Indian elections (2024) Discussion Thread

Which political party will win the upcoming general elections in India in 2024?

• Aam Adami Party (AAP)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Communist Party (CP)

• National People's Party (NPP)

• Some other regional party

The Bald Eagle

Why nobody talking about this, Indian elections are no more fair anymore infact it started in 2018
=========
Can India’s election be rigged? Ahead of vote, old debate gets new life

As he launched the main Indian opposition alliance’s election campaign in the middle of March, Congress party leader Rahul Gandhi hit out at two targets: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, whom he described as the “king”, and the electronic voting machines (EVMs) that the country uses to cast ballots.

“The soul of the king is in the EVM,” Gandhi said in Mumbai.

The allegation: that the machines can be hacked, and that Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) owes its electoral dominance over India to that malpractice, even though multiple opinion polls suggest the prime minister’s party is resoundingly the favourite among voters in many parts of the country.

The charge isn’t new. The Congress and some other opposition parties have previously too questioned the trustworthiness of EVMs, machines that are not connected to the internet yet run on chips that critics say could, in theory, be programmed to record votes in a way that doesn’t match the buttons that voters press.

The Election Commission of India (ECI), which conducts the country’s votes, and even the Supreme Court, have rubbished these allegations and no conclusive evidence has emerged yet to substantiate the claims.

But as India now heads for national elections over seven drawn-out phases starting April 19, Gandhi has made the possibility of election fraud a central talking point. The Congress leader, who has been on a long march, is demanding that India return to the paper ballots it used in elections until the late 1990s, which were counted manually.

Source: Al Jazeera

Why nobody talking about this, Indian elections are no more fair anymore infact it started in 2018
=========
Can India’s election be rigged? Ahead of vote, old debate gets new life

As he launched the main Indian opposition alliance’s election campaign in the middle of March, Congress party leader Rahul Gandhi hit out at two targets: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, whom he described as the “king”, and the electronic voting machines (EVMs) that the country uses to cast ballots.

“The soul of the king is in the EVM,” Gandhi said in Mumbai.

The allegation: that the machines can be hacked, and that Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) owes its electoral dominance over India to that malpractice, even though multiple opinion polls suggest the prime minister’s party is resoundingly the favourite among voters in many parts of the country.

The charge isn’t new. The Congress and some other opposition parties have previously too questioned the trustworthiness of EVMs, machines that are not connected to the internet yet run on chips that critics say could, in theory, be programmed to record votes in a way that doesn’t match the buttons that voters press.

The Election Commission of India (ECI), which conducts the country’s votes, and even the Supreme Court, have rubbished these allegations and no conclusive evidence has emerged yet to substantiate the claims.

But as India now heads for national elections over seven drawn-out phases starting April 19, Gandhi has made the possibility of election fraud a central talking point. The Congress leader, who has been on a long march, is demanding that India return to the paper ballots it used in elections until the late 1990s, which were counted manually.

So our ‘young’ prince wants to go back
to manual ballots? Probably easier to booth capture like it happened in the past, isn’t it? Thats probably the only way Congress can win these days.

What sort of election would it be when one opposition leader is in jail? How can you expect fair elections in a dictatorship in India?

No, BJP has a huge cash and media advantage but there's no rigging of votes
Only thrice in Indian history, the chief election commissioner has resigned. In one occasion which was back in 1970s the CEC resigned to become an ICJ judge and the other two came under in Modi's tenure and that too. Without plausible explanation. How do you explain that?

From your own article,
even though multiple opinion polls suggest the prime minister’s party is resoundingly the favourite among voters in many parts of the country.

The congress and other's wouldn't win multiple state elections if what you said was true

Only thrice in Indian history, the chief election commissioner has resigned. In one occasion which was back in 1970s the CEC resigned to become an ICJ judge and the other two came under in Modi's tenure and that too. Without plausible explanation. How do you explain that?

No, BJP has a huge cash and media advantage but there's no rigging of votes
You are so innocent. :inti

mcms.php

From your own article,
even though multiple opinion polls suggest the prime minister’s party is resoundingly the favourite among voters in many parts of the country.

The congress and other's wouldn't win multiple state elections if what you said was true
Yep but we all know its all about "400 paar" seats agenda.

Are the opinion polls rigged too? There are no EC or EVMs in opinion poll and its done by telephonic interviews.

Are they all fake OP?

I agree with OP, imo Puppu will win the 2024 election easily if there is no rigging..

Our Mahaan leader, greatest Mahaan of all time from India

😇

Now they are bring cricket here🤣
====
India’s opposition protest against Modi’s ‘match-fixing’ before election
Parties unite at New Dehli rally to accuse PM of ‘tax terrorism’ and rigging the vote, after arrest of prominent leader

Indian opposition parties united on Sunday to protest against the arrest of a prominent leader weeks before a national election, accusing the prime minister, Narendra Modi, and his party of rigging the vote and harassing them with large tax demands.

