Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NcQ4xTDeMLo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/s-Sl46S5Cpo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/OsKGxVy3Z-Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/cnmIksK-pxM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kwmmNe9ut1o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/uYzYxDUJwqc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Speaking of minnow bashers.....

Against Hyderabad (the minnows) Malik bowls and the opens the batting;
http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan-domestic-2011/engine/match/533334.html

Against a top of the line batting and bowling (Wahab Riaz and Cheema), he just runs away ....and does not bowl and does not open!!! Classic case of :runaway:

he take the responsibility to open the innings beacus absence of nazir and 2nd hawks are not bad team even from lahore lines last time they qualify for super 8 t20 and lahore not qualify remind you that hawks is a good team

Sania a special guest at the presentation. Biggest cheer of the night. :))) :)))

Play him (Malik) in tests.
and in ODIs/T20I against non-minnows

sharam kero haya kero.

Malik ke Jaga Hammad ko play kero

as a bowler or as a batsman ?

How about both???

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan-domestic-2011/engine/match/533342.html

Bowling: Best E/R (4.00) among the players from both team.
Batting: 3rd best S/R (171.42) among the players from both team.
Batting: Best S/R (S/R (171.42) among the players from both team.. (Qual: > 20 runs).

More importantly...... won a match from the jaws of the defeat for his team!

Malik used to be a decent bat in subcontinent conditions in limited overs games... recently his form has gone right out the window though. back when he used to play i was a fan and the team management screwed him over by giving 1 down position to YK; one of the only things i disagreed Imran khan with.

right now.. he'd have to earn his place back. ATM we probably have better options. he's sort of a misbah like player except misbah is a little better than him (at t20)

Speaking of minnow bashers.....

Against Hyderabad (the minnows) Malik bowls and the opens the batting;
http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan-domestic-2011/engine/match/533334.html

Against a top of the line batting and bowling (Wahab Riaz and Cheema), he just runs away ....and does not bowl and does not open!!! Classic case of :runaway:
opened when Nazir was ill. when Nazir was playing, did not need to open.

Needless bashing of him really, he batted pretty well and closed the game, and his captaincy was pretty good that match too.

I like the fact he doesn't bowl, his bowling should be used mainly as a back up in case things go wrong.

He might not be good in international T20 so much, but in domestic he's very good, and has been the Stallions best batsman over the past few years, and a fairly astute captain. His domestic record shows that.

Needless bashing of him really,
That is why you kept quite the whole Zimbabwe series ..since all the bashing Malik received was not needless?

He might not be good in international T20 so much, but in domestic he's very good, and has been the Stallions best batsman over the past few years, and a fairly astute captain. His domestic record shows that.

So...what's worng with keeping him at domestic level? Why bother him with any international matches? He'll keep performing in domestic matches and his fans will be very happy!

That is why you kept quite the whole Zimbabwe series ..since all the bashing Malik received was not needless?

So...what's worng with keeping him at domestic level? Why bother him with any international matches? He'll keep performing in domestic matches and his fans will be very happy!
Didn't keep quiet the whole Zimbabwe series. Said I was surprised he didn't score, and he's had his chance now on the Zimbabwe tour, so perhaps it's better to give other guys a chance now, and make Malik go back to domestic.

why don't you plan the strategy and tactics for SS ...so that SM follow it to make you happy...

as a starter:

what # he should bat? and what is the appropriate sr for him?
when should he bowl...at start ..or at death or in middle? and appropriate er?
where should he field?

why don't you plan the strategy and tactics for SS ...so that SM follow it to make you happy...

as a starter:

what # he should bat? and what is the appropriate sr for him?
when should he bowl...at start ..or at death or in middle? and appropriate er?
where should he field?

Kia baat hai...... kuch zara chirchiray sey la rahey hain aap!!! :P
Everything is OK??

Why are you getting frustrated at me, if your hero failed miserably in Zimbabwe? :P (well, only if you call that a failure)! :)

Kia baat hai...... kuch zara chirchiray sey la rahey hain aap!!! :P
Everything is OK??

