"Jasprit Bumrah is a baby bowler in front of me and I could have easily dominated him" : Abdul Razzaq

He was one of the best all rounders to play ODIs his impact and stats show that. So remembering his peak or heroics isnt a big deal in my opinion though his post retirement statements are bit like Sehwag which we can be better off without.

Razzaq wouldn't get qtr of the respect if he was Indian, Lance who was MOS in 1999 isn't hyped as much as Razzaq who has batting avg below 30 and bowling avg above 30.

The only point about him is the peak which wasn't enough for him to be MOS in any WC he ever played.

Can't pick Munaf Patel's slower ball and thinks he can easily dominate Bumrah rofl.

Its like saying Kohli couldnt get bat on ball against Junaid in 2012, how can he play against Shaheen. One poor match or ball doesnt define a player.

You are missing the countless balls he picked from Mcgrath, Pollock etc and countless balls he delivered to get the wickets of some great batsmen of his era.

Though I am not impressed with out of the blue statements from Razzaq but that doesnt mean he wasnt a great all rounder in his time.

Razzaq was a great player in every sense of the word. Pakistani Popeye. Smashed atgs like McGrath . He was troubled by very average spinners though. Imran Tahir made him look like a dunce .

Overrated cricketer, probably at Pandya's level, if I compare him to any current era player.

Razzaq wouldn't get qtr of the respect if he was Indian, Lance who was MOS in 1999 isn't hyped as much as Razzaq who has batting avg below 30 and bowling avg above 30.

The only point about him is the peak which wasn't enough for him to be MOS in any WC he ever played.

Kapil Dev averages 23 with the bat in ODIs and 27 with the ball and difference is of -4 in comparison of Razzaq's -2. Doesnt he get respect in India?

Its not totally about the stats for all rounders batting at 6-8, its about the impact you create. Lance Klusner has played only 137 innings in comparison to Razzaq's 228 and his batting average is an exception as its not that common if you look at all rounders batting at those positions in ODIs throughout the history of cricket. However, Klusner was an outstanding all rounder and he is still rated in SA.

Yes Klusner has 19 man of the match awards in ODIs in less matches but not to forget that Razzaq also has 18.

This is the same guy who on tv show said that he had relationship with 3-4 girls during his cricketing days and then when asked if it was before his marriage or after- he said after! :salute

Pictures of those girls with their Facebook ID or didn't happen...:imam

Yeah because he preferred batting against out and out pace bowlers, I think Bumrah probably qualifies as one of those, whereas Razzaq era Indian pacers were more medium pace relying on variety.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/39836.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting

^
These are his stats

Against Aus- avg 28 SR 71
Against SA- avg 25 SR 77

These were the two best sides in the period Razzaq played international Cricket.

The teams he dominated were England,Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. Bangladesh were minnows,Zimbabwe were better than what they are now but somewhat comparable to Bangladesh of today. England were a mediocre odi for most part of late 90s & previous decade.

He did play some memorable knocks/cameos against quality bowlers/attacks but overall record against top sides isn't that great. Even Umar Akmal has had such moments.

Srinath, Zaheer??
Whats with the place thing?
Your pointing does not bother me one bit. Point as much as you feel like.
Know your cricket else people shall correct you for your silly claims!

And yes Razzaq overetimates his worth in a big way. And lacks sobriety.

O paa ji, both Srinath and Zaheer opened bowling almost whole their career. Razzaq was the 4th or 5th/6th bowler.

Just leave it. Razzaq is trolling

Kapil Dev averages 23 with the bat in ODIs and 27 with the ball and difference is of -4 in comparison of Razzaq's -2. Doesnt he get respect in India?

Its not totally about the stats for all rounders batting at 6-8, its about the impact you create. Lance Klusner has played only 137 innings in comparison to Razzaq's 228 and his batting average is an exception as its not that common if you look at all rounders batting at those positions in ODIs throughout the history of cricket. However, Klusner was an outstanding all rounder and he is still rated in SA.

Yes Klusner has 19 man of the match awards in ODIs in less matches but not to forget that Razzaq also has 18.

Kapil Dev gets respect in India because of taking India to WC victory captaining them against the mighty Windies and winning twice against them in 1983.
Also he was the highest test wicket taker in tests for 6-7 years.

