Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
Everybody performed terribly and SM was the second least worst player. Had they dropped all then I would've agreed with you.
But not they just chnged his position and then dropped him.
anyway no biggie as this has been usual paterrn of his career.

in PCB selections and droppings are rarely based on merit.

Anwaar Bhai don't worry, Malik will be back with the team in no time.

As Malik is showing very good form in QEA trophy both with bat and ball....and afridi lately not good with the ball & batting everybody knows ....

so what you think who should be in the team for World Cup 2011 ..especially when it is happening in sub continent...

As Malik is showing very good form in QEA trophy both with bat and ball....and afridi lately not good with the ball & batting everybody knows ....

so what you think who should be in the team for World Cup 2011 ..especially when it is happening in sub continent...

Malik and Afridi both should be in. However, Afridi should never be the captain.

Yep ...i am thinking the same ...but who should go from current squad?? ....
if that happens then Fawad have to warm the bench i think

Iguess Fawad is the weak link. To be honest bro, I don't see us doing good in the world cup with Afridi leading the side.

Thanks to Wada Butt, Chota Butt, Aamir and Asif .... no matter who the captain is, we are not going to do good.

WHo do you want as a captain, anyway?

Maybe ...after becoming captain his bowling is not effective at all....I don't see any other good candidate for captaincy except Malik or YK ....but position of both the player in playing XI is not granted......

Afridi still better than few years when he had just horrible long run...couldn't contribute with either bat n ball...

Blessing in disguise that SM was not picked for NZL...
It also broke the myth of selection based on merit....
and if we disect SM's statement it's clear that MHK is a liar.

anyway...no damage done...

In mitigation, the ball may nip round in NZ and Malik usually struggles in such conditions. But I think he deserves an L/O spot

How?

When was the last time in 3-4 years selection was based in merit? :Ilyas :FAwan :Kamran :Sami

What did he say?

1- lost 2 series under afridi...one more ...then loss at WC QF and then we can say goodbye to seniors :afridi :yk :moyo :misbah

2- some posters still think that selection and dropping based on merit..never had been and never would be.

3- SM said he was given message to perform in fc and then he would be picked,,,he added that he had done more than enough in fc...he is disap[pointed that they didn't honor their(selectors) assurances...

Anwaar what's the score with malik.After his FC performances I thought he would be picked for NZ tour.God forbid he is not under the scanner for fixing is he?

1- lost 2 series under afridi...one more ...then loss at WC QF and then we can say goodbye to seniors :afridi :yk :moyo :misbah
Win or lose in NZ, I don't see major changes in the ODI squad. Now, if we lose pretty badly in WC 2011, then a lot of head will roll in the team.... just like after last Australia/NZ tour, ban on several players.
But then again, at least one ban was lifted ... thanks to Firdous Awan.
2- some posters still think that selection and dropping based on merit..never had been and never would be.
They are new to Pakistan cricket.

3- SM said he was given message to perform in fc and then he would be picked,,,he added that he had done more than enough in fc...he is disap[pointed that they didn't honor their(selectors) assurances...

See attached;

Wow, so just because he let :iamlegend have a bowl, he didn't get selected? :)))

Instead of looking at his performances in QEA trophy, they are basing his selection on his captaincy in HK Sixes tournament?!

Then what is.....? :malik
Who knows.... I have stopped putting logic and reason behind any player selection/exclusion for a long time..... specially this board. This same board which banned players after last Aus/NZ tour... instead of resolving the issues behind the closed doors... just so the board could divert attention from their own deficiencies..

We all thought he had great backing of his fellow Sialkoti :ibutt, but we were wrong I guess!
No, I am more surprised at Fidous Awan's backing this time. Wonder what happened.

But then again, Farhat is also dropped.....wonder what happend to Mohammad Ilyas's backing this time..... or the slectors are wanting one of the openers to fail in NZ ... so that they can select Farhat for the World Cup.

W63L35 said:
But then again, Farhat is also dropped.....wonder what happend to Mohammad Ilyas's backing this time..... or the slectors are wanting one of the openers to fail in NZ ... so that they can select Farhat for the World Cup.

We won't fail :hafeez :ahmed :taufeeq

you posted this desire of yours second time.

Time to prove it!

I am sure you can not.

Should I ???

This isn't second grade dude. lol.

you clearly didn't read the article yourself before suggesting me to look it up.

hopefully you'll decipher articles better next time. :yk

:) :) :) ....so are u going to repeat the second grade or how ? heheh jk

Ah, I see.

