[Report] ICC approves the hybrid model for the Champions Trophy 2025 following an agreement between the PCB and BCCI [Post Updated #4739]

If the reports of the agreement are true, PCB got its foot in its mouth again. All the tough stances and loud statements for nothing. Now, we can twist and turn and play all we want with the various terminologies like fusion, hybrid blah blah but if the reported agreement is true, it's just another climb down for PCB. First, why confining the demand to certain dates like 2031 or even 2027? With india's proven deceitful track record, it's obvious as daylight they will continue to refuse to play in Pakistan for the foreseeable future. So after 2027, while Pakistan is not hosting any major international tournament, they will now have to go to india to play at least two events there. How's that equal footing Mr. Genius Mohsin Naqvi?

You forget to add PCB other demands which rejected by ICC/ BCCI. :kp

Mohsin nakhvi once again proved why he is better administrator than imran khan…masterstroke by mohsin, single handedly defeated icc,bcci and all other cricket boards…

Anyway this is nice outcomes at the end's.

Naqvi can gets away with some face saving after those statements.

Pakistan fans can claim they have won the battle.

Indian fan's can claim they have won after not agree to Pakistan demands and not playing in pakistan .

Win - win situation for everyone. Now announced the schedule so broadcasters and their partners can sell their products with good marketing. Already is not enough time left .

Last important which no ine discussing - after becoming ICC chairman jay shah has the responsibility to runs the world cricket and he has done very good job to start the ICC chairman tenure.

Getting India to host Pakistan in a hybrid model is massive when you consider these points:

Claims by Indians:

Indians argue that since they generate the most revenue, they hold the final say in decisions.

Jay Shah, an Indian, serves as the chairman of the ICC.

Despite weighing everything in terms of money, and with all their financial power, India still had to agree to a hybrid model to host Pakistan.

While the indians claim BCCI is extremely powerful and has the backing of all the boards, none of those boards actually stepped in to bail out BCCI on this matter.

So I hope the delusion ends here
You are absolutely right. PCB won here and showed how powerless BCCI/Jay Shah is with this verdict, next time please remember this before complaining:)

Hard for the BCCI to spin this as a win.

They basically shot themselves in the foot (because of their government) and lost the right to host an ICC tournament final until 2027. If there's a written agreement from the ICC then Naqvi has done an excellent job.

Even worse Indian broadcasters + advertisers will be paying Pakistan every step of the way and supporting a "hostile" nation financially.

They basically shot themselves in the foot (because of their government) and lost the right to host an ICC tournament final until 2027. If there's a written agreement from the ICC then Naqvi has done an excellent job.

Even worse Indian broadcasters + advertisers will be paying Pakistan every step of the way and supporting a "hostile" nation financially.
Broadcasters are not paying anything to PCB but ICC and in return they will get lots of money.

PCB is only gets hosting fees = 6mn + Gate revenues around 1.5 mn and this money is shared with UAE ( Most of gate revenues came from Indian games as ticket prices are way too high and all the indian game will be in UAE including the final) . Sometime talk based on facts rather than living in imaginary World. Lol

India hasn't lost any ICC TOURNAMENTS final and Only one ICC touraustnaments happen during this period and looking at the PCT they will not even qualified for Semi so forget about final.

Broadcasters are not paying anything to PCB but ICC and in return they will get lots of money.

PCB is only gets hosting fees = 6mn + Gate revenues around 1.5 mn and this money is shared with UAE ( Most of gate revenues came from Indian games as ticket prices are way too high and all the indian game will be in UAE including the final) . Sometime talk based on facts rather than living in imaginary World. Lol

India hasn't lost any ICC TOURNAMENTS final and Only one ICC touraustnaments happen during this period and looking at the PCT they will not even qualified for Semi so forget about final.

PCB is not a part of the ICC?

The broadcasting revenue is paid to the ICC and then distributed to the PCB based on its share.

Yes, of course they will also make money from the hosting fees + gate revenue which is again going to include Indian contribution as you mentioned.

They will lose two, you're forgetting the women's tournament. Before this agreement, India was basically confirmed to host the men's ICC final at Ahmedabad. Now that assurance is gone because of the new model.

Once this model is completed once, it is going to extend well past 2027 but that's just my opinion. These nations are never going to play in each other's backyard again until the political situation improves.

Look this isn't about winning or losing, I just think the BCCI got stuck into a situation it didn't want to be in.

