AamchiMumbaikar
Belgium or germanyWho are favorites to win the gold in hockey ? I mean no1 seed.
This time, you will an influx of Chinese gold medals in boxing. China otherwise gets just a few medals in boxing but this time it will be sweeps, thanks to friendly IOC.Chinese boxers never lose till semis in boxing be it olympics/ asiad. You got to rig them else other countries will always lag or end with bronze max
Netherlands as well.Belgium or germany
We are a nation of 1.3 billion people. Maybe we can take 60% of that out because they are too poor to even have sports as an option.
Lakshya Sen will face Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia in the bronze medal matchLakshya Sen - Axelson semifinal score 7-6 in 1st set…. Go Lakshya go
AustraliaWho are favorites to win the gold in hockey ? I mean no1 seed.
Sen can win this.Lakshya Sen will face Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia in the bronze medal match
Boxing main .. home advantage is insane.. Judges are bribed easily.Boxing in olympics in such a rigged sport, now french boxers are winning with split decisions. Home advantage and corruption at peaks!!
Ok, let's pick wrestling and Judo.
Tell me what all are needed to peak at these sports, a slight details would be nice!
Some good points bhai...but i disagree with building academies in only big cities...it has to flow downward and even small scale cities should have academies...bhai the template for sporting excellence is well established, only the infrastructure changes based on the sport. Build academies in the big cities which have a lot of infrastructure and staff who can support the upcoming athletes.
To get the right athletes to these academies, we need proper identification at grassroots level of promising athletes.
Then once they get to the academies, their funding has to be sorted, This can be either government, private sponsorship or totally private if the athlete has the means to self fund. Then there is organizing competitions at district and state level which increases the buzz about the sport and encourages more people to take the sport
Indonesia has won 37 medals totally, almost the same as India. They had one great sport and really excelled at that. Egypt has 38. Woh kaunsa bahut developed country hai
Pehle state capitals mein krenge toh tuer 2 and 3 we can expand later. Abhi only 4 or 5 cities have facilities to train well.Some good points bhai...but i disagree with building academies in only big cities...it has to flow downward and even small scale cities should have academies...
look at Geelong, small town on outskirts of melbourne - populationof 2.5 lakh....even they have sports academies and sports medicine and rehab centre - much like our nca etc.....look at the number of olympic atheletes from this place....
we have to filter down to grassroots...& i feel also where we are missing out big time is the colleges and university levels - not much attention given to university games which is a surefire feeder to the big time stuff in every sport....
Some good points bhai...but i disagree with building academies in only big cities...it has to flow downward and even small scale cities should have academies...
look at Geelong, small town on outskirts of melbourne - populationof 2.5 lakh....even they have sports academies and sports medicine and rehab centre - much like our nca etc.....look at the number of olympic atheletes from this place....
we have to filter down to grassroots...& i feel also where we are missing out big time is the colleges and university levels - not much attention given to university games which is a surefire feeder to the big time stuff in every sport....
Oatmeal bro...what a story!....yehi problem hai - especially in delhi circles....' Link' chahiye....I remember this dude Rhematullah khan in my batch - Kendriy vidyalaya - dude was a champion long jumper & awesome natural athlete - in fact he was also terrific at any sport he tried out - was even a champ soccer centre fwd- our coach told him to go to Delhi and dude went....and his dreams ended ....no 'link'...I agree, more infrastructure is need in Tier 2 cities too. But the top level state of the art academies are easier to establish in the metros. The supporting infrastructure is there.
When I was in school, I did fairly well in gymnastics, not athlete level but teachers saw some potential because I won medals at inter school competitions. Then my gym teacher asked me to meet someone at Nehru stadium in delhi to try and get to the next level. There was a gymnastics facility there. I went with my dad three or four times but never got to try out once, either the official in charge was busy or not at the stadium. He wasnt reachable on phone either. And we were a lower middle class family without any means to afford private training so the dream just died there. Sports like gym you have to identify talent at a very early age, because after that the muscles lose their flexibility.
There is interest in sports, but there is a lot of government support needed to compete at the worldwide level. But the good thing is you target Olympic medals, its not like you only see results every four years. there are a lot of lesser competitions which happen through the year where the performance will be tested and your approach will be validated
Again, generic statements!! Let me be more specific, Tell me 3 key things where we stumble in developing sports in India?bhai the template for sporting excellence is well established, only the infrastructure changes based on the sport. Build academies in the big cities which have a lot of infrastructure and staff who can support the upcoming athletes.
To get the right athletes to these academies, we need proper identification at grassroots level of promising athletes.
