Pakistan Vs England 1st Test Day 3 thread [14/11/05]

The current runrate should be maintained....otherwise it will either be a win or lose situation....NO DRAW!

what has happend to moyo ??? i heard he wont bat at number 4...
and aint been in the field all day...

Butt on strike to Udal, this is a test for him...I could see he was trying to be aggressive against Udal in teh last over, hopefully he doesnt lose his wicket that way.

Just keep it nice and easy and rotate the strike thats all baby just rotate the strike.

KaSaNoVa_G said:
what has happend to moyo ??? i heard he wont bat at number 4...
and aint been in the field all day...
117 mins into the innings or aft 5 wkts down he can bat

Chal Butt beta, ALLAH ka PAK Naam lay aur kaam shru kar....

They must not let Udal settle down - its risky but even riskier to let him dominate.

i thought this match wasnt available in Canada
Q bahi hum gareboo naay kia kasoor kia hai ....

Its available thru dishnetwork or Rogers cable

According to Rameez (on BBC Radio) he says not only does MoYo hace a shoulder problem, but also a viral infection which has made him very weak.

waquas_uk said:
any audio links? i cam to college thinking i would listen to bbc but it dont work

Waqaus yaar-read the sticky thread on Audio/Video ... to listen onlne, you have to pay the PCB !

Does the Multan Stadium have a seperate female enclosure?

Oxy™ said:
Does the Multan Stadium have a seperate female enclosure?

Not sure. Gadaffi does but it is not compulsary for women to sit there.

Come'on Yk a double hundred from you and a 100 from butt. we need to score atleast 360-400 to be safe.

88 for 1

Butt moves onto 40 with a four

so who was it who said Salman should be dropped?

74 in 1st innings
40 not out in 2nd innings

we SHOULD be aiming to wipe off the deficeit by the end of day's play..

then for the next two days it'll be a clean card. we make some runs, and then they try to catch up before the end of the fifth day.

My only concern about Butt are the balls that are slanting , widish across his off stump. He does 'fish' a bit.

Another maiden from flintoff...

Can anyone tell me if the batsmen are getting bogged down by his good deliveries, or are they actually playing interlligently?

Taha...

They are playing each ball on merit. Not getting bogged down.

this is a good partnership....inshallah if these two can play for the rest of the day and wipe off england's lead we're in good shape going into the 4th day

Well it looks like the boys are mentally stronger, not like in Aus.

Despite a poor first innings total, and a good performance by eng to get past 400, these guys are still playing positively in the second innings..

Impressed by that maturity, especially from Butt boy.

Game of chess now.

Eng trying to slow the flow of runs; Pak playing sensibly - each ball on merit.

Interesting!

Butt!

lucky there

Come on Salman. Don't do that again. You are playing so well.

Oxy™ said:
Game of chess now.

Eng trying to slow the flow of runs; Pak playing sensibly - each ball on merit.

Interesting!

I really think that playing each ball on merit should be the game plan for every team at any part of a test match..it should be something permanently fixed in our batsmen's heads.

Oooooooooooo Salman survives! If there was a short leg he was a gonna! Salman needs to stay patient!

Well Freddie is constantly having a go at Salman, lets just hope he doesnt get out under pressure, true test of nerves here for Butt.

24.3 Flintoff to Butt, no run, very good short delivery, Butt wanted to pull, but it came on quick and he was caught in a tangle, lobs it in the air, fell just into the gaps and in front of the keeper, lucky escape

tahaqureshi said:
What happened!!!!!!!!???????

Dug one in short; lobbed in the air ...no fielderthere...was in the air for some time.

Nauman how do u mean having a go? Is he talking to the butt?

they have taken singles regularly.....good to see..salman retains strike for the next over.

btw, can anyone explain the point of a nightwatchman pls???? iv never really understood the sense behind it....pointless really.

Challo Dildar Challo
Freddie ko mar challo , haan!

Hum hain tayar challo !

tahaqureshi said:
btw, can anyone explain the point of a nightwatchman pls???? iv never really understood the sense behind it....pointless really.

If there are only 3 or 4 overs left....the light is pretty poor. Best not to risk one of your best batsman. Let him come in fresh the next day.

England rotating the subs...like v the Aussies.

Clevr ploy. Hopefully it wont upset the Pak batsman.

tahaqureshi said:

Its a batsman usually a lower order one with a good defensive technique and hes there to face as many deliveries as possible when the close of play draws near. I.e to protect the other batsman who is higher up in the order.

They ahve played until 4.42pm (Pak time) for the last 2 days...so hopefully we have another 30 mins or so left.

this is so exciting i can't wait till tomorrow! - i feel we'll win this if our pacers really tear in :D

nightwatchman = chowkidar ! ie good batsman feel uncomfortable facing last few deliveries in the day so they get a sacrificial lamb ( tail ender ) to take strike

Its a batsman usually a lower order one with a good defensive technique and hes there to face as many deliveries as possible when the close of play draws near. I.e to protect the other batsman who is higher up in the order.
thats exactly what I dont get....

eventually, that batsman will have to play....wats the point of not sending him when he is supposed..doesnt really help, its like he's running away. if he is to be bowled for 5 runs, he will get bowled for 5 runs, end of story. its only a matter of time.

tahaqureshi said:
what do you mean by rotating the subs?

Players are leaving the field regularly and being replaced by subs.

They did it v the Aussies and Ponting was crying about it (got fined if I am correct)

tahaqureshi said:
what do you mean by rotating the subs?

by putting fresh legs in key fielding positions

violates the spirit and not the letter of the law

Impressed with Eng field settings today. They clearly have a set plan for each batsman, which Pak didnt

DM said:
this is so exciting i can't wait till tomorrow! - i feel we'll win this if our pacers really tear in :D

If Pak are still batting by tea time tomorrow ( Inshallah ) - England will be in big trouble !