Malala Yousafzai - Mega Discussion Thread

She talked abt Rohingya Muslims being persecuted too and again not a peep

in other news listening to her talk next week and meeting her after
She's ace, can't understand all the hatred levelled at her. I guess reporting such statements doesn't fit 'the agenda'.

As for meeting her, you're a very privileged individual.

WOW!

I just read the first few pages of this thread and it makes for depressing reading

So sad. No wonder the country is in a mess with the crackpot conspiracy theories that twere flying around in the threads

Whats worse is that its on PP where you would expect the general level of education to be higher and where a large percentage of the posters are from abroad. When you see this kind of thinking from our jaahil mullahs then it is still terrible but understandable because they cannot help their pea sized brain and lack of education but this is shameful

Problem with Malala is that she only speaks on issues with the Muslim country, and never on Kashmir,Palestine issues etc.

And doesn't seem to talk about the 'Drone Strikes' either and the collateral damage as a result of them.

She will gain my full respect as soon she wakes up and talks about these issues aswell .

Problem with Malala is that she only speaks on issues with the Muslim country, and never on Kashmir,Palestine issues etc.
Malala Yousafzai Donates $50,000 Prize Money to Rebuild Gaza School
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/31/world/middleeast/malala-yousafzai-nobel-gaza-school.html?_r=0

Malala Yousafzai Calls on Myanmar to 'Halt Persecution' of Rohingyas

http://www.ndtv.com/world-news/mala...anmar-to-halt-persecution-of-rohingyas-769889

Malala's appeal for Nigerian kidnapped girls' release

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-28288819

And doesn't seem to talk about the 'Drone Strikes' either and the collateral damage as a result of them.

She will gain my full respect as soon she wakes up and talks about these issues aswell .

Nobel Prize winner Malala told Obama U.S. drone attacks fuel terrorism

Read more here: http://www.mcclatchydc.com/2014/10/10/242968/nobel-prize-winner-malala-told.html#storylink=cpy

For Heavens sake she met Obama and she told him one on one she doesnt think drones solve anything and are counterproductive. Whereas our own leaders are too scared to say this in front of American leaders

So now she has your respect? I quoted a few examples of what you want. And this is common knowledge and you chose o ignore these. Why? Because it did not fit into the image you wanted of her?

She did that when she met Obama, striking to heavy blow to conspiracy theorists.

Then, people said she didnt talk about Gaza, she also did that.

Not sure how people will bash her now.Maybe, she does not talk about global warming?Who knows.

This little girl has changed the world and you can't even seem to Google current affairs. Lol

The ugly irony at play is that her truth and message is being used or will be used to justify the exact opposite of what she stands for.

Malala = stands for the message that education is the key to end terrorism. Not bombs or violence.

America = will most likely use her as the face of oppressed Pakistani women and commit the same things she stands firmly against ie bombs and violence.

People need to stop being so quick to judge people who question the reason why she has been put on a media pedestal. They are not questioning her. We all know how dirty politics can get.

That said. At the end of the day, I really do hope that her truth and message shines through to the world and that she isn't used a symbol to justify acts she is clearly against.

Really? So the States was all about to bomb Pakistan and then didn't because they care about what people think? Okay.

Malala Yousafzai Donates $50,000 Prize Money to Rebuild Gaza School
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/31/world/middleeast/malala-yousafzai-nobel-gaza-school.html?_r=0

Malala Yousafzai Calls on Myanmar to 'Halt Persecution' of Rohingyas

http://www.ndtv.com/world-news/mala...anmar-to-halt-persecution-of-rohingyas-769889

Malala's appeal for Nigerian kidnapped girls' release

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-28288819

Nobel Prize winner Malala told Obama U.S. drone attacks fuel terrorism

Read more here: http://www.mcclatchydc.com/2014/10/10/242968/nobel-prize-winner-malala-told.html#storylink=cpy

For Heavens sake she met Obama and she told him one on one she doesnt think drones solve anything and are counterproductive. Whereas our own leaders are too scared to say this in front of American leaders

So now she has your respect? I quoted a few examples of what you want. And this is common knowledge and you chose o ignore these. Why? Because it did not fit into the image you wanted of her?
[MENTION=138900]MSaad1237[/MENTION]

genuinely curious to know your opinion now.

[MENTION=138900]MSaad1237[/MENTION]

genuinely curious to know your opinion now.

Okay, I probably need to revisit my opinion on Malala and do a little more research on her.. I always thought she's a West puppet and says what the West want her to say, focusing on Muslim problems while ignoring their own crimes against humanity .

Yeah I think Martin Luther King Jr should have been like "Wow there is racism in America... but I can't just say this alone because I sound like a sell out so let me just say that the Eastern world is also stupid! Child marriage in Yemen is wrong!"

"I have a dream.... blah blah blah .... equal racial status, but also, I need to mention that communism is a bad idea so I don't seem like a sell out puppet"

#logic

CN9YaT9WIAA12zl.jpg

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/vE5gSHJkusU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

WOW!