Just checked it, did you read it yourself? I doubt it, so here you go:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2011/content/story/487064.html

Originally Posted by Decipher
I will repeat your words "Here you go" once Pakistan's WC squad is "approved" and announced. :) .

So here you go Sir;

Kamran and Malik were not "given clearance" for selection by the board's integrity committee, but the Pakistan Cricket Board did not give any further details as to why that decision was taken. "We discussed a vast pool of players but these two were not given clearance by the board," chief selector Mohsin Khan told ESPNcricinfo.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/new-zeal...ry/489779.html

And lemme tell you something, I still wish that he gets his act together and make a come back in the national squad ONLY to play a fair game. He was an excellent player but again a typical Pakistani ........ "Kacha Chore"

Why do you take everything Anwaar says ...so seriously. He just thinks, the whole world is against poor Malik.

Did Afridi call Anwaar and told him that?

Even if this is true, then don't you think it is captain's right to play the player he wants because at the end of the day the captin is responsible for the results.

Also, if it is the team that Afridi had a say in it, then he won't be able to complain ... that he was not part of the team selection.

But don't you think its unfair on malik?Bechaaray ne itni mehnat ki but to no avail.kis ki nazar lag gai mere chand ko.

Lagta hai Anwaar ki apni nazar lag gai hai... itni mohabat aur taareefain jo karta hai!

Why didn't "chaand" work this hard when he was part of the national team ... why he kept failing over and over again in these innings?

2d7v8tc.png

lol
Lagta hai shadi raas nahi ayie ... Sania ki apni bhi international ranking ney nose dive kia aur Shoaib ko bhi saath lay doobi,,, kambakht kalmoohi.

Oye badbakht bhabi par Ilzaam lagane se pehle tu itna bhi na socha ke woh 60 crore Hindustani soormaoon ko thukra kar aaye hain.

So, if Malik is better than 60 karoor Indians then does that mean he is worse than other 50 karoors?

Funny how with all the names that came out from the fixing fiasco Malik has not even got a
mention but all the haters on PakPassion still lump him with the fixers.

And before the fixing crises came up he was supposed to be a loner and had no friends in the team but then as soon as Akmal's and co name came into the fixers list Malik became Akmals best friend.

Anwaar what's the score with malik.After his FC performances I thought he would be picked for NZ tour.God forbid he is not under the scanner for fixing is he?

my guess
:afridi and :waqar don't like him much...(Malik is very vocal and ppl don't like who criticize)

^ are you sure about vocal? doesn't seem that type.

Don't you remember him screaming around in the ground specially when he was captain?

Any thing goes to justify your argument... or to make Malik look good...or to prove the whole world is against Malik (except Sania, Firdous and Anwaar)!

I mean in the sense that he's been described as a loner or whatever.

even PPer's descriptions of him have described him as the saryal type.

there's no doubt Afridi was gunning for the captaincy for many years, he has openly said it himself.

but compromising his performance on the field for it? I don't think he would go that far, no way.

and Afridi IIRC was Player of the Tournament in 2007 T20 WC.

there's no doubt Afridi was gunning for the captaincy for many years, he has openly said it himself.

but compromising his performance on the field for it? I don't think he would go that far, no way.

and Afridi IIRC was Player of the Tournament in 2007 T20 WC.

Yes he was Man of Series in 2007 but largely to do with his bowling performances. I still recall that shot he played in the final against Irfan Pathan. Why?

lol, I think we could count 500 shots he has played and ask that question :)

Should I ???

:) :) :) ....so are u going to repeat the second grade or how ? heheh jk

So here you go Sir;

Kamran and Malik were not "given clearance" for selection by the board's integrity committee, but the Pakistan Cricket Board did not give any further details as to why that decision was taken. "We discussed a vast pool of players but these two were not given clearance by the board," chief selector Mohsin Khan told ESPNcricinfo.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/new-zeal...ry/489779.html

And lemme tell you something, I still wish that he gets his act together and make a come back in the national squad ONLY to play a fair game. He was an excellent player but again a typical Pakistani ........ "Kacha Chore"

No one got any info...but you had been accusing him for match fixing. for ages....

Prove it!...

lol, I think we could count 500 shots he has played and ask that question :)

:)) Great reply!

People have very short & selective memory and they will only remember what they want to remember.

