[PICTURES] Motera - World's largest cricket stadium in Ahmedabad, India

Once packed with spectators , most likely in some T20 match , will a great sight.

I think they'll fill it for ODIs too and get good crowds for Test matches also.

Looks like a **** box, the MCG has a lot of facilities, but this is just your typical Indian stadium. MCG is surrounded by greenery, all the stadiums are beautiful in Australia.

India has no clue when it comes to safety and spectator comfort.

Looks like a **** box, the MCG has a lot of facilities, but this is just your typical Indian stadium. MCG is surrounded by greenery, all the stadiums are beautiful in Australia.

Absolutely, I was part of history when they announced in the 2015 final it was a record crowd at MCG, and the facilities were amazing even for that 90000 plus crowd. Food, drinks and other facilities were easily available inside the stadium and you could continue to see the match while buying food and stuff.

Comparing first world country that has a multi-purpose stadium to a 3rd world country(all though morons that never stepped outside of India think we are same as Brazil,South Africa, Italy, China and Russia LOL) is a major sin.

MCG hosts ton of events, this will only host cricket. India has 30+ cities with 1 million people, Australia has 2-3? India needs to build a 1,000,000 seater stadium if it was to build a stadium with same facitilies as the MCG lol.

World's Largest Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad with a capacity of 1.10 lakh spectators, 75 AC Corporate Boxes Cricket Academy, Club House & swimming pool - and according to some reports could well hold the IPL 2020 final

ENp7t3rU4AEepfd.jpg

ENp7uSmU4AAegb_.jpg

View attachment 98228

ENp7vTlUwAMGW6n.jpg

This stadium is gigantic and is the most exciting development in cricket right now.

The latest photos are even better.

Feels wrong that Eden Gardens will no longer be the largest cricket ground in India.

Amazing it’s best that the biggest stadium is built in the country that values cricket the most. It’s a religion for Indians so they actually deserve this. Plus I’m hearing India vs Pakistan World Cup 2023 is gonna be played here as well

Would have preferred this big a stadium in Mumbai/Kolkata/Chennai/Bangalore but again for the present govt of India everything is Gujarat

I live in ahmedabad.stadium went under renovation a year before modi became PM,yes it was modi who always said he had a dream of ahmedabad having a large CG and was proposed later but stadium was due to a big renovation even before UPA lost.
The point you are trying to make shows your motive,if anything other stadiums does have thier lime light.the old and dusted Abad ground needed this and needed this badly.

This stadium is gigantic and is the most exciting development in cricket right now.

The latest photos are even better.

Looks huge but looks boring as hell. Sure we don't have the NFL market to make it all lavish but a better design could have been adapted. Looks like a typical concrete bowl.

Looks magnificent.

Wish we had 1 50k stadium of a reasonable standard. We have Bangla grade stadiums.

This stadium is going to be beautiful when ready.

Where though, they won’t allow it , a stand takes forever to open in Chennai coz corporation issues.

Look at how Sabramati river was cleaned and beautified, Ahmedabad is one of the best cities I ve been to infrastructure wise. The only place such a stadium could come in a major city was Ahmedabad practically.

With a population which will be close to 2 billion soon,India needs big stadia.

1.7 B by 2050 so when is it gonna be 2 B? Ekdum desi uncle ki tara random baatein karlo.

It might reach 2 B by 2100 and thats not soon.

looks massive, would have been cool if it had one end open like the berlin football stadium to let a swing supporting breeze through.

The stadium looks huge, but the actual ground looks tiny, or is that just the camera angle.

Wow what a colosseum.

All set to be ruined by Pan bahar and UltraTech cement hoardings. :yk

1.7 B by 2050 so when is it gonna be 2 B? Ekdum desi uncle ki tara random baatein karlo.

It might reach 2 B by 2100 and thats not soon.

Its never going to reach 2B, it will peak at 1.7B around 2065-2075 and then start to fall.

looks massive, would have been cool if it had one end open like the berlin football stadium to let a swing supporting breeze through.

Its a shame if modern architecture is going to turn every big stadium to this giant bowl. As stunning as this stadium looks, would have preferred it to look unique rather than another replica of MCG, new Perth stadium etc.

