[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Mohammad Haris - International Performance Watch

Let him play his natural game. Look at how Salt kept getting out, did England drop him? No.

Let him be.

I definitely think, he had nerves yesterday and wanted to repay the faith that Pakistan management has in him by performing.

But the most important aspect of batting yesterday he needed to understand was to take his time and be patient. He isn't Rizwan, he isn't a regular in the Pakistan line-up nor does he have the confidence and/or rich form behind him. But its important for him to assess the situation when batting, which will come with age and guile.

That being said, he does have immense talent, he is innovative and looks to be a keen learner. Under Rizwan, he should prove to be a formidable talent for the future of Pakistan cricket,

Hopefully they don't drop him for the last t20 with the series on the line.

Salman Butt on Haris' selection:

“Your second wicketkeeper Mohammad Haris is in traveling reserves. Fakhar Zaman is also in reserves, and he is not in form as well. Dahani is also in reserves. You picked Haris. He played 5-6 matches in National T20… he doesn't even have a score of 15. He dropped three catches in one match"

When the anchor sarcastically says that the selectors are sleeping, Butt had a savage reply. “A sleeping person can wake up. Ye toh behosh hain (they are unconscious),” said Butt.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...bout-t20-world-cup-squad-101665715763290.html

How dumb one can be not delete the offender's comment. You got the jist of it. Now shove it and delete this as well. Bye bye...

He's in the mould of Deepak Hooda. Exactly the kind of player Pakistan needs in their current pathetic batting line up. Pakistan should open with Fakhar and him, push Babar and Rizwan to 3 and 4 to have any chances in T20s.

Mohammad Haris made an entertaining 28 from 11 balls, striking at over 254, unheard of by Pakistani standards

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 80%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/sdxsti" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Positive vibrant batting by Haris. Unfortunately, the support he received from his batting partner didn’t help much.

Threw away his wicket for a nothing score.

Eventually team was 40/4 after 6 overs......

Would had taken 40/0

We either have high average low SR batsmen like Babar and Rizwan or low average decent SR guys like Haris. Why can't we have both?

Shan
Rizwan
Babar

All need to be booted for us to progress and compete with the big boys!

No way our fans and “experts” let this kid survive…the way he plays he will get out early at times and look ugly but knives will be out fast

Issue is for our people anyone’s success is just not acceptable

Mohammad Haris made an entertaining 28 from 11 balls, striking at over 254, unheard of by Pakistani standards

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 80%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/sdxsti" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Babar and Rizwan are only capable of this on a video game. Brilliant stuff from the young man.

Please give him a proper run and don't start admonishing him with "play straight, don't play big shots" if he fails a few times.

In T20, 28 from 11 balls is far more impactful than 50 from 40 balls. Excellent innings from Harris today. He should be given more opportunities going forward.

We either have high average low SR batsmen like Babar and Rizwan or low average decent SR guys like Haris. Why can't we have both?

It was his second game. Wait for the average to rise.

It's a shame that he got only 1 game to play in 7 home T20s against Eng. Not allowed to play single game in Asia cup even against minnows where the conditions are more favourable, didn't played single game in NZ tri series. Today he was a forced change in the team and was suddenly asked to face strong SA bowling attack in must win game. Some players in this Pak team are considered above the team and they are not willing to compromise at all for the larger interest of the team

His knock was very important today. Even though he didnt score a lot. Set a tone for the batting and made sure powerplay wasnt wasted. In T20s you will sometimes lose your wicket when you go for big hits - No point in conserving wickets till the 16th over.

How can that be? Pakistan were still 40/3 after 6 overs.

Shadab & Iftikhar made the difference today.

Who were the 2 other duds to get out with no contribution? Also, what was Babar doing swatting flies??

Good innings today but needs to work on the off side too as opposed to simple leg side hoicks if he is going to develop…

Positive vibrant batting by Haris. Unfortunately, the support he received from his batting partner didn’t help much.
Baber so called king was playing maiden overs when he was getting big overs. It's just amazing how mentally shot Baber looks. Captaincy is just not his cup of tea. He looks confused and lost.

Looked good can work a lot more but Atleast he was not there just looking to survive rather he took the attack and that was an impact innings .

