South Africa (212/3) defeat India (211/4) by 7 wickets to win the 1st T20I

L Rahul has been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against South Africa due to a groin injury, the BCCI stated on Wednesday.

Rahul was set to captain the side in the five-match series. In his absence, Rishabh Pant will take over the reins as skipper for the first time.

Hardik Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans to the IPL 2022 title in his first tournament as captain, has been named vice-captain of the side, which is missing the rested trio of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah.

Kuldeep Yadav, the left-arm wrist-spinner, has also been ruled out of the series – he sustained an injury on his right hand while batting in the nets on Tuesday evening.

Rahul and Kuldeep will report to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, where the medical team will decide on the future course of treatment for both.

India’s T20I squad: Rishabh Pant (c/wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

5. Report abuse. If you see any post which is inappropriate, report it. Do not respond to it

If India win this, they can make a world record (13 T20I wins in a row; most by any team).

Meaningless unless they win an icc event in LOI. They are like old s Africa from 2010-2015. They are a top test side like them but in LOI india haven't won an icc event since 2013.

Why the heck are Pakistan & India punishing their players to play these meaningless white ball in this incredible heat!

It is only a matter of time before a casualty happens. Players are humans, no robots.

It is good to test the youngsters here. Winning and losing won't be much of a deal here because from this 11, I can only see 4-5 names going into Indian WT20 squad.

South Africa have won the toss and have opted to field

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Temba Bavuma(c), Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

It is good to test the youngsters here. Winning and losing won't be much of a deal here because from this 11, I can only see 4-5 names going into Indian WT20 squad.

Yeah and when the world cup comes we are not even sure of which guys should play in the XI. This has been a flop story for more than 15 years now. Some guys take rest and get themselves injured in international T20s and then look like rabbits caught in the headlights when the world cup starts. :facepalm :inti

Excellent team selection no Umran Malik and some useless called Avesh Khan is playing.

Well done BCCI well done 👏

Dont really follow the Indian T20 team much - who is the new opener called Gaikwad, is he a big hitter? Stats dont look amazing..

Yeah and when the world cup comes we are not even sure of which guys should play in the XI. This has been a flop story for more than 15 years now. Some guys take rest and get themselves injured in international T20s and then look like rabbits caught in the headlights when the world cup starts. :facepalm :inti

These games are meant for timepass and entertainment. We should not keep any expectations from this game.

Dont really follow the Indian T20 team much - who is the new opener called Gaikwad, is he a big hitter? Stats dont look amazing..

No, he is a typical Subcontinent type batsman, plays spin, likes to open the batting.

One look at the playing eleven and I'm like-Meh. One of rare moments when India is playing and i decided to check the scroreboard at regular intervals rather than watching the match live.

I mean just 2 proper batters? Who plays 3 wks? One of them keeps making comebacks only to be descarded again and again. Other two have similar approach of hit or miss. Don't we have proper batsmen in domestics?

Then this fake allrounder Hardik 'Im fit to bowl in IPLs only' Pandya. Bowling unit is pathetic. It makes me feel like puking. Harshal Patel, B.Kumar, Avesh Khan. I mean come on.

I like Yashasvi Jaisawal or Paddikal better than Gaikwad. All three of them are openers.

Entertainment i agree but bhai these games are also for getting your best eleven for Major tournaments. 2 months of IPL was enough timepass and entertainment (and torture)

Why is Dinesh Karthik still playing for India in 2022?

Sympathy i guess ( and couple of cameos in IPL). Social media was full of articles during IPL that how he was ditched by a team mate and 1st wife, was a mess mentally, overcame that and made a comeback to cricket. I don't see any other reason. If IPL was the reason, then we have atleast 10 guys better than him.

Most matches missed bw two T20I appearances (SA)

51 H Kuhn (2011-17)
51 W Parnell (2017-22) *
35 M van Wyk (2011-15)
29 M de Lange (2012-14)

Why is Dinesh Karthik still playing for India in 2022?

We need someone at 6-7 to finish games and based on IPL he was one of the best for those slots and also has experience and previous reputation as a good finisher in T20. He earned it.

Kishan, Gaikwad, Shreyas struggled badly during IPL. They are lucky to find a spot in the Indian squad based on form.

Jaiswal, Patidar, Abhishek Sharma all played much better than the batsmen in this squad.