Razzaq is more like Amarnath who had a massive peak but is forgotten now.

Just making statements to stay relevant. One thing to note is that Bumrah has dominated better batters than Razaaq so I don't think he would have any issues with him.

Just trying to get attention from Indian fans.

We should troll him and offer an IPL commentary contract.

Front leg out the way and straight over long on for 6.

No problem ;)

Most Pakistani 90s players are overrated here on PP. Razzaq and Anwar are the most overrated players here on PP. They were very good players but the way some people hype them to be top tier is laughable. Their records against top teams proves they were atleast a couple of tiers below the top guys.

I liked Anwar a lot, 2000 CT where he and Dada had two consecutive centuries and still both teams lost to Kiwis coz of Chris Cairns the one who deserves much more hype than Razzaq as a player.

Anwar would had ended up being ATG if not for personal reasons.
90's team was good and many of them were part of 92 WC but Razzaq though is overhyped.

Pak posters have a thing for peak,inspite of their best bowler being Wasim who had longevity and skill, you would see peak mentioned a lot.

Kapil Dev gets respect in India because of taking India to WC victory captaining them against the mighty Windies and winning twice against them in 1983.

Amarnath had a bowling average of 42 and got 46 wickets in 85 matches. He was more of a part timer with the ball. To be honest I am not sure what peak you are talking about.

However, I understand that you dont rate Razzaq so lets agree to disagree here.

Pakistani players really need something to be doing in their retirement period. It's affecting their mental health.

We may as well start predicting who will win in superman vs spider man fight as both things are never gonna happen and we will never know the answers. Its good to be kids sometimes, verbally predicting whose favorite superhero from two different universes will win. :wahab2

Super man v spider man is easy. Superman always. The only reason Batman could beat Superman was because he had all the money to get kryptonite. Spider man’s webs ain’t gonna get any kryptonite.

Off topic, but important to put things straight

Amarnath had a bowling average of 42 and got 46 wickets in 85 matches. He was more of a part timer with the ball. To be honest I am not sure what peak you are talking about.

However, I understand that you dont rate Razzaq so lets agree to disagree here.

Amarnath, Back to back MOM in 83 wc, MOS as well, more than 1100 runs in 11 away tests against Pak and Windies in early 80's .

Super man v spider man is easy. Superman always. The only reason Batman could beat Superman was because he had all the money to get kryptonite. Spider man’s webs ain’t gonna get any kryptonite.

Off topic, but important to put things straight

Lol! I agree though it was more of an example of thing which every kid used to do and isnt gonna happen in reality based more upon them form being different universe than their powers as one is from Marvel and other is from DC so it isnt gonna happen. Razzaq is retired and Bumrah is playing this match isnt gonna happen either.

Amarnath, Back to back MOM in 83 wc, MOS as well, more than 1100 runs in 11 away tests against Pak and Windies in early 80's .

I was only contesting for Razzaq in ODIs, in tests there isnt much to show. Amarnath was a batsman who could bowl a bit so I dont understand the relevance, maybe you are implying a limited period of peak? I get it but Razzaq has more than 250 wickets and 5000 runs in ODIs, his heroics were not be consistent through out but he has done decently through out his career along with heroics in between.

So does that mean because he was up for a job in India he should say he couldn't hit your bowlers? The two don't have to be linked. I think you guys are getting over-sensitive, he was a really good hitter of fast bowling like I already said. He struggled much more with wily slow bowlers. This is just a technical point, not meant to be taken as an insult to Indian bowlers.

I think you are getting a little triggered considering I have not really commented about his hitting prowess in my post. Yes of course he was decent for his time but not like he was some ATG eating bowlers for breakfast. Calling a bowler, who is probably 30 years younger than him, 'Baby' has nothing to do with technicality. It reeks of arrogance and he was never really that good enough to back it up. I would have understood if it had come from someone like Ponting, Sehwag, KP or Klusner but coming from a guy who averaged like 30 with bat (24 against India) and a mighty strike rate of 80 despite being a so called lower order hitter is ridiculous at best. But gotta admit he received what he was looking for...attention.

