mesmerizer85
PCB can try having tri-series with top teams like Australia & England in Pakistan (if financially viable). This might build some authority and standing for future events.
Note: this_feature_currently_requires_accessing_site_using_safari
Mismatch, Netravalkar will rip through pakistan unless saim amd fakhar manage to stick and work
Are you sure? They have beaten Pakistan in the recent encounter.It will be bigger humiliation if we will lose against USA at home.
We? Lol I knew it, you're a fake Indian. Mask was going to slip eventuallyAre you sure? They have beaten Pakistan in the recent encounter.It will be bigger humiliation if we will lose against USA at home.
lol you are talking like champions trophy is pinnacle of icc tournaments. its the shortest tournament icc hosts and not so important in revenue cycle. in fact it was discarded only to be revived. based on rankings not on India’s participation.. lets say india performs bad and does nt qualify , will tournament happen without india? will icc backtrack on its own rules? for tournameng that will only last 2 weeks how much revenue it can generate to bother other boards? please enlighten us. pretty sure broadcasters paid top $ for one super sunday clash and if that does nt happen , other boards still end up loosing moneyPakistanis need to convince the other boards that
1. Pakistan can arrange enough sponsors to offset loss of Indian sponsors and broadcasters.
Or
2. Other boards need to lose millions for the sake of supporting Pakistan.
ICC is non profit organization, if India and Pakistan doesn't play in a tournament it won't affect the BCCI and may affect PCB a little in terms of revenue however, it'll affect other boards (especially associate members) who are dependent on annual revenue share by ICC.BCCI makes billions on its own via IPL and its own home series and no pakistani is involved in it.
90-95 per cent of ICC broadcast revenues come from India England and Australia territories. So the actual revenue from Pakistan isn't big.
PCB can quit ICC, if their rightful stand is not heard!That was always on cards so nothing shocking here.
Ball is in the course of PCB now, they should have some plan.
Most points stand true, but the hype has faded significantly. One can see that India Pakistan matches in the World Cup 23 and T20 World Cup 24 were not even close to being the most watched India games despite being hyped in media to no end and having the prime weekend slot too.This is what I think is the ground reality in India, but obviously it’s a personal opinion.
The BJP government is in power till 2029. Nothing will change till then, at minimum. No Indian cricket team will visit Pakistan.
Post 2029, even if another party comes to power, they will still tread very carefully.
Do not get me wrong. Games of cricket with Pakistan are still followed, anticipated, watched and discussed. The hype is real even now.
But for most Indian fans this mean little against the backdrop of politics and the larger national perspective.
In short:
Scenario 1: we’re playing a game with Pakistan? Possibly record breaking or record equalling viewing.
Scenario 2: Game against Pakistan not on because nation/ politics/ ‘larger reasons’? No worries at all.
Both scenarios are possible, both scenarios are true.
How PCB responds is their business. I’ve written the above to try and give clarity to how things are over here.
India does not play bilateral tournaments with Pakistan regardless of whether it benefits India or not.India plays with Pakistan when it benefits India more and Pakistan less, like playing in neutral venue or in India.
Most points stand true, but the hype has faded significantly. One can see that India Pakistan matches in the World Cup 23 and T20 World Cup 24 were not even close to being the most watched India games despite being hyped in media to no end and having the prime weekend slot too.
I think people just don't understand what India's Pakistan policy is- it is curated to work for India and only India.
This policy was enacted upon after Mumbai attacks and so far has worked well(the motive being harming Pak economically, while avoiding an out and out war)
India plays with Pakistan when it benefits India more and Pakistan less, like playing in neutral venue or in India.
Playing a Pakistan hosted series is a direct monetary benefit to Pakistan and hence falls below the policy line.
I have no idea why anyone expected otherwise.
Look, I am a humanist and want everyone to work with each other, but history of India and Pakistan is weird and painful (for both sides)
and cricket is too trival in its importance to actually have any weight in changing the enacted policy.
This is what I have said many times. In India this game actually does not carry the same hype & importance any moreMost points stand true, but the hype has faded significantly. One can see that India Pakistan matches in the World Cup 23 and T20 World Cup 24 were not even close to being the most watched India games despite being hyped in media to no end and having the prime weekend slot too.