PCB is not a part of the ICC?

The broadcasting revenue is paid to the ICC and then distributed to the PCB based on its share.

Yes, of course they will also make money from the hosting fees + gate revenue which is again going to include Indian contribution as you mentioned.

They will lose two, you're forgetting the women's tournament. Before this agreement, India was basically confirmed to host the men's ICC final at Ahmedabad. Now that assurance is gone because of the new model.

Once this model is completed once, it is going to extend well past 2027 but that's just my opinion. These nations are never going to play in each other's backyard again until the political situation improves.

Look this isn't about winning or losing, I just think the BCCI got stuck into a situation it didn't want to be in.
What you'll think is your opinion so its doesn't matter at all.

Fact is pakistan will Play most of the game in india barring one or max two while india is not going to Play any in pakistan .

There is no hybrid model for pakistan as Lanka is co host ( don't care about women's as there will ne no profit or anything significant)

BCCI has not signed any written agreement which PCB wants and no extra money for them .

What you'll think is your opinion so its doesn't matter at all.

Fact is pakistan will Play most of the game in india barring one or max two while india is not going to Play any in pakistan .

There is no hybrid model for pakistan as Lanka is co host ( don't care about women's as there will ne no profit or anything significant)

BCCI has not signed any written agreement which PCB wants and no extra money for them .

It's the same deal for both sides.

Pakistan will play nothing in India and India will play nothing in Pakistan. India will go to Sri Lanka to play that WC game whether they include a group match or it's a final.

And of course the reality of Indian broadcasters paying the PCB through the ICC.

The UAE Gate Money is all PCB's. This was part of PCB's demands for agreeing to the Hybrid Model. PCB will earn more than $1.5 million from the gate money in the UAE assuming all of India's matches will be sold out.

Nah I don't think UAE will agreed any source?? Yep if all the gate money is for the PCB than they will get more than 1.5mn as ticket price is way too high for indian matches.

Pakistan needed a full ICC tournament badly, and Naqvi hasnt quite delivered on that front.

He did try his best though and this indeed was the best possible outcome for Pakistan. Accepted hybrid model with some face saving as well. Well played Naqvi Ji.

So based on our neigbors demands :

1) Champion Trophy in SA - X
2) Champion Trophy without Pak - X
3) Champion Trophy in India - X
4) Pak to Visit India - X
What pakistan wanted or orginal stand

1) sir we are not ready to hear about hybrid model

2) entire champion trophy in pakistan

3) we can play champion trophy in pakistan without india

4) we need more money as compensation

5) our annual icc revenues need to be increased

6) we will not play any tournament in india till 2031

7) we are demanding to play a tri series involving india

All the offer were/ are rejected hy ICC/ india .

PCB asked for this arrangement till 2031. Didn't get it. Only got it till 2027.

PCB didn't get anything else.

The same media that is reporting the fusion arrangement is reporting that PCB asked for more money and a tri series and didn't get it.

Seems you want to pick and choose.
Nothing wrong in asking while you are negotiating

tum ni aye go Hum bhi nahi aye ge is the main thing

After 2027 , New Broadcaster deal will happen , we will cross that bridge then. Once you have conceded , Precedent is set

you were not even willing to concede that Until Yesterday

It will be fun to watch India Traveling to play Group Game against Pak in t20 2026. Broadcasters will not let change the group. Highly Unlikely and you are saying in 2011 Ind Pak were not in same Group. Those days are long gone and Since 2012 t20 Wc .. Every tournament there has been same group. Marquee Clash as they put it.

One Semifinal will be always in co- host country .whats new??

This is not a Hybrid model which PCB demanded . They are going to not Play outside the host country
Lol

:dw:kp
lol. Why are you spoiling the fun for poor guys. let them rejoice the small happiness.. What else is there to celebrate for them ?

They just don't know the difference between Hybrid and Co-hosting lol. CT was supposed to be fully hosted by PKs. They did not get that. Shame on Naqvi.

After 2027 , New Broadcaster deal will happen , we will cross that bridge then. Once you have conceded , Precedent is set
Hahaha this is what i wanted to hear from any Pakistani fans .

Now you already said who knows what will happen after 2027.

So now first finish the champion trophy in hybrid model than who know what will after champion trophy.