Then once they get to the academies, their funding has to be sorted, This can be either government, private sponsorship or totally private if the athlete has the means to self fund. Then there is organizing competitions at district and state level which increases the buzz about the sport and encourages more people to take the sport
Indonesia has won 37 medals totally, almost the same as India. They had one great sport and really excelled at that. Egypt has 38. Woh kaunsa bahut developed country hai
Again, generic statements!! Let me be more specific, Tell me 3 key things where we stumble in developing sports in India?
Take your example of Judo or any other sport!!
And regarding medal count, Count from Beijing 2008, and then tell me where we stand ! Count from where we have actually started to push not the 100 years which have little relevance in today's term. (The two silver by Norman Pritchard in 1900 are hardly India's medal or gold medals in 30s or 40s have no relevance in modern terms. )
Indonesia has 18 medals
Egypt has 16 medals
and we have earned 21 medals.
It is dumb thing to even imagine that we can compete with China as of now.
exactly bro. This was in the 90s. Sab kuch link pe chalta tha. There would be countless examples of athletes who have the genetics and talent to succeed but discarded by the system because there are still selection biasesOatmeal bro...what a story!....yehi problem hai - especially in delhi circles....' Link' chahiye....I remember this dude Rhematullah khan in my batch - Kendriy vidyalaya - dude was a champion long jumper & awesome natural athlete - in fact he was also terrific at any sport he tried out - was even a champ soccer centre fwd- our coach told him to go to Delhi and dude went....and his dreams ended ....no 'link'...
however, i like what you say about lesser competitions - these are small steps and if we tap the correct guys with the hunger to do well, can progress....but easier said than done....and frankly sports other than cricket need to be more financially rewarded...
sometimes pure talent also pushes through....if you recall this guys Sanket mahadev -weightlifting champ from CWC birmingham....dude did it all on his own...
imagine the number of guys slipping thru the net...
Because generic armchair essays are written in schools and colleges and have little relevance in reality. Have you ever bothered to watch any of the sports or taken any idea apart from 4 year ritual. You haven't seen how we are improving in Asian and Commonwealth and that's translated to a big chunk of medal hopefuls which was not the case 20 years ago.Yeh kya logic hai. I listed the generic template for developing sports used all over the world. Regarding judo specific action points, that has to be done by experts in that sport. I am not an athlete nor an experienced sports administrator. But there are such people in India and there are resources, so something is missing. Judo and wrestling were examples of sports which dont need a lot of ancillary infrastructure , like Swimming or even gymnastics does
Why do we count from 2008, we should at least count from 1990s when economic growth started happening in India, Note I am not counting from the 60s where the economy was horrible, no point in including those years. Indonesia/Egypt/Turkey are no economic powerhouses, they have far fewer people but very comparable in the medal tally. Heck Turkey is far ahead of us
Dont create strawmen, who is talking about competing with china. Heck I am not even talking about coming top 10 in the tally. I am talking about India's inability to reach double digit medals consistently, not at all an unrealistic goal for a country of our size and economy
When did investment into sports actually start?? If you lack even the basic knowledge of sports revival of India, you can hardly make the long claims about how to make sports better.Why do we count from 2008, we should at least count from 1990s when economic growth started happening in India, Note I am not counting from the 60s where the economy was horrible, no point in including those years. Indonesia/Egypt/Turkey are no economic powerhouses, they have far fewer people but very comparable in the medal tally. Heck Turkey is far ahead of us
Umpiring was abysmal to say the least!! Red Card literally that's never given in Hockey now!!Olympics: Hockey India lodge official complaint to IOC over refereeing standards
Hockey India on Sunday, 4 August raised major concerns about the refereeing standards at the Paris Olympics. After India's thrilling shootout win against Great Britain, the federation launched a strongly worded complaint about the events that unfolded in India's thrilling quarter-final game. Hockey India raised its concerns after India were strapped for the majority of the game in the quarters vs Great Britain.
The match saw a major talking point in the 17th minute as Amit Rohidas was given a red card. The Indian defender was trying to run with the ball and was being challenged by Calnan from behind. However, the Indian defender's stick was in an unnatural position and hit Calnan on the head. The refs had a discussion and Rohidas would be given a straight red card.
Despite being down by 1 man, India took the lead against the run of play. Despite England's best efforts, India managed to eke out a 1-1 draw at full time and then PR Sreejesh turned out to be the hero for the team in the shootout.
