Narendra Modi : Mega Discussion Thread

BJP that's what happens when you try to mess with Rajputs in Rajasthan.

Abhi to party shuru hui hai!

What did they do?

Don't tell me it was anything to do with the film about the fictional princess!!

That and a lot of other factors as well!
Basically they took us all (including Brahmans and Baniyas) for granted forgetting that upper castes were BJP's core vote base.

You reap what you sow.

Basically they took us all (including Brahmans and Baniyas) for granted forgetting that upper castes were BJP's core vote base.

You reap what you sow.

Free foods and clothes prior to Election always WORK...thats why CONGRESS rule the nation for 60 yrs. You guys sold yourself to the Gandhi/Italian family again and if you think its something to do with Rajput pride, you are hugely mistaken.

Yesterday that sweet Adelaide win and today BJP rout in the state elections. What a glorious 36 hours it has been !!! Time to relish the spectacle at Times Now and Republic TV now, those sanghis and BJP spokespersons will be in ruins, eager to see what spin Arnab gives to defend his overlords here. And Sambit Patra's tears will taste extra tasty tonight.

So I take it Rajasthanis are anti nationals now?

No, you guys are antinational only if you dethrone Modi from the PM post. I am sure that’s not gonna happen both in MP and Rajasthan in the next Lok Sabha polls. Amit Shah will address your grievances this time.;-)

I wouldn't count on that. There's some serious anger against BJP in the state and I doubt Shah's shenanigans would work this time.

So I take it Rajasthanis are anti nationals now?

Can understand your and [MENTION=143530]Swashbuckler[/MENTION] bhai's excitement today as Congress has won any election after long long long time. So enjoy :)

But rest assure no one will call Rajasthan people anti nationals. We live and believe in democracy, respect people's madate. Yes its a different story where ever BJP has won elections in last few years, Congress has cried of EVM tampering (i.e disrespecting people's mandate).

Can understand your and [MENTION=143530]Swashbuckler[/MENTION] bhai's excitement today as Congress has won any election after long long long time. So enjoy :)

But rest assure no one will call Rajasthan people anti nationals. We live and believe in democracy, respect people's madate. Yes its a different story where ever BJP has won elections in last few years, Congress has cried of EVM tampering (i.e disrespecting people's mandate).
Yar paka mat please and stop quoting me in your posts.

Yesterday that sweet Adelaide win and today BJP rout in the state elections. What a glorious 36 hours it has been !!! Time to relish the spectacle at Times Now and Republic TV now, those sanghis and BJP spokespersons will be in ruins, eager to see what spin Arnab gives to defend his overlords here. And Sambit Patra's tears will taste extra tasty tonight.
This. These 2 days have been great.

Such losers these Patras, Arnabs, Navikas etc are.

lol , nice post & though i do not watch Arnab 's channel , i bet he looked like a constipated toad :)

Not much. National elections are fought on a totally different level.
You hugely underestimate the intelligence of Indian electorate.

Signs are not at all encouraging for Modi. I know had these results been in his favour, he won't have stopped calling these assembly elections a referendum on his govt. Now home minister Rajnath Singh says assembly elections are fought on local issues. That's why Modi was raising issues like Rahul's gotra, his nani dadi, Pakistan and what not.

If I was the BJP, I wouldn't mind that actually. Everybody knows the Mahagatbandhan will barely last 6-18 months, and tossers like Akhilesh and Stalin and whoever will demand the Himalayas in return for their support to the government. After the inevitable collapse in a few short months, the BJP will come storming back.
Lol at delusions....

If Stalin and Akhilesh are tossers, who are Uma Bharti, Giriraj Singh, fake yogi and Modi, Shah?

You are mistaken if you think these BJP Wallahs are any better!

Lol at delusions....

If Stalin and Akhilesh are tossers, who are Uma Bharti, Giriraj Singh, fake yogi and Modi, Shah?

You are mistaken if you think these BJP Wallahs are any better!

