Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Omer Zaheer meer, some butt guy ex MPA from PPP, Farukh Habis ISF Pakistan and Waleed Iqbal are potential candidates from here..

What about NA-53,54 n 55...........i have heard Sadaqat Abbasi Hina Manzoor are constesting from here but HR has mentioned that they don't have a good repute........this will be difficult for PTI specially in 54 as they are up aganist Malik Abrar of N and Zamurrad Khan of PPP

Man these pakistan elections are gonna be fun. I support Sir Musharraf, the bold and charismatic general

article-2301565-190172CF000005DC-675_306x571.jpg

Whats Musharraf's goal here? The APML is not gonna win many seats. The most he can hope for is a personal seat for himself in the NA. Fair enough if thats what he wants but it just seems weird that he's putting his life in danger for not much reward...

Saw a show on Waqt News where the anchor took the streets of NA 52 and NA 54 (ithink) and was asking the common people there who they would vote for.
80% of them were going to vote for PML N, 15% said PTI, and the 5% were not interested in voting at all.

Whats Musharraf's goal here? The APML is not gonna win many seats. The most he can hope for is a personal seat for himself in the NA. Fair enough if thats what he wants but it just seems weird that he's putting his life in danger for not much reward...
Apparently Musharraf is pissed at people who he thinks back stabbed him and he has come back to Pakistan for revenge. The list of people who he thinks back stabbed him most likely includes Kayani, Chaudhry brothers and Zardari.

Ok, thats one possibility. It has to be something like that to motivate him to leave behind a safe and lucrative career and move back into Pak politics.

Saw a show on Waqt News where the anchor took the streets of NA 52 and NA 54 (ithink) and was asking the common people there who they would vote for.
80% of them were going to vote for PML N, 15% said PTI, and the 5% were not interested in voting at all.

So,going by this we can have a turnout ratio above 90 percent :facepalm:

Even after so much sufferings there are always dihard PPP jiyalas/supporters..but surprisingly anchor did not find even one percent of PPP supporters:facepalm:

Anchor must be walking randomnly on roads or in bazar and he would have not met potential PTI supporters i.e working class and youth ...

So,going by this we can have a turnout ratio above 90 percent :facepalm:

Even after so much sufferings there are always dihard PPP jiyalas/supporters..but surprisingly anchor did not find even one percent of PPP supporters:facepalm:

Anchor must be walking randomnly on roads or in bazar and he would have not met potential PTI supporters i.e working class and youth ...

Yes. Anchor was largely questioning the middle/lower class of the area (i.e Taxi or bus drivers/ random people walking on the street).

That said, i suppose the middle/lower class is likely to outweigh the higher educated class in this area?. I Hope I'm wrong, but certainly there was a large fan base of PML N in that area.

I am not saying that PTI has a bigger vote Bank in Pindi than N league...

but one thing is certain that N league does not has 80 percent votebank ..that is just way out of proportion..

Middle class along with higher income people usually do not vote and turnout is mostly represented by low income ,less educated people...but this time we are expecting some of these traditional non-voters to come and vote for PTI mostly if all goes well....No doubt in lower income class N league is more famous

I doubt PTI has any presence in inner-city Rawalpindi. The traders community and 'aam aadmi' is too stauch a PML(N) supporter.
That's why PTI has its hope with Sheikh Rasheed. He can severely dent PML(N) in Pindi.

^^

I have to agree with Ottoman. We are bunch of Nooras in Pindi. Sorry I meant idiots :)

^Malik Abrar won last time. I'm sure he'll contest again. He's one of those members who never bothered raising their voice in the National Assembly :)

NA-54 has a mixed population and encompasses the Cantt area. People are generally educated and if we can somehow pull the PPP vote to ourselves, it's goodbye PML(N).

This Article 62-63 is hilarious.

I heard they were asking them about Kalmas and Duas today :))) :facepalm: :)))

funny thing is that Afias sister is calling Mush a dicator when her mother wrote a letter to him in 1999 calling him the best leader in islamic ummat and pakistani history.

That woman (Musharrafs tout) was crazy. I wanted to smash my television.

