India v Pakistan | 2nd Test | Kolkata | 30/11/07 | Day 1

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
if it was just the fielding wouldn't be too much of a problem....but its their shitty attitude...looking at their boddy language they should hand kumble the trophy and take the next flight to dubai to pakistan n sit at home...
I cant see Malik today on field.

good accurate and tight bowling by Tanvir

pressure is building on Jaffar

Jaffer literally taking apart Tanvir...three 4s off his first three balls in the new spell..a toal of 4 fours this over!

good accurate and tight bowling by Tanvir

pressure is building on Jaffar

Yep....two balls in the over did not reach the boundary!

danish come on can you atleast hit the pad once...i mean just hit the pad...not got an LBW...bc that would be a miracle...

yk trying his best out there to keep things positive.... if malik was playing he'd be all negative.

waqar_ahmad said:
you are missing some crappy bowling from Kaneria. Akhtar and tanvir did give some problems early on, specially to dravid, but kaneria is just giving too many runs now

Thank you. So, no-one's chucking it, right, yet? :))

W63L35 said:
Yep....two balls in the over did not reach the boundary!

not bad bowling from tanvir .. jaffer just batting very well.

whats the point in giving away 16 runs in one over and bowling 2 maidens after?..anyway why r we cheering maiden overs in test cricket anyway..

siimo said:
Usman once Jaffer goes India will collapse :P

acha...as boycott will say 'my grandmother would look more threatening bowling out there than the pakistanis'

Plasma said:
good crowd, still empty spaces though. The match started at 9m, so it will get full in time. making a lot of noise but not the normal energy you see in india-pakistan clash. Not too many indian flags, and most of them are sitting even when they are on tv...
i will post some pics. :)

Thank you :)

Is Shoaib ok? as he has only bowled 4 overs till now
think he chould be brought back for 2 overs before lunch

Asim2Good said:
Is Shoaib ok? as he has only bowled 4 overs till now
think he chould be brought back for 2 overs before lunch

shoaib can prob bowl during lunch...bc this is the last over before lunch...

what do you say....shoaib during lunch would be quite usefull?

well if indians keep batting like this we will be looking around 600+ to chase.God help pakistan and should get a wicket soon.

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
shoaib can prob bowl during lunch...bc this is the last over before lunch...

what do you say....shoaib during lunch would be quite usefull?
Dont lose it just yet Usman. We are with you :))

Jaffer has had a terrific first session. He had touches of laxman there in some of the shots he played..

good to see the wrist slitters out after 1 session

1st session - India !

104/1

Great stuff by Jaffer and was well supported by Dravid ... I say so coz Dravid was rotating the strike well and gave Jaffer the strike when he was in such sublime touch ... Hope these two continue longer ...

The pitch has eased up a bit and not much lateral movement in it ... Sami and Tanveer might not have the penetration that they generally would in a bowler friendly pitch ... And with Kaneria not living up to his reputation, I see only Akhtar causing any sort of problems ...

so has india ever swept pakistan in a test series before....or has pakistan ever swept india in a test series before?

well if not...we might be in the process of making history here...

usually pretty optimistic...but really what concerns me is the lack of positive attitude...this team looks like a baloon with no air...is there a word for that?

i know a couple wickets are gonna fall in the next session but i have to go to sleep.. :(

bye guys.

Good Luck Pakistan.

good to see the wrist slitters out after 1 session

Hash are you watching the game or following on cricinfo?...i mean its great that Pakistan can just jump right back into this game by something spectacular from one of their players...but does this team look like a team to you?...i mean its a geniune question....even in this state my support is with this team...i have a 8 am meeting and i am gonna up watching the whole night...but really i just don't see the passion in pak...

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
usually pretty optimistic...but really what concerns me is the lack of positive attitude...this team looks like a baloon with no air...is there a word for that?

Positive attitude isnt a shirt that you wear when you play. There are ups and down in the game and sometimes a side can really take the wind out of the oposition. I dont know what positive attitude could have done to the sublime form of Jaffer. He hit perfectly good deliveries to all parts of ground.

JosheelaKaptan said:
Positive attitude isnt a shirt that you wear when you play. There are ups and down in the game and sometimes a side can really take the wind out of the oposition. I dont know what positive attitude could have done to the sublime form of Jaffer. He hit perfectly good deliveries to all parts of ground.

haha...well for starters it would be good to have bowlers who are willing to bowl then to have being foreced to bowl bc there is no one else to take their place...i mean bowlers are most effective when they are having fun bowling...bowlin just for the sake of bowling and jsut waiting for somethign to happen doesn't usually buy you a wicket...esp against the 'sublime form of Jaffer' ;-)

India has just won one session. No big deal in a test match which has 15 sessions. Pakistan can stage a come back any time.

jackal786 said:
India has just won one session. No big deal in a test match which has 15 sessions. Pakistan can stage a come back any time.

yea anytime after day 5...but thanks for being positive on our behalf

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
Hash are you watching the game or following on cricinfo?...i mean its great that Pakistan can just jump right back into this game by something spectacular from one of their players...but does this team look like a team to you?...i mean its a geniune question....even in this state my support is with this team...i have a 8 am meeting and i am gonna up watching the whole night...but really i just don't see the passion in pak...