I just read the first few pages of this thread and it makes for depressing reading

So sad. No wonder the country is in a mess with the crackpot conspiracy theories that twere flying around in the threads

Whats worse is that its on PP where you would expect the general level of education to be higher and where a large percentage of the posters are from abroad. When you see this kind of thinking from our jaahil mullahs then it is still terrible but understandable because they cannot help their pea sized brain and lack of education but this is shameful

spot on. somehow a girl who brings attention to the gender inequality in pakistan is an agent of mi-6.

she may have ulterior motives but that doesn't mean the issues that she stands for are not there.

She has a great intellectual mind tbh. I really don't understand the hate some of the things you hear are just petty.

Now she has a movie made on her! Surprise Surprise. Waiting for the movie about the thousands of Iraqi, Afghan, Libyan, Syrian etc. women the West has killed. Typical.

If you take off your blinkers then you'll see that several such documentaries have been made by American and British film-makers.

For example, Iraq for Sale: The War Profiteers, The War You Don't See, Ghosts of Abu Ghraib,
No End in Sight and lots more.

An American film-maker makes a documentary about Malala's life and people are actually upset about it - wow!

Meanwhile Malala is now being called a blasphemer by her haters.

Ofcom looking into claims Malala Yousafzai was called a “traitor” on Pakistani news channel

Broadcasting regulator Ofcom is looking at allegations Birmingham campaigner Malala Yousafzai was called a “traitor” and “blasphemer” on a Pakistani news channel.

Eight people have reported the ARY News Channel, which is available in the UK through Sky satellite systems, to the regulator over a programme ‘Sawal Yeh Hai’ or This Is The Question first shown on February 7.

During the show, 18-year-old Malala was described as a traitor, blasphemer and foreign agent over her campaigns for education for girls.

The Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority, the country’s own Ofcom, has already issued a ruling against the broadcast concluding it amounted to hate speech against Malala and was wrong to call her a traiter to her country and faith.

Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala was just 14 when she was famously shot by Taliban fanatics while on a school bus near her home in Swat Valley, Pakistan.

She was flown to Birmingham Queen Elizabeth Hospital for life-saving treatment and, with her family, has made the city her home and attends Edgbaston High School.

But Mirza Kashif, a guest on the talk show tore into Malala and her father Ziauddin, saying they had defied Islam and the state of Pakistan in her book ‘I am Malala’ and are part of a western conspiracy against the country and religion.

They accuse her of blasphemy for calling for rape laws, which state that a woman needs four male witnesses to confirm an allegation, to be overturned. She is also dubbed a traitor over her criticism of the Pakistan army.

She was also compared to author Salman Rushdie who was the subject of a fatwa issued by Iran over his book The Satanic Verses.

The Mail understands the channel has banned the guest from future broadcasts and distanced itself from the views expressed.

An Ofcom spokeswoman said: “Ofcom has received eight complaints about Sawal Yeh Hai, broadcast on February 7. We are assessing these complaints before deciding whether to investigate.”

The ARY channel’s London office has not answered telephone inquiries nor replied to emails.

And representatives of Malala have not returned calls.

http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/news/midlands-news/ofcom-looking-claims-malala-yousafzai-10936082

So guests on a T.V talk show are not entitled to their opinion even if it's wrong? Hate speech is a daily occurrence on Sky, Fox and other rubbish news channels but I can't remember Ofcom getting involved.

If you take off your blinkers then you'll see that several such documentaries have been made by American and British film-makers.

For example, Iraq for Sale: The War Profiteers, The War You Don't See, Ghosts of Abu Ghraib,
No End in Sight and lots more.

An American film-maker makes a documentary about Malala's life and people are actually upset about it - wow!

You've replied after a loooong time. The documentaries you mentioned, how much publicity do they receive? What changes have occurred due to them? The US are still doing the same things but they want others to change just because. Your other post shows the 'freedom to offend' extends only to Charlie Hebdo and its ilk.

When's the last time you hypocritical fools ever gave a damn about ISIS brutalizing Muslims in Iraq and Syria? Or do bearded jihadi **** get a free pass on oppression as long as Shariat is established?

How did ISIS come into the discussion? Did they get a Nobel Prize when I wasn't looking?

She has an offer to study PPE at Oxford - a degree that has produced more PMs and Presidents around the world than probably any other.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/03/11/malala-yousafzai-study-oxford-university-achieves-aaa-offer/

I don't necessarily like this woman.......Her entire campaign seems fake and artificial......

Whose campaign is genuine nowadays anyway maybe she is just the necessity of the hour.

She doesn't even have the confidence to live among her own people as she knows she will be shunned and not taken seriously at all (And rightly so).......

As I said her 'concern' for Pakistan seems fake since neither she nor her family lives in Pakistan anymore.... Should be banished forever for creating the hoax that she and her father are......

She doesn't even have the confidence to live among her own people as she knows she will be shunned and not taken seriously at all (And rightly so).......

As I said her 'concern' for Pakistan seems fake since neither she nor her family lives in Pakistan anymore.... Should be banished forever for creating the hoax that she and her father are......

Yaar bus kardey

Yar this is just what I feel, I am not trying to impose my ideals here but I never really liked her 'bechari' prerogative that has been painted over and over again.

