Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

What is your opinion on Umar Akmal, Sir?
I like his strokemaking abilities, and like watching him. Surely think he'll be of much better use if he is promoted to No.4. Doesn't have a compact defense, so No.3 might not be the right thing.
With a good bunch of batsmen around and with a stable captain who'll give him confidence, he can do much much better. An underachiever till now for sure.

One reason Kohli thrives is because how the team protects him; all his 'bad behaviour' is swept under the carpet and the captain gives him enough confidence. Dhoni has really backed Kohli all throughout and taught him a few things about what 'not to do'.

Akmal, on the other hand, looks eternally insecure about his position.

I like his strokemaking abilities, and like watching him. Surely think he'll be of much better use if he is promoted to No.4. Doesn't have a compact defense, so No.3 might not be the right thing.
With a good bunch of batsmen around and with a stable captain who'll give him confidence, he can do much much better. An underachiever till now for sure.

One reason Kohli thrives is because how the team protects him; all his 'bad behaviour' is swept under the carpet and the captain gives him enough confidence. Dhoni has really backed Kohli all throughout and taught him a few things about what 'not to do'.

Akmal, on the other hand, looks eternally insecure about his position.

A small correction.... For now, Kohli is protecting the team

hes just played 10 tests,c'mon give him a break,its ODI wat we r talking about n where he is so admired.
Seven Tests abroad is not a small number. Most people get dropped after that. In no way am I denying his talent or potential or his technical proficiency, I am just pointing out that he has done very little to deserve all this adulation.

If I consider only ODIs too, he has played 90 ODIs - and I don't remember any series either in Australia, or in South Africa, or in England or in West Indies, where he's put up a dominant performance with the bat and has won a couple of matches for India. He usually puts up one odd, braveheart performance in an entire series - which displays his adequate skills, but nothing more than that. ODIs are a format where great batsmen can singlehandely win 2-3 matches for their teams in a series; and his performance has been average at best when facing good teams in overseas conditions. His heroics has been limited to Sri Lanka and Pakistan till now; I just checked his stats in the finals of ODI tournaments, and he hasn't scored a half century yet.

Seven Tests abroad is not a small number. Most people get dropped after that. In no way am I denying his talent or potential or his technical proficiency, I am just pointing out that he has done very little to deserve all this adulation.

If I consider only ODIs too, he has played 90 ODIs - and I don't remember any series either in Australia, or in South Africa, or in England or in West Indies, where he's put up a dominant performance with the bat and has won a couple of matches for India. He usually puts up one odd, braveheart performance in an entire series - which displays his adequate skills, but nothing more than that. ODIs are a format where great batsmen can singlehandely win 2-3 matches for their teams in a series; and his performance has been average at best when facing good teams in overseas conditions. His heroics has been limited to Sri Lanka and Pakistan till now; I just checked his stats in the finals of ODI tournaments, and he hasn't scored a half century yet.

What do you think about Inzamam Ul Haq who hasn't done too well in either Australia or South Africa? Now that he hasn't got any chance to 'improve' on that, how do you rate him as a batsman?

I haven't watched much of Inzamam, because I have never followed Pakistan in overseas matches. I have some memories of Inzamam in the subcontinent, and he was jolly good, from his timing to his running to his mildmannered nature to his 'aloo' dance.

One of the great characters of world cricket; the present Pakistani cricketers are way too boring in comparison. I just checked his overseas averages and they are ordinary; but in my mind, he is still one hell of a batsman :--D

P.S. Isn't troll an offensive word?

Lol to his average in australia!

He failed miserably in every game he played in Australia vs Australia, so his team couldn't made the finals.

He failed in this wolrd cup against Australia and South Africa while batting first. the only time he played well was when chasing a modest total of 129 against us with indian team in complete controle. but that was a good innings.

So I agree Chakarbakar, he has often failed when needed.

I haven't watched much of Inzamam, because I have never followed Pakistan in overseas matches. I have some memories of Inzamam in the subcontinent, and he was jolly good, from his timing to his running to his mildmannered nature to his 'aloo' dance.

One of the great characters of world cricket; the present Pakistani cricketers are way too boring in comparison. I just checked his overseas averages and they are ordinary; but in my mind, he is still one hell of a batsman :--D

P.S. Isn't troll an offensive word?

Never mind, good that you didn't follow those overseas matches...
And by the way, troll is not so offensive as **** anywhere

Never mind, good that you didn't follow those overseas matches...
And by the way, troll is not so offensive as **** anywhere

Yup, that word is not only used for Pakistanis.. it is used in a degrading manner for all brown people in the western world..