“Narendra Modi is trying match-fixing in this election,” the leader of the opposition Congress party, Rahul Gandhi, told a rally in New Delhi, as the crowd chanted “shame”.

Delhi’s chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal – a staunch critic of Modi, an anti-corruption crusader and a high-profile leader of the INDIA opposition alliance – was arrested on 21 March for alleged graft over granting liquor licences, less than a month before voting starts in a general election widely expected to solidify Modi’s mandate with a rare third term.

Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi party says the case against him is fabricated and politically motivated. Modi’s government and his Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) deny political interference and say law enforcement agencies are doing their job.

Gandhi said: “If the BJP wins this match-fixing election and changes the constitution, it will light the country on fire. This is not an ordinary election. This election is to save the country, protect our constitution.“

Gandhi’s Congress party ruled India for more than two-thirds of the time since the country gained independence from Britain in 1947, but has struggled since Modi swept to power a decade ago.

Sharing the stage with Gandhi during the rally at the popular Ramlila Maidan gathering site in New Delhi were opposition leaders including regional party heads who have overcome their differences regarding which party would contest which seats.

Sunita Kejriwal, the wife of Kejriwal, told the rally: “This fascism will not work in India. We will fight and we will win.”

Modi said his fight against corruption had rattled the opposition. He said this election was a fight between his party and its allies, who want to remove the corrupt, and an opposition that wants to protect the corrupt.

“Big corrupt people are behind bars and even the supreme court is not giving them bail,” Modi said in a rally to launch his election campaign in the populous northern state of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday.

Congress – besides struggling with detentions and raids by India’s financial crime-fighting agency – says it is battling “tax terrorism” amid large tax demands by the government and the freezing of some of its bank accounts, which it says are attempts to financially cripple the party.

Critics say Modi and his party have weaponised investigative agencies and tax authorities to cull political opponents and reduce the chances of a fair election, an accusation the BJP denies.

Teams of lawyers from the rich and powerful trying to stop us publishing stories they don’t want you to see.

Lobby groups with opaque funding who are determined to undermine facts about the climate emergency and other established science.

Authoritarian states with no regard for the freedom of the press.

Bad actors spreading disinformation online to undermine democracy.

Source: The Guardian

What sort of election would it be when one opposition leader is in jail? How can you expect fair elections in a dictatorship in India?
It will be a sort of election where the other opposition leaders will fight the BJP. One small opposition party leader in jail does not mean the end of all opposition parties in India.
Dictatorship, fascism... why don't you pick up a dictionary and learn what those words actually mean?

It will be a sort of election where the other opposition leaders will fight the BJP. One small opposition party leader in jail does not mean the end of all opposition parties in India.
Dictatorship, fascism... why don't you pick up a dictionary and learn what those words actually mean?
Yep these words are epitome of Modi ji's character.

People need to understand Modi is no God. But the problem is there is no credible opposition leader to counter him. To tackle a leader like Modi you need someone like Modi. He built himself from ground up working as a karyakartha, CM and now PM. No corruption and scams is basic criteria. Steadfast vision for nation without playing appeasement politics. Kejru was the counter to him... atleast thats what nation believed. But he too got corrupted by power.

The OP believes that Modi should be banished from Politics to make the world safer.

And posters are trying to convince him about EVMs.

EVMs have eliminated booth capturing. No more stuffing of ballot boxes.

Now you know the voting per cent at each booth by the end of polling day. No more false votes.

There are countries in this world where you don't even know how many votes are to be counted when counting starts and ballots keep on getting added. Thankfully no such stupidity happens in India.

The elections in my opinion can't be rigged as long as EVMs are in play.

But of course they are influenced in other manners as we have seen: ED, CBI, Godi Media, convenient alliances, etc.

So basically, if Congress/opposition wins in a state EVMs are fine & if they lose, the EVMs are rigged.

Regarding Kejriwal, generally speaking BJP should gain no advantage of him being in jail as Kejri’s influence is only in Delhi & Punjab which he already rules. The rest of the country cares two hoots about Kejri.

Even in Delhi and Punjab, the AAP have a grand total of 0 Lok Sabha seats.

Thats because the electorate in most states is not stupid - they can distinguish between state level & national level issues. Only in the deep south, state identity trumps national one.

The dominant right wing Indian media wants Modi to win it. That will be the decisive factor though the election won't be rigged like it is in Pak.

I think the Pakistani posters here are so scarred by their own election that they've started seeing ghosts where are none.

While the Indian election like any other one is theoretically riggable, it would be a massive risk for Modi to try. There is still enough life in the grand old lady that is Indian democracy that any attempt at large scale rigging would bring people on to the streets and the other arms of government like the Judiciary and Executive would stand up to be counted.

Why would he even try? It's obvious he's massively popular and will win easily. He and the BJP will push and pull around the edges - muzzle the "wrong sort" of media, wield the enforcement directorate as a weapon to silence a few pesky opponents and throw money to buy a few buyable politicians in States with unexpected reversals.

