The 'Ramadan Kareem' Thread

Not going to be fasting this time. I don't have the patience, energy, and the willpower to do so.

Good luck everyone.

It's Ramadhaan actually. Habeebi.

Yes, but the closest equivalent to the Arabic ض in English is the "d", which is why Ramadhaan is often simply written as Ramadan. However, technically, it should be written as Ramadhaan and not Ramadan.

Ramadan is the actual word while Ramazan is the Pakistani pronunciation

Kind of like how some people in Pakistan pronounce biscuits as Biskuts .

In the word Ramadan/Ramadhaan, the ض is pronounced as "dh" in Arabic.

However, because of the heavy Persian influence on Urdu, the ض is pronounced as a "z".

Hence, in Urdu, it is Ramzaan. To each their own, but to see Pakistanis called it Ramadan/Ramadhaan is a bit of pet peeve of mine.

Same goes for the word Wudhu, which is Wuzu in Urdu. It is interesting to note that Pakistanis do not call Wuzu Wudhu, and they bring out the inner Arabic speaker in them only when it comes to the word Ramzaan.

As far as biscuit/biskut is concerned, the actual word for biscuit in Urdu is "khatai". However, that word tends to be strictly used for shortbread biscuits only "nankhatai".

Biscuit is usually called biskut because of the accent, and not because it is an actual word for biscuit in Urdu. However, Ramzaan is an actual word in Urdu, because of the fact that its dialect is different from Arabic and heavily influenced by the softer and milder Persian.

lol when I was mod I changed spelling of thread title to 'Ramzan' but it got changed next year...

Ramzan Mubarak everyone!

In the word Ramadan/Ramadhaan, the ض is pronounced as "dh" in Arabic.

However, because of the heavy Persian influence on Urdu, the ض is pronounced as a "z".

Hence, in Urdu, it is Ramzaan. To each their own, but to see Pakistanis called it Ramadan/Ramadhaan is a bit of pet peeve of mine.

Same goes for the word Wudhu, which is Wuzu in Urdu. It is interesting to note that Pakistanis do not call Wuzu Wudhu, and they bring out the inner Arabic speaker in them only when it comes to the word Ramzaan.

As far as biscuit/biskut is concerned, the actual word for biscuit in Urdu is "khatai". However, that word tends to be strictly used for shortbread biscuits only "nankhatai".

Biscuit is usually called biskut because of the accent, and not because it is an actual word for biscuit in Urdu. However, Ramzaan is an actual word in Urdu, because of the fact that its dialect is different from Arabic and heavily influenced by the softer and milder Persian.

lol when I was mod I changed spelling of thread title to 'Ramzan' but it got changed next year...

Ramzan Mubarak everyone!

Pakistanis trying to be more Arabic I guess. Just like seeing them saying 'Suhoor, Mabrook' etc.

Doesnt matter how you say it, its what we do as Muslims - so Ramzan or Ramadan Mubarak

Never expected you to be a weakling :O

I'm not going to munch 3700 calories in 6 hours. It's about my nutrition, not working out. I could have made time for gym if I wanted to, that's a lighter issue.

Never expected you to be a weakling :O

I'm not a religious person when it comes to the everyday stuff, I don't like to pretend. It does not make sense for me to fast in the first place.

What does that even mean? :13:

Man had Cocoa Puffs, banana and boiled egg for sehri. Now I'm dumb hungry.

Ramzan Mubarak everyone!

Why does it matter? Just respect the OPs wishes.

Let people speak whatever way fhey want.

Sad to see people focusing over petty issues.

Relax and enjoy the month, folks. It'll be over soon enough.

Sad to see people focusing over petty issues.

Relax and enjoy the month, folks. It'll be over soon enough.

Common sense says it should be a non-issue. When speaking English or any other language besides Urdu I say "Ramadan" because those languages have borrowed the original word from Arabic. However when speaking Urdu it is only second nature to say "Ramzaan".

Exactly.

BUMP: As'salamu Alaikum

Ramzan/Ramadhan/Ramadan right around the corner

This is a reminder for me first and a reminder for you

If your Taqwa doesn't increase from the beginning to end of this blessed month, then please DON'T starve yourself. This month is mostly to increase your Taqwa. Only Boot camp atmosphere can achieve this. Take it easy at the beginning so that you end it (heavy lifting in the last 10 days) on a high note. Remember this is not a sprint but a marathon.

So get ready, read up on how to increase it, what are the signs that it has increased etc. Etc. (Sheikh Google is there or you can ask and I can provide some of them here)

Keep me in your prayers and I will do the same.

