHC bench granted Imran protective bail in the terrorism cases registered in Lahore till March 27. For the cases in Islamabad, he was granted protective bail till March 24.

PTI leader Farrukh Habib also tweeted the development.

Separately, a single LHC bench granted the PTI chief protective bail till March 27 in a case registered at the Sarwar Road police station following the death of PTI worker Ali Bilal. The court also sought a report on the cases registered against Imran in Punjab.

PTI workers and lawyers celebrated outside the LHC as the verdicts were announced.

Key developments:

LHC grants Imran protective bail in 9 cases
IHC suspends Imran arrest warrants till March 18
LHC extends bar on police action at Zaman Park till 3pm today
PTI supporters stand guard outside party chairman’s residence to prevent possible arrest
PTI chief says he will appear before Islamabad sessions court on March 18
Rana Sanaullah says the government will follow due legal process regarding Imran’s arrest
Imran arrived at the LHC in scenes reminiscent of his earlier appearance on February 20. The PTI chairman had made his way to the LHC after deciding to file separate petitions seeking protective bail in nine first information reports (FIRs) registered against him in Islamabad and Lahore.

Ahead of Imran’s arrival, the LHC had directed Punjab police chief Dr Usman Anwar to facilitate the PTI chief in reaching court. The court initially said that it would hear Imran’s pleas for protective bail at 5pm but later granted time till 5:30pm.

Imran arrived at the LHC a little after 5:30pm accompanied by droves of PTI supporters. His vehicle was allowed to enter the LHC premises after seeking permission from the registrar’s office.

Footage broadcast on TV showed his vehicle entering court premises while some of his caravan was stopped at the gate. A large number of lawyers were also seen inside the court premises.

However, Imran finally entered the courtroom nearly an hour after arriving at the court premises. Footage broadcast on TV showed police in anti-riot gear shielding the PTI chief as he entered the courtroom.

LHC hearing
As the hearing commenced before the two-judge bench, comprising Justice Tariq Saleem Sheikh and Justice Farooq Haider, Imran’s lawyer Azhar Siddique said Imran had filed pleas for protective bail in order to appear before the relevant courts.

He further said that Imran had also not been informed of the details of some of the cases registered against him. At this, Justice Sheikh said that the court would only grant bail in the cases filed before it.

Taking the rostrum, Imran said that there were so many cases registered against him that when he was granted bail in one, yet another would be registered.

Referring to the police operation at Zaman Park, he said that it had never happened before. He thanked the LHC for stopping the police operation, saying that the court “saved him”.

Justice Sheikh told the PTI chief that “the solution for all problems is found within the law”. He said that it would be better if Imran “went with the system”.

“There was an assassination attempt on me,” Imran said, adding that a suicide attack had previously occurred at the court in Islamabad he was supposed to appear before.

“I believe in rule of law. I cannot even imagine not appearing before the courts,” Imran said.

“You have to bring yourself into the system,” Justice Sheikh said. “There was no problem in this case. You mishandled it,” the judge said.

“There are 94 cases against me. If six more are registered, it will make it a century,” Imran quipped. Subsequently, the two-judge LHC bench granted Imran protective bail in eight terrorism cases.

Shortly after, a single LHC bench heard Imran’s plea against the case registered against him regarding the death of PTI worker Ali Bilal. His lawyer called on the court to grant his client protective bail so that he could appear before the relevant court.

PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry said that a “FIR was filed against everyone, including Imran Khan, in two hours” following Bilal’s death.

Imran’s lawyer said that a case was registered at the Sarwar Road police station and urged the court to grant his client 10-day protective bail. “This is the Zille Shah case,” he added.

Granting the request, the court granted protective bail till March 27.

Imran’s lawyer also contended that authorities were not informing the PTI chief about the details of the cases registered against him. He said that no disciplinary action should be taken against Imran until the details of the cases were disclosed.

At this, the lawyer for the federal government said that he was not aware of how many cases there were and in which provinces. He contended that he was representing the federal government.

Subsequently, the LHC sought a report on the details of the cases registered against Imran across Punjab by Tuesday and also stopped any disciplinary action against the PTI chief.