All this stuff if definitely a risk and I understand the concerns but Indian democracy has seen worse and now developed enough of an immune system to deal with such annoying infections.

So much chaos again EVMs which is totally baseless…

1) congress party themselves introduced EVM in 2014 where the lost election… now congress demanding to stop EVM

2) EVM can be hacked … 1st time this allegation made by Rahul Gandhi when congress lost to 2nd conservative time to BJP in 2019. At that time Election commission of India taken press conference and challenged Rahul Gandhi to prove how EVMs can be hack in front of media… till then Rahul Gandhi not only visited election commission office, but also avoided going to that area

Another way of saying "I love Modi more than I love India".

Hating Modi blindly is also not loving India. More I see channels like Akash Banerjee, Dhruv Rathi, Kunal Kamra, Newslaundry, the Wire, Arfa Khanum Sherwani, Sayema, Rajdeep Sardesai etc etc...my love and admiration for Modi increases more.

India has seen tremendous growth and developement under every sector in BJPs rule. People still raise silly objection to oppose him and somehow want him to get defeated. Get him defeated and bring whom? Congress Party? The same party whose supporters chant 'Pakistan Zindabaad' anytime their MLAs win. Not sure if that is what 'Loving India' according to you.

Look the fact that so many Pakistani's desperate to see Modi go and opens these threads daily in itself is a good reason to support him. It itself is a good indicator that he is doing something good. Then when pseudo liberals like yourself dance to their tunes, not sure what else am I suppose to call you and your gang apart from anti nationals.

Hating Modi blindly is also not loving India. More I see channels like Akash Banerjee, Dhruv Rathi, Kunal Kamra, Newslaundry, the Wire, Arfa Khanum Sherwani, Sayema, Rajdeep Sardesai etc etc...my love and admiration for Modi increases more.

India has seen tremendous growth and developement under every sector in BJPs rule. People still raise silly objection to oppose him and somehow want him to get defeated. Get him defeated and bring whom? Congress Party? The same party whose supporters chant 'Pakistan Zindabaad' anytime their MLAs win. Not sure if that is what 'Loving India' according to you.

Look the fact that so many Pakistani's desperate to see Modi go and opens these threads daily in itself is a good reason to support him. It itself is a good indicator that he is doing something good. Then when pseudo liberals like yourself dance to their tunes, not sure what else am I suppose to call you and your gang apart from anti nationals.
Further to you above post, you hear this from leftist and pseudo secular Indians:

'Oh look, India now has a major dispute with China, which wasn't there when Congress was in charge.'

Simple reply to them: Of course you donkeys China did not have any issues when Italian Ammayi and her brain dead son was giving land away for cash to China, as long as they got their money in their swiss bank accounts courtesy of uncle Xi.

When Modichayan came to power things became tricky for uncle Xi, BJP started building tunnels infrastructure near the LAC, Indian soldiers made sure none of the territory was ceded which included a tussle with the Chinese soldiers that ended up costing the lives of 40 Chinese soldiers. PM Modi has made it clear, India is not going to roll over and give up any more territory like great grandpappa Nehru, then followed by the Italian Ammayi and her dumber than dumb son did.

For all of BJP's achievements, I think it is pathetic that they won't force congress to bring out the agreement they secretly signed with China in 2008 to the public, Pathetic by Modiji and Amit Shah.

@Romali_rotti

Actually the problem is not Congress either. They are incapable all right but being incapable is not a crime. The problem is these paid mercenaries like Dhruv Rathi, Akash Banerjee etc. It is very clear that they get money from foreign agency to spout their one sided non-sense. Didn't a guy called Avishar Sharma got caught that Taiwan funds hia cannel to spread anti India propaganda? Didn't the Khaliatani toolkit got exposed during Farmers protest? Why you think mostly Pakistani's quote their videos to show India in bad light as in the OP?

If anyone thinks likes of Akash Banerjee, Dhruv Rathi, Ravish Kumar etc are liberals then either they are naive or illiterate or simply ignorant.

Rathi makes Democracy video. Was democracy not destroyed during Bengal election when hundreds of BJP workers been murdered after results? Or when Mamata put journalist on Jail for a simple cartoon? Did he make any videos on that?

Where was Akash Banerjee when Pakistan Zindabaad was raised after Karnataka election? Has he made any such video? After severe backlash he did put up a video on black money found in Congress MPs house but that was a whataboutery video. When Supriya Srinate called Kangana Ranaut Mandi ka rate kya hai, rather than criticizing her...Akash Banerjee made another whataboutery video saying Kangana also abused Urmila Matondkar in 2019.

I can go on and on and on...and expose all these guys.

