JibranAnsari
ODI Captain
Imagine Hafeez playing instead of Shan...
The result would still be 3 0
Imagine Hafeez playing instead of Shan...
Steyn could have had 6 more wickets in the series if hafeez was playing.
The result would still be 3 0
My thinking is that changing of captain won't do anything. The problem is much deeper.
Shan is a must for ODI - I actually will play Shan & Babar at top, FZ at 3.
Yes he should be in odi squad.
Shan is a must for ODI - I actually will play Shan & Babar at top, FZ at 3.
The hardest session will be after tea as we have seen regular carnages in evening sessions.
If Pakistan can survive that, they can finish off in style tomorrow.
He is in ODI squad, but needs to be in playing XI - oblate PAK managements has done lots to "feel good" by picking new players for bench & drop them after the series for next batch.
The hardest session will be after tea as we have seen regular carnages in evening sessions.
If Pakistan can survive that, they can finish off in style tomorrow.
Firstly, I have been wrong more times than I have been correct and people here frequently humiliate me for it.
However, I have been successful in predicting the performance of the team over a certain period.
For example, I can say with full confidence that this team will lose 8 out of 10 matches against the top teams, but when will those two wins happen is something that I obviously cannot predict.
It is no rocket science - if you look at the quality of the players and the quality that is coming through, it is easy to see why we are a mediocre team and will remain so.
People here are too emotional and too patriotic. They fail to look at the bigger picture, forget all the problems after one win and confuse their wishes with reality.
I think we will lose the ODI series 4-1 and the T20 series 2-1.
Finally some positivity from someone. I reckon we have a chance with our two best batsmen after Babar on the crease right now. They're playing beautiful drives.
Need Babar to get 120+ if we want to win this.
Looks like Babar is going to bat at 3
I feel like Imam gets too much flack on this forum for no reason. He has looked far more comfortable through out the series than the likes of Fakhar, Azhar, Shafiq, Sarfraz; our supposed stars.
Sure, his technique isn't perfect but he plays fast bowling comfortably and at barely 23 years old, he's only going to get better by playing more and more Test cricket and internationals. He has got potential. He has the hunger to get big hundreds, even if they haven't come against top teams yet; the drive for getting big scores is clearly there, unlike Shafiq and Sarfraz who bow their heads after getting their fifties good enough to keep them in the team.
You don't want to waste away this potential in our useless domestic cricket. The basic ingredients are there and while he hasn't set the world alight, he has certainly bought himself some time.
He wasn’t wearing his training kit.How do you know that?
I feel like Imam gets too much flack on this forum for no reason. He has looked far more comfortable through out the series than the likes of Fakhar, Azhar, Shafiq, Sarfraz; our supposed stars.
Sure, his technique isn't perfect but he plays fast bowling comfortably and at barely 23 years old, he's only going to get better by playing more and more Test cricket and internationals. He has got potential. He has the hunger to get big hundreds, even if they haven't come against top teams yet; the drive for getting big scores is clearly there, unlike Shafiq and Sarfraz who bow their heads after getting their fifties good enough to keep them in the team.
You don't want to waste away this potential in our useless domestic cricket. The basic ingredients are there and while he hasn't set the world alight, he has certainly bought himself some time.
Good, positive start by Pakistan.
Good start. Long way to go. I wouldn't get too excited until we are a 100 or so away with wickets in hands. Starting up tomorrow won't be easy.
As I have repeatedly said , when chasing a big score in 4th innings teams seem to struggle the day after especially when they lose a wicket early.
First time I've seen the opening pair look comfortable in a long time, albeit in a dead rubber where defeat is almost guaranteed anyway.
Even then Pak has proven to throw it away![]()
Don't think, I have ever criticized him for Test selection. But, he is in ODI squad for Uncle.
Teams often tend to get relatively close when the fourth innings target is huge. If we were chasing 200, we would be 2 down by now.
When the target is big, the batsmen start positively and play their shots because they are under little pressure. However, once they starting thinking of chasing the target down, the wheels come off.
I won’t be surprised to see Pakistan go from 150/2 to 250 all out.
Brilliant analysis. I've seen this happen with Pakistan far too often. Pakistan team ka almeeya he ye hai, jeet'tay bhi hain tou almost haar kay aur haartay hain tou hope dekay.
He is there purely due to chachu.He averages almost 60 with 4 hundreds and 3 fifties at strike rate of almost 82 in only 16 games. I know that his performances haven't come against the very best but these are surely world class numbers for a cricketer that has never played on his home turf merely at 22. 6 POTW's later, I'd expect you of all people to not fall for the notion that he is in the ODI squad because of his Uncle.
He deserves go be in the ODI squad. Who are his predecessors? Kamran Akmal? Awais Zia? Hafeez? Sahibzada Farhan? Sami Aslam? Who is qualified enough to replace him? Shan is looking brilliant and deserves to be in the ODI squad but so far, Imam has been there in merit. He got a 100 in his debut game for crying out loud.
Teams often tend to get relatively close when the fourth innings target is huge. If we were chasing 200, we would be 2 down by now.
When the target is big, the batsmen start positively and play their shots because they are under little pressure. However, once they starting thinking of chasing the target down, the wheels come off.
He averages almost 60 with 4 hundreds and 3 fifties at strike rate of almost 82 in only 16 games. I know that his performances haven't come against the very best but these are surely world class numbers for a cricketer that has never played on his home turf merely at 22. 6 POTW's later, I'd expect you of all people to not fall for the notion that he is in the ODI squad because of his Uncle.
He deserves go be in the ODI squad. Who are his predecessors? Kamran Akmal? Awais Zia? Hafeez? Sahibzada Farhan? Sami Aslam? Who is qualified enough to replace him? Shan is looking brilliant and deserves to be in the ODI squad but so far, Imam has been there in merit. He got a 100 in his debut game for crying out loud.
After 5 games against IND & NZ with 4 of those 5 in UAE - his ODI stats stands 64 runs at an average of 16 with a SR of 54.23........................... and he'll open in SAF, will go to WC as well.
For Time being its proven fact that we Suck in Test Cricket, we Lack in Every aspect but it isn't all doom and gloom and can turn it around with better team selection and vision and better domestic structure, but what you guys think we need tu change tu have a chance in WC??? [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] @Saj
This Olivier guy will be a failure in places like NZ, Eng , WI and Asia.
Made for bouncy and pace pitches.
This Olivier guy will be a failure in places like NZ, Eng , WI and Asia.
Made for bouncy and pace pitches.
The World Cup is a lost cause. We will do well to make the SF.
Their biggest problem right now is not losing him to Kolpak.
That may well be but he is better than all tried thus far, with another neopitism player Shan also doing well now.He is there purely due to chachu.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] so you have given up??? Maybe We can fluke another trophy in England, Can't we?
That failed attempt to hook from Imam sums up why Pak batting has failed on these flatter wickets.
Unnecessary shots while they have all the time in the world. Why did Imam have to risk his wicket against Olivier playing that shot?
i am worried about group games..
if we somehow managed to semifinal we might win the world cup