Either of the two national parties are much better propositions to have at the central government than the assorted troupe of slimeballs mentioned above.

lol , nice post & though i do not watch Arnab 's channel , i bet he looked like a constipated toad :)

Even I don't watch these North Korean channels but had to tune in tonight for quality entertainment, and I wasn't disappointed. Arnab is being a proper sook, defending Modi/Shah and somehow trying to blame Rahul Gandhi for God knows what. Times Now is even more hilarious, that Sanghi anchor (Rahul?) was holding back his tears while the pro Congress spokespersons were rubbing it in. Don't miss the fun, tune in because the show should go on for another couple of hours at least. From tomorrow onwards it will be back to the same old Government propaganda and peddling of hate/fake news.

Such happy times , aur bulao Yogi ko lol! Now Congress should just keep Rahul away for a bit and promote local leaders, and BJP would be on it's knees.

Better to have coalition than BJP with such a manadate promoting Sadhus to be CM.

Even I don't watch these North Korean channels but had to tune in tonight for quality entertainment, and I wasn't disappointed. Arnab is being a proper sook, defending Modi/Shah and somehow trying to blame Rahul Gandhi for God knows what. Times Now is even more hilarious, that Sanghi anchor (Rahul?) was holding back his tears while the pro Congress spokespersons were rubbing it in. Don't miss the fun, tune in because the show should go on for another couple of hours at least. From tomorrow onwards it will be back to the same old Government propaganda and peddling of hate/fake news.

And what about NDTV who are nothing but a bunch of bigoted left wing fools whose agenda is only to do Gandhi family appeasenent. How about Nidhi Razdan, Barkha Dutt, Ravish Kumar, Sagarika Ghosh, Rajdeep Sardesai and all other luteyn media?

Or maybe you hate Arnab bcoz he did this to your beloved RaGa :))

https://youtu.be/Psen10db1k0

https://youtu.be/1LnNT1tqMFM

https://youtu.be/vSFw6jcUaMk

Enjoy the gems above and think for a moment whom you supporting :))

Some of the results in MP have been very very close. The independent MLAs there are going to be very very wealthy by the end of all the negotiations.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Fight on in 34 marginal seats in Madhya Pradesh. Look how close it’s got: 3,6,53 votes. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ResultsWithNDTV?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ResultsWithNDTV</a> <a href="https://t.co/afHhQwBFFE">pic.twitter.com/afHhQwBFFE</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1072461432443281408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 11, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Relax man. I am happy with the results not because of Congress winning but because of BJP losing. I am sick and tired of their hate politics, arrogance, jumla, linguistic chauvinism, cultural/historical revisionism, crony capitalism, deteriorating law&order, trivialization of rapes etc . Doesn't mean I like Congress (more faults than I can count), in fact I detest both national parties equally and am someone who wants regional parties to rise. But when I tire of regional satraps, I also turn against them.

Anyhow as you said we live in a democracy and winning/losing elections is part and parcel. The nation is above any political party, so it is better not to be too attached to them. You seem like a BJP supporter. How long were you their supporter? Is your opinion about them unchanged in these last 4.5 years? Do stick around and hopefully I get to ask you these questions after 4 more years :).

No regional.party in TN is good [MENTION=143530]Swashbuckler[/MENTION] ,I would go as far as to say it's been the biggest hindrance to Tamizhans and have put the entire state in huge debt and made everyone rely on subsidy and dellusional with communism/socialism ( movies played a part too).

They have fallen in standards compared to earlier times. Thanks to the good work done by them in previous years TN even today does well on most social, economic, HDI parameters and it is outsiders who come seeking employment here, not the other way around.

State units of BJP and Congress are even more incompetent, if they (or new entrants) are able to raise their game and provide a good alternative people will give them a chance. Perhaps now's the time to strike with 2 of the tallest state leaders deceased and rest of the bunch behaving like headless chickens.

You reap what you sow.

The core vote revolted... Interested to know what the upper caste expected them to do and they didn't deliver.

They have fallen in standards compared to earlier times. Thanks to the good work done by them in previous years TN even today does well on most social, economic, HDI parameters and it is outsiders who come seeking employment here, not the other way around.