Why are you getting frustrated at me, if your hero failed miserably in Zimbabwe? :P (well, only if you call that a failure)! :)

didn't you call sm minnow basher?

contradicting himself again?

didn't you call sm minnow basher?

contradicting himself again?

minnow basher is someone who scores heavily vs Minnows and is pathetic vs Top Teams

Maliks is pathetic vs Minnows and Pathetic vs Top Teams

Malik is being treated like he is a super star or something

Firdous Awan at his wedding
PCB ass lick
President's favor

and he gets selected over Proper Batsman like Shafiq and Azhar Ali :facepalm:

He already has brilliant tactics and strategy ....... and it seems to be working very well!

Losers complain...not a new thing.

Glad you told me.... otherwise I was going to start a "complain campaign" about;

+ Malik not being recognized as the greatest cricketer ever produced.
+ Malik not appointed captain of Pakistan's Test, T20 and ODI team.
+ etc etc etc....

I dont understand. How can anyone support him? With so much batting and bowling talents around in the domestic circuit, why would you want to have this nuisance? :akhtar He has been playing test cricket since 2001 and he averages just 33, and his first class average is crap too. He is a useless spin bowler turned into part time batsman, thus the phrase:jack of all trades, master of none.

Its not their fault that they are doing gaali galoch on the field?

And its hardly new, bad attitude has been around since Asif days.

Hunh? What?!

Sorry, momentary lapse on my part. I was looking for logic behind that statement.

At least give me credit for making him believe that I try to find logic in most of his statements.....! :P

What a big girl is Ahmad 'cry baby' Shehzad looks like he still gets nightmares about Balaji Rao :)))

At least give me credit for making him believe that I try to find logic in most of his statements.....! :P

You're a real trooper, man. I would have given up long time ago. I once wrote about another poster that constantly hated on Fawad Alam (seems apt for BZ as well)

"Every time I have the urge to respond, I get up from my chair, find the closest wall, and bang my head. It has the same effect and is much less painful"

Shoaib Malik , Sania Mirza meet Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari

Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik and his wife, Indian tennis star Sania Mirza, called on President Asif Ali Zardari on Thursday and discussed their efforts to raise funds for the relief and rehabilitation of flood victims in the country.

Expressing grief at the devastation caused by floods in southern Pakistan, the couple said they would launch a fund-raising campaign within and outside the country to help the victims, an official statement said.

Malik and Mirza said they would play exhibition matches in Pakistan and outside the country to generate funds for flood victims.

Zardari thanked them and expressed appreciation for their support for the flood victims.

Zardari appreciated Malik's cricketing skills and said sportspersons were ambassadors for their country.

Sportspersons earn a name for their country through their excellence in sports and contribute to the real potential and image of their country, he said.

Zardari also congratulated the couple on their marriage. Mirza, who recently suffered a knee injury, is on holiday while Malik is playing in Pakistan's National Twenty20 Championship.

The cricketer has said he hopes his marriage with Mirza will help in improving relations between Pakistan and India.

Malik further said he hoped that bilateral cricket ties with India would resume soon. Over the past few days, the couple visited Malik's hometown of Sialkot and travelled to Lahore on a private visit.

Mirza will be in Karachi for the Twenty20 Championship, in which Malik is captaining the Sialkot Stallions.

"I am here to play cricket and my wife is with me on a holiday, but obviously her presence is good for me and I hope to do well in the national tournament," Malik said. http://www.cricblitz.net/2011/09/sh...an.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik and his wife, Indian tennis star Sania Mirza, called on President Asif Ali Zardari on Thursday and discussed their efforts to raise funds for the relief and rehabilitation of flood victims in the country.

Expressing grief at the devastation caused by floods in southern Pakistan, the couple said they would launch a fund-raising campaign within and outside the country to help the victims, an official statement said.

Malik and Mirza said they would play exhibition matches in Pakistan and outside the country to generate funds for flood victims.