IHC suspends Imran’s arrest warrants
Earlier today, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) suspended non-bailable arrest warrants issued for Imran till March 18, providing him with a chance to appear before the trial court hearing the Toshakhana reference against the former premier.

Embroiled in legal complexities, Imran has been resisting arrest in the Toshakhana case and is holed up inside his Zaman Park residence surrounded by hundreds of supporters, who have fought “pitched battles” with the police and Rangers over the past few days.

The Islamabad police, backed up by their Punjab Police compatriots and the Rangers, arrived at the ex-premier’s house on Tuesday to execute non-bailable arrest warrants issued by an Islamabad sessions court for him in the Toshakhana reference — in which he has skipped several hearings.

However, the law enforcement agencies retreated on Wednesday evening, saying that the operation had been paused during the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL). Separately, the LHC had also intervened and postponed the operation.

On Thursday, an Islamabad sessions court — where PTI had gone for the suspension of Imran’s arrest warrants — upheld the warrants that it issued, observing that the PTI chief had “challenged the dignity and writ of the state”. It also maintained its order to arrest the ex-premier and present him in court by March 18.

Earlier today, the former prime minister filed yet another petition in the IHC challenging the verdict of the trial court. In the plea, Imran prayed that the trial court’s order be set aside and his arrest warrants be suspended “till the final disposal of the petition” so that the PTI chief could appear in court on March 18.

During the hearing, Imran’s lawyer Khawaja Haris submitted an undertaking by his client, assuring that the PTI chief would appear in court on March 18.

At the outset of the hearing, the court inquired about the basis on which the trial court rejected the undertaking provided by Imran to which Haris said the trial court stated that non-bailable warrants could not be cancelled.

The lawyer also stated that Imran had security concerns.

“I have been informed by the administration that security arrangements were being made. The trial court judge has also issued orders in this regard and I will ensure this as well,” Justice Farooq said.

He also warned that contempt of court proceedings could be initiated against Imran if he violated the undertaking submitted.

“My client will appear in court tomorrow no matter what happens,” Imran’s lawyer replied.

Subsequently, Justice Farooq suspended Imran’s arrest warrants till the sessions court’s hearing tomorrow and stopped Islamabad police from “harassing” him.

He also instructed Imran to appear in the trial court on March 18.

“The petitioner shall also ensure the law and order situation is not disturbed in Islamabad Capital Territory on his appearance before the learned trial court,” the written verdict reads, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com.

It also added that the Islamabad police will ensure “providing of proper and adequate security measures to the petitioner and all concerned”.

Habib later tweeted that the location for tomorrow’s hearing was shifted from F-8 Court Complex to the Islamabad Judicial Complex due to “security concerns”.

LHC bars police action at Zaman Park
Earlier today, while hearing Chaudhry’s plea against police action at Zaman Park, the LHC extended its bar on the police operation for Imran’s arrest.

The court previously twice stopped the police operation outside the ex-premier’s residence and instructed the Punjab police and PTI to sit together and resolve the matter after consultation.

Ahead of the hearing today, Chaudhry tweeted that both parties have “agreed to resolve the issues” and the agreed solution will be presented in court today.

As the hearing commenced, Chaudhry praised the judge, saying “you have saved Pakistan and Lahore in the last two days.”

“You have saved lives with your intervention,” he added.

The PTI leader stated that his party delegation had a meeting with the Punjab police chief and chief secretary to discuss matters related to PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s security.

Chaudhry stated that the Punjab government had assured the delegation that due security would be provided to the PTI chief. He also informed the court that the PTI’s public gathering at the Minar-e-Pakistan, originally planned for Sunday, would be held on Monday instead.

Furthermore, he told the court that a plea for protective bail for the party chief had been filed.

The judge then pointed out that there were two separate matters. “One of them is being heard in the Islamabad High Court and the other in a trial court,” he said, questioning how his court could hear the matter.

“We request that the police not arrest our workers,” he added, addressing the IG.

