The Random Talk thread [Read ground rules in post #1]

I'd like that but then again I've heard that even if you have dual nationality etc. you still have to sign a lot of documents and forms and it's not easy etc.

Yeah there's that too but inspite of that quite a few no of Pakistanis visit the site every year .
It's famous among both Hindus and Muslims.

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] the other day you were telling us something about air university, and you placed the word university under (") quotation. As if you don't consider it to be a proper university.

Now i'm a student of Bahria uni, you have made me worried that even my uni is not a proper one.(which i know, but still :( )

i'm doing my BBA from there, whats your view on that? I'm asking because you have been a lecturer at AIR.So your opinion matters to me alot :P

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] the other day you were telling us something about air university, and you placed the word university under (") quotation. As if you don't consider it to be a proper university.

Now i'm a student of Bahria uni, you have made me worried that even my uni is not a proper one.(which i know, but still :( )

i'm doing my BBA from there, whats your view on that? I'm asking because you have been a lecturer at AIR.So your opinion matters to me alot :P

Many universities are fake and unregistered in Pakistan that's why I came to Malaysia because even a 100th rank university here will be better than any of Pakistan's.

which is why i go to a HEC recognized uni.

not true tbh unless you are giving it as hyperbole

in any case Malaysia isnt some vanguard of higher education like youre making it sound.

its know for having satellite schools of British and Aussie unis

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION], I placed University in quotes because back in the day when I taught there (for two semesters), it was obviously a money-making venture for the Air Force. Since everyone had jumped onto the education bandwagon, including the Navy with Bahria just across the road, they thought they should too. It wasn't as if they were engaged in any noteworthy research, or any research for that matter. They were running it out of a set of buildings that at one time had been a school, if I'm not mistaken. And the students were the ones who couldn't make it to the more reputable schools.

Now, this was over a decade ago, so all this may no longer be true.

In any case, you shouldn't feel too bad. It was agreed that Bahria had, by far, the better looking girls.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION], I placed University in quotes because back in the day when I taught there (for two semesters), it was obviously a money-making venture for the Air Force. Since everyone had jumped onto the education bandwagon, including the Navy with Bahria just across the road, they thought they should too. It wasn't as if they were engaged in any noteworthy research, or any research for that matter. They were running it out of a set of buildings that at one time had been a school, if I'm not mistaken. And the students were the ones who couldn't make it to the more reputable schools.

In any case, you shouldn't feel too bad. It was agreed that Bahria had, by far, the better looking girls.

There a school called PAF-KIET in Karachi.... it produces pretty sharp engineers.

Over here at bahria, people are crying that air has better girls.

However, I think it still is the case maybe what you have posted above.

Many students like me who couldn't get into good unis go to bahria,air or fast. If they get rejected from here then NUML, iqra becomes the option. If not that then tmuc and roots uni.....

Now what I have heard about FAST is that it's really hard to get grades there. Be it whatever department you are, they don't grade you

I haven't really liked bahria only because they very easy course. I was able to get a 3.75 gpa on first semester. But I didn't feel like I achieved it as it was a very easy course with very easy marking. But then again alot of people scored less which baffles me.

In bahria till now it has been hand submission, while fast has online submission.

The only good thing about bahria is that they offer wide range of specialization.

I also tried doing some question and asking around corporate people. What I found out that in pindi/isloo nust will always get preferance. Bahrians will only get up to the interview list if they have a good goal.

Fast has a very strong alumni link which could land you an interview. However bahrians are able to land on the interview list with good goal unlik other unis.

This is what I have learn from my q&a from corporate people

Bahria is planning to start it's own business school.

If they do that, is that a good thing for BBA holders from Bahria?

Over here at bahria, people are crying that air has better girls.

However, I think it still is the case maybe what you have posted above.

Many students like me who couldn't get into good unis go to bahria,air or fast. If they get rejected from here then NUML, iqra becomes the option. If not that then tmuc and roots uni.....

So you see, things have changed since my time. Air with better bacchis than Bahria was unthinkable once. Take everything I say with several pinches of salt.

I'm disappointed though that FAST has lost its stature so much that people lump it together with Air or Bahria. In my day, it was ranked amongst the best.

There a school called PAF-KIET in Karachi.... it produces pretty sharp engineers.

I don't know much about engineering universities in Karachi, apart from NED, because all the UETs were sort of sister schools, with the occasional transfer between them. We had a few classmates who had transferred from NED or Jam Shoro.

So you see, things have changed since my time. Air with better bacchis than Bahria was unthinkable once. Take everything I say with several pinches of salt.

I'm disappointed though that FAST has lost its stature so much that people lump it together with Air or Bahria. In my day, it was ranked amongst the best.

it is still the best in terms of CS.

