Pakistan announce squad for 2019 World Cup - Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz and Asif Ali selected

Pakistan finalises make-up of World Cup squad

• Asif Ali, Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz to replace Abid Ali, Faheem Ashraf and Junaid Khan in the 15-player line-up

• “The bowling unit during the England ODIs has not clicked as anticipated or expected; if we have at our disposal two vastly experienced pace duo of Amir and Wahab, then it will be foolish not to include them,” says Inzamam

• Asif Ali has proved his firepower can be an asset for Pakistan in the tournament: chief selector

Lahore, 20 May 2019:

Pakistan cricket selectors, in consultation with the captain and coach, today confirmed their 15-player composition for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be played in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

Pakistan had the flexibility to finalise their line-up until 22 May, but decided to lock their make-up on Monday following the conclusion of the One-Day International series against England in Leeds.

From the 15-player provisional squad, which was announced on 18 April, the selectors have replaced Abid Ali and Junaid Khan with Asif Ali and Mohammad Amir, respectively (both were named as additional players), while Wahab Riaz has been recalled to replace Faheem Ashraf.

Yasir Shah is the fourth player to be released from the side after he was named as Shadab Khan’s replacement for the series against England.

Amir, who is presently in London and has fully recovered from chicken pox, and Wahab is expected to join the squad in Bristol on 22 May. Both the players will be available for selection for the 24 and 26 May warm-up matches before Pakistan launches their World Cup campaign against the Windies on 31 May at Trent Bridge.

The final make-up of the squad is:

Openers – Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq

Middle-order batsmen – Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarafraz Ahmed (captain, wicketkeeper) and Shoaib Malik

Spinners – Imad Wasim and Shadab Khan

Fast bowlers – Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz

Chair of Pakistan men’s selection committee, Inzamam-ul-Haq, said the team combination has been revised after taking into account the fast bowlers’ performance against England as well as considering the nature of wickets that are likely to be presented in the World Cup.

“Junaid and Faheem had been originally preferred over a few other bowlers based on their recent performances and the investment we had made on them since 2017. They had the opportunity to cement their Word Cup spots, but they were well below-par in the series against England even though they were up against the difficult challenge of bowling on placid and batsmen-friendly wickets.

“After it became obvious that the bat is likely to dominate the ball in the World Cup, we revisited our strategy and reverted to the pace of Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz. Furthermore, Amir and Wahab give the fast bowling attack more experience to back and support the relatively inexperienced but immensely talent Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Hasnain.”

Wahab has taken 102 wickets in 79 ODIs, including 24 wickets in 12 World Cup matches in 2011 and 2015, while Amir has picked up 60 wickets in 51 matches, including five wickets in Pakistan’s successful ICC Champions Trophy 2017 campaign.

Wahab’s last ODI was in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 against India in Birmingham, while he last represented Pakistan in the Dubai Test against Australia in October 2018.

Explaining the decision to recall Wahab, Inzamam said: “The lack of potency of our frontline bowlers in the recent ODI series against England meant that a change was needed. In addition, we now know that we will encounter batting wickets throughout the World Cup campaign.

“The combination of both these elements, meant that we believed that right now, utilising the World Cup experience and knowledge of Wahab was the correct choice.

“Wahab has been training and playing club cricket, and the player of his calibre will not face much problem in adapting and adjusting to the gruelling demands of the World Cup. In addition, playing in the World Cup warm up matches, bowling his quota, will have him match-ready

“The bowling unit during the England ODIs has not clicked as anticipated or expected; if we have at our disposal two vastly experienced pace duo of Amir and Wahab, then it will be foolish not to include them,” says Inzamam.

On Abid Ali, Inzamam said: “It has not been an easy decision to leave out Abid, particularly after he got only one opportunity on the tour. But, he was our third choice opener. After both the first choice openers struck early form, we preferred Asif Ali as he brings firepower to the team that can strengthen our chances in the tournament.

“Both our openers are in form and average over 50 each. If required, we have a fully fit Mohammad Hafeez who can be promoted in the batting order, while Haris Sohail can be the another option.”