But i think India is way too big to stop this journey at one stadium. Delhi has an eye sire of an ugly stadium. I am waiting for the day they plan to rebuild it. Some other cities can also take up big projects in future. As India grows competition between cities to outdo each other in infrastructure projects is going to be a real thing.

Multi purpose grounds are the future though for the good or bad they are all going to look quite same.

India vs Pakistan on this ground in 2023 world cup could be absolutely mad. It might break all sort of cricket viewership records gor many years to come.

Is that a track around it? I'm guessing it's going to be used for athletics, football and other major sporting events as well?

Need more grounds like Adelaide, quite large in terms of capacity but still beautiful. This ground and the MCG are boring.

Modern Indian stadiums may have all the facilities but they are not aesthetically pleasing.

Do fans care?

As a fan, I want a clear view of play, eating facilities, toilets and not being trampled by people coming in or out - rest is timepass.

Do fans care?

As a fan, I want a clear view of play, eating facilities, toilets and not being trampled by people coming in or out - rest is timepass.

They should care. I look at the stadiums in SA Aus and even ENG and then look at Kotla, its hideous.

Though the facilities at Kotla are top notch.

Something as simple as making different coloured seats make a big difference to how the stadium looks.

Here all same coloured seats. Not much use of glass. Copying the Lords media box design.

Its not that a lot of money is not spent.

I don't really care that much about the size but would have loved it to be more .... artistic.

Do fans care?

They will care over a period of time specially frequent visitors if the facilities are not good. This is more so given how hugh they are charged for tickets and food in the stadium.

Heard that Trump will be inaugurating it during his India trip later this month.

Touted as the world’s largest cricket stadium in terms of seating capacity, the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium (also known as Motera stadium) is being readied to host US President Donald Trump and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. With finishing touches being given, the Motera stadium, which will have a maximum seating capacity of 110,000, will see Trump and Modi address a public event. It will be on the lines of ‘Howdy Modi’ that was held in Houston in 2019.

The trio of principal architect Populous, project management consultant STUP Consultants and developer L&T, which was roped in by Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) to redevelop the stadium, is burning the midnight oil to ready it for the event. Developed at a cost of roughly Rs 800 crore, the stadium will pip the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), which can seat 100,024, as the world’s largest cricket stadium.

Run by GCA, the Motera stadium will house a main cricket ground along with two smaller cricket grounds, four locker rooms, 75 air-conditioned corporate boxes and a club house for GCA members. Against a single entry point earlier, the redeveloped stadium will now have three entry points.

It will feature 55 rooms in the club house with indoor and outdoor sports, apart from restaurants, Olympic size swimming pool, gymnasium and party area, among other things. The massive stadium will also house a cricket academy and indoor practice pitches. In future, one of the main entry points will be supplemented by a metro rail station that is under construction currently.

For the public event on February 24, the state government and Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) have been working on getting 110,000 participants to fill the stadium, apart from others filling up the roadside on the airport-stadium route.
According to state government officials, students, working professionals and businessmen alike are expected to participate in the Trump-Modi event, along with several non-resident Gujaratis (NRGs).

While no official word is out yet, the event is being touted as ‘Kem Chho Trump’ (how are you Trump?) on the lines of ‘Howdy Modi’. Ahead of the event, around 16 road stretches in and around the Motera area of Ahmedabad are either being resurfaced or widened with trees being planted on the divider in front of the stadium.

State government officials said Trump and Modi are likely to spend about half an hour at Sabarmati Ashram, followed by the two-hour public event at Motera stadium. Similar to Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s trip to Ahmedabad, both the routes from airport to the ashram and stadium will showcase cultural events at key junctions during Trump’s visit.

Meanwhile, AMC is also working on redirecting traffic on February 24, apart from making parking plots available to participants. Security measures are also being taken by the state government, which will vet credentials of the participants.

https://www.business-standard.com/a...ost-trump-modi-in-gujarat-120021201119_1.html

in an alternate universe, rivals Pakistan and India would be gearing up for a spectacular opener... would have filled the stadium twice.