Though the way people bash that university, it does seem that its a better uni as it forces its student to do practical work right from semester 1. Plus, their grading is very very very tough.

Here getting grades is as easy as taking candy from a baby

A video is circulating on WhatsApp that dog meat is being sold in Karachi... :yk

Pressing the power button on your iphone 5 times unlocks an option that sends your GPS location to the nearest police station... handy to know if you're ever in danger.

Idk about other countries but it works in the US.

Different scenario if your phone is the one getting robbed off you.

Didn't know about this.

Pressing the power button on your iphone 5 times unlocks an option that sends your GPS location to the nearest police station... handy to know if you're ever in danger.

Idk about other countries but it works in the US.

Different scenario if your phone is the one getting robbed off you.

Didn't know about this.

Just tried it. Works.

Thanks.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] you are right America is full of dumb people why do you think Trump won? :)) :trump

But I am educated. I know what's going on outside the country. One of the benefits of being ABCD is that I have two nationalities and am not ignorant of different cultures, countries, etc.

90% of people who you describe as ignorant are either white or live in rural areas.

Which is why the Earth is flat joke was funny because it was hilarious to fool my dumb peers. :))

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] you are right America is full of dumb people why do you think Trump won? :)) :trump

But I am educated. I know what's going on outside the country. One of the benefits of being ABCD is that I have two nationalities and am not ignorant of different cultures, countries, etc.

90% of people who you describe as ignorant are either white or live in rural areas.

Which is why the Earth is flat joke was funny because it was hilarious to fool my dumb peers. :))

I apologize if you were offended. You are a good poster, and the discussion simply went off the trail.

it is still the best in terms of CS.

Though the way people bash that university, it does seem that its a better uni as it forces its student to do practical work right from semester 1. Plus, their grading is very very very tough.

Here getting grades is as easy as taking candy from a baby

Every time I see you post, I feel the urge of saying "life is house" - pain.

Ab dil ka bojh halka ho gaya yeh likh kar.

A question to our doctors here . Had a bit too much of drinking last night so much so that I can't seem remember much about it.
Thing is this morning I had vomiting with blood in it. A bit too much for my liking actually. Should I be worried? [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

A question to our doctors here . Had a bit too much of drinking last night so much so that I can't seem remember much about it.
Thing is this morning I had vomiting with blood in it. A bit too much for my liking actually. Should I be worried? [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

Boy teri tu game over hai :ashwin

All joking aside I'm no doctor but vomitting blood is never a good sign.... Go get checked asap

Boy teri tu game over hai :ashwin

All joking aside I'm no doctor but vomitting blood is never a good sign.... Go get checked asap

Bhai Yar wese hi fati pari h ..
But wese I dont feel anything else wrong within my system. Sure the hangover is there but that's about it all. Maybe it was just a few blood cells got crushed or something. I don't wanna visit a doctor :(

Consult a physician to confirm that there is nothing wrong in your system. Hematemesis requires physical examination and some investigations even if you are completely fine now.

It can be due to many cause like oesophageal varices, alcohol abuse, stomach ulcer, mallory weiss syndrome etc. Need investigations to diagnose the cause and treat it.

Consult a physician to confirm that there is nothing wrong in your system. Hematemesis requires physical examination and some investigations even if you are completely fine now.

It can be due to many cause like oesophageal varices, alcohol abuse, stomach ulcer, mallory weiss syndrome etc. Need investigations to diagnose the cause and treat it.
Yar I dont wanna visit the doctor. They make you undergo loads of tests and always scare the crap out of me.
Waisey my throat was aching yesterday (before the drinking session) maybe that could have something to do with it?
I feel completely fine now btw.

Yar I dont wanna visit the doctor. They make you undergo loads of tests and always scare the crap out of me.
Waisey my throat was aching yesterday (before the drinking session) maybe that could have something to do with it?
I feel completely fine now btw.

Consult a doctor just for the confirmation sake. No need to worry now.:)

It could be something serious or nothing. If I were to make any diagnosis without examining you, I would probably be misguiding you. I would state the obvious like Kayaal and suggest that you consult a physician.

Alright just tell me one thing. The various ailments you mentioned above , are they life threatening?

They are of varying degrees. But i don't think your's is that much serious. Still we can't take it lightly though.