On the flip side, this is what Malik did under Afridi's captaincy after Afridi won the man of the series award in 2007 T20 WC under Malik;

1) Shoaib Malik is very vocal and is definitely a leader within the Pakistan camp. Although he did not play in this game, he was very vocal in all the training sessions and was one of three players who always sat on the bench. Whilst on the bench, he seemed particularly close to Umer Amin who sat with him throughout the four days. It was surprising to hear him talk a lot during the morning team talks with all the coaches just before play. I cannot say whether he is a disruptive influence or not but he certainly is a powerful figure in the Pakistan team. I also found him rude and ill mannered. He is the only player who I did not have a chat with, and when I greeted him with a salaam, he just ignored me. He also ignored the very few Pakistan fans present and often refused autographs despite the fact that he was just sitting around.
1) So.... since when a spectator in the match (Waq) has become an authority on Malik?
2) The writer (Waq) never said a word about what Malik was actually saying becuase I don't think he heard a word.
3) I am pretty sure, Waq was refering to "being vocal" ..... as in wicket keepers being vocal behind the wicket.... as in "shabash, shabahs"... that's all.

4) Since Waq is so authority on Malik now, any comment on "ill mannered and rude" part?

plus its open now that he criticized/mocked MoYo for his tactics in Aus.
Everybody critisized Yousuf's tactics..... so what is your point?

Afridi is on record that he spoke to Malik about his attitude.
Would any boss want an employee with an attitude work for them? Why do you think Symonds is not playing for Autralia?

On the flip side, this is what Malik did under Afridi's captaincy after Afridi won the man of the series award in 2007 T20 WC under Malik;

Nicely displayed W63L35 but surely all it demonstrates is that:

Malik is not a Test class batsmen
especially in seaming conditions
has been out of form even in LOI in recent times

It doesn't answer why he did not get a recall despite showing good form in domestics, which is the criteria the PCB laid down in front of him (according to recent reports).
Further it doesn't clarify MHK's statement which points to the PCB Integrity Cttee refusing to clear Malik for national selection.
This despite no evidence to suggest he is in any way linked to the spot/match fixing circles within the national set up.

We have a WC coming up early next year and one of our most consistent performers on these pitches is not getting a look in. I cannot fathom any reason for the situation to be so, other than Afridi (or someone else close to team management is keeping Malik out).

No one got any info...but you had been accusing him for match fixing. for ages....

Prove it!...

May be u need to get an appointment with PCB's wing that barred Malik from getting into the national squad. I am sure they must have some basis to blame Malik for throwing away the HK sixes?

Never took him seriously after the dastardly oathgate scandal - for that alone he deserves a banishment as do the other oath takers and other delinquents.

There's something not quite right about the bloke - marries somebody he's never met - over the telephone (iirc), who turns out to be not the somebody he intended to marry??!

Small incident still sticks in my mind - after Pak won the 2020 World Cup - Malik ran off the pitch after the winning runs were scored and took off his helmet. As he was getting interviewed, put his helmet back on? Seemed a strange thing to do.

As I said before, there's something not quite right about the bloke.

A cousin of mine used to have Pak cricketers stay with him, if they were playing in the local league. One of these guys was going on and on about "Shoiby" about how much he'd changed since he'd become Pak captain - not for the better either. Sadly the guy was talking in rapidfire Urdu, my lack of Urdu didn't help. He didn't paint a good picture of selectors. Enough to say - there's a reason why so many Pak players make their international debut, never to be heard of again.

May be u need to get an appointment with PCB's wing that barred Malik from getting into the national squad. I am sure they must have some basis to blame Malik for throwing away the HK sixes?

Sorry, burden to prove lies on accuser.

Afridi doesn't want him in squad.

:afridi and :waqar don't like him much...(Malik is very vocal and ppl don't like who criticize)

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=112717
If the report in Indian media is true.... then Hellooooooooooooooooooooo, anybody home?

W63L35 said:

Why do you take everything Anwaar says ...so seriously? He just thinks, the whole world is against poor Malik.

Did Afridi call Anwaar and told him that?

What did I tell you SS? :))

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=112717
If the report in Indian media is true.... then Hellooooooooooooooooooooo, anybody home?

What did I tell you SS? :))

Actually I am not surprised on you who expect Afridi to come on record that he doesn't want Malik in...
By the way its not a breaking news, Afridi said the similar things las month and showed his "confidence" on Malik...

Grow up and don't believe everything that you read on screen...

:zardari :king abdullah

Grow up and don't believe everything that you read on screen...

Yet.....YOU want us to believe everything YOU write on the screen? :akhtar

Actually I am not surprised on you who expect Afridi to come on record that he doesn't want Malik in...
But YOU said that Afridi does not Malik in the team??? Which screen do you read that on, and believed it? Mind sharing with us?