As for Pindi it has historically been a Noora stronghold but we need to win from these strongholds to stand a chance in forming the government

I don't know if you are referring to Asma Sherazi's show a few days ago in Raja Bazar Rawalpindi. She is definitely a PMLN fan as she would ask anyone who said PTI, WHY do you support PTI and if they said PMLN, she would quietly move to next one r even say GOOD. She conducted a program in Gawal mandi lahore a few days ago and even said this when she met couple of PTI supporters "Mujhay tou ghabrahat ho rahi hai, yeh tou PMLN ka garh samjha jata tha".

Having said that, i think Rawalpindi is surely stronghold of PMLN as you can edit here and there but majority of people were still with PMLN. Same show in Lahore attracted lot more PTI supporters so i don't think there is much we can do in Rawalpindi.

I don't know if you are referring to Asma Sherazi's show a few days ago in Raja Bazar Rawalpindi. She is definitely a PMLN fan as she would ask anyone who said PTI, WHY do you support PTI and if they said PMLN, she would quietly move to next one r even say GOOD. She conducted a program in Gawal mandi lahore a few days ago and even said this when she met couple of PTI supporters "Mujhay tou ghabrahat ho rahi hai, yeh tou PMLN ka garh samjha jata tha".

Having said that, i think Rawalpindi is surely stronghold of PMLN as you can edit here and there but majority of people were still with PMLN. Same show in Lahore attracted lot more PTI supporters so i don't think there is much we can do in Rawalpindi.

This is exactly why I asked the poster who the anchor was. I suspected it was Asma Sherazi. And boy is she annoying

^^ But on the negative side, most people there are in love with Nawaz Sharif ONLY because he is supposed to be better than Zardari and Imran is considered a good person but he hasn't built any bridges or metro bus system according to them so they would vote for Sharif.

Anyway i also noticed there are plenty of pathans in Pindi wanting change and MOST of them support Imran.

So Meera will not be up against Imran Khan its Shafqat Mehmood

NA 54 we can beat them provided we give ticket to right candidate

exactly im' from NA 54 and people are inclined to vote for ABrar of (N) here as he provided them the govt water supply, its going to be tough for PTI specially if that lady Hina Manzoor is their candidate as the PPP's Zammurad Khan is also a strong electable.......

British aid is 'helping fund re-election campaign of Bhutto family' in Pakistan

Britain is giving £300m of taxpayers’ money to a controversial programme of cash handouts in Pakistan which is accused of bankrolling the re-election campaign of Benazir Bhutto’s former party

In evidence to a parliamentary inquiry, a leading development economist said the Benazir Income Support Programme was being used to buy support for Mrs Bhutto’s widower, President Asif Ali Zardari, and his party.

Ehtisham Ahmad, a visiting fellow at the London School of Economics, said Britain’s Department for International Development (DfID) was pouring money into a scheme riven by “clientelism”.

“It is not stolen to the extent to which previous cash transfers were stolen, but this is the mechanism - which is funded partly by DFID - to make friends and influence people. This is the re-election campaign of Mr Zardari, which is funded by DFID,” he said. “Well done.”

The Select Committee on International Development is due to publish its report into aid to Pakistan on Thursday.

Britain has rapidly expanded its assistance in recent years. Pakistan is on course to become the biggest recipient of UK aid, receiving £450m per year by 2015.

The programme has many critics. Pakistan has one of the smallest tax bases in the world and two-thirds of its politicians pay no income tax at all, yet the country can still afford an expanding nuclear arsenal.

Cash handouts are one of the key planks of British aid. Half the £300m will be given to families to help lift them out of poverty, while the rest will be used to encourage parents to send children to school.

A checklist is used to identify those in need and the government of Pakistan is spending more than £2bn over the next five years.

The programme is despised by opposition parties who complain its name means many people believe the money comes from the Bhutto family rather than the government.

It has been hit by repeated allegations of corruption and claims that officials from the Pakistan People’s Party – now led by Mrs Bhutto’s son Bilawal – have obtained lists of beneficiaries for follow-up visits in which families are told to remember where the cash has come from when they vote.

“The fact that it is called Benazir Income Support Programme tends to suggest that there is what is called clientelism,” Dr Ahmad, who held several senior positions at the IMF, told The Daily Telegraph. “The more you give the more benefit there is to the party that bears the Bhutto name.”

Critics such as Imran Khan, the former cricketer who has made corruption the centre of his push to become prime minister, also warn that Britain’s surge in aid will not produce sustainable results. The hundreds of millions of pounds remove any incentive for the Pakistani government to introduce unpopular tax reforms, he says.

