Syed1
ODI Captain
- Post of the Week
4 years in the making but she finally has said yes..........
Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?!?!?!?!?!??!

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] right now
Many congratulations buddy
Congrats bro, is this the same Malaysian woman?
I m in a dilemma right now.It's about royal Enfield bullet.I m thinking of buying one,which one should I buy standard 350 or classics 350?? Though I like classic 350 more with it's disc brake and self start and obviously it's better looking than standard.But it's height and width is 20mm less than standard one.
I need opinion guys especially from Indian ppers [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] and others!!
No brother she is not the one, although this one right here is the OG and most definitely my best friend too in life........!!
I don't know about your family dynamics but mine wanted me to find an urdu-speaking girl and had a bit of an issue when they found out that apki bhabi was Punjabi. It worked out well in the end Alhumdulilah. I hope your fam is more open to whichever girl you like.
The Funny thing is your soon to be Bhabi (Inshallah) Is neither Pakistani nor Malaysian, she's actually of Mediterranean decent hailing from Morocco who I met in 2014 while working in KL ~ and right off the bat we became very very close friends (to this very day)
As far as my family goes well....this is where it gets tricky. My parents are like Polar opposites when it comes to these things tbh. My Dad (similar to me) has a very chilled out relaxed perspective on these things; maybe because he spent a lot of time in the UK growing up and is a LSE grad himself so maybe that might've rubbed off on him but generally he has no problems with me selecting whichever life partner I might choose for myself, heck he even told me "Go for it you Legend !!').
My mom however, is a very traditional, very cultural Pakistani woman who values everything Pakistani to the core and not surprisingly gave me an earful when she learnt that my choice of girl was 6+ years senior than me and culturally so different than ours. I am trying to get her to warm up to the idea and I can see it's slowly working because I bring 'her' up in every conversation (Subliminal Hammering) so I sincerely hope by the time those 18 months finish she's ok with it ~ Hopefully
The most astonishing bit is that even though these two people, my parents i.e. (Different in every way whatsoever) have almost spent 3 decades together happily married (Mashallah), raised a family Alhamdulliah and gave their offspring the best of whatever they potentially could in their lifetimes. Stuff like this is absolutely inspiring and gives proper faith in the context of whether long term happiness is actually achieveable even though people could be different from each other.
Brother let's just hope everything turns out for the better, it's a long shot and it's an ordeal to actually hit the bulls eye on this one but I have, personally partaken much crazier prospects in life and come out with relative success so Inshallah (hopefull) this might too pan out the way I am looking forward to it ~ Prayers Needed Bhayoon !!
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] help me out plzzzguys what does this sentence mean?
skills being utilized by the person
Skills that the person posses, or other peoples skills he gets to use
guys what does this sentence mean?
yeah Pakistani dads are normally chill about who their sons marry, the moms got more issues lol.The Funny thing is your soon to be Bhabi (Inshallah) Is neither Pakistani nor Malaysian, she's actually of Mediterranean decent hailing from Morocco who I met in 2014 while working in KL ~ and right off the bat we became very very close friends (to this very day)
As far as my family goes well....this is where it gets tricky. My parents are like Polar opposites when it comes to these things tbh. My Dad (similar to me) has a very chilled out relaxed perspective on these things; maybe because he spent a lot of time in the UK growing up and is a LSE grad himself so maybe that might've rubbed off on him but generally he has no problems with me selecting whichever life partner I might choose for myself, heck he even told me "Go for it you Legend !!').
My mom however, is a very traditional, very cultural Pakistani woman who values everything Pakistani to the core and not surprisingly gave me an earful when she learnt that my choice of girl was 6+ years senior than me and culturally so different than ours. I am trying to get her to warm up to the idea and I can see it's slowly working because I bring 'her' up in every conversation (Subliminal Hammering) so I sincerely hope by the time those 18 months finish she's ok with it ~ Hopefully
The most astonishing bit is that even though these two people, my parents i.e. (Different in every way whatsoever) have almost spent 3 decades together happily married (Mashallah), raised a family Alhamdulliah and gave their offspring the best of whatever they potentially could in their lifetimes. Stuff like this is absolutely inspiring and gives proper faith in the context of whether long term happiness is actually achieveable even though people could be different from each other.