The judge remarked that those who committed “injustice,” regardless of their affiliation, must be dealt with according to the law. “We have cameras everywhere, and the faces of those who commit wrongdoing can be easily identified,” Justice Sheikh added.

The PTI lawyer told the judge: “We want our client to visit you for the hearing of his plea.”

“It is possible that the case may not be assigned to me,” the judge responded.

The provincial police chief told the court that the PTI had agreed to nominate a focal person, adding the police also told them that no area would be allowed to be turned into a “no-go” zone.

The judge asked the PTI leader to follow proper legal procedures if their legitimate demands were not met.

The IGP requested the court to issue directions on how to execute search warrants.

The advocate general of Punjab informed the court that the police did not have access to Zaman Park to carry out legal formalities.

Chaudhry argued that the police were seeking permission to arrest people. “They [law enforcers] have filed one FIR against 2,500 people,” he said.

PTI lawyer Khawaja Tariq Rahim informed the court that two warrants had been issued, one against Imran and the other against Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah.

He then asked the police chief to update the court on the non-implementation of the warrant issued for Sanaullah. The lawyer assured the court that his client would appear before it.

The IGP reiterated his request to visit Zaman Park.

“How will you satisfy them?” Justice Sheikh asked the IG and then instructed all parties concerned to sit together and find a solution.

After hearing arguments, Justice Sheikh said that the case would be heard again at 3pm. As a result, the bar on police action in Zaman Park was extended for another three hours.

When the hearing resumed, the advocate general told the court that PTI and Punjab government reached an arrangement and read out the terms of reference in court.

The document, that Dawn.com has seen, listed the following agreements:

Guidelines approved by the provincial cabinet on July 31, 2020, for the provision of security would be followed.
PTI nominates Shibli Faraz as the party’s focal person to liaise with the security agencies. He will present an application for the “provision of adequate security” to the competent authorities.
PTI agrees to carry out an internal security audit at their end, in which the Punjab deputy inspector general (security) could also be taken on board.
PTI agrees to “facilitate the execution of warrants/search warrants/making of site plan [and] all aspects of the investigative process” related to the cases registered on March 14 and 15.
PTI’s March 19 rally at Minar-e-Pakistan is to now be held on March 20.
Will appear in court in person on March 18: Imran
In an interview with France 24 on Thursday night, Imran asserted that he would appear before the Islamabad sessions court in person on March 18.

“Yes, of course I’m going to court on the 18th,” Imran said when the host asked him if would be going to court tomorrow. “And they knew it.”

The PTI chief described the events outside his residence in the last few days as a “battle”, saying that “nearly 5,000 police and Rangers” personnel had arrived at Zaman Park to arrest him “without any reason”.

“I have obtained protective bail, which means that the police cannot arrest me before March 18, yet they came to arrest me … I felt like I was a terrorist,” he said. “So a clash erupted between my supporters and the police.

“I decided to give them [the police] a surety bond that I will appear in court on March 18 but they refused to take it because they were determined to arrest me and it was for the wrong cause,” Imran claimed.

He went on to say that the incumbent government wanted him to get arrested because they were scared of the upcoming elections in Punjab on April 30 and “wanted to put me in jail before that”.

“My house was a battle zone … they used tear gas, rubber bullets and bullets, water cannons … this has never happened in Pakistan before … no political leader has suffered such an attack.

“The level of victimisation going on in this country is unprecedented,” Imran added, reiterating that the main reason behind the arrest attempts was that “they don’t want me to compete in the elections”.

On Friday, Dawn.com’s correspondent present outside Zaman Park said that police were not present in the vicinity, but hordes of PTI supporters outside Imran’s house were armed with sticks and stones, prepared for any police operation.

Govt to follow due judicial process: Sanaullah
Meanwhile, explaining the government’s thought process behind the recent events, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah said that the “strategy employed” was aimed at creating an “environment” in which the PTI chief would be induced to appear in court.

Talking to Geo News on Friday morning, he said: “More than aiming for [Imran’s] arrest, we have to create an environment in which it would be made clear that the court has called you (Imran) and [then] you appear there.”