If there ever was more proof that Kohli has 'made it large'

Just see here... A table with the big boys

Virat-Zaheer-Sachin-Wasim.jpg

Yes one innings, in his final match.. carrying injury and way waaaaaaay past his prime, after having two catches dropped of the same batsman.

Nice and analytical posting, kudos..

Dont get worked up matey.

Atleast there is something in my post which has 'semblance' of truth. People keep blabbering Akhtar would have done this, he would have done that.. all when he never bowled to Kohli. How a batsman will respond against a bowler is anybody's guess. So its even more stupid to put all those comparisons based just on hypothetical situations.

Dont get worked up matey.

Atleast there is something in my post which has 'semblance' of truth. People keep blabbering Akhtar would have done this, he would have done that.. all when he never bowled to Kohli. How a batsman will respond against a bowler is anybody's guess. So its even more stupid to put all those comparisons based just on hypothetical situations.
Not to mention he flunked against us twice in 99/03 WC as if he's the "be all end all" of fast bowling legends !

He'll always struggle against good fast bowlers who by now would have known his weaknesses against short pitch bowling.

Lucky that Pakistan now doesn't produce good fast bowlers! Kohli can continue his dominance atleast over them

This is exactly the problem. People all saying 'Hussey & Dhoni average 50 at 6' but the difference is they play with a good line up and they mostly have partners at the other end.

If the problem is that he runs out of partners, does he remain not out ( or stays till the very end) frequently? If he is loosing his own wicket then this is not a good excuse.

Well he doesn't aim to stay 'not out' with his team losing. He plays those big shots trying to win the game for his team as he knows that no one else will be able to perform them.

Leave this guy Umar Akmal alone...I said it before a very mediocre player who is not a match winner. He can bat at any position, still will be a failure.

Well he doesn't aim to stay 'not out' with his team losing. He plays those big shots trying to win the game for his team as he knows that no one else will be able to perform them.

I don't think any good batsman who comes down at no 6 plays to remain not out. Staying longer at the crease is a natural outcome of being a good batsman who puts the bowlers to sword.

lol if you're having a go at Dhoni/Hussey! U Akmal is no where near those men...

Virat Kohli vs Sachin Tendulkar at the same stage of their careers.

Virat Kohli currenly having played 4 years of international cricket vs Sachin Tendulkar when he had played 4 years of international cricket.

For me Virat Kohli wins he is by far one of the best batsman playing cricket currently and compared to almost all the youngsters of other nations he is the best among them.His skill was displayed countless times like when he made Saeed Ajaml or Lasith Malinga look like ordinary bowlers. His temperament is excellent timing is excellent and has a wide array of shots and knows how to cope with the situation and he is the one thing that Tendulkar never was a match winner.

Down the line,we'd see Kohli slow down in ODIs and do more in test matches...this is my gut feeling!

It is inevitable! Any youngster in India would die to put himself in the same bracket as :sachin

Obviously.

I just said that instead of being the "new" Sachin tag he is gonna get when Tendulkar is gonna retire.

He should make a name for himself so people remember him as Kohli and not Teenda # 2

I want to see him in an overseas test tour of South Africa, and a home test series against the likes of Australia early next year before I make up my mind. He's already been to the West Indies and has failed there, so I hope his supporters keep things in perspective and not be taken away by some token ODI knocks. All the best to the lad, but the hype on here is quite exaggerated!

Sachin by a long long way in tests! Experts were already calling him 'Little Master' two years into his career. Also keep in mind that he was facing the likes of Ambrose, Walsh, Murli, Vaas, Waqar, Wasim, Warne etc. How many such class acts has Kohli faced yet?

As far as ODI's is concerned yes, Kohli is far ahead. But Sachin used to bat really lower down the order in ODI's till 1994.

Sachin not a match winner? :facepalm:

Sachin by a long long way in tests! Experts were already calling him 'Little Master' two years into his career. Also keep in mind that he was facing the likes of Ambrose, Walsh, Murli, Vaas, Waqar, Wasim, Warne etc. How many such class acts has Kohli faced yet?

As far as ODI's is concerned yes, Kohli is far ahead. But Sachin used to bat really lower down the order in ODI's till 1994.

Sachin not a match winner? :facepalm:

Leave these kids alone. :)

i think their both rubbish and very lucky batting on those flat tracks..a bit of movement and even tendu sahib looks like a baby who has lost his rattle!! Kohli is gonna peter out sooner or later..he's lucky he's faced some bekaar bowling..soon as he faces a proper pace attack all he'll be left with his bakwaas swears..