He was one of the best all rounders to play ODIs his impact and stats show that. So remembering his peak or heroics isnt a big deal in my opinion though his post retirement statements are bit like Sehwag which we can be better off without.

What? You sure you got the correct stats? Cuz the stats I have showing an average career with some highs, like an alrounder version of Ajit Agarkar at best.

I guess you might be reading the wrong stats then. :virat

Agarkar averaged 14 with bat in comparison to Razzaq's 29. Agrakar had 3 50s in 191 matches in comparison to Razzaq's 3 100s and 23 50s in 265 matches. Agarkar was the new ball bowler for India and averaged better than Razzaq bowling wise with 27 and Razzaq averaged 31 which is decent for an all rounder and got 260+ wickets.

Razzaq won 18 man of the match awards in ODIs while Agarkar has 7 including 1 against kenya, 1 against Zim.

I liked Anwar a lot, 2000 CT where he and Dada had two consecutive centuries and still both teams lost to Kiwis coz of Chris Cairns the one who deserves much more hype than Razzaq as a player.

Anwar would had ended up being ATG if not for personal reasons.
90's team was good and many of them were part of 92 WC but Razzaq though is overhyped.

Pak posters have a thing for peak,inspite of their best bowler being Wasim who had longevity and skill, you would see peak mentioned a lot.

Pak lost to Macmillan-Styris Partnership in that semifinal you are talking about.

I have never understood Pakistan's obsession with playing Allrounders in that era when they had World Class batsmen and ATG bowlers. Razzaq was very good in odis but average in tests yet he played 46 of them. Azhar Mahmood was mediocre in both the formats still played 21 tests and 140+ odis. And then there was Lala the entertainer who played 27 tests and 400 odis.

If guys like Malik & Hafeez were regulars at that time then the hatred among Pakistan fans towards them would have been much lesser

Nothing any ex-Pakistani cricketer says surprises me anymore. Each one is loonier than the other. Must be something in the air of Islamabad...

And here I thought Mushfiqur was the biggest clown from the subcontinent...

NO, Razzaq wouldn't be able to dominate Bumrah and also he wouldn't be saying this if he was a current gen player.

With the variations bowlers bowl these days, Razzaq would have found it very difficult to pick someone like Bumrah with his sort of technique.

I guess you might be reading the wrong stats then. :virat

Agarkar averaged 14 with bat in comparison to Razzaq's 29. Agrakar had 3 50s in 191 matches in comparison to Razzaq's 3 100s and 23 50s in 265 matches. Agarkar was the new ball bowler for India and averaged better than Razzaq bowling wise with 27 and Razzaq averaged 31 which is decent for an all rounder and got 260+ wickets.

Razzaq won 18 man of the match awards in ODIs while Agarkar has 7 including 1 against kenya, 1 against Zim.

Bhai sahab Agarkar won a test match at Adelaide Oval, that alone thumps everything Razzaq has done in his career, I thought being Pak fans you guys of all people should know how much weight a win against Aus in Aus carries. :yk2

You folks over hyping Razzaq as if he was winning you world cups left, right, center. Razzaq was genuinely good for a brief time, then age caught up to him and rest of his career was mediocre to average at best with some rare highs. I have seen him play man just like you, not just merely copy pasting stats.

One of my favourite Pakistani players ever, but seriously the cringe is real in this one. In a way, this doesn't really surprise me though considering every now and again Pakistani players tend to make semi-outlandish statements before being humbled in any sort of way. I think of Sarfraz saying India are too scared to play Pakistan, Waqar saying India are 'vulnerable' in the WT20 2016 after their game vs NZ and before their game against Pakistan; both cases end up with Pakistan being slapped by India. The only difference here is that Razzaq can say this from the comfort of his home as a retired player and not involved with the team in any sort of way :razzaq.

Bhai sahab Agarkar won a test match at Adelaide Oval, that alone thumps everything Razzaq has done in his career, I thought being Pak fans you guys of all people should know how much weight a win against Aus in Aus carries. :yk2

You folks over hyping Razzaq as if he was winning you world cups left, right, center. Razzaq was genuinely good for a brief time, then age caught up to him and rest of his career was mediocre to average at best with some rare highs. I have seen him play man just like you, not just merely copy pasting stats.