Pakistan squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019:

1. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, captain)
2. Asif Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Fakhar Zaman
5. Haris Sohail
6. Hasan Ali
7. Imad Wasim
8. Imam-ul-Haq
9. Mohammad Amir
10. Mohammad Hafeez
11. Mohammad Hasnain
12. Shadab Khan
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Shoaib Malik
15. Wahab Riaz

The following is the Pakistan cricket team’s schedule of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 matches:

24 May – v Afghanistan (warm-up), Bristol (d)
26 May – v Bangladesh (warm-up), Cardiff (d)
31 May – v Windies, Trent Bridge (d)
3 June – v England, Trent Bridge (d)
7 June – v Sri Lanka, Bristol (d)
12 June – v Australia, Taunton (d)
16 June – v India, Old Trafford (d)
23 June – v South Africa, Lord’s (d)
26 June – v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)
29 June – v Afghanistan, Headingley (d)
5 July – v Bangladesh, Lord’s (d/n)

Hasnain hasn't done anything to warrant a place.

Not fair to Usman Shinwari.

Wahab Riaz was a poor choice.

We know what's coming with Wahab.

They could have gone for something out of the blue and uncapped young bowler.

What's the worst that could have happened?

Going for 100 in 10?

Wahab is already going to give you that.

I already knew the rest of squad is same.

1.Imam Ul Haq
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Haris Sohail
5.Sarfraz Ahmed
6.Mohammad Hafeez
7.Asif Ali
8.Shadab Khan
9.Wahab Riaz
10.Hasan Ali
11.Mohammad Amir

Wahan Riaz??????? Oh my lord. I was dead certain it would be Usman Khan man. How disappointing for our best bowler this year

Wahab Riaz was a poor choice.

We know what's coming with Wahab.

They could have gone for something out of the blue and uncapped young bowler.

What's the worst that could have happened?

Going for 100 in 10?

Wahab is already going to give you that.

I already knew the rest of squad is same.

Uncapped?

You already have Hasnain, Shaheen and Hasan in the squad who are already inexperienced.

Hasnain deserved to go out for Shinwari

What has Hasnain done to warrant a spot?

Feel bad for Shinwari or Junaid Khan.

Hasnanin is a waste of place. And he isnt even express. Could have added another batsman or Rumman Raees.

Malik should go as well.
Need to replace Malik, Junaid, Faheem but not retain Wahab. We badly need a proper spinner.

Uncapped?

You already have Hasnain, Shaheen and Hasan in the squad who are already inexperienced.

Hasnain deserved to go out for Shinwari

Hasnain could have been persisted with and instead of Wahab they could have brought Usman. Honestly dont understand the logic behind not playing him when hes consistently looked and been our best bowler.

So abid ali, junaid and faheem out
Amir, asif and wahab in
Would have liked to have seen haris rauf and umer khan in the squad but that was never really realistic. Overal i am happy with the squad. And a warm welcome back to wahab!

Hasnain could have been persisted with and instead of Wahab they could have brought Usman. Honestly dont understand the logic behind not playing him when hes consistently looked and been our best bowler.

Hasnain has all the time in the world to be with the team AFTER the World Cup. A waste of a spot for the World Cup, his spot should have deservingly went to Usman

Brilliant decisions. I would have picked Wahab over Shinwari.

But Ruman would have been the best choice but I knew our think tank is not brave enough to make that call.

Inzi's obsession with pace is stupid. Pace is nothing on these flat pitches. Need a thinking bowler who bowls variation.

Even though I am utterly disappointed not to see Usman Khan Shinwari there in place of Wahab Riaz, I am DELIGHTED to say the very least upon the exclusion of Junaid Khan. I would not have Junaid in the XI even if he was the last fast bowler in Pakistan. He is finished and this was rightly and hopefully his last stint for Pakistan.

And shoiab malik doesnt deserve to be in team they couldv brought in someone else even umar akmal is better choice than this useless

He raises his game for the World Cup.

Champions trophy isn't the World Cup

I hope you realise that this logic of "raises his game for the WC" is all garbage. I prefer Wahab over Junaid EASILY but the fact of the matter is, the game was just as big, the stakes were just as high and in the CT, Wahab failed to deliver. The guy is getting old. Sure, he still hits good pace but that's because he has natural pace. Even Akhtar can hit 145 KPH with the odd delivery if he starts bowling today. Wahab is 36 on paper. Probably 38 in real life.

He is an absolute spray gun who can be good on his day. I'd rather have him over Junaid Khan though because while.both are spray guns, Wahan is a much better fielder, a much, much, much better batsman, always gives it his all in spite of his flaws and has pace.

