Pakistan v New Zealand | 2nd Test - Day 3 | Wellington | 5/12/09

Yousaf strokes lovely boundary around extra cover region moves to 48 . LEad now 332..Pakistan 167/3.

Brilliant by Umar. Took Vettori on early and forced him to drop the mid on and mid off back. Now he's pinching the singles. Another Inzi trait - to take the spinner on early and then milk the singles.

Wow, he's absolutely flown to 38.

I am honestly just mesmerized by his strokeplay and fearless batting.

Umar Akmal is on FIRE ..strokes boundary off vettori around square point region... this kid has no fear unlike most pakistani batsmen. Mentally very strong and can play on liverly wickets... OHH boyyy man he has HIT a SIX ...woooffffffffffff Commentators are full of praise and crowd is applauding !

you know why NZ pacers can't swing much
it's because Mr. Vettori thook lagadetey hain ball per, as much as you keep the ball dry..the better it is

and Shot!

New Zealand's captain and best bowler getting out thought and out played by a 19 year old kid !

I'm just sat here in front of the lappytop chuckling away at these boundaries, this is awesome

Umar Akmal on 38 off 19 balls...someone tell him to cool off...! ..commies are saying umar is telling yousaf how to bat !!! :))

Excellent effort from Yousuf. Really dug in and led by example in the second innings. Should look to convert this one.

Our session and one that firmly dictates the nature of the game. Consolidation, and then some serious intent from Umar.

I gotta stay up for this.

345/3

Ok maybe I'm getting too excited here but for all Amir and Umar's talent what really stands out for me is their intelligence.

It's good to see a young cricketer not just relying on natural ability but using their heads. It'll keep them in good stead when they go through rough patches.

Fantastic session for Pakistan.

Mohammad Yousuf and Akmal batting superbly. I think Yousuf will probably open up after lunch now that he's got his 50.

Akmal is just playing a blinder. Fabulous strokes one after another.

Lol .. the Kiwi fans are chanting "oomahh oomahh oomahh"

I still can't believe we've found a batsman like Umar. What if it's all a dream and when I wake up he'll be gone....

Ohhh i wish i could stay up all night to watch this but got to go for sleep as have to get up for work tommorow. Have a half day's work to go to on saturdays :pissed: . New Zealander commies saying umar akmal on verge of fastest half century in test history !!!

I hope Umar akmal gets a big century INSHALLAH and skipper yousaf does so as well INSHALLAH !

I loved it when one of the commentator asked the other about Umar Akmal's batting:

So what do you think about it??
This is RIDICULOUS, answers the other commentator and they start laughing.

Amazing batting from Akmal and yet no sign of brainless SLOGGING.

Inswinger said:
I still can't believe we've found a batsman like Umar. What if it's all a dream and when I wake up he'll be gone....

Na keh bahi aisa na Nazar laga bane de usse acha :umarakmal

i am so sleepy rite now but i gotta stay up to watch umar play

amazing batting by him !!!

we should have a lead of arnd 500 by the end of the day inshallah

Waseem said:
I loved it when one of the commentator asked the other about Umar Akmal's batting:

So what do you think about it??
This is RIDICULOUS, answers the other commentator and they start laughing.

Amazing batting from Akmal and yet no sign of brainless SLOGGING.

Completely agree with you.

Umar Akmal is a manipulator. The commentators were talking about this how he attacked the Kiwis into submission and was now milking away the runs in singles.

I can't imagine how good he will be in 4-5 years with experience under his belt. :umarakmal

Inswinger said:
I feel for those in Europe. Here in New York it's only a bit after 8 PM.
And us in Pakistan? It's 6 in the morning here! Now that's dedication.

Inswinger said:

me too man just can't believe that 1 of kamran akmal bro is a gem i mean 2 brothers and both of them good while the umar 1 is even more better mashallah. :14: :14:

Well i am off to bed too but will have my tuned onto cricinfo commentary page via my mobile internet and first thing i do when i get up at 4:30 am is to check the score ! . I hope when i get up yousaf and umar will both have reached their centuries ( Umar would have scored century much earlier provided he keeps playing the way he is without making any mistakes ! ).

Best of luck to Pakistan.