Touted as the world’s largest cricket stadium in terms of seating capacity, the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium (also known as Motera stadium) is being readied to host US President Donald Trump and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. With finishing touches being given, the Motera stadium, which will have a maximum seating capacity of 110,000, will see Trump and Modi address a public event. It will be on the lines of ‘Howdy Modi’ that was held in Houston in 2019.

The trio of principal architect Populous, project management consultant STUP Consultants and developer L&T, which was roped in by Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) to redevelop the stadium, is burning the midnight oil to ready it for the event. Developed at a cost of roughly Rs 800 crore, the stadium will pip the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), which can seat 100,024, as the world’s largest cricket stadium.

Run by GCA, the Motera stadium will house a main cricket ground along with two smaller cricket grounds, four locker rooms, 75 air-conditioned corporate boxes and a club house for GCA members. Against a single entry point earlier, the redeveloped stadium will now have three entry points.

It will feature 55 rooms in the club house with indoor and outdoor sports, apart from restaurants, Olympic size swimming pool, gymnasium and party area, among other things. The massive stadium will also house a cricket academy and indoor practice pitches. In future, one of the main entry points will be supplemented by a metro rail station that is under construction currently.

For the public event on February 24, the state government and Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) have been working on getting 110,000 participants to fill the stadium, apart from others filling up the roadside on the airport-stadium route.
According to state government officials, students, working professionals and businessmen alike are expected to participate in the Trump-Modi event, along with several non-resident Gujaratis (NRGs).

While no official word is out yet, the event is being touted as ‘Kem Chho Trump’ (how are you Trump?) on the lines of ‘Howdy Modi’. Ahead of the event, around 16 road stretches in and around the Motera area of Ahmedabad are either being resurfaced or widened with trees being planted on the divider in front of the stadium.

State government officials said Trump and Modi are likely to spend about half an hour at Sabarmati Ashram, followed by the two-hour public event at Motera stadium. Similar to Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s trip to Ahmedabad, both the routes from airport to the ashram and stadium will showcase cultural events at key junctions during Trump’s visit.

Meanwhile, AMC is also working on redirecting traffic on February 24, apart from making parking plots available to participants. Security measures are also being taken by the state government, which will vet credentials of the participants.

https://www.business-standard.com/a...ost-trump-modi-in-gujarat-120021201119_1.html

world' s 2 most right wing populists extremits meeting infront of crowd of no less than 100,000!!! This is not the best use of cricket. I admire the biggest cricket ground, but not this post by you. Brother I would request you to remove this post, as this is indirect promotion of right wing populist politics on cricket forum though i know that's not your intention at all!

Doesn't look anything special to me. OK, so it can hold more than 100,000 people, but it is just a bog standard design with this stadium unless I am missing something.

India have built an entire stadium in the time it takes Pakistan to renovate one lol. But such are the cash constraints for the PCB.

I'm guessing this stadium will host the 2023 WC final.

Waste of money and resources if they do not fill up the stadium when it opens up.

Cricket is one of the most boring sports ever to watch at a ground. You dont get a decent view, everything is far from view.
Only fun thing is the crowd, thats it.

Now, lets see whether this stadium fills up or not. I wonder how many matches will India and IPL have in thsi ground over the year and whether it would be profitable or not and whether it would fill up the stadium.
If it doesnt fill up anything, than surely a waste of money and resource.

I wonder what cricket facilities for viewers are there in India, because in Pakistan they are terrible.

When i went to pindi staidum, there was no eatery to buy food from, you had to take long 40 min walk to get into the stadium. Inside there was a guy selling crisp at above mkt price. ANd this was when i was watching an 8hour test match with no restaurant in sight that was open.

Pindi stadium had high turn outs, but trust me this will not happen eveyrtime. PCB needs to sustain these fans. ANd to sustain them you have to give facilities.

I wonder what cricket facilities for viewers are there in India, because in Pakistan they are terrible.