In a press release circulated in the media, Hockey India raised its pointers about the match. Here is the full press release:
Hockey India has officially raised concerns about the quality of umpiring and decision-making in the ongoing Paris Olympic Games 2024. The complaint focuses on a critical match between India and Great Britain, where several inconsistencies in officiating potentially influenced the game's outcome.
The issues that have been highlighted by Hockey India for the quarter-final matches are as follows:
1. Inconsistent video umpire reviews, particularly regarding the red card decision for an Indian player, which has eroded trust in the video review system.
2. Coaching of a goalkeeper from behind the goalpost during the shoot-out.
3. Use of a video tablet by a goalkeeper during the shoot-out.
These incidents have undermined confidence in the officiating process among players, coaches, and fans. Hockey India calls for a thorough review of these matters to uphold the integrity of the sport and ensure fair play in future matches.
India will face either Germany or Argentina in the semi-final on 6 August.
Olympics: Hockey India lodge official complaint to IOC over refereeing standards
India vs Great Britain: Hockey India have lodged an official complaint raising concerns over the standard of refereeing in the Paris Olympics on Sunday, 4 August. The complaint came after some controversial decisions dished out against India in the quarter-final match.www.indiatoday.in
Because generic armchair essays are written in schools and colleges and have little relevance in reality. Have you ever bothered to watch any of the sports or taken any idea apart from 4 year ritual. You haven't seen how we are improving in Asian and Commonwealth and that's translated to a big chunk of medal hopefuls which was not the case 20 years ago.
Indonesia Egypt have GDP per capita twice that of India with traditional hold of certain sports, we had zero by the time we hit 80s and 90s.
You gave two examples and I have shown from numbers we are outperforming them in the last 5 Olympics despite having lower economic and social indicators then them. Now you have added Turkey!
Turkey's GDP per capita is more than 4 times of India's. Turkey ranks 90 places above India in HDI. Literally no comparison in average resources.
and they have won 32 medals since Beijing. (4 of which are from one off Karate in Tokyo, which is not a regular Olympic sport).
From zero, within 5 Olympics we are getting closer to what Turkey is. That's progress. By next Olympics we will be matching or bettering Turkey's tally
But itna blatant rarely happens in sports like hockey,USA, China, UK and the host nation which ever it is always gets the favour from umpires/ referees because of being Olympic power houses. USSR used to get the same, not anymore.
It is like BCCI/ Eng/ Aus getting favours in Cricket.
Unless you become a powerhouse, no point challenging it. This is with regards to hockey bias which India saw today against Britain.
You only seem to observe the medal tally!blah blah blah. lol so the same blueprint which is used to develop sports across the world can not be replicated in India because of some long list of reasons. I watch the Commonwealth games, even keep tabs on Asian games but the Olympics is the true test of a nation's sporting prowess at the world stage.
All you have is a list of excuses which makes it seem that it's literally impossible to win medals even though plenty of poorer countries routinely do it. stop making excuses for a pretty glaring sporting failure in India in your obsessive need to defend the country no matter what. Things only improve when there is vocal criticism otherwise there is a pervasive attitude of sab changi si
Most developing countries will have per capita GDP more than that of India because of our extremely high population. But aggregate resources matter too. The aggregate economy is one of the largest in the world. there are resources that the government can spare. There are significant private players now too and public attention is on other sports . Now its a matter of allocating the resources so it reaches the right athletes. There is a lot of soft power benefits from doing well at the olympics and other sporting events. The government should consider that as a priority
Ab has lo facts par!!When did investment into sports actually start?? If you lack even the basic knowledge of sports revival of India, you can hardly make the long claims about how to make sports better.
Gopichand Badminton Academy started in 2008, and it produced Saina, PV sindhu, Satwik, Kidambi, Prannoy and so many!
TOPS program started in 2014,
Shooting got a real push after 2004, Rajyavardhan Rathore
It takes time to build sports stars!
Vishy Anand and Tata Steel really pushed in Chennai from 2000s .. and now India generates Grandmasters in Chess at the fastest rate in the world.
It takes time for the kids to grow up and succeed, typically 20-30 years for the generation to be able to challenge the elites of the field.
Take 2014 as the key year.... and target year falls after 2034... basically 2036 Olympics!
When did investment into sports actually start?? If you lack even the basic knowledge of sports revival of India, you can hardly make the long claims about how to make sports better.
Gopichand Badminton Academy started in 2008, and it produced Saina, PV sindhu, Satwik, Kidambi, Prannoy and so many!
TOPS program started in 2014,
Shooting got a real push after 2004, Rajyavardhan Rathore
It takes time to build sports stars!
Vishy Anand and Tata Steel really pushed in Chennai from 2000s .. and now India generates Grandmasters in Chess at the fastest rate in the world.