These guys are no liberals. They are just anti hindu bigots hiding under the mask of liberalism. Dhruv Rathi put one video on Islamic terrorism and had to remove it fearing backlash. Kunal Kamra's stand up comedy regularly features abusing hinduism. When a guy pointed gun to a police in Delhi back in 2020, Ravish Kumar named him as Anurag Mishra. Later when it was exposed guy's name is Shahrukh and he lied, he refused to take his name.

Pls dnt get me started on the hypocrisy of these so called pseduo liberals. I get so excited and hyper...lol. They are no liberals in my eyes...they all are hypocrite anti nationals.

And hating Modi doesn't make your fellow Indians anti-Indian.

You missed the word 'blindly'.

Check @Romali_rotti post...he also giving constructive criticism on Modi and that is totally welcome. But blind hatred and calling everyone bhakts etc. is not on.

As I said, Modi is not perfect but he is by far the best PM independent India has ever seen. Only people who don't like India will hate him blindly.

Well if Trump could lose owing to some "glitch" in EVM then India is not immune to it too.

While I press a button to vote for my choice in a few short days, the only button you will be pressing is to generate a receipt for your next customer.

However, just the fact you won't answer the question tells me all I need to know, the fact you will vote for a brain dead Puppu tells me about your love for India.

@Romali_rotti

Rathi makes Democracy video. Was democracy not destroyed during Bengal election when hundreds of BJP workers been murdered after results? Or when Mamata put journalist on Jail for a simple cartoon? Did he make any videos on that?
I just can't wait once BJP wins by a landslide, Mamata Ammayi knows her days are numbered. Hopefully she gets taken out and the illegal gutter trash coming in from Bangladesh will stop or reduce..

If Mamata is around for another 8 more years, there will be no Bengal, Bengal will become a part of Bangladesh.

We can cede land to China, lose Bengal, heck lose all of India, no issues there, however the main issue is PM Modi, he is the bigot, he is the dictator, he is everything that is bad per our pseudo seculars.. lol...

Aww such naivety displayed by the masses.

EVERY election is rigged some way - funds, system, technology, campaigning, and yes, preying on the weak and poor, which is why Indian elections are the epicenter and yardstick of rigged elections.

Further to you above post, you hear this from leftist and pseudo secular Indians:

'Oh look, India now has a major dispute with China, which wasn't there when Congress was in charge.'

Simple reply to them: Of course you donkeys China did not have any issues when Italian Ammayi and her brain dead son was giving land away for cash to China, as long as they got their money in their swiss bank accounts courtesy of uncle Xi.

When Modichayan came to power things became tricky for uncle Xi, BJP started building tunnels infrastructure near the LAC, Indian soldiers made sure none of the territory was ceded which included a tussle with the Chinese soldiers that ended up costing the lives of 40 Chinese soldiers. PM Modi has made it clear, India is not going to roll over and give up any more territory like great grandpappa Nehru, then followed by the Italian Ammayi and her dumber than dumb son did.

For all of BJP's achievements, I think it is pathetic that they won't force congress to bring out the agreement they secretly signed with China in 2008 to the public, Pathetic by Modiji and Amit Shah.
Dhruv Rathi already exposed… he was AAP activist in 2013… later he moved to Germany….. if u see his all political blogs r against BJP and Modiji… it shows his biasness

I don't know much about that kid. Occasionally his YouTube videos come up on my feed.

Modichayan and BJP will most likely clear 400 plus in parliament and it will be RIP for the pseudo seculars and leftist that's what I am waiting for 😎

There are two contrasting arguments in relation to authoritarianism in Modi’s reign.

One argument emphasises historical change and the uniqueness of the authoritarian tendencies in this period. According to Sumit Ganguly, “The government targets the opposition, the media, civil society, and minorities for repression or retaliation.” Executive power has become increasingly unchecked. “Most of the institutions have become instruments of the executive,” argues Christophe Jaffrelot. The supreme court reduced to “the current ruler’s rubber stamp,” in the words of Pratinav Anil. There are critical voices in the media to be sure, but the general tenor is one of acquiescence. A few weeks after its critical documentary on Modi, the BBC’s offices in Delhi were raided by the tax authorities. The sedition laws and the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act can be relied upon to hush critics. Opposition politicians are not spared. “Arvind Kejriwal, locally in power in devolved Delhi, has recently joined some of his party mates in prison,” wrote Anil. “Kickbacks on liquor contracts are alleged, though everyone sees the ruse for what it is: a means to destroy the Common Man’s Party, which has for long been a burr in the ruling BJP’s saddle.”

For Martin Wolf, “Today’s India is an ‘illiberal democracy’.” (Liberal here is meant in European rather than American sense of the term). This has been achieved without overthrowing the constitution, without imposing a one-party dictatorship, and without dispensing with democracy. Rather it is a gradual and subtle polluting of ‘liberal’ democracy, from within, which for its critics makes the regime especially insidious.