The way you are commenting on these players as if you are better then both of them combined.

lol...why are you frustrated ? :D

On Topic...Sachin by distance....He scored centuries as a Teenager and in early 20's in Aus/England...against super quality attacks!!

Check Tendulkar's overseas Batting Average before spewing crap. He struggled on the last two tours because age is catching up with him.
As for Kohli, he's played some incredible matchwinning ODI knocks (183 vs Pak and 133 vs SL). I'll wait for him to play a few tests overseas before passing judgement on him.

These type of threads can only be started by those who have never seen SRT bat in his glory days.

SRT should retire asap, how the mighty have fallen!

Check Tendulkar's overseas Batting Average before spewing crap. He struggled on the last two tours because age is catching up with him.
As for Kohli, he's played some incredible matchwinning ODI knocks (183 vs Pak and 170 odd vs SL). I'll wait for him to play a few tests overseas before passing judgement on him.

bakwaas player(s),,overhyped..feasting on poor bowling attacks has inflated his figures..hasnt done anything meaningful..kohli is just a flash in the pan!

On Topic...Sachin by distance....He scored centuries as a Teenager and in early 20's in Aus/England...against super quality attacks!!

Those Aussie and English attacks were crap. Both Aussies and England were handily beaten by the West Indies and Pakistan respectively in Australia and England in 1991/92.

Tbh Kohli has done better than tendu BUT he has faced rubbish for bowlers while tendulkar ,in his early days ,took on the best fast bowlers in the HISTORY of cricket.. Compare malinga or gul or any current fast bowler which kohli has faced with wasim, ambrose ,waqar, mcgrath etc which tendu faced..
Again can't blame kohli for the crap bowlers these days..

Absolutely, his 100 centuries, 35,000 runs, 70+ man of the match awards, world cup man of the tourney etc all prove how easy it's been and how he has dodged all kind of tougher challenges to achieve all that.

Unfortunately, most of the fools don't realise these obvious things.

Absolutely, his 100 centuries, 35,000 runs, 70+ man of the match awards, world cup man of the tourney etc all prove how easy it's been and how he has dodged all kind of tougher challenges to achieve all that.

Unfortunately, most of the fools don't realise these obvious things.

mostly in india on flat tracks..also he isnt very mentally tough..cant really save india when required.. most of the hundreds have been selfish and havent lead to many wins..just a pre madonna who got lucky..if waqars bouncer had been slightly to the side he wouldnt have lasted a series!! Indians just love to overhype..drama baazi khoon main hay!!

The same khoon flows in your and many other people's veins. What's the difference really?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/nfekQfYc0Wk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bata kaun hindu ka khoon hai kaun Musalmaan ka? :sachin Bananey waaley ney ismey farak nahi kiya tu kaun hota hai farak karne wala, bataa?

Rubbish , Most of his tests were away tests in till 96. actually till 2000. 2 tours each in Aus ,Eng,SA,NZ while opposite only SA played in India twice.
None of the greats I know have played so many away tests compared to home tests SRT played.
Ganguly ,Dravid also did that early in their careers.
It is common for many Pakistanis (and Indians too)here to equate Tendulkar of the 90s and 2000s.
such posts should be confined to Garbage bins instead of calling them trolls.

mostly in india on flat tracks..also he isnt very mentally tough..cant really save india when required.. most of the hundreds have been selfish and havent lead to many wins..just a pre madonna who got lucky..if waqars bouncer had been slightly to the side he wouldnt have lasted a series!! Indians just love to overhype..drama baazi khoon main hay!![/QUOTE]

From your posts of late lagta hai ki aapke raaghon mein bhi vohi khoon hai

Tbh Kohli has done better than tendu BUT he has faced rubbish for bowlers while tendulkar ,in his early days ,took on the best fast bowlers in the HISTORY of cricket.. Compare malinga or gul or any current fast bowler which kohli has faced with wasim, ambrose ,waqar, mcgrath etc which tendu faced..
Again can't blame kohli for the crap bowlers these days..

Not in Tests.
If he does moderately well against Steyn and co. in SA then only he'll considered a potential great in Tests.
In ODIs he is on a good track.

Are BBC , Eng ,Aus Media and even the SAffers in 91-92 series part of India? they actually built that hype which great khan is alluding to.

what about your own countrymen where SRT debuted? they gave interviews at the time I recall praising him including the actual great khan Imran Khan himself.

mostly in india on flat tracks..!