Kishan is a free flowing batsman. But he can be easily fooled by skillful bowlers who can vary their pace. This guy will not last more than 3 balls against someone like Shaheen Shah.

In other words, he is a hack with a lot of limitations.

He will not last against any skillful bowler on a bowler assisting tracks. He thrives on today's kind of conditions.

In other words, he is a hack with a lot of limitations.

He is a hack and there is no question about it. The way he loses his shape, gets leading edges, inside edges is a thing to behold. He is a slightly inferior version of Rishab Pant. Its just that Pant has better array of shots.

Kishan, Gaikwad, Shreyas struggled badly during IPL. They are lucky to find a spot in the Indian squad based on form.

Jaiswal, Patidar, Abhishek Sharma all played much better than the batsmen in this squad.

May be they were enjoying their paid vacation in IPL and now that international cricket is back, they are taking it seriously? :inti

Audition? Really? How many players from the current squad do not have an IPL contract? Kindly list them. :inti

Think he meant dress rehearsal for SA players. Players like Shamsi, Bavuma, Maharaj etc. all aspiring for IPL contracts and doing well in this series means they will get attention from owners. So he is right in saying many players taking it as dress rehearsal for IPL.

Indian players are mostly taking it as practice for bigger tournaments like WC and Asia Cups etc.

Think he meant dress rehearsal for SA players. Players like Shamsi, Bavuma, Maharaj etc. all aspiring for IPL contracts and doing well in this series means they will get attention from owners. So he is right in saying many players taking it as dress rehearsal for IPL.

Indian players are mostly taking it as practice for bigger tournaments like WC and Asia Cups etc.

You don’t need to break it down to him. He only acts like he is “challenged”.

Africans missing easy stumpings & dropping dollies.. cost of living they need beefier IPL contracts !!

Must be terrible to be a professional cricketer outside of India because every single thing they do or say has to revolve around appeasing Indian cricket even though it means swallowing pride and integrity.

He will be out of the team once Rahul comes back.

I feel Kishan is a kind of player who should play like a finisher. Basically a backup for Pant.

Can he hit from the first ball without pace early on is questionable. I don’t think I have ever seen him bat below 4.

Avesh Khan is absolute garbage in T20 cricket.

Can't believe he is picked ahead of Umran.

Good innings by Kishan but his game against pace bowling is susceptible. Hitting left arm spinners being a left handed batsman is not tough.

Anyway, its time for Pant (the real deal)

The great man of Gabba comes in for having a go in a hongkong sixes standard match. :inti

Good to see some posters commenting in the audition threads for IPL. Not sure why don't they participate when their IPL matches are going on? Maybe they are more interested in audition matches than the IPL itself? :inti

Iyer can barely play Rabada. And finally does his dance for a four. :warner

Easy run out chance fielder lobs ball over the guy waiting to run him out.. these guys must think we were born yesterday.

Nearly as worse as Afghans parrying the ball over boundary in last years World Cup game v Ind

Play Iyer only against a team which has two spinners and trundlers in that attack. He struggles vs 140+ kph bowling.

Best Indian XI if everyone fit:-

Rohit
Rahul/Kohli
SKY
Pant
Pandya
DK
D Chahar
Harshal
Shami
Bumrah
Yuzi

Rishabh Pant is what Shoaib Akthar wants to create among upcoming Pakistan players.

Daler, Badmash, jigrawala, brand, Star and budtameez.

Jay Shah must be smelling $$$.

Magnificent hitting..All hail the Gabba fortress destroyer :inti

Some of the sixes which Indian players are hitting today or even in Pak-WI match yesterday will be caught in the boundary in longer Australian grounds. Considering the world cup is in Australia this time, players need to be mindful.

This has to be ugliest stadium in the country with Pan Masala and Cycle Agarbatti ads everywhere. Such an eyesore

[MENTION=151383]Local.Dada[/MENTION] - what would be your playing XI in the T20 world cup, considering everyone is fit?

Some of the sixes which Indian players are hitting today or even in Pak-WI match yesterday will be caught in the boundary in longer Australian grounds. Considering the world cup is in Australia this time, players need to be mindful.

Rohit can clear Australian boundaries. :inti

They won’t play on test grounds. I saw big bash their boundaries are smaller than IPL actually and they bring the rope in.

In fact this years IPL had decent sized boundaries.

Yes, they might struggle with the bounce etc and won’t find it easy to hit 6’s as easily as they do in sc conditons.