He told The Daily Telegraph that BISP was nothing more than a scam to “buy votes”.

The issue has become particularly heated as the country prepares for elections on May 11.

The biggest opposition party, the PML-N, said it would overhaul the scheme and rename it the National Support Programme to avoid the taint of politicking. In a dossier of allegations, it concluded the programme was riddled with “rampant corruption, nepotism and embezzlement”.

A spokesman for DfID said the UK was politically impartial in Pakistan.

“Our development assistance is based on need and effectiveness, not politics,” he said. “The Benazir Income Support Programme Act was unanimously passed and supported by all political parties in Pakistan.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...on-campaign-of-Bhutto-family-in-Pakistan.html

On "Karachi mera hai"

the guy was asking people how they select their votes and the Karachites were saying they voted MQM last time but this time they'll go for Imran Khan!

Bhaio, Sweep hai, SWEEP!

On "Karachi mera hai"

the guy was asking people how they select their votes and the Karachites were saying they voted MQM last time but this time they'll go for Imran Khan!

Bhaio, Sweep hai, SWEEP!

Karachi situation is quite different, it is controlled by MQM mafia. They pressurize people to vote for MQM againts there will. They have all mafia support, they keep close eye on on every street, every house and every town. I think people in Karachi ae scared, it won't be a cake for for IK in Karachi as MQM will rigg this election in Karachi

^^ I live in Karachi and in an area where only MQM exists. I am not a voter or supporter of MQM.

And I don't have any problem regarding what you claimed that Karachi people are scared.

Karachi situation is quite different, it is controlled by MQM mafia. They pressurize people to vote for MQM againts there will. They have all mafia support, they keep close eye on on every street, every house and every town. I think people in Karachi ae scared, it won't be a cake for for IK in Karachi as MQM will rigg this election in Karachi

If we can take 2-3 seats from Karachi it will be a massive success.

I agree, it's going to be near impossible to beat MQM in every constituency given they are more of a Mafia set up than a political party but areas that are not controlled by Muttahida may yield some success.

Army needs to control the area for elections.

ECP did new allignment in constituencies and which is a ray of hope. MQM is crying out loud about that already

Yep. 2-3 seats from Karachi will be an important win for us. (though, my heart says we can win even more if the law gets more tight)

The darker side though, is we (PTI) are losing a lot of electables. We've lost the Legharis as well I'm hearing :(

karachi situation is quite different, it is controlled by mqm mafia. They pressurize people to vote for mqm againts there will. They have all mafia support, they keep close eye on on every street, every house and every town. I think people in karachi ae scared, it won't be a cake for for ik in karachi as mqm will rigg this election in karachi

I Call Bull Cra.p

I call, you don't know what happens in Karachi.

I mentioned this before as well and I'll mention it again. My friends weren't allowed to register their votes until they proved to them that they would vote for MQM. The Mafia has spread a lot.

My wife and her family is from Karachi

I requested them to vote for PTI , she said that she and her family pray for IK win but they will not be able to vote for IK in Karachi. It is such a sad situation. People are being taken hostage by MQM mafia

http://www.newstatesman.com/samira-...istans-first-ever-tribal-woman-stand-election

Badam Zari becomes Pakistan’s first ever tribal woman to stand for election

Pakistan’s tribal areas are not known for female empowerment. The Federally Administered Tribal Area (Fata) which borders Afghanistan is an ultra-conservative region where women are mostly uneducated, and rarely leave the house without their husbands, if at all.

However, a female resident from Bajaur district made history yesterday, by becoming Pakistan’s first ever tribal woman to stand in elections. Badam Zari is a 40 year old housewife, with no children. "I want to reach the assembly to become a voice for women, especially those living in the tribal areas," she told the Associated Press on Monday. "This was a difficult decision, but now I am determined and hopeful society will support me." Her husband, Sultan Khan, accompanied her when she went to file her nomination papers. He says she has his full backing.

Zari appeared at a press conference on Sunday, wearing a colourful scarf over her head and face, which left just her eyes uncovered. She said that no lawmaker from the tribal area had ever raised women’s issues in the National Assembly. “I want to work for the betterment of women in the tribal area, especially Bajaur Agency, which has suffered immensely in the tribal system,” she said.