However, there is another argument which stresses continuities and therefore suggests the current government, in its authoritarian ethos, is in fact less exceptional than its critics argue. Rahul Verma sees “recency bias” as distorting evaluations of BJPs rule, and argues that it is an “illusion that India was a liberal democracy before 2014.” The most eloquent voice here is that of Tripurdaman Singh. He has argued that unlike the U.S. constitution, the India’s constitution "is not animated by the impulse to limit political power and secure public freedom.” The passing of the First Amendment to the Indian constitution limited freedom of speech and right to property. Reading the debate on the First Amendment between Nehru and S.P. Mookerjee it is fascinating to see that the arguments in favour of liberalism were being articulated by the man on the Hindu right and not by Nehru. Nor was draconian legislation unheard of during this period as the Armed Forces Special Powers Act indicates.

Fast forward to the period 1989 to 2014, and while the nature of coalition rule imposed greater limitations on the exercise of executive power at the centre, in the states the culture of authoritarianism continued unbated: “chief ministers—especially those from regional parties who also doubled as party bosses—quickly transformed themselves into ‘supreme leaders’ and pioneered a ‘Chief Minister model of governance’. Personalization of authority, capture of state institutions, symbiotic relationships with the bureaucracy, political violence, intimidation of opponents and dissenters, the malicious use of First Information Reports…and false cases, and widespread surveillance were key parts of this model, which was replicated across multiple states.”

You missed the word 'blindly'.

Check @Romali_rotti post...he also giving constructive criticism on Modi and that is totally welcome. But blind hatred and calling everyone bhakts etc. is not on.

As I said, Modi is not perfect but he is by far the best PM independent India has ever seen. Only people who don't like India will hate him blindly.
The only way Pak ppl could support Modi is when the option for PM is even worse then Modi like Yogi Aditayanat.

Bro, the last thing Indians care about is whether Pak people supports Modi or not. I mean honestly who cares?

Just like how you wouldn't give a damn what Indians think about Imran Khan.

Keeping aside all the development work Modi has done for India for last 10 years, the fact that Pakistanis like yourself want him to somehow go desperately itself is an evident that he is doing something good for the country. That was my point, after all Pakistan is our enemy nation (i.e Dushman Mulk)...so obviously they wouldn't want to see India prosper.

Modi bhi PM banega...Yogi bhi banega...everything will happen as per Indian voters wish. Desperate Pakistani's have Zero say in it unfortunately.

Bro, the last thing Indians care about is whether Pak people supports Modi or not. I mean honestly who cares?

Just like how you wouldn't give a damn what Indians think about Imran Khan.

Keeping aside all the development work Modi has done for India for last 10 years, the fact that Pakistanis like yourself want him to somehow go desperately itself is an evident that he is doing something good for the country. That was my point, after all Pakistan is our enemy nation (i.e Dushman Mulk)...so obviously they wouldn't want to see India prosper.

Modi bhi PM banega...Yogi bhi banega...everything will happen as per Indian voters wish. Desperate Pakistani's have Zero say in it unfortunately.
TBH, people in Pakistan just want freedom for the people in Kashmir and if that happens then SAARC could become EU. But I know the people in India are more concerned with territory than people.

So in actual it does not bother people from both countries, who comes to power they are just concerned with their core issues.

TBH, people in Pakistan just want freedom for the people in Kashmir and if that happens then SAARC could become EU. But I know the people in India are more concerned with territory than people.

So in actual it does not bother people from both countries, who comes to power they are just concerned with their core issues.

And there lies the problem right? Not sure who has asked Pakistanis to be the firefighter between India and Kashmir? Had they minded their own business the country will be flourishing like Bangladesh is doing now economically and not have to run behind IMF for loans. How did poking nose in Kashmir helped Pakistan anyway? Tried to fight 4 wars and lost all. Tried cross border terrorism but failed. India is 5th largest economy now and where is Pakistan? Where this Kashmir obsession took them?

Also, lets not kid ourselves...Pakistani's dnt hate Modi for Kashmir. Modi didnt create Kashmir problem. Pakistani's hate Modi bcoz he keeps hindu interest first and that is the crux of the problem.

And there lies the problem right? Not sure who has asked Pakistanis to be the firefighter between India and Kashmir? Had they minded their own business the country will be flourishing like Bangladesh is doing now economically and not have to run behind IMF for loans. How did poking nose in Kashmir helped Pakistan anyway? Tried to fight 4 wars and lost all. Tried cross border terrorism but failed. India is 5th largest economy now and where is Pakistan? Where this Kashmir obsession took them?

Also, lets not kid ourselves...Pakistani's dnt hate Modi for Kashmir. Modi didnt create Kashmir problem. Pakistani's hate Modi bcoz he keeps hindu interest first and that is the crux of the problem.
Infact they hate them for Gujarat Killings on which the Modi fans are apologetic.

Supreme court under Cong govt relieved Modi of all charges and you want his supporters to apologise to Pakistan? For what? LOL.