Sheikh said:
And us in Pakistan? It's 6 in the morning here! Now that's dedication.
That sort of dedication deserves an applause. But I'm sure you had a nap before the start of today's play. Match started at 3:30 AM Pak time so I guess you could have slept for 4-5 hours.

This statement has been posted by a kiwi cricket follower on cricinfo commentary page;

"Ed: "Just how good is Umar? He's got to be thinking this Test cricket business is a doddle... us Kiwis could do with a batting prodigy like that..."

That just says it all regards umar akmal ! MASHALLAH

Bilsher007 said:
This statement has been posted by a kiwi cricket follower on cricinfo commentary page;

"Ed: "Just how good is Umar? He's got to be thinking this Test cricket business is a doddle... us Kiwis could do with a batting prodigy like that..."

That just says it all regards umar akmal ! MASHALLAH
I don't think you'll be able to sleep bro. :))

Just goes to show you what confidence does for a team.

Had we not had those 168 runs for a lead, things would have been a lot different.

Haha 99 all out.I expected Pak bowlers to destroy NZ,but didn't expect this carnage by Asif and Co.

Inswinger said:
I feel for those in Europe. Here in New York it's only a bit after 8 PM.

And on the west coast it's a bit after 5 PM...perfect timing for these matches in NZ for us californians...3PM-11PM

I am really impressed my Umar Akmal. Inshallah he will go on to make a big hundred along with Mohammed Yousuf

Inswinger said:
That sort of dedication deserves an applause. But I'm sure you had a nap before the start of today's play. Match started at 3:30 AM Pak time so I guess you could have slept for 4-5 hours.
Can't nap, just doesn't happen for me. Stayed up till 3.30, thought I'd watch the first session and then sleep. That darn Umar Akmal is keeping me up.

Im from the UK. Cricket Finishes here at about 6 am and starts at 11pm. I Have been watching it every day its been on, and then going to University the following morning at 9am. Considering the fact I havnt slept. Thats Dedication :)

Cheguvera said:
And on the west coast it's a bit after 5 PM...perfect timing for these matches in NZ for us californians...3PM-11PM

oh that is good

but it must be really shiti for u rest of the year when matches are played in asia

z2_daredevil said:
oh that is good

but it must be really shiti for u rest of the year when matches are played in asia
Yes it is. We usually have to wake up at 2- 4 AM to watch a match.

Sheikh said:
Can't nap, just doesn't happen for me. Stayed up till 3.30, thought I'd watch the first session and then sleep. That darn Umar Akmal is keeping me up.

aur tussi akele nahi ho jinu umar ne jagei rakhya hai

bus yaar need to ati hai na jab se match start huwa hai sare din main 5,6 horus sona

Can I ask every one! Why is Shoaib Malik in the team?? Hes not made a significant contribution to a single match in a long time?

Inswinger said:

You know what I was thinking 'When will Pakistan find a good quality batsman?

I was thinking never and we weould have no one after Inzi, Younus, MoYo

By Al-Hum-Du-Lillah we have found Umar. :umarakmal

I think Moyo should take some lessons from U Akmal about handling Vettori with ease.

adzzy786 said:
Can I ask every one! Why is Shoaib Malik in the team?? Hes not made a significant contribution to a single match in a long time?

no idea and hes finiding the worst shots to get out which annoys me even more :pissed:

on the other hand who can we replace him with ???

Lethal said:
You know what I was thinking 'When will Pakistan find a good quality batsman?

I was thinking never and we weould have no one after Inzi, Younus, MoYo

By Al-Hum-Du-Lillah we have found Umar. :umarakmal

Yes we have, but i wonder how many more batsmen like Umar we have got that have not been given a chance.

adzzy786 said:

Actually he is teaching :inti how to use yahoo chat. He is more like an IT person then a batsman.

z2_daredevil said:
no idea and hes finiding the worst shots to get out which annoys me even more :pissed:

on the other hand who can we replace him with ???

Thats so true.. Why doesnt Shahid Afridi play test cricket? He would be alot better than Shoaib Malik, Who Cant bat (any more), Cant Bowl (any more), But can Field :) Better than Imran Farhat :)