State units of BJP and Congress are even more incompetent, if they (or new entrants) are able to raise their game and provide a good alternative people will give them a chance. Perhaps now's the time to strike with 2 of the tallest state leaders deceased and rest of the bunch behaving like headless chickens.

I would expect PMK to rise up but looks.like DMK is again gaining favor with Stalin as head Sun behind them again.

I don't mind Ramadoss' son if they can eliminate TASMAC, it's ridiculous and I have not seen any action damage a population the way TASMAC has damaged TN, DMK directly responsibile for the same Karunanidhi!

Is bar ache se harayenge bjp ko.
Jisko jo ukhadna hai ukhad lo.

Jai Shree Ram &#55357;&#56845;

The core vote revolted... Interested to know what the upper caste expected them to do and they didn't deliver.

[MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION] Dada problem with bjp is that they have hijacked Hindu Dharma.
As if they are the sole thekedars of Hinduism. It's this mentality of BJP that has peeved people big time. At least in my state. We are deeply religious people who don't want to politicize the Dharma.

[MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION] Dada problem with bjp is that they have hijacked Hindu Dharma.
As if they are the sole thekedars of Hinduism. It's this mentality of BJP that has peeved people big time. At least in my state. We are deeply religious people who don't want to politicize the Dharma.

That is also why they would lose the Jat votes in UP this time..i feel.

Nahi Jaded Bhai. Jats aren't your typical Hindu extremists. It's only the upper castes who care about the religion much.
Besides apart from 3-4 districts , Jats don't possess much clout in UP (in contrast with Rajputs who practically rule Purvanchal i.e eastern UP and are also staunch Hindus).

Nahi Jaded Bhai. Jats aren't your typical Hindu extremists. It's only the upper castes who care about the religion much.
Besides apart from 3-4 districts , Jats don't possess much clout in UP (in contrast with Rajputs who practically rule Purvanchal i.e eastern UP and are also staunch Hindus).

Jats are not religious as such which is why they swing..but in last few years have felt they inclined themselves to BJP obviously due to the riots , again things are going to change ,they carry a lot of clout in districts where Ajit Singh can win..and looks like he can make a comeback.

Rajputs do form a big base in UP, but Jats or Jaats can hamper BJP easily in UP which will be the state to win sadly again.

Well that is not true at all. When I am responding with facts...you are saying dont tag me. The only party which played religion card is congress...they made a mockery of hindu religion. Atleast in BJPs case...they always said hinduism and RSS is their ideology. Nothing wrong in it...India has 80% hindus. But how about RaGa? He says people goes to mandir to do Cher khaani and then just before Gujrat election says he is a janeyudhari brahmin. Mamta Banerjee stops Durga puja visarjaan in my bengal to allow muharram procession. Owaisi brothers openly abuse hindus in hyderabad and that chota brother Akbar Owaisi...the kind of language he used for hindu dieties I cant use here. Shashi Tharoor says Rama is a mystical figure, Digvijay Singh says RSS was behind 26/11. I can go on and on and quote multiple examples. We all know who communal are.

I know you are on cloud 9 to win an incumbent state and that too not with clear majority. So enjoy but 2019 will be very different.

Jats are not religious as such which is why they swing..but in last few years have felt they inclined themselves to BJP obviously due to the riots , again things are going to change ,they carry a lot of clout in districts where Ajit Singh can win..and looks like he can make a comeback.

Rajputs do form a big base in UP, but Jats or Jaats can hamper BJP easily in UP which will be the state to win sadly again.

You are mistaking them with Ahirs actually. Ahirs are real game changers in UP.

I am new to this forum and this thread is an eye opener for me. Didnt knew we so many communists here. As I have always maintained, India's biggest enemy is not Pakistan (far from it) but congress and communist/left supporters residing in India. Good all got cleared tonight.

Lol stop taking politics so personally ,you are not an American ,no one here goes out of their way to support Congress or BJP, everyone is a swing vote , people mock Congress when Raga speaks or with corruption same with BJP and it's politics.

I’m back!

