Black Zero
Is that for test cricket?
ODIS
Malik played 33 tests...so he is not among greats yet ...
as promised we will revisit this question after his 58th match
Is that for test cricket?
So shoaib is better then Salim? Wow.
criteria: match winners against major teams...
(my bad, I haven't excluded SL from JV/Salim/IK ..in that case inzi/malik/moyo would change positions)
IK won 30+ against SL out of his ~ 89 wins
Are you STILL talking about leadership???? If yes, then what part of BATTING ONLY is difficult to understand?
So.. can we get ranking of these batsmen for ODIs and test - separately?
Malik
Inzi
YK
MoYo
Saeed
Sohail
Inzi
Saeed
Malik
MoYo
Aamir
not including YK as he has to do something to be included.
note: you asking something different from wat ss wanted...
Inzi
Saeed
Malik
MoYo
Aamir
not including YK as he has to do something to be included.
note: you asking something different from wat ss wanted...
So Malik is a better ODI batsman then Moyo?
Yes, as MoYo is just a side hero :Sashi Kapoor
P.S. I added points for contribution as bowler.
Yes, as MoYo is just a side hero :Sashi Kapoor
P.S. I added points for contribution as bowler.
Malik is a better ODI batsmen then Yousuf ) ) )
That's why Yousuf has 9000 ODI runs compared to Maliks 5000 and has a much better average and that's why Yousuf is 11th on ODI scorers list.
first thing first...
r u satisfied with my response to your previous question/complain?
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4369789&postcount=4857
Younis Khan vs Malik in ODIs
Both haven't been great definitely, Malik's been terrible recently and Younis hasn't and over all I'm 100% sure if you see their careers Younis has played more match winning innings
acha?
Mr BZ you always lump a legend like YK with a talentless wonder like Malik. I will show you and the world once and for all that how poor Malik is compared to YK.
I have picked their test and ODI record in games they played together. Now you have no excuses like conditions/opponents etc.
YK in the test matches involving Malik.
filtered 2002-2009 20 36 1 1987 313 56.77 7 5
Shoaib Malik in tests involving YK.
filtered 2002-2009 20 34 4 1200 148* 40.00 2 6
YK averages 17 runs more per innings, Has 5 more hundreds. YK has 5 fifties compared to Maliks 6.YK has nearly 40% more runs then Malik.
YK in ODIs invoving Malik.
filtered 2000-2011 149 143 12 4233 144 32.31 5496 77.01 5 26
Malik in ODIs involving Malik.
filtered 2000-2011 149 132 14 4214 143 35.71 5345 78.84 7 24
Here Malik has slight advantage with avg of 3 runs more. Malik has two more hundreds but YK has two more fifties. YK has 151 runs then Malik.
Both of your arguments have some obvious gaps.
Which one you want me to address first as I do not want to mix as it seems you feel strongly about these points...?
Can you clarify your question pls.
acha?
BZ 1 - 0 Sallu
Looks like you were too quick to award a point to BZ..... but can you first get an answer from BZ (which I have never been able to) that how many innings a batman has to fail before he gets dropped? How about 35 innings? Is one 50 enough for an international batsmen in 35 inning to justify his place in the team... specially his record from 6-7 years ago?BZ 1 - 0 Sallu
Lets deal with test cricket the real format.
WL ye aap ne kin wakhtoon main daal diya BZ Sahab ko. He is yet to respond to my post above.
Not so fast AZ.....
I just took Asia out of the the two lists BZ posted and here is what those lists become.....
As we are talking about match winning innings, we need to look at the number of hundreds and fifties scored that eventually lead in helping the team win the match.
But if I judge fairly both Younis Khan and Malik have around equal proportion of 50s and Hundreds for matches won.
In conclusion, both are not exactly match winners
sure
I like your suggestion to compare both players in their shared test matches.
I would like to go one step further and compare inning by inning but first we have to create a fair ground for comparison.
Challenges of playing at different positions are different so we would need to normalize the performance per batting position.
and here is the normalization factor:
View attachment 20784
and below is the inning vs inning comparison of both in next post below:
So you are giving same weight to an average of 50 in 1970 to an average of 50 in 2010? ) ) )
I know why AZ hasn't even noticed your stats...