Agreed with this.Keep India in the tournament.. it’s there decision to come or not .. but match will go on .. if they’re not in Pakistan. It will count as a match. It will go into the records as Forfeit.
I dont think India or BCCI has any issues with that. Please proceed.Keep India in the tournament.. it’s there decision to come or not .. but match will go on .. if they’re not in Pakistan. It will count as a match. It will go into the records as Forfeit.
Agreed with this.
I don't think BCCI will have any objections.
Struggling to find whats funny but wait, i didnt know BCCI was sponsoring ICC events? So they sponsor icc events and then take money from icc? Head scratcher.infact they might even fund the sponsorship of the man of the match awards at every game and double the sponsorship monies by 2x ...
they(BCCI) be owners of icc brahStruggling to find whats funny but wait, i didnt know BCCI was sponsoring ICC events? So they sponsor icc events and then take money from icc? Head scratcher.
For once PCB has to take a stand and Kick India out of the tournament.
Money is not everything, PCB should not bow down now. India is not needed in pakistan.They can stay in their homes behind the shalwars of their wives.Pathetic people.
Pakistan must not visit India as well when they host an ICC tournament again.
ICC is non profit organization, if India and Pakistan doesn't play in a tournament it won't affect the BCCI and may affect PCB a little in terms of revenue however, it'll affect other boards (especially associate members) who are dependent on annual revenue share by ICC.
As per reports:
The ICC has canceled a key event for the 2025 Champions Trophy in Lahore due to unresolved scheduling issues, particularly India's refusal to travel to Pakistan for the tournament. The ICC had planned to announce the schedule on November 11, but this has been postponed. Discussions are ongoing about adopting a hybrid model, with some matches potentially being held in the UAE to accommodate India's participation. The PCB has not received official communication from the BCCI or ICC regarding this plan.
PCB source responding to the above report said:
"We were not aware of any such function happening on Monday. If there was one, we would definitely have sent invitations, and the ICC would have informed us. However, they haven't provided us with any such date. Trophy tours and similar events are in the ICC pipeline, and we are looking to see what dates they will provide for them."
Champions Trophy announcement event cancelled
The ICC initially planned a November 11 event to kick off the countdown to the championship, marking 100 days until the tournament.
However, due to uncertainties around India’s travel plans to Pakistan, these plans are on hold. An ICC official confirmed that the schedule is still being discussed with Pakistan and other nations involved.
Why they are discussing with other board when host nation Pakistan and icc only have rights to decide the schedule ? Whats cooking up??
PCB is always in Denial mode . everyone know that event is cancelled after indian team refused to travel Pakistan.Pcb sources have clarified that already.
All of this is bull-crap.There was never any point in sending our cricket team to a country that remains a safe haven for terrorism of which Bharat remains a major victim. Pakistan needs to work a lot towards meeting the objectives for ensuring peace and stability in this region at which it has failed miserably. It’s a rogue state which is constantly using terrorism as a toll tool to destabilise this region at the behest of its masters.
Nothing against people of Pakistan who remain the biggest victim of their own dictatorship.
This is pure jealousy over Pakistan hosting the Champions Trophy. Some Indians claim they don’t care about Pakistan or anything related to it and they even carry a superiority complex, but in reality, they can’t stand to see Pakistan thriving. It’s like the classic neighborhood aunty who gets jealous whenever her neighbors get something new.PCB is always in Denial mode . everyone know that event is cancelled after indian team refused to travel Pakistan.
This is true.This is pure jealousy over Pakistan hosting the Champions Trophy. Some Indians claim they don’t care about Pakistan or anything related to it and they even carry a superiority complex, but in reality, they can’t stand to see Pakistan thriving. It’s like the classic neighborhood aunty who gets jealous whenever her neighbors get something new.
like i said before , One small tournament such as CT wont make much difference in overall revenue of icc that includes tournament each year. ICC is already milking it to the fullest by having tournament each year in different format. Lets say Indian sponsors drop out , and broadcasters pull out .. how much revenue will be lost with lesser known broadcasters and sponsors? probably 50-60%. pretty sure pcb can cope with it. BCCI would never allow that like you suggest that pcb should try that. BCCI will throw its weight to subvert any such attempt behind all the bravado of not needing the money and all that.50 per cent of PCBs annual budget comes from the ICC revenue share. So if ICC revenue drops, it will hurt PCB more than a little. And that will be the situation of every board other than the big 3.