Afridi doesn't want him in squad.

By the way its not a breaking news, Afridi said the similar things las month and showed his "confidence" on Malik...

Can't make up your mind? :)))

You missed/ignored the :quote: confidence :quote:

... intentionally!! So that you could tell us which SCREEN you read and believed that Afridi does not want Malik in the team?

Let me guess, here is what your are going to do like a lot of previus times....... :runaway:

With reference to your observation about Malik at stadium...
how was his relation with Waqar?

and would u wanna address the issue of Malik being vocal:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3204138&postcount=1905

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=98139&page=24

Anwar, you directed the above question to me in another thread and I am some what confused at what you are getting at?

I saw Shoaib Malik liaise with Waqar Younis on occasions. I sensed no friction. Infact I saw Shoaib Malik participate in team talks in Waqar's presence during the warmup. As stated earlier, this is surprising and significant as Shoaib Malik was not even playing in this match!

Anything else you want to know about Malik from what I saw?

Most people would agree that Malik is not test material, what I don't understand is why so many here actually rate him in odi's and T20's????

The bloke is a bits and pieces cricket at best and even on a slow pancake wicket a slow medium pacer would feel confident of getting him out!! His technique against the short ball is symply pathetic!

725 runs in 7 innings

1x200, 3x100, 2x50, 1x48.
avg 120, The highest
most hundred in qea:4

725 runs in 7 innings

avg 120, The highest

most hundred in qea: 4

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm......! So, can we keep him where he belongs... in QEA trophy?
Malik's last 12 test innnings:
2, 32, 9, 3, 58, 19, 26, 10, 38, 9, 3, 3 = 212 runs in 6 test @ 17.66 ave.

Malik's last 9 ODI innings:
27, 2, 26, 11, 28, 2, 36, 8, 39 = 179 runs @ 19.88 ave and 66.05 S/R

Malik's last 7 T20 innings:
6, 7, 3, 33, 13, 21, 12 = 95 runs @ 13.57 ave and 94.05 S/R

Malik should be part of LO squads...... atleast in Subcontinent conditions ....he is a very useful player for Pak...

wouldn't yooooooooooou want us to keep playing Malik? :P

let's make a deal... you keep playing jadeja and we'll start playing malik.

27, 2, 26, 11, 28, 2, 36, 8, 39 = 179 runs @ 19.88 ave

id like someone to explain the above please..or will shahgird use some statistical formula and explain how these scores are actually earth shattering and bradmenesque!

Simple, if you "skip" 100 from someone's 10 innings then average would drop by 10 points. Basic Mathematics...

Now I question the morality of someone who would just check someone's 100 and then start counting after that inning.

If he aint a fixer he should be in the playing 11 for Fawad in T20s and Misbah in ODIs. Who ever is dropped he should be playing LOIs

Simple, if you "skip" 100 from someone's 10 innings then average would drop by 10 points. Basic Mathematics...
.... or along the same lines..... it we just pick the 7 good innings at flat-tracks against no-name bowlers, you would get the same result...based on the same basic math;

725 runs in 7 innings

avg 120, The highest

most hundred in qea: 4

Now I question the morality of someone who would just check someone's 100 and then start counting after that inning.
Look who is talking about morals.....??? whoes hero was shoved into the team as the sifarish of PM's son and Fridous Baji.

...and if we want live off of one 100 and worship that innings then ....these three players (azhar, ali naqvi, fawad) out of many should have been part of the team longer than they were;

.... or along the same lines..... it we just pick the 7 good innings at flat-tracks against no-name bowlers, you would get the same result...based on the same basic math;

Look who is talking about morals.....??? whoes hero was shoved into the team as the sifarish of PM's son and Fridous Baji.

...and if we want live off of one 100 and worship that innings then ....these three players (azhar, ali naqvi, fawad) out of many should have been part of the team longer than they were;

FYI, this isn't AM support thread.

AM has got good stats against SA (bob was SA's coach) and Bob (when he was coaching Pak) tried to bring him back...but alas it was too late....
I believe he was also the victim of mishandling.

FYI, this isn't AM support thread.

AM has got good stats against SA (bob was SA's coach) and Bob (when he was coaching Pak) tried to bring him back...but alas it was too late....
I believe he was also the victim of mishandling.

He was unlucky to be injured for long spells as well....

Qadam barhao Malik hum tumhare saath hain..... Saada Malik sher hai baqi sab her pher hai.....Saada Malik aave hi aave.....