When i went to pindi staidum, there was no eatery to buy food from, you had to take long 40 min walk to get into the stadium. Inside there was a guy selling crisp at above mkt price. ANd this was when i was watching an 8hour test match with no restaurant in sight that was open.
Can't speak for other stadiums but the Pune stadium legitimately has world class facilities. Bathrooms are as good as ones you'll find in a mall. As for food, I remember Domino's Pizza being sold for Rs. 150 for a small pizza, and Coke/Pepsi for Rs. 50 for a cup. The last time I went, I had won a VIP ticket in a Twitter contest and I got to eat at the buffet during the innings break. Amazing food. Met Rahane's wife there too while she was going for another helping of Gulab Jamun.

Again, it's a real shame the Pune stadium construction was never completed. Beautiful modern stadium designed by British architects and great view of the pitch from any seat.

Surely the rest of the stands will get roofed eventually?

Waste of money and resources if they do not fill up the stadium when it opens up.

Cricket is one of the most boring sports ever to watch at a ground. You dont get a decent view, everything is far from view.
Only fun thing is the crowd, thats it.

Now, lets see whether this stadium fills up or not. I wonder how many matches will India and IPL have in thsi ground over the year and whether it would be profitable or not and whether it would fill up the stadium.
If it doesnt fill up anything, than surely a waste of money and resource.

Pindi stadium had high turn outs, but trust me this will not happen eveyrtime. PCB needs to sustain these fans. ANd to sustain them you have to give facilities.

Indian stadiums are unrecognizable from 10 years ago in terms of facilities. They are far from being in the league of some of the Eng/Aus stadiums but by and large they don't ruin the viewing experience. The problem, if any, is that some of the new stadiums being built are on the outskirts of the cities, and there's no public transport facility yet. Take your own vehicle and deal with the parking issues.

This is why I like FSK Delhi despite being a fugly monstrosity. Metro train at doorstep of the stadium. And this is why Motera would be served well, it has a metro station coming up right near the entrance.

Surely the rest of the stands will get roofed eventually?
I think the former President of the Maharashtra Cricket Association said it's not happening. In the future, could it? I don't know. I sure hope so. But the association was tight on cash.

A synthetic textile canopy or cantilevered roof would cost no more than 3-4 million USD. With all due respect to the former president of MCA, this is not a sum that cannot be generated by one of the richest domestic cricket association. Especially when you consider this is a one time cost that can be amortized over a 5-10 year period. It's either indifference, legal impediments, or plans to augment capacity with more tiered stands.

A synthetic textile canopy or cantilevered roof would cost no more than 3-4 million USD. With all due respect to the former president of MCA, this is not a sum that cannot be generated by one of the richest domestic cricket association.
Maharashtra Cricket Association is one of the richest domestic cricket association? Are you sure you're not confusing it with Mumbai?

Either way, he was also formerly the treasurer of BCCI. I think he knows the financials better than we do.

The old Motera was demolished & construction of the new stadium started 2 years back.

Wth capacity of only 1.10 lakhs is way too low for something that’s being hyped up so bad. That’s such a normal amount nothing exciting. For wrist slitting cricket nation with a population of over 1 billion the capacity should have been at least 2-2.5 lakhs. Since this is India’s only sport they are good at and this is the only sport they care about plus the government is rich enough to spend that much as well.

LOL. The government isn't rich enough and the government didn't build this stadium or finance it.

Maharashtra Cricket Association is one of the richest domestic cricket association? Are you sure you're not confusing it with Mumbai?

Either way, he was also formerly the treasurer of BCCI. I think he knows the financials better than we do.

Not confusing it with Mumbai at all, which is why I said one of the richest. The former treasurer may have his reasons which probably had nothing to do with finance. Like I said, MCA could raise that amount from gate receipt and advertisement alone to pay for it over a period of 5-10 years. And then there's the share in BCCI's revenue.

Like everyone else, I am puzzled where they'd install the LED screen?

The Optus stadium cost $1.6 Billion this is expected to cost $100 Million. Unfair to compare this to world class OPtus or NFL stadiums.

A stadium from the subcontinent will never have the facilities that a cricket stadium from Australia or NZ would have.

Well duh, no way you can recoup the expense. You can't charge $100/person ticket in India but you can in Australia. Also if India was SRi lanka or Bangladesh with just Colombo and Dhakka as the only big city then it would make sense. Im disspointed it is just a concrete bowl though. Could have done something unique. But then again the company that won the bid, bid 130 crorers less than 2nd place contendor.