The treatment that Pakistani players got in Ahmedabad in the World Cup was beyond shameful. People in the crowd were hurling all kinds of Islamophobic abuses at the players.It's about time we accept the reality: we are afraid of losing to Pakistan on their home turf, which is why we keep avoiding tours to Pakistan. I am confident that Pakistani fans would be as welcoming as they were during the 2004 tour. The current atmosphere seems influenced by the BJP, as they don’t want to show Pakistan’s positive side or encourage Indians to respect Pakistan’s passionate fans. Credit to Pakistan, though, despite the hostility, they continue to come to India. They truly have nerves of steel.
What i was said is pure truth and you're saying is imagination.This is pure jealousy over Pakistan hosting the Champions Trophy. Some Indians claim they don’t care about Pakistan or anything related to it and they even carry a superiority complex, but in reality, they can’t stand to see Pakistan thriving. It’s like the classic neighborhood aunty who gets jealous whenever her neighbors get something new.
There is story behind every incident.The treatment that Pakistani players got in Ahmedabad in the World Cup was beyond shameful. People in the crowd were hurling all kinds of Islamophobic abuses at the players.
Veteran Indian cricket writer Kuldip Lal said that in his 30 years of covering cricket he had never seen that kind of hostility towards a team in any other Indian city.
I expected Indian fans to come out in droves to support their team, but not letting any Pakistani fans come to India and then use this kind of bigotry to abuse the players was sad to see. Being passionate is one thing, being xenophobic bigots is an entirely different thing.
I was going to suggest this actually.
Look, you are bringing up the IPL and 1999 but seem to forget that India toured Pakistan in 2004 and 2006 and hosted them in 2005. India even invited Pakistan for the 'Aane Do' series in 2012, years after the 2008 Mumbai attacks, and has continued to play against them in ICC tournaments. If you are calling a spade a spade, then call out BCCI/India for their selective boycott of Pakistan.What i was said is pure truth and you're saying is imagination.
The scheduled announced event is cancelled which was Pakistan media already reported.
I call a spade a spade and not appease anyone bro .
Pakistan did all things to sabotage IPL but they couldn't do and never will.
When india was normalises the relation( Bus diplomacy ) with pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif in 1999 then Pakistan establishment were busy in planning to attack india. So Pakistan is responsible for what is happening with them now.
Every action has the equal reaction .
Very very scaredIt's about time we accept the reality: we are afraid of losing to Pakistan on their home turf, which is why we keep avoiding tours to Pakistan. I am confident that Pakistani fans would be as welcoming as they were during the 2004 tour. The current atmosphere seems influenced by the BJP, as they don’t want to show Pakistan’s positive side or encourage Indians to respect Pakistan’s passionate fans. Credit to Pakistan, though, despite the hostility, they continue to come to India. They truly have nerves of steel.
Very very scared
like i said before , One small tournament such as CT wont make much difference in overall revenue of icc that includes tournament each year. ICC is already milking it to the fullest by having tournament each year in different format. Lets say Indian sponsors drop out , and broadcasters pull out .. how much revenue will be lost with lesser known broadcasters and sponsors? probably 50-60%. pretty sure pcb can cope with it. BCCI would never allow that like you suggest that pcb should try that. BCCI will throw its weight to subvert any such attempt behind all the bravado of not needing the money and all that.
That is the point even after Kargil war india tour pakistan for a full series .but what we got in return Mumbai attacked which was carried by Pakistan terrorists according to Pakistan ex PM Nawaz Sharif .Look, you are bringing up the IPL and 1999 but seem to forget that India toured Pakistan in 2004 and 2006 and hosted them in 2005. India even invited Pakistan for the 'Aane Do' series in 2012, years after the 2008 Mumbai attacks, and has continued to play against them in ICC tournaments. If you are calling a spade a spade, then call out BCCI/India for their selective boycott of Pakistan.