There is no signed documents to Play 2026 World T20 game againt pakistan in SL.and BCCI always can make a way to find another solution

You will get what is exactly my point. :kp

This was a grand masterstroke of Naqvi and PCB. BCCI and ICC didn't even notice who bite them yet PCB came as grand victorious.

PCB was so cunning that ICC and BCCI till date hadn't realised that PCB fooled them and my guess will be, for a longer period of time, they will fail to grasp the concept that PCB actually made a mockery out of them.

These are grand masterstroke where the opponent doesn't even notice that he got stabbed even after getting stabbed.

PCB has achieved what one thought never achievable.

You have been made to Look 🤡 in this thread.

Take it or leave it mantra 😂

What did you say yesterday? PCB accepted everything and BCCI rejected everything

24 hours for Naqvi to Bend the knee

now you hold onto the crumbs. Naqvi took the bread and that is Getting BCCI to concede Hybrid . There is nothing Wrong in having Multiple demands. we know everything was not going to be conceded and its ok. stop spinning this into your win. Your 90% board had to come to equal arrangement after all

I know your coping Mechanism has kicked in but we understand 😂😂

Hahaha this is what i wanted to hear from any Pakistani fans .

Now you already said who knows what will happen after 2027.

So now first finish the champion trophy in hybrid model than who know what will after champion trophy.

There is no signed documents to Play 2026 World T20 game againt pakistan in SL.and BCCI always can make a way to find another solution

You will get what is exactly my point. :kp
haha are you sure signed document will not happen tomorrow? because media is reporting it that it will be signed arrangement. no verbal deals

They just don't know the difference between Hybrid and Co-hosting lol. CT was supposed to be fully hosted by PKs. They did not get that. Shame on Naqvi.

So the PR spin is going to be India never wanted to host the tournament final anyway and it was always going to be in SL?

Sorry but lets state facts here

This is a win for India, not Pakistan.

2027 is co hosted, so india will easily balance out the things with Sri lanka. Plus, india can always backtrack and say that finals will only take place at Ahmedabad.

Had this been extended till 2031, only than it would had been a somewhat good thing for us. We dont even have another hosting right for any tournament in the near future...

Anyways, Pakistan yet again caved in. Nothing to celebrate here. It was indias problem not pakistan, but icc bend the rules to cater to the indians.

I have given up on cricket. This is just pure stupidity by ICC

😂😂😂
Naqvi already accepted hybrid in his second Press conference in Dubai , He wanted this fusion arrangement

why did nt BCCI/ICC kick out Pakistan from CT ? you said 90% and 10% are not equal

We all Know Ind vs Pak was supposed to happen in big stadium like Ahmedabad or Calcutta . Now BCCI will be forced to change the group but then Risk having to play semi final in Lanka if not Final.

HUM NI AYENGE AUR TUMHE ANA PAREGA IS WHAT WE HEARD LAST WEEK

2027 is co hosted, so india will easily balance out the things with Sri lanka. Plus, india can always backtrack and say that finals will only take place at Ahmedabad.

Had this been extended till 2031, only than it would had been a somewhat good thing for us. We dont even have another hosting right for any tournament in the near future...

Anyways, Pakistan yet again caved in. Nothing to celebrate here. It was indias problem not pakistan, but icc bend the rules to cater to the indians.

how will India balance co hosting in 2026?

they will change group ( First Change in long time )

Change the group and risk playing Semi at Neutral territory ( Chances are much higher )

Once written agreement is in Place , if India Backtracks again, Pak will refuse to travel anyway and ICC will not be able enforce Pak to travel

I beg to differ. This is a major win for PCB.

For the first time, someone could stand in front of the giant and put a dent in his armor and forced him to give something in return too.

It's not ideal, that I understand but one should take in to context of the circumstances. When you stand against combined force of ICC and BCCI; then you are already in the most disadvantaged position along with an uphill task to actually snatch something.

These documents show that PCB, inspite of its alleged incompetence, has reached far greater achievement than any person would have had hope for. It was a surprise for me and if one needs to be honest, it's a surprise for everyone that ICC and BCCI caved in the demands of PCB.

So certainly I'll give credit where it's due.

Hope both sets of fans can claim their Ws and frankly, move on.
Nope. We are here to bicker about different issues day in and day out. You have no authority to take that away from us.

We need more issues to fight, not less.