My god what a site! Same posters who are bashing it are the ones calling Pakistan’s new seats and roof inspiring and innovative and touting its beauty.

This is one of the most aesthetically pleasing stadiums I’ve seen in cricket. Right up there with the MCG and England’s stadiums.

The fact this cost $100m and the average ticket will be sold for hardly anything. This shows it’s a long term investment and not a money grab. It’s a gift to the Indian fans.

I’d love to watch a IPL game there when I’m abroad.

Couple of corrections.

That 1.6 billion figure for optus is in AUD. In USD, it comes down to 1.1 billion.

The cumulative cost of building and labor in Australia is higher. In fact, Australia is higher than US and the UK. Now factor in the land cost for Optus and the fact that Motera didn't have to incur any expense in acquiring land - they already were in possession of it. The point I am driving home is that a Motera like stadium in Australia wouldn't be much cheaper than Optus, if at all.

What's up Gujrat building big things first the statues than the stadium
But stadium looks good and the feeling it would be when playing infront of a full house

The former treasurer may have his reasons which probably had nothing to do with finance.
It did. The stadium needed the funding that it got from the naming rights from Sahara and when that money stopped coming in, Maharashtra Cricket Association got in a tight financial crunch because of which they had to cut costs.

Like I said, MCA could raise that amount from gate receipt and advertisement alone to pay for it over a period of 5-10 years.
How much are they left with after BCCI takes their share and all the other expenditure that goes into hosting an international match are taken into consideration? There's the BCCI revenue but there's also the cost of maintaining the stadium, paying players, office staff etc. that needs to be considered.

It did. The stadium needed the funding that it got from the naming rights from Sahara and when that money stopped coming in, Maharashtra Cricket Association got in a tight financial crunch because of which they had to cut costs.

How much are they left with after BCCI takes their share and all the other expenditure that goes into hosting an international match are taken into consideration? There's the BCCI revenue but there's also the cost of maintaining the stadium, paying players, office staff etc. that needs to be considered.

Please stop. You are justifying MCA's ineptness and indifference without any facts. Here's a fact for you, a bankrupt state association like Bihar is building and refurbishing two stadiums at a cost of 700 crores. And you're going to convince me that an association like Maharashtra with a test class venues cannot raise 20-30 crores for a roof over a period of 5-10 years.

It cost 15.4 billions Pakistani rupees to build the largest stadium in the world and it cost 1 billion rupees to build an ugly roof of national cricket stadium karachi
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] all the officals of PCB should be arrested :)

What's up Gujrat building big things first the statues than the stadium
But stadium looks good and the feeling it would be when playing infront of a full house

One of the best infrastructure by far I have seen from Indian perspective is in Gujarat, Ahemdabad esp , they might have emptied slums but Sabramati riverfront is amazing.

During 2016ish itself it was the only state where on highway not once my internet 4g dipped.

To be frank, I’m a lot more interested in a stadium they’ve built in uttarakhand which is a lot more open and aesthetically pleasing.

Please stop. You are justifying MCA's ineptness and indifference without any facts. Here's a fact for you, a bankrupt state association like Bihar is building and refurbishing two stadiums at a cost of 700 crores. And you're going to convince me that an association like Maharashtra with a test class venues cannot raise 20-30 crores for a roof over a period of 5-10 years.

MCA is ineptness itself. Its impossible to be in uncovered stands when sun is out. They have worst ticket distribution systems in history of tickets.

Other state bodies have built better stadium/facilities with less resources and less political weight to throw around in BCCI corridors.

Looks beautiful!!
heard that it will host a day-night test against England next year!! looking forward to it..

It looks good but isn't as good as Rafi Stadium, Lahore which when completed will be the best stadium in South Asia.

Is this bigger in size only or they have also improved in ground/stadium facilities? Most of the new Indian stadiums are well designed with large capacity but they are nowhere close to Aus/African stadiums when it comes to facilities. Hopefully they won't put up a cage like structure in front of spectators this time. :inti