Pakistan vs South Africa | 2007 Series | 1st Test | Karachi | 01/10/07 | Day 1

suit which bowlers?

SA?
:) Pakistan has good pace attack too. It is not helping spinners either right now. The team was also looking to win the toss too with this pitch

OMG Kallis hits another four

2 four's this over from him after a slow start

Edge didnt carry to Kamran Akmal
It will probably not carry to slips or wkt in this match on a nik as the pitch has no bounce or pace.

Since Kallis has been in Amla hasn't been given much of the strike

and now 2 slips for Dk,man this malik guy wants wickets and is impressive even on this placcid track

the pitch makes for terrible viewing. There is just something nice when a keeper doesnt have to collect a fast baller from his shoes

Big hit 666666666666666666666666

Amla straigjht down the ground off Rehman

Amla hit Abdur for the maximum 6 and Kamran now start calling him Rehman from Manney. Change of tactics from Kamran.

Missed a certain run out and who is the fielder

Make a guess

Our Beloved Vice Captain Salman Butt

Butt misses a run out. Just needed to hit the stumps from 30 yards, Kallis was 5 feet away.

Dead pitch for South Africa???This is exactly what i wanted, they prepare horrible pitches for subcontinent teams, remember the last test in South Africa?? I think it didn't even last full 3 days. Our spinners need to play a big role and restrict South Africa to below 350.

It looks like this Hashim Amla only likes Pakistani bowling.

If the bowler could have taken the throw he wud have been gone too but its Mr Butt

Dead pitch for South Africa???This is exactly what i wanted, they prepare horrible pitches for subcontinent teams, remember the last test in South Africa?? I think it didn't even last full 3 days. Our spinners need to play a big role and restrict South Africa to below 350.

We prepare the same pitches for everyone...England and Australia enjoyed the same conditions...in fact Pakistan and India both found spinning wickets in South Africa that also helped the fast bowlers...great for cricket.....but this ???? Man...this wicket sucks !!!!

And don't worry.....South Africa will hapilly bat away for as long as possible and probably bat any chance of losing out the game...

Waseem said:

we make average players look world beaters :(

We need a breakthrough now in the next few overs.

South Africa do have a long tail though.....without pollock and boje we don't have the usual depth...

we make average players look world beaters

Give Hashim a chance...he's made loads of runs in domestic cricket...he will in my opinion turn out to be a great international cricketer with time .

saffer said:
Give Hashim a chance...he's made loads of runs in domestic cricket...he will in my opinion turn out to be a great international cricketer with time .

We will see against pace on bouncy tracks against the likes of Akhtar,lee.........

saffer said:
We prepare the same pitches for everyone...England and Australia enjoyed the same conditions...in fact Pakistan and India both found spinning wickets in South Africa that also helped the fast bowlers...great for cricket.....but this ???? Man...this wicket sucks !!!!

And don't worry.....South Africa will hapilly bat away for as long as possible and probably bat any chance of losing out the game...

I know this pitch sux, don't really like these kind of pitches but it's as bad as a pitch where a TEST match lasts 2.5 days only.

ermmm i dont see us getting a wicket unless gul comes back in..

saffer said:
South Africa do have a long tail though.....without pollock and boje we don't have the usual depth...
and Pakistan has 3 batsmen. Officially the same tail SA has. Other players no one knows how they will do. With Prince, ABCDE and Boucher still to come SA probably looking for atleast 400
SA 180-2

Gul back

Gul back and he has always look lively with his pace. Asif on the other hand has looked pedestrian. Is Sami injured or something?

Our "Legendary" Leggie will get a wicket in his 50th over I predict. What a sad state Pakistan cricket is in when we have to pick tried and tested failures like Butt,Hafeez, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah and Kaneria.

saffer said:

Amla is very average player, we always make him look good. Avg of 27 in 14 tests is pretty poor.

Rehman looks quite useless but Rao wouldn't have been any different, let's hope Asif and Gul can reverse swing the bowl and get some quick wickets.

Amla after not having much of the strike after Kallis coming to the crease is 6 runs away from his half century

and Pakistan has 3 batsmen. Officially the same tail SA has. Other players no one knows how they will do. With Prince, ABCDE and Boucher still to come SA probably looking for atleast 400
SA 180-2

Gul back

Ab and boucher wont bat very well on this wicket.....they are pullers and cutters and this pitch wont suit them at all ....

Unless these two make a big partnership we will struggle to make 400 ......but I cant see pakistan getting bowled out cheaply ......this game is headed for a tame draw ......what a waste of a pitch .

Amla is very average player, we always make him look good. Avg of 27 in 14 tests is pretty poor.

It is very poor ......but well below his potential ! That's why he keeps getting more chances .

And akmal misses his first catch off Kanieria. Danish does not look pleased...Great!

Akmal ku Bakwas baand ker key wicket keeping per dhayan dena chahiye

Muyazzim Khan said:
Our "Legendary" Leggie will get a wicket in his 50th over I predict. What a sad state Pakistan cricket is in when we have to pick tried and tested failures like Butt,Hafeez, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah and Kaneria.

Butt still deserves his chance in TEST cricket.
Playing both Hafeez and Rehman is quite stupid.
I agree about Faisal.
Misbah???? How many tests has he played???
Kaneria: He is the best spinner in Pakistan and one of our best ever.

Akmal should just shut up an concentrate on catching.
His rant behind the wkts is getting old when he cannot back it up with his work behind the wkts

54.5 Danish Kaneria to Kallis, no run, outside off, short, forcing off the back foot, DROPPED, edges, Akmal can not hold on

Akmal back in form :-( He will surely end Kaneria's career.

We would have been in a decent position as well. Smith, Gibbs and Kallis gone just before tea.

Thanks so much Kamran. Really appreciated.

Kamran must have cost Dany at least 25 wickets in his career so far.

Amla down on the ground crowd bursts but the important thing he is still there

he doesnt need any more practice behind the stumps. he just doesn't have the mental ability not to get excited when there is a simple chance.

Great work by Gul almost yorks Amla and in the process knocks him off his feet.

Amla gets a smile as he gets up a little embarrased

wow they just showed highlights of three really easy opportunities missed by us. terrible performance on this pitch

Ab mein kia keron aik he team mein Akmal aur Butt Sahib hun tu wo achi position mein hu sakti hai kia?

Akmal should be dropped for next test. Really pathetic and i cannot stand him anymore.

Sloppy fielding by Rehman, just runs over the ball it goes for 4. Kineria about to pull his hair. first Akmal and now Rehman.

shan2026 said:
Akmal should be dropped for next test. Really pathetic and i cannot stand him anymore.

Akmal ku sirf test sey he nahi pata nahi kahan kahan sey nikal dena chahiye

Not impressed with rehmans bowling also hell Hafeez seems better

About time their was a boundary

56.4 Danish Kaneria to Kallis, FOUR, leg stump, lap sweep again, this is too fine for long leg

shan2026 said:

I don't know about dropping him but I have supported him thick and thin for the last 2 years and I have finally started to lose patience with him now.