Zardari thanked them and expressed appreciation for their support for the flood victims.

Zardari appreciated Malik's cricketing skills and said sportspersons were ambassadors for their country.

Sportspersons earn a name for their country through their excellence in sports and contribute to the real potential and image of their country, he said.

Zardari also congratulated the couple on their marriage. Mirza, who recently suffered a knee injury, is on holiday while Malik is playing in Pakistan's National Twenty20 Championship.

The cricketer has said he hopes his marriage with Mirza will help in improving relations between Pakistan and India.

Malik further said he hoped that bilateral cricket ties with India would resume soon. Over the past few days, the couple visited Malik's hometown of Sialkot and travelled to Lahore on a private visit.

Mirza will be in Karachi for the Twenty20 Championship, in which Malik is captaining the Sialkot Stallions.

"I am here to play cricket and my wife is with me on a holiday, but obviously her presence is good for me and I hope to do well in the national tournament," Malik said. http://www.cricblitz.net/2011/09/sh...an.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

:zardari always asking money.

on Geo, they said clearly that Sania wont be playing exhibition matches for Pakistan..and might do for indian flood victims...

Lahore Lahore aye.....
jinay Lahore ni vekhya, jamya nai.....

What an innings, one of the best innings in the whole tournament.

He took quick singles and accelerated at the end and the time to do so, calculated the chase to perfection and ended up with 88* at a strike rate of 188. 88 off 49 is superb.

Kick in the teeth for some people.

Great ODI/T20 batsmen.

bowled well today in general. Let's see how he bats.
excellent with the bat too today. Great in the field. Real good all round performance by him. Credit to Rana Naved and Yousuf who also played well.

What an innings, one of the best innings in the whole tournament.

He took quick singles and accelerated at the end and the time to do so, calculated the chase to perfection and ended up with 88* at a strike rate of 188. 88 off 49 is superb.

Kick in the teeth for some people.

Great ODI/T20 batsmen.
Great domestic limited overs batsman. Proved it time and time again. Dunno why people debate that.

International standard, dunno. Probably just an ok one. Hasn't exactly lived up to what he's capable of. For example dunno how he can perform here, but failed so badly against Zimbabwe. He was probably playing under more pressure against better bowlers here too.

Chalo he played very well today but perspective is required ... Shahzaib Hasan (yes the useless hack) has been in the top 3 runscorers for this comp for the past 3 years.

Shoaib Malik has become the first Pakistan player to score 2000 Runs in Twenty20 Cricket

Great inning by malik.

But like I said yesterday in afridi thread this was against bunch of nobodies from Lahore Eagles.

Great inning by malik.

But like I said yesterday in afridi thread this was against bunch of nobodies from Lahore Eagles.

what about junaid's nishanay bazzi

300px-Designated_Marksman_Rifle_2.jpg

FLAT TRACK BULLY.

Nothing more to say. Will be useful in sub continent in shorter format.

But do you just pick a player based on conditions for the short term or do you look to the long term and try to groom a player who could potentially play in more trying conditions.

This is what Malik does best...
Oye.....mubarakaaaaan...... vadhaaaian......congaraJulationaaaan..... :)

One a year inning has been played... until next year! see ya! :P

tbh, i never criticize farhat for two reasons:

1) he won us matches against NZL and Aus
2) he is better than Malik

Why would you criticize Farhat.... ??? :P

to prove his critics wrong...again n again
Ask anybody on PP, they will attest that you have NEVER been wrong...! ;-)

..again n again..... I see what yo mean;

Does it really change anything ? Malik is still a mediocre international player, regardless of domestic cricket performances. Shahzaib Hasan and the like have always been domestic giants but poor internationals.