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] - When I made the post about British Pakistanis I didnt intend to attack you on a personal . The thread started with an incendiary post which got a reply from me which it deserved. (The thread title was sth else at start and was changed later btw)

Though with that reply now the opening post been reduced to a joke and no one gives two hoots about the thread topic and everyone is going in to make fun of it. Hence theres no need for me to revisit the thread and post again. So it worked out great :))

But if you did take offence at a personal level it wasnt my intention. You are right the British Pak community should focus on itself first because as a community they are well below most social and academic metrics from the UK average. So the focus should be to help themselves than try to be saviors of other independent countries

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] - When I made the post about British Pakistanis I didnt intend to attack you on a personal . The thread started with an incendiary post which got a reply from me which it deserved. (The thread title was sth else at start and was changed later btw)

Though with that reply now the opening post been reduced to a joke and no one gives two hoots about the thread topic and everyone is going in to make fun of it. Hence theres no need for me to revisit the thread and post again. So it worked out great :))

But if you did take offence at a personal level it wasnt my intention. You are right the British Pak community should focus on itself first because as a community they are well below most social and academic metrics from the UK average. So the focus should be to help themselves than try to be saviors of other independent countries

I know that lol and am not in a position to comment on Pakistan tbh :)) but on the Brit Pak front will add me thoughts and respond to certain folk who are nakli patriots and you know who am referring to. Yeah they should defo be more bothered about themselves then others, obviously when it comes to help and stuff beyond my own country I will always encourage to support Pakistan compared to other countries out of respect for my roots and if am honest there are more people who help arabs then the popular opinion. 1st and 2nd gen immigrants did not perform well academically but have been successful in business, 3rd generation have pursued higher education generally. But there is no denying we could always improve and do better, I imagine that 10-15 years from now things will be a lot different and compared to my childhood have already seen so many positive developments.

Look at me, I grew up in those areas where you can imagine every stereotype possible but somehow by a miracle didn't get caught up in it and am in an ok position right now thankfully to use as a stepping stone to progress, many others like me and Moeen is a positive example to.

I know that lol and am not in a position to comment on Pakistan tbh :)) but on the Brit Pak front will add me thoughts and respond to certain folk who are nakli patriots and you know who am referring to. Yeah they should defo be more bothered about themselves then others, obviously when it comes to help and stuff beyond my own country I will always encourage to support Pakistan compared to other countries out of respect for my roots and if am honest there are more people who help arabs then the popular opinion. 1st and 2nd gen immigrants did not perform well academically but have been successful in business, 3rd generation have pursued higher education generally. But there is no denying we could always improve and do better, I imagine that 10-15 years from now things will be a lot different and compared to my childhood have already seen so many positive developments.

Look at me, I grew up in those areas where you can imagine every stereotype possible but somehow by a miracle didn't get caught up in it and am in an ok position right now thankfully to use as a stepping stone to progress, many others like me and Moeen is a positive example to.

Good stuff.

Also ofcourse it is natural to watch out for and have positive thoughts for land of your forefathers because that's your heritage. But you also shouldn't be attacking actual Pakistanis at every opportunity and doubt that patriotism. Esp when most of the drivel posted is unfounded you see such people act as if only they care about the country while sitting in UK lol. Btw Who is responsible for handing out these certificates for patriotism anyway?

That's what does my head in as if you are doing some huge favor to Pakistan by being an online warrior. I am sure that majority of Pakistani origin immigrants who actually do good work in the country aren't on Internet forums attacking nativesfor their lack of patriotism lol.

Finally and one thing you seem to agree with. The first priority for anyone must be yourself and your own immediate. But I often see British Pakistanis caring more for Syrians, Palestinians etc etc while not acknowledging the problems in the community itself.

So to me it's always bizarre to see this play out every six months

Anyways I'm Glad to be on same page!

I threw out a squirrels nest from my house today because it was destroying the mosquito net placed on our bathroom window. While throwing it out, i found all the socks that went missing from the last few months, some coir strings, small branches, leaves, feathers etc inside the nest. The socks was their bed. I am feeling really bad now thinking about the effort that it has taken to built that nest and i just threw it away in a matter of seconds.....:facepalm:

Initially there were 1 mamma squirrel and 4 baby squirrels. Mamma squirrel left the house earlier itself but now these 4 are grown up and are going outside. I hope they built a new home outside somewhere.....

I am feeling miserable tbh... Hope Allah forgive me for my blunder.:facepalm:

I threw out a squirrels nest from my house today because it was destroying the mosquito net placed on our bathroom window. While throwing it out, i found all the socks that went missing from the last few months, some coir strings, small branches, leaves, feathers etc inside the nest. The socks was their bed. I am feeling really bad now thinking about the effort that it has taken to built that nest and i just threw it away in a matter of seconds.....:facepalm:

Initially there were 1 mamma squirrel and 4 baby squirrels. Mamma squirrel left the house earlier itself but now these 4 are grown up and are going outside. I hope they built a new home outside somewhere.....

was it possible for you to move the nest from one place to another unharmed and without destroying it?

tbh i didnt even know squirrels had nests. my granmother's house used to have MANY squirrels just jumping around the trees and houses. miss those days!

was it possible for you to move the nest from one place to another unharmed and without destroying it?

tbh i didnt even know squirrels had nests. my granmother's house used to have MANY squirrels just jumping around the trees and walls But dont remember any nests. miss those days!