😂😂😂
Naqvi already accepted hybrid in his second Press conference in Dubai , He wanted this fusion arrangement

why did nt BCCI/ICC kick out Pakistan from CT ? you said 90% and 10% are not equal

We all Know Ind vs Pak was supposed to happen in big stadium like Ahmedabad or Calcutta . Now BCCI will be forced to change the group but then Risk having to play semi final in Lanka if not Final.

HUM NI AYENGE AUR TUMHE ANA PAREGA IS WHAT WE HEARD LAST WEEK

Would you still call this Pakistan hosted Champion's Trophy? Quite likely that the most important matches wont even be played in Pakistan.

BCCI have not only humiliated themselves, but have humiliated India, have revealed the global Hindutva cult, exposed the Indian psyche, and above all, confirmed as desperate, insolvent, and clueless after begging the PCB for a match no matter where.

In the process BCCI's vulnerabilities have also been exposed. We know domestic sponsors are pulling the commercial strings. We know a match vs Pakistan is the biggest earner for BCCI. We also know the IPL isn't the cash cow and the numbers are dwindling, and swindling.

There will be further humiliation for BCCI/India ahead and the source will point to Jay Shah.

It is a downward trend for Indian cricket - fact. India at its so called peak of powers has sod all to show for it other than a WT20 trophy, bottled a WC at home, pistol whipped in ICC finals and semi finals, my favourite CT17 of course.

Even Indian Cricket records are breaking apart as are the myths. There's no MRF genius batsman in the pipeline. Players of past and present exposed as stat-padders, overrated, or plain and simple, bang average.

Meanwhile the PCB played an absolute blinder. BCCI and India were never expecting PCB to take a stand, and in the process introduce 'The Fusion' model in cricketing lexicon, while confining the hybrid model and BCCI muscle to history.

PCB has stuck 2 fingers at the ICC and BCCi and in the process humiliated India.

You don't need money or bullets to negotiate, you just needs brains when your enemy reveals his weakness.

From this point on, never let an Indian fan boast about Indian cricket or the BCCI, they're done, they're toast.

😎🇵🇰
Can't blame you. A rooster too believes the sun shines because it crows.

Would you still call this Pakistan hosted Champion's Trophy? Quite likely that the most important matches wont even be played in Pakistan.
yeah we understand it from day 1 when BCCI refused to travel. it was ICC decision to make the call about replacing a team. Was not in hands of PCB

PCB could have refused to travel to Dubai but with MPA signed , PCB risked getting booted out

So we get to keep around 75 Million $ and 10 matches and we will not be coming to India anytime soon either.

Wait for Signed agreement. ICC wont be able to force Pak to travel even if India backtracks later on and they will also be not able to replace us either

Let's be honest here and assess the facts. 95% of the money which goes to the ICC comes from Indian Sponsors and Broadcasters, there is no way they will defy and vote against India. Even England and Australia would have caved in vs BCCI.

I dont care about 95 money comes from a poor country.

Fact is, pakistan should had stood its grounds simple as that

PCB's demand for an increase in ICC share and to be made number 2 on the table was fair, the vast majority of ICC revenues from ICC tournaments is heavily dependent on Indo-Pak matches, based on that Principle PCB should be number 2 on the table especially since they don't get to host India either in comparison to other teams. Why should ECB and Cricket Australia get a greater share of ICC revenues with the bulk coming from Indo Pak matches in comparison to the PCB?

I beg to differ. This is a major win for PCB.

For the first time, someone could stand in front of the giant and put a dent in his armor and forced him to give something in return too.

It's not ideal, that I understand but one should take in to context of the circumstances. When you stand against combined force of ICC and BCCI; then you are already in the most disadvantaged position along with an uphill task to actually snatch something.

These documents show that PCB, inspite of its alleged incompetence, has reached far greater achievement than any person would have had hope for. It was a surprise for me and if one needs to be honest, it's a surprise for everyone that ICC and BCCI caved in the demands of PCB.

So certainly I'll give credit where it's due.
Sorry but no.

Any other educated country would had known what laws and rules there are they can use to defend itself.

Pakistan bowed down as usual. Nothinf to cheer about for us, no matter how much we may pretend.

Who said India won't be hosting a ICC final in 2027?

Indian broadcasters and sponsors pay the ICC not Pakistan.

this theory is now tested . 95% comes from Broadcasters and they had the final say which is no chance of scrapping Ind vs Pak since they already regretting the over priced value of deal which is 3 Billion. they were never going to make it back without Ind Pak clashes missing

Since Broadcasters made it clear , BCCI had to concede because PCB put that contest in mix as deal breaker. Concession is concession does nt matter how long it is for

Who said India won't be hosting a ICC final in 2027?