That is the point even after Kargil war india tour pakistan for a full series .but what we got in return Mumbai attacked which was carried by Pakistan terrorists according to Pakistan ex PM Nawaz Sharif .
Again when BCCI play with Pakistan in 2012 another multiple attacked happened . So how long this circus countinue
You should be asking the hypocritical BCCI, which conveniently overlooks these points while continuing to play Pakistan in ICC tournaments. Here is the reality: if the PCB agreed to send their team for a bilateral series in India today, the BCCI would jump to accept it in a heartbeat.That is the point even after Kargil war india tour pakistan for a full series .but what we got in return Mumbai attacked which was carried by Pakistan terrorists according to Pakistan ex PM Nawaz Sharif .
Again when BCCI play with Pakistan in 2012 another multiple attacked happened . So how long this circus countinue
You are saying this because you know that ICC is in BCCI's pocket.If pakistan think they are right than take a strong stand against india and told to icc that we are hosting champions trophy without india and whatever loss occurs we will pay . problem solved
No BCCI will not agree , pakistan were asking to Resume bilateral series time to time but BCCI always rejected .You should be asking the hypocritical BCCI, which conveniently overlooks these points while continuing to play Pakistan in ICC tournaments. Here is the reality: if the PCB agreed to send their team for a bilateral series in India today, the BCCI would jump to accept it in a heartbeat.
The numbers have been discussed to death bhai. Don't start with your imaginary numbers to make a case. Go through the threads again.like i said before , One small tournament such as CT wont make much difference in overall revenue of icc that includes tournament each year. ICC is already milking it to the fullest by having tournament each year in different format. Lets say Indian sponsors drop out , and broadcasters pull out .. how much revenue will be lost with lesser known broadcasters and sponsors? probably 50-60%. pretty sure pcb can cope with it. BCCI would never allow that like you suggest that pcb should try that. BCCI will throw its weight to subvert any such attempt behind all the bravado of not needing the money and all that.
ICC only care about profit and money ,doesn't matter where its comes from .You are saying this because you know that ICC is in BCCI's pocket.
Arre yaar, Pakistan has the right to pick and choose the items they prefer. India is suppsed to follow what Pakistan feels is the right approach always. Samjha Karo!!No BCCI will not agree , pakistan were asking to Resume bilateral series time to time but BCCI always rejected .
And for your information which you said about selective approach ,after removal of article 370 pakistan stopped all the Trade with india but guess what they allowed few items to import from india so my question why they were allowed to imports few items. Why that selective approached they chosen.
Highly condemnable if that happened. But that does not justify the behavior of the Indian fans that day in Ahmedabad including stuff like shouting 'Jai Shri Ram' at Rizwan when he was walking back to the dressing room. I also doubt that Pakistani fans displayed anything close to the hooliganism that over 100,000 Indian fans displayed that day in Ahmedabad. For one thing, The Oval has a capacity of 27-28k. And even that was made up largely of Indian fans.There is story behind every incident.
Pakistan fan's were abused indian players after CT defeat in 2017 at the oval stadium .
Line 1: Rightful condemnationHighly condemnable if that happened. But that does not justify the behavior of the Indian fans that day in Ahmedabad including stuff like shouting 'Jai Shri Ram' at Rizwan when he was walking back to the dressing room. I also doubt that Pakistani fans displayed anything close to the hooliganism that over 100,000 Indian fans displayed that day in Ahmedabad. For one thing, The Oval has a capacity of 27-28k. And even that was made up largely of Indian fans.
Bro desi fans are always jazbati when comes to Pakistan - india. This is wrong we all know but it is what it is. That why we are arch rivalsHighly condemnable if that happened. But that does not justify the behavior of the Indian fans that day in Ahmedabad including stuff like shouting 'Jai Shri Ram' at Rizwan when he was walking back to the dressing room. I also doubt that Pakistani fans displayed anything close to the hooliganism that over 100,000 Indian fans displayed that day in Ahmedabad. For one thing, The Oval has a capacity of 27-28k. And even that was made up largely of Indian fans.
