Pakistan Vs England 1st Test Day 2 thread [13/11/05]

shabbir has looked very very ineffective so far. its not easy to change your action every 6 months, i guess

1st slip, silly point and short leg?

no silly for tresco. will chk again for Bell :)

ya 3 for Bell. silly, short leg and slip. But kaneria trying to bowl every variety in his armour. has to show some consistency and patience

Good over from beeray. we need this and we can attack with kaneria @ other end!

Eng 60/1

good to see Akhtar working on the ball and supporting Shabbir. Akhtar looking very determine.

SlipperyBlue said:
hey why doesn't Inzamam use Kala-Kola hair tonic to color the grey in his beard?

Are you a Kala-Kola salesman

Daari uss ki, pait mein dard janaab ko...wah wah kia baat hai :p

nedian21 said:
nothing IN there in shabbir's bowling. seems just coming n bowling

we need him to dry runs up here which hes doing, yes we do need potency aswell.

2 more for bell.

2 more for bell as he sweeps kaneria agen.

eng 64/1

Yaar Kaneria wicket le le yaar. her match main century banana zaroori nahin hota

we need him to dry runs up here which hes doing, yes we do need potency aswell.

2 more for bell.

yar AJ he is selected as a specialist bowler and he is looking very ineffective. with just 274 on board we cant only attack with Kaneria. even Warne will find it difficult with this 1st inning score

Beeray bowling nice line here, we need 2 wkts thou asap!

u know what i was telling one of my frnd that Pakistan has a tendency to make players famous. i m sure Bell will be able to revitalize his career by a career best knock of 150+ ;)

no but sami did!

it was called a wicket taking ball! :))

At least he did get a wicket! Thats what we need wickets!

Eng 68/1 ( tesco 28* bell 22*)

50 partnership up..

i dont know about the rest of you but it doesnt seem that shabbir has any wicket taking balls on this pitch.... poor decision to play him, really. the only way he will take wickets is if the english batsman play him poorly.

Kaneria round wkt and 1st ball goes for 4 byes.

kaneria trying to much!

At least he did get a wicket! Thats what we need wickets!

ya he did. and u think he has done his duty. Bell the guy who was not even playing in this test match was allowed to settle down easily by ur fav. he bowled rubbish delivaries to him in the beginning. Raz its not only abt hitting sixes and cleaning up with yorkers. Cricket is more of a mental and patient game. saying this Kaneria running out of patience. just after 2 overs he is coming round the wicket . this is the difference b/w Warne (or even Kumble) to Danish. spinner need more patience and he tries to experiment a lot

nedian21 said:
ya he did. and u think he has done his duty. Bell the guy who was not even playing in this test match was allowed to settle down easily by ur fav. he bowled rubbish delivaries to him in the beginning. Raz its not only abt hitting sixes and cleaning up with yorkers. Cricket is more of a mental and patient game. saying this Kaneria running out of patience. just after 2 overs he is coming round the wicket . this is the difference b/w Warne (or even Kumble) to Danish. spinner need more patience and he tries to experiment a lot

:14: spot on! couldnt say it better myself.

Thats lunch day 2

Eng 72/1 (202 behind and incontrol)

Sahbbir is going at two runs an over when you have three strike bowlers you need somebody to dry up the runs he is doing fine

Beeray bowling at 77 mph :O

And that's still with a slight kink, it has improved from his usual action thankfully but as I've been saying for months he shouldn't be playing until we've seen what he can do with his remodelled action but his supporters on here seem to think he can come in and start moving the ball all over the place wiht a new action.

Rana should have picked from the beginning, end of story.

Imy said:
Sahbbir is going at two runs an over when you have three strike bowlers you need somebody to dry up the runs he is doing fine

The problem is that Shabbir is supposedly a strike bowler

thats it for me. will take a rest now. match seems going England way now. as i said at the start of England innings we needed at least 2-3 wickets in 10-15 overs. and that didnt happen. unless there is a burst from Shoaib after lunch, we should get ready for yet another fight back in the 2nd test.