Indian broadcasters and sponsors pay the ICC not Pakistan.
says Reports. if Fusion agreement takes place in writing , Pak can qualify for final.

With written agreement in place , Can ICC enforce Pak to travel in case Pak qualifies for final?

PCB's demand for an increase in ICC share and to be made number 2 on the table was fair, the vast majority of ICC revenues from ICC tournaments is heavily dependent on Indo-Pak matches, based on that Principle PCB should be number 2 on the table especially since they don't get to host India either in comparison to other teams. Why should ECB and Cricket Australia get a greater share of ICC revenues with the bulk coming from Indo Pak matches in comparison to the PCB?

Pakistan not hosting India isn't ICC's problem.

The broadcast rights for ICC events sold in Australia and England are worth approx 15mn and 35mn a year. Pakistan go nowhere close to that amount.

Show one report that says vast majority or bulk of ICC revenues come from Pakistan. Even in a Indo Pak match vast majority of revenues come from India.

PCB struggles to sell its own home series rights and you claim that they bring more revenues than England and Australia.

says Reports. if Fusion agreement takes place in writing , Pak can qualify for final.

With written agreement in place , Can ICC enforce Pak to travel in case Pak qualifies for final?

Lots of ifs and buts there.

If written agreement
If Pakistan qualify
If fusion arrangement

Lots of ifs and buts there.

If written agreement
If Pakistan qualify
If fusion arrangement
apparently it has been agreed by BCCI according to reports on both sides media

even if Pak does nt qualify , there is a group Game. its not getting scrapped. If it was possible , CT 2025 was the right time to do it and BCCI would nt have to come to fusion arrangement. like i said it seems , Pak Ind match is important for Broadcasters

To all Pak brothers, don't u remember these guys made Abhinandan a Hero/ despite getting hackled, beaten by local Pakistanis and then later saved by Pak Army.

Now do you think they will accept their defeat here ? No they are shameless people.
We have seen how Pakistan were humiliated in 1999 Kargil war and Nawaz Sharif ran to USA for humiliation withdrawal of Pakistani forces

We hace seen how India break Pakistan in two parts and 90K pakistan Soldier surrender to Indian forces , that was the biggest surrendered post world war 2 .

So keep quiet and stay on topic of champions trophy .we know history is forgettable for pakistan when its comes to war between india and pakistan .

@BouncerGuy tell this poster to stay in his limits and too this thread as i also can give it back but its will be off topic discussion

:dw :kp

Seems like all ICC, and BCCI concern about is Ind Pak game in events. Pakistan should have done better.

We have seen how Pakistan were humiliated in 1999 Kargil war and Nawaz Sharif ran to USA for humiliation withdrawal of Pakistani forces

We hace seen how India break Pakistan in two parts and 90K pakistan Soldier surrender to Indian forces , that was the biggest surrendered post world war 2 .

So keep quiet and stay on topic of champions trophy .we know history is forgettable for pakistan when its comes to war between india and pakistan .

@BouncerGuy tell this poster to stay in his limits and too this thread as i also can give it back but its will be off topic discussion

:dw :kp
India has rejected any sorts of Hybrid models for their hosting tournaments 🤡

Nothing wrong in asking while you are negotiating

tum ni aye go Hum bhi nahi aye ge is the main thing

you were not even willing to concede that Until Yesterday

It will be fun to watch India Traveling to play Group Game against Pak in t20 2026. Broadcasters will not let change the group. Highly Unlikely and you are saying in 2011 Ind Pak were not in same Group. Those days are long gone and Since 2012 t20 Wc .. Every tournament there has been same group. Marquee Clash as they put it.

Doesn't matter what broadcaster deal comes, India will still be the numero uno contributor.

Pakistan won't be hosting any ICC event till India is the biggest contributor.

There is no precedent as nothing is in writing yet and this is only till 2027.

Broadcaster is Indian. They will be arm twisted.

apparently it has been agreed by BCCI according to reports on both sides media

even if Pak does nt qualify , there is a group Game. its not getting scrapped. If it was possible , CT 2025 was the right time to do it and BCCI would nt have to come to fusion arrangement. like i said it seems , Pak Ind match is important for Broadcasters

There is no guarantee of a group game. New situation means new rules.