So 2015 we had Younis and Yasir Shah as the passengers.
In 2019 we have Malik and Hasnain as the passengers

Hasnain and shinwari are quite similar. Would have gone for shinwari instead. Ok i know he goes for 25 runs an over but he as off late he has been the onky bowler to take fifers...i would placr my bets on him. Both are pathetic fielders and can go for runs, but wicket wise shinwari is more useful

Outstanding squad selection! For too long Pakistani selectors have been afraid to change tactics in the face of poor results. The continuous selection of Yasir Shah was evidence of that, for example.

For once, the Pakistani selectors have been bold. Well done!

I hope you realise that this logic of "raises his game for the WC" is all garbage. I prefer Wahab over Junaid EASILY but the fact of the matter is, the game was just as big, the stakes were just as high and in the CT, Wahab failed to deliver. The guy is getting old. Sure, he still hits good pace but that's because he has natural pace. Even Akhtar can hit 145 KPH with the odd delivery if he starts bowling today. Wahab is 36 on paper. Probably 38 in real life.

He is an absolute spray gun who can be good on his day. I'd rather have him over Junaid Khan though because while.both are spray guns, Wahan is a much better fielder, a much, much, much better batsman, always gives it his all in spite of his flaws and has pace.

Consecutive World Cup performances.

We'll just have to wait and see. He's already a better pick than Junaid and unlike Hasnain the fraud, Wahab actually bowls 90mph

Consecutive World Cup performances.

We'll just have to wait and see. He's already a better pick than Junaid and unlike Hasnain the fraud, Wahab actually bowls 90mph

Hasnain isnt bad. I like the kid. He got us our first wicket when we were struggling to get ANYTHING. I hope Waqar can do us a favour and help the kid out before the WC since he is already there. Hasnain, on his day, looks like a real match winner. Was easily our best bowler in the 3rd ODI.

Hasnain and shinwari are quite similar. Would have gone for shinwari instead. Ok i know he goes for 25 runs an over but he as off late he has been the onky bowler to take fifers...i would placr my bets on him. Both are pathetic fielders and can go for runs, but wicket wise shinwari is more useful
Usman is very good at taking wickets against teams outsde of the top 4/5 teams. These are the teams we can not afford to lose to or our world cup is as good as over.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Amir has fully recovered from chicken pox is expected to join the squad in Bristol on 22 May. He will be available for selection for the 24 & 26 May warm-up matches before Pakistan launches their World Cup campaign against the Windies on 31 May at Trent Bridge <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1130380373416919040?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Hasnain isnt bad. I like the kid. He got us our first wicket when we were struggling to get ANYTHING. I hope Waqar can do us a favour and help the kid out before the WC since he is already there. Hasnain, on his day, looks like a real match winner. Was easily our best bowler in the 3rd ODI.

He's too raw and hasn't looked like a match winner at all mate. He's far from the finished product, pathetic to see him selected for the World Cup based on a T20 League and his mythical ability to bowl 90mph.

I don't see junaid doing much on these flat pitches but saying wahab raiz is better odi bowler than junaid is pretty naive and continues to show your obsession with pace .
20190520_125507.jpg

Faheem Ashraf and Abid Ali will stay in England as reserves. Even Rizwan is/will be in England.

How is Asif Ali selected when he just lost his daughter? Will he play the world cup? Anyone knows?

Would have liked some one like rumman raess , I would say haris Rauf too but we already have too many in experienced bowlers, regardless let's hope Wahab improved and bowls more with his brain lol

We are back to status quo
Hafeez,malik,wahab raiz in same lineup is recipe for disaster

How is Asif Ali selected when he just lost his daughter? Will he play the world cup? Anyone knows?

He is going back to Pakistan my guess he is will return maybe first week of June or the following so he would miss some matches again this is what I am guessing

So basically Pakistan has picked 5 pace bowlers in a squad of 15, while India has picked just 3. I do feel that India should have picked 1 more pace bowler, though Pakistan seems to have picked one redundant pace bowler as baring injuries, I feel one of the 5 bowlers will not play a single game.

I don't see junaid doing much on these flat pitches but saying wahab raiz is better odi bowler than junaid is pretty naive and continues to show your obsession with pace .
View attachment 91525

I think my obsession with pace is pretty obvious from username and I've never denied it. However, putting stats aside for a moment, I understand that Wahab Riaz is not the right option. He is an absolute spray gun and UKS deserves to be there instead of him, who just by the way is at least 10 miles slower.