He predicted that the PTI will appear in court on March 18. “If he does not appear [in court], then it is possible that we might have to change our strategy a bit.”

Sanaullah also said that in such a case, the PML-N would take Imran to court itself and “from there, the court will punish him”.

“We will also make sure that the judicial process is fair,” he added.

Later in a tweet, he said that Imran did not feel any danger while holding a rally and warned that if the PTI chief didn’t appear in court on March 18, the government will have to become strict.

The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Friday granted PTI Chairman Imran Khan protective bail in nine cases registered against him in Lahore and Islamabad, eight of which were registered under terrorism charges.

Out of the eight terrorism cases, five were registered in Islamabad — including two for vandalism at the Islamabad Judicial Complex and high court — and three in Lahore — including two for violence on March 8 and obstructing police from arresting Imran in the Zaman Park operation.

A two-judge LHC bench granted Imran protective bail in the terrorism cases registered in Lahore till March 27. For the cases in Islamabad, he was granted protective bail till March 24.

PTI leader Farrukh Habib also tweeted the development.

Separately, a single LHC bench granted the PTI chief protective bail till March 27 in a case registered at the Sarwar Road police station following the death of PTI worker Ali Bilal. The court also sought a report on the cases registered against Imran in Punjab.

PTI workers and lawyers celebrated outside the LHC as the verdicts were announced.

Key developments:

LHC grants Imran protective bail in 9 cases
IHC suspends Imran arrest warrants till March 18
LHC extends bar on police action at Zaman Park till 3pm today
PTI supporters stand guard outside party chairman’s residence to prevent possible arrest
PTI chief says he will appear before Islamabad sessions court on March 18
Rana Sanaullah says the government will follow due legal process regarding Imran’s arrest
Imran arrived at the LHC in scenes reminiscent of his earlier appearance on February 20. The PTI chairman had made his way to the LHC after deciding to file separate petitions seeking protective bail in nine first information reports (FIRs) registered against him in Islamabad and Lahore.

Ahead of Imran’s arrival, the LHC had directed Punjab police chief Dr Usman Anwar to facilitate the PTI chief in reaching court. The court initially said that it would hear Imran’s pleas for protective bail at 5pm but later granted time till 5:30pm.

Imran arrived at the LHC a little after 5:30pm accompanied by droves of PTI supporters. His vehicle was allowed to enter the LHC premises after seeking permission from the registrar’s office.

Footage broadcast on TV showed his vehicle entering court premises while some of his caravan was stopped at the gate. A large number of lawyers were also seen inside the court premises.

However, Imran finally entered the courtroom nearly an hour after arriving at the court premises. Footage broadcast on TV showed police in anti-riot gear shielding the PTI chief as he entered the courtroom.

LHC hearing
As the hearing commenced before the two-judge bench, comprising Justice Tariq Saleem Sheikh and Justice Farooq Haider, Imran’s lawyer Azhar Siddique said Imran had filed pleas for protective bail in order to appear before the relevant courts.

He further said that Imran had also not been informed of the details of some of the cases registered against him. At this, Justice Sheikh said that the court would only grant bail in the cases filed before it.

Taking the rostrum, Imran said that there were so many cases registered against him that when he was granted bail in one, yet another would be registered.

Referring to the police operation at Zaman Park, he said that it had never happened before. He thanked the LHC for stopping the police operation, saying that the court “saved him”.

Justice Sheikh told the PTI chief that “the solution for all problems is found within the law”. He said that it would be better if Imran “went with the system”.

“There was an assassination attempt on me,” Imran said, adding that a suicide attack had previously occurred at the court in Islamabad he was supposed to appear before.

“I believe in rule of law. I cannot even imagine not appearing before the courts,” Imran said.

“You have to bring yourself into the system,” Justice Sheikh said. “There was no problem in this case. You mishandled it,” the judge said.

“There are 94 cases against me. If six more are registered, it will make it a century,” Imran quipped. Subsequently, the two-judge LHC bench granted Imran protective bail in eight terrorism cases.