She asserted that she is not afraid of anyone or anything, and that contesting the election is her constitutional and religious right. Although she says she has not received any threats yet, there is no doubt that this is a brave move by Zari.

Fata, already a deeply conservative region, is beset by Taliban militancy. In the 2008 election, around a third of the women registered to vote in Fata were prevented from doing so due to threats from local Taliban militants. Pamphlets distributed in Bajaur, Kurram, and Mohmand agencies warned tribesmen of bombing or other “severe punishment” if women were not kept away from polling stations. In addition to this, many candidates struck private agreements to ban women from voting.

“Women are half the population of tribal areas, but unfortunately they have always been deprived of their basic rights,” Zari said, acknowledging the fact that women in Fata are under-represented at the ballot box. Of the roughly 186,000 registered voters in her constituency, about 67,000 are women, according to government records. Often, those women that are allowed to vote are expected to do so in accordance with the wishes of the male members of their family.

Pakistan’s National Assembly has a long history of prominent female politicians, including Benazir Bhutto, who was the first woman to head a Muslim state. Around 17 per cent of the seats go to women, under a quota system. Even for women from less conservative areas of the country, standing for direct election as Zari is doing – rather than being allocated party seats – is unusual.

Analysts say that Zari, who is standing as an independent candidate, does not have much chance at winning the seat. But most concede that the mere fact of her candidacy is of huge symbolic value in a region where women are barely allowed to have a political opinion or a stake in society. "This is very courageous," said Asad Sarwar, a political official in Bajaur. "This woman has broken the barrier."

Despite the taboos around women appearing in public in this region, Zari has said she hopes to hold rallies. "I am taking part in elections because our area is very backward and living condition of women is poor over here," she said. "There will be a lot of people opposing me, but we will try our best."

If nothing else, she is making a serious attempt to give women in Fata a voice. The importance of that cannot be underestimated.

My wife and her family is from Karachi

I requested them to vote for PTI , she said that she and her family pray for IK win but they will not be able to vote for IK in Karachi. It is such a sad situation. People are being taken hostage by MQM mafia

Maybe they wanted to vote for MQM all along but didn't wanna hurt you feelings :) so they came up with this excuse.I've live din karachi in MQM's "garh" . Never were my parents forced to vote for MQM . I have gone to the polling station with them several times and they were always able to cast their votes without any interference. I am not saying that rigging doens't happen but I am sure it gets blown out of proportion . MQM really has a lot of support in Karachi , believe it or not.

Yes. Okay.

But what we are saying are also not lies.

Anyone heard the news about JI Candidate failing to recite 2nd Kalma and Dua Qanoot :)))

Like I said 62-63 is hilarious!!

Insaf

I heard rumors about Aleem Khan not getting party ticket, and him threatening to leave the party after getting into an argument with Imran? Any truth to that?

^^

Hum Nein to suna Hai kay Mehmood ur Rasheed ko be nai mil raha... Waiting for the official list :)

LOL Must really hate Salman Ahmad... Have to Say PMLN won this battle

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    20.5 KB · Views: 443
LOL

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=57761&folder=2013/04/02/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

As a musician, I would disagree. Junoon was 75 percent Salman Ahmed, twenty percent Ali Azmat (and 5 percent Iqbal :P )

But seriously, Salmans sufi rock guitaring style is insanely creative and unique.

KPK CANDIDATES FOR PTI HAVE BEEN ANNOUNCED

Peshawar: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) has finally unveiled the names of its running candidates from the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhuwah (KPK). Saach. TV has received a list comprised of finalists who would be contesting on behalf of PTI in KPK for National and Provincial Assemblies.
According to the list of candidates for National Assembly,