Good innings today but needs to work on the off side too as opposed to simple leg side hoicks if he is going to develop…

At least he can hoick. Kushdil, Haider and Asif can't hit the ball if it was rolled to them.

Honestly, he showed both Babar and Rizwan how you need to bat in the PP. You have to attack and setup the foundation for the others to come. He did exactly that. Much better than scoring 40 runs from 30/35 balls. And I don't mind his unorthodox shots, that is what T20 is about, you just need to find ways to score runs. Again, Babar or Rizwan need to come lower down the order. We need at least 1 explosive batsman at the top. Luckily for us Babar and Rizwan got out early otherwise Babar was on course to score a test match 40 runs and we would crawl to a total of 145/150 and blame the middle order for not stepping up.

Nice to see a young Pakistani batter with some guts. It seems like every young Pakistani batter that comes through the ranks these days has some kind of mental block. And although this is just one innings, it was a highly impactful one in a high-pressure World Cup match for Pakistan. Really hope he gets more chances in the limited overs formats. The biggest gap in our T20 team right now is the lack of 140+ SR batters.

M Haris set the tone though. Ifti and Shadab continued the good work.

I really believe if Babar and Rizwan tuk tuked at 5-6 rpo till over #10 and only then the duo walked in, we may not have done so well. They would’ve gotten the wrong idea from RizBab and started their innings mentally in their own head.

Haris showed them that it’s possible and doable to take the attack to SA. It created some doubt in SA’s mind who have been the attack of the tournament up until this game, and their bowlers were probably licking their lips at the prospect of dismantling our line-up.

Baber so called king was playing maiden overs when he was getting big overs. It's just amazing how mentally shot Baber looks. Captaincy is just not his cup of tea. He looks confused and lost.

Babar really tried to go for it today, unlike his previous 10-15 t20 games.

He’s just woefully out of touch and form. Plays and misses and miss timing everything

I think now he needs to quit captaincy. Can’t handle the pressure

In two T20'is the boy has played 18 odd delivers and scored 4 sixes

Thats 4.5 balls per six. Crazy!

This is a slap on the face of the naysayers - we don’t have any alternatives.

We don’t have infrastructure

We don’t have skill level

We need to wait 20 years

I haven't seen his knock nor the match.

But from the sounds of it, he looked to be a different maker.

Amazing what happens when you select players aggressively from the get go.

He won't last long from the looks of it , he tries to predict length even before the ball is delivered, that's not a good sign for a batsman at all , he will score some runs if he predicts correctly while he is new to international cricket but once bowler starts figuring out his strength he will become Asif Ali 2.0

And he likes extreme pace very much much like tap bowl batter likes extreme pace, reading a slower delivery can be his problem.
Currently he is limited but he definitely can improve and he does have a power game.

He wasn't expecting a fuller length on his stumps today and that led to his downfall, wrong prediction cost him his wicket.

Sown the seeds of this victory and also proves the plague of seniority and reputation culture that is hurting Pakistan r
Team, TTF like Rizwan Shan and Haider trapped us badly that we'll fail to make the SF

Not trying to put him over the moon but we would've been better off taking him from the beginning instead of the Bagla, Shan Masood or ******** Khushdil Shah

He has 4 sixes in 18 balls at international level

All against pace as well.

Brilliant prospect

Refreshing innings from at the top of the order rather than the customary tuk tuk from RizBar.

It's astonishing after all the criticism and with his current form, how Babar continues to open. Gambhir has told you to put the team first and Wasim Akram has exposed you for refusing to bat at 3.

Give this guy a chance to open against Bangladesh and he deserves a long rope before we judge him after 1 or 2 failures.

Excellent work from him today. I was baffled by the selection but obviously Saqlain and Hayden have been watching him closely in the nets.

RizBab have struggled horribly in Australia. It's time for Babar to make way for Haris at the top of the order for the final game of the WC.

Mohammad Haris reflecting on his performance against SA.

"I was playing well in the nets and took my confidence in the match and tried to do well for my team"

"Rizwan bhai got out early so I tried to utilize the powerplay and do well for my side. My captain told me to play without any fear and not think much about the bowlers. He told me to play my natural game and focus ball to ball and I succeeded while following it."

He's a great hitter with natural timing.

Since he's young, they can easily work on rounding out some of the flaws in his batting.