We as a nation shouldn't seek attention by making ourselves look weak and helpless who can't educate their girls. Malala in all her speeches speaks as if in Pakistan every girl is like her who has no means or ways to get basic education.

Kindly please visit 'Shehar' like Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar, Faislabad, Multan etc etc and you will find tons of well groomed highly educated female personnel that can and are contributing massively to the progressing Pakistani society. Much Much more than this Malala Yusoufzaie......

As I said, it seems as if her entire campaign is fake and artificial. I personally am aware of a few things that I can't share on this platform but from my POV, it just doesn't add up...

Malala joins twitter.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today is my last day of school and my first day on <a href="https://twitter.com/Twitter">@Twitter</a> [THREAD]</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883325245012226048">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Graduating from secondary school (high school) is bittersweet for me. I'm excited about my future, but... 2/</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883325485966643200">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">....I know that millions of girls around the world are out of school and may never get the opportunity to complete their education. 3/</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883325846919970816">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Each girl’s story is unique  —  and girls' voices are our most powerful weapons in the fight for education and equality. 5/</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883326292476743680">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On and off Twitter, I'm fighting for girls —  will you join me?​✋🏾 6/</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883326881193394176">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

Malala's welcome on Twitter!

Its hardly been around 35 hours and she has 485000 followers.

102000 tweet about Malala approximately.

Everyone is there to welcome her!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hi, Twitter.</p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/883324902186635266">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

No matter what the most Pakistani's think of her as, she has been very impact-ful.

However I still do believe that she has given a very negative message to the world about Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You continue to inspire me, <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala">@Malala</a>. Thanks to you, young women around the world can dream of a brighter future for themselves. <a href="https://t.co/PuPt6aKn8I">https://t.co/PuPt6aKn8I</a></p>— Bill Gates (@BillGates) <a href="https://twitter.com/BillGates/status/883393934319165440">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

Canadian Prime Minister

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Your bravery and commitment to education – both yours & others – is inspiring. Congratulations on graduating high school <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala">@Malala</a>!</p>— Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) <a href="https://twitter.com/JustinTrudeau/status/883403600650579968">July 7, 2017</a></blockquote>

and manymore

seems like all of her hate comments on twitter seem to be coming from Pakistanis. Seen one guy with picture of him wearing a snapback as his pp railing her and the West. The irony is ��. The first few pages in this thread show the conspiratorial mindset embedded in so many peoples minds.

4 years on Pakistan still hasn't been invaded yet surprisingly.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/h6Hrxy5SOpg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BIRMINGHAM, England (Reuters) - Pakistani education activist Malala Yousafzai, the youngest winner of the Nobel Peace Prize when she was 17, said on Thursday she was "excited" after winning a place to study at Oxford University.

Yousafzai said she had been accepted at Oxford to study Politics, Philosophy, and Economics. She joined thousands of other students in Britain in discovering where they will go to university after getting their final school results.

Others to have studied the same course at Oxford, one of the world's top universities, include former British Prime Minister David Cameron and late Pakistani Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto.

Yousafzai, now 20, came to prominence when a Taliban gunman shot her in the head in 2012, after she was targeted for her campaign against efforts by the Taliban to deny women education. She won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

"So excited to go to Oxford!! Well done to all A-level students - the hardest year. Best wishes for life ahead!" she said in a tweet. A-levels are final year exams for school students.

After recovering from the Taliban attack, she has attended school in England.

Early figures showed a fall in the number of places allocated by universities, although the proportion of students scoring top grades rose.

University admissions service UCAS said on its website the decrease in the number of university acceptances had been driven by a fall in acceptances from older students and fewer students from the European Union.

UCAS said 416,310 people had been accepted to degree courses on A-level results day, down two percent compared to 2016. But over 1 in 4 of the grades was an A or A*, the best ratings, up 0.5 percentage points on last year.

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-b...CN1AX167?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Social

The World could do with less PPE politicians in general but having a Marxist one in the seat of Tory Establishment Britain is a welcome change

BIRMINGHAM, England (Reuters) - Pakistani education activist Malala Yousafzai, the youngest winner of the Nobel Peace Prize when she was 17, said on Thursday she was "excited" after winning a place to study at Oxford University.

Yousafzai said she had been accepted at Oxford to study Politics, Philosophy, and Economics. She joined thousands of other students in Britain in discovering where they will go to university after getting their final school results.

Others to have studied the same course at Oxford, one of the world's top universities, include former British Prime Minister David Cameron and late Pakistani Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto.

Yousafzai, now 20, came to prominence when a Taliban gunman shot her in the head in 2012, after she was targeted for her campaign against efforts by the Taliban to deny women education. She won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

"So excited to go to Oxford!! Well done to all A-level students - the hardest year. Best wishes for life ahead!" she said in a tweet. A-levels are final year exams for school students.

After recovering from the Taliban attack, she has attended school in England.

Early figures showed a fall in the number of places allocated by universities, although the proportion of students scoring top grades rose.