Khalid Masood would contest from NA-2 Peshawar,
Sajid Nawaz from NA-3 Peshawar,
Asad Gulzar Khan from NA-4 Peshawar,
Pervaiz Khan Khattak from NA-5 Nowshehra-I,
Azizullah Jan from NA-6 Nowshehra-II,
Fazal Muhammad Khan from NA-7 Charsadda-1,
Anwar Taj from NA-8 Charsadda-II,
Nasir Khan from NA-9 Mardan-1,
Ali Muhammad Khan NA-10 Mardan-II,
Mujahid Ali NA-11 Mardan-III,
Anwar Haq Dad from NA-12 Swabi-I,
Asad Qaisar from NA-13 Swabi-II,
Shaheryar Afridi from NA-14 Kohat,
Shamsur Rehman Khattak from NA-15 Karak,
Khayal Zaman from NA-16 Hangu,
Muhammad Azhar Khan Jadoon from NA-17 Abbottabad-I,
Raja Amir Zaman from NA-19 Haripur,
Muhammad Azam Khan Swati from NA-20 Mansehra-I,
Nawabzada Sallahuddin Saeed from NA-21 Mansehra-II,
Niaz Muhammad Khan from NA-22 Battagram,
Mustafa Kundi from NA-24 Dera Ismail Khan,
Dawar Khan Kundi from NA-25 Dera Ismail Khan Tank,
Mutiullah Khan from NA-26 Bannu,
Col. (retd) Amirullah Marwat from NA-27 Lakki Marwat,
Mian Moinuddin from NA-28 Bunair,
Sher Afgan Khan from NA-29 Swat-I,
Jamal Nasir from NA-30 Swat-II,
Abdul Latif from NA-32 Chitral,
Muhammad Nawaz Khan from NA-33 Upper Dir,
Muhammad Bashir Khan from NA-34 Lower Dir, and
Junaid Akbar Khan would contest from NA-35 Malakand.

Whereas according to the list of candidates for KPK provincial assembly,
Shaukat Yusufzai will contest the election from PK-2 Peshawar-II,
Ashraf Ali Khan from PK-3 Peshawar-III,
Arif Yousuf from PK-4 Peshawar-IV,
Yaseen Khalil from PK-5 Peshawar-V,
Faheem Ahmad from PK-6 Peshawar-VI,
Mahmood Jan from PK-7 Peshawar-VII,
Jahanzeb Khan from PK-8 Peshawar-VIII,
Arbab Jahandad Khan from PK-9 Peshawar-IX,
Shah Farman from PK-10 Peshawar-X,
Syed Muhammad Ishtiaq from PK-11 Peshawar-XI,
Khaliq-ur-Rehman from PK-12 Nowshehra-I,
Pervaiz Khattak PK-13 Nowshehra-II,
Jamshaid-ud-Din from PK-14 Nowshehra-III,
Muhammad Idrees from PK-15 Nowshehra-IV,
Qurban Ali Khan from PK-16 Nowshehra-V,
Abid Jan from PK-17 Charsaddah-I,
Tariq Adam Khan from PK-18 Charsaddah-II,
Muhammad Babar Khan from PK-19 Charsaddah-III,
Nadeem Alam from PK-20 Charsaddah-IV,
Muhammad Ilyas from PK-21 Charsaddah-V,
Muhammad Arif from PK-22 Charsaddah-VI,
Syed Umar Farooq from PK-23 Mardan-I,
Muhammad Zahid PK-24 Mardan-II,
Obaidullah from PK-25 Mardan-III,
Iftikhar Ali from PK-26 Mardan-IV,
Adil Nawaz from PK-27 Mardan-V,
Muhammad Khattab Badshah from PK-28 Mardan-VI,
Tufail Anjum from PK-29 Mardan-VII,
Muhammad Atif from PK-30 Mardan–VIII,
Yousuf Ali from PK-31 Swabi-I,
Zahoor Ahmad from PK-32 Swabi-II,
Zubair Ali Engineer from PK-33 Swabi-III,
Fazal-e-Elahi from PK-34 Swabi-IV,
Asad Qaisar from PK-35 Swabi-V,
Rangez Ahmad from PK-36 Swabi-VI,
Aurangzaib Khan from PK-37 Kohat-I,
Ziaullah Khan Bangash from PK-38 Kohat-II,
Imtiaz Shahid Qureshi from PK-39 Kohat-III,
Gul Sahib Khan from PK-40 Karak-I,
Muhammad Saleem from PK-41 Karak-II,
Asif Zubair Sheikh from PK-44 Abbottabad-I,
Abdul Rehman Khan Abbasi from PK-45 Abbottabad-II,
Akhtar Nawaz Khan from PK-49 Haripur-I,
Yousuf Ayub Khan from PK-50 Haripur-II,
Faisal Zaman Khan from PK-52 Haripur-IV,
Syed Munir Hassan Shah from PK-54 Mansehra-III,
Sajid Mumtaz from PK-55 Mansehra-IV,
Haq Nawaz Khan from PK-56 Mansehra-V,
Zulfiqar Ali from PK-57 Mansehra-VI,
Amarullah from PK-58 Mansehra-VII,
Javed Khan from PK-59 Battagram-I,
Muhammad Naeem Khan Shaheen from PK-60 Battagram-II,
Kifayatullah from PK-61 Kohistan-I,
Fayyaz Khan from PK-62 Kohistan-II,
Afreen Khan from PK-63 Kohistan-III,
Ali Ameen Khan from PK-64 Dera Ismail Khan-I,
Muhammad Amir Qayyum Barki from PK-65 Dera Ismail Khan-II,
Hamayuddin from PK-66 Dera Ismail Khan-III,
Umar Amin Khan from PK-67 Dera Ismail Khan-IV,
Muhammad Daud from PK-69 Tank,
Asif Rehman PK-70 Bannu-I,
Taimur Farid Khan from PK-71 Bannu-II,
Syed Munir Agha from PK-72 Bannu-III,
Murad Ali Shah from PK-73 Bannu-IV,
Saleem Nawaz Khan from PK-74 Lakki Marwat-I,
Engineer Muhammad Arif Khan from PK-76 Lakki Marwat-III,
Muhammad Iqbal from PK-77 Bunair-I,
Syed Fakhar Jahan from PK-78 Bunair-II,
Sher Khan from PK-79 Bunair-III,
Fazal-e-Hakim from PK-80 Swat-I,
Azizullah Khan from PK-81 Swat-II,
Amjad Ali from PK-82 Swat-III,
Azmat Ali Khan from PK-83 Swat-IV,
Mahmood Khan PK-84 Swat-V,
Nisar Ahmad from PK-85 Swat-VI,
Muhammad Zaib from PK-86 Swat-VII,
Shaukat Ali Yusufzai from PK-87 Shangla-I,
Sultan Muhammad from PK-89 Chitral-I,
Rehmat Ghazi Khan from PK-90 Chitral-II,
Muhammad Nabi from PK-91 Upper Dir-I,
Nawab Ali from PK-92 Upper Dir-II,
Sajjad Fayyaz Khan from PK-93 Upper Dir-III,
Muhammad Inam PK-94 Lower Dir-I,
Obaidullah Sajid from PK-95 Lower Dir-II,
Malik Fakhar-uz-Zaman Khan from PK-97 Lower Dir-IV,
Yasir Khan from PK-98 Malakand-I,
Shakeel Ahmad from PK-99 Malakand-II have been awarded party tickets.