There are players who can just try to smash every ball :afridi

and then there are tuk tuk players :yk

and then there are players who choke :misbah

and then there are players who got all the gears and win matches :inzi :malik

Oye.....mubarakaaaaan...... vadhaaaian......congaraJulationaaaan..... :)

One a year inning has been played... until next year! see ya! :P

Why would you criticize Farhat.... ??? :P

Ask anybody on PP, they will attest that you have NEVER been wrong...! ;-)

..again n again..... I see what yo mean;

lol @ sorting

What a reply :)) I cannot top this gem, I really can't.

and then there are players who got all the gears and win matches

Malik and his 20s and 30s Wins games

Must be playing 6 Over Street Cricket

Does sorting change the FACT that Malik made 1 score of 50+ in 32 Innings?

Have you noticed that WL has added T20 with tests...20+ in T20 is not a failure but in test it is.

35+ in odis are not failure either./...so bundling all together and sorting..WL is just fooling Malik's haters.

Credit where it's due, it was a top knock and under pressure. We'll see how he goes in the final.

Agreed, played a superb innings albeit against an unproven attack, but it was under pressure and he single handedly won it for his side.

Have you noticed that WL has added T20 with tests...20+ in T20 is not a failure but in test it is.

35+ in odis are not failure either./...so bundling all together and sorting..WL is just fooling Malik's haters.

35+ is fine if the Batsman has a good enough Batting Average

In the last 25 ODI Matches Malik averages just 24 with S/R of 72

Do u know why he averages so low? because he made a lot of 10s and 20s in ODIs

OK.... I did not want to "ruin" the interview thread because I know, the reposes are going to get ugly therefore ... here is my response to Malik's interview;

“This happens to the best of cricketers – if you make a return after a long period, you obviously have pressure.

+ Is he admitting that he could not handle pressure????
+ What happened to all fans who claimed that Malik should be included based on his sparkling form in QAE Trophy?

You need some time to adjust – a little rusty perhaps but it is expected if you return to international cricket after a year and half,
What did you do in consecutive 28 innings when you were part of the team a year and half ago?

but I had support from the team, seniors and juniors as well as the management.
Not correct…. It is :ibutt only….juniors will not say or do anything….seniors did not play you in the test match. So it is only :ibutt...and BZ!

All I will say is that todays innings [against Lahore Eagles] seemed to remind me of my earlier international days when I was successful. Inshallah (God Willing), if I am selected for Pakistan again, I will perform very well”
That was 12 YEARS ago.... Mr. Malik!!! ....and thanks for admitting that you has been way below average player in the later part of his career.

“I have some goals in mind. The foremost amongst them is to perform well and excel in Test Cricket - to be consistent. As you know in any Test Cricket match, you get 2 innings to prove yourself and I want to do very well in that.
Lols….
Talk about begging (or is it campaigning) to get selected for the test team…. as he was knows that he was rightly ignored for Zimbabwe test.

Once you perform in Test Cricket then other forms of cricket such as One Day and Twenty20 are easier so the main goal is to excel in Test Cricket.
What kind of logic is this? What about brilliant LOI players who were never good test players?? He must now have heard about Bevan then. Another excuse/begging to be included in test team when he miserably failed against a no-name attack on very placid wickets in LOIs.

I have always done my best
We all know you did your best …. And you best for the last 2 years has been..... average of <20 in all three formats.

and its up to the selectors to choose the best possible team and for someone like me to use that opportunity to succeed.”
Just in case you did not notice …… Zimbabwe was a huge opportunity and someone failed miserably to grab it with his both hands.

“If you look at their [Sri Lanka's] recent record, they have done well. Fact is that whatever opposition it is, you cannot play them without proper planning. Just having big name players in your line-up is no guarantee of success
OMG…. I can’t believe he said that! He is considering himself a “big name player” and at the same time, he telling selectors NOT TO select young players like Asad Shafiq, Hammad Azam, Azhar Ali, Ramiz Raja?

– you must have 2 or 3 plans ready to utilize to win against them. Results will not come your way if you don’t play with full focus and as a unit.
What kind of planning you did, Mr. Malik for the Zimbabwe tour… may I ask? Better yet, what kind of planning you did for your performance in last 32 innings?