YET I do believe Wahab is a much better option compared to Junaid because of reasons other than bowling as well, like I mentioned. He is a much better fielder, a much, much, much better batsman and is way more dedicated as a bowler too. And yes, I would pick 145 KPH spray gun over 130 KPH cannon fodder any day of the week.

Stats aren't everything mate.

Shall I bring out Imams averages to prove he's better than Babar?

Create a separate thread so we can discuss there .i will count how many run up during bowling he will miss again by your favourite "super Phast bowler"

The ideal scenario for Mohammad Amir who was inevitably going to be picked anyway.

Instead of getting himself named on the sheet on merit, Amir away gets the easy way out without having to show credentials for his performance.

Whereas someone like Junaid gets ousted with one bad performance and was given only 2 games to perform. Despite having bowled decently in the previous game he played.

Granted he was taken apart in the last ODI we have also seen Shaheen being taken for 8 to 9 an over.

Now I understand if he is not in the starting lineup, getting Wahab in his place is a different story altogether and it doesn't make sense at all.

He's too raw and hasn't looked like a match winner at all mate. He's far from the finished product, pathetic to see him selected for the World Cup based on a T20 League and his mythical ability to bowl 90mph.

I do agree he is raw but then so is Shaheen in spite of having played with us for over a year now. Hasnain's extra pace, and when he does bowl over 140 KPH will help us beat the likes of Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Let's not forget, we have been attributed to losing to these teams.

I think my obsession with pace is pretty obvious from username and I've never denied it. However, putting stats aside for a moment, I understand that Wahab Riaz is not the right option. He is an absolute spray gun and UKS deserves to be there instead of him, who just by the way is at least 10 miles slower.

YET I do believe Wahab is a much better option compared to Junaid because of reasons other than bowling as well, like I mentioned. He is a much better fielder, a much, much, much better batsman and is way more dedicated as a bowler too. And yes, I would pick 145 KPH spray gun over 130 KPH cannon fodder any day of the week.

Yes your spray gun features in the highest run conceded in ODIs of all time 4 times.

One more change should have been made

Usman Shinwari in place of Hasnain.

Agreed. The team management invested on Usman Shinwari, he earned considerable experience, becomes our wicket-taking bowler in ODI, he has got pace aswell and then for weird reason our chief selector picks a kid "Hasnain" who hasn't even played a full FC, OD season for a mega event.

Mind-boggling stuff. :facepalm:

Amir is such a freeloader. Always makes it no matter what he's been doing in the past.

Still not over the fact that they didn't select Butt and Akmals (both of them).

The ideal scenario for Mohammad Amir who was inevitably going to be picked anyway.

Instead of getting himself named on the sheet on merit, Amir away gets the easy way out without having to show credentials for his performance.

Whereas someone like Junaid gets ousted with one bad performance and was given only 2 games to perform. Despite having bowled decently in the previous game he played.

Granted he was taken apart in the last ODI we have also seen Shaheen being taken for 8 to 9 an over.

Now I understand if he is not in the starting lineup, getting Wahab in his place is a different story altogether and it doesn't make sense at all.

Yep, even the pace sensation Hasnain was taken apart after 40th over in that match.

And yet he is better than Junaid Khan. Yes, that is how bad Junaid Khan is.

Yes, a top 3 wicket taking bowler in the same tournament which the country won and is the only meaningful achievement of our country this decade, is much inferior to the guy who was kicked out after the first game in that same tournament.

I hope this is the same wahab riaz as the psl and domestic cricket one ,not the previous one.He is rated as an improved bowler in leagues and in bangladesh premier league he troubled batsman like warner,smith and ab de villiers plus the most postuve thing was he was economical.Brave decision by selection commite and I hope it pays off.

Saying without fact and figures is pretty dumb .there was reason wahab raiz was dropped from odi squad back in 2016 .Few days ago wahab raiz was schooled by rookie name khushdil shah who smash him to every corner..As far junaid is concern he is still smarter in bowling than wahab raiz but his attitude have let him down .

You can bump this thread .i can guarantee you that wahab raiz average speed won't be higher than 88mph .he has regressed and this is not t20 but 50 over where he will struggle

Yes, a top 3 wicket taking bowler in the same tournament which the country won and is the only meaningful achievement of our country this decade, is much inferior to the guy who was kicked out after the first game in that same tournament.