We have to wait for ICC official news to clear all the doubts.

Too much if and buts based on media reports. .

But I don't think ICC/ PCB / BCCI will release any statement about this development. All the talks/ negotiations will be secret and we will Only know about its from some media's reports .

Doesn't matter what broadcaster deal comes, India will still be the numero uno contributor.

Why do you have to reiterate India is biggest contributor. this is known and established. and this is not even point of argument

You got nothing else to say except India’s contribution and repeating it here. Pakistan does nt have any hosting rights until 2031 only. We will see what happens after that. its a long time from now and lot of things can change diplomatically so no point discussing it

You were extremely confident that BCCI will not concede an Inch to any of PCB’s demand but it looks like Broadcasters arm twisted BCCI not ICC

Nothing is in writing yet. but what makes you think it will not be in writing?

For all my lovely posters from India, indian website’s news:

“On Thursday night, a report by news agency PTI quoting sources, claimed that the Jay Shah-led International Cricket Council (ICC) and its member associations have "agreed in principle" to go ahead with a hybrid model of hosting the Champions Trophy 2025. However, there was a catch. A similar 'hybrid model' of hosting will be used in all ICC events till 2027. The 2025 Champions Trophy is to be held in February-March next year. The report quoted a top ICC source and said the decision was more or less finalised during an informal meeting between the body's new President Jay Shah and the Board of Directors, including Pakistan, at its headquarters in Dubai on Thursday.”

The title:

PCB Accepts Hybrid Model But ICC's Twist “””Not Good News For BCCI And India””​

So, may be tell NDTV to google the meaning of hybrid.

or share your feedback with NDTV to not say “not good news for BCCI and India”

@devadal

By PCB standards this is a huge win. They are usually serial losers both on and off the field.

Looks like the World T20 final will be in Lanka if PAK make it that far.

Thankfully, I have faith in talentless , mental midget PAK players to not make it beyond Super 8 and so the final will happen in India only

Seen it all before Ind won’t come to Pak next year.. when it’s Ind turn to host theyl send one of modi’s goons to Pak like shukla came last time..hel sweat talk them we are brothers etc Pak will drop there pants & go Ind.

By PCB standards this is a huge win. They are usually serial losers both on and off the field.

Looks like the World T20 final will be in Lanka if PAK make it that far.

Thankfully, I have faith in talentless , mental midget PAK players to not make it beyond Super 8 and so the final will happen in India only
what about group Game?the marque contest of Ind Vs Pak? you think ICC will change group and bring wrath of broadcasters upon them?

Group Game India Travels
If group Changed , India possibly travels for Semi Final if not as far as Final

Pakistan is serial loser on field what about a Billion $ team that lost countless ICC knockouts in last 10-12 years even to serial loser like Pakistan? Hardly won a t20 tournament got lucky in last 5 overs

I'm beginning to believe BCCI love being humiliated. Perhaps it's that victimhood playbook sequence?

India cannot win on the field with all the money and power of the cult, what chance do they have off the field?

Best part is the PCB have null and voided Jay Shah's stint as ICC President.

Jeevay jeevay Pakistan.

🇵🇰👑💚

BJP MP and former Sports Minister Anurag Thakur speaking to an Indian media outlet

"India has made it very clear that the safety and security of the players are very important, and we have been very consistent with our stand as far as playing in Pakistan is concerned. Till the time they do not have control or check over the terrorist activities and cross-border activities, India is not willing to play there. The conditions in Pakistan are not very sports-friendly, not very safe and secure. The decision made by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) is right."

"As far as international cricket is concerned, India's contribution at the international level is huge... India is in a position to host the best of the tournaments. We have done that in the past and we can do that in the future as well. Countries across the globe love to come and play in India, and the world's most popular cricket league is played in India, the Indian Premier League (IPL)."

BJP MP and former Sports Minister Anurag Thakur speaking to an Indian media outlet

"India has made it very clear that the safety and security of the players are very important, and we have been very consistent with our stand as far as playing in Pakistan is concerned. Till the time they do not have control or check over the terrorist activities and cross-border activities, India is not willing to play there. The conditions in Pakistan are not very sports-friendly, not very safe and secure. The decision made by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) is right."

"As far as international cricket is concerned, India's contribution at the international level is huge... India is in a position to host the best of the tournaments. We have done that in the past and we can do that in the future as well. Countries across the globe love to come and play in India, and the world's most popular cricket league is played in India, the Indian Premier League (IPL)."
That is a very poor statement, as expected, and you can feel the effect of salty tears.