Shortly after, a single LHC bench heard Imran’s plea against the case registered against him regarding the death of PTI worker Ali Bilal. His lawyer called on the court to grant his client protective bail so that he could appear before the relevant court.

PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry said that a “FIR was filed against everyone, including Imran Khan, in two hours” following Bilal’s death.

Imran’s lawyer said that a case was registered at the Sarwar Road police station and urged the court to grant his client 10-day protective bail. “This is the Zille Shah case,” he added.

Granting the request, the court granted protective bail till March 27.

Imran’s lawyer also contended that authorities were not informing the PTI chief about the details of the cases registered against him. He said that no disciplinary action should be taken against Imran until the details of the cases were disclosed.

At this, the lawyer for the federal government said that he was not aware of how many cases there were and in which provinces. He contended that he was representing the federal government.

Subsequently, the LHC sought a report on the details of the cases registered against Imran across Punjab by Tuesday and also stopped any disciplinary action against the PTI chief.

IHC suspends Imran’s arrest warrants
Earlier today, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) suspended non-bailable arrest warrants issued for Imran till March 18, providing him with a chance to appear before the trial court hearing the Toshakhana reference against the former premier.

Embroiled in legal complexities, Imran has been resisting arrest in the Toshakhana case and is holed up inside his Zaman Park residence surrounded by hundreds of supporters, who have fought “pitched battles” with the police and Rangers over the past few days.

The Islamabad police, backed up by their Punjab Police compatriots and the Rangers, arrived at the ex-premier’s house on Tuesday to execute non-bailable arrest warrants issued by an Islamabad sessions court for him in the Toshakhana reference — in which he has skipped several hearings.

However, the law enforcement agencies retreated on Wednesday evening, saying that the operation had been paused during the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL). Separately, the LHC had also intervened and postponed the operation.

On Thursday, an Islamabad sessions court — where PTI had gone for the suspension of Imran’s arrest warrants — upheld the warrants that it issued, observing that the PTI chief had “challenged the dignity and writ of the state”. It also maintained its order to arrest the ex-premier and present him in court by March 18.

Earlier today, the former prime minister filed yet another petition in the IHC challenging the verdict of the trial court. In the plea, Imran prayed that the trial court’s order be set aside and his arrest warrants be suspended “till the final disposal of the petition” so that the PTI chief could appear in court on March 18.

During the hearing, Imran’s lawyer Khawaja Haris submitted an undertaking by his client, assuring that the PTI chief would appear in court on March 18.

At the outset of the hearing, the court inquired about the basis on which the trial court rejected the undertaking provided by Imran to which Haris said the trial court stated that non-bailable warrants could not be cancelled.

The lawyer also stated that Imran had security concerns.

“I have been informed by the administration that security arrangements were being made. The trial court judge has also issued orders in this regard and I will ensure this as well,” Justice Farooq said.

He also warned that contempt of court proceedings could be initiated against Imran if he violated the undertaking submitted.

“My client will appear in court tomorrow no matter what happens,” Imran’s lawyer replied.

Subsequently, Justice Farooq suspended Imran’s arrest warrants till the sessions court’s hearing tomorrow and stopped Islamabad police from “harassing” him.

He also instructed Imran to appear in the trial court on March 18.

“The petitioner shall also ensure the law and order situation is not disturbed in Islamabad Capital Territory on his appearance before the learned trial court,” the written verdict reads, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com.

It also added that the Islamabad police will ensure “providing of proper and adequate security measures to the petitioner and all concerned”.

Habib later tweeted that the location for tomorrow’s hearing was shifted from F-8 Court Complex to the Islamabad Judicial Complex due to “security concerns”.

LHC bars police action at Zaman Park
Earlier today, while hearing Chaudhry’s plea against police action at Zaman Park, the LHC extended its bar on the police operation for Imran’s arrest.

The court previously twice stopped the police operation outside the ex-premier’s residence and instructed the Punjab police and PTI to sit together and resolve the matter after consultation.

Ahead of the hearing today, Chaudhry tweeted that both parties have “agreed to resolve the issues” and the agreed solution will be presented in court today.