BTW, If a Godhra like incident happen again, Gujarat type riots will happen again as well....Modi or no Modi. Mughals don't rule here anymore and hindus ofcourse will not take lying down.

Supreme court under Cong govt relieved Modi of all charges and you want his supporters to apologise to Pakistan? For what? LOL.

BTW, If a Godhra like incident happen again, Gujarat type riots will happen again as well....Modi or no Modi. Mughals don't rule here anymore and hindus ofcourse will not take lying down.
Another riot has never happened in Gujrat and its been safe ever since.

The message has been made clear to the trouble making muslim section of Gujarat and they have understood also, if you kill innocents (Godhra train burning) you will have to bear the brunt of a retaliation.

All BJP cares is about election not people there
=====
Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Home Minister Amit Shah to campaign in violence-hit Manipur today

“Amit Shah ji arrived in the state on Sunday night and will address an election rally for our candidate in the Tripura East Lok Sabha seat at Kumarghat in Unakoti district on Monday," BJP state general secretary Amit Rakshit told news agency PTI.

Tripura Chief minister Manik Saha, Tipra Motha chief Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma, IPFT president Prem Kumar Reang and BJP nominee for the Tripura East Lok Sabha seat, Kriti Devi Debbarman, will be present at the Tripura rally on Monday before the Union Home Minister heads to Manipur.

Shah is expected to attend meetings with Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh,Manipur BJP president A Sharda Devi and other party leaders in Imphal. Later, he will campaign for Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh, the BJP candidate from the Inner Manipur constituency - one of the two Lok Sabha seats on Manipur.

Singh is also Education Minister in the Manipur government. The seat is currently represented by BJP leader and Union Minister of State for External Affairs, Rajkumar Ranjan Singh. The saffron party has not fielded any candidate from the Outer Manipur constituency, but will support the candidates fielded by the Naga People's Front, its ally in National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Source: Mint News

Who will win here?​

=====

Fear eclipses election campaign in India’s strife-torn Manipur​

Amid the thunder and fury in India as the world’s most populous nation heads to a general election, the streets of Manipur, a tiny, violence-torn state in the country’s far east, are largely quiet.

Although Manipur and some other regions will be the first to vote in the seven-phase election starting on Friday, campaign meetings are being held behind closed doors because of a fear of violence.

Many residents say there is widespread disappointment over the inability of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government to end what critics have called a mixture of anarchy and civil war.

“Is Manipur not a part of India?” asks Francis Keisham, who says he has been living in a refugee camp with his wife and two children after being displaced by the conflict in which at least 220 people have been killed since May. “Are we not Indian citizens? Why are they (the government) ignoring us?”

“I am a refugee in my own land,” said the 42-year-old, adding he had worked for Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Manipur for the last eight years, but was now disillusioned with the government and the ruling party.

“If the government truly wanted to solve this, they could have. It would not take them much … the prime minister doesn’t care.”

The state of 3.6 million people has been ravaged by fighting between the majority Meitei and tribal Kuki-Zo people for about a year and continues to be divided into two enclaves: a valley controlled by the Meiteis and the Kuki-dominated hills, separated by a stretch of ‘no man’s land’ monitored by federal paramilitary forces.

Opinion polls predict an easy victory for Modi when the election results are announced on June 4, but Manipur, a state governed by his own BJP, represents a rare security failure for him, contrasting with his carefully cultivated strongman image.

Modi told a regional newspaper last week that there has been a marked improvement in Manipur’s situation because the government “dedicated our best resources and administrative machinery to resolving the conflict”.

But two Kuki men were killed on Friday in the latest fighting and there is no let-up in the fear pervading the state, residents said.

In its election manifesto, the opposition Congress party has promised to remove the BJP-led state government, “heal the wounds between the communities” and bring “a political and administrative settlement that will be satisfactory to all the people of the state”.

But with its two seats, both of which were won by BJP and its ally in 2019, Manipur has little impact on national politics and the 543-seat parliament. The BJP’s manifesto does not even mention the state.

Manipur has less than 0.5 per cent of India’s population, said Sanjib Baruah, an expert on the region who teaches at the Asian University for Women, in Chittagong, Bangladesh, adding, that it is a “very small state far from the Indian heartland both physically and from the minds of most Indians.”

Still, many people said they will vote for the BJP, Meiteis because they have support from the BJP-led state government and Kukis because they expect the BJP to win power in New Delhi and will be in a position to give them some relief.

Source: Dawn News

A look at Indian elections: Why does voting last six weeks?​

India is set to begin the world’s largest general elections on Friday, held in terrain sweeping from the icy Himalayas to humid jungles, with nearly a billion people eligible to choose 543 members of the lower house of parliament.

Opinion polls suggest an easy victory for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party when the results are announced on June 4.

For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

But more than six weeks will elapse from the time the first vote is cast on April 19 until it is counted.

Here is why the exercise takes so long.

Number of days

The election cycle sprawls over 44 days, long even by India’s standards, as the 2019 vote lasted 39 days.

