Official commentary thread - india v pakistan (day 2) [8/03/05]

Play should hopefully be starting in the next thirty minutes provided no no more rain.

Wasalam taha bhai. Inshallah we will see some play soon. How u doin anyway?

Covers slowly comming off, play will be extened by an hour today and half hour for the next few days..

a rain drop on the Willow TV screen now.

An annoucement in Punjabi now about the weather now - difficult to follow as its resonating through the speakers.

Look even MIG has gone back to work.

did I hear that right ? The stadium announcer is asking people from both nations to dance to music ?

Apparently Woolmer coming out now!

Maybe he'll have to entertain the crowd now. Will be more riveting than staring at the covers.

Btw, Mohali Punjabi not too different from Pakistani Punjabi.

fair_play said:

An annoucement in Punjabi now about the weather now - difficult to follow as its resonating through the speakers.

Yaar - I have a presentation to make to some traders this evening and have done nothing!! I will be slaughtered unless I come up with some good excuse - best to send one of those - waiting for input from some other guy type email ( first check if he is on holiday or not !!)

well they r taking 2 much time drying the covers..
but the players are on field not in playing clothings...just vewing the conditions..
announcers working hard to keeps the fans enthusiastic...

MIG yaar sit down.

Not another excuse for you to dance! I know the 'Oops I did it again' gets you going!

The real question which team is going to make the other dance - our bowlers or their batsmen.

Javed Miandad, the entertainer, would have come in handy now.

MenInGreen said:
fair_play said:

Yaar - I have a presentation to make to some traders this evening and have done nothing!! I will be slaughtered unless I come up with some good excuse - best to send one of those - waiting for input from some other guy type email ( first check if he is on holiday or not !!)

Look if they're derivatives traders they will suss out you havent done much. If they trade cash or linear instruments only I reckon you can tell them pretty much whatever.

Some Punjabi folksong on Willow now! You reckon its Youhanna, or Inzy?

Funnily enough, if this rain situation continues and play is curtailed to say 3 days, we seem to have the ideal score ( Also scored at a good pace ) to make the match worth our while....

well u know asim kamal has the temperament that miandad had when he was under pressure, so maybe we do have a miandad amongst our ranks??

Yeah i agree. Kamal played wonderfully yesterday. Lets hope the bowlers can produce today. Im really hoping for a good display from Sami today. Hope he gets a bit of luck as well. Its LONG overdue!

OMG - Hans Raj Hans is singing on the covers and the Pak team warming up & dancing

Kamal is very different from Miandad in technique and approach.

I wrote on the old Pakpassion baord before it moved here that he is very Alan Border/Larry Gomes in technique and approach.

What's more he is a batsman unlike the majority of all rounder/sloggers who have played for Pakistan over the years.

Kamal waits on thee backfoot without too much footwork (no harm there) and plays with a still head - and calmly. Like many backfoot players he can also drive very well when the bowlers tire and decide to pitch it up further, as he showed yesterday.

I wanna see Inzi and Bob bellydancing in a kind of duet!

according to cricinfo we should get play by 9 am gmt, and the covers are off.........but in my opinion play can start much earlier than that

he probably doesn't understand what it means...and also the fact that its indian music, he's probably really pissed at the ICC for not banning it....bloody racist!

Truly amazing scenes and some fantastic closeups of players warming up....

AJ ! As you can see some important postings in this thread - all intact....

Willow have suddenly gone all blank :(

and just when the players were doing their stretching Willow Tv shows a big blue screen!

Just the old PC crashes - no sound either! Hmmph!

The players were looking really bemused, as he walked past them and called them the Indian sher! There they they were stretching while the singer commented on them!

If not rain, I reckon this man could hold up the test match! No one is going to get him off the ground at this rate!

Alternatively, to hell with the cricket and the series. Keep this guy in the middle for the next 15 days I say!

covers being token off i think they is only going to b one session

Did i miss neone dance for real? When laxman stood up i thot he's gonna pull off some bhangra on us :P

Sami vas looking a tad bid nervous there.. hope he does well today!

play due to start at 1430 IST. Whatever time that is ?

Guys: I am subsribed to Willow and sadly cannot share this as this is illegal - sounds mean and selfish but sorry !! At PP we are now following a stict policy of not posting links etc....you can always email each other privately.

razzler i dont think there are any free links going for this series. You should subscribe to somewhere like www.sportingstreams.com. 4 quid for the whole tour Test and ODI!

Saj 1430 IST means indian st tiem i guess.. and india is a bit wierd, it's actualy 30mins ahead of pakistan so u can do it like that. 1430 will be around 50 mins from now (i sure hope it starts much sooner than that tho)

PA guy has just announced that the play will begin "soon" as possible

zulfiqar said:
Saj 1430 IST means indian st tiem i guess.. and india is a bit wierd, it's actualy 30mins ahead of pakistan so u can do it like that. 1430 will be around 50 mins from now (i sure hope it starts much sooner than that tho)
where did u get the exact time from??

well.. as i was crazily and madly refreshing Cricinfo scorecard, it said:

Update (13:20 IST) - finally some good news, it has stopped raining and the covers are being removed, if the weather holds play should start by 14:30 IST.

This was about 35 mins ago. You can do the math :)

it says on cricinfo...and IST is 2:30 from malaysia..and malaysia is 8 ahead of gmt..so u can calculate from there

BUT..as MIG stated....play should start soon..

Says on screen that play to commence on 14:20 IST

that means in about half an hour...well i guess i won't be able to follow....have ot go play cricket downstairs...

MIG agar Amjid baaz nahin aata to jooti ya chapal ya litar nikal do.

Its sayin 8:45 on Sony! About 12 minutes left then!

y are we all counting down like hungry animals? i mean c'mon..12 minutes or 15 minutes don't make any diff...

sony says 45 past the hour, cricinfo says 50 past the our...

not much diff :oD

It makes it advantageous for bowling, as the ball it more likely to swing. Correct me if im wrong!

With wicket being under covers it shud sweat alot which means ball shud swing alot even after the new ball has been used.

zulfiqar said:
Did i miss neone dance for real? When laxman stood up i thot he's gonna pull off some bhangra on us :P

sami is nervous because after naveed has made his place in the side permemnant and shabbir and gul waiting to come his place is not set

expect the wicket to assist the bowlers for 1st 2/3 hours if cloud cover stays also. pakistan need 2 get ball in right channels!

hasanahmad said:
zulfiqar said:

sami is nervous because after naveed has made his place in the side permemnant and shabbir and gul waiting to come his place is not set

Dont understand how a bowler can be nervous !! Batsman, yes - but a bowler just comes in and bowls to his ability - whats this being nervous business about - angry/frustrated yes but nervous ? Just another excuse for being incompetent I say....

this same ball of sami was given out with YK (his might ahve been a bit closer)

yaar sami itna nervous kiyunn dikh raha hai bhaiii!! Just bowl with confidence man... he looks nervous

lights on to help in the dark conditions...

This is Sehwag he is bowling to after all....