Brother let's just hope everything turns out for the better, it's a long shot and it's an ordeal to actually hit the bulls eye on this one but I have, personally partaken much crazier prospects in life and come out with relative success so Inshallah (hopefull) this might too pan out the way I am looking forward to it ~ Prayers Needed Bhayoon !!
The sentence is incomplete.
guys what does this sentence mean?
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] help me out plzzz
I am also into gardening and grow vegetables...what do you grow?It had nothing to do with luck, and everything to do with my not putting in the hard yards.
Writing, woodworking and gardening for the most part. Exercise too, if time allows.
I am also into gardening and grow vegetables...what do you grow?
Last year I bought compound miter saw and made some raised beds...
We should have a woodworking thread. I wonder if there are others here who are drawn to the earthy, rustic charm of wood. I do it because after staring at screens all day, it is a welcome relief to be working with something so elemental.
I mostly build furniture. Every piece is a chance to learn. Do you have pics of your flower beds? It would be fun to trade tips on technique and craft etc.
So far I have only grown vegetables (Okra, Bitter Melon, Squash, Indian baby pumpkins etc.)
fresh pictures
Okra flower
View attachment 76446
View attachment 76447
regrading woodwork, I just made raised garden beds and a projector screen...pretty basic.
[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]
What do you guys think of new age rappers like Travis Scott, Quavo, Lil Yachty, Kodak Black etc.
I try to avoid rap and hip-hop in general with only being a fan of Drake. But after a certain experience over the weekend i guess I sort of now understand the lyrics or relate to them, idk.
You guys like the classical OG rappers, let's see what your opinions are about these recent guys.
[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]
What do you guys think of new age rappers like Travis Scott, Quavo, Lil Yachty, Kodak Black etc.
I try to avoid rap and hip-hop in general with only being a fan of Drake. But after a certain experience over the weekend i guess I sort of now understand the lyrics or relate to them, idk.
You guys like the classical OG rappers, let's see what your opinions are about these recent guys.
Where did you mention me?
[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]
The Funny thing is your soon to be Bhabi (Inshallah) Is neither Pakistani nor Malaysian, she's actually of Mediterranean decent hailing from Morocco who I met in 2014 while working in KL ~ and right off the bat we became very very close friends (to this very day)
Have to say KFC has gone downhill big time. Am a big fan of crispy chicken and fast food based chicken places in general. Think Cane's and Chick-Fil-A are the top #1 and #2 in that order. Only speaking for the US here.
Tried KFC for the first time in 2 years and was kind of disappointed. They don't carry the legendary Zinger anymore and have removed the chicken burgers altogether.
The Nashville chicken was more bitter than spicy. Not surprised KFC popularity has docked, again this is for N America. Popeyes is more popular in north north America aka Canada.
Your mom is right.... When you marry older woman you have to make sure you're equal.... But the way she says 18 months and didn't want to marry you she has authority over you... It's not good for man to be under authority of wife, neither for man or woman herself.... Either be a mard and take the lead or you shouldn't marry woman 6 years senior..
Damn bro I work at KFC.
Apparently the Zinger is too spicy for the angraiz.![]()
Haven't tried Nashville, but it smells just like marinara sauce.![]()
Call me an old fashioned guy but I just love and adore KFC. Switched to MacDs for a bit recently but their fried chicken is just.........Anyways a bucket of KFC with that yummy Extra Spicy Cheese is jove love man !!
Especially on a lazy Sunday after noon while enjoy some test cricket![]()
Idk if you eat halal, but I do and I miss being in Karachi and eating KFC, Mc, Nando's, etc.
Bro I live and Work in Malaysia, everything is Halal here Alhamdulliah![]()
#1 thing I miss about Malaysia is the food. Not the fast food crap. But that diverse as hell south east Asian cuisine and other places which I only saw there.
I miss the nasi ayam place at KLCC![]()
Brother I respect your opinion however I have to highly disagree with the analogy you've put forth here. Firstly, age is just a number in matrimony my friend. It is not set in stone that a man has to marry a woman who is essentially younger than him or vice versa - If you have mental compatibality with your partner and both have an avid understanding and love of each other then I believe (and this is just based on my life experience, I am 25 btw) the relationship should work with a bit of compromise from both parties.
