India v South Africa | 1st Test | Nagpur | 6-10 Feb '10

Very interesting point made by Shastri and Cullinan about how playing contact sports like rugby makes Australians and South Africans unafraid to dive around and get dirty on the field, and that translates well into fielding ability in cricket. That, together with the softer outfields, makes a lot of sense. I had never heard of this 'contact sports' angle before.

Deepam: "Another century for Sachin in the second innings will go waste as no other batsman were successful and Indian media will say - Sachin cant help India win matches! sad! "

insaaniyat said:
If Dhoni and Tendu can stick around and take 150 lead, match is on. SA will choke
Yeah 150 will be plenty. But to get there they have to score around a 100 runs a session for the next 3 sessions. Not undoable but really tough, especially against Steyn and the old ball.

d0gers said:
Yeah 150 will be plenty. But to get there they have to score around a 100 runs a session for the next 3 sessions. Not undoable but really tough, especially against Steyn and the old ball.
agreed. My point was that SA are chokers, and I heard pitch has gotten bad and it would be difficult to bat last on this pitch

I wonder if people want SRT to score a century here.....because if he do then all will be after him for another century in vain :) Even though this would have been valiant effort to delay the inevitability. I would rather have him get out before 99

Indians are half the strength without Dravid and VVS. people will now realise how vital are these 2 players in forming a good batting unit.
Bowlers were as usual crappy.....nothing left in it after Kumble's retirement.

adit_sh said:
I wonder if people want SRT to score a century here.....because if he do then all will be after him for another century in vain :) Even though this would have been valiant effort to delay the inevitability. I would rather have him get out before 99

Indians are half the strength without Dravid and VVS. people will now realise how vital are these 2 players in forming a good batting unit.
Bowlers were as usual crappy.....nothing left in it after Kumble's retirement.

Why care about what other thinks

I am surprised at Smith's tactic wrt to Paul Harris. I mean such a huge lead and he is bowling miles outside leg stump. So much for aggression and attacking cricket..

Romali_rotti said:
Some postives to watch out for during this envitable defeat;

1) Vijay looks very solid and some of his wrist work looks very Laxman like.

2) Badrinath looks solid as well.

3) Hopefully SRT will get another 100 Inshallah...

My Inshallah has worked once again my main man SRT got his ton he is slipping further and further away from the bunny. At this rate I think I will be a muslim in no time :)...

Sachin gets his 100........but gets out.........unlucky.ball hit his body and ballooned into the stumps :(

Since Sachin always plays for his individual records and has never been accused of playing for the team, he gets out promptly after getting his hundred.
:p

Since Sachin plays for his individual records and has never been accused for playing for the team, he gets out promptly after getting his hundred.

I swear, I knew this was coming. :)))

Tragedy for Tendy. Great effort getting to 100 but couldn't go on with it.

Harris to Tendulkar, OUT, Harris has struck! What a wicket. And that over the wicket and outside leg stump line has worked again. The little big man of Indian cricket has fallen after a fine hundred. It landed outside leg stump on a length, Tendulkar went for the sweep, the ball turned in, bounced off the thigh pad, went on to the elbow guard and fell on the stumps. Harris can't believe it, he runs around in sheer joy and falls flat on his back on the ground even as the team-mates crowd him. What a moment.
SR Tendulkar b Harris 100 (179b 13x4 0x6) SR: 55.86

Romali_rotti said:
My Inshallah has worked once again my main man SRT got his ton he is slipping further and further away from the bunny

Romali....................... :19: :19: :19:

Since Sachin always plays for his individual records and has never been accused of playing for the team, he gets out promptly after getting his hundred.
:p
True, but it seems that's exactly what his millions of fans want too - and the guy is remarkably consistent in giving his fans what they crave.... ;-)

lol
Cullinan pulls Shiva's leg and he goes all defensive for Sachin (vs Ponting). Has the nerve to say that Sachin was as good a fielder as Ponting when he was young. :))

ShehryarK said:
True, but it seems that's exactly what his millions of fans want too - and the guy is remarkably consistent in giving his fans what they crave.... ;-)
Yes I agree that both sides seem to be satisfied with the arrangement.
:butt

Saha scores his first run of the Match with a jhaaroo sweep.