Didnt know we were including the test stats as well. Overall stats of cricketer shows everything from peak to lows and Razzaq's overall stats are pretty good. One test match in Adelaide cant give Agarkar enough weigh to overcome 3 100s and 20 50s difference in ODI format.

To be honest I dont see mediocrity in bat avg of 29 and bowl avg of 31 in ODIs in 265 ODIs. Statistically other than Imran Khan, Razzaq is the best pace bowling all rounder ever produced by an sub continental team in ODIs and that should stand for something. :fz

Pak lost to Macmillan-Styris Partnership in that semifinal you are talking about.

I have never understood Pakistan's obsession with playing Allrounders in that era when they had World Class batsmen and ATG bowlers. Razzaq was very good in odis but average in tests yet he played 46 of them. Azhar Mahmood was mediocre in both the formats still played 21 tests and 140+ odis. And then there was Lala the entertainer who played 27 tests and 400 odis.

If guys like Malik & Hafeez were regulars at that time then the hatred among Pakistan fans towards them would have been much lesser

Us in the final Cairns performed against.

Well I think It was coz South Africans, they were playing so many all rounders and were a top ODI unit till Aus dismantled them along with fixing also Razzaq was well suited for 1999 WC where Waqar wasn't needed.

Even Viv Richards hasn't said anything like this after he retired. But maybe Razzaq is bigger.

Interesting fact about Razzaq is after experienced "ball maintainers" like Aamir Sohail, Saleem Malik and Ijaz Ahmed retired around 2000, he averaged almost 37 with the ball from Jan 2001 afterwards.

Todays cricketers are not as good as the 90s cricketers, thats something todays youngsters just dont understand!

Didnt know we were including the test stats as well. Overall stats of cricketer shows everything from peak to lows and Razzaq's overall stats are pretty good. One test match in Adelaide cant give Agarkar enough weigh to overcome 3 100s and 20 50s difference in ODI format.

But one Innings against Mcgrath surely proves Razzaq could beat Bumrah black and blue, right? You see you can't have the cake and eat it too my friend :ashwin

To be honest I dont see mediocrity in bat avg of 29 and bowl avg of 31 in ODIs in 265 ODIs. Statistically other than Imran Khan, Razzaq is the best pace bowling all rounder ever produced by an sub continental team in ODIs and that should stand for something. :fz

Razzaq averaged 37 with the ball and 28 with bat against top 5 sides of his time while paji averaged sub 28 with the ball and 25 with the bat with a higher strike rate and ten times more impact, no one with a sane mind would pick him over Kapil even in ODI.

Bhai ji this is called "Andhon mein Kana raja". There was a severe lack of quality alrounders that time in sub continent let alone pace bowling alrounders. Pakistan was lucky to have Razzaq and Razzaq was lucky to have Pakistan as I don't think any team bar BD would have carried him that long.

On a flat deck I wouldn’t doubt this guy.

Serious hitter at the back end!

Todays cricketers are not as good as the 90s cricketers, thats something todays youngsters just dont understand!

Today's cricket is very much analyzed on video(can never imagine Smith and Warner getting banned in 90's) that's why. I loved the 90's too but won't go on to say something like that.

Much more fitness and game awareness required in today's era, the only downside has been slip catching in tests but everything else has improved from running to fielding.

But one Innings against Mcgrath surely proves Razzaq could beat Bumrah black and blue, right? You see you can't have the cake and eat it too my friend :ashwin

I havent once said this on this thread as whatever we will say only be an assumption and speculation as this contest cant take place.

Razzaq averaged 37 with the ball and 28 with bat against top 5 sides of his time while paji averaged sub 28 with the ball and 25 with the bat with a higher strike rate and ten times more impact, no one with a sane mind would pick him over Kapil even in ODI.

He averaged 28 with ball against the best side of his time and that is Aus.

You cant ignore the stats vs weaker teams otherwise Kohli will end up with almost half the centuries he has at the moment because 20 plus of his centuries are against Srl, Wi, Zim, BD etc. I am pretty critical when it comes to tests and batting overseas but in ODI format overall stats are decent reflection of the opposition you played against, conditions dont differ as much as tests.