As the hearing commenced, Chaudhry praised the judge, saying “you have saved Pakistan and Lahore in the last two days.”

“You have saved lives with your intervention,” he added.

The PTI leader stated that his party delegation had a meeting with the Punjab police chief and chief secretary to discuss matters related to PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s security.

Chaudhry stated that the Punjab government had assured the delegation that due security would be provided to the PTI chief. He also informed the court that the PTI’s public gathering at the Minar-e-Pakistan, originally planned for Sunday, would be held on Monday instead.

Furthermore, he told the court that a plea for protective bail for the party chief had been filed.

The judge then pointed out that there were two separate matters. “One of them is being heard in the Islamabad High Court and the other in a trial court,” he said, questioning how his court could hear the matter.

“We request that the police not arrest our workers,” he added, addressing the IG.

The judge remarked that those who committed “injustice,” regardless of their affiliation, must be dealt with according to the law. “We have cameras everywhere, and the faces of those who commit wrongdoing can be easily identified,” Justice Sheikh added.

The PTI lawyer told the judge: “We want our client to visit you for the hearing of his plea.”

“It is possible that the case may not be assigned to me,” the judge responded.

The provincial police chief told the court that the PTI had agreed to nominate a focal person, adding the police also told them that no area would be allowed to be turned into a “no-go” zone.

The judge asked the PTI leader to follow proper legal procedures if their legitimate demands were not met.

The IGP requested the court to issue directions on how to execute search warrants.

The advocate general of Punjab informed the court that the police did not have access to Zaman Park to carry out legal formalities.

Chaudhry argued that the police were seeking permission to arrest people. “They [law enforcers] have filed one FIR against 2,500 people,” he said.

PTI lawyer Khawaja Tariq Rahim informed the court that two warrants had been issued, one against Imran and the other against Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah.

He then asked the police chief to update the court on the non-implementation of the warrant issued for Sanaullah. The lawyer assured the court that his client would appear before it.

The IGP reiterated his request to visit Zaman Park.

“How will you satisfy them?” Justice Sheikh asked the IG and then instructed all parties concerned to sit together and find a solution.

After hearing arguments, Justice Sheikh said that the case would be heard again at 3pm. As a result, the bar on police action in Zaman Park was extended for another three hours.

When the hearing resumed, the advocate general told the court that PTI and Punjab government reached an arrangement and read out the terms of reference in court.

The document, that Dawn.com has seen, listed the following agreements:

Guidelines approved by the provincial cabinet on July 31, 2020, for the provision of security would be followed.
PTI nominates Shibli Faraz as the party’s focal person to liaise with the security agencies. He will present an application for the “provision of adequate security” to the competent authorities.
PTI agrees to carry out an internal security audit at their end, in which the Punjab deputy inspector general (security) could also be taken on board.
PTI agrees to “facilitate the execution of warrants/search warrants/making of site plan [and] all aspects of the investigative process” related to the cases registered on March 14 and 15.
PTI’s March 19 rally at Minar-e-Pakistan is to now be held on March 20.
Will appear in court in person on March 18: Imran
In an interview with France 24 on Thursday night, Imran asserted that he would appear before the Islamabad sessions court in person on March 18.

“Yes, of course I’m going to court on the 18th,” Imran said when the host asked him if would be going to court tomorrow. “And they knew it.”

The PTI chief described the events outside his residence in the last few days as a “battle”, saying that “nearly 5,000 police and Rangers” personnel had arrived at Zaman Park to arrest him “without any reason”.

“I have obtained protective bail, which means that the police cannot arrest me before March 18, yet they came to arrest me … I felt like I was a terrorist,” he said. “So a clash erupted between my supporters and the police.

“I decided to give them [the police] a surety bond that I will appear in court on March 18 but they refused to take it because they were determined to arrest me and it was for the wrong cause,” Imran claimed.

He went on to say that the incumbent government wanted him to get arrested because they were scared of the upcoming elections in Punjab on April 30 and “wanted to put me in jail before that”.