YK played 200+ and Malik 190+ and you presented 17 matches by Malik
how can someone engage in intelligent discussion here?
Who was the genius who kept posting last 10 innings of Malik over and over again....under your ID..if you think 17 is a small sample?
So you are giving same weight to an average of 50 in 1970 to an average of 50 in 2010?
maybe you haven't noticed ..it's about tests...
and i am sure there were tests before 1970.
) ) ) ) )
WL ye aap ne kin wakhtoon main daal diya BZ Sahab ko. He is yet to respond to my post above.
10 is appropriate to check recent performance but not when you comparing careers.
I hope that i am clear now.
Jaltay hain armaaan mera dil roota hai......
) ) ) ) )
How is it relevant to SS's question and to my response?
He is passionate about YK (while I am least interested in YK)
I want to satisfy SS that why I think "unees bees ka farq" btw YK and SM.
Black Zero said:10 is appropriate to check recent performance but not when you comparing careers.
Richard (the Lion heart) wasn't good enough (per his standard) in last few seasons that effected his overall stats...
Viv himself is to blame.
sure
I would like to go one step further and compare inning by inning but first we have to create a fair ground for comparison.
Challenges of playing at different positions are different so we would need to normalize the performance per batting position.
View attachment 20784
here is the inning vs inning comparison of both in next post below:
OMG.... another gem....
SS we need to book mark this post.... now according to our BZ paw-jee Samraweera (who has been dropped) is better than viv Richards! )
BZ check you post #4926
The total for Younus khan second innings is 875.41
And 875.41/16=54.71
Check you sums in excel carefully before posting
You are either a liar or ignorant!
BZ check you post #4926
The total for Younus khan second innings is 875.41
And 875.41/16=54.71
Check you sums in excel carefully before posting
You are either a liar or ignorant!
So for first innings Younis Khan clearly tops shoaib malik and for second innings there is tie. Thus Younus Khan wins the battle for matches played by both.
However, these were just around 17 innings, overall there is a huge difference in their second inning averages with Younis khan having second innings average of around 50 and Shoaib Malik only a second innings average of less than 40
I wont mind bashing
now it's your home work to crack this "puzzle"
You check with your teacher or WL..but now it's your homework!
sure
View attachment 20784
sure
View attachment 20784
Which puzzle
One more flaw I found with your normalization table is that you are using batting position from 1 to 7.
Why did you used just 7 positions? Why not all 11 eleven positions or just top six batting positions?
It is obvious that you used only 7 positions to give big advantage to Shoaib. Quite a slick move, I must say.
Black Zero took out Younis's innings of 194 from the total because Shoaib did not bat in that innings. If I understand correctly, any batsman that has to be compared to Shoaib, had to have batted in the same innings as Shoaib.
Quite an absurd thought, if true because if selectors are going to select Shaoib based on domestic performance then are they going to look at only Sialkot players and compare his performance with other Sialkot players? It does not make sense to me at all.
but IMO your normalization is completely incorrect.
Your normalization for each positions is combining all 4 innings of the test match but your Shoaib vs Younis analysis in the next post you are splitting the stats between first and second innings. You are making a mistake by applying first and second innings combined normalization to first innings and then second innings separately.
Another big flaw I found in your analysis is that you are not taking the 4 innings of a test match into consideration separately. To fix that, what you need to do is, that you find out normalization for each batting position by 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th innings of the test match and then apply to Younis and Shoaib's innings of the match accordingly.
Another big flaw mentioned by WL is that you can not lump averages since 1877 to averages in 2010 to calculate your normalization. At best, you should use the batting averages since 1999 when Malik made his debut.
Think again...
I am sure you would withdraw this "flaw" after giving it a thought...
otherwise let me know and i'd explain. (but i think you will figure out yourself)
oooooooooo reeeeeeeeeeeeeeally?I was just trying to follow the principle of "Keep it Simple $%^^"
Yes.... the challange of trying to prove how a "chala hua kartoos" (If I can borrow the term Monsee used) is better than one of the best test player Pakistan has ever produced.First we have to appreciate the challenges at hand.