EDIT: Source is Saach t.v

^^

No way.

Ali Azmat is way better than Salman. Actually Salman Sucks. We need to get Ali Zafar and Atif Aslam LOL!!!

^^

No way.

Ali Azmat is way better than Salman. Actually Salman Sucks. We need to get Ali Zafar and Atif Aslam LOL!!!

Are you serious?!?!

And Ali Azmat...ever since he went bald hasn't been the same. Salman has been on quite a downward spiral as well but personally I'll always look at him as the more talented.

^^

Ali Azmat ka koi Muqabla nai.. Kahan Ali aur kahan chawal Salman :) BOOOOOOOO!

^^

Muqabli nahi hota musicians mein. Preference ki baat hoti hai. Mujhay Junoon style/sufi rock pasand hai, aap ko modern rock. Aakher PTI ke burger bachein hi ho :P

As for the KpK list I've posted, Parvez Khattak is a well known "krupt" politician in our area but I'll still vote for him. PTI first.

I would give NA 48 ticket to this guy

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=57610&folder=2013/04/02/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

Insaf, I heard theres a bit of controversy about NA-17 ticket being given to Jadoon. Apparently Ali Asghar Khan was the more deserving candidate.

Can PTI stop shamelessly copying slogans from US politics? Seriously, some originality please.

Insaf, I heard theres a bit of controversy about NA-17 ticket being given to Jadoon. Apparently Ali Asghar Khan was the more deserving candidate.

Yup.

huge storm brewing. NA 18 is not decided yet so maybe on they will send him on that seat.

Parvaiz khattak sucks big time :/ Bring arif alvi back :'(

Siraj khan, an applicant from NA 6 nowshera, seemingly had an overwhelming support of locals but, due to his uprightness, khattak didn't want him n would intercede for a "yes sir" of his aka aziz ULLAH jan khattak who got a huge amount 700 votes last time :/

I hope, other tickets have been given on merit...