From now on I will start watching Pakistan matches from the 2nd test of the series.

pants and trousers said:
how is shabbir's action lookin?

Not perfect but it's a LOT better than the Windies tour. If he can stick to this I think he might be alright but the problem is his bowling isn't going to cause any concern to the batsman now

Big Mac said:
The problem is that Shabbir is supposedly a strike bowler

exactly BM. he is selected as a specialist bowler and need to be effective and cause batsman probs. he is only running and bowling. Rana / Umer Gul or Shahid Nazir wud have been much better choice. Actually Afridi as a specialist spinner should have played instead of Shabbir

nedian21 said:
thats it for me. will take a rest now. match seems going England way now. as i said at the start of England innings we needed at least 2-3 wickets in 10-15 overs. and that didnt happen. unless there is a burst from Shoaib after lunch, we should get ready for yet another fight back in the 2nd test.

From now on I will start watching Pakistan matches from the 2nd test of the series.

the question is will he be fit enough to bowl after lunch :p

pants and trousers said:
the question is will he be fit enough to bowl after lunch :p

true :)) u never know with Shoaib bhai. thats why an attack of Najaf Shah/Asif, Umer Gul , Shahid Nazir / Rana wud have been much better as compared to Sami Holding , Shoaib Mr Ferrari Akhtar and Shabbir dodgy action

Shabbir action

shah17nj.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
shah23dz.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

shabbir's action is still a little off, ramiz was saying that its still not 100% correct i guess we'll have to wait until after the match to see if he gets reported

nedian21 said:
true :)) u never know with Shoaib bhai. thats why an attack of Najaf Shah/Asif, Umer Gul , Shahid Nazir / Rana wud have been much better as compared to Sami Holding , Shoaib Mr Ferrari Akhtar and Shabbir dodgy action

Yeah i dont get why rana is lower than sami in the pecking order rana can atleast bat a little better than him.

Salam, morning bros :)

Sad to see us bowled out so cheaply.

Shoaib Akhtar doing well i see from the highlights - bowling with real venom and unlucky to pick up wickets - very fast - it was telling that Sami's wicket was one of his quickest today.

Shabbir seemed to have nothing on watching the highlights - is this true?

And Kaneria.... i'm banking on this man to terrorise them later. He's our hope. We could really do with another 'impact' bowler ;)

I'd love to see Akhtar and Sami tear in now after lunch.

GO PAKISTAN!!!!! :D :D

Kaneria starts the session afta lunch bowling to bell.

Wasalam DM bro

Yeah Akhtar bowled well with no reward and Sami bowled well in parts but lacked a bit of discipline as well.

Kaneria seemed a bit impatient, wanting to try to many things.

Kaneria with a very good over post lunch. Just the 1 run conceded and that was the no ball.

The_Cricket_Devil said:
the hilarious part is the crowd is still going "pakistan zindabad" whilst michael vaughan reads a book! lol

man shabbir aint goona take any wickets, he doesnt look dangerous at all

That was a close call for Bell. Almost ended up chipping it to MoYo

inzy policy- to dry runs up wid shabbir and DK thats the only reason i can think off

Bell rocks onto back foot and smashes kaneria thru covers for 4.

top shot.

Next ball on leg stump and worked away for 2.

poor stuff from dani!

Multani flies will now cause temporary blindness to Bell and he will lose his wicket in the next 20 deliveries....

MenInGreen said:
Multani flies will now cause temporary blindness to Bell and he will lose his wicket in the next 20 deliveries....

Im counting.....

MenInGreen said:

The flies have already effected our bowlers!

inzi should bring in shoaib and sami, they've been off for so long including the lunch break... don't see why one of them isn't in right now with kaneria on the other end

with just 4 bowlers ts going to be hard.. im still suprised how
we didnt go in with a all rounder ( 5th bowler)...

Shabbir bowling in the mid 70s
Goodness me, is he giving them a foot massage along with that?