You say you call a spade a spade, so why are you avoiding calling out the BCCI for its selective boycott of Pakistan?Whenever we are talking about diplomacy between india and pakistan ,we used terms cricket diplomacy not sports diplomacy ,not hockey diplomacy, why @Bhaag Viru Bhaag now you started this selective approach debate than I'll explained why.
Answer this.
^I think that sounded better in your head than it does written down here bud. Had to read it twice just to understand what it was you were trying to say.Line 1: Rightful condemnation
Line 2: Reverse accusation on opposing side that cannot have justification
Line 3: Comparing and casting doubts on deplorable acts referred Line 1 on an imaginary scale
Line 3 and 4: Basically Justifying the condemned action in Line 1 by citing the size
I'll explained why india has chose selective boycott but first answer why its called cricket diplomacy not sports or hockey which is national sports of both the countries.You say you call a spade a spade, so why are you avoiding calling out the BCCI for its selective boycott of Pakistan?
Bro this is one of the worst justifications I have ever heard. Did not expect this from you. More disappointed than anything else.Bro desi fans are always jazbati when comes to Pakistan - india. This is wrong we all know but it is what it is. That why we are arch rivals
There was heavy sloganeering going on at The Oval in London where Pakistan beat Indian convincingly in the epic Champions Trophy final.
When they were seen pakistan fans were abused indian players they take revenge .
Waqar yonus had said - What I liked the most was what Rizwan did. 'Usne Hinduon ke beech mein khade ho ke Namaz padhi (He stood in the middle of the ground and offered prayer in front of Hindus). That was something very very special for me,
This was statement from former Pakistani player not just random social media trolls .
These were the reason why indian fans were targeted pakistan players at Ahmedabad .
Don’t deflect the question. I asked you first. It’s alright if you are suddenly feeling shy about your 'calling a spade a spade' line. We all have our moments.I'll explained why india has chose selective boycott but first answer why its called cricket diplomacy not sports or hockey which is national sports of both the countries.
Your answer will make you to understand easily why India chose selective approch .
Before ahmadabad incidents pakistan fans and ex players abused india twice on seperate occasions . Maybe you're not aware of waqar Younis remarks about Hindu.Bro this is one of the worst justifications I have ever heard. Did not expect this from you. More disappointed than anything else.
Rizwan wasn't even in the team for the 2017 CT Final. So I don't understand why you are conflating one guy's ignorant and bigoted take with the behavior of 100,000+ Indian fans throughout a cricket match.
Because cricket is popular between india & pakistan and most of eyeballs in this sport's.Don’t deflect the question. I asked you first. It’s alright if you are suddenly feeling shy about your 'calling a spade a spade' line. We all have our moments.
How do you see Waqar Younis's comment on Hindus after Dubai T20 game? The fans in Ahmedabad hurled religious chants on Rizwan as he wears religion on his chest and also likes of Waqar was taking pride in it sitting on tv studios. I am not favouring the behaviour of the fans but they are what they are - 'fans' where as Waqar Younis is a legend of the game. Of course Al Jazeera will link everything to Islamophobia^I think that sounded better in your head than it does written down here bud. Had to read it twice just to understand what it was you were trying to say.
Seems you only seem to care when its your players that are the victims of something like this.
Here's an article citing Indian journalists that were at the stadium that day to jog your memory:
Indians slam ‘unapologetic Islamophobia’ aimed at Pakistan’s cricket team
Pakistani cricketers were the target of a hostile crowd during a World Cup match against India at Ahmedabad.www.aljazeera.com
Latest news or old ? When was he said this. He is most accurate cricket journalist so he May know what is cooking behind the scenes.Vikrant Gupta was saying lots of water will be flown under the bridge before a decision come on CT. It is not a open and shut case just bcoz BCCI said so. He mentioned, lot more to come on this saga
No need to do legal just invite SLPCB mulls legal options against BCCI after India’s refusal to travel to Pakistan for ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Reports
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has confirmed that the International Cricket Council (ICC) conveyed them about BCCI’s decision to not travel to Pakistan for the ICC Champions Trophy that is set to take place next year. According to reports, the Indian cricket team hasn’t got a government clearance to travel to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy and BCCI has formally written to the ICC about the same.