Came here after a long time just to see how brothers from the other side of the border would react to today’s results. Was expecting some heated debates but they’ve stayed away from all this which is great to see (although I’m a bit disappointed :P ). And it seems you guys have finally got a leader who really cares about your country’s future and he’s trying his level best despite some limitations, for a better future.

I wish to respond to some of these guys here, particularly to the ones from TN (not you [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]). They’ll run away holding their langotis if I start talking about TN politics and culture. But this is a comeback post.

Most of you guys are reading the results wrongly. BJP actually performed better than expected, particularly in Rajasthan. And it was neck and neck in MP. Market took the tight contest as a big positive and rallied. I knew this would happen and went long as soon as it dipped early in the morning.

I’m not a BJP fan either and don’t hold very positive views about many of their state leaders. But India needs Modi to come to power in 2019. We don’t have a single leader who is anywhere near as good as him.

You reap what you sow.

You mean that BJP is not extremist and fanatic enough to the standards of Rajputs and Brahmans?

Lol stop taking politics so personally ,you are not an American ,no one here goes out of their way to support Congress or BJP, everyone is a swing vote , people mock Congress when Raga speaks or with corruption same with BJP and it's politics.
Exactly this ,my family were BJP supporters during the Vajpayee era but no way are we ever going to support Modi.
It's law and order which differntiates between humans and animals and the daily lynchings make a mockery of same.
And the undermining of Indian institutions like the RBI and looting Indian public money to pay off his Gujju cronies who then print wedding cards worth lakhs while farmers are struggling to make ends meet.
And the crassness of his public discourse.
I am surprised this guy has any supporters.

India’s biggest enemy is radicalized extremist Hindus aka RSS, which support BJP.

Modi ji singing today for liberal Indian hindus:

"Isme tera ghaata..
Mera kuch nehi jaata"

Indeed. These liberals harbour hate for a man who works 18-20 hours a day for the country. Even Yogiji is a 24x7 CM and he’s been mocked repeatedly here. These guys embrace mediocrity.

Hopefully they get rid of the hate. Hindus must unite. Modi for PM in 2019. Yogi after that.

Jai shri Ram. Har har Modi har ghar Modi. Yogi ji ki Jai.

Even the RSS seem to have had enough of him and his Amit Shah.
Problem with their approach is that politics is a game of making friends (even those with different ideology) and not foes at drop of hat which this duo manages with such ease with gutter mouths and underhand tactics.

Never in the history of Indian politics, there has been so much bad blood between top bosses of political bosses, much of which could be credited to this duo. They've brought down political discourse to such a level that its nigh impossible to think of cordial relations between different ends of Indian political spectrum, which has never been a case in Indian polity, at least from the time (mid '80s) I've been following Indian polity.

Vajpayee, Advani, Joshi etc were political opponents of mother-son duo & PVN but certainly not enemies as being witnessed these days. George was an exception but he rose from trade union ranks so his behaviour was on expected lines.

Vajpayee, Advani, Joshi etc were political opponents of mother-son duo & PVN but certainly not enemies as being witnessed these days.

Yes. There is a rumored story of Rahul Gandhi getting into trouble with US immigration and Sonia Gandhi approached Vajpayee to put in a word which he did. Vajpayee was well-respected across all parties even though he came through the RSS ranks.

Same way, Rajiv as PM helping Vajpayee to have some advanced surgery in US which he couldn't have undergone otherwise. However these gestures are unimaginable in today's extremely polarized Indian polity.

If Kamal Nath is made CM, that will be a disgrace. He was part of a mob that burnt alive Sikhs in the 1984 Congress sponsored riots. Hope those who invoke minority rights, secular-communal politics etc to oppose Modi also make their voices heard in case the unimaginable happens today.

This is why I can't take either of these 2 national parties seriously. Really hope the regional players step up next year.

Rahul should ideally hand over reins of MP and Rajasthan to his young turks, Scindhia and Pilot. Kamalnath & Gehlot are totally past it.

Youth is the way to go.

Rahul should ideally hand over reins of MP and Rajasthan to his young turks, Scindhia and Pilot. Kamalnath & Gehlot are totally past it.

Youth is the way to go.

If mummy wants Gehlot and Scindia, Gehlot and Scindia it will be.