Also our very own Holy Prophet (SAW) has left a perfect blueprint on how to conduct oneself in such relationships in the light of the religion and other matrimonal matters - Hazrat Khadijah, our beloved Prophet's (SAW) first wife and The Mother of Believers was 15 years older than the Prophet (SAW) when they tied the knot (If my recall is correctly, she was aged 40 while The Prophet (SAW) was aged 25) at the time so as far as Islam and the tradition goes the best of Mankind and the greatest human being to ever walk this earth showed 1400 years ago on how such a pairing would work therefore I believe there is nothing wrong with it.
I am not going to comment on the 'Be a Mard, take control, she has control over you' remarks because if I say something here people might take offense on the fact that I am rubbishing our tradational Pakistani narrative and cultural fundementals but let's just say I have come to a conclusion (personally) that a strong lasting relationship can only be achieved if there is compromise on both ends of the spectrum. Educated humans beings should be allowed to express themselves regardless of whether they are male or female and suppressing these 'wishes' will only lead to friction, distress and weaken the bond between a man and a woman.
I am not too sure what you meant by 'You have to make sure you're equal to her' comment, because as far as I know two people that tie the knot don't do so because they're equal or Allah doesn't match pairs because two people are equal to one another. We are made in pairs because we compliment each other complete each other's shortcommings and weaknesses. If two people married (Allah Willing) then it is so because both parties enhance each other in one way or the other ~ I personally believe that if you are fair, loving, comprising, compatible, and just towards your partner (generally speaking) then the matrimony would work regardless whether you are 'equal' to each other as per say.
[MENTION=139765]Arham_PakFan[/MENTION] how did the exam go?
Have to say KFC has gone downhill big time. Am a big fan of crispy chicken and fast food based chicken places in general. Think Cane's and Chick-Fil-A are the top #1 and #2 in that order. Only speaking for the US here.
Tried KFC for the first time in 2 years and was kind of disappointed. They don't carry the legendary Zinger anymore and have removed the chicken burgers altogether.
The Nashville chicken was more bitter than spicy. Not surprised KFC popularity has docked, again this is for N America. Popeyes is more popular in north north America aka Canada.
#1 thing I miss about Malaysia is the food. Not the fast food crap. But that diverse as hell south east Asian cuisine and other places which I only saw there.
I miss the nasi ayam place at KLCC![]()
KLCC was so freaking bigggg
We were walking and walking and walking and it still wasn't ending
Brother I respect your opinion however I have to highly disagree with the analogy you've put forth here. Firstly, age is just a number in matrimony my friend. It is not set in stone that a man has to marry a woman who is essentially younger than him or vice versa - If you have mental compatibality with your partner and both have an avid understanding and love of each other then I believe (and this is just based on my life experience, I am 25 btw) the relationship should work with a bit of compromise from both parties.
Also our very own Holy Prophet (SAW) has left a perfect blueprint on how to conduct oneself in such relationships in the light of the religion and other matrimonal matters - Hazrat Khadijah, our beloved Prophet's (SAW) first wife and The Mother of Believers was 15 years older than the Prophet (SAW) when they tied the knot (If my recall is correctly, she was aged 40 while The Prophet (SAW) was aged 25) at the time so as far as Islam and the tradition goes the best of Mankind and the greatest human being to ever walk this earth showed 1400 years ago on how such a pairing would work therefore I believe there is nothing wrong with it.
I am not going to comment on the 'Be a Mard, take control, she has control over you' remarks because if I say something here people might take offense on the fact that I am rubbishing our tradational Pakistani narrative and cultural fundementals but let's just say I have come to a conclusion (personally) that a strong lasting relationship can only be achieved if there is compromise on both ends of the spectrum. Educated humans beings should be allowed to express themselves regardless of whether they are male or female and suppressing these 'wishes' will only lead to friction, distress and weaken the bond between a man and a woman.