Bhai ji this is called "Andhon mein Kana raja". There was a severe lack of quality alrounders that time in sub continent let alone pace bowling alrounders. Pakistan was lucky to have Razzaq and Razzaq was lucky to have Pakistan as I don't think any team bar BD would have carried him that long.

Barring SA and probably Chris Cairns of NZ, there wasnt much competition from any other country. Aus even at their peak in 90s didnt have a decent all rounder and Eng also had nothing in terms of pace bowling all rounder until Flintoff developed. We havent seen a lot of pace bowling all rounders who contributed with both bat and ball with so much longevity in the history of ODI cricket as a whole because its not easy and that is why a good pace bowling all rounder in every era in any format is a rarity and a luxury.

I guess we have micro analyzed Razzaq's ODI career and people have compared him from Agarkar, Amarnath to Kapil and Klusner. I guess we can just agree to disagree here. Good discussion though. :shan

Its like saying Kohli couldnt get bat on ball against Junaid in 2012, how can he play against Shaheen. One poor match or ball doesnt define a player.

You are missing the countless balls he picked from Mcgrath, Pollock etc and countless balls he delivered to get the wickets of some great batsmen of his era.

Though I am not impressed with out of the blue statements from Razzaq but that doesnt mean he wasnt a great all rounder in his time.

From what I remember Junaid was a real threat at the time and was an absolute weapon on dead UAE tracks and was one of the best in the world, not too sure bout Munaf's form. I haven't seen Razzaq play in his prime but I'm sure he was a great all-rounder in his time from what I've seen of him.

[MENTION=1451]Indian[/MENTION] posters - Razzaq was a good player though, we cant deny that. He was no Sobers, Imran or Kallis but a very impactful player. I rate him as a better all rounder than Afridi. Yes he speaks non sense sometimes but cant fault him as a player.

Also, he got the best smiley in PPs history :razzaq

Bumrah is good for modern era. But no way he can match the greatest bowling era of Pakistan team in the 90s. He can dominate against current pakistan teams hand down, apart from babar no one can dominate him. Indian fast bowling has come up v well lately and credit must go to their selection panel and academies who developed them v well.

please. don't live in nostalgia. past is not always great. Modern players are fitter, stronger, faster. Advancement in technology, science and nutriton plus every player is analyzed in detail due to having access to video which allow for frame by frame analysis.

bumrah can match any bowler from any era. He is already better than shane bond. He is going to be what people expected shane bond to be as long as he stays injury free.

You only need to watch Razzaq past his best against SA to know what he was capable of. Please name me one innings ever from an Indian batsman that won the game with 2 wickets in hand with 120+ required. Just one Indian

Razzaq's and Amarnath's peaks were pretty much non-existent if we are talking about great all rounders of history.

Highest ODI rating of Dev as an ODI all rounder - 632 points

Highest ODI rating of Klusener as an ODI all rounder - 522 points

Highest ODI rating of IK as an ODI all rounder - 480 points

Highest ODI rating of Jayasuriya as an ODI all rounder - 462 points

Highest ODI rating of Shakib as an ODI all rounder - 453 points

Highest ODI rating of Razzaq as an ODI all rounder - 387 points

Highest ODI rating of Amarnath as an ODI all rounder - 279 points

You only need to watch Razzaq past his best against SA to know what he was capable of. Please name me one innings ever from an Indian batsman that won the game with 2 wickets in hand with 120+ required. Just one Indian

Laxman against Aussies 124/8 to victory 216 in TESTS on 5th day..

Razzaq's and Amarnath's peaks were pretty much non-existent if we are talking about great all rounders of history.

Highest ODI rating of Dev as an ODI all rounder - 632 points

Highest ODI rating of Klusener as an ODI all rounder - 522 points

Highest ODI rating of IK as an ODI all rounder - 480 points

Highest ODI rating of Jayasuriya as an ODI all rounder - 462 points

Highest ODI rating of Shakib as an ODI all rounder - 453 points

Highest ODI rating of Razzaq as an ODI all rounder - 387 points

Highest ODI rating of Amarnath as an ODI all rounder - 279 points

Yes.. I don't mind agreeing to that.