It takes time for the kids to grow up and succeed, typically 20-30 years for the generation to be able to challenge the elites of the field.
Take 2014 as the key year.... and target year falls after 2034... basically 2036 Olympics!
But itna blatant rarely happens in sports like hockey,
Giving Red card is a serious anomaly. I am still not able to find any hockey match from last 10 years anywhere where a red card was given in an international hockey match!
It needs to comeback Home!! Majaa aa jaayega!Ya, IOC tried their best to favor GBR but kudos to Sreejesh and the team, hope it spurs them to go above and beyond in the Semi finals!!
Yes, they were anomalies but if you see 1996/ 2000/ 2004 Olympics , outside of hockey, we used to send ~ 50 atheletes, mostly Indian olympic quota poore karne wale, not the ones who qualify for Olympics. Those quota athletes will finish last in all events.Leander Paes and Bhoopati were doing great in the 90s in tennis doubles (Singles is an entirely different ballgame so we can leave that). Karnam Malleshwari won in Sydney, Rajyawardhan Rathore the next time. There were flashes back then, just no consistent success because there were systemic failures which show up in the results.
Ek Kaam karte hai, lets keep 2060 as target to reach double digit medal tally and then 2120 to break into top 5. All the while saying that its literally impossible to be competitive
No one is denying it takes time and its a slow incremental process. I am saying a lot of time has already passed and the lack of results shows failure of sport administration in the country. From the beginning of the debate I set a double digit medal tally floor as a benchmark for success. This is a realistic goal imo.Ab has lo facts par!!
I am a sports fan and I know the journey needed and the time required!
Leander Paes and Bhoopati were doing great in the 90s in tennis doubles (Singles is an entirely different ballgame so we can leave that). Karnam Malleshwari won in Sydney, Rajyawardhan Rathore the next time. There were flashes back then, just no consistent success because there were systemic failures which show up in the results.
Ek Kaam karte hai, lets keep 2060 as target to reach double digit medal tally and then 2120 to break into top 5. All the while saying that its literally impossible to be competitive
bhai sahab, TOPS started formally in 2014, thoda sabr rakho!No one is denying it takes time and its a slow incremental process. I am saying a lot of time has already passed and the lack of results shows failure of sport administration in the country. From the beginning of the debate I set a double digit medal tally floor as a benchmark for success. This is a realistic goal imo.
Of course as time goes on we will improve, but other countries will also improve. They also put bring more people out of poverty and focus resources towards sports.
That's why you need a concerted effort to win medals and use that to fuel organic growth. We cant take the route the developed world did because they had resources when there were fewer competitors and the other infrastructure was already very good.
LA will not have compound AFAIK. and boxing should be kicked out!Yes, they were anomalies but if you see 1996/ 2000/ 2004 Olympics , outside of hockey, we used to send ~ 50 atheletes, mostly Indian olympic quota poore karne wale, not the ones who qualify for Olympics. Those quota athletes will finish last in all events.
Now, we mostly qualify, hardly there is anyone going by quota from India to Olympics hence we are debating about missing medals and athletes reaching till quarters/ semis.
This way, flashes have turned into decent performances but we need more. Let us track world championships, we will get better idea.
BTW, I am sure, with archery compound event we will for sure will at least 2-3 gold + silver in that event alone.
Cricket + hockey + wrestling + badminton + shooting combined -> We are looking at 15+ medals in LA 2028
and that's their ceiling and they live in that.South Korea and Iran concentrate on only 3 sports and win multiple gold medals.
South korea -> archery, shooting, sabre
Iran -> wrestling, weight lifting
It gives them a good position in medal table event though no of athletes qualifying are less and hardly play other events well. Recurve archery event in Olympics seems like has been tailored specifically only for them, thank god that it is ending in LA 2028.
SAINT-DENIS, France (AP) — Ukrainian high jumper Yaroslava Mahuchikh, who was forced to flee her country due to the war with Russia, won gold at the Paris Olympics on Sunday.
It was Ukraine’s first individual gold of these Summer Games, following a victory in women’s team saber fencing.
Mahuchikh cleared 2.00 meters to finish ahead of Nicola Olyslagers of Australia, who also cleared 2.00 but then failed at all three of her attempts at 2.02.
Standard observation at medal tally, come back after 4 years!Look at the medals tally. And this is why we don't compare ourselves to China.
What about Avinash Sable?Indian athletes will compete in 4000m and 300m athletic runs today.
Good for them, no medal hopes
Lakshya Sen displayed great sportsmanship and wins the hearts of millions.......