Things can change very quickly. As we saw in the first test....india were 72 for 1 and suddenly 93 for 5. My point is simple...we have had one session of cricket in this test and already people are saying 'India 640 for 4 declared, India 3-0, Pakistan finished bla bla bla bhonk bhonk bhonk'. This is known on pakpassion as 'wrist slitting'. Whether that happens or not is currently irrelevent.

PlanetPakistan said:
bit disappointing to see Kaneria not getting any spin or bounce.

well i wasn't expecting much from him....small feet trying to fill in big shoes....

watch kumble on this pitch...he will be unplayable...even harbajhan might get more wickets than kaneira 'the strike bowler'

Things can change very quickly. As we saw in the first test....india were 72 for 1 and suddenly 93 for 5. My point is simple...we have had one session of cricket in this test and already people are saying 'India 640 for 4 declared, India 3-0, Pakistan finished bla bla bla bhonk bhonk bhonk'. This is known on pakpassion as 'wrist slitting'. Whether that happens or not is currently irrelevent.

well easy to call it that...instead of accepting the facts...have paksitan been flat? Yes...have they lacked passion throughout the tour? Yes...have we always given them the benefit and said next game they will be more passionate? Yes...have they disappointed us eachtime? Yes....can this game still change? Yes...does that change the fact that this team is relying on individual briliance of an akhtar or kaneira? a big NO....

those are the facts....nothing wrong in stating those right....what happens will happen....but denial can only go so far

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
well i wasn't expecting much from him....small feet trying to fill in big shoes....

watch kumble on this pitch...he will be unplayable...even harbajhan might get more wickets than kaneira 'the strike bowler'

what do you mean by "even". Bhajji 'results are much better than Kaneria.

Come on guys its only the first session so what if indian has scored a 100 + runs we are no way out or dead ,after lunch shoaib and co will make use of the old ball and when reverse swing will come into play "watch out india",E.O.D india will be 250-275 for 7 wickets down and tomarrow india all out for 350. Inshallah.

Jaffer has been in my opinion India's best batsmen in this series so far, so its not surprising he's playing well. Get a couple of wickets here and things can change very quickly. Although it seems like its a bit of a batting paradise.

One thing which I am disapointed about though is the run rate. To go at 4 RPO in a test match is just not acceptable.

genghis81 said:
Jaffer has been in my opinion India's best batsmen in this series so far, so its not surprising he's playing well. Get a couple of wickets here and things can change very quickly. Although it seems like its a bit of a batting paradise.

slow down there mate...wait till the other teams batting before you state that as a fact

genghis81 said:
true so far. But let us see Laxman in this match first.

I would advise Lawson and Younis to slap Sami silly after that session. When is this guy going to realise that line and length bowling will never be his forte. If he is to pick wickets, it has to be when he is going full out. I haven't seen a single 90+ delivery from Sami this whole series. He is trying to turn himself into a bowler he just cannot be

a few quick wickets required and we will be back in business. Someone give some nandrolone to kaneria

Usman Sahib said:
I would advise Lawson and Younis to slap Sami silly after that session. When is this guy going to realise that line and length bowling will never be his forte. If he is to pick wickets, it has to be when he is going full out. I haven't seen a single 90+ delivery from Sami this whole series. He is trying to turn himself into a bowler he just cannot be

Do you think Sami is bowlign line and length stuff without the coach's advice? No.....he has been told to bowl like this

waqar_ahmad said:
Do you think Sami is bowlign line and length stuff without the coach's advice? No.....he has been told to bowl like this

I doubt Lawson would ever tell any fast bowler under him to 'restrain' himself and just bowl line and length rubbish. It was Woolmer who started the destruction of Sami and I always thought Sami would go back to his old habits once Woolmer/Inzi went. Very disappointing to see the same rubbish continue

waqar_ahmad said:
a few quick wickets required and we will be back in business. Someone give some nandrolone to kaneria
give Kaneria nandrolone..LOL

would look a teeny weeny bit suspicious when a leg spinner starts sending down 90mph deliveries after lunch..lol... The "Kebab" was terrific wouldn't be an excuse that the match officials would buy..

Usman Sahib said:
I doubt Lawson would ever tell any fast bowler under him to 'restrain' himself and just bowl line and length rubbish. It was Woolmer who started the destruction of Sami and I always thought Sami would go back to his old habits once Woolmer/Inzi went. Very disappointing to see the same rubbish continue

Its never Sami's fault. :16:

4 out of 27 overs Sohaib Akhtar. Rob key suggests India can tell Akhtar not to get a substitute.

:))) :))) :))) :))) :))
Megadeth said:
give Kaneria nandrolone..LOL

would look a teeny weeny bit suspicious when a leg spinner starts sending down 90mph deliveries after lunch..lol... The "Kebab" was terrific wouldn't be an excuse that the match officials would buy..

jackal786 said:
4 out of 27 overs Sohaib Akhtar. Rob key suggests India can tell Akhtar not to get a substitute.
hmmm..wud kumble do that?...I'm sure Ganguly would've ..if he was the captain..

jackal786 said:

Let him. He is sick and poor guy cant say NO. These english are always poor sports and bad at heart. We cant listen to them.

If you carry fitness issue into a match and ask for a substitute captains will object.