University admissions service UCAS said on its website the decrease in the number of university acceptances had been driven by a fall in acceptances from older students and fewer students from the European Union.

UCAS said 416,310 people had been accepted to degree courses on A-level results day, down two percent compared to 2016. But over 1 in 4 of the grades was an A or A*, the best ratings, up 0.5 percentage points on last year.

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-b...CN1AX167?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Social

Congrats to Malala, great achievement

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2017/feb/23/ppe-oxford-university-degree-that-rules-britain

Monday, 13 April 2015 was a typical day in modern British politics. An Oxford University graduate in philosophy, politics and economics (PPE), Ed Miliband, launched the Labour party’s general election manifesto. It was examined by the BBC’s political editor, Oxford PPE graduate Nick Robinson, by the BBC’s economics editor, Oxford PPE graduate Robert Peston, and by the director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies, Oxford PPE graduate Paul Johnson. It was criticised by the prime minister, Oxford PPE graduate David Cameron. It was defended by the Labour shadow chancellor, Oxford PPE graduate Ed Balls.

Elsewhere in the country, with the election three weeks away, the Liberal Democrat chief secretary to the Treasury, Oxford PPE graduate Danny Alexander, was preparing to visit Kingston and Surbiton, a vulnerable London seat held by a fellow Lib Dem minister, Oxford PPE graduate Ed Davey. In Kent, one of Ukip’s two MPs, Oxford PPE graduate Mark Reckless, was campaigning in his constituency, Rochester and Strood. Comments on the day’s developments were being posted online by Michael Crick, Oxford PPE graduate and political correspondent of Channel 4 News.

On the BBC Radio 4 website, the Financial Times statistics expert and Oxford PPE graduate Tim Harford presented his first election podcast. On BBC1, Oxford PPE graduate and Newsnight presenter Evan Davies conducted the first of a series of interviews with party leaders. In the print media, there was an election special in the Economist magazine, edited by Oxford PPE graduate Zanny Minton-Beddoes; a clutch of election articles in the political magazine Prospect, edited by Oxford PPE graduate Bronwen Maddox; an election column in the Guardian by Oxford PPE graduate Simon Jenkins; and more election coverage in the Times and the Sun, whose proprietor, Rupert Murdoch, studied PPE at Oxford.

More than any other course at any other university, more than any revered or resented private school, and in a manner probably unmatched in any other democracy, Oxford PPE pervades British political life. From the right to the left, from the centre ground to the fringes, from analysts to protagonists, consensus-seekers to revolutionary activists, environmentalists to ultra-capitalists, statists to libertarians, elitists to populists, bureaucrats to spin doctors, bullies to charmers, successive networks of PPEists have been at work at all levels of British politics – sometimes prominently, sometimes more quietly – since the degree was established 97 years ago.

“It is overwhelmingly from Oxford that the governing elite has reproduced itself, generation after generation,” writes the pre-eminent British political biographer, John Campbell, in his 2014 study of the postwar Labour reformer and SDP co‑founder Roy Jenkins, who studied PPE at the university in the 1930s. The three-year undergraduate course was then less than two decades old, but it was “already the course of choice for aspiring politicians”: the future Labour leaders Michael Foot and Hugh Gaitskell, the future prime ministers Edward Heath and Harold Wilson.

But Oxford PPE is more than a factory for politicians and the people who judge them for a living. It also gives many of these public figures a shared outlook: confident, internationalist, intellectually flexible, and above all sure that small groups of supposedly well-educated, rational people, such as themselves, can and should improve Britain and the wider world. The course has also been taken by many foreign leaders-in-the-making, among them Bill Clinton, Benazir Bhutto, Aung San Suu Kyi, and the Australian prime ministers Malcolm Fraser and Bob Hawke. An Oxford PPE degree has become a global status symbol of academic achievement and worldly potential.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">5 years ago, I was shot in an attempt to stop me from speaking out for girls' education. Today, I attend my first lectures at Oxford. <a href="https://t.co/sXGnpU1KWQ">pic.twitter.com/sXGnpU1KWQ</a></p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/917414203186667520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

Congrats to Malala, great achievement

I got a better result than Malala in both O and A levels.

I applied at Cambridge but didn't get through.

Oxford, Cambridge, Stanford, MIT etc etc should put this as their point in the admission prerequisites:

1) Must have international fame/links with famous people/be filthy rich/ have privileged background.

So that ambitious students like me don't get disappointed and distraught.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">5 years ago, I was shot in an attempt to stop me from speaking out for girls' education. Today, I attend my first lectures at Oxford. <a href="https://t.co/sXGnpU1KWQ">pic.twitter.com/sXGnpU1KWQ</a></p>— Malala (@Malala) <a href="https://twitter.com/Malala/status/917414203186667520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

I can speak out against injustice too and write letters to media outlets and cry and wail about my rights.

Still wouldn't deserve a Nobel Peace Prize.

She's a fraud.

Atleast do something for your country, girl, apart from giving speeches in the UN and receiving handshakes from world leaders while true heroes like Ansar Burney, Edhi Sahab, Chippa sahab etc etc spend their lives in service of humanity and then leave this world without any of the recognition that you've enjoyed in this relatively short life of yours.