Razzaq the most overrated cricketer in the history of Pakistan and probably the biggest age fraud. He was bowling in 120s when he was "32" during WC 2011

Awesome from Razzaq. This is getting me all pumped up about seeing when these two face off. Should be a good contest......Oh wait!

So just because he scored some boundaries of one random over from McGrath in one random ODI, he dominated him? LOL :))

One ODI? Lol. Kids these days don’t know that razzler did it numerous times

Here is one example. Note the score when razzaq comes in and what happens to McGrath, Gillespie and Co in last 5 overs. There are numerous other examples. Razzaq would dominate Bumrah

[utube]Lj7E9hFo_H0[/utube]

One ODI? Lol. Kids these days don’t know that razzler did it numerous times

Here is one example. Note the score when razzaq comes in and what happens to McGrath, Gillespie and Co in last 5 overs. There are numerous other examples. Razzaq would dominate Bumrah

[utube]Lj7E9hFo_H0[/utube]

it's odi. any decent player can also smash good bowlers. In tests it's totally different. You have to face good bowlers who bowl plenty of overs and are allowed to use 2 bouncers etc, different ball that swings, offers seam etc.

Razzaq finishing for Indian views and people falling for it.

This is new past time of Pakistani cricketers. Make money while making Mamoo of Indians

Razzaq talks lots of stupidity. He was a decent all rounder but his head needs to be checked for sure.
But Bumra is no way the greatest bowlers on earth as my Indian friends are claiming to be.

He didn't have not even 100 test wickets and people comparing him to Wasim, Waqar, Mcgrath, Hadley, Steyn, Marshal, Lilee......
So much delusion!!!

Razzaq talks lots of stupidity. He was a decent all rounder but his head needs to be checked for sure.
But Bumra is no way the greatest bowlers on earth as my Indian friends are claiming to be.

He didn't have not even 100 test wickets and people comparing him to Wasim, Waqar, Mcgrath, Hadley, Steyn, Marshal, Lilee......
So much delusion!!!

No one his comparing him to them.. everyone only talks about his potential

Razzaq finishing for Indian views and people falling for it.

This is new past time of Pakistani cricketers. Make money while making Mamoo of Indians

More like a clown doing a clown show to entertain the crowd who specifically came to watch his show. Crowd gets entertained, clown makes some quick bucks, win win. Some Indians like to see retired Pak legends willing to make a mockery of themselves for money, your players who were mostly underpaid throughout their career is trying to tap into that section of the Indian market. Nothing wrong in that, basic demand and supply equation. No one making mamoo out of anyone.

So much delusion!!!

62 wickets in 12 matches @ 19.24. At this rate, I don’t think it will take him too long to reach the 100 wickets milestone.

Yasir Shah got 100 wickets in 17 matches does it make him better than Bedi, Kumble, Warne. Murali or even Ashwin?
To be legend he needs to get at least 300 wickets to compare among best fast bowlers

Razzak can and has thrashed every bowler that has come his way... as a lower order hitter, he was easily the best between 99-2005/6

his peak was short but as a bowler with amazing accuracy and reverse and good speed and his hitting being solid as annything, Razzak can claim to hit bummrah or anyother bowler ...

unfortunatly the match cannot happen but i would put my money of the Razzler

The reason they are overrated is because they have dominated foreign attacks in white hot crucibles where many others failed. Anwar smashed Aussies in Australia, and India in India.

Razzaq hit the fastest and biggest name bowlers in their own backyards as well, he wasn't just considered a major threat by Pakistanis, Aussies and Brits feared his hitting prowess as well.

Does that make him some ATG? Far from it, he was a blaster of fast bowling, not so much the slower ones, that is why he is making a lot of noise about Bumrah. Yes he is bragging and it is probably annoying for you guys, but truth is, he probably could have spanked Bumrah for some big sixes. He did it to other ATG quicks.

Yasir Shah got 100 wickets in 17 matches does it make him better than Bedi, Kumble, Warne. Murali or even Ashwin?
To be legend he needs to get at least 300 wickets to compare among best fast bowlers

yasir was all home pitches ka kamaal. bumrah has had 0 bad series till now and all away.

When was Razzaq a test player or are we comparing apples to oranges because what the heck.