Based on a Revsportz report, the PCB is likely to approach the ICC Dispute Resolution Committee against the BCCI. The Indian cricket board has been firm on its point of not sending their team to Pakistan due to security reasons.
As a result, there has been a massive standoff between PCB and BCCI in recent times. A similar thing happened last year before the Asia Cup, thus forcing the PCB to adopt the hybrid model. While Pakistan hosted four games in the 2023 Asia Cup, the remaining nine games were played in Sri Lanka including the final.
India played all their games in Sri Lanka. For the Champions Trophy, the PCB doesn’t want a hybrid model. Earlier in 2018, PCB had filed a complaint against the BCCI to ICC Dispute Resolution Committee.
However, PCB was fined two million dollars as ICC through they didn't not have a proper case. However, things are different this time as PCB's legal team and the foreign ministry of Pakistan believe they have a strong case against BCCI because when Pakistan was awarded the ICC Champions Trophy in November 2021, there was no condition that it would be subject to India’s travelling to Pakistan for the tournament.
PCB also believes that in none of the ICC board meetings since November 2021 to October 2024, BCCI never hinted that they are not going to travel to Pakistan.
He was saying in his agenda show yesterdayLatest news or old ? When was he said this. He is most accurate cricket journalist so he May know what is cooking behind the scenes.
PCB and the legal options route? These sequels are box office for BCCI.PCB mulls legal options against BCCI after India’s refusal to travel to Pakistan for ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Reports
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has confirmed that the International Cricket Council (ICC) conveyed them about BCCI’s decision to not travel to Pakistan for the ICC Champions Trophy that is set to take place next year. According to reports, the Indian cricket team hasn’t got a government clearance to travel to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy and BCCI has formally written to the ICC about the same.
Based on a Revsportz report, the PCB is likely to approach the ICC Dispute Resolution Committee against the BCCI. The Indian cricket board has been firm on its point of not sending their team to Pakistan due to security reasons.
As a result, there has been a massive standoff between PCB and BCCI in recent times. A similar thing happened last year before the Asia Cup, thus forcing the PCB to adopt the hybrid model. While Pakistan hosted four games in the 2023 Asia Cup, the remaining nine games were played in Sri Lanka including the final.
India played all their games in Sri Lanka. For the Champions Trophy, the PCB doesn’t want a hybrid model. Earlier in 2018, PCB had filed a complaint against the BCCI to ICC Dispute Resolution Committee.
However, PCB was fined two million dollars as ICC through they didn't not have a proper case. However, things are different this time as PCB's legal team and the foreign ministry of Pakistan believe they have a strong case against BCCI because when Pakistan was awarded the ICC Champions Trophy in November 2021, there was no condition that it would be subject to India’s travelling to Pakistan for the tournament.
PCB also believes that in none of the ICC board meetings since November 2021 to October 2024, BCCI never hinted that they are not going to travel to Pakistan.
Ok if that happens? Who will feed other boards? BCCI?50 per cent of PCBs annual budget comes from the ICC revenue share. So if ICC revenue drops, it will hurt PCB more than a little. And that will be the situation of every board other than the big 3.
The simple point that SL could be invited if BCCI is unwilling to come, is slam dunk victory in any legal case for BCCI.No need to do legal just invite SL
Throw these clowns out
BCCI is practically feeding all the other boards. It might be hard for you to digest but its the fact.Ok if that happens? Who will feed other boards? BCCI?
This time it's different, no?PCB and the legal options route? These sequels are box office for BCCI.
There are 100s of boards dependent on ICCs revenue, BCCI only plays bilateral with handful of countriesBCCI is practically feeding all the other boards. It might be hard for you to digest but its the fact.
Already the numbers and facts have been shared and discussed to death in this forum.