If getting shot in the head for speaking against injustice was the criteria for whatever recognition/gifts/applaud/privileges she's receiving, then minority communities in Pakistan would've all been given Nishan-e-Haider. Period.

I can speak out against injustice too and write letters to media outlets and cry and wail about my rights.

She's a fraud.

Atleast do something for your country, girl, apart from giving speeches in the UN and receiving handshakes from world leaders while true heroes like Ansar Burney, Edhi Sahab, Chippa sahab etc etc spend their lives in service of humanity and then leave this world without any of the recognition that you've enjoyed in this relatively short life of yours.

If getting shot in the head for speaking against injustice was the criteria for whatever recognition/gifts/applaud/privileges she's receiving, then minority communities in Pakistan would've all been given Nishan-e-Haider. Period.
Why was she targeted?

Oxford, Cambridge, Stanford, MIT etc etc should put this as their point in the admission prerequisites:

1) Must have international fame/links with famous people/be filthy rich/ have privileged background.

Congrats on your result. Also, the UK is not like Pak where you throw a couple of ruppiya and get what you want; you have to earn it. Also, it is not unheard of for students to get rejected by the likes of Oxford or Cambridge despite their extraordinary results; they look at your application as a whole and how you performed at the interview. If you feel like they have rejected you based on reasons other then competence then appeal.

She was targeted for consistently supporting girl's education during the time when the Taliban (who were in control in Swat) had banned it.

little more than that:

In late 2008, Aamer Ahmed Khan of the BBC Urdu website and his colleagues came up with a novel way of covering the Taliban's growing influence in Swat. They decided to ask a schoolgirl to blog anonymously about her life there. Their correspondent in Peshawar, Abdul Hai Kakar, had been in touch with a local school teacher, Ziauddin Yousafzai, but could not find any students willing to do so, as it was considered too dangerous by their families. Finally, Yousafzai suggested his own daughter, 11-year-old Malala.[29] At the time, Taliban militants led by Maulana Fazlullah were taking over the Swat Valley, banning television, music, girls' education,[30] and women from going shopping.[31] Bodies of beheaded policemen were being displayed in town squares.[30] At first, a girl named Aisha from her father's school agreed to write a diary, but then the girl's parents stopped her from doing it because they feared Taliban reprisals. The only alternative was Yousafzai, four years younger than the original volunteer, and in seventh grade at the time.[32] Editors at the BBC unanimously agreed.

Following is before she was hit:

In October 2011, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, a South African activist, nominated Yousafzai for the International Children's Peace Prize of the Dutch international children's advocacy group KidsRights Foundation. She was the first Pakistani girl to be nominated for the award. The announcement said, "Malala dared to stand up for herself and other girls and used national and international media to let the world know girls should also have the right to go to school".[43] The award was won by Michaela Mycroft of South Africa.

Her public profile rose even further when she was awarded Pakistan's first National Youth Peace Prize two months later in December.

so, calling her fraud does not fit with her profile.

In West, social/volunteer work is given high importance and this factor is also considered during admission/hiring/promotion. (of course people misuse this but one cannot fake for long)

You also did not belong to a village where your education was seen as a problem to society. You also did not get shot in the head. Your post actually shows why you shouldn't be at an Oxford, Cambridge, or any prestigious institution.

Being an ambitious student is not a guarantee to go to the best schools. You need to have a holistic and well-rounded profile, which you very clearly don't have.

little more than that:

Following is before she was hit:

so, calling her fraud does not fit with her profile.

In West, social/volunteer work is given high importance and this factor is also considered during admission/hiring/promotion. (of course people misuse this but one cannot fake for long)

In what manner are those, who I mentioned, behind Malala in terms of social/volunteer work?

I called her a fraud because she chose to do what was beneficial for herself instead of the wider community i.e she chose the easier path of just "smiling and waving" instead of striving harder to improve child education in all of Pakistan. You see, merely, saying the words "I support ______" doesn't count as volunteer/social work. Its called practicing freedom of speech. I see no reason for a child being awarded a youth peace prize for speaking out for his/her own rights against oppressors.

I have immediate family who are Oxford graduates but because they were born here and are successful UK citizens they are not going to garner the world's sympathy because they haven't suffered. Malala is a representative of female restriction in conservative foreign countries and thus an important icon for the West in affirming our own ideals both at home and abroad.

You also did not belong to a village where your education was seen as a problem to society. You also did not get shot in the head. Your post actually shows why you shouldn't be at an Oxford, Cambridge, or any prestigious institution.

Being an ambitious student is not a guarantee to go to the best schools. You need to have a holistic and well-rounded profile, which you very clearly don't have.

1) Doesn't matter because my VERY EXISTENCE was seen as a problem to the society due to my religious beliefs.
2) If I ever get shot in the head and recover, then IMMIGRATION won't be the 1st thing on my mind.
3) Its better not to judge people when you don't know jack about them, alright, so try to be more rational and logical instead of using personal attacks to hide your lack of arguable points.

