Abdul
Not going to be fasting this time. I don't have the patience, energy, and the willpower to do so.
Good luck everyone.
It is Ramzaan, not Ramadan. Please habibi.
It's Ramadhaan actually. Habeebi.
Ramadan is the actual word while Ramazan is the Pakistani pronunciation
Kind of like how some people in Pakistan pronounce biscuits as Biskuts .
In the word Ramadan/Ramadhaan, the ض is pronounced as "dh" in Arabic.
However, because of the heavy Persian influence on Urdu, the ض is pronounced as a "z".
Hence, in Urdu, it is Ramzaan. To each their own, but to see Pakistanis called it Ramadan/Ramadhaan is a bit of pet peeve of mine.
Same goes for the word Wudhu, which is Wuzu in Urdu. It is interesting to note that Pakistanis do not call Wuzu Wudhu, and they bring out the inner Arabic speaker in them only when it comes to the word Ramzaan.
As far as biscuit/biskut is concerned, the actual word for biscuit in Urdu is "khatai". However, that word tends to be strictly used for shortbread biscuits only "nankhatai".
Biscuit is usually called biskut because of the accent, and not because it is an actual word for biscuit in Urdu. However, Ramzaan is an actual word in Urdu, because of the fact that its dialect is different from Arabic and heavily influenced by the softer and milder Persian.
lol when I was mod I changed spelling of thread title to 'Ramzan' but it got changed next year...
Ramzan Mubarak everyone!
Ramzaan mubarak everyone.![]()
Not going to be fasting this time. I don't have the patience, energy, and the willpower to do so.
Good luck everyone.
Never expected you to be a weakling![]()
I'm not a religious person when it comes to the everyday stuff, I don't like to pretend. It does not make sense for me to fast in the first place.
lol when I was mod I changed spelling of thread title to 'Ramzan' but it got changed next year...
Ramzan Mubarak everyone!
Is it just me or is the time moving incredibly slow..........![]()
Just you bro. It will be over in a flash and you’ll be like where did Ramadan go![]()
The inner peace what you get is the most soothing thing in Ramadan.Man I love Ramadan. Feels so freaking good.
Sad to see people focusing over petty issues.
Relax and enjoy the month, folks. It'll be over soon enough.
Sad to see people focusing over petty issues.
Relax and enjoy the month, folks. It'll be over soon enough.
Common sense says it should be a non-issue. When speaking English or any other language besides Urdu I say "Ramadan" because those languages have borrowed the original word from Arabic. However when speaking Urdu it is only second nature to say "Ramzaan".
BUMP: As'salamu Alaikum
Ramzan/Ramadhan/Ramadan right around the corner
This is a reminder for me first and a reminder for you
If your Taqwa doesn't increase from the beginning to end of this blessed month, then please DON'T starve yourself. This month is mostly to increase your Taqwa. Only Boot camp atmosphere can achieve this. Take it easy at the beginning so that you end it (heavy lifting in the last 10 days) on a high note. Remember this is not a sprint but a marathon.
So get ready, read up on how to increase it, what are the signs that it has increased etc. Etc. (Sheikh Google is there or you can ask and I can provide some of them here)
Keep me in your prayers and I will do the same.
I've always wondered about this. If you are someone who isn't doing the other essentials like praying 5 times a day consistently. Shouldn't you get that part of your life sorted out before taking on fasting? What is a fast if you can't pray 5 times a day etc?
Ramadan Mubarak to all those who adhere to it.
I personally am not going to follow the official Islamic rules and allow for a sip of water here and there. My personal motivation is not to please Allah but for the health benefits and as a mean to cherish the bond with my Muslim family and friends. Though they won't know about the sip of water.
Health benefits? You're starving yourself.
Have we had our annual Muneeb-Popalzai kerfuffle yet or is that due today?
dunno but i was reading its Fawad Chaudhry vs Mullahs these days
It already happened yesterday.
Ruet e Hilal committe did not spot the moon so Ramadhan did not start today but is due tomorrow but Popalzai rejected the decision and announced the first fast today so it was observed in Peshawar etc today,i guess.
Heard the latter had invented a new moon yesterday.
Fawad made all the headlines this time, though.
Ramzaan Mubarak to every one
First fast of 20 hours went quite well Alhamdulillah, only 28/29 more to go![]()
Mashallah bhai may Allah Pak give you health & courage for the entire month & BTW 20 hrs are too long.
In before the Ramadan Kareem vs Ramzan Mubarak fight.
[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] do you mind me asking where you live? Are you in Pak again these days?
Also, what's a food that stays in your stomach the longest but also isnt unhealthy
I’m in Colorado. How about you? Still in North Carolina or have you moved?
Proteins and complex carbs would take the longest to digest. Haleem/hareesa is therefore the perfect sehri food, since it’s got several whole grains, lots of protein and a good helping of fat. There’s a reason it’s mentioned in the sunnat as a sehri food.
A scoop of casein protein would work too. Just don’t add it to the haleem.
I actually moved out of NC for a few years but am back there now (another job opportunity). I thought you were in Cali or NYC. Plan on visiting Colarado some day and maybe we can meet as well. Actually, would be cool to have a pakpassion North America meetup!
I'm going to try Haleem then. I hope desi ghee is also good for you because I love the fried onions. I'm guessing chicken would be healthier than beef but you just cant beat a beef Haleem. I'm getting so hungry now....
Today's Iftaar: Beef Bihari Kebab with Paratha. I'm so healthy.
I’m in Colorado. How about you? Still in North Carolina or have you moved?
Proteins and complex carbs would take the longest to digest. Haleem/hareesa is therefore the perfect sehri food, since it’s got several whole grains, lots of protein and a good helping of fat. There’s a reason it’s mentioned in the sunnat as a sehri food.
A scoop of casein protein would work too. Just don’t add it to the haleem.
Iftar at Ilford Mosque
<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/6fx0n/tszgjs" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>
It's back! The best time of the year.
Most of us have more time this Ramadan than we ever did, so let's make sure to make the most of it.