Once again bang on target. Have a look at these miserable efforts outside India. Only someone with the wrong supply of haemoglobins would believe the hype.

Fullscreen-capture-1112012-72504-PM.bmp.jpg

Fullscreen-capture-1112012-72411-PM.bmp.jpg

also he isnt very mentally tough..cant really save india when required.. most of the hundreds have been selfish and havent lead to many wins..just a pre madonna who got lucky..!

Yeah, very poor under pressure. Look at his miserable record in knock out matches -

11303612.jpg

Those Aussie and English attacks were crap. Both Aussies and England were handily beaten by the West Indies and Pakistan respectively in Australia and England in 1991/92.

England were modest , Aus were good. don't fool people by calling them crap. many of your greats also plundered 'crap' Indian attack remember.

if waqars bouncer had been slightly to the side he wouldnt have lasted a series!

This is my favourite comment from tGK, as Waqar's heroics against India are quite well known. :))) :)))

Once bang on target. Have a look at these miserable efforts outside India. Only someone with the wrong supply of haemoglobins would believe the hype.

Fullscreen-capture-1112012-72504-PM.bmp.jpg

Fullscreen-capture-1112012-72411-PM.bmp.jpg

Yeah, very poor under pressure. Look at his miserable record in knock out matches -

11303612.jpg

F_C don't waste your energy. Great Khan gets 'Jazbaati', see the thread about IND -Pak joint league, his is the only Pakistani posts which seem to be written in a fit of anger.

SRT failure in the Ganguly Era and the 2 WC finals put a blanket on all the great innings he played in knockouts in the 90s.

TENDULKAR WAS THE REASON INDIA WON A FEW ODI TOURNEYS IN THE 90S. GANGULY ALSO PLAYED HIS PART.

It is obvious that @TGK is trolling here.

He must be lolling reading some of the emotional posts in this thread

Hayein :13: ? What is he saying tGK bhai? Are you really trolling? :danish

He is 'Jazbaati' as I said , using urdu words and phrases in his posts to bash India many times. I Remember , he once told an Indian ' you should be eating ladoos at Pakistan's loss' after a recent odi this year in the review thread after the Indians harmless post . he has accused some Indians on PP of that.

Not in Tests.
If he does moderately well against Steyn and co. in SA then only he'll considered a potential great in Tests.
In ODIs he is on a good track.

agree. But i'm not sure if the number of tests played by tendulkar and kohli in their first 4 years are equal .. Kohli has played less i think.. We need more matches to judge him in tests

This is my favourite comment from tGK, as Waqar's heroics against India are quite well known. :))) :)))

hardly played against em especially at his peak..but i do remember the annihilation of the great indian batting lineup in sharjah in a match where younis played..kapil bechara's stumps went flying a mile or two..

look at the average on paksitani flat tracks 40 something..pathetic..also against the windies what was his average from 1990-1996 as they had a top class attackj in those years..

he's feasted on some mediocre bowling and then gets accolades..just lucky if you ask me..

F_C don't waste your energy. Great Khan gets 'Jazbaati', see the thread about IND -Pak joint league, his is the only Pakistani posts which seem to be written in a fit of anger.

SRT failure in the Ganguly Era and the 2 WC finals put a blanket on all the great innings he played in knockouts in the 90s.

TENDULKAR WAS THE REASON INDIA WON A FEW ODI TOURNEYS IN THE 90S. GANGULY ALSO PLAYED HIS PART.

Sachin may arguably be the best batsman to have ever played the game but the fact that he is not a match winner is true.
An ugly fact but a true one indeed.

Kohli has played 90 ODIs and 10 tests....

both after 90 ODIs and 10 tests;

Code:
	ODIs	Inns	NO	Runs	HS	Ave	BF	SR	100	50	0	4s	6s
Kohli	90	87	12	3886	183	[B]51.81[/B]	4496	86.43	13	21	5	366	20
Sachin	90	87	10	2768	115	[B]35.94[/B]	3488	79.35	 3	21	6	256	24

Code:
	Tests	Inns	NO	Runs	HS	Ave	100	50	0
Sachin	10	15	1	577	119*	41.21	1	4	1
Kohli	10	18	1	703	116	41.35	2	5	2

just shows in his first 90 odis what a rubbish average tendu had..probably coz he wasnt getting pwned by top clas bowling..soon as the flat tracks and good bowlers retired his stats get better..overated.

Any Tom , Dick , Harry can get a good start to his career but what separates a Legend from a Great player is the consistency and considering SRT has done that for more than 20 years , he is simply the Greatest Legend .