Poll scrutiny turns into Islamic studies test

KARACHI: Before joining the race for parliament, candidates for the May 11 elections may have to prove their ‘adequate knowledge’ of Islamic teachings and the Quran and may be requested to recite a ‘Sura’ or particular Quranic verses and answer questions about the number of ‘rakats’ in any of the five daily prayers.
But according to some political parties, this is an “astounding addition” to the process of scrutiny. However, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has described it as being in conformity with ‘constitutional’ requirements.
What a senior ECP official termed a process of “ruthless” scrutiny began on Monday with a number of candidates appearing before returning officers had to answer different questions, including those about religious injunctions.
One such case was recorded by TV channels when Owais Muzaffar Tappi, PPP candidate for a Sindh Assembly seat and President Asif Ali Zardari’s close aide, was asked about the number of Namaz one is required to offer in a day. He took a couple of seconds to tell the number of ‘rakats’ in Fajr prayers.
In Hyderabad region, nomination papers of a Muttahida Qaumi Movement candidate were rejected during scrutiny. The party says if lack of knowledge about Islamic teaching was declared as the reason behind the rejection, it would challenge the process of scrutiny.
“Papers of one of our candidates from Matiari were rejected by the returning officer,” said Advocate Aslam Pervez of the MQM’s legal aid committee. “The reason is not yet mentioned but the candidate was asked several questions about Islamic teachings and if it would be the cause of the rejection we would definitely file an appeal.”
He said returning officers had no authority to ask such questions, adding that a person’s faith could not be gauged through questions relating more to his memory than his knowledge about Islam and its teachings.
But a senior ECP official justified the questions and said that under article 62 (e) of the constitution candidates were required to have adequate knowledge of Islamic teachings.
“There is no harm in asking such questions if the returning officers want to satisfy themselves about an important element of the qualification clauses”, he said.
The article 62 of the constitution explains the criterion of “qualifications for member of Majlis-i-Shoora (parliament)” and its clause (e) reads: “He has adequate knowledge of Islamic teachings and practices obligatory duties prescribed by Islam as well as abstains from major sins.”But political parties deem it “inappropriate” to judge any candidate’s knowledge about Islamic teachings through a set of questions. They argue that memorising answers of certain questions could not determine anyone’s faith.
“Nomination papers of our party candidates have not been rejected because of that particular reason but I still believe that testing a candidate’s faith in Islam through his memory is not appropriate,” said the Awami National Party’s provincial general secretary Bashir Jan. “One can’t reject any honest and upright candidate just because he has not learnt any Quranic verse by heart.”
Rashid Rabbani of the PPP agreed with Mr Jan and said:
“I don’t think it’s justified to weigh one person’s knowledge of Islamic teachings through these questions.”

http://dawn.com/2013/04/02/poll-scrutiny-turns-into-islamic-studies-test/

*************************************************************************************

This is getting ridiculous.

What about a test for adequate knowledge of basic politics and economics that is actually going to be needed to run the country ?

Reminds me of former PM Gilani praying at Sukkur bridge in the hope that a flood would be avoided instead of actually announcing any relief and practical help to give to those in the area.

Although its typical from politicians isn't it - hoping that they can get through the job on a wing and a prayer.

Insaftak - is the manifesto the document on the election website??

If so, it is still unfinished in the minorities section. Also, it's in English. Ordinary Pakistanis will not read this no matter how good it is. Can you confirm that PTI will print it in Urdu and distribute throughout the country?

Also, do people know that the party symbol is a bat?

Are you serious?!?!

And Ali Azmat...ever since he went bald hasn't been the same. Salman has been on quite a downward spiral as well but personally I'll always look at him as the more talented.

^^

Muqabli nahi hota musicians mein. Preference ki baat hoti hai. Mujhay Junoon style/sufi rock pasand hai, aap ko modern rock. Aakher PTI ke burger bachein hi ho :P

^^

Mere say Zaida Paindoo Koi nai ho ga :)

Yeh to LOL HO GAYA :)))

BG4XzUXCQAAFgC9.jpg:large

Pir Pagara to support Shah Mehmood Qureshi’s election bid

Two spiritual-cum-political leaders have joined hands against the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) for the upcoming elections.