If Kamal Nath is made CM, that will be a disgrace. He was part of a mob that burnt alive Sikhs in the 1984 Congress sponsored riots. Hope those who invoke minority rights, secular-communal politics etc to oppose Modi also make their voices heard in case the unimaginable happens today.

This is why I can't take either of these 2 national parties seriously. Really hope the regional players step up next year.

Can you share the evidence?

There are eyewitness accounts which do not paint him in a great light when it comes to the 1984 riots.

For example:

What was Congress leader Kamal Nath doing with mobs during the 1984 anti-Sikh riot?
In his book, Sanjay Suri recounts how the Congress leader appeared to be controlling the crowd outside Delhi’s Rakab Ganj Sahib gurudwara.

I wasn’t expecting to find Kamal Nath by the screaming crowd outside Rakab Ganj Sahib gurdwara, where two Sikhs had only just been burnt alive. But there he was, a little to a side, in bright white kurta-pajama, not far from the usual white Ambassador car with its mounted red light and mini flag post by the front bumper announcing its ministerial, or at least officially important, credentials.

The white of Kamal Nath’s kurta and pajama was standard for a Congress-I leader. Not exclusive to the Congress, of course, leaders do wear it as near-uniform on occasions where they wish to appear leader-like in public. That day the white no doubt doubled appropriately as mourning dress.

It was the afternoon of 1 November, Indira Gandhi had been assassinated the previous day. Her body lay for darshan in Teen Murti Bhavan close to Rakab Ganj gurdwara. Mourners had been filing past all morning crying “khoon ka badla khoon (blood for blood)”.

Rakab Ganj gurdwara was the nearest target from Teen Murti Bhavan where the cry for blood could be turned into action. There were certain to be Sikhs there, and there was the gurdwara itself to attack. At the gurdwara groups heading out from Teen Murti found the blood they had been crying for.

Police indicate a wave of attacks on the gurdwara, and that someone within had fired to try to scare the attackers away. The firing in the air caused no reported injury. This was before I reached; when I arrived on my scooter, the crowd was advancing menacingly again towards the gurdwara.

But that wasn’t the only shocking sight. What stunned me was that alongside the screaming men advancing upon the gurdwara stood a neat formation of policemen watching the crowd. And in this neat formation they continued to stand. Screaming men were advancing again and again towards the gurdwara – and the policemen just stood there, in a disciplined and very static column.

ADVERTISEMENT
The policemen were from the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF). The additional commissioner of police for New Delhi range, Gautam Kaul, stood by the side of the policemen standing in two or three rows, one behind the other. Kaul stood as static as the policemen, carrying a bamboo riot shield to protect himself.

He was the second in command of policing in the area after the commissioner of police, the New Delhi range equivalent of Hukum Chand Jatav from Delhi range; the charge of these ‘ranges’ Delhi was divided into devolved to Kaul and Jatav from the police commissioner.

The sight of the still policemen assaulted my sense of what should be. The gurdwara was being targeted in the presence of a large force of disciplined spectators from the police and I didn’t think it should be so. The designer platoon made no move to stop these men advancing on the gurdwara, Kaul made no move to order them to do so.

Within minutes of my arrival, some from the crowd rushed down the road again towards the gurdwara. Gautam Kaul saw them come and scampered to a side. By “scamper” I mean a sort of sprint that lasted just a few steps. Those steps he took remarkably rapidly for a fairly senior person; I’d never seen Kaul run before.

ADVERTISEMENT
I felt embarrassed for him, and I can recall that feeling of embarrassment distinctly, for some reason it has remained for me an enduring experience of 1984. Here was an officer who had the command of a police force by his side. In the face of an advancing move by a murderous crowd, he issued no orders to the police, he ducked and ran.

Kaul later denied this; of course he would. Put to it, he could no doubt line up a neat formation of witnesses from the CRPF to “confirm” the “denial”. And who among that crowd would come up ever to say they saw the police officer in charge duck to a side the moment they took some steps forward? None of this silence alters the fact that I saw what I saw.

