Pakistan end Day 3 on 153/3, needing 228 to win the 3rd Test against South Africa

My thinking is that changing of captain won't do anything. The problem is much deeper.

That doesn't mean you keep someone for good. Changing Sarfraz is good for him personally and you never know for team. And, I can tell that it'll be definitely better for press conferences ....

Shan is a must for ODI - I actually will play Shan & Babar at top, FZ at 3.

The hardest session will be after tea as we have seen regular carnages in evening sessions.

If Pakistan can survive that, they can finish off in style tomorrow.

Yes he should be in odi squad.

He is in ODI squad, but needs to be in playing XI - oblate PAK managements has done lots to "feel good" by picking new players for bench & drop them after the series for next batch.

Yes fully expect Shan to warm up the bench so that two buddhas will play.

The hardest session will be after tea as we have seen regular carnages in evening sessions.

If Pakistan can survive that, they can finish off in style tomorrow.

Finally some positivity from someone. I reckon we have a chance with our two best batsmen after Babar on the crease right now. They're playing beautiful drives.

Firstly, I have been wrong more times than I have been correct and people here frequently humiliate me for it.

However, I have been successful in predicting the performance of the team over a certain period.

For example, I can say with full confidence that this team will lose 8 out of 10 matches against the top teams, but when will those two wins happen is something that I obviously cannot predict.

It is no rocket science - if you look at the quality of the players and the quality that is coming through, it is easy to see why we are a mediocre team and will remain so.

People here are too emotional and too patriotic. They fail to look at the bigger picture, forget all the problems after one win and confuse their wishes with reality.

I think we will lose the ODI series 4-1 and the T20 series 2-1.

Respect for Mamoon for first paragraph but still disagree that Pak cricket will not improve given selections on merit and India style grooming and patient.

Steyn's average speed across the series has been around 138 according to the graphic shown. A reminder to those people who insisted SA's pacers bowl at 143 on average. They are 5 kph faster than Pakistani pacers on average, 5 kph on average is a significant difference

I feel like Imam gets too much flack on this forum for no reason. He has looked far more comfortable through out the series than the likes of Fakhar, Azhar, Shafiq, Sarfraz; our supposed stars.

Sure, his technique isn't perfect but he plays fast bowling comfortably and at barely 23 years old, he's only going to get better by playing more and more Test cricket and internationals. He has got potential. He has the hunger to get big hundreds, even if they haven't come against top teams yet; the drive for getting big scores is clearly there, unlike Shafiq and Sarfraz who bow their heads after getting their fifties good enough to keep them in the team.

You don't want to waste away this potential in our useless domestic cricket. The basic ingredients are there and while he hasn't set the world alight, he has certainly bought himself some time.

I feel like Imam gets too much flack on this forum for no reason. He has looked far more comfortable through out the series than the likes of Fakhar, Azhar, Shafiq, Sarfraz; our supposed stars.

Sure, his technique isn't perfect but he plays fast bowling comfortably and at barely 23 years old, he's only going to get better by playing more and more Test cricket and internationals. He has got potential. He has the hunger to get big hundreds, even if they haven't come against top teams yet; the drive for getting big scores is clearly there, unlike Shafiq and Sarfraz who bow their heads after getting their fifties good enough to keep them in the team.

You don't want to waste away this potential in our useless domestic cricket. The basic ingredients are there and while he hasn't set the world alight, he has certainly bought himself some time.

Me too

They have to see off the session after tea.
No collapses please.

Thats a dangerous session.

First time I've seen the opening pair look comfortable in a long time, albeit in a dead rubber where defeat is almost guaranteed anyway.

Don't think, I have ever criticized him for Test selection. But, he is in ODI squad for Uncle.

Good start. Long way to go. I wouldn't get too excited until we are a 100 or so away with wickets in hands. Starting up tomorrow won't be easy.

As I have repeatedly said , when chasing a big score in 4th innings teams seem to struggle the day after especially when they lose a wicket early.

That failed attempt to hook from Imam sums up why Pak batting has failed on these flatter wickets.

Unnecessary shots while they have all the time in the world. Why did Imam have to risk his wicket against Olivier playing that shot?

Good start. Long way to go. I wouldn't get too excited until we are a 100 or so away with wickets in hands. Starting up tomorrow won't be easy.

As I have repeatedly said , when chasing a big score in 4th innings teams seem to struggle the day after especially when they lose a wicket early.

Even then Pak has proven to throw it away :p

Guy I would like to make a brave prediction that Pakistan, who have only won twice in South Africa, and are chasing a top 10 score in the final innings against the arguable the best pace attack in test cricket, will lose this game.
Where’s my cookie?

Totally agree.

Happy to see "no talent in Pakistan" upcoming players like Imam, Faheem and Shadab(even though under bowled) showing glimpses of their talent. Just need to be given more confidence by management and captain.