In an alliance between two spiritual communities, Pir Pagara, the spiritual leader of the Hur Jamaat, has decided to support Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi, the Ghousia Jamaat leader, on two National Assembly seats – NA-228 of Umerkot and NA-230 of Tharparkar.

Pakistan Muslim League-Functional chief Pir Pagara decided not to field candidates from NA-228 and NA-230, confirmed Imtiaz Sheikh, the party’s secretary general.

As Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim is also contesting from NA-230, Pir Pagara’s decision indicates there will be no alliance between the PML-F and the former chief minister. The Functional League has already joined forces with a coalition of 10 parties, including the PML-Nawaz, National People’s Party and other nationalist groups.

While Qureshi is the senior vice-chairman of the Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), he has filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate, Shaikh said.

Qureshi has, reportedly, filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate to avoid confrontation between PML-F and PML-N.

The support of the Hur Jamaat chief to Ghousia Jamaat is a huge political achievement for Qureshi, whose position in his hometown constituency of Multan is not safe, forcing him to contest elections from Umerkot and Tharparkar.

A large number of Ghousia Jamaat followers live in Sindh, who have always supported the Pakistan People’s Party candidates, including Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Nawab Yousuf Talpur.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-4-168621-Pir-Pagara-to-support-Shah-Mehmood-Qure

That's strange. Why did he have to apply as an independent candidate. Is PTI fielding someone else from those seats. If not, can this be taken as a safety play by SMQ. In case PTI loses and is unable to form govt. by winning as an independent he can always join any party in power since after the 18th amendment one cannot change parties after being elected to the parliament.

Pir Pagara to support Shah Mehmood Qureshi’s election bid

Two spiritual-cum-political leaders have joined hands against the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) for the upcoming elections.

In an alliance between two spiritual communities, Pir Pagara, the spiritual leader of the Hur Jamaat, has decided to support Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi, the Ghousia Jamaat leader, on two National Assembly seats – NA-228 of Umerkot and NA-230 of Tharparkar.

Pakistan Muslim League-Functional chief Pir Pagara decided not to field candidates from NA-228 and NA-230, confirmed Imtiaz Sheikh, the party’s secretary general.

As Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim is also contesting from NA-230, Pir Pagara’s decision indicates there will be no alliance between the PML-F and the former chief minister. The Functional League has already joined forces with a coalition of 10 parties, including the PML-Nawaz, National People’s Party and other nationalist groups.

While Qureshi is the senior vice-chairman of the Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), he has filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate, Shaikh said.

Qureshi has, reportedly, filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate to avoid confrontation between PML-F and PML-N.

The support of the Hur Jamaat chief to Ghousia Jamaat is a huge political achievement for Qureshi, whose position in his hometown constituency of Multan is not safe, forcing him to contest elections from Umerkot and Tharparkar.

A large number of Ghousia Jamaat followers live in Sindh, who have always supported the Pakistan People’s Party candidates, including Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Nawab Yousuf Talpur.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-4-168621-Pir-Pagara-to-support-Shah-Mehmood-Qure

That's strange. Why did he have to apply as an independent candidate. Is PTI fielding someone else from those seats. If not, can this be taken as a safety play by SMQ. In case PTI loses and is unable to form govt. by winning as an independent he can always join any party in power since after the 18th amendment one cannot change parties after being elected to the parliament.

^^

I am not sure what is the current status of SMQ ticket in Sindh right now as PTI has not announced tickets yet.

The only thing that could explain him running as an independent here is dirty tactical politics. PTI doesn't want to go an alliance or seat adjustment officially with any party but is giving free hand to SMQ to maneuver things in rural sindh. PTI is eyeing 3-4 rural Sindh seats in Ghotki, umerkot, Shikarpur.

Come on Khan, get things under control!

Some disagreements on Kpk seats to say the least

^^

Don't worry it's a headache for all parties except PPP.. they are calm and settled. It seems no one cares about their ticket :)

Insaftak - is the manifesto the document on the election website??

If so, it is still unfinished in the minorities section. Also, it's in English. Ordinary Pakistanis will not read this no matter how good it is. Can you confirm that PTI will print it in Urdu and distribute throughout the country?

Also, do people know that the party symbol is a bat?

The last I heard was they were planning to print it in Urdu.

The Tabdeeli Razakar program is already distributing a one page letter from Imran Khan to all houses. Not sure If that letter is actual PTI manifesto or has a different message for people.