I am not too sure what you meant by 'You have to make sure you're equal to her' comment, because as far as I know two people that tie the knot don't do so because they're equal or Allah doesn't match pairs because two people are equal to one another. We are made in pairs because we compliment each other complete each other's shortcommings and weaknesses. If two people married (Allah Willing) then it is so because both parties enhance each other in one way or the other ~ I personally believe that if you are fair, loving, comprising, compatible, and just towards your partner (generally speaking) then the matrimony would work regardless whether you are 'equal' to each other as per say.
Currently thinking about a road trip to Vancouver although not too long before it starts snowing.
Maybe next summer...![]()
How long is it from Toronto to Vancouver? I have been to Vancouver but not Toronto (a place where I want to go in future)
About 5,000 km.
Obviously, I won't be going solo.
LOL thats bigger than whole Pakistan I guess
Karachi to Peshawar it's only 1,400 km.![]()
But Pak road infrastructure (Motorway) is much better than any one in South Asia even though it hasn't expanded to Karachi so far but it will in future so it lead to less hours
Can't say anything about Pakistan as I haven't been there since 2012.
Going to the USA is also a possibility instead of Vancouver. I'm free 24/7 until August 2018. Time is not an issue.
Wait a minute.... such a big gap? What's going on buddy? dropped out of school?
[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] [MENTION=142710]nostalgia[/MENTION] which ever one you are
I have a request
In Pakistan, the taxi walas often play this old common song, where the dhol beat is quite strong. I never knew the name of that song.
Do you know what it is.
There could be any number of songs where the dhols are prominent, so I'm afraid I don't know what exact song you're referring to.
However, I'm now craving Pehlwaan Rewri, and Embassy Kings cigarettes. The taxi drivers in the twin cities always seemed to have those two items in stock, and it was just as well, because the cloying sweetness of that particular brand of rewri used to be the perfect counterpoint to the extreme bitterness of the Embassy Kings.
I met quite a few taxi drivers who were compelling characters. There was one who wrote newspaper articles, and another who was writing a book. There was one who said he was a jeweler by trade, but had lost 50 lakhs in a business deal gone wrong, and now drove the cab because his store was no more... every person is a story, or so they say.
I haven't worked in the last year and a half.![]()
[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] [MENTION=142710]nostalgia[/MENTION] which ever one you are
I have a request
In Pakistan, the taxi walas often play this old common song, where the dhol beat is quite strong. I never knew the name of that song.
Do you know what it is.
There could be any number of songs where the dhols are prominent, so I'm afraid I don't know what exact song you're referring to.
However, I'm now craving Pehlwaan Rewri, and Embassy Kings cigarettes. The taxi drivers in the twin cities always seemed to have those two items in stock, and it was just as well, because the cloying sweetness of that particular brand of rewri used to be the perfect counterpoint to the extreme bitterness of the Embassy Kings.
I met quite a few taxi drivers who were compelling characters. There was one who wrote newspaper articles, and another who was writing a book. There was one who said he was a jeweler by trade, but had lost 50 lakhs in a business deal gone wrong, and now drove the cab because his store was no more... every person is a story, or so they say.
Taxi walon ko poochnay se munh main dard hota hai?
Job hunting in that time or chilling
He completed that book 6-7 years ago. Despite managing a decent publisher it didn't sell much so he didn't bother to write another one.
Name me any old song with loud dhol beats that you heard the most in taxis in pal
Let's try narrowing it down. Are you sure the song had dhols, and not some other percussion instrument like the dholak or tabla? Are you sure you hear the distinctive sound of a thin metal bar hitting the leather membrane? The timber of that sound is quite distinctive, compared to the fingers stroking the dholak or tabla.
It's important that we don't end up on a wild goose chase if it wasn't even the dhol to begin with.
Of course, as others have suggested, you could just ask the taxi drivers, but where's the fun in that?
I cant pinpoint the exact instrument.
The beauty of that song is that,the pace of the music is slow but has a very loud dhol beat.
Many taxi walas are often playing that. Well they use to.
Pakistan in cricket and Astros both doing well this year, change of fortune in the only 2 sports I follow![]()
I forget nothing. Those literary discussions on my intro thread from three years or so ago were terrific.
How's your baagar billa, the one I thought was really a Jinn?
Whoa man you remember everything. I forgot you're Nostalgic lol.
My billa actually breathed his last earlier this year. :'(