I have immediate family who are Oxford graduates but because they were born here and are successful UK citizens they are not going to garner the world's sympathy because they haven't suffered. Malala is a representative of female restriction in conservative foreign countries and thus an important icon for the West in affirming our own ideals both at home and abroad.

That is my very point. Why can't she be both an international representative of female restriction and a Pakistani serving her country proudly while also ENACTING what she says instead of repeating "Education for all, Education for all" from her comfortable new residence in Birmingham .

1) Doesn't matter because my VERY EXISTENCE was seen as a problem to the society due to my religious beliefs.
2) If I ever get shot in the head and recover, then IMMIGRATION won't be the 1st thing on my mind.
3) Its better not to judge people when you don't know jack about them, alright, so try to be more rational and logical instead of using personal attacks to hide your lack of arguable points.

No offense. If you're unable to figure out why you couldn't get in to Cambridge despite your academic excellence then I think you need to reflect deeper. As I mentioned before, your grades only take you so far, which is evident in your case.

Also, I find it absolutely shocking that if your "VERY EXISTENCE" was seen as a problem to society, you have the audacity to go around and make ludicrous statements about someone who paid the price for not bowing down to societal pressure.

You're making it sound like your issue with Malala is personal. Just how you equate your life to hers is a serious joke. And how she got in to Cambridge and you didn't...like you both were on an equal standing in life.

Also to add: When you or any person of Pakistani origin applies to these schools, you directly are up against all Indians/Pakistanis/Bangladeshis/Sri Lankans ethnic backgrounds since these schools need to maintain a balance in class size and your ethnicity ends up being a major factor. Hence why all Ivy League schools have a special designation for "Under Represented Minority" which you don't fall under but Malala does.

In what manner are those, who I mentioned, behind Malala in terms of social/volunteer work?

I called her a fraud because she chose to do what was beneficial for herself instead of the wider community i.e she chose the easier path of just "smiling and waving" instead of striving harder to improve child education in all of Pakistan. You see, merely, saying the words "I support ______" doesn't count as volunteer/social work. Its called practicing freedom of speech. I see no reason for a child being awarded a youth peace prize for speaking out for his/her own rights against oppressors.

Nope, she chose to do the most difficult thing.
Her family put their lives on line.

No offense. If you're unable to figure out why you couldn't get in to Cambridge despite your academic excellence then I think you need to reflect deeper. As I mentioned before, your grades only take you so far, which is evident in your case.

Also, I find it absolutely shocking that if your "VERY EXISTENCE" was seen as a problem to society, you have the audacity to go around and make ludicrous statements about someone who paid the price for not bowing down to societal pressure.

You're making it sound like your issue with Malala is personal. Just how you equate your life to hers is a serious joke. And how she got in to Cambridge and you didn't...like you both were on an equal standing in life.

Also to add: When you or any person of Pakistani origin applies to these schools, you directly are up against all Indians/Pakistanis/Bangladeshis/Sri Lankans ethnic backgrounds since these schools need to maintain a balance in class size and your ethnicity ends up being a major factor. Hence why all Ivy League schools have a special designation for "Under Represented Minority" which you don't fall under but Malala does.

Once again bro, you've no idea about the stuff I did in 12th Grade so stop being personal, alright.

Why can't I have the audacity to ask another Pakistani to help her own countrymen before settling abroad and sending this "bechaari" image of hers throughout the world? Pakistan was the country that gave her an identity (otherwise, who knows, she would've been another "Rohingya massacre" news story) therefore it is her duty to serve her nation 1st and foremost.

Its not personal. You're talking as if I'm cursing Malala for going to Cambridge. I'm criticising the Ivy League unis for not being transparent enough.

Nope, she chose to do the most difficult thing.
Her family put their lives on line.

And THAT is the ONLY significant, admirable and "emotional" part of her story.

Nothing else is extraordinary. Hence the "bechaari" image which shot her to fame.

Once again bro, you've no idea about the stuff I did in 12th Grade so stop being personal, alright.

Why can't I have the audacity to ask another Pakistani to help her own countrymen before settling abroad and sending this "bechaari" image of hers throughout the world? Pakistan was the country that gave her an identity (otherwise, who knows, she would've been another "Rohingya massacre" news story) therefore it is her duty to serve her nation 1st and foremost.

Its not personal. You're talking as if I'm cursing Malala for going to Cambridge. I'm criticising the Ivy League unis for not being transparent enough.

I'm not getting personal. Doing stuff in Grade 12 is not enough...this is my point. If despite your amazing grades and "stuff" you've been doing, you're unable to figure out why you didn't make it, then I think you don't belong there. Again, no offense.

A good first step would be to take a look at your competition at these schools and how your profile relates to them. Trust me, you're not making a strong case for yourself with your reasoning here.

Why should any Pakistani help others before helping herself? Do you have any idea how nonsensical that sounds. Any person would choose to make their life better first and then do what they can to help others. Are you forgetting what happened to her in Pakistan? Sounds like you have an issue that she chose to get an immigration...why does that even matter? The country that gave her an identity also gave her bullets in her head and a life full of fear. Do you honestly think Malala wouldn't be a target again?