“My house was a battle zone … they used tear gas, rubber bullets and bullets, water cannons … this has never happened in Pakistan before … no political leader has suffered such an attack.

“The level of victimisation going on in this country is unprecedented,” Imran added, reiterating that the main reason behind the arrest attempts was that “they don’t want me to compete in the elections”.

On Friday, Dawn.com’s correspondent present outside Zaman Park said that police were not present in the vicinity, but hordes of PTI supporters outside Imran’s house were armed with sticks and stones, prepared for any police operation.

Govt to follow due judicial process: Sanaullah
Meanwhile, explaining the government’s thought process behind the recent events, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah said that the “strategy employed” was aimed at creating an “environment” in which the PTI chief would be induced to appear in court.

Talking to Geo News on Friday morning, he said: “More than aiming for [Imran’s] arrest, we have to create an environment in which it would be made clear that the court has called you (Imran) and [then] you appear there.”

He predicted that the PTI will appear in court on March 18. “If he does not appear [in court], then it is possible that we might have to change our strategy a bit.”

Sanaullah also said that in such a case, the PML-N would take Imran to court itself and “from there, the court will punish him”.

“We will also make sure that the judicial process is fair,” he added.

Later in a tweet, he said that Imran did not feel any danger while holding a rally and warned that if the PTI chief didn’t appear in court on March 18, the government will have to become strict.

None of these cases have any legs. These are blackmail tactics to force Kaptaan to back off from feeing PK from local and Foreign rulers.

Congrats to PTI fans.

Food for thought: wouldn’t all that state expenses, injuries, putting policemen and protestors and even innocent bystanders at risk been avoided had this been decided a couple of days back?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The fascist Imported govt & their handlers continue to target our workers & ldrship. Today they have arbitrarily arrested more than 70 of our workers in Islamabad. This is condemnable & absolutely unacceptable. They must be released immediately.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1636801401886998531?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Congrats to PTI fans.

Food for thought: wouldn’t all that state expenses, injuries, putting policemen and protestors and even innocent bystanders at risk been avoided had this been decided a couple of days back?

I don't know.. is that your thinking?
You are well placed to advise as you also have a fascist right wing party governing your country. So what should the people of Pakistan do? What should PTI do in this situation?

Scenes of Imran Khan leaving for Lahore High Court

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عمران خان کے لاہور ہائیکورٹ روانگی کے مناظر <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%DA%86%D9%84%D9%88_%DA%86%D9%84%D9%88_%D8%B9%D9%85%D8%B1%D8%A7%D9%86_%DA%A9%DB%92_%D8%B3%D8%A7%D8%AA%DA%BE?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#چلو_چلو_عمران_کے_ساتھ</a> <a href="https://t.co/EkvYSVw5KH">pic.twitter.com/EkvYSVw5KH</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1636696997821313024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Shahzada.

Congrats to PTI fans.

Or the abuse of state power has been checked. Both on May 25th and on Nov, PTI was attacked by the state but obviously IK scares the Hindutuva and they forget basic facts. It's noticeable you guys like fascists like Modi

I don't know.. is that your thinking?
You are well placed to advise as you also have a fascist right wing party governing your country. So what should the people of Pakistan do? What should PTI do in this situation?

Since you brought up India I am responding about it, fascist or not is your opinion but fact is it is a stable and democratically elected government with full majority. So I definitely cannot draw equivalence with Pakistans political crisis.

I am not speaking for one side or the other. All I am pointing out is if this decision was taken earlier or one of the parties backed down all the loss of money and injuries to people could have been avoided. The money spent by the state is also Pakistan people’s money and so are the protestors and policemen. I am only saying this in favor of Pakistani people. Not sure what you misunderstood for getting confrontational. I don’t feel I said anything so out of place there.

Since you brought up India I am responding about it, fascist or not is your opinion but fact is it is a stable and democratically elected government with full majority. So I definitely cannot draw equivalence with Pakistans political crisis.

I am not speaking for one side or the other. All I am pointing out is if this decision was taken earlier or one of the parties backed down all the loss of money and injuries to people could have been avoided. The money spent by the state is also Pakistan people’s money and so are the protestors and policemen. I am only saying this in favor of Pakistani people. Not sure what you misunderstood for getting confrontational. I don’t feel I said anything so out of place there.