In his quarter final match against Chou Tien-chen, Lakshya hits the winning shot but not jump, dance and celebrated his victory... But why? His opponent Chou is fighting with colorectal cancer and despite getting surgery last year, he qualified for Olympic. Lakshyas decision to not celebrate in front of his opponent was a subtle display of respect.
Paris Olympics 2024: Amit Rohidas Suspended, India to Play Hockey Semi-final vs Germany with 15 Players
Indian defender Amit Rohidas has been handed a 1-match suspension following his red card against Great Britain on Sunday in the men’s hockey quarterfinal at the Paris Olympics. He will now miss out on the key semi-final clash against Germany whereas India will have only 15 players available for the clash.
The FIH issued a statement on Sunday, confirming the suspension of Rohidas due to a ‘Code of Conduct breach’.
“Amit Rohidas was suspended for one match for a breach of the FIH Code of Conduct which occurred during the India vs Great Britain match on August 4. The suspension affects match No. 35 (India’s semi-final match against Germany), where Amit Rohidas will not participate and India will play with a squad of 15 players only,” a FIH statement read.
Rohidas was given the marching order against Great Britain almost 40 minutes from the final hooter after his stick unintentionally hit a rival player on Sunday. In the second quarter of the match against Great Britain, the 31-year-old Rohidas was engaged in a midfield slug fest against Will Calnan.
Rohidas swung his stick and hit Calnan’s face in an attempt to flee the British forward. The on-field umpire initially did not rule the challenge to be a serious offence, but TV umpire changed the decision and changed it to a red card following a video referral.
Down to 10 men, the Indians, however, fought tenaciously for the remaining time of the match and defended stoutly to hold Great Britain to a 1-1 draw at the end of regulation time. In the subsequent shoot-out, veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh’s heroics handed India a 4-2 win to seal a second consecutive Olympic semifinal berth.
Paris Olympics 2024: Amit Rohidas Suspended, India to Play Hockey Semi-final vs Germany with 15 Players - News18
The FIH issued a statement on Sunday, confirming the suspension of Rohidas due to a ‘Code of Conduct breach’.www.news18.com
this is unlawful, red card punishment was OK, but why one match suspension?
Despite 1 man down, India defeated Great Britain
and I thought it was just a realization that next game is against Axelson!Lakshya Sen displayed great sportsmanship and wins the hearts of millions.......
In his quarter final match against Chou Tien-chen, Lakshya hits the winning shot but not jump, dance and celebrated his victory... But why? His opponent Chou is fighting with colorectal cancer and despite getting surgery last year, he qualified for Olympic. Lakshyas decision to not celebrate in front of his opponent was a subtle display of respect.
Red card is a severe severe punishment, if it is accepted as being tight decision. 1 match suspension is the right decision. that's why I have been crying about it, Not a single red card being handed in years and years of International Hockey to any team and they try this in Quarters of an Olympics! European Lobby in FIH is very strongthis is unlawful, red card punishment was OK, but why one match suspension?
Despite 1 man down, India defeated Great Britain
Let's hope this injustice, fires up into finals. We have a positive W/L record against Germany in the lats few years. So let's hope the best!
Yes. But india will be fired up now. Expecting a high intensity game.Unofrtunately I think Germany is too strong for India. I saw the Ger vs Arg quarterfinal and they were very impressive. Not to mention they are historically a clutch team who always get to the finals.
I am positive, actually watch hockey matches when I canUnofrtunately I think Germany is too strong for India. I saw the Ger vs Arg quarterfinal and they were very impressive. Not to mention they are historically a clutch team who always get to the finals.
Ind upset 4th seed Romania in women's team table tennis pre quarters.
Will play quarter finals against China tomorrow.
Well done ladies. Most likely they will loose tomorrow but congrats on reaching the quarters in olympics for the first time.
Wasn't much of an upset honestly, team seeding can give a wrong impression.Ind upset 4th seed Romania in women's team table tennis pre quarters.
Will play quarter finals against China tomorrow.
Well done ladies. Most likely they will loose tomorrow but congrats on reaching the quarters in olympics for the first time.
You are right, i saw mens match schedule which was against ChinaWasn't much of an upset honestly, team seeding can give a wrong impression.
Its not China, it will be winner of USA and Germany! Even here I expect India to beat USA or Germany (very much depends on the doubles match, singles we will win two games atleast)
We can squeeze into Semis but will end up without medal. Top 3 teams China>>>>>>>>>> Japan >> Korea >>>>>>>>>>>>> Romania.