It's also disappointing to see that his inclusion in the playing squad happened based on someone else getting injured.

Shows the lack of skill, ability and total incompetency of our so called "SELECTORS", who stuck with injured batsman like Fakhar Zaman and total fuddus of a T20 batsmen like Shah Masood and Khushdil Shah, instead of identify Harri's is whatever little ability to hit and score quick in T20s.

Pakistan were 43/4 after 6.3 overs because Baber-Rizwan-Shan scored only 12 runs from 25 balls they played and they literally threw their wickets. Without Harris's innings Pakistan might have been on 15 for 4

He's a great hitter with natural timing.

Since he's young, they can easily work on rounding out some of the flaws in his batting.

Only if they learn from everything that went wrong with Haider, and that means letting Haris play full seasons in domestics before he starts going on too many overseas tours.

This kid has a lot of potential. I think he should get a game up top every time we want to rotate out one of the openers (and/or injury). he needs to get full exposure in the PP. Lets hope his adventurism doesnt get coached out of him. A lot of shots were leg side today but weve seen in the PSL he has shots on the offside too, just needs to express himself with more composure.

This is a slap on the face of the naysayers - we don’t have any alternatives.

We don’t have infrastructure

We don’t have skill level

We need to wait 20 years

Ok - let’s see how many games Haris can repeat this… many have come and gone.

Only if they learn from everything that went wrong with Haider, and that means letting Haris play full seasons in domestics before he starts going on too many overseas tours.

Thank you. Just give this 2 months and knives will be out for Haris.
People don’t believe in process around here that’s for sure

That's not his point though is it?

Only in Pakistan can you can tout Haris as a “replacement” based on 1 flashy innings. This is exactly Pak’s downfall that played out in the form of Haider. A few flashy innings is all it takes it seems.
Same people give examples of Livingstone, Stoinis, Miller, SKY and others but do they know that these so-called “power-hitters” have played more than 5 FC seasons and know their games inside out.
I’ve been fooled before, not again!

I have mentioned this guy before a few times terrific little player should be opening alongside sharjeel khan in t20s period.

As I mentioned earlier in this thread before the WC started that the opening would be awful to watch without an attacking batsman in the mix and it turned out to be such.
The brainless thought process has hurt our chances more than some of the players selected (which is another topic) and used. Harris is so pleasing to eyes when he attacks. I agree that he is raw and needs work. However, when there are not too many T20 PHYSICALLY FIT (per some juggernauts) attacking options, he should be experimented PERSISTENTLY starting from T20 series against ENG.
I wish he steals the limelight away from the current opening pair forever. If Pakistan by some miracle goes through to to the playoffs and Haris shines, selectors would have no excuse not to experiment him as an opener. I am sure he will learn to control aggression if persisted with.

hes very loosey goosey but exactly what Pakistan needs right now, unfortunately the fans labelling him as pakistans saviour are gonna be the first ones to call for his head if he fails in the next three or four innings.

the upcoming psl season will be massive for him, is likely to have the full season as zalmis opener keeper with kami gone. will be the making or breaking of him.

Most exciting young talent in batting in T20 format in Pakistan . We have been giving a long rope to dead woods , why not give chance to Harris for a while.

Looked quite promising.

But, he seems to be a leg-side player. Didn't seem great with off-side hitting.

Reminded me of Shahzaib Hasan.

Former India opener Virender Sehwag spoke in detail about Haris' knock in the game, stating that the player might force one of Babar and Rizwan to come down the order if he continues with the same intensity.

“Jis tarah se inhone ballebaazi ki hai, unka future bright hai. Aap South Africa ke against, Australia ki wicket pe... bhale hi 28 run banaaye hain, par vo 60 ke baraabar hain. Jis gati se vo khele hain, agar aaram se khelte, vo out nahi hote aur apne run bana lete, par jis andaaz se khele, kamaal hai. (The way he batted, his future is bright. He took on South Africa on Australian pitches. He might have scored 28, but they're no less than a 60. He could played slowly, could have scored his own runs, but the way he played, incredible),

“Agar aise hi khelte rahe, ye kahi Rizwan aur Babar ko force naa kar de ki aap neeche aaiye, main aata hu upar ballebaazi karne (If he continues playing like this, he might force Rizwan and Babar to come down the order),"

Former India opener Virender Sehwag spoke in detail about Haris' knock in the game, stating that the player might force one of Babar and Rizwan to come down the order if he continues with the same intensity.