First (and probably last) Test runs of his life, in fact.....

OZGOD said:
Shame there's no review system...
Yes, and there are two explanations doing the rounds:

1. BCCI cannot afford that.
2. The Indians suck at reviews.

I wonder which one is correct. :13:

There is a third, I guess...that they don't want to lose the advantage, however slight, they get from 'hometown' umpiring....?

Thats one of the reasons........In srilanka whatever review India asked for went against them and srilanka used it intelligently

BCCI can afford it but doesnt want to cough up the money...IMO

As I type this Dhoni goes.....Harris gets another one

ShehryarK said:
There is a third, I guess...that they don't want to lose the advantage, however slight, they get from 'hometown' umpiring....?
That makes more sense than the first two. :14:

I swear, I knew this was coming. :)))
I also thought about it but it is not true. Whenever Sachin scores a hundred India wins.

Bhajji isn't concerned about the match situation. And rightly so. :14:

I am very lazy, yaar. Plus work tires me.
Jo kuch nahi kertay, woh kamal kerte hain....

Masterly inactivity, I hear its called in Civil Service speak...

ShehryarK said:
Jo kuch nahi kertay, woh kamal kerte hain....

Masterly inactivity, I hear its called in Civil Service speak...

Can 'sustain' that for years without complain. :)

Dhoni looking at his first test defeat as a captain................

bantu said:
Dhoni looking at his first test defeat as a captain................
Girtey hain sheh sawar hi maidan-e-jang main....

etc

Bhajji smokes a SIXER and Smith immediately takes the new ball.

Saha is the kind of batsmen who are referred to as "beemaari" (disease). That neither score, nor get out. Unadulterated inertia!

Saha is the kind of batsman who are referred to as "beemaari" (disease). That neither score, nor get out. Unadulterated inertia!
lol

And he immediately hits a four.

India inching close to .................................................. Amla's score.....

Lolz...Bhajji trying to retain his place as an allrounder? A case of too little too late. Me thinks we need to look ahead and drop Bhajji even though he is a fighter. Too defensive for the #1 spinner of a test side. Hasn't shown his fighting spirit in his primary role sadly.

Atleast we will overhaul Amla's score :)) even if it is our second try!

dani2k said:
Lolz...Bhajji trying to retain his place as an allrounder? A case of too little too late. Me thinks we need to look ahead and drop Bhajji even though he is a fighter. Too defensive for the #1 spinner of a test side. Hasn't shown his fighting spirit in his primary role sadly.
He is your Kamran Akmal.

I remember a dialog in the 'Lion King' (Zhasu telling Mufasa about Scar) - "There is one in every family (team) your majesty. Two in mine!"

Thankfully it is only one at the moment. :))

dani2k said:
I remember a dialog in the 'Lion King' (Zhasu telling Mufasa) - "There is one in every family (team) your majesty. Two in mine!"

Thankfully it is only one at the moment. :))
Good one.

There goes our allrounder! :)

In all fairness he played an innings typical of him :14:

Bhajji's resistance comes to an end. Hit the first six from the Indian side, and spoiled Harris's figures to an extent.

That was his intent when he came to bat I think.......he doesnt want to look too bad....... :))

Robin Jackman: "Sunny, do you believe India will go into the third Test with five specialist bowlers?"
Sunil Gavaskar: "The way they are batting, they should go in with 11 specialist batsmen."

bantu said:
That was his intent when he came to bat I think.......he doesnt want to look too bad....... :))
That's a perfectly legitimiate - I would even say holy - intention. And to be honest, Harris is not a spinner by any stretch of imagination.

Robin Jackman: "Sunny, do you believe India will go into the third Test with five specialist bowlers?"
Sunil Gavaskar: "The way they are batting, they should go in with 11 specialist batsmen."

Third test? Did he say third?

So this is gonna be Dhoni's first test loss !!!

No worries. Sometimes its good to have this kind of shock (reality check) to go ahead. Hopefully its not long enough :p