I think it's absolutely PATHETIC of you to say it's her duty to serve her nation first. What in the actual HELL have you ever done to serve your nation? And what gives you a right to tell anyone that they should serve their nation before they serve themselves?

Pakistanis are a cursed community and the opinions on Malala are a clear example why we don't belong in the civilized world. Thanks for the debate, I wish you a lot of luck for your future. You will need it.

Millions of Pakistanis have immigrated and are trying to immigrate every single day to better their personal lives (not for "sake of nation" etc.). So why single out Malala for doing so?

The hate for Malala is also based on cultural differences. West places importance on individual achievement and bravery in the face of great difficulty whereas in societies such as Pakistan, importance is on the action of the individual bringing "shame" or "dishonor" upon the collective community. So Malala speaking about her ordeal in Pakistan is seen as bringing disrepute (and that too by a female).

Sometimes I can see she is being used but at the end of the day what she did as a 15 year old girl to stand up to the Taliban (and nearly get killed for it) supersedes the mistakes she's made (till now).

And THAT is the ONLY significant, admirable and "emotional" part of her story.

Nothing else is extraordinary. Hence the "bechaari" image which shot her to fame.

She got national award before she was shot.
She was nominated for an international award before she was shot.

I know some posters who took "break" from posting when pakistani govt started prosecuting social media users.

Calling a 7th grade student a fraud. ..this mindset would not help you if you get looking to be admitted in good schools.

Millions of Pakistanis have immigrated and are trying to immigrate every single day to better their personal lives (not for "sake of nation" etc.). So why single out Malala for doing so?

The hate for Malala is also based on cultural differences. West places importance on individual achievement and bravery in the face of great difficulty whereas in societies such as Pakistan, importance is on the action of the individual bringing "shame" or "dishonor" upon the collective community. So Malala speaking about her ordeal in Pakistan is seen as bringing disrepute (and that too by a female).

Sometimes I can see she is being used but at the end of the day what she did as a 15 year old girl to stand up to the Taliban (and nearly get killed for it) supersedes the mistakes she's made (till now).

It's sad what happened to her and it's great she speaks up for education. This is all great.

However this doesn't mean she should be supported in everything else she does. Surely she should be in Pakistan helping girls to school. Im sure she will be protected by the Pak security forces. Or she has enough money to get her own security. She's made a lot of money out of her incident.

Why does the British tax payer have to pay for her education in school and then for Oxford to give her a place when plenty of British students have gained better grades?

The girl is being used as propaganda thats why.

She's a fraud.

Considering that your reaction to not getting entry is to start personally attacking a girl who literally took a bullet in the head for education maybe they dodged a bullet here (pun not intended).

Perhaps some self reflection might be in order instead of crying victim. If you WERE a student do you think theyd be happy one of their students (and thus a representative of the uni) was calling a worldwide icon of education and equality a fraud??

Not to mention the girl has given speeches worldwide including at the UN and has met and conversed with some of the worlds most powerful people and businessmen. You mean to say you're more qualified because of O and A Levels?? Lol please youre humiliating yourself here.

Glad she got in over you tbh. She's clearly a superior human being

The hate for Malala is based solely off the fact that she shines a mirror on everything wrong with the culture where she grew up, and rather than be adults and admit there's a problem too many keyboard patriots hate her because her very existence and fame is a slap to their fragile nationalistic ego's. So they invent conspiracy theories (West uses her to diss Pakistan) and constantly shift goalposts (why isnt she helping girls in Pakistan? Why is she getting educated in the UK?) to belittle her or portray her as some form of western propaganda tool, as if women in rural Pakistan have it great and Malala is perpetuating some lie.

Its staggering tbh.

The hate for Malala is based solely off the fact that she shines a mirror on everything wrong with the culture where she grew up, and rather than be adults and admit there's a problem too many keyboard patriots hate her because her very existence and fame is a slap to their fragile nationalistic ego's. So they invent conspiracy theories (West uses her to diss Pakistan) and constantly shift goalposts (why isnt she helping girls in Pakistan? Why is she getting educated in the UK?) to belittle her or portray her as some form of western propaganda tool, as if women in rural Pakistan have it great and Malala is perpetuating some lie.

Its staggering tbh.

Pakistanis a very critical of their country so what she is saying is nothing new at all. Other nationalities find it difficult to criticise their nations, Indians rarely do on this forum and as an Irishman you have defended the policies of the IRA, which is your right but what you're suggesting isn't the case.

Malala is multi millionaire now through her company which was set up after she was shot in order to make money from her name inc a book deal. She receives over £100,000 per speech, even you could give a great speech about any troubling world subject for that amount of money.

She has done well for herself and her family, helped others but to think she is some great hope for Pakistan and the world is just laughable.

Pakistanis a very critical of their country so what she is saying is nothing new at all. Other nationalities find it difficult to criticise their nations, Indians rarely do on this forum and as an Irishman you have defended the policies of the IRA, which is your right but what you're suggesting isn't the case.