This year’s elections will be India’s second longest after the first exercise following independence in 1947 from colonial ruler Britain, which ran for four months from Oct. 25, 1951 to Feb. 21, 1952.

There are seven voting days this year, with Friday’s first phase seeing people cast ballots for 102 constituencies nationwide. The last polling date is June 1, covering 57 seats.

All votes will be counted together on June 4.

Voter numbers

The size of the country and its electorate is the chief reason why the general election takes so long.

India’s eligible voters, at 968.6 million, number more than twice the European Union’s population of 448 million. The figure has grown 8 percent since the 2019 elections.

With an estimated population of more than 1.4 billion, India overtook China last year as the world’s most populous country.

Geographical spread

Some of India’s 28 states and eight federally governed territories complete voting in just one phase, but in larger states, some constituencies vote on different dates.

For example, the northern state of Uttar Pradesh, with a population of more than 230 million and 80 members of parliament, more than any other state, will vote in parts in every phase.

The Election Commission manages this massive exercise by carving out smaller voting boroughs, limiting each polling station to no more than 1,500 registered voters.

That requires the watchdog to set up 1.048 million polling stations this year, in locations such as government buildings and schools that are the closest to the majority of voters.

They are sited in terrain ranging from icy Himalayan heights in the north to dense central Indian jungles and remote deserts in the western state of Rajasthan.

Security arrangements

Incidents of violence and vote-rigging have marred India’s election history, but there are drastically fewer instances today.

Nevertheless, to ensure the elections are free, fair and held without fear, more than 300,000 federal security personnel back up the police forces controlled by state governments.

The intervals between voting allows these personnel time to move around the country, usually by rail.

They guard election officials taking voting machines to polling stations and then keep the devices secure until counting day to maintain the integrity of the elections.

Calm down there. Don't fly too high. Kejriwal is innocent until proven guilty. I know you and other andhbhakhts are in a hurry to prove him guilty but let the court take its time. And whether Kejriwal is a threat to BJP or not, you will know after the elections.

You and other andhbhakhts should concentrate on making your beloved Bhojpuri Bhaand Manoj Tiwari, beef eater Kangana Ranaut and Cylinderella Irani win elections this time. One can only laugh at people who vote for these clowns. 🤣 :inti
And those who are actually guilty of huge corruption scandals, those who were selectively targetted by feku for being corrupt have now become saints since they are washed by sanghi washing machine.

As for Kejriwal not getting bail, well, had ED been under anyone else even feku won't have got bail, he is involved in so many corruption scandals.

That makes him guilty too.

2024 Lok Sabha polls: Modi rally blitz in west Uttar Pradesh from April 19​

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to propel the BJP’s 2024 Lok Sabha poll drive in western Uttar Pradesh with a campaign blitzkrieg comprising several rallies and road shows.

Having addressed three rallies in western Uttar Pradesh in Meerut, Saharanpur and Pilibhit, Modi, whose public meetings are in great demand by the BJP-NDA candidates, is set to address “at least four” more rallies and a roadshow over seven days beginning April 19 from Amroha, a constituency due for polls in the second phase on April 26. Amroha is among the 16 Lok Sabha seats that the BJP had lost in 2019.

“It’s difficult to accommodate all for there is a demand for a Modi rally from all 80 Lok Sabha seats. But he has to look after the entire country and that’s why the attempt is to maximize the reach by arranging those rallies in a manner that benefits several candidates,” this BJP leader said.​

This was the work they implied when they said feku works 18-20 hrs a day.

BJP came to power in 2014. During 2014-2024 ED seized 1,21,618 crores of properties from corrupt politicians. Opposition criticising BJP government over ED actions, but interestingly no corrupt minister (whose property seized) goes to public or before media to say that the seized property is his own earned hard money.

If Pakistan had that long a elections then they would have forsaken democracy
=====
India Lok Sabha election 2024: Who votes in phase 1 and what’s at stake?

A total of 102 constituencies in 21 states will vote on April 19 for the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

Electoral staff carry electronic voting machines (EVM) to a polling centre at Kaspi village, in the northeastern Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh April 8, 2014.

The first of seven phases of the Indian national election is set to kick off on April 19. These elections are for the 543 seats of the Lok Sabha, India’s lower house of parliament. The party or coalition that secures a majority of the seats in the Lok Sabha will form the next government.

It is the world’s – and history’s – largest ever democratic exercise, with 969 million registered voters eligible to cast their vote using 5.5 million electronic voting machines over 44 days. The votes will be counted and results will be announced on June 4.

Another riot has never happened in Gujrat and its been safe ever since.

The message has been made clear to the trouble making muslim section of Gujarat and they have understood also, if you kill innocents (Godhra train burning) you will have to bear the brunt of a retaliation.

This is like saying there was never any violence towards Jews once they were all exterminated or expelled from Nazi Germany.