No. The coir strings were winded around the window grill to make it firm. I had to cut it before throwing it away.

The nest was increasing in size in the last few days, i guess i got panicked because of it.:(

No. The coir strings were winded around the window grill to make it firm. I had to cut it before throwing it away.

The nest was increasing in size in the last few days, i guess i got panicked because of it.:(

*Wound

If those babies squirrels are grown up then should be OK. Squirrels don't stay for long at one place, when kids are grown up they move to another place and build another nest.

Still if you are feeling guilty then do some Sadqa/Khairaat and INSHALLAH it'll be ok.

If those babies squirrels are grown up then should be OK. Squirrels don't stay for long at one place, when kids are grown up they move to another place and build another nest.

Still if you are feeling guilty then do some Sadqa/Khairaat and INSHALLAH it'll be ok.

Thanks. I did read about the squirrels nest after this idiotic move. I am fine now.:)

Just killed SEVEN cockroaches :stokes

Went to drink some water and 5 minutes later my room was infested by roaches

The moral of the story is, don’t drink water. If needs must, ask for the water to be brought to you, but stand your ground. Otherwise the roaches assume a vacant room is there for the taking.

Or one can put these roaches to use and train them to bring said water. Although I doubt it, as they are not at all organized like ants (who have been reported to transport whole picnics away due to their efficiency and teamwork) and just tend to scurry away in all directions.

Just killed SEVEN cockroaches :stokes

Went to drink some water and 5 minutes later my room was infested by roaches

My kitchen has been loaded with roaches lately. We've unleashed barrages on them though. Killing whoever is in sight and leaving lights on more as roaches like the dark. Also just cleaning more often.

Also spraying boric powder everywhere. :rabada2

I was at a beach party.Everyone wore life jackets but one of my friends strayed too far and was going further.He didn't know how to swim and was panicking because of the strong waves.He started thrashing around in the water and lost his life jacket.I was nearby and I know how to swim so i took off my life jacket and dragged it along with it's string,while swimming over to my friend.I yelled at him to grab my hand so i could give him the life jacket.Instead he dragged me under and tightly held his arm around my neck to stay afloat.So i was underwater,choking and constantly getting kicked.I was going deeper and deeper.My animal instincts kicked in and I started thrashing and kicking.I opened my mouth for air.Instead I got a couple of litres of seawater.I thought I was a goner in the end,we were in deep water,I was getting strangled.Thankfully the lifeguards reached us and pulled my friend and me out of the sea.I was nearly unconscious but OK otherwise.My friend was fine too.

Had some nice BBQ later on so it all balances out :kakmal

I was at a beach party.Everyone wore life jackets but one of my friends strayed too far and was going further.He didn't know how to swim and was panicking because of the strong waves.He started thrashing around in the water and lost his life jacket.I was nearby and I know how to swim so i took off my life jacket and dragged it along with it's string,while swimming over to my friend.I yelled at him to grab my hand so i could give him the life jacket.Instead he dragged me under and tightly held his arm around my neck to stay afloat.So i was underwater,choking and constantly getting kicked.I was going deeper and deeper.My animal instincts kicked in and I started thrashing and kicking.I opened my mouth for air.Instead I got a couple of litres of seawater.I thought I was a goner in the end,we were in deep water,I was getting strangled.Thankfully the lifeguards reached us and pulled my friend and me out of the sea.I was nearly unconscious but OK otherwise.My friend was fine too.

Wow... Sounds scary as hell. Thank god both of you were fine.

O mere khudaye.
Hopefully you're feeling much better now!

Good to know you're OK. My brother had a very similar experience with his best friend at Jumeirah beach however unfortunately there were no lifeguards at the time. The experience left him quite scarred, also the guy was the sole bread winner of the house and had 5 sisters and an ailing father who had invested everything in him. We still help them out whenever we can.

Bro I had my first hangover today. Was with some girl yesterday and nearly vomited on her lmao but barely missed.

Bechari cleaned up everything as well while I was knocked out, but I can't seem to remember properly what happened in the last 2 hours before I collapsed.

Never doing that again. I hate this nauseous feeling.

Just got my G from Orangeville. I couldn't parallel park for crap but the examiner didn't care. I even hit the curb. She is a hero.

"You've to know the difference between enjoying your youth and destroying your future."