And Kamal Nath? My reporting from Rakab Ganj that day, and the affidavits I filed before the Misra and later the Nanavati commissions of inquiry seem to have pleased no one. I was told by lawyers speaking up for Sikhs that my affidavit was not “very strong” or “very clear”, that it was not good enough to “nail” Kamal Nath, that I had been wishy-washy.

On the Congress side, I was told I had made allegations against Kamal Nath that I could not substantiate. The Nanavati Commission noted that my affidavit had not been “very clear”.

ADVERTISEMENT
I found these complaints and counter-complaints disappointing, and not because they took a position critical of my submission. I had turned up at Rakab Ganj as the beat crime reporter of The Indian Express, I was out in the city to cover events as far as information, time, and my scooter could take me.

I had no idea before I turned up that I would run into Kamal Nath, or Gautam Kaul, or anyone else. I have neither friendship nor friction with Kamal Nath, or with Gautam Kaul. My responsibility was to report fairly what I saw, and not tailor that to fit one set of interests or another. I didn’t go there to “nail” Kamal Nath, I wasn’t out there to defend him.

Did I see Kamal Nath physically and obviously leading a mob, commanding them to kill Sikhs? No, I did not. If to that extent the affidavit was “weak”, so it was and so be it. But it is just as true that what I had seen raised disturbing questions about just what Kamal Nath was doing there. These were questions the commissions of inquiry did not probe at any length.

What I did see then was that when the crowd surged forward at one point, Kamal Nath had only to gesture lightly, and they held back. Does that fact exonerate Kamal Nath? Because, on the face of it, he had restrained the crowd, hadn’t he? By way of some intervention he did at that point prevent the crowd advancing further towards the gurdwara.

ADVERTISEMENT
Why did the crowd listen to him? Why, in a situation where a murderous bunch was advancing yet again, would the police continue to stand to a side (and the officer leading them duck to a side), and now watch the MP control that crowd?

Why did a word from the Congress MP become more effective than any move from the police? What was the relation between Kamal Nath and that crowd that he had only to raise his hand towards it and it held back?

Were these just people with no party connections who had seen an MP shoo them back, and promptly retreated because they held such innate respect for an MP, just any MP? They did not appear such a respectful lot.

They did not appear like a lot who had killed, who were now out to kill more, but would suddenly hold back because some MP had signalled to them to hold back, a signal they must obey because an MP is necessarily a leader, if not their particular leader.

ADVERTISEMENT
It is not clear what exactly Kamal Nath was doing there – and he had been there awhile. All that time he was there, the crowds had stayed there, violently and aggressively.

Kamal Nath and that crowd had a connection; he signalled, they listened. And they were only likely to respond to him if they were from the Congress party and accepted him as their leader, not just any leader. I doubt they would have responded with that alacrity to an MP from, say, one of the communist parties.

Given the circumstances, that wasn’t surprising. Kamal Nath had come down from Teen Murti Bhavan, the crowd too had come from there, as the Kusum Lata Mittal report into policing failures categorically declares. That does not of itself add up to a conspiracy or to any inference that Kamal Nath had brought the crowd there from Teen Murti in order to attack the gurdwara.

But it does say that these were men from the Congress party, and that Kamal Nath, as I said in my affidavit then, had control over them.

ADVERTISEMENT
Kamal Nath said later he was not leading the mob in any attack, that he had, on the contrary, only tried to control the situation. That defence itself betrays a connection. In the sense that he successfully restrained these men at some point and to some extent, he did control the situation.

Kamal Nath could control because he was in a position to control. Kamal Nath’s signal to the crowd, and their response to it, implied a right to instruct and a duty to respond. This understanding arose from a crowd owning a leader, and the leader the crowd.

Why was the controlling left to Kamal Nath? Was that not for the police to do? And if he was at the scene as only some responsible political leader, would it not be proper for him to do all he could to make sure that the police dealt with the situation?

Surely, dealing with that situation must mean quick and effective intervention to disperse the crowd? For the police to be doing what they must, and for the law to mean what it did, it was for Kamal Nath to do his bit to push the police to disperse that crowd.