BUMP: As'salamu Alaikum

Ramzan/Ramadhan/Ramadan right around the corner

This is a reminder for me first and a reminder for you

If your Taqwa doesn't increase from the beginning to end of this blessed month, then please DON'T starve yourself. This month is mostly to increase your Taqwa. Only Boot camp atmosphere can achieve this. Take it easy at the beginning so that you end it (heavy lifting in the last 10 days) on a high note. Remember this is not a sprint but a marathon.

So get ready, read up on how to increase it, what are the signs that it has increased etc. Etc. (Sheikh Google is there or you can ask and I can provide some of them here)

Keep me in your prayers and I will do the same.

I've always wondered about this. If you are someone who isn't doing the other essentials like praying 5 times a day consistently. Shouldn't you get that part of your life sorted out before taking on fasting? What is a fast if you can't pray 5 times a day etc?

No this isnt the correct line of thinking.
Fasting is one obligation and prayers is another.If you arent doing one you will definitely get the sin/punishment of that and you need to sort it out but that doesnt mean you leave the other obligation as well and increase your sins.Thats shaytan's way of influencing our thinking.

Its very simple.If you miss a quiz in a university that doesnt mean you are now deliberately not going to submit your assignment as well just because you skipped the quiz.you will definitely get a zero in the quiz but there will be seperate marking for the assignment and you need to submit that.

A happy and purposeful Ramadan or Ramzaan to all!

Ramdhan Mubarak. It comes so quickly.

An opportunity for us all to discard our sinful ways.

I used to mock those who used Ramadan as a month of redemption, but it worked well for me last year so I will use it again.

Ramadan Mubarak. During this righteous and blessed month, may Allah swt. forgive our sins and shower us all with his blessings and mercy.

Ramadan Mubarak to all those who adhere to it.

I personally am not going to follow the official Islamic rules and allow for a sip of water here and there. My personal motivation is not to please Allah but for the health benefits and as a mean to cherish the bond with my Muslim family and friends. Though they won't know about the sip of water.

Ramadan Mubarak to everyone.This time around I m contemplating if I m going to fast or not.I have exams whole month.It is going to be difficult I guess.

Ramadan Mubarak to all those who adhere to it.

I personally am not going to follow the official Islamic rules and allow for a sip of water here and there. My personal motivation is not to please Allah but for the health benefits and as a mean to cherish the bond with my Muslim family and friends. Though they won't know about the sip of water.

Health benefits? You're starving yourself.

As long as I am eating enough in suhoor and Iftar it should be all good and little risk if starvation.

I haven't searched the health benefits of Ramadan style fasting specifically but with all the hype around intermittent fasting there got to be one or two. If not atleast I could lose some extra fat and detox the body. For me the primary motivation is the bond with others. Especially since the atmosphere and the vibe of Ramadan is something I have enjoyed throughout the years. Ignoring the Taraweeh part.

Intermittent fasting is a revelation. I've been doing it intermittently (pun intended) for years now, and it makes fat loss a breeze, especially when coupled with a low-carb diet and a strength program. Martin Berkhan, the authority on IF, recommends a reverse pyramid training template to go with the fasting protocol.

That said, being used to fasting 16 hours a day as I was, I thought Ramzan would be easier for me than it had been prior to adopting IF. It really isn't the case. The 16-hour IF fast includes sleeping hours, and non-caloric beverages are allowed. In Ramzan, it is the thirst that gets you. Staying hungry is easy as long as you can have water. I've twice done week-long fasts, which help reset your relationship with food if you've been careless and have put on some fat, and they're easy enough to do as long as there's a water bottle nearby.

I'm dreading tomorrow's roza, even though I've been back on IF for a few months now. It will be brutal, like first rozas are every year.

Have we had our annual Muneeb-Popalzai kerfuffle yet or is that due today?

It already happened yesterday.
Ruet e Hilal committe did not spot the moon so Ramadhan did not start today but is due tomorrow but Popalzai rejected the decision and announced the first fast today so it was observed in Peshawar etc today,i guess.

Missed the first fast due to fever. Will start from tonight inshallah. I’m also worried about my squash training. I don’t think I can train while fasting. I’ll be on the floor in minutes due to dehydration. Anyone else who had similar problem and perhaps any suggestion how to tackle it? Thanks

dunno but i was reading its Fawad Chaudhry vs Mullahs these days

It already happened yesterday.
Ruet e Hilal committe did not spot the moon so Ramadhan did not start today but is due tomorrow but Popalzai rejected the decision and announced the first fast today so it was observed in Peshawar etc today,i guess.

Heard the latter had invented a new moon yesterday.

Fawad made all the headlines this time, though.

Today was a blur if ever there was one. I vaguely registered something about Fawad Chaudhry ordering the moonsighting committee a giant telescope so we can avoid this controversy next year.