Indians jumped up and down and expressed much joy at taking revenge on Pakistan via moving a cricket tournament. They are very petty people.

We have heard variants of:

We will pull the tournament
We will move the tournament
The tournament is meaningless
We will not move tournaments out of India
We have this much or power and that much strength.

Ultimately it all came down to crying BJP officials trying to belittle Pakistan while patting themselves on the back.

Indian fan's can claim they have won after not agree to Pakistan demands and not playing in pakistan .

Win - win situation for everyone. Now announced the schedule so broadcasters and their partners can sell their products with good marketing. Already is not enough time left .

Last important which no ine discussing - after becoming ICC chairman jay shah has the responsibility to runs the world cricket and he has done very good job to start the ICC chairman tenure.

You are right on bolded - this decision hasn't pleased Indian fan or Indian government so if it all comes out as expected then he has acted in an unbiased way and not as representative of solely India. Needs respect for that.

Pakistan made those demands ( extra revenue etc) to the ICC not to BCCi. Whether ICC accept it or reject it is nothing to do with India. The only demand made to India was the fusion model and India accepted.

Pakistan is hosting the Champions tropghy while India being a big contributer.

BCCI reminding the masses that India is rich and safe, despite the humiliating loss at the hands of the PCB.

Ladies and gentlemen, this is how propaganda works.

I dont care about 95 money comes from a poor country.

Fact is, pakistan should had stood its grounds simple as that
India is not a poor country. It is an extremely wealthy country with a lot of poor people living in it. It’s the 5th largest economy on its way to becoming 4th this year and has the most number of billionaires living who can buy most of the cricket playing countries 2-3 times over even outside of cricket .

Pakistan didn’t stand its ground. It ended up getting a hybrid model with a new name and said they won’t travel to India for the next 2 tournaments. In fact even in wc 2023 a lot of people were not excited about Pak coming to India so it’s kind of a no-lose situation. India refused a tri series proposal and didn’t increase any revenue for PCB. Where are you seeing a win?

This sounds like it was written by a 12 year old. BJP really should pay some PR company, would be worth the money just to stop them sounding like they stepped straight from the village to the mic.

Indian fans would probably have had no problems with their team playing in Pakistan, this was a decision made by the Indian govt, and one in hindsight they probably regretted considering the amount of backlash it has created from broadcasters and headaches for the other ICC members.

A win-win would have been for the BJP to just stay out of it, let the games go ahead and let fans enjoy the tournament. No one would have even noticed there was any problems, it was all self created by Indian govt and BCCI trying to flex when there was absolutely no call for it.

That sounds so nice. Ek aur baar bolo na :)
I'll rephrase it

This arrangement is in place until 2027, as the Indian broadcaster Disney was begging for a India vs Pakistan game, disney holds ICC broadcasting rights until 2027. Maybe the next broadcaster won't be an Indian and won't be gagging like the Indians for a India vs Pakistan and both wouldn't need to play each other and the tournaments can continue without eachother and drama

The BCCI could face a major blow if India has to implement the hybrid model for tournaments it hosts. And the cherry on top? A written commitment ensuring they can’t pull a classic U-turn. Looks like the BCCI just got stuck in its own powerplay. :inti

Pakistan didn’t stand its ground. It ended up getting a hybrid model with a new name and said they won’t travel to India for the next 2 tournaments. In fact even in wc 2023 a lot of people were not excited about Pak coming to India so it’s kind of a no-lose situation. India refused a tri series proposal and didn’t increase any revenue for PCB. Where are you seeing a win?

Can you show any proof where "India" refused a tri series or where "India" refused to increase revenue. I wasn't aware revenue distribution was down to India but please show some evidence.

So if it’s going to be hybrid then they should at least try to get a proper group for Cat A matches

Pakistan fans will only get to see Pak v NZ and Pak v Bangladesh at home? Might as well boycott the tournament!

Get South Africa and Australia in your group

India is not a poor country. It is an extremely wealthy country with a lot of poor people living in it. It’s the 5th largest economy on its way to becoming 4th this year and has the most number of billionaires living who can buy most of the cricket playing countries 2-3 times over even outside of cricket .

is it a developed nation?

Are there people sleeping on foothpath? Is there poverty in India? Do Indian makes salary equal to an American in US?