Your stable govt has a press that's ranked 180 in the World. That should tell all you need to know about your democratically elected govt.

Bro I can provide you so many other more legit indexes and ranking too which you won’t appreciate. Why exactly are you confronting me about Indian govt.? Is that even a topic. I gave my opinion about the situation. I don’t know why you are attacking Indian govt. there are a million other threads to discuss that and I am pretty sure I have felt your presence on every single one of them. So let’s take it there. Either ignore or counter. I am not going to indulge further on this.

Can’t disagree with any of that. But this is Pakistan. We don’t plan well. Besides this is the group of luteras in charge. They were the same guys who knew the difficult financial times ahead for the country and yet held elaborate pensive feasts for their people on govt’s dime when they took power from IK, took all their tout journalists for umra on chartered flights, etc.

You expect them to be frugal while trying to get rid of their main threat?

Congrats to PTI fans.

Yes but we don't have a normal govt so don't expect normal things.

Bro I can provide you so many other more legit indexes and ranking too which you won’t appreciate. Why exactly are you confronting me about Indian govt.? Is that even a topic. I gave my opinion about the situation. I don’t know why you are attacking Indian govt. there are a million other threads to discuss that and I am pretty sure I have felt your presence on every single one of them. So let’s take it there. Either ignore or counter. I am not going to indulge further on this.

My point is that 90% of Inds are anti IK on here, so the question is why? Well the underlying anger is IKs attacks on Modi and Ind govt over Kashmir. So that's why I attack the Ind posters because your posts are badniyaat. Your not commenting on the situation IK is facing but what he said against your precious PM and Ind state

Ok fair enough if you think Indians dislike IK but do you think Indians have special love for Bhutto family and Sharif family or the army?. In fact we all know who is holding the politicians back from at least normalizing some relations with India. So no, don’t think Indians especially our government will have more problem with IK more than Pak army or ISI.

Please follow the world news. Every major news media even in the west is broadcasting this whole political circus in Pakistan. You have quoted me 3 times and still haven’t addressed what I originally said pertaining to the thread topic.

These are chaotic times, you cannot reason with the turn of events, man.

I doubt any of them knows the full gravity of the situation. To them mostly it’s a repeated exercise of trying to stay in power but I believe this time the common man has had enough of it. Thanks to the connected world of social media, Pakistanis are more aware of the establishment mafia now than they ever were before and they do believe IK is their best hope forward. This almost a civil war we are witnessing. Such things cannot be planned.

Ok fair enough if you think Indians dislike IK but do you think Indians have special love for Bhutto family and Sharif family or the army?. In fact we all know who is holding the politicians back from at least normalizing some relations with India. So no, don’t think Indians especially our government will have more problem with IK more than Pak army or ISI.

Please follow the world news. Every major news media even in the west is broadcasting this whole political circus in Pakistan. You have quoted me 3 times and still haven’t addressed what I originally said pertaining to the thread topic.

Inds love anyone they think will damge PK. They know that AZ and NS will never allow PK to progress because a developed PK means death for their family businesses. That's why on any site you see, Inds trolling on their behalf
of these thugs. It doesn't even take any great insight to see what you guys do here or on social media.

Inds love anyone they think will damge PK. They know that AZ and NS will never allow PK to progress because a developed PK means death for their family businesses. That's why on any site you see, Inds trolling on their behalf
of these thugs. It doesn't even take any great insight to see what you guys do here or on social media.
Most of the people in India want Imran Khan back in power and getting next 10 years of Prime ministership.
He is doing what no outside force can do.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This image will remain with me for the rest of my life. The passionate cry for freedom while dancing and pouring water on his head to dilute the effects of tear gas.<br>MashaAllah a nation waking up finally and demanding freedom. <a href="https://t.co/FGCyKgPSKz">pic.twitter.com/FGCyKgPSKz</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1636933414329696256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 18, 2023</a></blockquote>