ADVERTISEMENT
Instead, he was there in direct communication with the crowd - with the police idle to a side. This was not just some ordinary crowd control situation. Murders had taken place there – committed by members of this very crowd.

If Kamal Nath was playing a role as responsible citizen and leader, he would have wanted later to follow up with the local police to ensure investigation and prosecution for the murders committed. We have seen no evidence he did that.

No one was ever caught and punished for those murders. To all appearances, Kamal Nath was controlling the situation in his own way. That was not the legal way.

In failing to push for police intervention to disperse those crowds, and to push for arrests (if pushing were needed where murders had been committed in the presence of the police), Kamal Nath may well have done something towards making more killings possible. Because these very men were left free to attack Sikhs and kill wherever they went from Rakab Ganj.

ADVERTISEMENT
They left with the message that the police would not stop them. The crowd did finally go their way, and who could say where they headed. This was the afternoon of 1 November, the worst of the killings was to come that night.

I could not raise such questions about the implications of Kamal Nath’s signals in my affidavit. The stuff of the affidavit had necessarily to be the bare facts that I had witnessed, and I stayed within those limits.

A commission would want to know what I saw, not what I thought about what I saw. It would be well out of the scope of an affidavit to talk of implications; these would be for an inquiry officer or judge to take up. The bare facts had cast their shadows, and in those shadows lay disturbing and unanswered questions.

What did the police know about the crowd that they could stand back and decide to leave it in the hands of Kamal Nath? Indisputably, before their eyes, this was a Congress crowd. Just as indisputably, men from this crowd had killed two people, and were ready to advance to kill again.

ADVERTISEMENT
For a police force to stand by watching all this was itself illegal. The stillness of the police was actionable. They cannot delegate policing over murder that takes place in their presence. It is outside of law for a police force to stand and watch a political leader make moves to exercise control that was for them to enforce.

A senior police officer later defended that inaction to me. He said the police had been tactful in letting Kamal Nath lead the crowd away; they had taken this course to defuse violent confrontation. But violent confrontation there had been already. I had never before known the police to ignore murders because it might be tactful to. Tact has its limits: it cannot include suspension of law and disregard of murders in police presence.

For how long and how far could they rely on Kamal Nath? Soon after waving the crowds back, Kamal Nath got into his car and left. Soon after, the crowd too began to fade away from the scene – and not because the police had pushed them away. That crowd killed no more that day – not at least at the Rakab Ganj gurdwara.

Excerpted with permission from 1984: The Anti-Sikh Violence and After, Sanjay Suri, HarperCollins India.

Loyal dog of Gandhi family, Nath expected to get the post and will see Congress again stoop to lower levels,easily avoidable situation from CONGRESS pov but they are ruling Punjab so don't see them bothered with Kamals appointment.

Kamal Nath is in his 70s, Ashok Gehlot the front runner for the Rajasthan job has been in politics so long that he served in Indira’s government.

They should have gone with Scindia and Pilot - give someone younger a chance and it’s not as if these guys are kids they are men in their 40s.

Is Rahul scared that they’ll outshine him?

Kamal Nath is in his 70s, Ashok Gehlot the front runner for the Rajasthan job has been in politics so long that he served in Indira’s government.

They should have gone with Scindia and Pilot - give someone younger a chance and it’s not as if these guys are kids they are men in their 40s.

Is Rahul scared that they’ll outshine him?

This is the Congress. Did you expect much better?

CM choices of Modi have been even more baffling. Raghuvar Das for Jharkhand, Fadnavis for Maharashtra and most interesting and incompetent of all, Khattar for Haryana! Why was Khattar chosen as Haryana CM, because he used to cook very tasty khichdi for Modi!

I can understand where Rahul is coming from though. In realpolitik, Kamalnath and Gehlot are very experienced hands and considering that Cong has barely made it to majority mark in both assemblies, having these 2 at helm with stand them in good stead.

PS: Would have loved to see Pilot and Scindia leading Rajasthan and MP though.