“Jis tarah se inhone ballebaazi ki hai, unka future bright hai. Aap South Africa ke against, Australia ki wicket pe... bhale hi 28 run banaaye hain, par vo 60 ke baraabar hain. Jis gati se vo khele hain, agar aaram se khelte, vo out nahi hote aur apne run bana lete, par jis andaaz se khele, kamaal hai. (The way he batted, his future is bright. He took on South Africa on Australian pitches. He might have scored 28, but they're no less than a 60. He could played slowly, could have scored his own runs, but the way he played, incredible),

“Agar aise hi khelte rahe, ye kahi Rizwan aur Babar ko force naa kar de ki aap neeche aaiye, main aata hu upar ballebaazi karne (If he continues playing like this, he might force Rizwan and Babar to come down the order),"

He impressed Sehwag because he played like him.

Who were the 2 other duds to get out with no contribution? Also, what was Babar doing swatting flies??

The point was that who made the difference.

Your answer was Haris.
My answer was Shadab & Iftikhar.

I know you are obsessed with Babar & Rizwan but the question was not about who failed.

He also played a blinder in the PSL. Just tries too many things too soon for it to work consistently enough. He’ll learn to be more judicious with his shot selection and then become a serious short form batter

Saim Haris and Azam khan need to be part of our post wc plans

He also played a blinder in the PSL. Just tries too many things too soon for it to work consistently enough. He’ll learn to be more judicious with his shot selection and then become a serious short form batter

Saim Haris and Azam khan need to be part of our post wc plans

This has been his issue. This is where the likes of MoYo come in and earn their keep.

Pakistan were 43/4 after 6.3 overs because Baber-Rizwan-Shan scored only 12 runs from 25 balls they played and they literally threw their wickets. Without Harris's innings Pakistan might have been on 15 for 4
Without Shadab & Itikhar’s knock Pakistan would have been 120 all out and Haris’s little knock would have been useless. Cricket is a team game and I think we need to stop getting obsessed with these 10 ball 20s. Asif Ali made a career out of it.

Of course that’s what a RizBab fan would say

This is the reason why we are so terrible as a batting unit

Sorry - can you please tell me what is it that [MENTION=131470]gazza619[/MENTION] said above which is wrong?

Well I have been saying that Babar needs to come one down and Fakhar (or Haris) should be opening with Rizwan.

By the way 10 ball 20s never give you a big score. You need guys till the end.

I will believe in Haris when he makes a 50 ball 70.

Obviously, it's a team game. Harris started aggressively and when Pakistan were 4 wickets down Iftikhar along with Nawaz & Shadad contributed with the bat and got the decent score. Unfortunately, some top ranked players who are playing at key positions since many years have contributed zero in this WC and also miserably failed to contribute in any previous knockout game, series decider, tournament final.

The most childish thinking would be to compare a rookie inning with players who have been playing PERSISTENT T20 cricket with many FAILURES IN CRITICAL SITUATIONS in between. This kamikaze logic is just to feed ego.
Haris is so pleasing to eyes. The look on Rabada's frustrated face in 2nd over was rewarding after he tried to intimidate him, as he would to most other Pak betters, with short balls. I love this in your face style cricket which not only hunts the hunters, but also forces to change strategy. Juggernauts fail to see legside hacking from other big T20 names - This is T20. This is how it is played SOMETIME.

Well I have been saying that Babar needs to come one down and Fakhar (or Haris) should be opening with Rizwan.

By the way 10 ball 20s never give you a big score. You need guys till the end.

I will believe in Haris when he makes a 50 ball 70.

50 ball 70 is only good on a 160 wicket. On a 200 pitch it's a losing knock. Babar and Rizwan fans need to realise this.

Future T20I opener surely?

May get his chance on a regular basis after this T20 World Cup I reckon.

50 ball 70 is only good on a 160 wicket. On a 200 pitch it's a losing knock. Babar and Rizwan fans need to realise this.

50 ball 70 would get you 175+ nine times out of 10 and Pakistan would win 9 games out of 10 games defending 175, no matter what pitch.

10 ball 20 gets you absolutely nowhere.