Leave him he won't understand .😂😂.

That's a pretty reasonable squad.

I would have taken Shinwari instead of Wahab and left Hasnain as a backup right arm pacer. But they should be able to put together a respectable XI out of these names and that's what matters.

This reflects poorly on Mohammad Amir and the selection committee.

It seems another convenient excuse for a bowler who somehow would'nt have ever performed in this graveyard for fast bowlers manages to make it into the squad based on reputation alone.

Might as well not made this provision at all :))

Happy with the team, glad to see wahab and Amir in the bowling department, experience and pace will benefit us, atleast an improvement in terms of what we've seen in this series. And more runs contained could be the difference between winning and losing. Asif ali defo had to get in and I'm glad he's in for abid.

Now let's go boys! Excited for the world cup :D

Yes, for a bowler who has exceptional and noteworthy bowling performances in WC qualifiers which will be remembered for years on end.

People tend to forget how shinwari ALWAYS gets taken to the cleaners in pressure situations. Wahab is a top choice for death overs when the ball is reversing and can bowl wicket to wicket in middle overs

We don’t need more than 1 spray gun who give 100+ runs 😅. Hasnain can bat and eager to perform at this young age.

Saying without fact and figures is pretty dumb .there was reason wahab raiz was dropped from odi squad back in 2016 .Few days ago wahab raiz was schooled by rookie name khushdil shah who smash him to every corner..As far junaid is concern he is still smarter in bowling than wahab raiz but his attitude have let him down .

You can bump this thread .i can guarantee you that wahab raiz average speed won't be higher than 88mph .he has regressed and this is not t20 but 50 over where he will struggle

Only in Pakistan you will see a 36 yrs old pacer selected. A fast Bowler declines at 34 and look what we are doing.

Now we have two 39 yrs old batsmen and one 36 yrs old pacer. A repeat of 2003 WC

Tou bhai meiney konsa kaha hai kay Wahab asmaan sy utra hai? I recognized all these aspects before you even quoted me. My first post here was that Wahab's gonna lose us the WC. I'm just saying he's way better than Junaid. I've given my reasons in my previous post, phir sy parhlo.

People tend to forget how shinwari ALWAYS gets taken to the cleaners in pressure situations. Wahab is a top choice for death overs when the ball is reversing and can bowl wicket to wicket in middle overs

Plus the no balls he bowls in pressure situations.

With Pacey bowlers in Shaheen and Wahab already selected, perhaps Hasnain could have been replaced by Ruman depending on his form and fitness. Even though Hasnain has bowled well in patches and looked threatening against one of the worlds best batting line up. He will be needed as replacement if Wahab does not perform. Expecting better perfomance from Wahab after his controlled and wicket taking show in PSL.

So overall good squad

So basically Pakistan has picked 5 pace bowlers in a squad of 15, while India has picked just 3. I do feel that India should have picked 1 more pace bowler, though Pakistan seems to have picked one redundant pace bowler as baring injuries, I feel one of the 5 bowlers will not play a single game.

Express pace will be needed on these phattas. India have only bumrah who can click above 90mph .if that saini guy is good he should play worldcup

wahab looks decent selection as he will be more potent with reverse swing at death overs than most of our current bowlers.

Only in Pakistan you will see a 36 yrs old pacer selected. A fast Bowler declines at 34 and look what we are doing.

Now we have two 39 yrs old batsmen and one 36 yrs old pacer. A repeat of 2003 WC
Dale steyn ko bhi dekh leo he is also 36 years old ,As long as he is performing and has pace wahab deserved to be selected.

I understand posters who are questioning Wahab Riaz and Amir’s inclusion because their recent history is not encouraging.

But I am still pleased as this strengthen our lower order batting as well.

Dale steyn ko bhi dekh leo he is also 36 years old ,As long as he is performing and has pace wahab deserved to be selected.

Don.t disrespect steyn .wahab is not express he used to be .bowling 4over in t20 is different than bowling 10 over in international odis

WC is a long tourney 10 -12 games long. All 5 bowlers will be used in a rotation process. India has gone with only 3 pacers? But you must also have hardik in the team , so that makes 4 pacers. You guys are relying on spin. You might be right.