CM choices of Modi have been even more baffling. Raghuvar Das for Jharkhand, Fadnavis for Maharashtra and most interesting and incompetent of all, Khattar for Haryana! Why was Khattar chosen as Haryana CM, because he used to cook very tasty khichdi for Modi!
How could I forget Tripura CM, Biplab 'Insane' Dev?

I can understand where Rahul is coming from though. In realpolitik, Kamalnath and Gehlot are very experienced hands and considering that Cong has barely made it to majority mark in both assemblies, having these 2 at helm with stand them in good stead.

PS: Would have loved to see Pilot and Scindia leading Rajasthan and MP though.

Experienced in what? Gehlot has seen everything from Bofors to 2G and everything in between. We don't need that kind of 'experience' thank you very much!

Experienced in politics as I've already written.

Rahul lost the major opportunity to get youth votes in 2019 , appointing Scindia and Pilot would had given more votes to the dimwit's party!

In America someone can become President aged 47 like Obama did; at 43 David Cameron become PM of the UK; Macron was elected French President at 39; yet as per the Congress party Pilot at 41 and Scindia at 47 are too young and inexperienced to even become a Chief Minister.

It really is not about inexperience, Gandhi’s here are playing the long game. By denying the opportunity to both Scindia and Pilot, they are still keeping them out of the political spotlight and likely challengers to Rahul in the long term. Rahul is still unproven as an administrator and leader, for him to have proven young leaders at his tail will lead to a challenge or split sometime in the future

I would have thought that putting Scindia and Pilot as CMs would reject them from cabinet berths in future, should the Congress ever come to power in 2019. Cabinet ministers have more potential to steal the spotlight off of Rahul.

Bet he'll appoint the same looney tunes like Chidambaram when the time comes though.

I would have thought that putting Scindia and Pilot as CMs would reject them from cabinet berths in future, should the Congress ever come to power in 2019. Cabinet ministers have more potential to steal the spotlight off of Rahul.

Bet he'll appoint the same looney tunes like Chidambaram when the time comes though.
Local wins or not the probability of Rahul being PM in 2019 are low. We probably will have the 3rd front come in with the Congress on the outside

Bhakts/Modi will be hoping the earth would split into two and just gobble them up.

Thats why it pays to be literate especially when you want to govern second most populous and perhaps most diverse country on earth.

So what Modi does after this shameful fiasco?

Well, instead of answering questions in a better manner, Modi has decided to ban unscripted questions from these party interactions altogether. BJP members have been asked to shoot a video of their question and send it 48 hours ahead of a scheduled interaction with the PM. These questions will be screened by party workers and then picked for Modi to answer. This is borderline shameful considering that Modi is no ordinary PM. Most of us forget that he is the author of the #1 bestseller Exam Warriors.

Did he get that book written by someone else on his behalf?

Some of the best comments on Twitter,

Virat Kohli when asked about his expectations from openers,

Reply- chaliye Puducherry Ko vankkam

Assad : Donald, there's no oil in Syria now.

Donald : Chaliye Puducherry ko Wanakkam.

Teacher:What is the difference between c and c++ ??
Me: Chaliye Puducheri ko wanakkam&#55357;&#56911;

There is a Good reason the Prized Idiot with low intellect stays away from Press Conferences and only gives scripted interviews where the questions are emailed beforehand. "Chaliye, puducherry ko Wanakkam”

Some of the best comments on Twitter,

Virat Kohli when asked about his expectations from openers,

Reply- chaliye Puducherry Ko vankkam

Assad : Donald, there's no oil in Syria now.

Donald : Chaliye Puducherry ko Wanakkam.

Teacher:What is the difference between c and c++ ??
Me: Chaliye Puducheri ko wanakkam&#55357;&#56911;

There is a Good reason the Prized Idiot with low intellect stays away from Press Conferences and only gives scripted interviews where the questions are emailed beforehand. "Chaliye, puducherry ko Wanakkam”

There is a reason why he won 282 seats and that reason matters more than any memes.

Good for him. However 2019 isn't going to be easy. 2014 was way too easy for him. Congress in all sorts of troubles, plagued with double tenure incumbency, media blowing Modi's trumpet and presenting him as a messiah and what not.

Not any longer though.