Yes valid comparison as Gujarat's muslim population is currently sitting at a healthy 5 million plus.

There were very few Jews in Germany, and No non-Jew died in riots.

Many Hindus died during multiple riots across India, not just Gujarat.

India is home to 11% of Muslims of the world, clearly a huge population who are also growing economically inspite of Modi’s 10 year rule Nationally.

Yet to see a peaceful Muslim majority secular democracy with non-Muslims population share at 10-20% or above with a successful functioning democracy. That should say something..

Even Modi's leadership would have outdone itself to get rid of 5 million Muslims in one organised riot over a few days.
It seems more like you want something like that to happen so that you can troll “Hindutva posters”

If it hasn’t happened in the last 10 years of rule with absolute majority,unlikely it will ever happen, we all can sleep peacefully that it won’t happen:

This thread is about elections so that should be discussed.why discussing hindu muslim stuff and riots etc here..

India elections: Can anyone beat Narendra Modi?

India's wildly popular and divisive leader Narendra Modi is set to sweep to victory as the world's biggest election kicks off.

After a decade in power, pollsters predict a third win for the prime minister and his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on the back of economic growth and support from the Hindu majority.

Mr Modi is challenged by the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA), a coalition of opposition parties led by the Indian National Congress (INC) party.

But it faces an uphill struggle. Opposition parties have accused Mr Modi of using federal agencies to cripple them with raids, intimidation, freezing bank accounts and in some cases sending their leaders to jail.

Here are some of Modi's main rivals:

Indian National Congress (INC)

In opposition for a decade, the INC is India's oldest political party. Since India became independent in 1947, it has dominated the political landscape.

It is considered to sit in the centre ground of India's politics, advocating secular policies geared at equal opportunity.

Its most prominent member and former leader is Rahul Gandhi, son of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi and grandson to former prime minister Indira Gandhi.

It crashed out of government in 2014, amid a series of corruption allegations and Mr Modi swept to power.

Mr Gandhi quit as party leader after a miserable performance at the last parliamentary polls in 2019.

Yet he remains its star campaigner and Mr Modi's fiercest critic.

The embattled Delhi chief minister

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) or Common Person's Party emerged from a strong anti-corruption movement in 2011 that swelled amid protests led by Anna Hazare - a self-styled crusader backed by close aide, Arvind Kejriwal.

Mr Kejriwal formed the AAP in 2012 and staged an upset in 2015 by winning power in the city of Delhi.

Serving as Delhi's chief minister ever since, he is a staunch critic of Mr Modi and an ally of the INC in the 2024 elections.

However, his party's chances were dealt a blow when Mr Kejriwal was arrested by a federal agency on 21 March.

India's economic intelligence agency, which is controlled by Mr Modi's government, has accused Mr Kejriwal's party and ministers of accepting one billion rupees (£9.5m) in bribes over Delhi's alcohol policy.

Mr Kejriwal called his arrest "a political conspiracy" and his party has denied the "fabricated" allegations.

Centre-left party from the south

A strong regional force in India's south and India's third-largest party, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) still only won 24 seats in the lower house of parliament and 2.3% of the vote at the last elections.

The DMK are considered a centre-left or left-wing party and has expressed support for the LGBT community.

An ally of the INC, the party also runs Tamil Nadu state in the south, where the poverty rate is 2% - one of the lowest in the nation, and boasts a high literacy rate.

It is led by MK Stalin, chief minister of Tamil Nadu and former mayor of Chennai.

All India Trinamool Congress (TMC)

The TMC is India's fourth-largest party by seats in parliament, mainly holding power in the state of West Bengal in the east of the country.

Founder of the party Mamata Banerjee has been the state head for more than a decade and is now a reluctant ally of the INC in fighting Mr Modi's BJP.

One of the TMC candidates for the 2024 election is Mahua Moitra, a persistent critic of Mr Modi.

The former investment banker was expelled from parliament last year over allegations of accepting bribes from a businessman in exchange for parliamentary questions - charges Ms Mitra says are false.

SOURCE: SKY NEWS

Modi Bids for 3rd Term in World’s Biggest Election in India’

Almost 1 billion Indians began voting Friday in elections lasting more than six weeks, weighing up whether to hand Prime Minister Narendra Modi a third five-year term to continue his mix of economic and Hindu nationalist policies.

Voting in the world’s biggest election takes place in seven phases until June 1 to accommodate the complicated logistics involved in getting ballots to everyone in the sub-continent. Polls opened at 7 a.m. local time in the southern state of Tamil Nadu and 20 other regions Friday.

BLOOMBERG

Polls added
Thanks but the options need some changes. There is no single Communist Party (CP) in India. The commies are divided into multiple parties like CPI, CPI(M), CPI(ML), RSP and Forward Bloc. Also no one expects the AAP to win the election. They aren't even contesting all the seats outside Delhi and Punjab.

I would keep just two options : BJP led NDA and Congress led I.N.D.I.A.