Don't think, I have ever criticized him for Test selection. But, he is in ODI squad for Uncle.

He averages almost 60 with 4 hundreds and 3 fifties at strike rate of almost 82 in only 16 games. I know that his performances haven't come against the very best but these are surely world class numbers for a cricketer that has never played on his home turf merely at 22. 6 POTW's later, I'd expect you of all people to not fall for the notion that he is in the ODI squad because of his Uncle.

He deserves go be in the ODI squad. Who are his predecessors? Kamran Akmal? Awais Zia? Hafeez? Sahibzada Farhan? Sami Aslam? Who is qualified enough to replace him? Shan is looking brilliant and deserves to be in the ODI squad but so far, Imam has been there in merit. He got a 100 in his debut game for crying out loud.

Teams often tend to get relatively close when the fourth innings target is huge. If we were chasing 200, we would be 2 down by now.

When the target is big, the batsmen start positively and play their shots because they are under little pressure. However, once they starting thinking of chasing the target down, the wheels come off.

I won’t be surprised to see Pakistan go from 150/2 to 250 all out.

I cant believe but only I tune into Pak matches (complete innings) in this series when we are batting.

Our bowling has been disappointing. Hardly any swing/seam, pace or bounce while SA's bowling is exciting to watch.

Teams often tend to get relatively close when the fourth innings target is huge. If we were chasing 200, we would be 2 down by now.

When the target is big, the batsmen start positively and play their shots because they are under little pressure. However, once they starting thinking of chasing the target down, the wheels come off.

Brilliant analysis. I've seen this happen with Pakistan far too often. Pakistan team ka almeeya he ye hai, jeet'tay bhi hain tou almost haar kay aur haartay hain tou hope dekay.

Not only with Pakistan, it happens frequently with other teams as well.

He averages almost 60 with 4 hundreds and 3 fifties at strike rate of almost 82 in only 16 games. I know that his performances haven't come against the very best but these are surely world class numbers for a cricketer that has never played on his home turf merely at 22. 6 POTW's later, I'd expect you of all people to not fall for the notion that he is in the ODI squad because of his Uncle.

He deserves go be in the ODI squad. Who are his predecessors? Kamran Akmal? Awais Zia? Hafeez? Sahibzada Farhan? Sami Aslam? Who is qualified enough to replace him? Shan is looking brilliant and deserves to be in the ODI squad but so far, Imam has been there in merit. He got a 100 in his debut game for crying out loud.
He is there purely due to chachu.

totally agree plus this pitch is not sporting fast bowling now

After 5 games against IND & NZ with 4 of those 5 in UAE - his ODI stats stands 64 runs at an average of 16 with a SR of 54.23........................... and he'll open in SAF, will go to WC as well.

We did start the chase in the 1st Test in Abu Dhabi v NZ fairly well...before the wheels fell off.

this pitch has nothing left for the pacers now,
i am seeing another cute fifty by asad and possibly azhar too
and will book their place for a year

For Time being its proven fact that we Suck in Test Cricket, we Lack in Every aspect but it isn't all doom and gloom and can turn it around with better team selection and vision and better domestic structure, but what you guys think we need tu change tu have a chance in WC??? [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] @Saj

After 5 games against IND & NZ with 4 of those 5 in UAE - his ODI stats stands 64 runs at an average of 16 with a SR of 54.23........................... and he'll open in SAF, will go to WC as well.

A sample size of 5 games shouldn't be the ultimate decider of a player's position in the team when he averages nearly 60 at an SR of 82.

For Time being its proven fact that we Suck in Test Cricket, we Lack in Every aspect but it isn't all doom and gloom and can turn it around with better team selection and vision and better domestic structure, but what you guys think we need tu change tu have a chance in WC??? [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] @Saj

The World Cup is a lost cause. We will do well to make the SF.

This Olivier guy will be a failure in places like NZ, Eng , WI and Asia.

Made for bouncy and pace pitches.

He's got pace and will be able to extract bounce in WI, NZ and maybe even UAE. RSA can use him in the UAE the same way Pakistan uses Wahab. Their biggest problem right now is not losing him to Kolpak.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] so you have given up??? Maybe We can fluke another trophy in England, Can't we?

That failed attempt to hook from Imam sums up why Pak batting has failed on these flatter wickets.

Unnecessary shots while they have all the time in the world. Why did Imam have to risk his wicket against Olivier playing that shot?

Pakistani batsmen don't have the technique to play short bowling. We have bowling friendly wickets back home but they are green wickets, not bouncy. There are no bowlers who bowl fast or express either so where do you expect them go get the technique to play short pitched stuff?

Similarly, their batsmen are inept against spin because they don't have the technique to play spin owing to pacer firnedly wickets.

One usual decent partnership of inns and then usual collapse will follow.

Shan is looking really good.

Imam will probably play in the ODIs because of this test lol.