Similar to how one match doesn't mean he was a great player..you are choosing that one match as a point of reference.

Lol. Can't believe people still defending this joke.

This is the stupidity equivalent of Ajay Jadeja coming out and saying " I smashed Waqar Younis. Mitchell Starc is a bacha bowler. I could have dominated him." :uakmal

Lol. Can't believe people still defending this joke.

This is the stupidity equivalent of Ajay Jadeja coming out and saying " I smashed Waqar Younis. Mitchell Starc is a bacha bowler. I could have dominated him." :uakmal

Except Razzaq did it over a few years quite successfully and built a reputation abroad among neutral commentators for being a very dangerous hitter of FAST bowlers.

It was actually Razzaq's technique of clearing his front foot out of the way which England commentators said they had to study. At the time they had very orthodox batsmen, by learning some lessons from Pakistan slogging techniques of the day, this heralded a new aggressive batting approach from England which has been developed further and which is evident today.

Except Razzaq did it over a few years quite successfully and built a reputation abroad among neutral commentators for being a very dangerous hitter of FAST bowlers.

It was actually Razzaq's technique of clearing his front foot out of the way which England commentators said they had to study. At the time they had very orthodox batsmen, by learning some lessons from Pakistan slogging techniques of the day, this heralded a new aggressive batting approach from England which has been developed further and which is evident today.

This simple point is being ignored on purpose meray bhai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“Irfan jese bowlers hamari gali gali mein paae jate hay” par jab jab ye galli bowler inke samne khela har baar inki gilliyan nikal ke rakh di. Request to all fans not to pay any heat to those unnecessary over the top statements. Just read and ��.... <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/bumrah?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#bumrah</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ViratKohli?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ViratKohli</a></p>— Irfan Pathan (@IrfanPathan) <a href="https://twitter.com/IrfanPathan/status/1202609106307010561?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 5, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Abdul Razzaq has sent shockwaves by calling Jasprit Bumrah, the current No.1 ODI bowler in the world, a ‘baby bowler’ who he could have easily dominated, but former India cricketer Irfan Pathan thinks people should just laugh at such statements.

Pathan, in a tweet on Thursday, recalled a statement made by Javed Miandad in 2004, where he had said that bowlers like Pathan could be found in every street of Pakistan.

“Your Irfan Pathans are in every gully and mohalla of Pakistan. We don’t even bother to look at them,” Miandad had said in a 2004 interview, at a time when Pakistan were preparing to host India for a Test series.

Less than two years since the statement, Pathan would take a hat-trick against Pakistan in the Karachi Test.

Referring to these events from the past decade, Pathan implied that Indians have uprooted Pakistan’s stumps every time they have met on the cricket field.

“Irfan jese bowlers hamari gali gali mein paae jate hay” par jab jab ye galli bowler inke samne khela har baar inki gilliyan nikal ke rakh di. Request to all fans not to pay any heat to those unnecessary over the top statements. Just read and laugh,” he said.

Also Read | Razzaq gets trolled for calling Bumrah ‘a baby bowler’

Speaking earlier this week, Abdul Razzaq had said that there were many bowlers who were better than Bumrah in his playing days.

“After having faced world class bowlers in my time, I would have had no problem against a bowler like Bumrah. Pressure would have been on him,” Razzaq said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...q-baby-bowler-comment-jasprit-bumrah-6152702/

Razzak was a good all-rounder but nothing special. He is similar to Pandya but since the current Indian team is outrageously strong in Asia, he doesn't find a place.Both Razzaq and Pandya are round about same.

Yeah all that is well and fine but I doubt if he had ever faced a bowler of Bumrah's quality at the death. ABD, Maxwell, Butler, Miller etc who are a level above Razzaq in power hitting could not dominate Bumrah so far.

Who's Razzaq ? :bumrah

Yeah all that is well and fine but I doubt if he had ever faced a bowler of Bumrah's quality at the death. ABD, Maxwell, Butler, Miller etc who are a level above Razzaq in power hitting could not dominate Bumrah so far.

Who's Razzaq ? :bumrah

Levels above actually, dude has a strike rate of 80!! lower than many top order bat of his time despite batting at lower order, much maligned Afridi was a considerably better hitter than him.