It’s a waste of money in my book. I for one quite prefer the feisty Mr. Popalzai over the dour Mr. Muneeb. What’s better than Eid? Two Eids, that’s what.

By the way, Popalzais are Afghan royalty, as any student of history would tell you. If fate had taken a different course, this gentleman could’ve been king across the Durand Line. Instead he doubles our Eids every year, for which he deserves to be commended.

Ramzaan Mubarak to every one:)

First fast of 20 hours went quite well Alhamdulillah, only 28/29 more to go:)

Ramzaan Mubarak to every one:)

First fast of 20 hours went quite well Alhamdulillah, only 28/29 more to go:)

Mashallah bhai may Allah Pak give you health & courage for the entire month & BTW 20 hrs are too long.

Ameen, thank you and same to you brother. The days are getting even longer so in the end it will be 21 hours.
Yes they are long but human body is very flexible and slowly it get’s used to not getting food and drink for 20 hours, alhamdulillah.
I even managed 45 minutes work out while fasting, important to do it close to iftaar in case things don’t go as planned.
I think this is the best time to get in shape, work hard, calorie-deficit and a big protein-shake at Iftaar:)

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] do you mind me asking where you live? Are you in Pak again these days?

Also, what's a food that stays in your stomach the longest but also isnt unhealthy

In before the Ramadan Kareem vs Ramzan Mubarak fight.

It's the most annoying part of PakPassion/liberal Pakistanis authors.

Could you imagine English speakers removed French and German words from their vocab to keep it British?

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] do you mind me asking where you live? Are you in Pak again these days?

Also, what's a food that stays in your stomach the longest but also isnt unhealthy

I’m in Colorado. How about you? Still in North Carolina or have you moved?

Proteins and complex carbs would take the longest to digest. Haleem/hareesa is therefore the perfect sehri food, since it’s got several whole grains, lots of protein and a good helping of fat. There’s a reason it’s mentioned in the sunnat as a sehri food.

A scoop of casein protein would work too. Just don’t add it to the haleem.

Proteins and complex carbs would take the longest to digest. Haleem/hareesa is therefore the perfect sehri food, since it’s got several whole grains, lots of protein and a good helping of fat. There’s a reason it’s mentioned in the sunnat as a sehri food.

I actually moved out of NC for a few years but am back there now (another job opportunity). I thought you were in Cali or NYC. Plan on visiting Colarado some day and maybe we can meet as well. Actually, would be cool to have a pakpassion North America meetup!

I'm going to try Haleem then. I hope desi ghee is also good for you because I love the fried onions. I'm guessing chicken would be healthier than beef but you just cant beat a beef Haleem. I'm getting so hungry now....

I actually moved out of NC for a few years but am back there now (another job opportunity). I thought you were in Cali or NYC. Plan on visiting Colarado some day and maybe we can meet as well. Actually, would be cool to have a pakpassion North America meetup!

I'm going to try Haleem then. I hope desi ghee is also good for you because I love the fried onions. I'm guessing chicken would be healthier than beef but you just cant beat a beef Haleem. I'm getting so hungry now....

Certainly, if you ever visit, let me know and we will try to get the calendars in sync.

Desi ghee is fine in moderation. As far as dietary fats go, there are far worse ones than ghee. Beef is fine too in moderation, even if lean white meat is better for the heart.

Pretty crazy eating and sleeping schedule this Ramadan. Can't seem to fall asleep after eating Sehri. And before Sehri i hardly sleep for 3 hours. I feel so energized after sehri that I don't know what to do. Since I must sleep and wake up for life commitments.

Didn't have this issue in previous Ramadan. Not sure if it's because this Ramadan I am having a healthy Oats and fruits for sehri instead of the heavy "Anda Paratha aur Dehi" sehri or if it's just the pressure to fall asleep on the spot.

Today's Iftaar: Beef Bihari Kebab with Paratha. I'm so healthy.

Ma sha Allah. Ethe rakh!

My iftaari: Paratha with spicy red kidney beans and pakodhe of course.

Thanks for the advices. But mutton dishes at sehri is too heavy for me at least.

Paratha with turkish yogurt has worked quite well for me for many many years. And if you add water with chia seeds, you will not feel hungry for 20 hours.

Iftar at Ilford Mosque

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/6fx0n/tszgjs" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Iftar at Ilford Mosque

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/6fx0n/tszgjs" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

MashaAllah

It's back! The best time of the year. :)

Most of us have more time this Ramadan than we ever did, so let's make sure to make the most of it.

It's back! The best time of the year. :)

Most of us have more time this Ramadan than we ever did, so let's make sure to make the most of it.

Indeed. This is a beautiful month and we should cherish it as long as we live.

My body and mind feel much better during this great month.