Malala is multi millionaire now through her company which was set up after she was shot in order to make money from her name inc a book deal. She receives over £100,000 per speech, even you could give a great speech about any troubling world subject for that amount of money.

She has done well for herself and her family, helped others but to think she is some great hope for Pakistan and the world is just laughable.

Emmm what?? I defended McGuinness and some others feeling they had to take up arms, at absolutely no stage have I defended their disgusting and inhumane slaughter of innocent civilians.

As for your other paragraphs, you mean to say she isnt a role model for oppressed young girls around the world? Im sure many would disagree considering she came from nothing survived a bullet and is now at one of the worlds most prestigious colleges. Living evidence you can overcome a tribal and backwards culture.

It's sad what happened to her and it's great she speaks up for education. This is all great.

However this doesn't mean she should be supported in everything else she does. Surely she should be in Pakistan helping girls to school. Im sure she will be protected by the Pak security forces. Or she has enough money to get her own security. She's made a lot of money out of her incident.

Why does the British tax payer have to pay for her education in school and then for Oxford to give her a place when plenty of British students have gained better grades?

1. I don't hold it against her for making money off the book. All of us would do the same.
2. Pakistan couldn't protect Benazir and thousand others. None of us would go back to Pakistan after getting shot in the head like her.
3. I agree British gov't shouldn't be footing her bills (other than the initial medical ones).
4. She has become a global icon and she doesn't need to be in Pakistan to do good. She can do it anywhere.
5. Pakistanis (plus other traditional societies) don't understand how to do PR. The world looks up to Malala. Use her as PR for the country. No one cares SA imprisoned Nelson Mandela because the legacy of Mandela elevates SA too. If we use Malala properly, she can be a great lifter for all of Pakistan's image. But we don't have that level of strategic thought. It's easier to get emotional and attack a teenage girl.

A 17 year old does not know how to make a lot of money. She was even younger than that when she became popular. You've been that age and would know that most things are not controlled by the child.

Yes, she is being used to push a narrative but because the west thought of it first it hurts Pakistanis. What you're suggesting is pretty much her being used for the same reasons in Pakistan. Or like Hadi mentioned to "serve the nation". Somehow it's okay if we as Pakistanis take advantage of a young girl's misery just because she is Pakistani. At least with the west she gets something in return, whether it be money, education, fame, opportunity to live her life without fear of getting killed, or just a fresh new start after the horrors she went through. Anyone including all Pakistanis will take that offer.

I'm sure a few hundred thousand pounds of British taxpayers are better spent on Malala's education over other British kids who have had a normal life. Malala's life is just not that, and she's not been in control of it for the most part.

1. I don't hold it against her for making money off the book. All of us would do the same.
2. Pakistan couldn't protect Benazir and thousand others. None of us would go back to Pakistan after getting shot in the head like her.
3. I agree British gov't shouldn't be footing her bills (other than the initial medical ones).
4. She has become a global icon and she doesn't need to be in Pakistan to do good. She can do it anywhere.
5. Pakistanis (plus other traditional societies) don't understand how to do PR. The world looks up to Malala. Use her as PR for the country. No one cares SA imprisoned Nelson Mandela because the legacy of Mandela elevates SA too. If we use Malala properly, she can be a great lifter for all of Pakistan's image. But we don't have that level of strategic thought. It's easier to get emotional and attack a teenage girl.

Can you think of how Pakistan could use Malala more effectively than they have done to this point for PR purposes? Initially it was with the Pakistan govt's blessing that she was moved to Britain after all, so Pakistan must have had some thought as to how to use it to advance their own agenda in some way.

Emmm what?? I defended McGuinness and some others feeling they had to take up arms, at absolutely no stage have I defended their disgusting and inhumane slaughter of innocent civilians.

As for your other paragraphs, you mean to say she isnt a role model for oppressed young girls around the world? Im sure many would disagree considering she came from nothing survived a bullet and is now at one of the worlds most prestigious colleges. Living evidence you can overcome a tribal and backwards culture.

Defending McGuiness was the only thing I was suggesting.

I have no real idea how much of a role model she is to young girls.

A 17 year old does not know how to make a lot of money. She was even younger than that when she became popular. You've been that age and would know that most things are not controlled by the child.

Her and her family employed people to make them money using her name and profile after she was shot.

When someone has become a multi millionaire on the back of their tragedy, their words have to be taken in a wider context. Her father was given a government role because of this too.

As I said she is sincere but she's not Ghandi, she has become rich and this is her main motivation otherwise she wouldn't be charging over 100k for a speech to inspire young girls.

Defending McGuiness was the only thing I was suggesting.

I have no real idea how much of a role model she is to young girls.

Her and her family employed people to make them money using her name and profile after she was shot.

When someone has become a multi millionaire on the back of their tragedy, their words have to be taken in a wider context. Her father was given a government role because of this too.

As I said she is sincere but she's not Ghandi, she has become rich and this is her main motivation otherwise she wouldn't be charging over 100k for a speech to inspire young girls.

Really?

Several sour-tasting chips on several notably male shoulders evident in this thread.

Malala got shot in the face point blank and it only made her raise her head even higher. She has balls of steel from what I can see.