Captaincy only comes when you perform well. At the moment, all I am concentrating on is improving my performance.”
So players like McGrath, Warne and Murali never performed therefore captaincy never came to them? I have no idea what he means by this comment? Is he saying that if he starts to perform…. He DESERVES the captaincy?

“Yes, I have been working on my bowling during the Zimbabwe tour. The fact is, if Hafeez and I play together as all-rounders we can even play with one less regular bowler and provide that option to the selectors. I have worked hard on this and am hoping that both my batting and bowling will be good.

As you know, there aren’t too many players in international cricket that I haven’t dismissed. I have almost 150 wickets in the limited over formats. So I am hoping that when I bat, I bat like a regular batsman and when I bowl, I bowl like a regular bowler.
+ Begging to be selected by hook and crook!
+ Trying to make himself “look like” Hafeez!
+ Has been working on his bowling during Zimbabwe tour and yet bowled a total of 4 overs!
+ What has he done lately to call himself an all-rounder?

here are the separated stats .... for anybody who got fooled by "bundled up stats";

What an average..much better than yk..make him.captain in all three formats..

By the way how does he compare to bhanja in tests??

:umarakmal does the same job.

OK.... I did not want to "ruin" the interview thread because I know, the reposes are going to get ugly therefore ... here is my response to Malik's interview;

+ Is he admitting that he could not handle pressure????
+ What happened to all fans who claimed that Malik should be included based on his sparkling form in QAE Trophy?

What did you do in consecutive 28 innings when you were part of the team a year and half ago?

Not correct…. It is :ibutt only….juniors will not say or do anything….seniors did not play you in the test match. So it is only :ibutt...and BZ!

That was 12 YEARS ago.... Mr. Malik!!! ....and thanks for admitting that you has been way below average player in the later part of his career.

Lols….
Talk about begging (or is it campaigning) to get selected for the test team…. as he was knows that he was rightly ignored for Zimbabwe test.

What kind of logic is this? What about brilliant LOI players who were never good test players?? He must now have heard about Bevan then. Another excuse/begging to be included in test team when he miserably failed against a no-name attack on very placid wickets in LOIs.

We all know you did your best …. And you best for the last 2 years has been..... average of <20 in all three formats.

Just in case you did not notice …… Zimbabwe was a huge opportunity and someone failed miserably to grab it with his both hands.

OMG…. I can’t believe he said that! He is considering himself a “big name player” and at the same time, he telling selectors NOT TO select young players like Asad Shafiq, Hammad Azam, Azhar Ali, Ramiz Raja?

What kind of planning you did, Mr. Malik for the Zimbabwe tour… may I ask? Better yet, what kind of planning you did for your performance in last 32 innings?

So players like McGrath, Warne and Murali never performed therefore captaincy never came to them? I have no idea what he means by this comment? Is he saying that if he starts to perform…. He DESERVES the captaincy?

+ Begging to be selected by hook and crook!
+ Trying to make himself “look like” Hafeez!
+ Has been working on his bowling during Zimbabwe tour and yet bowled a total of 4 overs!
+ What has he done lately to call himself an all-rounder?

video added so please respond to his "urdu" interview...

:))) Why?

Why do I have to torture myself with listening to ....... something I have already read? Are you saying, the mods did not know what they were doing while doing Urdu-English translation? :P

Why don't you respond to my response to the interview?
Why don't you respond to my "unbundled" & "less-fooling" stats?

:))) Why?

Why do I have to torture myself with listening to ....... something I have already read? Are you saying, the mods did not know what they were doing while doing Urdu-English translation? :P

Why don't you respond to my response to the interview?
Why don't you respond to my "unbundled" & "less-fooling" stats?

English translation though accurate missed the soul of interview.
and your responses are illogical... (more like taunts)

Regarding the Test stats, after SL series, he failed in NZL...was good in Aus...and 2nd best (2nd least worst) after Farhat against England when compared with other Pakistanis in same matches...

ODI, bad tour of Zim, but he is not known for minnow bashers...so he wasn't needed really..