- very small data set. (33 innings of YK, even less for Malik)
- if we divide this data set by 4 we get misappropriate portions.
1st: 11; 2nd: 6; 3rd:11;4th:5 (too small a data set to work upon with confidence as it would be hard to convince anyone that outcome isn't skewed)
- if we add 1st n 2nd and 3rd and 4th, we address above two challenges.
JB showed you a flaw in your calculations........ You figure it out what the net effect will be.Re: Normalization per inning basis
We can do normalization on 1st + 2nd innings and 3rd + 4th innings basis, but what you think what will be the net effect?
supposes YK gets advantage in 1st + 2nd then Malik would get in 3rd + 4th or other way around.
and now RE: Normalization period.
I have no objection on it as it will improve Malik's stats and lower YK's
Period Mar 5, 2002 to Jul 25, 2009
here are the numbers and you can see who will benefit from it:
#1 37.92 1.204
#3 45.67 1.000
#4 44.41 1.028
#5 41.33 1.105
#6 34.64 1.318
#7 29.55 1.546
How is this even a respectable debate? shame on BZ.
Okay I'm supporting Malik for this Bangladesh series. Hope he performs.
Just because people know how many valid and credible thoughts YOU HAVE (see the poll set up by AZ if you have any doubts), ......... you do NOT need to speak in riddles to put other people down.
Why can't you simply explain your reason for picking position 1-7 as asked by JB... beside trying a VAIN attempt of make Malik look better than Bradman?
Oh... I support Malik... IF he performs.
So to overcome the small data sample.... you can make a blunder of combining all four innings together. So the bottom line is comparison will be incorrect all together.
JB showed you a flaw in your calculations........ You figure it out what the net effect will be.
So you are willing to explain this .... (because it is making Malik look good) .... but JB's question about position 1-7 .... you want HIM to guess what the hell you were thinking? )
Mods now that BZ have presented his fancy stats against my simple argument that YK averages 17 runs more per innings in the games involving Malik with 5 more hundreds.
Can we please have a poll to decide the outcome.
Who is the better batsman based on test matches featuring both.
a) YK
b) Malik.
c) what a silly question.YK is miles better.
You should have asked about polls first...
Could've saved me the trouble as you know I am not so keen on YK's stats...
Anyway, i have responded as you asked...
So you are willing to explain this .... (because it is making Malik look good) ....
I wont mind bashing
now it's your home work to crack this "puzzle"
You check with your teacher or WL..but now it's your homework!
Ok Mr. einstein, so you eliminated younis khan's big innings because Shoab Malik didn't bat
^
Let me give an example
In test #1844, Younis Khan scores 130 odd. However, Shoaib Malik scores only 30 not out because Younis Khan scored heavily. May be Shoaib Malik could have scored more than 30 runs and increased his average.
The point is such kind of analysis is faulty and biased in terms of statistical analysis. I am neutral as far as statistics for Shoaib or Younis is concerned (Being a statistician).
^
Let me give an example
In test #1844, Younis Khan scores 130 odd. However, Shoaib Malik scores only 30 not out because Younis Khan scored heavily. May be Shoaib Malik could have scored more than 30 runs and increased his average.
The point is such kind of analysis is faulty and biased in terms of statistical analysis. I am neutral as far as statistics for Shoaib or Younis is concerned (Being a statistician).
You do know, for averages, in most cases, 30 NOT OUT, is like worth 130 out?
So not outs in most cases are very valuable, and hence can never be used as an excuse.
Secondly, no one can say the reason Malik has scored less because Younus scored more at a higher position. Everyone knows Malik was against opening. And coming in at 3.
Only yourself to blame if you get less chances in at no.5.
One last thing. How many times have Pakistan been 700-800 for 5....with Malik scoring a double 100? He's had aTON of opportunities to score with Inzi/Moyo/Younis and even when Kamran was knocking in centuries.
How many times have Pakistan failed to chase 300/400 in the 4th innings, with Malik in the team. He has failed the team so much......unbelievable to use the reasoning of not enough opportunities.
P.S: BZ, I didn't exactly say that in my quote. You make me sound like I don't know any grammer.
fyi
he was "arguing" for YK
Kya chakka lagaya hai Sullu. BZ knocked over.